The late Albert Selby

The right of the survivor of a non-marital union to benefit from the estate of the deceased partner does not depend on the status of marriage, but on the duration of cohabitation with the deceased immediately preceding death. โ€“per Byron P in Smith v Selby [2017]CCJ 13

The courts of law have through the years been called upon to make some surprising determinations. One English case involved the intriguing issue of whether ice cream could be considered meat for the purposes of the Sunday Trading Act 1994; another the more tendentious matter of whether a bicycle was a carriage under the 1835 Highway Act. We have seemingly now added our own quirky issue to this list. The Caribbean Court of Justice [CCJ] was recently called upon to determine when is a man to be treated as single for the purposes of the Succession Act.

The critical issue in the decision of the CCJ last Friday was not, as some aspects of the media would have it, whether a โ€œcommon lawโ€ spouse generally may inherit or succeed to the property of her cohabiting partner on his or her death intestate. That issue had been settled as early as 1979 with the passage of the Succession Act. According to section 2 (3)(a) of that Act:

โ€œFor the purposes of this Act, reference to a โ€œspouseโ€ includes:

(a) a single woman who was living together with a single man as his wife for a period of not less than 5 years immediately preceding the date of his deathโ€ฆโ€ [Emphasis added]

There, the local legislature had given effect to the prevailing cultural norm locally, whereby a large number of relationships existed without โ€œbenefit of clergyโ€, as that expression is popularly understood. As I recall, there was not a lot of religious objection to this then and, if there was any, I must have missed it because I was abroad at that time.

This initiative further consolidated the earlier enactment of the Status of Children Reform Act whose section 3 provides as follows-

For the purposes of the laws of Barbados, the distinction of at common law between the status of children born within or outside marriage is abolished, and all children shall, after 1st January, 1980, be of equal status; and a person is the child of his or her natural parents and his or her status as their child is independent of whether the child is born within or outside of marriage-

and of the Family Law Act 1981 that recognized the concept of the union other than marriage in the following manner-

“union other than marriage” or “union” means the relationship that is established when a man and a woman who, not being married to each other, have cohabited continuously for a period of 5 years or more and have so cohabited within the year immediately preceding the institution of the proceedings.โ€

The critical issue in the recent case between Ms Katrina Smith, the appellant and Mr Albert Selby, the respondent, was rather whether Ms Smith satisfied the statutory definition of โ€œspouseโ€, given that her cohabitant, who had died intestate in April 2008 and was the brother of the respondent, had been separated but not divorced from his wife for the first two years of the claimed cohabitation. He was eventually divorced in 2004.

Naturally, therefore, the argument of the respondent (who stood to benefit under the applicable law of succession on intestacy, since his brother would have had no spouse, no issue nor mother nor father) was that Ms Smith did not satisfy the statutory definition of spouse, not because of the failure to contract a marriage with the deceased at all, but rather because the deceased was not โ€œa single manโ€ within the meaning of the Act for the five years of cohabitation immediately preceding the date of his death. The basis of this was that since he was still legally married, even though separated from his wife, he could not be considered a single man.

This argument was rejected by the trial judge who, according to the judgment of the CCJ โ€œinfluenced by his perception that the purpose of the statute was to correct the problem faced by the survivor of a non-marital relationship where there was no will, concluded that the word โ€œsingleโ€ included a married man who was separated from his wife.โ€ Alternately, the judge was of the view that the word โ€˜singleโ€™ referred only to the status of the deceased at his death.

The Court of Appeal found the first holding to be a distortion of the natural and ordinary meaning of the word โ€œsingleโ€, and rejected the alternative on the ground that โ€œthe word โ€œsingleโ€ reflected the status of the parties throughout the five-year period of statutory cohabitationโ€ and not merely at death. The CCJ on Friday reversed the Court of Appealโ€™s decision and restored the order of the trial judge.

The ultimate resolution of the matter turned on the appropriately applicable rules of statutory interpretation and should arguably repay reading for keen students of this subject. I consider the minutiae of this, however, to be too esoteric for a Sunday newspaper column so I will not elaborate further.

It should be borne in mind nevertheless that the principal aim of the court engaged in an exercise of statutory interpretation is to ascertain the meaning intended by Parliament, as the CCJ makes clear-

โ€œThe courtโ€™s task, within the permissible bounds of interpretation, is to give effect to Parliamentโ€™s purpose. So, the controversial provisions should be read in the context of the entire statute, and the statute should be read in the historical context of the situation which led to its enactment.โ€

As the varying decisions in this case demonstrate, this is an exercise in which highly learned men may reasonably differ as to the result. And while this may appear befuddling to the uninitiated who yearn for exactitude and predictability in the meaning of statutory provisions; as long as there remains the co-existence of the separation of powers whereby Parliament legislates and the courts interpret, and so long as the English language with all of its vagaries remains the primary means of legal communication, these will remain an unlikelihood.

There is one more point worthy of note. The notion of the โ€œsingle manโ€ has not been expressly enacted in the provision for the union other than marriage referred to above where a period of cohabitation also plays a significant role. It seems beyond doubt that at his death therefore, Albert Michael Selby was part of a union other than marriage with Ms Smith. Should this not also hold true for other married men whether separated or not?

262 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – When is a Man Single?”

1. Times may have changed but I remember when one couldn’t sue for divorce for reason of separation/desertion unless there was n elapsed time of three years.This ruling effectively gives the boot to any such legal interpretation.

This ruling should be termed “the having your cake and eating it too” law

2. It is an interesting ruling by the CCJ if only that it precluded the possibility of reconciliation between the two.

3. What Bushie finds ‘interesting’, is that modern so-called ‘intelligent’ lawyers could have drafted, reviewed, enacted, and operated such a piece of legislation without clarifying such an OBVIOUS loophole up front.

What kind of idiot could possibly NOT see that this would be an issue?

A simple matter of defining the term ‘single’ would have deemed this matter null and void – and this whole family could have gone on with their lives for the past nine years…

What the hell kind of people are you teaching – and producing- Jeff…?

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

I thought it was said he was divorced from his wife.

Anyway, despite being the court of last resort, why could this matter not have finished at the supreme court level, with the same decision…

..was there a misinterpretation of the law by the judge in the supreme court.

This is not a good trend because it now appears that every case coming out of Barbados’ supreme court will be headed to the CJJ….

……the chief justice needs to put an end to this further abuse of the justice system, in this case, the CCJ…by making sure judges are capable of making fair and just decisions at the supreme court level.

The CJJ must also start penalizing very heavily…starting at 50 thousand dollars and up ….ALL lawyers who force frivolous cases to the CJJ that can be settled in Barbados.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The CCJ must also start penalizing very heavilyโ€ฆstarting at 50 thousand dollars and up โ€ฆ.ALL lawyers who force frivolous cases to the CCJ that can be settled in Barbados.

Bushman…ya will see how rapidly useless nuisance lawyers like Leslie Haynes, Mottley, Vernon Smith and Hal Gollop would stop abusing the CCJ for their own personal gain….lol

6. WW&C
    Vernon Smith and Hal Gollop cuss the CCJ and tell Caricom non members don’t join that court so boatadem are persons none greater before the CCJ for a start.Cat and mouse games.

7. David

Let we think about the hydrogen bomb successfully tested by Pyongyang last night neh.

Maybe it’s time to bring the Christian fascists to a Buddhist or Confucianist understanding.

There has been no more portentous event in 500 years.

8. @Blogmaster David, yours is an astute observation. During separation it’s generally understood – at least as I understand the intent of that basic thrust of the term at law – that the parties may indeed reconcile.

Seems to me that is germane to the Court of Appeal ruling and being ‘single’. If the decessed & his then spouse had a date night of sorts during that two year separation and ended the night in an intimate embrace on & off for a brief period of days thereafter would that count under law as a ‘hiatus’ of the separation…. apparently not.

To Dean J, if you would please elaborate on two points in your ‘ruling’:

—-“The ultimate resolution of the matter turned on the appropriately applicable rules of statutory interpretation and should arguably repay reading for keen students of this subject. I consider the minutiae of this, however, to be too esoteric for a Sunday newspaper column so I will not elaborate further.”

Do discuss some of that statutory minutae.

And also clarify the last part of the sentence viz , “Should this not also hold true for other married men whether separated or not?”

What exactly is the meaning intended as related to “It seems beyond doubt that at his death therefore, Albert Michael Selby was part of a union other than marriage with Ms Smith.”

Thanks.

9. @Dee Word

The CCJ obviously recognized the divorce as final but the fact Shelby died intestate should have been considered.

10. @Pacha

You have taken Kim Jong at his word?

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Gabriel……lol …the lawyers taking cases to the CCJ without merit should be made to pay hundreds of thousands of dollars in fines to the CCJ, especially those 4, particularly those two, they are idiots for lawyers.

12. David

You are being much tooooo flippant.

There is no needs to isolate one man or take him at his word. Most words have no practical implications.

The test created an artificial earthquake measuring 5.6 on the Richter scale. Few real earthquakes are higher.

A hydrogen bomb could be 100s of thousands times the size of those dropped on Japan.

We can’t get more independent than that

All these local issues here should be made meaningless in this historical moment.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

…..and contemptible. ..I watched how Haynes acts in a court room, it is ugly and unprofessional, the people who allowed him to pass the bar to practice law should be shot.

14. Two tests have been confirmed by Japan 4.6 and a 6.3

15. The term “married bachelor” should become part of the legal lexicon

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Stop misleading yourself. The deceased was a single man at the date of his death. The law requires that a single woman living with a single man for five years would be treated as spouse for the purposes of the Succession Act. In this case, the Court of Appeal misinterpreted that to mean that Selby should have been single throughout the entire five years of cohabitation. As I understand it, the CCJ maintains that the couple should be living together for five years but found that it did not matter if he was still married during part of the five years as long as he was single at the date of his death.

17. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

A simple matter of defining the term โ€˜singleโ€™ would have deemed this matter null and void โ€“ and this whole family could have gone on with their lives for the past nine yearsโ€ฆWhat the hell kind of people are you teaching โ€“ and producing- Jeffโ€ฆ?

@ Bush Tea, Obviously people without the gift of prophecy and bereft of the foresight to anticipate and remedy every lexical difficulty that might arise in a statute!

18. Yes, tremors confirmed.

19. Almost a decade to resolve this matter. Brother Shelby is well off as one of our leading architects, why not let the matter go?

20. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

**To Dean J, if you would please elaborate on two points in your โ€˜rulingโ€™:โ€”-โ€œThe ultimate resolution of the matter turned on the appropriately applicable rules of statutory interpretation and should arguably repay reading for keen students of this subject. I consider the minutiae of this, however, to be too esoteric for a Sunday newspaper column so I will not elaborate further.โ€*

Do discuss some of that statutory minutae.

And also clarify the last part of the sentence viz , โ€œShould this not also hold true for other married men whether separated or not?โ€

*What exactly is the meaning intended as related to โ€œIt seems beyond doubt that at his death therefore, Albert Michael Selby was part of a union other than marriage with Ms Smith.โ€

Thanks.*

@DPD, Gladly, you are most welcome!

(i) The minutiae relate to the various rules of interpretation, the main three being the golden rule, the literal rule and the mischief rule. Then there are a number of maxims, unfortunately all Latinized, and cases that further assist in ascertain the intention of Parliament.I am afraid that this would require an entire column or two but i would be happy to indulge those interested.

(ii) Since there is no requirement for a man to be single in a union other than marriage, then clearly married men men, whether separate or even living with their wives may be parties to such a union, though it might require some legerdemain in the second case.

(iii) Mr Selby was a party to a union as referred to below since he was a man, not being married to Ms Smith that had cohabited with her for more than five years…

โ€œunion other than marriageโ€ or โ€œunionโ€ means the relationship that is established when a man and a woman who, not being married to each other, have cohabited continuously for a period of 5 years or more and have so cohabited within the year immediately preceding the institution of the proceedings.โ€

21. A society in decay will legitimise illegitimacy. There is nothing in law called a common law marriage. If couples live together without marriage then they should suffer the consequences.
    The same thing about adversarial occupation, which turns squatters in to land owners. There are moral hazards.

22. @David
    Yours@8.17am

I take it you were an “only” child without siblings and sans issue with no experience of family dynamics when it comes to inheritance.

What a pollyanna world

23. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

A society in decay will legitimise illegitimacy. There is nothing in law called a common law marriage. If couples live together without marriage then they should suffer the consequences.
    The same thing about adversarial occupation, which turns squatters in to land owners. There are moral hazards.

@ Hal, being provocative? You know that this will raise some hackles here!

24. @Sargeant

Why did an intelligent man, a psychologist if memory serves, not file a will? This is a man who many paid thousands of dollars to secure counseling.

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Most people do not make wills, David. Many think that it is too morbid.

26. @David

Absolutely on point, I was going to make the same comment. My octogenarian mother who never benefited from the same level of education has a will, I have a will most people I know have wills, stupid is as stupid does.

27. @Jeff

We have to critique the issue at hand, an intelligent man who has transitioned from a broken marriage living in a common law relationship, what is morbid about planning to protect your installed partner ?

28. @ David,

There must be more to this story than has been made public.

For my fellow CanBajans including me…….

4 myths about common-law relationships in Canada.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/4-myths-about-common-law-relationships-1.1315129

29. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Shows how disconnected Hal is from realty, every country, US and UK included have made provisions recognizing common law relationships in law, they made up the whole marraige crap, they can amend it at will….and did….many, many years now.

as far as i remember those common law laws are still relatively new to the island.

more enlightened people are divvying up to relatives property and other parts of their estates…while still alive.

the concept of wills are outdated and have been abused by lawyers for decades, to steal from the estates of the deceased, using unnecessarily lengthy probate as an excuse….

eg..Michael Carrington, speaker of the house and hundreds of other lawyers, both living and deceased.

30. Jeff Cumberbatch

I donโ€™t believe Hal Austin is being provocative nor is he deserving of โ€œhackles.โ€

He is correctโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ โ€œA society in decay will legitimise illegitimacy.โ€

if couples decide to live together โ€œplaying houseโ€ rather than getting married, โ€œthen they should suffer the consequences.โ€

And why should people be allowed to LEGALLY take possession of land they ILLEGALLY occupied for โ€œXโ€ number of years.

But if I go through the legal process to buy property and after โ€œXโ€ number of years unfortunate circumstances prevents me from paying my mortgage for a short period of time, the mortgagee can legally reposes and sell the property.

Anne Riley-Fox immediately comes to mind. Although she was able to solicit assistance from concerned citizens, the bank refused to rescind the directive. It is interesting to note that government did not โ€œintercedeโ€ on Riley-Fox behalf.

However, several non-nationals are allowed to squat on a dump-site in Rock Hall, St. Philip and demand government to give them electricity and water or give them land. And lawyer Douglas Trotman is prepared to represent them โ€œpro bono.โ€

Law can be very confusing.

31. Hal Austin is a consummate jackass

The British empire has been squatting on the lands of the peoples of the earth for 500 years, imperialism generally. The others of the Isles will say longer.

Are these people not the owners of the earth today? Elizabeth herself still owns plantation/s lands in Barbados, for example. And everywhere else empire was and is. Past down from her slave owning family.

Is this thing about marriage coming from those who for centuries separated Africans, sold off our children, made it illegitimate for Afrikan peoples to develop family structures.

And who is this rasssssssssssoul god that such a union is to be made sanctified before? Is he not the same christian or jewish god of the slave owners?

What is this unnatural formation about a nuclear family construction anyway? Why is this to be uplifted, conveniently, and family structured based on polygamy or polyandry or no formal union at all, any less legitimate?

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

*He is correctโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ โ€œA society in decay will legitimise illegitimacy.โ€

if couples decide to live together โ€œplaying houseโ€ rather than getting married, โ€œthen they should suffer the consequences.โ€

And why should people be allowed to LEGALLY take possession of land they ILLEGALLY occupied for โ€œXโ€ number of years.

But if I go through the legal process to buy property and after โ€œXโ€ number of years unfortunate circumstances prevents me from paying my mortgage for a short period of time, the mortgagee can legally reposes and sell the property.*

@ Artax, Did you speak out against the three laws in 1979-81 when they were passed by the Adams administration under AG Forde? As I said in the column, I was not here, but I do not recall any negative public comment.

Adverse possession has been recognized by the law for centuries…it is not mere illegal possession, it is rather the seeming nonchalance of the true owner to that that possession.

As for the mortgage’s right of foreclosure, the mortgagor is the one in breach of the contract that he or she voluntarily signed. And mortgages may be renegotiated…voluntarily. There is no legal or moral obligation to do so.

33. I do not have a will and will never have one, unless I win the biggest prize in a Powerball lottery.

Why? If I’m dead, I don’t care what happens to some leftover money. Let the surviving relatives squabble about it if they are so inclined.

Of course, if there are millions of dollars in play, that might change the situation.

34. Between the lawyers and their masters, no wonder we, as humans, have no option but to be now forced to accept White peoples’ notions of sex or unions as of the same gender.

The confluence of these social forces have led us to the self-destruction of human life – same sex unions as ‘legitimate’ structures.

35. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

as we all know Pacha and have come to learn, Hal is intellectually challenged…lol

36. David, yes the marriage was final….and surely ery reasonable, learned folks differed on ‘separation’ & the finally of the ‘divorce’ which released the spouse into lawful cohabitation under the Succession Act.

And Sargeant’s point re family dynamics is a valid one. I certainly do not know the Selbys other than from their public profiles but if their family is like any other well oiled Bajan one then it’s reasonable to presume that the family patriarch or matriarch laid a solid foundation – pun intended – on which the younger Selby built…

His brother and family would be quite reasonably justified therefore to pursue the real property aspect of his estate based on the circumstances of his end days

And for the average mid-age man with scant ill health a will can be a distant thought.

@Dean J, interesting thrust you are making. As I interpret your commentary it seems that you forsee that a married man who is in cohabitation with his deputy is single there and although still ‘separately’ married but not living on the home scene that his deputy could use one of your ‘ legerdemine’ wizards at law to pursue claims if the philanderer left this earth intestate.

What conniption for the righteous Hal.

And by all means give us your expertise on this minutae as comprehensively as your time permits. Gracias, otra vez.

37. Jeff Cumberbatch September 3, 2017 at 9:16 AM #

โ€œ@ Artax, Did you speak out against the three laws in 1979-81 when they were passed by the Adams administration under AG Forde? As I said in the column, I was not here, but I do not recall any negative public comment.โ€

@ Jeff

I was still attending secondary school during the early 1980s and, to be honest, such issues or politics were not on my list of priorities.

I can however recall my school mates and I talking about Tom Adamโ€™s election slogan: โ€œOn with Tom in โ€™81,โ€ which we thought was funny.

38. Human beings are greedy selfish animals.

That is a good place to start any discussion about families and property.

39. Jeff,
    Don’t worry about the hackles. About 70 per cent of children born in Barbados are born out of wedlock. Many, if not most, do no have the fathers’ names on their birth certificates. That not only tells us something about the moral state of the nation, but equally of policy making.
    The authorities should warn every mother who tries to register a birth without the father’s name on the birth certificate that she thereby loses all right to claim paternity support in future.
    More than that, if a person (in this case a man) who is married to a woman, but chooses to live (cohabit) with another woman for five or more years, why should that lifestyle choice cancel the legal rights of the legally married woman?
    In Barbados we also have a number of parallel families; again usually the man, one family at ‘home’, from his legal wife, and another with his ‘woman’. Why should a so-called common law wife who have co-habited for five years or more, have greater legal rights than the mother of the parallel family who also has children for the deceased man?
    I know lots of Barbadian men like to have affairs, and so do men in most societies, but the price the unmarried woman pays is losing on inheritance. Even if there is a will the wife can rightly challenge the will.
    On another level, a household with a father and mother not only has two incomes, but will make better provision for any offspring.
    I think the CCJ decision is flawed. It is legitimising promiscuity.

40. Artax
    I expect that kind of argument from Hal, but not you. Adverse possession and non-payment of a mortgage are chalk and cheese.

41. @Dee Word

What does good health have to do with not making a will? Why do we educate ourselves only to surrender to irrational decisions based on emotion?

42. Who children Hal uses to teach fuh trute? Pure donkey logic.

43. Sure, let your assets fritter away to the lawyers. Always the obvious provocateur.

44. The christian, nuclear, family unions are ending up in divorce in about 50% of the time.

In the US, the percentages maybe closer to 80%. We have not checked.

In ‘divorce’ most men and women must get accustomed to other people being around the place.

Are these emerging formations not challenging the prudish, english, anachronistic ideal? Are these not similar to polygamy/polyandry?

What can we say about idiots who ignore existential realities in an effort to hold on to foolishness under a misbegotten cloak of legitimacy?

We would guess that if one is not baptized in the Anglican church that person would not have been ‘married’ and therefore children from such a union would not be able to attend an Anglican school – as was the case in Bim pre 1970.

45. What if the common law wife was a dude Lol. Seriously the guy may have lived with the woman for five years even though he was still married in the first two. He wouldnt marry her and commit bigamy then after the divorce why get married they probably already had a toaster and coffee maker.But the real problem here is the lack of educating women or any partner that life can turn on a dime so know where you stand what you are entitled to if event of death or break-up. When it comes to money people start to get strange anyone who has ever been an executor can attest to that. I can only suggest that if there is any question if he lived with a woman for many years dig him up and see if he looks content.

46. The men in white coats are going for Hal Austin.

Must there not be a time when all African peoples everywhere ditch their slave masters’ names – whether christian or islamic or jewish?

This shiite about naming children after a slave master, in 2017, could only be the product of a sick mind. A demented national mind as well.

47. Men, put a trust in place for your children in these situations. No Jenny come lately should get the family silver.

48. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Geez Lawson and you are talking about the stone cold killers on the island..

do you still dig up dead dogs or what..

and dont tell me ya never did, i know what boys can get up to.

49. The early years are when you struggle, along with your spouse, children, family, to build security. Many that are interested in the latter, more successful years would not be in those early, struggling years.