Ian Carrington, Director of the NIS

Following my last column about the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), several people, who were having problems with that government department, sought my assistance. Today, I would like to share the experience of two persons since the troubles, they were forced to endure to get unemployment benefits, show up fundamental problems with the processes at NIS.

They were informed verbally that they did not qualify for the benefit because the NIS records show that they were not insured under the scheme for a year. Both of them had been working for the same employer from 2013 to July 2017, approximately four years. NIS contributions were deducted from their wages but were not being paid in. As a matter of fact, the employer registered the business some time in 2016 and only started to pay in the contributions to NIS at that time. All along the workers claim that they were not aware that their contributions were not being remitted to NIS.

Every employee, who earns a minimum of $21 per week or $91 per month, is required to pay NIS contributions. Private sector regular employees are supposed to pay 10.1% of their insurable earnings, and the employer is required to pay an additional 11.25% on the worker’s behalf. Section 15 of the National Insurance and Social Security Act mandates the employer to make the deduction and pay the money over to the NIS Fund. The employee has no control over that process and in most cases might not even be aware that the employer has not complied with the law.

My greatest concern is that these workers were told that they were not entitled to receive unemployment benefits since they were not insured for 52 weeks. That information might prove to be correct but it was improper to make that determination and orally communicate the decision to the claimant. Whenever a person makes a claim and it is disallowed, the Director of NIS is required, by Regulation 8 of the National Insurance and Social Security (Determination of Claims and Questions) Regulations 1967, to inform the claimant, in writing, of the decision and also inform him of the right to appeal. From my experience, appeal forms are not readily available and it seems as though officers take offence when their decisions are challenged.

However, if the appropriate procedure were implemented: the claimants would have been able to produce their payslips to show that they were employed for the required period; and that NIS contributions were deducted from their wages, even though that is not absolutely necessary to qualify for the benefit. If the employer failed to pay in the contributions, the claimant only needs to show that he was employed and that he did not make any arrangements with the employer to avoid paying the contributions in order to qualify and receive the benefits.

It is then up the the Director to go after the delinquent employer to recover the contributions. When I worked there in the 1980s that is how we operated, and we did so in compliance with Paragraph 6.(1) of the National Insurance and Social Security (Contributions) Regulations, 1967. It states:

Where a contribution payable by an employer in respect or on behalf of an employed person is paid after the due date or is not paid, and the delay or failure in making payment thereof is shown to the satisfaction of the Board not to have been with the consent or connivance of, or attributable to any negligence on the part of the employed person, the contribution shall, for the purpose of any right to benefit, be treated as paid on the due date.

Arising from this case, I am told by the remaining employees that the employer is making deductions from their wages to recover NIS contributions that were supposedly not deducted when due. Workers should be aware that it is contrary to Regulation 18.(2A) of the Collection of Contributions Regulations to do so. It states:

Any employer who fails to deduct an amount that is required to be deducted from a payment of remuneration to an employee, may not deduct that amount from any subsequent payments of remuneration made to the employee for the pay period for which he had failed to deduct.

Too many workers are being disadvantaged by officers of the NIS department who are unfamiliar with the regulations. Maybe, it would be better if NIS administration require its staff to qualify in its regulations rather that in academic degrees that have no relevance to its operations.

137 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – National Insurance Staff not Sufficiently Trained to Administer Scheme”

1. Don’t NIS have auditors. Won’t imagine they are many but if there are 10 employees and minimal payments, that’s a red flag to audit the establishment. Audits should complement and support NIS operations to prevents employees’ deductions being misdirected.

2. We do not need an extension of NIS payments. We also cannot maintain the current level. Given that 75% of all NIS assets are already lost (governmental Mickey Mouse-debts) and the rest invested in dodgy projects like the Apes Hill Plantation, we need to reduce pensions and other payments by at least 50%.

Everybody has the right to emigrate. Those who stay on this island must face the reality that Barbados is bankrupt, the currency is internally devaluated to a point where products are 100-500% more expensive than in North America or Europe.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“It is then up the the Director to go after the delinquent employer to recover the contributions. When I worked there in the 1980s that is how we operated, and we did so in compliance with Paragraph 6.(1) of the National Insurance and Social Security (Contributions) Regulations, 1967. It states:”

..that is how it works anywhere, but obviously the employers culprit is finding a way to bribe someone at NIS to break the law..they are vicious and would.

Auditors in Barbados are largely ignored and disrespected by government…from the Auditor General’s many reports and concerns that every minister from Fruendel on down just ignores and dont address any of his concerns about thefts in the various government department…hundreds of millions disappearing from treasury and pension fund and hundreds of millions more given away to minorities and others and never repaid…..

….that is blatant disrespect to the office of the auditor general…that no investigations are ever started to find the thieves or call to account the ministers who sign off on these scams against the people….they sure as hell will not look into some bribery in NIS.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Tron

What the shite that got to do with this case?

5. 1.For donkey years, dishonest employers, have been deducting employees’ contributions and not passing them on to the NIS.
    2. It is extremely interesting that anybody would declare Barbados bankrupt because prices are higher than North America. What do we produce that we import? Up to this morning, James Paul, is complaining that farmers have to plough back produce into the fields because they are getting no support from the business sector.
    Let us call a spade a spade we talk about “buy local” but 80% of the time we prefer the products coming from “overseas”.
    Hypocrisy is rampant.
    Champagne taste and mauby pockets that is we problem. No wonder we would sell our souls to get a range rover. Who really needs a 8 cylinder gas guzzler in Bim? Gimme me a break !!!!!

6. The claim of this writer is disappointing

We would have though that a system which is more than 50 years old

And as a leading plank in the local economy that there would be enough institutional memory

Redundancies, to avoid minor problems like these, as a matter of course.

Certainly, there must be more than sufficient recently retired people to fill a temporary gap.

7. Pachamama

The writer is on point , you should ask why the recently retired people got real fed-up and gone

8. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine September 24, 2017 at 3:58 AM #

Tron

What the shite that got to do with this case?

WTF, WAKE UP AND SMELL THE ROSES, you are like most Bajan, ignorant of the underlying situation.

The FAILED economy is driving all government decisions along with CORRUPTION. Barbados economic sink hole is so large it’s unfillable, think Arch Cot.

9. That do need proper training, Caswell, if you should recall a certain appeal hearing a number of weeks ago and the nature of the evidence given by the officer called as a witness

10. Caswell, added to this is my pet peeve whether the NIS even attempted to realise the value of its investment in C&W. There is no reasonable explanation for making an investment, having the backing of a $5 billion portfolio and allowing yourself to be bullied into accepting $2.86, given the less than transparent approach being used by C&W. When in the history of take over bids in Barbados has the initial offer been fair. A caller to Brass Tacks said that when the calculation of the $2.86 was requested at the meeting, C&W responded that it was confidential. If this is true, there is even more reason for concern. The shareholders should consider a class action lawsuit against C&W, its directors, the BSE and the government agencies that regulate the industry.

11. Imagine if the law faculty at Cavehill were to take on the challenge of a class action lawsuit against C&W et al as a practical for is corporate law students.

12. Imagine if the law faculty at Cavehill were to take on the challenge of a class action lawsuit against C&W et al as a practical for is corporate law students.

@ Alien, does the Law faculty have locus standi?

13. The law faculty would provide the legal representation for the shareholders.

14. With the lead of the professors of course.

15. Does C&W through its subsidiaries sponsor activities at Cave Hlil?

16. @ Alien
    Boss, you MUST be from outer space in truth….

There is NO WAY JOSE … that those shiite students would even DREAM of undertaking such a project…. and…wuh you said?….’under the lead of the professors…’
    Wahhh ha ha ha ha
    ohh BB..!!!
    Murdah!!!

Buh looka this Alien from outta space looking to kill Bushie wid laff dis good Sunday morning nuh!!!
    Whaloss!!!

…Law students from UWI indeed…. !!!!
    The future, up-and-coming scourges of our society..?
    Shiite fella – what you should check is if they are not on C&W’s payroll as we speak…

17. The law faculty would provide the legal representation for the shareholders.
    With the lead of the professors of course.

@ Alien, a noble idea indeed but I am afraid that what C&W did, if you are referring to the recent share repurchase, was done in accordance with the existing law. Perhaps not fair but that is the current position.

18. @ Jeff
    QED.

This whole ‘Law’ business is about maintaining the status quo, while ripping off as much dinero from the rich, the poor, and the state ..as is allowed under the shiite laws that these SAME lawyers draft….

No ethical framework
    No sense of right and wrong
    No epistemological stance on FAIRNESS and JUSTICE…
    Ever dog fuh he-self… and Devil takes the hindmost…

…what a waste of damn money….

19. @Jeff

We should conclude that because it is law there is no room to challenge in court?

20. “Jeff Cumberbatch September 24, 2017 at 9:41 AM # – … was done in accordance with the existing law…”

That is seemingly a matter of how the law is interpreted – in silos rather than comprehensively across all relevant legislation – in form rather than in substance.

21. as is allowed under the shiite laws that these SAME lawyers draftโ€ฆ.

@ Bushie, the draftsperson is a mere amanuensis or scribe, following instructions. The policy is determined by the political class that you and others put in a position to so do!

22. Jeff

NIS, like the rest of the Public Service, is insisting that workers qualify themselves and I would normally have no quarrel with that but the qualifications being ask for and pursued do not assist the workers in performing their tasks.

Since that appeal hearing, I have been told that the officer moved from temporary clerical officer to the equivalent of executive officer overnight on the basis of being awarded a degree. I really don’t blame her that is why I did not seek the embarrass her.

The system needs changing back to what worked previously.

23. That is seemingly a matter of how the law is interpreted โ€“ in silos rather than comprehensively across all relevant legislation โ€“ in form rather than in substance.

@ Alien, I am open to your alternative suggestion? Is there some other provision somewhere that would delegitimize what was done?

24. We should conclude that because it is law there is no room to challenge in court?

@ David, of course it may be challenged. That it is correct is an opinion only. You just need to find someone who has a different opinion and is prepared to argue it in a court of law.

25. An account holder may decide to deposit $88,000, randomly, in various amounts of less than $10,000, over a period of time. Some investigation would be required to conclude that the account holder is circumventing the law to declare the source of the $88,000. Some would conclude that everything is okay with the random deposits, while others would investigate the matter and conclude that everything is in fact not okay,

26. @Jeff

What IF there is evidence to point to a BSE consultant who worked on the C&W amalgamation?

27. @Jeff

What IF there is evidence to point to a BSE consultant who worked on the C&W amalgamation?

That would be highly unethical David, although I doubt whether that by itself will suffice to upset the transaction. Just an unresearched view.

28. @Jeff

The possibility that an unethical action might have influenced the final price to the disadvantage of minority shareholders?

29. @Jeff

The possibility that an unethical action might have influenced the final price to the disadvantage of minority shareholders?

@David, of course the causal nexus will have to be established. Incidentally, do you have a dog in this fight?

30. @David, of course the causal nexus will have to be established. Incidentally, do you have a dog in this fight?

You mean outside being a WATCHDOG?

31. “Jeff Cumberbatch September 24, 2017 at 9:57 AM # – … I am open to your alternative suggestion? Is there some other provision somewhere that would delegitimize what was done?”

I do not have all of the answers, but there is a view being discussed that the C&W transaction was set up to circumvent an offer to the shareholders as was done in the case of Banks Holdings.

32. @ Alien, understood. Did they succeed in their attempt at circumvention? Was their device contrary to existing law? These are the questions to be answered.

Out until after lunch, sorry!

33. @Alien

Why dont you cough up what is on your mind? Are you suggesting there is prep work being done to support an exit strategy?

34. David, there are several ongoing discussions regarding this matter. Based upon those discussions, I believe that the aggrieved shareholders should find reliable legal representation to consolidate their case into a lawsuit against all of the interested parties that are contributing to their damages.

35. @Alien

It comes back to the point Jeff made above, a lawyer will have to find a basis in law to support a credible challenge.

36. I don’t want to tell people what to write but could we please get back to the issue of NIS misleading people and denying their benefits. NIS is using the money that was intended to pay benefits to bail out the Government and finding every reason not to pay legitimate claims.

37. David, okay, if the caller to Brass Tacks was correct regarding the C&W response to the request for the calculation of the $2.86, why should the company refuse to provide information requested by shareholders at a shareholders’ meeting? Would the company refuse a request for information from C&W West Indies. The legal representation is required to get to the bottom of the many questions that are not being addressed.

38. Caswell, realising the full value of its investments allows the NIS to pay benefits as well.

39. @Caswell

You need to see the big picture, both issues are related, one of poor governance. For example, why has the recent Actuarial NIS Review not been made public i.e. posted to the NIS website?

The issue of the rights of minority shareholders in public companies has been a bane. Again it goes bank to the governance framework responsible for ensuring the NIS and publicly listed companies are well managed. Take note the NIS has significant shareholdings in several listed companies which will affect NIS investment income and ultimately the solvency of the Scheme. Focusing on the administrative processing of NIS filing etc is at the end of this chain.

40. @Caswell Franklyn September 24, 2017 at 10:59 AM #

As I said. The claim of the said person might be legitimate, but the NIS strategy is crystal clear: They are bankrupt and try to save money wherever they can.

All the money was moved to the hordes of public servants who have no other aim than to sabotage this island, who want pay, but no hard work. Look at the Supreme Court, look at the BWA, look at the many other public institutions. Have you ever seen one person in haste? Not me. We pay taxes and they relax during their working hours from 9 AM to 3 PM with perceived 2 hours break between.

41. David

Your big picture is not my big picture. I am more concerned about the little fellow who relies on NIS to put food on his table when he is unable to work or when he is in between jobs. Your focus is on people who had extra money to invest while mine is on people who have no money at all and NIS is cheating them.

42. @Alien

It goes back to the point made in the last comment to Caswell. There is a lack of transparency to how public companies operate in Barbados. It is no different to why the NIS has not made the NIS Actuarial review public. It is no different to the smoke and mirror response by the NIS Chairman in response to the report. How can Caswell expect answers to why the NIS staff is not well trained if the culture is one of secrecy and avoidance?

43. One example for the rotten attittude of the public service on this Royal Island from http://www.cbc.bb/index.php/news/item/2029-chief-justice-defends-judiciary-against-criticism-from-ccj: “and still have time for life and family”. This is the VERY reason why nothing is improving in Bim, why the efficiency of public services is as bad as in most other non-developing countries.

In other words, the CJ claims that for judges being 50 to 60 years old HOBBIES and FRIENDS (the children are out of the house, I presume) should be more important than working for the common good. I tell you this: We taxpayers have the right to demand that a person receiving 200,000 BBD per year plus a Mercedes for 350,000 BBD plus driver works at least 60 hours on the job.

We do not owe any respect for somebody in a managerial position in the public service who works 30 hours and still complains.

The NIS funds were abused to finance such bad work ethic.

44. @Caswell

Surely you can appreciate that the ability to influence the C&W share price will positively redound to the benefit of the small man you represent? As it stands NIS expense is riding investment income.

45. The NIS is a hybrid scheme – part pensions and part social security benefits. The two should be ring-fenced.
    The pension scheme is a pay-as-you-go scheme, in that current contributions go towards the payment of pensions. The scheme’s investment policy should be towards meeting those long-term liabilities.
    But we know very little about the scheme’s investment policy: its asset allocation; its stock-picking; who are the fund managers with mandates; are they active or passive mandates; the periods of mandates; when and how are the beauty contests organised.
    Since post-event, none of this is secret or business confidential, why can’t the NIS publish a list of its fund managers over the last ten years, since only the current ones are really important?
    About two years I attended a meeting at the Frank Collymore hall, given by a senior presentative from I think it was Oppenheimer, one of the fund managers, in the presence of minister Byer-Suckoo and Justin Robinson.
    It was farcical. The guy talked about his father-in-law’s liking for ice cream, and the moon and the starts, but very little about his perceptions of the global markets and how the NIS investment was performing.
    He did say returns were about six per cent, which made me sit up since in a low interest environment a return of six per cent or more was high risk. On leaving a young man, of Canadian-Indian heritage who said he worked in fund management, raised a conversation with me about the quality of the presentation.
    I told him exactly what I thought and he agreed with me. So I was not alone.
    But there is a matter of competence around the NIS and pensions schemes. Sometime ago, David Jackman, a former senior executive at the UK’s Financial Services Authority, ran a workshop in the Caribbean on pensions.
    At the completion a wo/man from Barbados approached him and asked for help with the Barbados pension scheme; David excitedly told her he could not help as he was busy, but he knew someone who could, and generously put forward my name; to this day I have not heard from that person (even if I did not have the skills).
    What I did not mention to him was that I had been in email contact with that person for months asking questions about the scheme and s/he never once admitted that s/he could not cope.
    Incompetence, or more properly lack of knowledge, is a major problem with our NIS scheme.
    I say again, ring-fence the existing scheme, package the annuities and sell them on in bulk and replace the scheme with a long-term savings vehicle with access for five major life-changing events: births, marriages, homeownership, professional education and deaths.
    If the minister wants, I am prepared to outline this in a longer paper for her.

46. I think the hospital’s consultants work 21 hours in a week for 200,000 as well.

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Wily Coyote

Again, I ask, what does that got to do with this subject? Enlighten me because I ignorant bad.

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Tron

Now you speaking my language.

49. @Caswell

Have a look at the link Alien just posted. What do you anticipate will happen if government restructures it holding in paper by NIS as proposed by Sinckler?