Introduction

Elton ‘Elombe’ Mottley

As we celebrated our 50th Anniversary, the question came to my mind about where will we be in the next 50 years? Even tho I ask myself this question, I am not expecting that my imagination can provide you with concrete images of what that culture will be. I don’t intend to even try, but what I would like to do is offer you a framework of ideas to consider.

Barbados is an island of 166 square miles sitting in the middle of a sea with our nearest neighbour 100 miles away. We are not on the beaten path. Any one coming to Barbados has to have a purpose. Can we create a purpose or several purposes to make it worth the while for people from wherever to step off that beaten path and fly or sail to Barbados? When they do, how can we persuade them to pay us for that privilege? What do we as Bajans have that has the power to make Barbados such a desirable destination?

Let us look at what we have that we think are unique:

• Our beaches. Not at all unique. Everybody got beaches. But if they come our beaches are a bonus not a reason.
  • Our weather. Not unique either. Everybody got weather. But if they come our weather is a bonus not a reason.
  • Our environment. Not unique either. Everybody got environment, some with rivers, trees, pristine agricultural lands, golf courses. But if they come our pristine environment is a bonus not a reason.
  • Our people. Not unique either. Everybody got people. But if they come we must be the reason not a bonus.

What do we have that would create the reason and desire for visitors to step off the beaten track?

There was a time when cricket attracted the world because of the quality of our cricketers. In 1966, we had 10 players in the West Indies Test Team. We played cricket between houses, on raw ground, and on hillsides where the umpire had to tell the batsman that the bowler was coming up. The game has changed but have we changed? Partially. Franklyn Stevenson is showing one way it is done with his cricket school.

In order to survive as an independent country, we must sell the world

• The pleasure of knowledge, health, caring, happiness and blissfulness by creating a desire for non Bajans to want to remain or go and come back again, and again. We will rent them that time to be with us. That rental is a combination of accommodation, food, transportation, entertainment and service. We must be the landlords.
  • Barbados as the center of education and health across the internet to the world – websites mastering social media as businesses to sell Barbados as the center of Education. ( e.g. Airbnb)

Barbados must develop the reputation across the Caribbean as having the best education and health systems in the Caribbean. If it isn’t so, let us make it so. Our goal is to market Barbados as BARBADOSThe CENTER for EDUCATION in the Americas.

EDUCATION INDUSTRY

BARBADOS – The CENTER for EDUCATION

UNIVERITIES

Our goal should be to have 10-15 Universities based in Barbados by 2025. A major part of this number should be Medical, Law, and Religious Universities.

MEDICAL SCHOOLS

• When the new hospital is built, it will continue to have a relationship with UWI – Cave Hill.
  • The Old (60 year) Queen Elizabeth Hospital should be leased to one of the Medical Schools to be refurbished and used as a teaching hospital and school.
  • The Old General Hospital on Jemmott’s Lane should also be leased to another Medical School.
  • St Joseph Hospital in St Peter should also be leased to another Medical School.
  • The Psychiatric Hospital (Jenkins, Black Rock) occupies 25 acres and can also be leased to a Medical School. Modern Psychiatric centres should be established for psychiatric patients across the island. Alternately, this facility because of its location could be used as the location for the new National General Hospital with enough space to expand the UWI Medical School (Including nursing). UWI would most likely to get accreditation, a very important status for Caribbean Medical Schools – technicians, veterinary medicine, pharmaceutics, medical sciences, etc.

RELIGIOUS COLLEGES

• Codrington College (600+ acres) should be developed into the Barbados International Spiritual University. It has already expanded as a University of Christian Thought by training members of other Christian churches.
  • Inviting the Chinese to establish and build a Confucius Institute to teach Chinese religions and philosophical thought and language.(Already being built at UWI- Cave Hill Campus.)
  • Inviting the Japanese/South Korea similarly establish a Buddhist, Zen, South Asian Religious College.
  • Inviting Saudis and Iranians to build Islamic Colleges.
  • Invite the International Jewish community to build a Centre for Jewish Studies especially recognizing the first Jewish Synagogue in the Americas in Bridgetown.
  • Inviting India to construct a Hindu College as well as other Indian religions.
  • Invite Nigeria and other African States to build an African Religions Centre to study African traditional religions and religious thought.

BARBADOS UNIVERSITY

1. COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Extended training in the Fine Arts –

o Animation

o Art

o Design

o Music

o Dance

o Theatre

o Film Production

o Fashion

o Web design

o Critical analysis

· Accounting

· Management

· Project Management

· Other traditional areas

SAMUEL JACKMAN PRESCOD POLYTECHNIC

• Extended training of Craftsmen in joinery and reproduction of Bajan furniture for export.
  • All students in wood-working stream would be required to individually or as teams reproduce a piece of traditional furniture, or sets in order to graduate.
  • Training of wide range of technical graduates in maintenance and construction.
  • Medical technologists and maintenance of highly sophisticated technologies.

ERDISTON TEACHERS COLLEGE

• Training is use of new technologies
  • Training how to use of proverbs to establish values

PRIVATE HIGH SCHOOLS FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

Barbados has had a number of private secondary schools for over 70 years viz.

The Barbados Academy, The Modern High School, The Federal High School, Mapp’s High School, St Winnifred’s High School, St Cyprian’s, (Green) Lynch’s Secondary, St Ursula’s Secondary, The Co-operative High School, Seventh Day Adventist High School, Callender’s High School, Metropolitan High School, Christ Church High School, and Codrington High School.

• Barbados should encourage the use of many of the old plantation estates to establish private accredited high schools with or without boarding for local and foreign students to pursue the International Baccalaureate (IB) program.
  • Provide access to foreign students thru accredited schools, especially South and Central American students to access our High Schools so as to be immersed in English while boarding at former South Coast hotels converted into hostels.

SPORTS AND LIFE STYLE INSTITUTES

• Education opportunities – coaching in sports, health farms, health spas and related rehabilitation services to develop talents of Bajans
  • Develop support services such as volunteers for the development of Sports in Primary, Secondary and National meetings.
  • UWI and its Institutes must conduct research aimed at encouraging new businesses that can be developed on the internet, in marketing of our music, artistic and cultural industries outlining the types of jobs and services required and existing Worldwide. This would include festivals that could hire our artistes to perform as professionals during the summer and fall. We need to capitalize on the Rhianna Effect.
  • Barbadians should also be encouraged to develop and practice the art of Sticklicking and Road Tennis.

HERITAGE

HERITAGE AND GENERAL NATIONAL EDUCATION

• To strengthen the moral authority and respect for people, Barbadian students should be taught proverbs as training tools from preschool to the end of their secondary schooling.
  • NIFCA – the platform for exposing our youth to the arts, should emphasize its developmental role by establishing competition first at all primary schools where other students, teachers, family and friends could see their children’s works.
  • The winners in each category will go to the Parish level where they compete again and the winners next to the National Level. This process would also allow parents and friends to once again follow the children’s work and successes at all levels.
  • The finals would consist of those winners from the Parish level.
  • Parents and teachers would be encouraged to be judges alongside National judges who in their deliberations would raise the knowledge base of the parents, friends and the community at large thru the discussions.
  • The establishment of a series of voluntary National Orchestras and choirs to perform in public regularly at the National Bandstands – The Hastings Rocks, The Bay Street Esplanade, Queen’s Park, George V Park, Speightstown Esplanade and other areas. The purpose is to re-develop a solid heritage of musicians to enhance the quality of life in Barbados. We did it all before with Church Choirs and Village Choirs.

LANDSHIP

One of the critical requirements for Bajans is the need to strengthen our own self-awareness and self-esteem of what and who is a Bajan. The Barbados Landship Movement is unique to Barbados and gives us the singular identity second to none. The survival of the Landship Movement must be part of our National Identity. Without it we have a face without a nose.

The only country that has a Landship Movement is Barbados. Landship for adults will die out because most of the communal conditions e.g. savings and burial benefits have been replaced by National Insurance and individual insurance. This unique Bajan indigenous institution should not be allowed to die. It must be recreated and reimaged as an organization in Primary Schools to inculcate several traditional values from the Original Landship plus. We had no qualms of introducing Boy Schools, Girl Guides, Church Lad Brigades, Mother Unions and Cadet Corps because it was mandated by the British Government. All of these organizations required discipline, cooperation, and development of leadership skills

The Landship Movement should be converted into a youth movement like the Boy Scouts or Girl Guides or cadets to maintain this unique aspect of Bajan Culture. These youth Landships would become crucibles of this traditional dance and its musical heritage. Competitions with each other in a series of categories will be organized annually.

The former Barbados National Bank, now Republic Bank, had developed a business program for students that can be incorporated into this Landship Movement. This program can be used to teach money management and savings culture.

CARTS CULTURE

Over the years, Bajans developed a series of carts to move goods and provide services to each other. When compared with Caribbean Islands, the Bajan carts are unique in their design and use. Some of these carts should be adapted and used to provide modern day services while maintaining and projecting our unique heritage. These carts can be decorated and painted to capture individuality of the vendor.

• Donkey Cart taxis to move visitors from Cruise Ships to Bridgetown and around Resort Areas like St Lawrence Gap, Holetown and Speightstown
  • Bread Carts can be converted to serve hot or cold foods at temporary roadside locations.
  • Rumshops recreated as restaurants serving indigenous food as cuisine with appropriate training available.
  • Snowball Carts selling Bajan ices with locally made fruit juices – Bajan Cherry, Bajan shaddock, Sugar apple, Golden Apple, Packaged Sucking Cane (made from earlier soft varieties), Sea Grape, Guava, Gooseberries, et al
  • Luncheon Carts for food
  • Coconut Carts

MASTER CRAFTSMEN OF BARBADOS

Furniture

There is no doubt that furniture craftsmen/joiners of the past have produced a fantastic array of unique designs. Let us imbue that furniture with the prestige that it deserves`. The palaces/warehouses that some of this furniture is located are

• Government House, St Michael
  • Ilaro Court, St Michael
  • The Barbados Museum, St Michael
  • Grantley Adams House –Tyrol Cot, Spooners Hill, St Michael
  • The Barbados National Trust Headquarters – Wildey Great House, St Michael
  • Keith Melville’s Sunbury Plantation House, St Phillip

There are many other collections across Barbados that can be used to earn income for the owners as well as for the country.

Training of persons to produce reproductions should follow the same path as training artistes for all types of endeavours – art, music, dance, writing, programing, etc. All Wood Working graduates should be required to reproduce a piece of this furniture in order to graduate. Do it once, do it again! On visits to these locations there are signs indicating cost of item plus shipping costs to rest of the world. Exactly what fine artists do. All art work would be signed and certified as authentic reproductions by a special Reproductions Standard Institute. Marketing will be thru Internet web sites using National ID Codes.

Why are there no tours of Government House? Or Ilaro Court?

• Bajan Furniture galleries where signed reproductions are also marketed and sold with short histories.

· Chattel houses should be used for restaurants, boutiques especially in the growth areas of St Phillip, St John, St Peter and St Lucy.

·

Each area needs to be given prestige thru media and the internet coverage

Computing systems. Knowledge systems. Cognitive. Will still need people contact.

Pottery

Chalky Mount Barbados should be designated as a National Brand as is given to Cropover. This brand should be accessible to all potters operating out of IDC Facilities Island wide. BIDC needs to change its focus to giving full support to developing local entrepreneurs in these areas.

ATTITUDES – Service and Servitude

Actions needed to strengthen our perception of self.

National Heroes

• A popular edition of book on National Heroes to be sold for $5-10.
  • Comic book versions of National Heroes for primary schools.
  • Cartoon video stories about National heroes.

The Bajan Experience

• Recreate Rumshops architecturally and spatially not just in the country but in the city extended to the street. Baxter’s Rd, Nelson St, Roebuck St, Palmetto St
  • Use of Donkey cart taxis to move tourists from harbour to the Inner Bridgetown Mall (Swan St, Broad Street, Trafalgar Square, Palmetto St.)
  • Street food using traditional bread carts to serve from
  • Chattel house as hotels etc.

The Rastafarians of Temple Yard

• Rastas have been around for the last 40 years, manufacturing products, many inbreeding designs, use of hard leather limiting their market primarily to fellow Rastas.
  • Need to develop wider designs especially to reach the visitor and middle class market.
  • Need access to better quality leathers and other products like the high quality leathers made from the Barbados Black Belly sheep skins.

Barbados Black Belly Sheep

The Barbados Black Belly Sheep is a unique animal that evolved in Barbados over time. Studies have shown that the mutton obtained from the Black Belly Sheep produces high quality Triple B (Barbados Black Belly) lamb for both the local and visitors’ market. It also produces some of the finest leather from its skins.

To support the Black Belly development program, unused agricultural lands must be converted into grass pastures and/or growing miamossi plants, also known as river tamarind (Leucaena leucocephala).

This plant exists in Barbados and has a high protein content suitable for feeding ruminants when it is still green. It was introduced by the Ministry of Agriculture in the Pine but has been allowed to grow wild to maturity scattering its seeds across neighbouring fields. Penalties must be implemented against land owners who allow their lands to become infested by those responsible for administering environmental standards.

This plant if managed correctly, will be an important feed ingredient for the Barbados Black Belly sheep. It is from these animals that we can produce –

• Leather for leather workers (Consultant – Dr Leroy McClean) – bags, shoes, amulets, hair products, books marks, wrist bands, earrings, jackets, head bands,, etc
  • Food (Consultant – Rosemary Parkinson)
  • Reduce foreign exchange spent on importing animal feeds.

Industrial Development Corporation Services

The Industrial Development Corporation must be restructured to invest in the development of future Bajan entrepreneurs by bringing them together in one location at vastly reduced rent to allow them to feed off of each other. IDC is a landlord of buildings at the industrial Estate outside the Bridgetown Harbour. These buildings are deteriorating and are not being maintained. Certainly IDC could offer discounted rates to bring young entrepreneurs together to feed off of each other to supply services to the outside world.

• Legal Drafting for countries, states and municipalities worldwide
  • Computer software development
  • Video and sound studios
  • Graphic artists
  • Heritage joiners
  • Clothing Designers and manufacturing
  • Animation

Bridgetown Port Duty Free Facilities

Access to duty free facilities at the port should be two-fold:

• Wholesalers who sell to retailers.
  • Retailers who sell to visitors.

This will allow retailers to use traditional concepts of hawkers to sell products in various combinations. This tradition of bargaining and combining products allows them to determine their own profits but more importantly share in the spoils of the hospitality industry. These newly defined hawkers at the port will be costumed having acquired training at the Barbados Community College (BCC) and Barbados Institute of Management and Productivity (BIMAP).

Other Developments

• Dr Carmichael – Restoration of Facades on Roebuck St, Swan St, Bay St etc
  • Paul Altman – Enhancement of Jewish Synagogue, oldest in the New World of the Americas.
  • Tyrol Cot Chattel House Village should be a functional village redesigned as a mini tenantry village with a bakery providing freshly baked traditional breads, rumshop, chickens, palings, bread carts, snowball carts, coconut carts, troubadours, et al.
  • Villagers should wear period costumes.

This is about US. This is about Jobs. This is about Pride. This is about Survival.

Baba Elombe Mottley
January 1, 2017.

969 responses to “The Next FIFTY YEARS of PRIDE and INDUSTRY!”

1. @ PLT
    Boss….
    Tek it easy…
    If you go down this line you will either mash up John’s Barbados….or you will end up with a big pick at Sagicor, Nation group or UWI.

The last intellectual that started such a conversation, and sounded as convincing and well researched as you do, …ended up a ‘Sir’, ruled a cave from a mighty hill, and has now been appointed the chief beggar assigned to seek reparations from massa.

BIG BRIBES are at stake…

Think carefully PLT…. on the other hand, you may end up with a bigger following than you can possibly imagine…. the instrument that you may be taking on is MUCH BIGGER than Bushie’s little shiite whacker yuh hear…???

Forewarned is fore-armed.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

PLT…those are the types of lies and fraud perpetrated on the island’s population by the minority scum in the national trust and enabled by both black governments, it could not happen if both governments refused to buy into such fraud…and stop the demons in the trust from spreading misinformation and lies in the schools and among the majority population.

….. it is also compounded when black people still go and work in the houses of these stink beast people and return to their neighborhoods to spread all the brainwash and lies they pick up working in those houses as maids, gardeners and servants …….directly to their children and grandchildren, generation after generation.

In this day and age, such a small group of demon minorities still terrorize the island and the majority population with lies and deceit…while ably aided by black governments to steal all the money, properties and everything belonging to the majority. ..it ia a disgrace and crimes of massive proportions.

That is what John and his ilk are killing themselves trying to hold on to and protect, while we watch their population on the island shrink smaller and smaller and am sure within 20 years there will be even less of these demon minorities left on the island.

Ah told ya John is a creep who deserves no sympathy, he only deserves people like me…

…. …save your sympathy for those who actually deserve it, like the future generations of black children who will be born into the disgusting slave society of Barbados if something is not done to reverse 50 years of mental damage, lies and fraud..

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

John got exactly what he deserves, one has to pay for their sins somehow…we are talking about a whole race of people he wants to destroy both mentally and physically, just like his ancestors did, but unlike his ancestors, he gets to pay for his sins and his ancestor’s sins….while very much alive.

Never feel sorry for the beast people, the minorities, in Barbados, I know what most of them are quite capable of..

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Mirabile Dictu, I just got a call from Miguel Pena, the Manager at the Barbados National Trust, promising to replace that sign. He pointed out that the sign predated his working at the National Trust and agreed that it was not at all truthful.

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea
    So you tell me that these are my choices if I go down this line:
    (a) either mash up John’s Barbados….
    (b) or you will end up with a big pick at Sagicor, Nation group or UWI

I pick option (a), but don’t tell anybody yet, I want it to be a surprise.

6. @Peter

John is a student of local history, wonder what is his view of the sign.

7. LOL @ david
    Boss, John probably wrote that sign….
    🙂

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Perhaps John wrote it… Miguel said that he didn’t know who had written the sign, “but it doesn’t seem to have been written by a historian.”

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

John had to have had a hand in that deceit, also the dude Karl Spsomething who claims to be a historian, he too spreads a lot of nonsense in Barbados.

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@WW&C,
    Karl Watson… I’m quite looking forward to chatting with him 😉

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Karl or Carl something, he and the other historian from UWI are always locking horns about his historical inaccuracies….as it relates to the history of the Black majority on the island.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

PLT…that’s the name, these minorities need a good talking to, they have no respect and make up the history THEY THINK Black people on the island should have….and not one of the jackasses for slaves in government, in parliament would put them in their place…permanently, …and it’s been 50 years of that travesty.

13. @ PLT
    If you understand the concept of brass bowlery, then you will appreciate the impact
    …of subtle things like that Cotton tower and its message;
    …of the Trust’s focus on the ‘grand’ plantation houses;
    …of the version of ‘history’ pushed by the John’s of our world etc
    on the psyches of brass bowls.

Education is the process of teaching bowls to see BEYOND this kind of brainwashing to see mirror images of REAL, VALUABLE human beings.

If you were to take on this battle SERIOUSLY, ….you will find yourself so consumed with the EXTENT of this brainwashing, …AND even with battling the very brass bowls who REVEL in their chained minds… (not picking on Vincent..) …. that it will become a lifetime task.

…but someone has to do it.

Sir Cave sold out….
    Come-and-sing is distracted with socialism…
    Caswell ain’t up to the task..
    Walter committed political suicide..
    Jeff can’t stand the heat..
    …and Bushie gotta whacker – not a chalk board.

Um looking like you yuh…!!!

14. Antigua PM announcing the mandatory evacuation of all residents of Barbuda because of the destruction wrought by Hurricane Irma.

What kind of people, living in a hurricane zone, are unable or unwilling to build housing that will withstand hurricane-force winds? Why are people always starting over after a strong hurricane?

Surely, there is an IQ problem.

15. Peter

Go and read Schomburgk written in the 1850’s and look at page 195.

You can download it from the net if you want.

You will see that the line of signal stations were built for the following purposes.

Two of the signal stations had barracks for convalescing troops … Gun Hill and Moncreiffe!!

You will see the signals stations were used for military purposes, alarms, summoning her Majesty’s Council, conveying commercial intelligence etc.

You could say alarms may have included slave revolts.

If you look at the slave unrest that occurred on Barbados you will find that between the mid to late 1600’s until 1816 there was not one.

This is a reflection of the Quaker Heritage which Barbados enjoys.

I guess it was rude of the BNT not to respond to your letter but I can’t see it merited one!!

You need to get your facts straight and do some reading!!

In 1825 shortly after the 1816 revolt, Fitzherbert visited his plantation at Turner’s Hall and recorded the joyous reception he received from his slaves.

I doubt Bussa even existed except in the fertile imagination of some historians!!

When you are here next, go and have a chat with Bobby Morris and see if he can help you get your facts straight!!

16. Why are people always starting over after a strong hurricane?

Actually the reasoning is sound!!

Check Lowdown Hoad’s writings!!

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I certainly have no time to pamper and massage any of them, the first opportunity I get, they are exposed.

Someone had to post to facebook the advisory the Met office sent out regarding Hurricane Jose today, which mirrored the advisory sent out for Hurricane Irma a couple days ago, which stated categorically. ..not to venture into the water, neither seabathers nor anyone else…

…a couple white clowns from the US decided to fly into Barbados to ride Irma’s dangerous waves, a couple local white clowns decided to join them, they all went surfing despite the Met office’s advisory since none of them have respect for any Black authority in Barbados….and one drowned….they are on facebook looking for sympathy and are angry because people who live in reality are telling them dont look for any sympathy for being as*hole.s

That is the exact mentality of bajan whites..they are disrespectful to black authority on the island..

The very same weather advisory was given when Irma was passing…ah bet ya none of them are on the east coast today.

“Weather update: Met office maintains high surf advisory and small craft warning
    Added by Sandy Deane on September 8, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    The Barbados Meteorological Services has maintained the high surf advisory and small craft warning for the island until 6 p.m. tomorrow, as it monitors the progress of Hurricane Jose.

The Met Office said Jose, a category four system, located about 415 miles east south east of the northern Leeward Islands at 11 a.m., poses no direct threat to Barbados.

The system is however expected to generate above normal easterly to east northeasterly swells of 3.0 to 4.0m (10-13 feet) mainly along eastern and northern coastlines of Barbados.

The forecasters say as Jose tracks well north of Barbados tonight large swells will likely begin to impact the northwestern, western and southern coastlines of the island.

They also warn that large waves and dangerous rip currents can be expected. Sea bathers and other users of the sea are advised to stay out of the water.”

18. The problem is you all fellas are not reading!!

Makes my job easy!!

19. As John of “John’s Tuck Shop” fame would say ….

Neeeeeext….!!!!!!!

20. WW&C

makes everything into a race issue.

The white fathers of your children are late again with the child support payments you are living off of?

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“In 1825 shortly after the 1816 revolt, Fitzherbert visited his plantation at Turner’s Hall and recorded the joyous reception he received from his slaves.

If you look at the slave unrest that occurred on Barbados you will find that between the mid to late 1600’s until 1816 there was not one.

This is a reflection of the Quaker Heritage which Barbados enjoys.”

And that is the extent of Johns respect for black people….blatant disrespect.

That is why I carry them to the bone PLT…the black governments allow these nobodies like Cow, Bjerkham, Bizzy, Tempro, Maloney et al, easy access to call them up, bark at them and demand taxpayer contracts and easy access to the treasury and pensioners money…,and the slaves of parliament are honored to oblige and disenfranchise their people……they have .no respect for who elected them….even worse if it’s a foreign white they believe have money, who most often than not turns out to be criminals from US, Canada, UK, Germany etc, who then rob the island, the NIS, their workers and run with all the money eventually.

The parasitic minorities have no respect for the majority population……zero, they have even less for the slaves of parliament who allow them easy access.

22. John May 8, 2016 at 3:16 PM #
    …. oh what the heck, we are all supposedly adults!!
    Here is a description of what Fitzherbert meets as he approaches Turners Hall on his horse. He is riding from Alleynedale in St. Peter.
    “As soon as our approach was discovered at Turner’s Hall, We were greeted with a long continued shout, and The Negroes very soon surrounded me, and almost pulled me off my horse.
    We alighted and entered the Porch of the House, where They crowded about me, pouring forth in the warmest language their joy, and good wishes, and inquiring very particularly after their Mistress, and all my Children, of whom, when I informed Them of the number, They set up a loud cheer.
    They then brought a chair for me, placing it within the Hall, while They themselves remained in the Porch but they encouraged all the little Children to go forward, amongst whom, I was knee deep.
    Many of the older ones wished to have kissed my feet, and I was enveloped in their embraces.
    A very fine old man, above an hundred years old, appeared to possess great influence over Them.
    This venerable veteran is very active both in mind and body; He is the Head Herdsman.
    This race are invariably graceful in every action, and their manners infinitely superior to what are found in most English Drawing rooms.
    It was one of my first inquiries to discover amongst Them, Those who had seen, and recollected my Father; and I was glad to find several.
    They described Him exactly, and spoke of Him as a Father.
    They then gently up braided me for not having come out sooner, and They told me, that They had suffered very much, until Sir Reynold Alleyne had become my Attorney.
    They told me, that under Sir Reynold They wanted nothing, and They addressed Him as their Second Master, and in such moving and affectionate terms, as to overpower his feelings, and He retired with the Manager, leaving me in the midst of my Sable People.
    I highly appreciated this delicate act, for it gave Them an opportunity of opening their hearts to me, if They had any grievances to divulge, uncontrolled by the presence of either Himself, or the Manager.
    We of course gave Them the remainder of the Day, and We proceeded to see the Works, and all the Buildings, and Walked over a part of the Estate.
    All those who could play the fiddle or any musical instrument immediately assembled; and They all began to dance round an old Tree, and though untaught, I affirm with the greatest truth, that I never saw such easy and graceful movements.
    Mr. D’Equille would be too proud to have such scholars.
    Even the old Man, Harry Carter, selected a very fine young woman, and danced as merrily as the rest.
    After the dance, They sang extempore ode upon my visit; for They have the art of making any subject the theme of a song, which They most readily accommodate to the softest melody.
    It is impossible to describe their manner of singing; it is peculiarly singular, and in a great variety of parts; but though unpremeditated, and each party apparently ignorant of what his companion will produce, there is a perfect harmony, and the whole theory of thorough bass appears to be innate in Them. ”

23. There was always a high level of respect between owners of slaves and their slaves

The reproduced comment from May last year shows this in one instance.

To believe that slaves were badly treated and only managed one revolt in almost 200 years is to show complete disrespect for them as human beings.

Clearly there was a very strong relationship, loving perhaps, between slaves and owners.

There had to be other wise Barbados would not have worked!!

Force won’t do it

24. You define a master slave relationship as loving?

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Chadster….. just as late as your mama baby daddies were with her support payments. …the differences between me and her, I been married for 43 years to the same man, never needed my husband’s money…and my last child is 26 years old…

….a bet your mama is still breeding like a sow.

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Those are lies and fairytales John search out to think it makes a difference, that is what his ilk hope can manifest into reality in their sick minds and play out on the island, these criminals still boast about their slaves in Barbados. ..

,……. but Karma is marching.

27. David September 8, 2017 at 2:12 PM #
    You define a master slave relationship as loving?

Definitely.

I have an ancestor who produced 10 children with a slave.

When he died he left her and his 10 children property.

Did not need the CCJ!!!

28. The problem with an aggravated relationship is that there was only one major revolt to which historians point and everything I see suggests it is overblown.

That means slaves were quite amenable to ill treatment …. which no human will take for long.

That’s the problem with postulating such a relationship, it demeans the slaves and makes them subhuman, the opposite of what the postulators want to achieve.

Common sense!!

So the postulator are wrong!!

The relationship has to have been one of mutual respect … even love!!

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Hi John,
    The National Trust General Manager Miguel Pena agrees with me that the sign is utter nonsense and has agreed to have it removed and replaced. He did not give me a timeline because it’s erection was commercially sponsored so he has some negotiation to do.

30. They should be so thankful.

31. David, hasn’t psychology taught us that John is ‘right’.

Kidnappees abused and tormented tho they be are some still solicitous and concerned of the well-being of their captors…there is a ‘loving’ syndrome for that.

Women demeaned, beaten and treated as non-persons on many an occasion, still defend steadfastly their spouses or partners…there too is a ‘loving’ psychological profile for that.

Allow John his intellectually play, why not…he too has his a right to use language to defend his way of life…regardless of how stupid and warped we may see it to be!

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea
    I do not pretend to be as leaned as others among us on the concept of brass bowlery or anything else for that matter, but I am an excellent student…

I approach educating myself as a recreational activity. There is nothing that gives me more joy than learning something… well OK, there is only ONE thing that gives me more joy than leaning something. If some of what I learn happens to leak out because I’ve got a big mouth: well so be it.

The only things I take seriously are loving and learning; I am too much of a lightweight to seriously think that I will make much of a dent in the centuries old traditions of Bajan racism …but someone has to do it.

I do not have a chalk board, but I’m pretty good with social media.

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ah tell yall bajan whites on the island have diseased minds, since I find them all unattractive, I think myself fortunate not to have gotten involved with any of them romantically, with my mentality, it’s highly likely I would have poisoned them..all…already.

Ah dont know if it’s all the inbreeding, but their minds are the nastiest to date, the british are bad enough, but these are worse, at least ya know what to expect from loud mouth americans.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

It’s called the Stockholm Syndrome, but…something is definitely wrong if it lasts for centuries.

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

So John is attributing this fairytale love relationship…where none should exist, not at that level and definitely not for centuries, even if the slaves could not speak english..

Stock·holm syn·drome
    noun
    feelings of trust or affection felt in certain cases of kidnapping or hostage-taking by a victim toward a captor

“Stockholm syndrome (sometimes erroneously referred to as Helsinki syndrome)[1][2] is a condition that causes hostages to develop a psychological alliance with their captors as a survival strategy during captivity.[3] These feelings, resulting from a bond formed between captor and captives during intimate time spent together, are generally considered irrational in light of the danger or risk endured by the victims. Generally speaking, Stockholm syndrome consists of “strong emotional ties that develop between two persons where one person intermittently harasses, beats, threatens, abuses, or intimidates the other.”[4] The FBI’s Hostage Barricade Database System shows that roughly eight percent of victims show evidence of Stockholm syndrome.[5]”

36. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

And it sure has hell should not be still happening in Barbados today.

The majority population which claim to be so educated should be able to tell these vicious minorities to fk off, the slave ministers should be leading the way in telling them to fk off….instead of still pretending they are still kidnapped captives of a minority of thieves and crook, liars and frauds…looking to enrich themselves.

And got a crook like Bjerkham sitting in the central bank.

37. @Chad

Talking about IQ’s why did those bright Texans build all those homes in areas susceptible to flooding so much so that for three consecutive years prior to Harvey Houston suffered three “500 year floods”.

38. Peter

Has it ever dawned on you that the 1819 building may have replaced an existing one?

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

John, it was not, but it would not matter an iota if it were.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“That means slaves were quite amenable to ill treatment …. which no human will take for long.”

And if ya think John meant that as a compliment, think again, that is how he gets his thrills, and I sincerely hope that what misery he is suffering is 10 fold and lasts several more decades.

That is why Obama put legislation in place to stop them building on wet marshes, but the orange idiot rolled back the legislation, so when they build more high rises and houses in wetlands and in areas where water has nowhere to go, in the next ten years when they are all clustered together and hurricanes come rolling through texas, thousands will die, but who cares.

They will be culling themselves, no one will go to prison and a lot of space will be freed up.

41. Bushie

Chuckle….wuh yuh call muh name fuh….yuh missen muh cussin yuh nuh…..hehehe….

I am glad to see that John is not deterred by the diasporic noise or petty comments from presenting the facts as are available to those who wish to research them.

We always have this bad habit of judging the past with todays thinking and even more detrimental to the psyche of our youth is the attempts of the twistorians of recreating it.

John…..Let nothing stand in your way of presenting the facts…..keep up the good work.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes
    John has yet to present a single fact…

43. peterlawrencethompson September 8, 2017 at 4:28 PM #

I have so far, other than his biblical lapses into Quakerism, been able to research and confirm his statements when quoting and have no reason to doubt his families history as stated by him.

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

John,
    Schomburgk published “The History of Barbadoes” in 1847 or 48. In recounting events that he was not a witness to that had happened couple of decades previously he uncritically accepts the self serving propaganda of a planter class trying to make excuses for the starvation that was occurring in the early 1840s. A clergyman (maybe even a Quaker, and a much more reliable witness than Fitzherbert) reported to Schomburgk that, in the summer of 1841 alone, 541 children had starved to death.

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

PLT…this Vincent is another one, just say the word reparations for the descendants of slaves, paid by europe and nirth america and he would spend the whole night on BU talking about pelaus and begging bowls for reparations.

But tomorrow morning the same Vincent will be advocating for farmers like himself who will never in a million years consider himself black.., go to the government with begging bowls in hands and every excuse, lie and deceit under the sun, to get free subsidies for sugar and every scam real and imagined …..from taxpayers and pensioners money .. which belongs to the same descendants of slaves…to enrich minorities…with no shame whatsoever.

46. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes,
    I do not question John’s recollections of his family history, I state categorically that his assertions about the pleasantness and charm of slave existence are poisonous and heinous lies.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes
    John’s once fine mind has been broken by torture. What is your excuse?

48. peterlawrencethompson September 8, 2017 at 4:43 PM #

assertions about the pleasantness and charm of slave existence are poisonous and heinous lies.
    ……………………..
    de pedantic Dribbler September 8, 2017 at 2:58 PM #

David, hasn’t psychology taught us that John is ‘right’.

Kidnappees abused and tormented tho they be are some still solicitous and concerned of the well-being of their captors…there is a ‘loving’ syndrome for that.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….

PLT…..The Dribbler has made an excellent point that can be substantiated,hence my disagreement with your above statement.

Haggling over our slave/indentured servant/master past using todays lenses is counter productive……50 years after independence our country is in a mess of our own creation…..time is better spent charting the way forward that does not include any begging bowls rather than continuously going around the mulberry bush and spinning top in mud.