Drapes billow out of broken windows at the Mandalay Bay resort and casino Monday, Oct. 2, 2017, on the Las Vegas Strip following a mass shooting at a music festival in Las Vegas. Authorities say Stephen Craig Paddock broke the windows and began firing with a cache of weapons, killing dozens and injuring hundreds. (AP Photo/John Locher)

I will give you my gun when you pry it from my cold dead hands – National Rifle Association [NRA] bumper sticker

Philinte: Do you wish harm to all mankind?

Alceste: Yes, I have conceived a terrible hatred for them –Act I, Sc 1 -“Le Misanthrope” -Moliere [1666]

An apparent misanthrope, of a twisted mind and hell-bent on taking as many people as possible with him as he shuffles off this mortal coil, fortified by a bizarre official interpretation of a Constitutional amendment that ostensibly relates to a collective entitlement but that has been construed as permitting any lunatic with enough wherewithal to arm himself to the teeth with high powered weaponry, sends his girlfriend home to the land of her birth, rents a luxury hotel suite overlooking a concert venue in Las Vegas and proceeds to murder no fewer than 58 innocent souls assembled to enjoy the music, thereby giving the lie to the popular slogan that “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas!”

The media will record that this abyssal conduct on his part was a new record for the most people ever murdered in a mass shooting in the US. The resultant “human cry”, as it is put in the Barbadian mondegreen, sounds like so much crocodile tears in a country that can place men on the Moon but that seemingly has not grasped the notion that permitting a near unlimited civic right to bear arms and thus to use them however might lead inexorably to these sorts of tragedies.

I have explored before in this space my own interpretation of the notorious Second Amendment that is utilized as the vehicle for this dubious and enabling right. According to the text of the provision;

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”

Given that a militia does not comprise one individual solely, and given the primacy accorded that body in the structure of the text, one might very well be tempted to read the amendment as empowering the people to keep and bear arms purely for the purposes of forming the necessary well-regulated militia for protecting the security and freedom of the state. This, however, has not been the construction that has found favour with the Supreme Court charged with the overarching interpretation of the Constitution.

In its 2008 decision in District of Columbia v Heller, the Court, by a five to four majority, iterated that the Amendment protected an individual right to possess a firearm unconnected with service in a militia and to use that arm for traditionally lawful purposes such as self-defence. Further, they held that the prefatory clause in the Amendment that I rely on in my argument to control its spirit does not in fact limit or expand the second part whose text and history connotes an individual right to keep and bear arms.

The justices also made reference to the amendment’s legislative history, noting that it was the product of a response to the fears of the anti-federalists that Federal Government would disarm the militia in favour of a standing army or a select Federal militia. The Second Amendment was thus enacted to deny Congress the power to abridge the “ancient“ right of the people to keep and bear arms so that the ideal of a citizens’ militia would be preserved.

Moreover, although it did not form part of the ratio of the decision, the Court noted that at least three (3) states’ proposals had referred unequivocally to the individual and not merely collective right. The law seems to be settled given that the Supreme Court is at the apex of the system, unless a future Court ids minded to overrule this precedent.

As distasteful as it may be, the media have made much of the record number of those killed, a record that is likely to be inevitably broken so long as the status quo continues. An instructive WhatsApp post in one group last week, explored the illogic behind the individual right to bear arms whereby a youngster, thirteen years of age, is appropriately unable to purchase alcohol, cigarettes or adult magazines, but is nonetheless able to secure the supply from a dealer of a high-powered firearm intended for the sole purpose of ending a life, even if not necessarily that of a human being.

Veteran Congressman Steve Israel, in an op-ed piece in the New York Times last Monday, also addresses the issue of the likelihood of a reprise of the Las Vegas massacres. He puts it bluntly, “ In the wake of one of the deadliest mass shootings in our nation’s history, perhaps the most asked question by Americans is, and “Will anything change?” The simple answer is no. The more vital question is, “Why not?”

Israel recounts his failed attempt as a freshman to introduce legislation to require safety locks on certain guns when he failed to gain the support of a fellow freshman Democrat who begged off on the ground that “In my district we close the schools on the first day of hunting season”.

He relates too his disappointment after the murder of 26 children and adults at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012 and the image of President Obama with tears running down his cheeks. His thoughts that finally something would be done were dashed when the debate morphed into one over the rights of gun owners rather than the right to life of young schoolchildren. Some congressional colleagues, he writes, confided that any vote for gun safety would lower their NRA scores and increase the probability of their demise in the next election.

The identical scenario was to obtain after the mass shootings in the Orlando, Florida nightclub in June 2016 and the failure of a proposed amendment to prevent people on the terrorist watch list from purchasing firearms, opposed by the Republican chairman of the House Appropriations Committee on the basis that “in America, everyone is innocent until proven guilty.”

This principle is not peculiar to the US, but according to an October 2 article in the online newsmagazine Vox, there are 29.7 homicides by firearm per 1 million in the US people as compared to 1.4 in Australia and 1.6 in New Zealand, two jurisdictions that embrace the identical presumption.

Congressman Israel offers finally three reasons why nothing will change. First, he notes, the gun lobbies are now in a race to the bottom to see who can become more brazen and more extreme since more moderation means less market share. Second, the political right now adheres to the view that anything less than total subservience to the gun lobby is perceived as supporting gun confiscation, anathema to that sector. Third, there is the public inoculation to gun violence –“You’ll read this essay and others like it, and turn the page or click another link”, he writes presciently. You’ll watch or listen to the news and shake your head, then flip to another channel or another app. This horrific event will recede into our collective memory….”

Exactly what the gun lobby is counting on.

431 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Exercising a Fundamental Right”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“And if you are young enough, healthy enough, and good looking enough you WILL find another spouse, it ain’t that hard.”

Simple…stop encouraging Chadster.

2. @Fractured BLP October 8, 2017 at 9:17 AM “The US $ 700 million DODDS PRISON fiasco stands out ! As Attorney General MAM was repeatedly warned to improve the conditions at Glendiary ! But not a favorable response from MAM !! So 15 years after the Treasury Dept. have to find US $ 30 million every 1st January to pay for MAM wreck less spending…Dems NOW…Dems AGAIN”

Why don’t you stop being a silly political yardfowl?

Glendairy prison was build in 1855 for 300 prisoners. Long before1955, that is long before Mia Mottley was even conceived the prison was already over crowded.

Successive Barbados administrations, including the Colonial office which was responsible for administration in Barbados in the late 19th and early 20th centuries permitted the over crowding to continue.

So even though the prison was burned on Mia’s watch she cannot be faulted for the fire. In truth the prisoners should have burned the prison in colonial days, or during the administrations of Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow, Tom Adams, Harold St. John, or Erskine Sandiford.

The prisoners were too slow, that’s all.

3. @Simple Simon

We all live in hope. Have a read the last time there was a Constitution amendment. Not what the 27th Amendment was about.

https://www.britannica.com/topic/Twenty-seventh-Amendment

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Abolish the Second Amendment? Yuh t’ink it easy?

https://nyti.ms/2xTEQu6

5. “A country that accepts 93 firearms deaths a day, on a wayward reading of an 18th-century statute, is not well placed to lecture on human rights or, as Trump at the UN, on global security.”
    After Vegas, why do we still treat the US as a civilised state? | Catherine Bennett
    In the wake of last week’s slaughter, it’s time to damn America as a rogue state when it comes to arms
    theguardian.com
    https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.theguardian.com%2Fcommentisfree%2F2017%2Foct%2F07%2Fafter-vegas-why-do-we-still-treat-the-us-as-a-civilised-country%3FCMP%3Dfb_gu&h=ATP5pcZOI0xb0t6trs8DBPyXvme6CtdMQOK86xra2uGjJMNMN2Y2kQ2lUeqbknnKWzFGBzDvNoFMYBnlyIFHo1xs3IvOHH9O7IjoEp8g_Q67Drcp6HcVz80hVzGPXcDZqFnGCAOZUAaStbMWXMJb02laX4M47vELdrK0AN1NyklhVx02ktUBSIjXen0XaKGGZSWJBMRWp_nvRXQP_u2LZEoWW8KMnwmnK0AzpQBwwcfJJ6nh44RZZYkky0-dOm6xK8WW2tu0nuMFk8FJH9bVyCGUCQK6Ju0

6. Mr MB, I presume David does NOT allow another to write under your moniker. I further presume that if you quote war mongering diatribes from others that it MEANS that you agree and endorse the opinions.

I also make the presumption that your sojourn at our local top boys high school from where you received some certification educated you enough to understand BS from lying and merely talking piffle .

So do tell me which of the three equates…are you just producing bovine excrement for blog fun; speaking via both sides of you mouths simultaneously….

… or is your assertion that “far Left of the DEMonic Party is not very aggressive and spoiling for serious Civil strife bordering on war? ” not a clear evocation of civil unrest! Thus you DID say that.

Do deconstruct the MB statements that shows your unequivocal rhetorical BS (or is that lies ??) or rather just stop with the insane right wing diatribes.

**1-Money Brain, October 8, 2017 at 12:39 PM #..Who can say for sure that LV was not part 2 of the PLAN, just as PT 1 was killing Scalise and Co? Who can prove that the far Left of the DEMonic Party is not very aggressive and spoiling for serious Civil strife bordering on war? Antifa are planning something major on Nov 4th, they better choose carefully where they cause trouble OR the excrement is going to interset with the oscillating device.”

AND **2- “Money Brain, October 8, 2017 at 2:51 PM #…Dribs wrote,…I do hope and pray that the rhetoric of race war etc offered by you and other like minded souls is all stupid bluster devoid of active purpose….Where did I state that?” ***

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

After Vegas, why do we still treat the US as a civilized state?

@ Vincent, has much changed since the days of the wild Wild West?

8. @Money Brain, October 8, 2017 at 9:59 AM “36,000 people die per year from the flu, far exceeding the criminal gun deaths”

There are lies, damn lies and statistics, My God moneybrain. Are you beginning to lose it? There is a huge difference between an old lady dying of flu at home in her bed when she is 85+ and a kindergarten child being shot to death in his classroom.

My mother died of flu/pnemonia quietly at home in her bed when she was 85+ I hope to die the same way, and when that happens there should be no mourning.

But no, I do not want my 5 year old grandchild and his classmates to be shot to death, especially in the presence of the other 5 to 10 year olds.

You are an HC boy.

You know better.

Don’t come here with false equivalencies.

9. @moneybrian “Noah Webster: “Before a standing army can rule, the people must be disarmed, as they are in almost every kingdom in Europe. The supreme power in America cannot enforce unjust laws by the sword, because the whole body of the people are armed and constitute a force superior to any band of regular troops that can be, on any pretense, raised in the United States.”

You know that Websters are no longer true.

@Noah Webster” the whole body of the people are armed and constitute a force superior to any band of regular troop.”

This is damned foolishness nowadays because not the government has nuclear weapons and the people do not.

So you and Webster talking bare sh!te.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The constitution can be amended multiple times, but abolishing is a stretch.

What bothers me is that dead slave owners and warmongers wrote and designed these laws….to call them evil is being nice, but the reason why the laws are still in place, they still assert a level of control to white America on others….

the day that control disappears like magic.., a new constitution will miraculously appear.

11. @Sargeant October 8, 2017 at 10:06 AM “This talk about restricting access to certain types of hardware is doomed to failure despite the “support” from both sides of the legislative aisle.”

=The Americans like um so.

12. Jeff @3:39

Don’t fool yourself

The killer is now much more sophisticated, but killing nonetheless.

13. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Noah Webster” the whole body of the people are armed and constitute a force superior to any band of regular troops.”

Romantic archaic bullshit!

14. @Hants October 8, 2017 at 11:56 AM “The NRA exists to ensure that white racists Americans can legally own guns and to ensure they have enough “fire power” in case of any perceived “uprising” by blacks.”

But why are white Americans afraid of black people?

After all black people have not mistreated white people.

Although white people have badly mistreated black people.

Why aren’t black people afraid of white people?

Should we be?

15. @Simple , you often speak earthy home truths that make much sense but your 3:17 PM is devoid of any of your normal gravitas.

Beyond the graphics and factual money data noted by Jeff it is unassailable that “the second amendment is here to stay?”

You don’t have to accept it…but the millions who voted in Trump and those who marched in that quiet Virginia town and those who are serenaded by the Limbaughs and Hannitys and Alex Jones and who are American..THEY DO.

It is ABSURD to practically expect the US constitutional ruling to the right to bear arms to be rescinded…TOTALLY ABSURD.

It is also irreverent to determine that aspects of nation’s entire ethos ” is only a few words written on a piece of paper by a few old white men”.

Of course “Times have changed” but emotions have also hardened.

Thankfully 😂 you are not on the front lines of this fight…as your stance is doomed to fail politically and realistically…so that’s a fool’s errand.

Sensible gun control is needed in Bdos, in fact in our case draconian control, but no such draconian measures can be enacted in US. …there it’s about careful prevention of automatic guns proliferation and enforcing strong laws against mentally challenged folks acquiring guns or losing their rights to own them and other practical prohibitions.

16. RE Most Americans support stronger gun laws — laws that would reduce deaths. But Republicans in Congress stand in the way.

Most Americans ARE SEEING SHITE FOR TEN YEARS BECAUSE OF THE UN-AFFORADABLE CARE ACT IMPOSED ON THE POPULACE TOTALLY BY THE DEMOCRATS- A LAW THAT CONTINUES TO CAUSE DEATH AND SUFFERING But Republicans in Congress stand in the way.AND THE DEMOCRATS WONT HELP TO CHANGE IT EITHER. ah lie?

aint that of greater importance?

why are we Bajans bullshitting bout American laws and death from gun play?

ISN’T OUR NEW CULTURE ONE OF SHOOTING EACH OTHER IN HOMES AND IN THE STREETS OF BARBADOS

WHAT IS THE BULL SHITTING LAWYER DOING ABOUT THIS
    IS HE DRAFTING OR PROPOSING LAWS FOR BAJANS TO STOP KILLING EACH OTHER, OR IS HE JUST QUOTING SHITE?

SHOULD WE NOT SEEK TO REMOVE THE MOTE FROM OUR EYES BEFORE WE SEEK TO REMOVE THE BEAM FROM THOSE OF THE AMERICANS ah lie?

17. GP

Relax, many who post to BU reside in North America and other countries.

18. Money Brain, October 8, 2017 at 12:59 PM “When are they going to take out the prime target, ask ANTIFA or the Swamp Elite.”

I think that you need to come home for a few beach days. The conspiricy websites have given you a brain fever.

But lef ya gun in Forest Hill do.

19. RE “The NRA exists to ensure that white racists Americans can legally own guns and to ensure they have enough “fire power” in case of any perceived “uprising” by blacks.”
    CONCENTRATED BULLSHIT
    HOW CAN THE RELATIVE SMALL NUMBER OF BLACKS TAKE DOWN A LARGER NUMBER OF WHITES

The NRA exists to ensure that Americans can legally own guns and to ensure they have enough “fire power” in case of any potential by folk who would take away their liberty.

TAKE AWAY THE GUNS AND THE DEMS AND THE LEFT LOONIES LED BY SOROS WILL TRY TO TAKE OVER THE COUNTRY BEFORE THE APPOINTED TIME WHEN ANTICHRIST WILL BE REVEALED.

20. Jeff

We commend a recent monograph by Ta-Nehisi Coates – ‘We Were Eight Years in Power’.

In that work Coates tries to do two things, essentially.

One, he summarizes the years after chattle slavery – circa 1865. The end of the Civil War. The Period of Reconstruction.

Two, a comparative analysis of the that epoch compared with the period post Obama. He concludes that similar forces are at work. Including the issue of violence and its meaning for Americans.

We must say that we find Coates’ work less critical than it should be. Were it not so he would not be on the NYT Best Seller’s list and garnering face time on the networks.

However, his amateurish attempt is worthy of a few hours.

21. RE GP

Relax, many who post to BU reside in North America and other countries.

GP IS VERY RELAXED AS I RESIDE in North America

BUT THESE ISSUES MUST BE ADDRESSED

ISN’T OUR NEW CULTURE ONE OF SHOOTING EACH OTHER IN HOMES AND IN THE STREETS OF BARBADOS

WHAT IS THE BULL SHITTING LAWYER DOING ABOUT THIS
    IS HE DRAFTING OR PROPOSING LAWS FOR BAJANS TO STOP KILLING EACH OTHER, OR IS HE JUST QUOTING SHITE?

SHOULD WE NOT SEEK TO REMOVE THE MOTE FROM OUR EYES BEFORE WE SEEK TO REMOVE THE BEAM FROM THOSE OF THE AMERICANS ah lie?

AND THE UN-AFFORDABLE CAR ACT NEEDS TO BE REPEALED AND REPLACED TOO

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol….I told MoneyB already to stay off those brainwashing racist websites, he is going to run into trouble, he won’t hear, aside from frying his brains, as has obviously happened to Chadster…..he is not even coherent anymore….when the pendelum swings and FBI etc starts tracking those who visit those websites….Rosedale is easy to find, I was in that area a couple years ago.

23. RE eff Cumberbatch October 8, 2017 at 3:39 PM #
    After Vegas, why do we still treat the US as a civilized state?
    HOW IS THE USA ANY LESS CIVILISD THAN ANYWHERE ELSE……….INCLUDING BARBADOS SIR?

@ Vincent, has much changed since the days of the wild Wild West?

NO FOOL NOTHING HAS CHANGED since the days of the wild Wild West

BUT HAS THINGS CHANGED IN BARBADOS SINCE 2000?

24. RE when the pendelum swings and FBI etc starts tracking those who visit those websites…
    WHEN WILL THE FBI TRACK DOWN COMEY SUSAN RICE HILARY AND OTHERS OF THAT ILK IS THAT NOT MORE IMPORTANT

THE WHOLE WORLD UPSIDED DOWN

THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS CERTAINLY IMPERATIVE

25. @GP

The problem as detailed in many blogs posted to BU pages has little to do with drafting more laws. Even if Jeff were to ‘draft’ as you suggest, it has to originate from parliament anyway. Our problem is robust policing of our porous borders, rolling out effective social programs to compensate for parental delinquency and growing the economy to create opportunities for citizens to support themselves. Nothing to do with an inherent right to bear arms as guaranteed in the Constitution.

26. @Money Brain, October 8, 2017 at 2:05 PM “This is like the JFK assassination very complex.”

Complex what.

Wicked white man with a gun killed Kennedy.

Wicked white man Steve paddock with many guns killed the concert goes at Las Vegas.

The killings are only complex if you are a wicked white male racist, who cannot accept that wicked white men kill.

Stupseee!!!

27. Pach,
    U quoting CNN?? Really? Only 3% own guns in the US??? Abject BS propaganda that Herr Goebells would admire.

28. Facts make no impression on Jeff or the rest of you. You fall for the media hype every time.

The gun culture in the US does not cost that many lives. And, as Bill O’Reilly reminded us this week, it is the “price of freedom” acceptable to millions of Americans.

Now be quiet.

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

We commend a recent monograph by Ta-Nehisi Coates – ‘We Were Eight Years in Power’.
    *We must say that we find Coates’ work less critical than it should be. Were it not so he would not be on the NYT Best Seller’s list and garnering face time on the networks.
    *However, his amateurish attempt is worthy of a few hours…

@, Pachamama, Thanks, will seek it out!

30. dAVID
    rE Our problem is robust policing of our porous borders, rolling out effective social programs to compensate for parental delinquency and growing the economy to create opportunities for citizens to support themselves. Nothing to do with an inherent right to bear arms as guaranteed in the Constitution.ALL VERY TRUE. WHAT AR WE DOING ABOUT IT……BUT TALK!

The” Inherent right to bear arms as guaranteed in the Constitution” is American law. It has worked for centuries. Should Americans change their constitution because of a few WHO SIN MORE ATROCIOUSLY THAN OTHERS.

THE PROBLEM IS SIN NOT THE CONSTITUTION
    THE PROBLEM IS SIN NOT GUNS
    THE PROBLEM IS SIN IN THE HEARTS OF LEFT WING AMERICAN COLLEGE TEACHERS TEACHING HAT AND ANARCHY ON AMERICAN CAMPUSES

31. @Vincent Haynes October 8, 2017 at 2:37 PM “No need to bother anymore…But don’t worry, there will be ‘seven years of hell’ before we all die…End of the world will begin NEXT WEEK according to shock theory.”

I didn’t know this.

Please tell me who should I send my money, stocks, bonds gold etc. to before the end comes?

32. Simpy,
    Since wunna wont to play the Race card how bout this?

Approx half of the Murders in the USA are committed by 14 % of the population, at a rate 4X that of Whites, and far too many of those murders in 5 cities all controlled by Democratic Admins:

2016 Murders in major cities

Chicago 769

NY 335

Baltimore 318

LA 294

Philly 277

Wicked White men ??????????????????? Denial is a river in Egypt!

Far too many people of ALL races are EVIL, CRUEL etc. Blaming Whitey for everything is NOT going to solve the problems.

WE should be searching for solutions.

33. MB,
    I need you to comment on the BitCoin posts. I value your opinion on THOSE matters.

34. Rex Tillerson, the secretary of state, just called Trump a ‘fucking moron’, in a security council meeting, as MSNBC/NBC reported last week.

In the American system the SOS is the most senior cabinet official.

But this would not faze Trump’s acolytes here on BU

Of course, neither party would admit it or tell us, in the case of Tillerson, what he was supposed to apologize for.

This is a form of violence at the centre of government. Of course, we’ve had a gun fight on the lawn of the White House – Burr el al

35. Simpy,
    i don’t accept that the second amendment needs to stay.

The second amendment is only a few words written on a piece of paper by a few old white men.

Times have changed.

Fine, agreed,once you convince the Criminals to turn in their guns first and then provide proof! I dont want everyone with guns either BUT I dont like the criminals here in TO who have the guns and use them repeatedly!

36. Gazer,
    It would be obvious to any cretin that you would not want dissenting opinions. Let’s be straightforward, many people dont want to hear anything they disagree with to the point that FREE SPEECH is an outdated concept. Think about it, the bastion of FREE SPEECH was UC Berkeley and now they want to mash the campus up, if any person not of the Far Left wants to speak there! Absolutely incredible! Ultimately it will lead to major social crisis.

37. @Money Brain

This comment is BS. Many here disagree with you but how does not prevent you from sharing your opinion?

Steuspe.

38. @Jeff Cumberbatch October 8, 2017 at 3:54 PM @Noah Webster” the whole body of the people are armed and constitute a force superior to any band of regular troops.”

Dear Professor: No wonder you are a professor and I am not.

Love your short sentence above.

You get an A+

39. @MB
    Much of what is stated is a rehash of conversations that were held ages ago. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Throwing around racist stats and copying racist posts will not covert anyone.

Commenting about bitcoins may save a few cretins some dollars.

40. @ the brain without money

We said that 3% of the people own 50% of the guns.

That report also said that only 23% of Americans own guns

We have reached the unavoidable conclusion that racists and their supporters can hardly read far less think about simple issues. They are all worthy of death.

41. Forgive me if it is only your Money(brain) that I am interested in. Your politics sucks.

42. @Georgie Porgie October 8, 2017 at 4:08 PM “SHOULD WE NOT SEEK TO REMOVE THE MOTE FROM OUR EYES BEFORE WE SEEK TO REMOVE THE BEAM FROM THOSE OF THE AMERICANS ah lie?”

Perhaps we can do both at the same time. You know, like walking and chewing gum?

43. @Georgie Porgie October 8, 2017 at 4:15 PM “ANTICHRIST WILL BE REVEALED.”

Who is the antichrist?

44. @Jeff Cumberbatch October 8, 2017 at 3:54 PM @Noah Webster” the whole body of the people are armed and constitute a force superior to any band of regular troops.”

INDEED! BUT THE AMERICANS LIKE IT SO. SO IT IS STILL VERY RELEVANT AND NOT AT ALL ARCHAIC. SINCE IT IS THEIR COUNTRY THEY ARE SO ENTITLED UNTIL THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST.

45. Do Americans own a lot of guns?

In both absolute and relative terms, the answer is yes. The US tops the list of countries with the most guns, owning about half the world’s guns while making up only 5% of the world population.

In relative terms, the US has the highest number of guns per capita. There were an estimated 89 to 100 guns for every 100 Americans in 2013–around one firearm per person.

https://qz.com/1096669/how-five-great-leaders-dealt-with-crisis-and-what-we-can-learn-from-them/

46. @Georgie Porgie October 8, 2017 at 4:30 PM “NO FOOL NOTHING HAS CHANGED since the days of the wild Wild West.”

Since the Wild West, the government of the USA has acquired nuclear weapons. Ah lie? lol, murdah!!

47. @Georgie Porgie October 8, 2017 at 4:15 PM “ANTICHRIST WILL BE REVEALED.”

Who is the antichrist?

IF I DIDNT KNOW THAT IT IS GOING TO BE A MAN I WOULD THINK IT IS YOU !

RE Perhaps we can do both at the same time. You know, like walking and chewing gum?

I HAD A GOOD ANSWER FOR YOU BUT MY DEAR SWEET WIFE ASKED ME NOT TO ANSWER YOU APPROPRIATELY

48. @Georgie Porgie October 8, 2017 at 4:30 PM “NO FOOL NOTHING HAS CHANGED since the days of the wild Wild West.”

Since the Wild West, the government of the USA has acquired nuclear weapons. Ah lie? lol, murdah!!

YOU DID NOT LEARN OF SARCASM DID YOU?

49. @Georgie Porgie October 8, 2017 at 5:19 PM “IF I DIDNT KNOW THAT IT IS GOING TO BE A MAN I WOULD THINK IT IS YOU.”

I know that you claim to be a physician, but I am absolutely certain that you have NEVER inspected my genitals, therefore you cannot know whether I am the antichrist or not, since according to you the antichrist like you, has testicles.

You sure it int you, since you claim to have the right equipments?

50. Simple Simon October 8, 2017 at 5:23
    GET THEE BEHIND ME SATAN!