Introduction

Elton ‘Elombe’ Mottley

As we celebrated our 50th Anniversary, the question came to my mind about where will we be in the next 50 years? Even tho I ask myself this question, I am not expecting that my imagination can provide you with concrete images of what that culture will be. I donโ€™t intend to even try, but what I would like to do is offer you a framework of ideas to consider.

Barbados is an island of 166 square miles sitting in the middle of a sea with our nearest neighbour 100 miles away. We are not on the beaten path. Any one coming to Barbados has to have a purpose. Can we create a purpose or several purposes to make it worth the while for people from wherever to step off that beaten path and fly or sail to Barbados? When they do, how can we persuade them to pay us for that privilege? What do we as Bajans have that has the power to make Barbados such a desirable destination?

Let us look at what we have that we think are unique:

• Our beaches. Not at all unique. Everybody got beaches. But if they come our beaches are a bonus not a reason.
  • Our weather. Not unique either. Everybody got weather. But if they come our weather is a bonus not a reason.
  • Our environment. Not unique either. Everybody got environment, some with rivers, trees, pristine agricultural lands, golf courses. But if they come our pristine environment is a bonus not a reason.
  • Our people. Not unique either. Everybody got people. But if they come we must be the reason not a bonus.

What do we have that would create the reason and desire for visitors to step off the beaten track?

There was a time when cricket attracted the world because of the quality of our cricketers. In 1966, we had 10 players in the West Indies Test Team. We played cricket between houses, on raw ground, and on hillsides where the umpire had to tell the batsman that the bowler was coming up. The game has changed but have we changed? Partially. Franklyn Stevenson is showing one way it is done with his cricket school.

In order to survive as an independent country, we must sell the world

• The pleasure of knowledge, health, caring, happiness and blissfulness by creating a desire for non Bajans to want to remain or go and come back again, and again. We will rent them that time to be with us. That rental is a combination of accommodation, food, transportation, entertainment and service. We must be the landlords.
  • Barbados as the center of education and health across the internet to the world โ€“ websites mastering social media as businesses to sell Barbados as the center of Education. ( e.g. Airbnb)

Barbados must develop the reputation across the Caribbean as having the best education and health systems in the Caribbean. If it isnโ€™t so, let us make it so. Our goal is to market Barbados as BARBADOSThe CENTER for EDUCATION in the Americas.

EDUCATION INDUSTRY

BARBADOS – The CENTER for EDUCATION

UNIVERITIES

Our goal should be to have 10-15 Universities based in Barbados by 2025. A major part of this number should be Medical, Law, and Religious Universities.

MEDICAL SCHOOLS

• When the new hospital is built, it will continue to have a relationship with UWI โ€“ Cave Hill.
  • The Old (60 year) Queen Elizabeth Hospital should be leased to one of the Medical Schools to be refurbished and used as a teaching hospital and school.
  • The Old General Hospital on Jemmottโ€™s Lane should also be leased to another Medical School.
  • St Joseph Hospital in St Peter should also be leased to another Medical School.
  • The Psychiatric Hospital (Jenkins, Black Rock) occupies 25 acres and can also be leased to a Medical School. Modern Psychiatric centres should be established for psychiatric patients across the island. Alternately, this facility because of its location could be used as the location for the new National General Hospital with enough space to expand the UWI Medical School (Including nursing). UWI would most likely to get accreditation, a very important status for Caribbean Medical Schools – technicians, veterinary medicine, pharmaceutics, medical sciences, etc.

RELIGIOUS COLLEGES

• Codrington College (600+ acres) should be developed into the Barbados International Spiritual University. It has already expanded as a University of Christian Thought by training members of other Christian churches.
  • Inviting the Chinese to establish and build a Confucius Institute to teach Chinese religions and philosophical thought and language.(Already being built at UWI- Cave Hill Campus.)
  • Inviting the Japanese/South Korea similarly establish a Buddhist, Zen, South Asian Religious College.
  • Inviting Saudis and Iranians to build Islamic Colleges.
  • Invite the International Jewish community to build a Centre for Jewish Studies especially recognizing the first Jewish Synagogue in the Americas in Bridgetown.
  • Inviting India to construct a Hindu College as well as other Indian religions.
  • Invite Nigeria and other African States to build an African Religions Centre to study African traditional religions and religious thought.

BARBADOS UNIVERSITY

1. COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Extended training in the Fine Arts โ€“

o Animation

o Art

o Design

o Music

o Dance

o Theatre

o Film Production

o Fashion

o Web design

o Critical analysis

ยท Accounting

ยท Management

ยท Project Management

ยท Other traditional areas

SAMUEL JACKMAN PRESCOD POLYTECHNIC

• Extended training of Craftsmen in joinery and reproduction of Bajan furniture for export.
  • All students in wood-working stream would be required to individually or as teams reproduce a piece of traditional furniture, or sets in order to graduate.
  • Training of wide range of technical graduates in maintenance and construction.
  • Medical technologists and maintenance of highly sophisticated technologies.

ERDISTON TEACHERS COLLEGE

• Training is use of new technologies
  • Training how to use of proverbs to establish values

PRIVATE HIGH SCHOOLS FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

Barbados has had a number of private secondary schools for over 70 years viz.

The Barbados Academy, The Modern High School, The Federal High School, Mappโ€™s High School, St Winnifredโ€™s High School, St Cyprianโ€™s, (Green) Lynchโ€™s Secondary, St Ursulaโ€™s Secondary, The Co-operative High School, Seventh Day Adventist High School, Callenderโ€™s High School, Metropolitan High School, Christ Church High School, and Codrington High School.

• Barbados should encourage the use of many of the old plantation estates to establish private accredited high schools with or without boarding for local and foreign students to pursue the International Baccalaureate (IB) program.
  • Provide access to foreign students thru accredited schools, especially South and Central American students to access our High Schools so as to be immersed in English while boarding at former South Coast hotels converted into hostels.

SPORTS AND LIFE STYLE INSTITUTES

• Education opportunities – coaching in sports, health farms, health spas and related rehabilitation services to develop talents of Bajans
  • Develop support services such as volunteers for the development of Sports in Primary, Secondary and National meetings.
  • UWI and its Institutes must conduct research aimed at encouraging new businesses that can be developed on the internet, in marketing of our music, artistic and cultural industries outlining the types of jobs and services required and existing Worldwide. This would include festivals that could hire our artistes to perform as professionals during the summer and fall. We need to capitalize on the Rhianna Effect.
  • Barbadians should also be encouraged to develop and practice the art of Sticklicking and Road Tennis.

HERITAGE

HERITAGE AND GENERAL NATIONAL EDUCATION

• To strengthen the moral authority and respect for people, Barbadian students should be taught proverbs as training tools from preschool to the end of their secondary schooling.
  • NIFCA – the platform for exposing our youth to the arts, should emphasize its developmental role by establishing competition first at all primary schools where other students, teachers, family and friends could see their childrenโ€™s works.
  • The winners in each category will go to the Parish level where they compete again and the winners next to the National Level. This process would also allow parents and friends to once again follow the childrenโ€™s work and successes at all levels.
  • The finals would consist of those winners from the Parish level.
  • Parents and teachers would be encouraged to be judges alongside National judges who in their deliberations would raise the knowledge base of the parents, friends and the community at large thru the discussions.
  • The establishment of a series of voluntary National Orchestras and choirs to perform in public regularly at the National Bandstands โ€“ The Hastings Rocks, The Bay Street Esplanade, Queenโ€™s Park, George V Park, Speightstown Esplanade and other areas. The purpose is to re-develop a solid heritage of musicians to enhance the quality of life in Barbados. We did it all before with Church Choirs and Village Choirs.

LANDSHIP

One of the critical requirements for Bajans is the need to strengthen our own self-awareness and self-esteem of what and who is a Bajan. The Barbados Landship Movement is unique to Barbados and gives us the singular identity second to none. The survival of the Landship Movement must be part of our National Identity. Without it we have a face without a nose.

The only country that has a Landship Movement is Barbados. Landship for adults will die out because most of the communal conditions e.g. savings and burial benefits have been replaced by National Insurance and individual insurance. This unique Bajan indigenous institution should not be allowed to die. It must be recreated and reimaged as an organization in Primary Schools to inculcate several traditional values from the Original Landship plus. We had no qualms of introducing Boy Schools, Girl Guides, Church Lad Brigades, Mother Unions and Cadet Corps because it was mandated by the British Government. All of these organizations required discipline, cooperation, and development of leadership skills

The Landship Movement should be converted into a youth movement like the Boy Scouts or Girl Guides or cadets to maintain this unique aspect of Bajan Culture. These youth Landships would become crucibles of this traditional dance and its musical heritage. Competitions with each other in a series of categories will be organized annually.

The former Barbados National Bank, now Republic Bank, had developed a business program for students that can be incorporated into this Landship Movement. This program can be used to teach money management and savings culture.

CARTS CULTURE

Over the years, Bajans developed a series of carts to move goods and provide services to each other. When compared with Caribbean Islands, the Bajan carts are unique in their design and use. Some of these carts should be adapted and used to provide modern day services while maintaining and projecting our unique heritage. These carts can be decorated and painted to capture individuality of the vendor.

• Donkey Cart taxis to move visitors from Cruise Ships to Bridgetown and around Resort Areas like St Lawrence Gap, Holetown and Speightstown
  • Bread Carts can be converted to serve hot or cold foods at temporary roadside locations.
  • Rumshops recreated as restaurants serving indigenous food as cuisine with appropriate training available.
  • Snowball Carts selling Bajan ices with locally made fruit juices โ€“ Bajan Cherry, Bajan shaddock, Sugar apple, Golden Apple, Packaged Sucking Cane (made from earlier soft varieties), Sea Grape, Guava, Gooseberries, et al
  • Luncheon Carts for food
  • Coconut Carts

MASTER CRAFTSMEN OF BARBADOS

Furniture

There is no doubt that furniture craftsmen/joiners of the past have produced a fantastic array of unique designs. Let us imbue that furniture with the prestige that it deserves`. The palaces/warehouses that some of this furniture is located are

• Government House, St Michael
  • Ilaro Court, St Michael
  • The Barbados Museum, St Michael
  • Grantley Adams House โ€“Tyrol Cot, Spooners Hill, St Michael
  • The Barbados National Trust Headquarters โ€“ Wildey Great House, St Michael
  • Keith Melvilleโ€™s Sunbury Plantation House, St Phillip

There are many other collections across Barbados that can be used to earn income for the owners as well as for the country.

Training of persons to produce reproductions should follow the same path as training artistes for all types of endeavours โ€“ art, music, dance, writing, programing, etc. All Wood Working graduates should be required to reproduce a piece of this furniture in order to graduate. Do it once, do it again! On visits to these locations there are signs indicating cost of item plus shipping costs to rest of the world. Exactly what fine artists do. All art work would be signed and certified as authentic reproductions by a special Reproductions Standard Institute. Marketing will be thru Internet web sites using National ID Codes.

Why are there no tours of Government House? Or Ilaro Court?

• Bajan Furniture galleries where signed reproductions are also marketed and sold with short histories.

ยท Chattel houses should be used for restaurants, boutiques especially in the growth areas of St Phillip, St John, St Peter and St Lucy.

ยท

Each area needs to be given prestige thru media and the internet coverage

Computing systems. Knowledge systems. Cognitive. Will still need people contact.

Pottery

Chalky Mount Barbados should be designated as a National Brand as is given to Cropover. This brand should be accessible to all potters operating out of IDC Facilities Island wide. BIDC needs to change its focus to giving full support to developing local entrepreneurs in these areas.

ATTITUDES โ€“ Service and Servitude

Actions needed to strengthen our perception of self.

National Heroes

• A popular edition of book on National Heroes to be sold for $5-10.
  • Comic book versions of National Heroes for primary schools.
  • Cartoon video stories about National heroes.

The Bajan Experience

• Recreate Rumshops architecturally and spatially not just in the country but in the city extended to the street. Baxterโ€™s Rd, Nelson St, Roebuck St, Palmetto St
  • Use of Donkey cart taxis to move tourists from harbour to the Inner Bridgetown Mall (Swan St, Broad Street, Trafalgar Square, Palmetto St.)
  • Street food using traditional bread carts to serve from
  • Chattel house as hotels etc.

The Rastafarians of Temple Yard

• Rastas have been around for the last 40 years, manufacturing products, many inbreeding designs, use of hard leather limiting their market primarily to fellow Rastas.
  • Need to develop wider designs especially to reach the visitor and middle class market.
  • Need access to better quality leathers and other products like the high quality leathers made from the Barbados Black Belly sheep skins.

Barbados Black Belly Sheep

The Barbados Black Belly Sheep is a unique animal that evolved in Barbados over time. Studies have shown that the mutton obtained from the Black Belly Sheep produces high quality Triple B (Barbados Black Belly) lamb for both the local and visitorsโ€™ market. It also produces some of the finest leather from its skins.

To support the Black Belly development program, unused agricultural lands must be converted into grass pastures and/or growing miamossi plants, also known as river tamarind (Leucaena leucocephala).

This plant exists in Barbados and has a high protein content suitable for feeding ruminants when it is still green. It was introduced by the Ministry of Agriculture in the Pine but has been allowed to grow wild to maturity scattering its seeds across neighbouring fields. Penalties must be implemented against land owners who allow their lands to become infested by those responsible for administering environmental standards.

This plant if managed correctly, will be an important feed ingredient for the Barbados Black Belly sheep. It is from these animals that we can produce –

• Leather for leather workers (Consultant – Dr Leroy McClean) โ€“ bags, shoes, amulets, hair products, books marks, wrist bands, earrings, jackets, head bands,, etc
  • Food (Consultant – Rosemary Parkinson)
  • Reduce foreign exchange spent on importing animal feeds.

Industrial Development Corporation Services

The Industrial Development Corporation must be restructured to invest in the development of future Bajan entrepreneurs by bringing them together in one location at vastly reduced rent to allow them to feed off of each other. IDC is a landlord of buildings at the industrial Estate outside the Bridgetown Harbour. These buildings are deteriorating and are not being maintained. Certainly IDC could offer discounted rates to bring young entrepreneurs together to feed off of each other to supply services to the outside world.

• Legal Drafting for countries, states and municipalities worldwide
  • Computer software development
  • Video and sound studios
  • Graphic artists
  • Heritage joiners
  • Clothing Designers and manufacturing
  • Animation

Bridgetown Port Duty Free Facilities

Access to duty free facilities at the port should be two-fold:

• Wholesalers who sell to retailers.
  • Retailers who sell to visitors.

This will allow retailers to use traditional concepts of hawkers to sell products in various combinations. This tradition of bargaining and combining products allows them to determine their own profits but more importantly share in the spoils of the hospitality industry. These newly defined hawkers at the port will be costumed having acquired training at the Barbados Community College (BCC) and Barbados Institute of Management and Productivity (BIMAP).

Other Developments

• Dr Carmichael – Restoration of Facades on Roebuck St, Swan St, Bay St etc
  • Paul Altman – Enhancement of Jewish Synagogue, oldest in the New World of the Americas.
  • Tyrol Cot Chattel House Village should be a functional village redesigned as a mini tenantry village with a bakery providing freshly baked traditional breads, rumshop, chickens, palings, bread carts, snowball carts, coconut carts, troubadours, et al.
  • Villagers should wear period costumes.

This is about US. This is about Jobs. This is about Pride. This is about Survival.

Baba Elombe Mottley
January 1, 2017.

969 responses to “The Next FIFTY YEARS of PRIDE and INDUSTRY!”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

So John, if “In Barbados, […] Quakers dominated and controlled in the 1680โ€™s.” why didn’t they repeal the 1661 slave law? Asking for a friend…

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“however if I was rich, I would have the gun, the safe, the big dogs, the high walls, the wrought iron gates and the security guardsโ€ฆ”

If you had ensalved, kidnapped, raped, murdered, brutalized stole, lied and committed every evil crime known to man against a race of people, you would have fortified forts to prevent rebellion and retaliation too, the quakers and all the british and american frauds in that era, were vicious criminals, enriching themselves off the misery of black people….

….that is what the Johns and Vincents can never run away from, that is what they will always have to live with, crimes against humanity perpetrated by the savages they continue to admire, in hopes the evil can be repeated to make them feel whole, they will be hearing about their ancestors crimes until they are sealed in their boxes and buried in the earth.

The same thing is happening worldwide, the descendants of evil are being reminded of their ancestors centuries old crimes against humanity every day…lest they continue to pretend to forget, so they can repeat these crimes.

quakers deserved to be hung, they should still be hanging them today….and each and every one of their descendants.

And the minorities are still using sugar subsidies as an excuse to steal hundreds of millions of dollars from the descendants of slaves, the current taxpayers in Barbados today,

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

PLT…you will learn how very dishonest John and Vincent are, in their bid to reverse decades of gains made by the majority population to help themselves. ..they hate seeing that population being self sufficient….and would nit hesitate to devise ways to keep them dependent on sugar and tourism only to increase theft levels.

hence the concerted effort in the last 40 years to monopolize everything, devise schemes and scams to steal as many millions of dollars as possible generated by taxpayers and pensioners and keep the majority stagnated and unable to expand businesses in that meagre opportunity environment.

If Barbadis had any good black leaders in the last 50 years, those crimes perpetrated by that tiny number of minorities against the majority population could never happen for all these decades..

4. Vincent is not ‘dishonest’….
    He is just out of his league in this discussion.
    Somewhat like Glyne Murray hosting a call-in program… ๐Ÿ™‚

Most Bajans grew up under intense brainwashing by our shiite eddykashun system, which was designed, and REFINED, to inculcate a self-image of subservience to Blacks.
    Having brought into that, Vincent’s world revolves around a bit of albino-ism in his genealogy, and this whole discussion completely overturns his accepted reality.

On the other hand, John is a ‘scholar’ because he readily brought into the racist eddykashun shiite from early. It was like honey to a bee for him…

Unfortunately for him, current scientific research, the current reality of black assertiveness, and his own low self-image when juxtaposed against blacks such as Bushie and PLT …seriously challenges his world. He has been a confused soul now for years… after his youthful dreams of becoming a 21st century ‘planter’ failed to materialise.
    He has retreated to fantasies of past ‘glories’ from the historical friction that he learned, and assimilated, at HC – but which is mostly fiction contrived by others such as himself – precisely to perpetuate a society filled with people like Vincent.

PLT lived overseas for long enough to recognise that, if anything, white is actually inferior….
    This is demonstrable on almost ANY field of sport, or anywhere else, ..where PURE ABILITY dictates success. (It is not difficult then, to understand the focus by some on expensive sports that require exclusive equipment like horses, cars in order to stand out…)

Simple compatibility with the Sun, …the SOURCE of life on earth – should be enough to resolve black self-image issues…. (no doubt Miller will endorse this point… ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Of course Bushie did not need to live in the diaspora to resolve this dilemma..
    …. cause Bushie got a whacker….
    ha ha

5. Bushie

Mawnin…..chuckle…..yuh sleep good…..thanks for the back handed defence a bit like the crocodile tears of your new boss man over John’s perceived misfortunes…….yuh larnin good an from a Kolij boy tuh besides…..yuh,yuh Cawmere traitor….up an’ on…..lol.

PLT

Sadly you do not know who and what you are and the diasporic sojourn confused you even more then to add insult to injury you are quoting from the creator of the Bussa myth to justify your points.

Chuckle….the difference between you two is that he had an agenda and has achieved its end result whereas with you and your faux anger over slavery are akin to hurricane Irma sound and fury,doomed to fizzle out,hopefully without touching the minds of those poor youth.

John is doing a great job in rebutting your nonsense….I will continue to observe…..no need to further engage me.

6. peterlawrencethompson September 9, 2017 at 1:41 AM #
    So John, if โ€œIn Barbados, [โ€ฆ] Quakers dominated and controlled in the 1680โ€™s.โ€ why didnโ€™t they repeal the 1661 slave law? Asking for a friendโ€ฆ

Good question … but you should be able to figure it out without my help!!

But in case you can’t here goes.

First, let me pose another question which I will answer.

In so doing you will get your answer.

Has it ever been repealed or is it still on the books?

Actually it has been repealed by default.

By abolishing slavery the Quakers ensured that there no longer existed a class of persons to whom it applied!!

It is called going to the head of the stream!!

What I am finding is that Quakers operated way out of their league, at the very top levels of society.

There were no Quaker MPs in 1807 when the Slave Trade was abolished yet somehow they influenced Parliament to do so.

Can you imagine a single woman, Mary Fisher, in 1658 travelling to convert the Sultan of the Ottaman Empire in Constantinople?

Or a man, John Perot, travelling to Rome to convert the Pope at a time when the RC church burnt heretics?

Only complete faith in God would enable a person to do that and survive to tell the tale.

Both did.

Both are associated with the Quaker experience in Barbados.

7. Please let your friend know!!!

8. Rational thinking ๐Ÿ’ญ Barbadians shudder to think that the next 50 years of their country’s growth & development can be influenced Mia Aman Mottley as a possible PM – given her unlawful :

โ€ข Practice of Law without an LEC !!
    โ€ข Wire tapping instructions to a former Commissioner of Police !!

As outlined in the BarbadosToday online edition of September 8, 2017

Right now ……. Mia Aman Mottley is more dangerous than category 5 Hurricane Irma !!!

9. For much of that 300 years Barbados was NOT a resource poor country, not when sugar sold for cocaine-like prices.

Here is where historians and lay people all come unstuck.

The basic premise is flawed!!!

Just like they have missed the Quaker experience in Barbados.

Let me set you a task.

Tell me what the price of sugar was over a period of time, say 1650 to 1700.

If you are able to do that you will get the understanding that will help you to get past the mental block erected in your mind by starting with a false assumption.

See if you can find an article entitled “The Groans of the Plantations” or something like that.

It will help you and get you on track!!

10. Simple Simon September 9, 2017 at 1:04 AM #
    So yes we know that Barbados was rich. Barbados was very very rich.
    But the majority of the people were poor, poor, poor.
    Why was that so John?

Just examine your basic premise and you will get the answer!!

11. If I have a business that is breaking even lets say producing a modest profit I can mortgage.

If I have a job and I want to mortgage, I need to show the mortgagee that my income exceeds my expenses.

Same principle.

In both cases, based on the difference between cash outflow and inflow the amount I can borrow is determined.

If I have a business idea and need finance to make it a reality, I need to produce a cash flow projection to show the lender I can pay back what I borrowed and any accrued interest.

So lets say I have a business idea and need a million dollars to finance it.

The projections show I can pay back.

I borrow the money and people immediately say to me … you are rich!!

But I am not, I have wealth, the idea.

Until I pay back the principal and interest and accumulate I am not rich, but I may be in the future.

But if I ever get to that position, I know every idea has a life cycle so I am not going to sit down and accumulate riches, I can’t, …. I am going to invest and build wealth, at the expense of riches.

The problem with historians is they do not understand business!!

… not that I do myself, but I understand enough to know the above!!

12. It is fascinating to see the points made by PLT as he cleverly and easily refutes the chattering made by John. But why should I just settle for Peter’s statement when I can let ‘google be my friend.’.

1) The rough guide to Barbados by Peter Vaitilingam – Page 118: “On your left the Pink Cotton tower is one of six signal towers to warn of slave uprising or the arrival of enemy boats.”

2) Page 93: “Gun Hill was one of a chain of six signal stations that were rapidly constructed on high ground across Barbados after the island first and only mass slave revolt in 1816.”

John writes a sanitize version of Barbados history. He omits the parts that does not suit his narrative and regale us with his sweet fiction. If you listen to him the slaves were treated as if they were kin folks to their ‘masters’, and if you listen to Vincent Blacks have disappeared from the islands and replaced by his ‘pelaus’.

Ladies and gentlemen, you are looking at the faces of evil. These two are not ignorant, just propagandists and wicked.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes thinks that “Sadly you do not know who and what you are”

On the contrary Vincent, I know precisely… I am a Bajan who is of 75% West African descent and 25% English/Scottish/Irish descent. I am one of the luckiest people in the world: with two brilliant and beautiful grown children each making the world a better place in their own ways, no need to work at anything that I don’t choose to, in excellent health, living on a gorgeous tropical island with a loving girlfriend who is a genius, and with so many opportunities to serve my fellow human beings. Doing my shopping at Cheapside market this morning all the old lady vendors were flirting with me and calling me Mr. Smiles because I’m always smiling. Trust me Vincent: I feel like I’m in heaven.

I have no “faux anger over slavery;” I don’t have any real anger either; chattel slavery in Barbados ended a hundred an d eighty years ago: sometimes I have mild annoyance over people like you and John telling lies about slavery, but I have such fun trashing every argument that you advance that I’m smiling all the while. My “deeply upset and offended” over the Cotton Tower signage is frankly theatrics designed to get the attention of the National Trust Administration… and it worked.

“…no need to further engage me.” Running off with your tail between your legs?? I never had a NEED to “engage” you; systematically destroying every argument and opinion you advance is purely for recreation on my part, you are in significant.

14. John can easily embraced a Barbados of a yesterday the realities which he did not have to live made up of hard working black people trying to make a living in the cane fields. A Barbados when most blacks could least afford to buy proper clothing or put a decent meal on the table. A barbados which forced many head of households to immigrate to find work resulting in broken and separated families having a psychological effect that was burdensome most of the time with families having to wait for weeks and sometimes months for the one family income coming from overseas to make ends meet
    A barbados where families lived in houses with dirt as the foundation
    John in his reality can endorsed with gleeful candor such a Barbados since the world and lifestyle he lived was paved with acceptance and elitism.

15. John writes a sanitize version of Barbados history. He omits the parts that does not suit his narrative and regale us with his sweet fiction. If you listen to him the slaves were treated as if they were kin folks to their โ€˜mastersโ€™, and if you listen to Vincent Blacks have disappeared from the islands and replaced by his โ€˜pelausโ€™.
    +++++++++++++++++++

… and then Peter goes and confirms it!!

16. I am a Bajan who is of 75% West African descent and 25% English/Scottish/Irish descent.

My sibling did the DNA thing, 79% African!!!

So, Peter, I am more African than you it seems!!

17. PLT

Chuckle….poor you….a typical sweet skin buckeye,not a callous in your hand full of moral rectitude from your sojourn in far lands,ready to lead the great unwashed.

Has always been so with the middle class neither fish, fowl or good red herring,even before the days of Marx,they all know what was wrong 400 years ago and they are going to put it rights today…..carry on smartly.

Feel free to respond as you are an excellent case study and proves the point about the more a monkey climbs.

Truth be told I am enjoying this as well,I enjoy studying the convoluted thinking of my fellow Pelaus when they are lost……I must write a book on it one of these days.

18. Angela,

Do you live in Sandy Lane or on the back of the moon?

“when most blacks could least afford to buy proper clothing or put a decent meal on the table”
    This is just the present situation in Barbados with unaffordable food prices. I guess, cocaine from Blackrock is now cheaper than vegetables in the supermarket.

“A barbados which forced many head of households to immigrate to find work”
    You mean emigrate! Do you know how many Barbadians are working in NYC, Bahamas, Jamaica, Trickidad and Guyana do earn proper money and no Mickey Mouse-Dollars? Do you know how many teachers have a second or third jobs to pay their bills?

Not everybody in Barbados has it KFC style (“sweet en lickin”) with yearly salary increase 10%, ten types of extra allowances for housing, entertainment, liming, drinking, talking etc., a free ride on a big silver Mercedes with a driver boy and house upgrade made by Jada.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Angela Yardgowl….that makes it so mystifying why both black government would pick up the tax money and pension money of this same abused population and descendants of slaves and give to the savages like John who are descended from those who enslaved destroyed and still seek to destroy blacks….why has it been happening for the last 50 years…why is it still happening in 2017.

These are the same criminal descendants that are only capable of bearing ill will, most of them…to the majority population.

Stockholm Syndrome does not apply here, but ignorance, stupidity, greed and corruption on the parts of both governments certainly does.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

John, with your detailed knowledge of Quaker history you keep posting irrefutable proofs of MY argument ๐Ÿ˜‰

“In 1661, the Barbados Slave Code is enacted legalizing the institution in Barbados.” So are establishing here that prior to 1661 the Quakers and other planters were holding slaves illegally? Did that not prick their ever so sensitive consciences?

โ€œIn Barbados, [โ€ฆ] Quakers dominated and controlled in the 1680โ€™s.โ€ But “by abolishing slavery the Quakers ensured that there no longer existed a class of persons to whom it applied” in 1834. So then this 150+ year period, encompassing the worst periods of this crime against humanity that I can hold the Quakers responsible for because they failed to act when they “dominated and controlled in the 1680โ€™s.โ€ If they had acted when you say they could have in Barbados in the 1680s they would have prevented untold human suffering, deprivation and death. Did that not prick their ever so holy consciences?

21. TheGazer September 9, 2017 at 9:21 AM #

Wuhloss…..where ignorance is bliss ’tis folly to be wise……enjoy.

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

PLT….ya know John is lying right…he gave us a different genetic test result just 2 months ago….right here on BU

When the riffraff from the UK washed up on US shores, after the indians saved their half dead asses, they murdered and raped the indigenous natives, stole their land…forged documents that claimed that they themselves were native american and still carry on that fraud to this day…

John is a liar.

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes
    So now you have descended into pure ad hominem… I’m a “sweet skin buckeye” whatever the f#*% that is, without a callus (sp) on my hands. I will enjoy your “book” I’m sure, but be sure to use spellcheck.

24. John description of the ways and action of the Quakers is accurate. However, his description of their role in Barbados is greatly exaggerated.

Larry Gragg writes a “History of the Quakers in Barbados: Challenging the culture of the planter class.” The following text is copied from BFP review of this text ..

———–Ultimately, the Quaker movement on Barbados โ€œended with a whimper,โ€ Gragg writes
    They challenged the very powerful plantation power structure and lost,โ€ he says.

โ€œIt was an extraordinary challenge, but today thereโ€™s little evidence that they had much impact. But they did have the local government frightened for two decades. “They challenged the very powerful plantation power structure and lost,โ€ he says. โ€œIt was an extraordinary challenge, but today thereโ€™s little evidence that they had much impact. But they did have the local government frightened for two decades.”……………….

25. Peter

By the same token, slavery was abolished in 1833/4

It still persists in Africa today.

France finally abolished it in one of the African Countries in 1962.

Mauretania had it on the books till 2008 I think … check and correct me!!

The 150+ year hiatus is just part of the human condition!!!

I guess since I may be more African than you will also attribute distance yourself from this hiatus and put it all on me!!

Poor me!!

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

But John, I’m not African at all… I’m Bajan. If genetic descent were all that counted then we would ALL be African, because as you know that is the cradle of humanity.

27. @Vincent

The recommendation is if you cannot logically respond to an opposing perspective to say nothing.

28. PLT

Hahaha…..that’s the difference ole son I am part of the great unwashed….my book will be written in the language of the unwashed…..try associating with us sometime and learn our language and spelling some time……keep on coming with your lollipops.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

John, there are more slaves alive today than at any other time in human history. The proportion of the population is at its smallest level, but the overall population is much larger.

So what does this prove? It proves that we ALL have a lot more work to do that is being impeded by people like you trying to obscure the history of slavery. What are YOU doing to combat contemporary slavery??

30. David

Let the old man enjoy himself.

31. Chuckle…….Pudding&Souse time…..will check back later folks and see how much more John has taught you all……enjoy.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Ladies and gentlemen, you are looking at the faces of evil. These two are not ignorant, just propagandists and wicked.”

And that’s the face of at least 85% of the minority population on the island, I won’t in good conscience say all because not all are wicked, greedy, self absorbed and bear illwill to the black population, but 85% of them do….which out of a population of 7,500 minorities on the island are way too many.

But they can only continue the practice if allowed by black governments and the majority population. ..each and every one of them starting with the racist, corrupt, greedy Williams brothers coming on down, can be stopped in their tracks.

They do not have the population size to continue, once they are stopped.

33. It is now thought that these ferocious Atlantic hurricanes are upon the Americas because of Donald Trump and his evil racist hitlerite mentality.Every three days or so,a weather system comes off the west African coast heading for the Americas.It is abroad in some schools of thought that it represents pay back time for slavery.Unfortunately,in its path to North America,poor underprivileged descendants of those enslaved Africans suffer more than the well heeled descendants of the European slave master.It continues to be the shame of centuries that after 400 years of enslaved labour,the african lives in the most depressed conditions imaginable,simply because he has never been compensated for his labour of 4 centuries.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes,
    I’m puzzled by your delight in being “unwashed.” I delight in the company of ordinary Bajans at Cheapside Market and everywhere else in Barbados and I find their standard of personal hygiene to be impeccable. Where do you shop? Massy??

35. The worst lie may be that which contains a grain of truth, for when you point at a part and say this is a lie, the liar points at another section and say this is the truth.

Twistorians alert….

Vincent.. a follower

36. Let me say ……Good morning to all
    Beautiful weather where I am
    Soccer on TV
    Hope you all have a beautiful day (that includes Vincent and John)

37. Slavery not legal in Bim before the first slave code? Wrong.

I refer to the oldest collection of Barbadian statutes on the General Amnesty of 1651: Articles of Agreements, Made, and concluded the 11th day of January, 1651, 1652, p. 5, s. 12: “That all Prisoners on both sides be discharged and set free, whatsoever, with the full benefit of injoying all these Articles; and that all Horses, Cattell, Servants, Negro’s, and other Goods be restored to their right owners, except such servants as had freeโˆฃdome given them, and came aboard before Saturday the 3. of January”.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

John,
    “slavery was abolished in 1833/4 […] It still persists in Africa today.”
    It also persists in Aisia, Europe & the Americas… in fact I believe the only continent to be free of slavery is Antartica. I fight slavery wherever it exists & part of that fight is to expose it in both historical and contemporary contexts.

I give financial support to Prajwala, which fights slavery in India. You are not a poor man, join me in contributing to the fight; You don’t have to choose Prajwala, there are several good organizations… I’m sure the Quakers still do useful work in this field. Give them money!

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Tron
    I know that slavery was illegal before 1661. I was just having fun quoting John’s nonsense back at him for him to squirm at.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“It still persists in Africa today.”

And this is always John’s weak argument, when in reality there are …

30 millions modern day slaves in UK
    60 million modern day slaves in US

These are the statistics for slaves in subsaharan africa…

today, there are just as many or.more slaves in the west than in Africa…judging from statistics.

“Oct 17, 2013 – Sub-Saharan Africa is a swath of red, with many countries having roughly 0.7 percent of the population enslaved — or one in every 140 people”

Newer statistic…

“Jun 1, 2016 – An Australian human rights group, founded by billionaire business magnate Andrew Forrest and backed by Hollywood actor Russell Crowe, has released research estimating that almost 46 million people are living as slaves. The 2016 global slavery index, funded by Forrestโ€™s Walk Free”

“May 30, 2016 – Total number of people enslaved globally: 45.8 million people. … million men, women and children around the world are today trapped in modern …”

“How many slaves are there in the world today?
    Estimates of the number of slaves today range from around 21 million-29 million to 46 million. Modern slavery is a multibillion-dollar industry with estimates of up to $35 billion generated annually. The United Nations estimates that roughly 27 to 30 million individuals are currently caught in the slave trade industry.”

The intent here is to stop the minorities in Barbados from bribing black governments on the island with the population’s own tax dollars and pension money to maintain a black slave society for the benefit of the minorities…

….cut off those ill gotten funds to the minority population of corrupt frauds and thieves.

It is a travesty against the people, a crime perpetrated by minorites and both black government which is reducing the majority population to pre 50s poverty …..as intended.

41. Gabriel September 9, 2017 at 10:03 AM #
    Every three days or so,a weather system comes off the west African coast heading for the Americas

You better be careful what you wish for and watch closely because we are now in the period that Barbados has in the past been hammered!!

Last time was Janet in 1955 ….. September 22.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes,
    I make my own souse… and I think it’s the best I’ve ever tasted. My secret?? I use good cuts of pork, not the garbage that they fed to slaves. You should try it sometime…

43. WC

So if you know about all this slavery in existence today why are you wasting time on the past?

44. peterlawrencethompson September 9, 2017 at 10:18 AM #
    @Vincent Haynes,
    I make my own souseโ€ฆ and I think itโ€™s the best Iโ€™ve ever tasted. My secret?? I use good cuts of pork, not the garbage that they fed to slaves. You should try it sometimeโ€ฆ

++++++++++++++++++

So you have tasted the souse that was fed to the slaves??????????????

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

John is living to keep a slave society alive in Barbados, he and Vincent will not want to fight slavery anywhere else, it defeats their purpose and destroys their plans…….

…..although there are those vile white hypocrites who would give money to fight slavery, but give millions more to keep it alive to pad their bank accounts…they are evil and have honed those skills for centuries.

.the day the minorities lose their strangle hold on the weak minds of the black governments and on the brainwashed population, both John and Vincent will cock up and die, that’s the only thing keeping them both alive.

46. What are YOU doing to combat contemporary slavery??
    +++++++++++++++++++

You claim to know of my issues and you ask such a question??????

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Read again John….yall are to insignificant and small in numbers to be keeping a slave society alive.

The intent here is to stop the minorities in Barbados from bribing black governments on the island with the populationโ€™s own tax dollars and pension money to maintain a black slave society for the benefit of the minoritiesโ€ฆ

โ€ฆ.cut off those ill gotten funds to the minority population of corrupt frauds and thieves.

It is a travesty against the people, a crime perpetrated by minorites and both black government which is reducing the majority population to pre 50s poverty โ€ฆ..as intended.

48. @John

Contribute what you can afford? It is the though that counts to set you free!

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes,
    I was truly touched and flattered when said my power is “akin to hurricane Irma sound and fury, doomed to fizzle out”

Well we are all “doomed to fizzle out” as mortal beings, but to be put in the class of Nature’s most awesome forces, more powerful than a nuclear detonation… well Vincent, I’m touched by your admiration, but I’m not really all that influential. My girlfriend thinks I’m about at threatening a a summer drizzle at my worst, and clearly that is sufficient to wash you and John away, but I’m training hard to get up to at least thunderstorm level. But Irma?… really?… you’re too kind, but thanks for the compliment.

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ John,
    “You claim to know of my issues and you ask such a question??????”
    I don’t claim to know of your issues, I have simply discovered that you have been made to suffer cruel injustice. That does not stop you from lending a hand to fellow human beings, does it?