Dear Brothers and Sisters,
Please see the attached video taped conversation on REPARATIONS between Dr. PEDRO  WELCH, the chairman of the Barbados National Task Force on Reparations, and DAVID  COMISSIONG in his role as host of the University of the West Indies REGION  TALK television programme.

1,349 responses to “Reparation Talk With Dr.Pedro Welch and David Comissiong”

1. Vincent Haynes Avatar

A fusion of belief system with an interesting result.

God(s) on the plantation | West Indies | The Places Involved | Slavery …
    http://www.discoveringbristol.org.uk/slavery/routes/places-involved/…/gods-on-plantation/
    African religious beliefs were kept alive in the Caribbean and the Americas. Sometimes, African beliefs were merged with Christian belief. The best-known …

2. Don’t Cross The Nation
    aka All Africans

3. Vincent Haynes Avatar

A usefull reminder at this juncture……….

There are important conversations to be had about slavery’s past and its legacies in the present, material and psychological. We urgently need conversations about racialised inequality in the Caribbean, in the Americas, in Europe, and between nations (and let us always be clear that plantation slavery between 1500 and the 19th century played a central role in creating this inequality). But a tort-compensation model, turning on “race” as a way to bridge the 18th century to the 21st century is just not best way to address these problem.

The main beneficiaries of slavery were overwhelmingly those who were racialised as “white”, in particular in the global North, but they were important stakeholders in that machine of the racialised extraction of the surplus value of labour in Africa and the Caribbean who were and are racialised as “black”. This is also true of the 21st century engines of exploitation and inequality-making.

Across the Caribbean, and in particular in islands like St Lucia and Dominica and Trinidad where, because of French slave law and norms, there were very large numbers of free people of colour, many of whom owned property including some slaves, the 21st century middle class today- “red” “shabine”, “clear” “brown” and “black”- derives in significant part from people of colour who enslaved people of colour and whose descendants entered the 20th century with assets, in land, education or social status. Including, let me be clear, almost certainly some of my own ancestors.
    XXXXXXXXX Author Anon.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….

…………………mine too.

4. Vincent Haynes Avatar

An interesting holistic perspective on the Caribbean,well worth a read.

]Working Papers – Max Planck Institute for the Study of Religious and …
    http://www.mmg.mpg.de/fileadmin/user…/WP_13-06_Clarke_Religion-and-Ethnicity.pdf
    by C CLARKE – ‎2013 – ‎Related articles
    Most Caribbean territories had slaves, but African slavery was not the whole of … Clarke: Religion and Ethnicity in the Social Structure of the Caribbean / MMG WP …… been the growth of atheism in the context of secularism, materialism and ..

5. Vincent Haynes Avatar

This one talks of the commonsense(so sadly lacking today) of our ancestors in dealing with the abhorrent system.

African Slavery in Latin America and the Caribbean
    https://books.google.com/books?isbn=0199885028
    Herbert S. Klein, ‎Ben Vinson III – 2007 – ‎History
    Indeed, slaves displayed remarkable adeptness in using legal strategies. Many appeared … in secular courts from the earliest years of colonial slavery. Some of …

6. False Beneficiaries

7. Vincent Haynes Avatar

This one takes the cake………A British law firm………

The case has been prepared by a British law firm that recently won almost £20million compensation for hundreds of Kenyans tortured by the British colonial government during the Mau Mau rebellion of the 1950s.

Today’s claim, which also targets Spain, Portugal, Norway, Sweden and Denmark, comes at a pertinent time for the issue of slavery – just a week after Steve McQueen’s epic 12 Years A Slave won the Oscar for Best Picture in Los Angeles.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2577312/Caribbean-leaders-sue-Britain-slave-trade-150-years-abolished.html#ixzz4ouoKdMgj
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

8. Vincent Haynes Avatar

An interesting read on the origin of the Yoruba and their religion.

orisha journeys: the role of travel in the birth of yorùbá-atlantic religions 1
    assr.revues.org/2474?file=1
    The British also began recapturing slave ships in the Caribbean after 1808 and ….. African objects, on the other hand, including the most secular, seem to.

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Should be of value to all those interested in learning how people succeed against the odds.

351 best BLACK HISTORY PT 2 images on Pinterest
    https://www.pinterest.ie/Sassymami1981/black-history-pt-2/
    Delany Sisters , Daughters of emancipated slaves, Sadie (1889-1999) and Bessie …. legacy of Nelson Mandela, the secular saint who refused to give in to hate.

10. Working On The Guide Line

Marcus Garvey & The Upsetter-Conscious Guide

Conscious Guide, Conscious Guide (Slight Return), Guide Line

11. I can see where Vince is hitting a problem
    black people don’t read
    He needs to start rapping

12. 300 Years At The Grass Roots

13. It is much easier to show compassion to animals. They are never wicked.

Outside the kingdom of the Lord there is no nation which is greater than any other. God and history will remember your judgment.

14. I have heard of that idea [i.e., of Haile Selassie being the reincarnation of Jesus Christ]. I also met certain Rastafarians. I told them clearly that I am a man, that I am mortal, and that I would be replaced by the oncoming generation, and that they should never make a mistake in assuming or pretending that the human being is emanated from a deity.”

15. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Interesting……

The True Story of Rastafari | by Lucy McKeon | NYR Daily | The New …
    http://www.nybooks.com/daily/2017/01/06/the-true-story-of-rastafari/
    Jan 6, 2017 – “The Rastafarians are not essentially a religious sect,” wrote John … V. In the eyes of his Jamaican followers, Emperor Selassie’s resistance to …

16. “and that they should never make a mistake in assuming or pretending that the human being is emanated from a deity.”

@WWW.w@nker

Muslims Jews Christians

All belive in the same one god
    Abrahamic faiths
    Monotheism

Cultural differences

(1) Muslims believe in praying together

(2) Jews follow old traditions such as dietary laws

(3) Christians believe God can manifest in man

Your so called self-professed critical thinking is missing on point (3) dummy

You are unintelligent Q.E.D.

River Stone

17. Vincent Haynes Avatar

What a web we weave…….

Did Rastafarian Bob Marley Become a Christian on His Death Bed …
    http://www.beliefnet.com/…/did-rastafarian-bob-marley-become-a-christian-on-his-death-be...
    Rastafarianism is a uniquely Jamaican religion that has a number of offshoots, but traditionally teaches that Selassie is the Messiah. The term “Rastafarian” is …

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Confusion…..

When Emperor Haile Selassie went to Jamaica on this day in 1966 …
    africasacountry.com/…/when-emperor-haile-selassie-went-to-jamaica-on-this-day-in-1…
    Apr 21, 2016 – Fifty years ago today, Ethiopian emperor Haile Selassie visited Jamaica. Hysterical crowds of thousands of people greeted him the airport in …

19. Zap Pow

Judgement Time

River Stone*

20. 4 Vince

4 John

21. Right now I man irie like Mr. Myrie

who generally sits on his veranda

reading his diary

22. The KKK was the invisible Government of the USA
    and still is again with the Trump

23. It is amazing to watch supposedly educated and intelligent individuals, PhD’s, Professors, yardfowls etc etc etc get this slavery thing so wrong.

Thing is no amount of gentle persuasion and facts will move them in their conceited belief that they know different to the facts!!

It is blatantly obvious from history that Africans and Arabs are responsible for the mess.

White Europeans supplied the solution.

Yet, it is to white Europeans these idiots are turning with complaints that can be summarized “freedom wasn’t enough”!!

The hate and venom apparent in the bosoms of these idiots is clear for all for see!!

There can be no reparations, either from the white Europeans or the Africans and Arabs … why these idiots persist is beyond me!!

24. African American History starts from 1565 before it was United States
    1565 St. Augustine
    1619 Jamestown Colony
    1672 Royal African Company from England allowing slaves to be shipped from Africa to the colonies in North America and the Caribbean. England entered the slave trade.
    1705 Virginia Slave codes define as slaves all those servants brought into the colony who were not Christian in their original countries, as well as those American Indians sold by other Indians to colonists.

USA boycotted Britain and its importation of slaves (1765)
    before Britain “stopped” slave trade (1833)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_African-American_history

Reparations is to redeem white scum’s souls (sins of the rotten fathers)

25. Vincent Haynes Avatar

There can be no reparations, either from the white Europeans or the Africans and Arabs … why these idiots persist is beyond me!!
    ………………………………………………………………….

Totally agree and why would you want it it anyhow.

If they would be in a position to give it to you,it would simply mean that you would be huffed again as per a mendicant going to Massa table begging alms and receiving crumbs.

Good God or whatever……get a bit of backbone and lets develop ourselves in order to take what we want.

Note the above is not for the operatives who have been planted here to destabilse the Caribbean with foolish talk.

26. 555,
    KKK is / was the Democratic Party that became very clever, slippery etc. The Grand Cyclops was a DEM who died a few years ago and stinking Hillary spoke very highly of him, her mentor. They behind the scenes brought in 3 strike rule, Hillary spoke against black youth etc .
    DEms still want to keep poor people on the Plantation which was relocated to the inner city like Chicago, Baltimore, Philly et al What great strides did they make on EDUCATION???????

27. Money

All whites were racist

Trump is endorsing KKK Police to crack down on slaves and was supported by KKK network

Whites twist truths as their bent nature

28. Vincent

Reparations is to stop black children being treated as N1993r5

29. The Protestant Reformation is what provided the change in thinking which led to the end of slavery

30. John, When did white scum stop being racist swine.

Vincent must be scared of whites, scared of a race war, scared to stand up for childrens rights

31. Humans are Racist. Whether England or Africa people always will look with more favour at someone that looks a lot like themselves. It should not be so, but it has been so for thousands of years. Also true for classes and religions.
    Afro Bajans are probably the least racial people I know that is in the 1960s-80s, not so sure now.

32. John, When did white scum stop being racist swine

The Protestant Reformation is not the name of a person, it was an era in history …. it is not possible for it to be racist!!!!

33. There WILL be reparations….and soon

it just won’t be in the form of any shiite money or ‘goodwill’ from agents of Satan.

Reparations will be dealt out by Madame Karma …with specially devastating completeness.
    It is actually good that people like John get the chance to reinforce for us all, the devilish, satanic hatred of Blacks that drove the barbaric slave trade for continuous CENTURIES…

When Karma fully pays her retribution on the unrepentant demons, they will come to understand what they have supported…. and what the costs will be.

Vincent is the REALLY amazing aspect of this discussion….
    What a sap……!!

34. Protestant Reformation is not the name of a person, it was an era in history …. it is not possible for it to be racist!!!!

==

Listen to the Question

When did white scum stop being racist swine

stop spouting bullshit

stop being dishonest

35. Vincent Haynes Avatar

At some stage some of you will realise that the world has moved on and will continue moving on….

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/these-will-be-the-32-most-powerful-economies-in-the-world-by-2050-a7587401.html

36. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Then some of you will realise that your great HATE the USA is imploding with you in it……..

https://www.facebook.com/NMWS.US/videos/1757972841146259/

37. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Likle buoy…..go play wid yuh wacker pun de garsun wid BBE and stan outa big people bidness…..an doan fuhget tuh tek de meds.

38. When Karma fully pays her retribution on the unrepentant demons, they will come to understand what they have supported…. and what the costs will be.

Given your knowledge of Karma could the misfortune experienced by the Arab nations and Africa be as a result of Karma?

Go and think about it … the mess we are seeing in these areas could be as a result of your Karma!!

Meanwhile the West moves on …. at least for the moment!!

39. Do you think Africa is full of unrepentant demons and deserves the retribution it is experiencing …. or Syria … or wherever.

40. Do you think Iraq is being repaid for its involvement in the Trans Saharan Slave Trade?

It supplied the salt and consumed the slaves and was the site of the largest slave rebellion on record.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zanj_Rebellion

41. I think the slave raids of Boko Harum in Nigeria and in the Sudan are examples of what pertained for a millennia and old habits die hard.

They are habits which went on 50 years ago, 100 years ago …… right back.

Africa never got past the ancient use of slavery to control people and is stuck in the past.

Christianity will in time overcome the evil as it did in the New World, but it will take time to work through the system.

42. The Religious wars of the Protestant Reformation probably accounted for more deaths than the combined tally of the Trans Saharan and Trans Atlantic Slave Trade.

Maybe that was Karma acting to put the Europeans on the right track.

History shows it was the Europeans who finally ended slavery … well outlawed it … because it still exists in the cradle which nurtured it ,,, Africa.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zanj_Rebellion

43. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hatred…..is corrosive,it absorbs all ones thinking,it inhibits the ability to move forward,to plan for the future and eventually consumes you.

Its a tool that is very usefull when one is interested in destabilising countries or a group of people.

One has to ask the question who benefits from this meaningless hatred???

44. … You tell a cunt you are not from America..
    … and a cunt will still say you are from America..

I was born

(1st verse – Big Daddy Kane)
    A black man from the motherland
    Speaking a language today most people don’t understand
    Where no one could bother me
    Cause I had freedom, justice, and equality
    But then one day it was taken away
    And I was shipped to the U.S.A
    A young brother, made into a slave
    To harvest the midlands and clean the chittlins
    Given a new name, new religion
    No freedom to vote, not even to make a decision
    I saw my peoples, sold raped and took out
    The rest of that stuff that Alex Haley talks about
    They said I’m not from Asia I’m from Africa
    And all the blacks there now are just scavengers
    That’s the way my mind was poisoned
    To believe that in America blacks are inferior
    A weak mind and a body of swine
    Only adds up to being – deaf dumb and blind
    Illiterate to who where what and why
    So I ask myself: who am I?

I was born

(Second Verse – Big Daddy Kane)
    A native New Yorker on the streets
    Known for rocking rhymes to real rough beats
    That I found in the attic, noisy with static
    A sound that made me, a hip-hop fanatic
    I made a few songs that sold OK
    Never top 20 or plenty airplay
    I came out hardcore, flexing cock diesel
    Saw a little cash, and pop goes the weasel
    I had to make that change and rearrange
    My whole rap format, no hardcore rap
    So now all the pop charts I rule
    Over New Kids on the Block and Paula Abdul, huh
    I thought I made it, then my song faded
    And none of the black stations ever have played it
    I tried to blame it on MTV
    And say, “Damn, they cold played me for Young MC”
    But when you get down to it, I’m the real blame
    Because I wanted the fame
    Money is not only the root of all evil
    It’s also the destruction of black people, so
    Conjunction junction, what’s your function?
    Being a scout, or selling out?
    Look in the mirror at yourself, eye to eye
    And say: who am I?

(3rd verse – Gamilah Shabazz)
    A solid change, have to rearrange this strange
    Feeling I’m feeling, so appealing
    I am having to deal with
    Time to forget the myth, of being black and a woman
    Can’t get ahead, walking on a thread, a tightrope
    Can’t cope, don’t be a dope, have a little bit of hope
    Running your scope on affairs
    You have to be aware, don’t flare up
    Let your cup runneth over
    I’m not Irish, don’t need a clover to fill up my dish
    Nor two mango wish to wish on a star, they’re so far
    Anyway I’m thinking about today, not tomorrow
    I’m not a follower of anyone
    My time has come, it’s already here
    My message is clear
    Like the women of long ago, I am also here
    Also to show, I have the courage
    Have the strength, I’m for equal opportunity
    No matter the life, length of time
    Show me a sign, should I rely on a
    Subliminal message, should I question
    What would seem to be, lies told me?
    Yes indeed, so let me speak

(Last verse – Big Daddy Kane)
    And that’s coming from the daughter of Malcolm X
    So black women put it in your texts
    So you can never let, opportunity pass you by
    Or even ask yourself, who am I?

45. Hmmmmm…….not a word from the reparationists…..

https://www.facebook.com/myiannopoulos/videos/892051507599412/

46. Babylon Hold I
    Try to control I

Babylon Fool I
    Try to control I

These are the words of Marcus Mosiah Garvey
    Prophecy must be fulfilled to I and I black brothers and sisters
    Three times they will say I am dead
    The time has already passed dread
    But on the third time they think I am dead
    I shall appear in a new force
    dressed in black green and gold
    which my black brothers and sisters
    art of black culture
    and as I appear they will chant and sing

Babylon Fool I
    Try to control I

Babylon Hold I
    Try to control I

Emperor Haile Selassie King of Kings and Lord of Lords the Conquering Lion of Judah
    The Emperor was a Natty Dread
    The Emperor was a Congo Dread
    Him Knot up in Babylon
    He dread up
    He walk with the Natty Dread
    He no check for the Babylon

The Babylon a weak heart
    and the Babylon must fall

Babylon Fool I
    Try to control I

https://youtu.be/l19CseYbfPg

47. @ Vincent
    Do you know that you are beginning to sound just as juvenile and stupid as John…. Bushie will check your Facebook page to see if your donkey is bleaching too…
    Steupsss…
    See if you can follow this SIMPLE explanation….

If Bushie and Kiki say that the Atlantic Slave Trade was characterised by barbaric, satanic and deprived behaviours on the part of those who (vi et armis) made the law and decided what happened …or did not happen… back then….

It is NOT a defence to say that other people also had /have /want/ own/ unfair/ or use slaves.

Do you follow that…?

A defence would be to say that “it DID NOT happen”….. or that”the Black people ASKED to be enslaved” (Bushie’s preferred line ..if he was a lawyer for the racists) …and that the whites were merely obliging …. or you can even argue that it is normal human behaviour to treat others who look different to you …in that cruel and inhuman way….

Those are possible ‘defence’ lines of arguments.

OR…. like Money B, you can admit that it was a lotta shiite, and express abhorrence at the level of inhumanity that was displayed … and (well we cannot expect this from Money B) you can even acknowledge that your current material wellbeing is built on a foundation of disgusting wickedness…. and perhaps go out of your way to compensate…

After you get this yourself…., see if you can explain to the rambling idiot John, that Boko Harum’s wickedness … or even that of stinking Bushie…. does NOT answer the moot….
    …and tell him to stop making an ass of himself…. shiite man!! … it is tiring…

BTW
    If wunna think that Lady Karma has been doing ‘work’ on the lotta shiite in this world to date, …wunna ain’t see nothing yet… The lady had been restrained by BBE’s grace ….to see if brass bowls would …or could… be wise enough to RECOGNISE their evil ways, and to REPENT and seek BBE’s face….

…but wunna ain’t even smart enough to understand the POWER of ‘sackcloth and ashes’… when added to God’s grace….
    Well…
    Hard ears wunna don’t hear… own way wunna will feel….