Fundamental changes to the way we organise production in Barbados, support productive activity, treat domestic and foreign investment, conduct the affairs of our corporations, organise and utilise our labour force and use technology and information will have to be made if we are to succeed in the post-2005 global economy. โ€“ (Prime Minister Owen S. Arthur, Financial Statement (i.e. Budget), August 2001).

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) and the Government under Prime Minister Freundel Stuartโ€™s leadership has been at pains to walk back on even a hint that, for almost 10 years, increased poverty and economic hardships have negatively impacted on larger than acceptable proportions of the Barbados society. Spin all they want, DLP parliamentarians and especially those relaxing in the under-performing Stuart-led Cabinet, continue to fool around with the livelihoods of Barbadians. There is unyielding and growing impatience from the Barbados public regarding the callousness of DLP Cabinet members whose performances are notable if only for a genuine rock-bottom operational knowledge of the Barbados economy.

Stuart, Sinckler, Sealy, Lowe, and other surrogates from within the beleaguered DLP have done very little to inspire confidence. The roughshod approach by the DLP to the management of the economy and the disjointed and illogical way of separating economy and society have shocked and disappointed Barbadians. After nine years, the DLP teams functioning in the legislature and/or the executive surely do not know how to make the small and open Barbados economy work for the better of all the nationโ€™s people. The Prime Minister continues to endorse the mediocre performances of the Cabinet; he allows Cabinet Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries to do and say illogical things. Stuart has gone so far as to single out a few persons including the scapegoated Minister of Finance as being โ€˜eminentโ€™ by his standards which, inevitably reflects the prime ministerโ€™s low polling on leadership.

The current Minister of Finance has been in place since 2010. Seldom has there been any credible plan on how Barbados will return to levels of more than 2% annual economic growth. More disturbing is the fact that Finance Minister Sinckler has mangled most attempts at the macroeconomic management of the Barbados economy during and after recessionary times. Sincklerโ€™s austere domestic policy responses (i.e. taxation and increasing the national debt) have led to deep economic and financial crises in Barbados. Fiscal measures have been largely occasioned by bouts of high unemployment and a perennial state of underemployment while millions are printed to save the day. Sincklerโ€™s policy directions have given rise to a sluggish economy unable to return to comfortable levels of economic growth.

Across Barbados, there is low morale and productivity throws up its headaches. Barbados is likely to relapse even more with the constraining 2017 budget measures taking full effect this month. The DLP daily attracts negative responses from its gluttonous tax policies and discourses of contempt which have become commonplace once anyone dares to speak out or be critical of said policies. Today, Barbadians maintain that they are overworked if they still have a job; and underpaid while constantly living fearful of losing their jobs because of the possible vindictiveness showing up under different guises.

The accustomed quality of life in Barbados is today threatened, not by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) or from rating agencies, but by Barbados being pushed along a path of austerity by a Cabinet dumbfounded by its very failings. Barbadians continuously face new taxes without a requisite consideration for the growing numbers of the poor, the aged, and those unable to get meaningful employment in the country. Managing director of the IMF, Christine Lagarde recently stated that following research, there is a โ€˜strong commitment to protect health and education spending and the most vulnerable during challenging economic reformsโ€™. This is commendably noteworthy for Barbadians, given that Chris Sinckler appears averse to approaching the IMF but is determined to rip the belly out from the nationโ€™s people via high and extremely troublesome taxation measures.

This, at a time when most of the adjustments faced by Barbadians already saw the knife of the DLP tear into health and education. Cuts were generated by lower government spending and for example, Barbadian students having to pay 10 % of their tuition fees regardless of personal circumstances or family income. Indeed, Sinckler is stubborn to the fact that nowadays, small economies such as Barbados must continue with its investment in human capital because enhanced skills and training are necessary for economic and social development. There must be a realistic social safety net that provides resources and allocates income to families if they are expected to survive after having sacrificed a great deal over the last nine years.

In this yearโ€™s budget, one easily recalls Minister Sinckler rhetorically calling for our consideration on a question of how much more will Barbados sacrifice: โ€œGiven the fact that it is now patently clear that our country cannot continue at current pace to provide all of the things that we have grown accustomed to, and in the magnitude that we desire; given the limitation of our economic resources, are we Barbadians prepared to make the major sacrifices necessary to ensure that we confront and correct this situation once and for all?โ€ The answer to Sincklerโ€™s prompt was well put in the quotation at the beginning of this column by a previous Finance Minister.

The DLP has reached the point where it can no longer hide from the populace or the electorate. Barbados urgently needs a growth strategy. Barbadians must consistently demand from their politicians, growth models and development strategies that will promote economic growth, poverty reduction, and greater productivity and competitiveness. There must be a successful economic development strategy that focuses on improving the skills of those already in the workforce and necessary training for those that will enter the local labour market. There must be drastic reductions on the cost of doing business and making available the resources business needs to compete and thrive in today’s world of technological progress.

Moreover, there needs to be a strategy that is framed around opening opportunities for the development of the private sector as the main source of growth and job creation in Barbados. The local private sector should never be ridiculed by charges of a parasitic nature, nor should government abandon facilitation through regulatory and other incentives for growth and expansion. As it stands, despite thousands were tacitly put at ease prior to the 2013 general elections, and within months the DLP axed their jobs, Barbados must look to be research-driven in formulating the optimal size of its public service. It is alleged that the size of the public sector will need to be reduced, and this must not be done willy-nilly. There is ample space for privatisation but such a program will need to be put in place not to enrich the hands of a few, but to empower the nation. Discussions and wholesome debates on privatisation must not be ambushed by the cleverness or deceptiveness of one or more political strategies. Change of government and a vibrant growth strategy are urgently needed in Barbados. The next government in Barbados is likely to be more sure-footed with a new mandate from the people.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

102 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Need for Growth Strategy”

1. George,
    The anti-democratic RSS is now putting itself forward as crime fighters. I have warned about this on a number of occasions. It is now out in the open, no doubt encouraged by the Americans and Canadians, with UK backing.
    This ought to be the subject of an intense national debate. Civilian police are responsible for crime fighting, not soldiers. We are not Latin American banana republics or some Asian dictatorship.
    Abolish the RSS.

2. Bajan Free Party/CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ Avatar
    Bajan Free Party/CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ

OMG. You have not yet face the facts that Barbados is running on a Massive land Fraud and PONZI, You write as if all is well and we just have fools in office, We have crooks, pure crooks, By not facing the facts you are part of the problem and help to hide what going on in Barbados, You need to run with the 3rd Backup Party for the DBLP government ,

3. Our current GROWTH Strategy is all about the GROWTH IN TAX INTAKE….We have achieved records there….

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Morning George, how are you today?

Why didn’t your party when it formed the Govt. seek to retool the Barbados economy?

Awash with cash from the vat that was a perfect opportunity which went a begging by your Barbados Labour Party. That was times of plenty. The perfect time to do so.

Now in times of need you are putting the onus on the current Govt.

5. Bajan Free Party/CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ Avatar
    Bajan Free Party/CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ

Hal Austin July 4, 2017 at 7:50 AM #@ All the crime comes from the Barbados government the people in the street are doing what they see on top, Some use a PEN and some use a GUN.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

George, the time has come to move beyond partisan rants. Your title expressed the “Need for Growth Strategy” but your essay delivered nothing about a growth strategy beyond Owen’s epigraph.

Every Bajan with the possible exception of the Cabinet and a few yardfowls around them know that Sinckler’s policies have failed. Unless you communicate more than that obvious litany of failure you risk sliding into the yardfowl category yourself.

7. @peterlawrencethompson

You can call me anything you like (and so can I). Deal with the facts or present something yourself and stop being a ****. In fact, the Jews keep taling about the Holocaust for a reason. I say no more. Bye.

8. @ Hal Austin

In my opinion the work of the RSS is to be commended. The RSS continues to do well.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I am not calling you anything George! I am simply pointing out that to simply catalogue the litany of failures of your political opponents is entirely unproductive. I am saying that you need to actually address the issue that your title promises to discuss. The title was not “Sinckler Should be Removed from the Ministry of Finance.”

What are your (or the BLP’s) proposals for a growth strategy?

10. If a man like Georgie Porgie Brathwaite is not worthy of death, we known not who is.

With all that has happened in 10 years of austerity

With the structural collapse of western capitalism, and no answers from him.

For him to now talk about a growth strategy is no less than treason.

What does this man read?

Which academic conversations does he partake?

Why is it not clear that the era of unending growth, is done?

That he is prepared to commend the last cul-de-sac, still, suggests mal-intent.

And the price for misleading a country ………….. should be death

Forgive us, like the ugly man from England says, we googled all this.

11. @Peter

Did you invite George to HC on Saturday to join the collaboration hosted by Ronnie?

12. @peterlawrencethompson

I am sure that you can read. The article does not make any identification as to whom are my opponents. What the article does do is to state the problems that have been allowed to settle and become norms; the lack of leadership; the fact that Barbadians are sacrificing without seeing any real returns; and the indisputable fact that the DLP under Stuart is the worst performing Cabinet ever in the history of Barbados. You should note that it is on those FACTS that I developed the article calling for both change and a return to economic growth in the interest of safeguarding the livelihoods of Barbadians. So, from what you wrote, you have clearly abandoned what I stated and decided to travel on what you feel I ought or ought not write.

Now, I did not claim that the BLP will form the next government (although it is very likely). I do not ask or obtain instructions from any member or indeed from anyone to write my columns. If you did not know, I am quite capable of assessing a situation and coming to my conclusions. Indeed, the latter part of the article puts suggestions on the things that Barbados ought to focus upon and why it is necessary to find the appropriate growth path. Your tainted glasses perhaps pointed you in a direction that you found favourable to labelling me and talking crap about Sinckler should be removed. This DLP Cabinet is a failure by any yardstick. Now leave me be, go read the article, see if there are any positives that can help you to offer to Barbados the growth model that we need.

13. Where George should be more focused and attentive now that he and other blp operatives are of the belief that the BLP would lead the country in 2018 is being diligently in pursuing the blp strategies for repairing the nation economy
    But no all George Bratwaite wants to do is hurled crticisms as a useful tool and a cover and a tactic with a hope that the electorate would be distracted and blindsided by way of criticisms from the bigger issue that the blp has no strategies by which to fix the economy
    So far Sinckler has dared to try .while the blp going into the election has relied on a tight lip strategy as a way of winning.
    Buyer Beware

14. @ David

With all due respect, Ronnie invited me. Actually we are not only friends but PhD products of the same university. I respect his views but I do not necessarily share all of his prescriptions.
    Mr. Lawrence would do well not to write trash such as “I am saying that you need to actually address the issue that your title promises to discuss.” He is not the editor as far as I am aware, and he is not in a position to tell me what to write or what not to write. No disrespect to him, but stating it as it is. Anyway, best that I move on and go and do some fun things.

15. @ David and @Pachamama

Please note that I consider the following to be a threat: “If a man like Georgie Porgie Brathwaite is not worthy of death, we known not who is.”

David surely you do not condone such? I do not entertain threats, and certainly not this type. Too serious to overlook.

16. I’m not sure that Barbados can’t be described as a banana republic already. A rose by any other name would smell as sweet !! A “sugar-banana monarchy”!

The economy will not grow until we find a way to earn more foreign exchange, because we are spending it faster than we are earning it . . . . will increased taxation really address our insatiable fx appetite? At low income levels certainly YES, but at professional and white collar levels NOT BY ONE US DOLLAR ! We suffer from “overvalued productivity” at the higher income levels.

17. In the last election the blp heavily relied on the same strategy which George Brathwaite has penned in his article with added attractions of rubbing shoulders and midday marches hoisted on a Privitaisation Flag
    The ending result was No No
    Every one knows that in a small country as barbados with a small population and limited production the govt mostly relies on outside investment to help create growth
    In barbados their is a private sector who makes plenty noises but short on helping govt to create growth strategies
    The long and short being that within the last seven years any outside investment which the govt presented has been met by hostile resentment and long drawn out court challenges
    If this country is to move forward in any meaningful way the divisiveness which is like a cancer eating at the heart of the country interest would have to stop
    Unfortunately not seeing it happen in the future and barbados would indeed pay a heavy price
    So when George Brathwaite takes his poision pen and write his poision articles he should first look at those acrosss the political landscape whose only interest is of themselves and would do anything to stiffle and slam barbados interest
    No one can honestly say that govt have not worked on having and bringing projects which can create growth .
    However one can say and see that there are sheep in wolves clothing able and waiting to destroy the epicentre of barbados economy.

18. @George

Those of us who blog are aware of the metaphorical use of language by Pacha -all harmless. We need to relax a little. Ignore the fluff and respond to the nuggets of wisdom that will be posted by some.

19. Georgie Porgie Brathwaite

We were not aware that you answered to this moniker – Georgie Porgie Brathwaite.

We always thought it was about another Georgie who was Porgie.

But even he would admit that people who seek to do no less than commit treason against a state, even through ignorance or intrigue, acting as an agent for others, known or unknown, even as useful idiot, should attract the death penalty, in all circumstances.

20. When faced with a philosophical, political conundrum

Either promoting limitless economic growth, on the one hand

And, re-distributive economic justice, on the other

And in circumstances where there is a perception of no other choices

Georgie Porgie Brathwaite and the BLP, or DLP, must choose the failed fiction of limitless growth.

It’s a better political calculation

The only ones to be disappointed by this choice will be the common people of Barbados, who have little means of bringing George Porgie Brathwaite to popular justice.

He says he’s a consultant. If that is true, the highest level of care is to be expected.

Deliberately ignoring the last 10 years of austerity, its causation, is criminal. This crime worsens when such a consultant doubles down on previous failings, with malice and forethought.

21. What Pacha has outlined is correct, some of us forget that a relatively short 10 years ago we were a nation quarreling about changing the government because of perceived corruption, mal governance etc. We have returned once more…

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I don’t know why this is baffling all of you.

The Barbados Labour Party has nothing of any substance to offer Bajans . Hence their silence other than to criticize the present Govt.

Legalising same sex marriages, legalising homosexuality, legalising prostitution, legalising weed that’s all the Barbados Labour Party want to form the next Govt. to do. As far a growth path the Barbados Labour Party could not care less about it . They had 14 years to do so and did nothing.

Hence nothing from George of Jungle on that.

The Barbados Labour Party has no plan for Barbados. They are hoping to win the Govt. by default.

23. @George

With all due respect, Ronnie invited me. Actually we are not only friends but PhD products of the same university. I respect his views but I do not necessarily share all of his prescriptions.

Based on how the event was promoted and conducted the session was structured to accommodate anyone with a different view. In other words it was not the Ronnie Yearwood show.

24. David

It’s worse than that.

Should we not find a way off this round-about, this merry-go-round

We’re doomed forever. There was always something wrong with thinking we should either have a BLP or DLP government. These duopoly formations are about interests, not people.

Somebody else’s system, not ours.

25. George,
    I abhor the personal abuse aimed at you, but that is the Bajan way. What I pointed out was that the intervention of the military in fighting crime is anti-democratic. That is the job of civilian police. We are going down a dangerous road.

26. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

Georgie Porgie Brathwaite you are one of many dufuses

Back in the day you are what was called a waste foop sperm worthy only of being dumped in a condom and as Pachamama said in more direct terms, worthy of being disposed of.

Here is an excerpt of your words that speak to the cadre of persons that you belong to.

“…The roughshod approach by the DLP to the management of the economy and the disjointed and illogical way of separating economy and society have shocked and disappointed Barbadians…”

I will rely on the dictionary to provide a definition for the word “roughshod”… “marked by tyrannical force – roughshod rule

You seek to express it as it were a proactive stance and practice but I who am but fodder for the worms, as are you by the way, look at it as “a state of being” birthed of ineptitude.

These fellers, as well as the other, buhkvunts that came before them and that will come in the Mugabe dispensation, DO NOT KNOW ANY BETTER and therefore what you seem to see as force of sentience is really only their inability to do any thing else.

Bless their illiterate souls.

So let the ole man leave those comments with you to digest while I speak to “growth strategy” which neither the BLP nor the DLP truly can conceive, and which PM Owen Arthur bless his soul, spoke eloquently of, but could not actuate.

I who am leaving this world have decided to give of myself freely without any reservation, as the life that was given to me, was also freely given, without any hoarding on the part of Omniscient Being.

Let me speak to the issue of Education.

I will start by passingly referencing the waste foop that Mugabe Mottley touted under her US$236M rape of the coffers of Barbados and its purported enrichment of Illuminat and others.

But that is where i will diverge to speak to you of growth for this little island.

This is going to be the model for all countries that truly wish growth for their SIDS education programs.

Every one of these countries has a problem in their school system namely they all have their Queen’s Collegege and Lodges and premiere institutions and then the less renown Springers and CP’s all respect due to those of you who attended those schools.

But her is where Edutech failed, not only because it was conceived by inept ministers and education officers but because of that incapacity that you called roughshod,

What the ole man would do is this.

I would take 8 schools 4 big up schools and 4 “lesser” schools and I would outfit all of them with Interactive Chalkboards and Ipads and internet that the two telecommunications rapists DIGICEL and LIME would provide for free and I would integrate their curricula virtually.

All 8 schools would be on one single timetable.

Now here is where the pandemic of bajan ignorance that you call roughshod and what I posit to you is the lack of true “vision” diverge.

(a) by this single act I have removed the stigmaa accosiated with these lesser schools becuase the Teachers at Harrison’s College are not teaching virtually at Colleridge and Parry

(b) all this shyte about de ole man has addressed that zoning issue and it becomes a thing of the past cause computers dont gve one shyte bout where you live

(c) it would cause the immediate “upping” of teaching standards all all of the specific schools

(d) to be part of the pilot every school in Barbados would have to submit a proposal that details WHY they should be included in that Pilot

I will not speak to how this will disrupt the Mary Redman’s nor the Ronald WeJonesing buhkvunts that are now the bogolords in the teaching arena but AND I KNOW THAT THIS IS GOING TO BE A HARD ONE FOR YOU TO GRASP do you comprehend what this will mean as “true growth”?

I guess that such will be lost on you though, as it would forever have been lost on ROnald WeJonesing as well as Mugabe Mottley so de ole man may ask de Blogmaster to put dis up as an article, IF HE THINKS THAT IT IS WORTHY OF A BLOG….what you think?

27. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle…..George you should have remembered this.

Politics and religion are two subjects that can turn a quiet, sensible individual into a raving, irrational bigot. (Maurice J. Teitelbaum 1976)

28. @The Blogmaster at 11:07 AM re “Those of us who blog are aware of the metaphorical use of language by Pacha -all harmless. We need to relax a little. Ignore the fluff and respond to the nuggets of wisdom that will be posted by some.”

Sounds sweet Mr Blogmaster. Exactly the rhetoric used to validate the free speech dictum…but I concur with George Brathwaite: these silly turns of phrase are dangerous, uncalled for and can incite actual ‘a…..es’ to folly.

People with that Trumpian attitude cannot have it both ways. You cannot condemn critics or commentary you don’t like as for example: ‘enemies of the state’, or people who should be pummeled into submission, or guillotined….all metaphorically and intellectually high-brow supposedly…but

…But, then actually do stuff like call YOU a liar and demit the site or advise that they will vigilantly attack a blogger’s posts because of said disagreement herein.

That is BS Mr Blogmaster. Stupid, puerile, BS.

Free speech to suit an intellectual ‘parody of logic’ but actual implementation – as best as physically possible- of said intellectual turn of phrase. In sum, ‘I WOULD punch you in the face!’

Alas that brutish manner of which you spoke re Trump previously gets in the way of his words of wisdom too….same here, bro.

I do not share George’s political affection (nor Stuart’s for that matter) but he has every right to find the comments offensive.

Just as you may adopt a free speech defense that it is harmless.

Maybe your poster will demit the site again in a pique of affront and anger. Or not…maybe just attack scathingly and harmlessly, of course!

29. The mandate of the RSS explained.

http://www.rss.org.bb/about-us.html

30. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Why do we keep talking about and blaming the duoply…..they are out of us and no matter what name a party may have they are still out of us subject to same actions and inactions of the duoply.

Ronnie Yearwood’s endeavour is worth commendation and hopefully will be expanded throughout the communities of Bim.

Only when the public can understand their role in the development of their country by eternal vigilance and holding who ever holds the reigns of govt to account will we have a chance of moving forward or be forever spinning top in mud.

31. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI July 4, 2017 at 12:15 PM #

Chuckle….nice to hear you still around…..yuh girlfriend SSS been looking fuh yuh,yuh should not leh go big rocks at your age yuh know.

Your education disertation omitted the 11 plus usefulness as well as the type of curriculum required to carry us forward in this new world.

You seem to be in a hurry to leave this world unless you have a date with destiny like the rest of us old duffusses.

32. David,
    The ambiguous jargon of the RSS mandate is deliberate. They have deliberately interchanged security and crime, a Caribbean interpretation.
    I suggest you go back and read about Colonel Oliver North and his role in the Iran-Contra crisis, and his involvement in Central America. This is the same motivating factor that now drives the involvement of the US, Canada and to a certain extent the UK in the RSS.
    When they offer training to Caribbean military (ie the Defence Force) this is what the training is all about.
    They have outsourced their work to the RSS. The big drug smugglers do not want to smuggle drugs in to poor Caribbean islands, but to first the US (the Washington set), failing which to Europe.
    In any case, whether we see them as a threat or not, the RSS must become part of our political conversation. See today’s Nation.

33. Nice one there @David 12:26…I was about to respond to @Hal so you allowed me to browse the blurb of bland official speak from RSS.

Of course there is nothing out of the ordinary there and that was to be my query to Hal:

— What is your deep fear and concern re the RSS as a threat to local regional policing; based on your media and other contacts do you have any info to suggest there is a nefarious intention afoot.?? Provide the blog with some substance or otherwise cease this ‘boy crying wolf’ routine. —

The RSS as constituted is and should be a positive influence for local police regionally. There is more reason to believe that the body can be used to control despotic regional leaders re management of criminal activity in their country as there is reason to believe that the RSS would be a source of anti-democratic problems.

The RSS is not ‘modeled’ on the US ‘Posse Comitatus’ Act which prevents the federal military force from direct involvement in local policing but rather it appears more modeled on orgs like the DEA, NSA and FBI, in a unique ‘hybrid’ fashion as they describe themselves.

You raise this concern almost EVERY week. Wha’s up!

34. @Dee Word

BU recommend you reread Jeff’s recent article and how he treats with the issue of the media failing to defend/protect the artform of calypso delivered via its unique “expression”. It is a decade now and BU household and family have witnessed Chris Halsall calling another here to a duel at the Garrison, Bush Tea wacking all and sundry, Pacha and his use of the guillotine and the imagery from the primeval French period and so on. Where you have to give latitude to BU is that members of the household are familiar with the actors and they do not have the courage to kill a fly…lol. So there is no need to be prolix on this matter.

35. What are the growth strategies again? We have discussed the tax grab by the government to close the fiscal deficit and suppress demand for forex BUT what about growth?

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

@ Vincent

I have omitted nothing Vincent.

A pilot is a begin point. I could also detail the curriculum as well if you wished

Here I speak solely to efficacy and deliverables afforded by a purposed Virtual Curriculum a la PUDRYR.

This Virtual Integration, with its purposed curriculum, will accomplish its objectives in 3 years.

And then, given the metrics of its implementation, a gradual rollout to primary schools may be entertained.

But one wants the secondary school teachers/students first because they are moving to university and the “learning curve” is better served there, given the state of affairs in our Education system.

Imagine Vincent that I, at Coleridge, am competing with you, in your class at Harrison’s College on Roebuck Street?

But you can be assured that such a suggestion going be incorporated into both manifestos IMMEDIATELY and that WeJonesing going set a team with Chesterfield and my other friend who resembles Magnum PI heheheheheh to try to structure it as his platform for 2018.

Mark de ole man words, but it ent dem idea so it going fail cause as you hinted if the curriculum is not adjusted, it is like putting new wine in old effing vessels.

Regarding my girlfriend, i sent a notice to her that there was previously an issue with the email in question that I had to enlist the Google Team to resolve.

Enlisting google is not an easy task for 2rd world denizens but that has happened so now we will wait and see…

@ my dearest SSS

I will revert to you by the usual means once I have been cleared to do so.

The imgur issue that you are encountering can be bypassed by going to another imgur site and using their services.

The replacement service has to have a stated policy regarding disclosing your ID to third parties else you will find that in the same way that IMGUR received legal threats per your account and attempts by other parties to find out who you are, a lesser site may not be as competent as imgur.

By now SSS you must understand what your “currency” is.

When you speak here on BU people listen.

When you do a poster on Imgur it propagates exponentially in cyberspace.

Carson and his crew AC etc., respect you.

Mugabe and her crew fear you.

They fear the impassioned comments you write here for, unlike the Heather Cole sympathizer, you hold no brief for Mugabe, nor Sandra Husbands, nor Santia, nor others of the Mugabe clan (nearly said pooch suckers)

I would run for politics too if i had their serpentine characteristics but de ole man got a spine AND ME MOUT dont fear a feller plussing death mongers have an intimate understanding of that thing dat going tek all uh we, including dem fellers like Kim and Trump and Erdogan and Xi, irrespective of all the pomp and pagentry IT IS COMING

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Vincent…Piece might have a date with trini Destra..lol

38. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece

Fair enough.

WW&C

Chuckle…..yes I saw the video….more than Piece’s spine would get damaged.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal Austin July 4, 2017 at 12:10 PM

You have a point. I don’t like it either.

I remember a Chilean General, i think it was,once saying, “When the Army comes out, it comes out to KILL”.

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…tell us about the Transport Board contract with CGI Insurance.

RSS cross border criminal investigations are not a threat…Hal is being a sissy.

CGI Insurance, the Kutappa- Harrises and the Bayleys are a threat to the bajan population, policyholders and injured claimants.

That is your threat.

42. Carson,

You got that right. Soldiers are trained to kill; police to protect, serve and keep the peace. There is a Bajan stubbornness that will come back to haunt them on this issue. Our problem is that we think we are exceptional. You get it in this forum mainly from tired, bored pensioners.

43. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

….yet it`s the police accused of killing and brutalizing people and not doing their jobs because some of them are the criminal element.

Hal you are either off your meds or you need to be diagnosed and medicated.

Carson the slave pimp sees you as the perfect distraction.

Carson….what you dont know is….things will get so much worse as information keeps flowing on the blogs.just watch

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

The only threat to Barbados is the crooked Barbados Labour Party with their Homosexual agenda.

If the Bajan voting public miss and put in the gender confused Mia, Barbados will turn into a cesspool.

45. angela Skeete Avatar

Oh lawd Carson and you can add that bowl of corruption soup the blp had dished out when they were in power

46. @Hal, I tried to engage you re RSS with what I thought was a perfectly good length ball on or about off … quite playable but with room for some bother…but I see you opted to play Carson’s low and slow full toss. LOL.

And @David, no prolix indeed.

You know your denizens so if they are strictly bare mout with the uncouth chatter then so be it.

I respect their free speech dictum but I have problems when folks want theirs but want to deny me, mine.

Dat is Kadooment without the sweet music!

47. angela Skeete Avatar

George Brathwaite instead of spouting political pablum maybe you ought to read with an understanding how barbados debt trap came about and why bajans have to pay the price of fixing it how ever painful it might be
    You so called political consultants come a dime a dozen and just like any other political yardfowl feeds on the public trough for a living
    Needless to say that when the piper comes calling you and those who had feasted of the fatted calf 14 years ago does not want to pay your dues but would rather govt drag the most vulnerable under the bus with your loud and petty noises about constituency councils and football games day care for working mothers with children and holler about free bus fare for children and elderly

48. angela Skeete Avatar

with all its warts and economic problems barbados is still recognized as one of the best among many
    I remember Mottley getting up in the house of parliament and comparing barbados to earthquake ravaged Haiti
    Now pray tell how a person who talks about love of her country and wanting to be a leader of the country says words in such a callous manner that are hurtful and devious to the country well being especially well aware of the fact that our economy is dependable on tourism and such words can send wrong messages

49. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

What a wasted 9 years…..so hard ears……..sad.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Lee July 4, 2017 at 10:57 AM
    โ€œIโ€™m not sure that Barbados canโ€™t be described as a banana republic already. A rose by any other name would smell as sweet !! A โ€œsugar-banana monarchyโ€!
    The economy will not grow until we find a way to earn more foreign exchange, because we are spending it faster than we are earning it . . . . will increased taxation really address our insatiable fx appetite? At low income levels certainly YES, but at professional and white collar levels NOT BY ONE US DOLLAR ! We suffer from โ€œovervalued productivityโ€ at the higher income levels.โ€

Q.E.D!

An excellent analysis of the ‘real’ economic challenge facing Barbados and indeed worthy of an A+ grading.

Poor Barbados is saddled with a socially burdensome and parasitic black pseudo-middleclass whose forex earning capacity is as nonexistent as its ability to transform the slave-mentality society from which it has been recently formed in a womb of total dependency and fed from an umbilical cord made from the sinews of a colonial-designed educational system of divide and rule.

Unless the pseudo middleclass Bajans swallow their overtly excessive share of false pride and start earning their living (like the lowly workers in the tourism sector) paid from forex earnings instead of living off other peopleโ€™s money to finance their imported conspicuous consumption habits, then there is only one outcome that would seal their very fate and see them returning to the very villages and tenantries (tenement yards) which they have aloofly abandoned for the former sugarcane fields euphemistically called heights, terraces and gardens.