Submitted by David Comissiong, Citizen Advocate
Mark Maloney – Vision Development Inc

Over the past week or so an entity named “Hyatt Centric Development Team” has been sending out invitations inviting selected persons to a “public interactive discussion on the project” at the “site of the Hyatt Centric Resort, Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, Bridgetown” on Saturday June 10th, 2017.”

This development constitutes a callous “slap in the face” of all Barbadians and a monumental insult to our intelligence!

Indeed,these people are so contemptuous of us that they are bold-facedly holding a public town hall meeting (or as they term it— a public interactive discussion) NOT during the period  of the processing of the application; NOT prior to the Minister making a decision on the application, but some four (4) months AFTER the Minister has made his decision to grant permission to construct the controversial hotel!

This meaningless town hall meeting is therefore simply a window dressing and public relations exercise on the part of the developer ! It has no substance or utility!

The whole purpose of a public town hall meeting is to give the Citizens and residents an input or say in the decision-making process BEFORE any decision is made by the authorities.

Indeed, when a public town hall meeting is held as part of the processing of an application for a construction project it is stipulated that a record MUST be made of the meeting, and that the record must be forwarded to the Town and Country Planning authorities for their consideration PRIOR to the making of a decision on the application.

I wish to reiterate that the application of Mr Mark Maloney’s company for permission to construct a 15 storey hotel on the beach at Carlisle Bay required that the proposed project be subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)  BEFORE any decision could be properly made on the application. And the staging of a serious and meaningful public town hall meeting would have been an integral requirement of the EIA process!

Here, for the record , is what our Town and Country Planning Department’s “Handbook and Guide To Town Planning” says about this matter:-

PUBLIC  CONSULTATION

Any application to the Chief Town Planner which requires the preparation of an environmental impact assessment SHALL be the subject of a PUBLIC  MEETING. The EIA report shall be made available to the public for a period of not less than twenty-eight (28) days to allow for perusal and scrutiny. The EIA report SHALL be made available within the community, district or main public library and the Town and Country Development Planning Office.

No later than fourteen(14) days after the public meeting the applicant is REQUIRED  TO  SUBMIT  THE  REPORT  OF  THE  PROCEEDINGS  TO  THE  CHIEF  TOWN  PLANNER.

ADVERTISING

The public meeting shall be advertised on local media and at least one daily newspaper announcing the availability of the EIA report at the commencement of the twenty-eight day period. The advertisement should occupy at least one quarter page in the newspaper and should be bold and noticeable.

Furthermore, Section 12.2 of our country’s Physical Development Plan stipulates that “where Environmental Impact Assessments are required they shall be completed to the satisfaction of the Chief Town Planner  PRIOR to approval being given“.

In light of the foregoing, the proverbial “Six Million Dollar Question” is :- “Why wasn’t this particular project subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment, inclusive of a substantive and meaningful public town hall meeting in which we— the people of Barbados– could have asked serious questions, demanded answers, and recorded any concerns or objections that we might have about the project ???

Somebody will have to answer this question , whether that answer is provided in the public domain or in the confines of a Court room.

232 responses to “They Making (HYATT) Mock Sport at WE!”

1. @ CCC
    Don’t worry BUSH TEA …You are going to writing drivel about the DLP for another 5 years after next year’s elections. You and DAVID.
    Does Bushie sound worried?
    ….otherwise you are correct, except that you understate the time frame….

Boss…
    The amount of damage that wunna have done in nine short years is such, …that Bushie will be writing ’bout wunna for the foreseeable future… and it will be worse than drivel… 🙂

2. The following was emailed to BU.

Is it not ironic that an entity like the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc (BTMI) can endorse a tourism event
    namely the “Festival of Speed”at an illegal venue ie Bushy Park which has an enforcement order against it since June 2016?

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Carson…..ya can pass it on, for your infomation….I dont care that the DPP is being blackmailed too…am a free agent.

Can you imagine what the likes of Maloney got on those retards.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David June 10, 2017 at 8:23 AM

Maybe they didn’t know that.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…am serious, this is not a game.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

9:00 down here on Bay Street and the paid staff outnumber the public attendees by three to one

7. Peter

Start wrong, yuh gotta end wrong.

8. Thanks Peter.

Bear in mind the meeting has not been widely publicized.

Also residents in the environs will not have a town hall as a priority.

The truth is Barbadians have disengaged and become apathetic.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

There are about 20 staff here including Maloney, about 4 who seem to be media, and about 7 who appear to be interested members of the public

10. David

To be honest, they should not turn up. It is an insult to the public.

11. angela Skeete Avatar

Question

Comissiong when are u goingvto ask MIa to show proof of legal documentation to practice law in Barbados
    FYI there is an article in Barbados dayed june june 10 2017 which adresses her legality to be a practicing lawyer in barbados in light of the fact she presented documentation in parliament as a reference but none of which was bone a fid certification of a LEC

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ass’s…yall should be much more concerned about the information that will be released if DBLP dont get rid of their 2 indian blackmailers.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ peterlawrencethompsonJune 10, 2017 at 9:00 AM
    “9:00 down here on Bay Street and the paid staff outnumber the public attendees by three to one..”

Hi PLT, glad to see you are putting your feet where the other bloggers’ mouths are.
    Why not put Maloney under the spotlight by asking him who are the financial backers of the Hyatt erection?

Is the money to erect the 15 storey hotel coming from overseas sources (to help boost the country’s forex given its pressing needs) or would the financing be from local sources (consuming the country’s fast dwindling foreign reserves)?

We are sure all his past indiscretions would be forgiven if he can show the money to build Hyatt is FDI and not the drying-up milk from the very sore cash-flow nipples of the NIS.

Do you want to bet you don’t get an answer to that query? Be careful you might even be escorted off the premises.

Good luck, my inquisitive friend!

14. Mottley integrity is questionable until she can produce her LEC.Here is a woman who questions everybody character and now that once again her integrity and character is placed in the spotlight the Blp bury their heads in the sand right next to the proposed Hyatt site.
    Lawd have merci

15. Have we not had lawyers from other jurisdictions appearing in our high court?

16. Angela

What is the LEC? Do ALL lawyers in Barbados, or the Caribbean for that matter, have an LEC? If they don’t, please tell BU why they can practice? What is the Council of Legal Education Treaty? #askingforafriend

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela SkeeteJune 10, 2017 at 9:21 AM
    “Question
    Comissiong when are u goingvto ask MIa to show proof of legal documentation to practice law in Barbados
    FYI there is an article in Barbados dayed june june 10 2017 which adresses her legality to be a practicing lawyer in barbados in light of the fact she presented documentation in parliament as a reference but none of which was bone a fid certification of a LEC..”

Answer:

Based on your writing above, why don’t you too show proof that you even graduated from primary school?

Your writing clearly certifies that you graduated from the cesspool on George Street as a mere political yard-fowl summa cum laude.

Why don’t you research the conditions contained in the transitional provisions of the same Legal Profession Act and confirmed if EWB- the father of Independence and great national hero- made a major blunder in judgment?

Mia, your obvious bête noir since the political death of OSA, is not the only UK law graduate who benefited from those provisions.

BTW, if Kenny B, a former clown of that talk-shop court, can practise law in Barbados then even Gearbox or Professor La la Ha could have done the same; and that is not casting any “aspirations” on anyone’s character, including yours, the accredited cretin ac aka angela Skeete the politically fouled scunt.

18. Do you think AS/ac/CC really care about Mia’s qualifications. These yardfowls think they have a little nugget and will just play with it.

Did Carson marry his same sex partner and invited Mia?

A hearty ‘Good Morning’ to the denizens of BU yard and includes the fowls.

19. Comissiong writes articles condemning govt about what he perceives is govt involvement in corruption. However how comes he never uses the same perception against what now is showing to be a cover up of corruption as to how Mia was given a legal right to practice law in Barbados when she did not have to go through the same educational process by which all practicing lawyers should have to attain the professional merit
    Boy if it walks and quack like a duck it is certainly a duck and Mia have used said words on many occasion to condemn many
    Btw miller why are u getting u knickers all tight do you not piss all over govt about corruption but now the spotlight is on your tainted queen you talking sh.it

20. A read of the article makes a nonsense of what the yardfowls and JAS are trying to say. Firstly, Mia practices law based on being allowed by the Registrar. If she is illegally practicing law she is not the one to be asked because it is the Registrar that issues her annual license.

The other point after reading the BT article is that it clearly records the date MIA applied to the Temple in London and when the LEC was required in the Caribbean.

But JAs must bray.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David June 10, 2017 at 11:46 AM

hahahaha

Now you are hitting the nail on the head.

Why is it others have to follow the Law to become Lawyers and some are able to become Lawyers through the back door?

Why the special favours?

Don’t worry there are three others just like Mia, and strangely enough they are all BLP operatives. Their names will be called shortly.

We await Mia’s Law Certificate as required by the Laws of Barbados!!!!

22. If some of us were inclined to be sympathetic to the government’s case after suffering through your comments it makes the decision easy to make that nutcases are running things.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David Thompson had his Law Certificate.

24. Carson

When we get to see LECs from Sir Maurice King, Sir Henry Forde, Sir Louis Tull, Sir Cheltenham, Dame Billie and others we’ll ask Mia for hers…lol. #idiocyabounds

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I met a man this morning who let me know in no uncertain terms that he will not be backing the BLP this time around, he said that they are no F@#$%^g good.

Come for me when you all are ready he said to me.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“”If some of us were inclined to be sympathetic to the government’s case “”

Who the hell you trying to fool?

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson….am a very impatient kinda gal, as you are well aware.

Grenville’s party now has 18 candidates, a mixed bag.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

a post taken from facebook

“”Mother always told me don’t trouble trouble unless trouble trouble you. Apparently she troubled and attack Dr Denis Lowe and said he’s not a certified Doctor. Dr Lowe subsequent to that produced his qualifications and certifications to show he is a Qualified and legally practising Doctor and made them documents of the house and he challenged her to produce her Legal Education Certificate ( LEC ) to prove that she is legally practicing law. Apparently she have to date produce all types of certificates and documents to show she did a law degree,she attended this law school etc but haven’t produce the Legal Education Certificate ( LEC ) to prove she is legally qualified to practice law. It seems that because she was born in to an elite family in sandy lane that she can do as she like,because she was born with a gold spoon trimmed with diamonds in her mouth,because she’s of an aristocracy lineage,because of her surname and what it meant in Barbados years ago that she can get away with anything. There are really two Barbadoses fuh trute. One for the aristocrat,elite etc and one for the peasants. If this was somebody else with less status if this was a member of the DLP this story would make the rounds every day in and on every medium. But it’s her and apparently her status excludes her from the public’s glare and questions. She’s not to be subjected to this level of questioning how dear wunna!?, do you know who you are questioning how double damn dear you to put this in the public’s view. Somebody suggested apparently that she’s practising law under fraudulent circumstances I don’t know if it’s true but I will give her the benefit of the doubt even without that LEC””

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…wasnt he one of yours.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/06/10/another-dlp-fiasco/

“So Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is at a loss over the uproar triggered by Government’s decision to purchase a spanking new top-of-the-line Mercedes-Benz for his use in these tough economic times? As he put it to reporters earlier this week when questioned on the matter, “I don’t know what the fuss is about”.

If ever there was a statement that conveyed the image of a prime minister disconnected from the reality of the very people he supposedly leads, it certainly would have to be this one. It shouldn’t be surprising, therefore, that Mr Stuart has difficulty understanding what’s the fuss about. The reason, however, is pretty clear and simple.”

30. David you of all people should not be caught up in this hypocrisy trying to cover Mia a ss when you have not moss a beat in the last nine years to piss over govt alleged breaches of comitment to the people
    Be that as it may Mia herself has pointed several accusations through ignorance forgetting that many fingers would be pointed at her.
    Let her bring her LEC just like all other practicing lawyers and this issue would be put to rest

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

Does Grenville still have a column on BU?

You know as one starts to make too much sense here on BU one gets banned.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

Not only that he is on record as saying some members of the Barbados Labour Party wanted to poison him when he was Editor of the Advocate newspaper.

Now he is firmly in the camp of the same people who he said wanted to kill him.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

No wonder the members of the other races does laugh at we Black people.

34. @enuff

Looks like Comissiong took your advice and was a no-show this morning although BU understands he was invited. We had the usual suspects Henderson Williams, Jeffery Bostic, Denis Kellman et al.

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I know that DAVID is not pleased with all of this being aired on his BU, but it is what it is.

FACTS!!!!!!!

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I said many times:
    Comissiong is an IDIOT!!!!

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…Grenville is positioning himself to capture the seats yall dont have a snow cones’ chance in hell of getting, I will not beat up on him for that…am sure the blogmaster wont either…..even yall diehards like Eversley ran from DLP….so something is wrong.

Here is the reality check…there are 7 political parties in play, including independents, yall dont stand a chance getting a majority government….capeche.

Take my advice, focus on helping BLP rid the island of your two indian blackmailers and sever the ties they have on the slaves in parliament they hold….believe me…that is much more important.

You are being laughed at because you allow them to blackmail you.., and steal from the people.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Another thing DAVID, if Owen Arthur comes out backing any of these other 3rd. parties , the Barbados Labour Party will get even less seats than they got in 2013.

No one wants Barbados to be led by a MOCK MAN.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No Bajan want Barbados to made the laughing stock of the Caribbean.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The idea is to split the votes between all parties, DBLP politicians and ministers are all tainted and washed up….owned by people who use them to the people’s destruction and because of some soon to happen events, Bajans need to preserve their own wellbeing, by not trusting DBLP…there are new parties in play.

Politicians have to learn that once elected they are employed….by the people and not by just 6 or 7 people or by the minority population, which is obviously difficult for slow, weak politicians to understand….they are mandated to work for the future development and progress of ALL the people.

The current fools show a high degree of lack of understanding….something like Mercedes not being suitable for roads in Barbados…that type of lack of understanding….they are a waste of taxpayer’s money…that type of lack of understanding,

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The Hyatt Centric Carlisle Bay public information event this Saturday morning at the site was a pathetic charade. The caterers, Maloney staff and Hyatt representatives vastly outnumbered the handful of the public in attendance.

The “interactive session” amounted to glib answers to any serious questions that members of the tiny audience raised. They were unable to give assurances that the sewage treatment requirements would not overwhelm the struggling Bridgetown sewage treatment facility even though they will be building a pre-treatment facility on the hotel site.

Hyatt Centric Carlisle Bay has a traffic management plan, but it is not available for public comment or inspection. They did not say when it would be available.

They are aware of the concerns expressed by the Barbados National Trust about putting our World Heritage Listing for Bridgetown at risk, but they have taken no steps to talk to UNESCO about how they could manage this risk and they made it clear that they have no intention of doing so. It doesn’t appear as though they give a damn as long as they make lots of money.

All in all it is as Mr. Comissiong said, they are making mock sport at we.

42. Thanks Peter for dong a civic duty.

43. @ P L T who wrote,

“The caterers, Maloney staff and Hyatt representatives vastly outnumbered the handful of the public in attendance.”

What that says to me is that Bajans don’t really care about serious issues that could affect them.

Fellas like you that “now come back” will soon understand how difficult it is to change the attitude of Bajans.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Comissiong didn’t attend because he knows that he does not have a leg to stand on.

The people with the answers were there and suddenly COME-A-LONG does not have any questions.

A joker.

45. @Hants

It is a little bit more.

Barbados is a tiny island and incestuous too.

46. My dear BU regulars, why are you wasting your time by trying to engage Carson C Cadogan, Angela Skeete and few other well known lackeys in intellectual discussion? Keep focused and don’t take you eyes off of the ball. There are still many in the USA who believe that DT (what a coincidence with the initials) is as pure and as honest as a virgin. No matter what he says or does is for them pure as fallen snow. So too the above named jackasses will defend the morons in their party to the detriment of Barbados and as soon as another travesty is inflicted on us and the island, they rush out with idiotic arguments and red herrings to distract. My advice is that it is best not to engage idiots as it only encourages them to persist.
    On another matter, with the newest tax impositions inflicted upon this poor country and its long suffering suffering citizens, will this mean that all hotels, guest houses, restaurants and bars will be at a further disadvantage in competing with Sandals and the generous (idiotic) tax exemptions enjoyed by that entity? Does this government plan on offering similar terms and condition to Hyatt should it ever get off the ground?

47. @ David,

Lewis on pole in Montreal. Awesome Q3 lap.

48. Yes Hants and he equals Senna pole 65. Top 4 are positioned to put on a show.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FearPlay June 10, 2017 at 1:57 PM

What rock you now crawl from under?

50. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hyatt is a scam scham by Maloney et al to use the weak government to get their hands on millions of taxpayer’s dollars and poor pensioner’s NIS money, they have no answers and just waiting for an opportunity and the right excuse to steal mire money, as they have been doing for 30 years….the fools of parliament approved the scam and they would be obligated and expected to fund it with Bajans money…more thievery.

Carson…you were not there either, you were hear waiting to see what I post next, but I told you already what needs to be done.