The Silent Majority

Dr. Malcom Grant posted an interesting piece on his Facebook Page SURVIVING OUR HARSH ECONOMIC ENVIRONMENT titled The Silent Majority. Although the thesis of his article addresses the many members who chose NOT to contribute to discussion, the same can be said that there is a reluctance by the majority of Barbadians to actively participate in our democracy. The question to be asked is whether the apathy being shown by Barbadians is fuelled by ignorance or is it a flaw in how we manage our society.

David Barbados Underground

Definitions:
1. The Silent Majority is an unspecified large majority of people in a country or group who do not express their opinions publicly. In the online context this means that there is no Digital Participation. Those in the Silent Majority are synonymously referred to as Lurkers.

2. Digital Participation is essentially making ones presence online in such a manner so others can see. This ranges from publishing online articles to simply clicking a Like button.

3. Participation Inequality consists of difference between the levels of participation of various individuals within any given group or activity.

Background

SOHEE was founded on August 21, 2011. However, since our inception it has been noted that we only observed Digital Participation from a miniscule number (<5%) of our members. This fact at face value, was not only bewildering but also inexplicable and somewhat disturbing. I decided to research this phenomenon and was quite surprised with my finding which I shall share with you.

For this research the Internet was my exclusive source of information.

Global Rules Governing Digital Participation

There are essentially two well quoted and respected rules governing Digital Participation.
There is the 90-9-1 rule and there is the 1% rule.

The Jakob Nielsen 90-9-1 rule essentially found that user participation was more or less as follows::
• 90% of users are lurkers (i.e., read or observe, but don’t contribute).
• 9% of users only contribute from time to time.
• 1% account for most contributions

Interestingly a very recently published 2014 study which was published in the Journal of Medical Internet Research (Trevor van Mierlo) more or less confirmed that the 90-9-1 rule also held true re Digital Health Support Groups for such conditions as depression, alcoholism, smoking cessation, etc.)

The 1% rule (Will Hill, Ben McConnell and Jackie Huba) on the other hand found that in the Internet Culture, only 1% of the users of any given Internet Group actively do create new content, while the other 99% of the participants are Lurkers.

Some Listed Reasons Why Many Remain A Part Of The Silent Majority
1. A personal choice
2. Fear of victimization/ embarrassment
3. Shyness
4. It has already been said
5. Just around for the learning
6. They do not feel called to action
7. Don’t let too much phase them
8. Don’t have the time or energy for exchanges
9. Already engaged otherwise
10. Technophobic issues
11. Communication skills issues
12. Critical thinking skills issues
13. Information/ Knowledge gap
14. Unequal access to technology
15. Inadequate digital/ media literacies

How Does One Eliminate Participatory Inequality?

Simple answer: You can’t. Self imposed participatory inequality seems to be a self engrained human social quirk which there is little anyone can do in order to change such a phenomenon. There is no online community that is randomly drawn from the surrounding community, which is immune to such.

The best one may ultimately hope to achieve is to reduce the number of Lurkers in any given online group. One much appreciate, at the end of the day, the Lurkers will constitute the vast majority of any online group. However, some of the suggested ways that we can reduce the size of the Silent Majority:
• Widen content
• Simplify points
• Zero tolerance for bullying
• Pin post that are of high quality
• Praise post that are of high quality
• Actively encourage more quality contributors to join SOHEE
• Encourage those who post to use powerful images as opposed to text only, when getting across their point
• Be as inclusive as possible re membership so that others may find someone that they can link with
• Personally engage Lurkers who you know are more than capable of contributing

Conclusion
We have to appreciate that in online communities such as SOHEE, the vast majority of its members, upwards of 90%, are not going to participate and often just simply lurk in the background.

In stark contrast, a tiny minority of users, approximately 1% of the membership, account for almost 100% of the content.

Such participation inequality is not structured or set in stone, for whenever the Lurkers rarely want to contribute there is nothing or no one stopping them from doing so.

Unfortunately some of those 1% contributing to the content of the site contribute to a disproportionately high signal to noise ratio, in that their copious postings are often of low quality, often drowning out high quality postings. Ultimately this can turn many away from the site, because they just simply do not have the time and cannot make the effort to distill out the gems. Therein often lies a major challenge.

It should also be noted that the Lurkers are not pigeonholed, for some of today’s Lurkers can become tomorrow’s 1%.

In the final analysis the Lurkers aka the Silent Majority, will ALWAYS constitute the majority of SOHEE’s members. It was a relief when it was found out that the Silent Majority was not something peculiar to SOHEE because of any unique or inherent idiosyncrasy. As a matter of fact, the silent majority seems to be the norm for all groups – online or otherwise – randomly drawn

from the population at hand.

BTW when you are looking through your list of facebook friends to add to SOHHE, by far and away the vast majority of those friends are going to eventually be part of SOHEE’s Silent Majority. Please don’t let this deter you from adding such persons. To actively and systematically marginalize this group or persons, will ultimately be tantamount to punishing persons for a characteristic that is often second nature to them. And who knows, you may be adding these friends to the first group that they have belonged to, which they can feel comfortable spreading their wings. For we at SOHEE now understand them better than most.

60 thoughts on “The Silent Majority

1. The lurkers need to be drawn out, it will take time, you need a certain level of confidence and aggressiveness to contribute online, particularly to the mess that politics in various countries has now become.

I was particularly disturbed that more bajan Facebook users did not call out Fruendel for his mischievous and misleading statement re why both governments have led the economy down a path of destruction for 50 years and he had the nerve to blame dead colonists instead of these two governments’s and their minister’s lack of vision and ongoing slave mentality to buckingham palace which is a direct cause of the stagnation, coupled with their own practice of corruption with the minority business population..

Everyday on FB Americans, Canadians etc beat to a pulp trump and Trudeau, I make sure I beat trump like a drum, the French ravage and savage their leaders on blogs and the Brits massacre their leaders on online media….every day, without fail.

The backward and ignorant ministers in small island governments still believe that they can control public opinions. ….not going to happen….when the other 99% online users realize the power they have at their fingertips and are nudged accordingly…..they will take control.

2. Life too sweet in Bim.

Most of the idiots who voted for this gov’t a second time are still not feeling the consequences of that decision and wouldn’t understand them if they were explained.

The price we pay for living in paradise.

3. If people think little or nothing of their own self-value, it is highly unlikely that they will feel inclined to share their views publicly…
    The VAST majority of us have NO iDEA of their great intrinsic value….
    so…
    1% sounds about right. … and about 10% of that 1% can be considered to be wise.
    The ones like angela skeete and co ltd comprise the other 90% of the ones who post a lotta shiite….
    …and Vincent

BTW
    What is this nonsense about ‘Zero tolerance for bullying’ (point 3)….??
    …. and do wuh wid de whacker…??!!
    Spin top in mud???
    Steupsss..

Nothing like a bit of ‘whacking’ to shine up the brass…..

Talking bout ‘lurkers’ though… What happened to Old Onions?
    Shiite man, Bushie would have thought that he would be licking his chops now … in anticipation of sweet times ahead….
    Now THERE is a Lurker that Bushie misses…. 🙂
    de man used to talk more shiite than Vincent…..

4. The whacking comes after the bullies give their 2 cents worth on FB, most often it’s American bullies trying to instill and continue their centuries old briainwash with their usual bucket of shit….but they are quickly dispensed with by new age bloggers….lol

5. Bushie

Bozie……ah wuh yuh disturb muh piece fuh???

Stop making this elementary mistakes…….birds of a feather flock together.

6. CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI on said:

40% were silent at the last elections , The numbers may be greater now up to 60% if that 60% vote for anyone but the DLP or BLP their voices will be heard, The term you will hear from my lawyer, or my lawyer will send you a letter ,this is whats used to make the people shut up, They can also shut up and vote and freedom of speech and expression the next day, with a new government . Vote CUP

7. Small might be beautiful but it has its fair share of hang ups and disappointments.Fear of the unknown is said to be man’s greatest enemy and the political class in these small jurisdictions use it to shut up the majority of citizens like what jawbones Kelly perpetuates.
    That 40% which stayed away in 2013 need to step up to the plate and remove this minority DLP government from Bay St or 2 mile Hill wherever it is.That 40% is vital to the resuscitation of a vibrant economy.I disagree with Dr Worrell’s thesis that the private sector in Barbados is efficient,innovative and forward thinking.They can prove me wrong however by stepping up to the plate and support Herbert who seem to be the boy on the burning deck.

• Gabriel the challenge continues to be how to awaken that 40% who are happy to drown in voter apathy. Have you observed any compellingly action to encourage this group to participate? It will not happen because some political aspirant assumes that it will.

8. Neural Technology. …what we did not know that we did not know.

“New computers could delete thoughts without your knowledge, experts warn

New human rights laws are required to protect sensitive information in a person’s mind from ‘unauthorised collection, storage, use or even deletion’

Ian Johnston Science Correspondent @montaukian Wednesday 26 April 2017 00:04 BST75 comments

Human Brain Getty Images/iStockphoto
    “Thou canst not touch the freedom of my mind,” wrote the playwright John Milton in 1634.

But, nearly 400 years later, technological advances in machines that can read our thoughts mean the privacy of our brain is under threat.

Now two biomedical ethicists are calling for the creation of new human rights laws to ensure people are protected, including “the right to cognitive liberty” and “the right to mental integrity”.

READ MORE
    Facebook secretly building technology to read people’s minds
    Device that can literally read your mind invented by scientists
    ‘Mind-blowing’ discovery could revolutionise understanding of brain
    Can technology improve our brains?
    Scientists have already developed devices capable of telling whether people are politically right-wing or left-wing. In one experiment, researchers were able to read people’s minds to tell with 70 per cent accuracy whether they planned to add or subtract two numbers.

Facebook also recently revealed it had been secretly working on technology to read people’s minds so they could type by just thinking.

And medical researchers have managed to connect part of a paralysed man’s brain to a computer to allow him to stimulate muscles in his arm so he could move it and feed himself.

The ethicists, writing in a paper in the journal Life Sciences, Society and Policy, stressed the “unprecedented opportunities” that would result from the “ubiquitous distribution of cheaper, scalable and easy-to-use neuro-applications” that would make neurotechnology “intricately embedded in our everyday life”.

READ MORE
    Mind-reading breakthrough lets scientists ‘talk’ to locked-in patients
    However, such devices are open to abuse on a frightening degree, as the academics made clear.

They warned that “malicious brain-hacking” and “hazardous uses of medical neurotechnology” could require a redefinition of the idea of mental integrity.

“We suggest that in response to emerging neurotechnology possibilities, the right to mental integrity should not exclusively guarantee protection from mental illness or traumatic injury but also from unauthorised intrusions into a person’s mental wellbeing performed through the use of neurotechnology, especially if such intrusions result in physical or mental harm to the neurotechnology user,” the ethicists wrote.

“The right to mental privacy is a neuro-specific privacy right which protects private or sensitive information in a person’s mind from unauthorised collection, storage, use, or even deletion in digital form or otherwise.”

And they warned that the techniques were so sophisticated that people’s minds might be being read or interfered with without their knowledge.

“Illicit intrusions into a person’s mental privacy may not necessarily involve coercion, as they could be performed under the threshold of a persons’ conscious experience,” they wrote in the paper.

“The same goes for actions involving harm to a person’s mental life or unauthorised modifications of a person’s psychological continuity, which are also facilitated by the ability of emerging neurotechnologies to intervene into a person’s neural processing in absence of the person’s awareness.”

They proposed four new human rights laws: the right to cognitive liberty, the right to mental privacy, the right to mental integrity and the right to psychological continuity.

Professor Roberto Andorno, an academic at Zurich University’s law school and a co-author of the paper, said: “Brain imaging technology has already reached a point where there is discussion over its legitimacy in criminal court, for example as a tool for assessing criminal responsibility or even the risk of re-offending.

“Consumer companies are using brain imaging for ‘neuromarketing’ to understand consumer behaviour and elicit desired responses from customers.

“There are also tools such as ‘brain decoders’ which can turn brain imaging data into images, text or sound.

“All of these could pose a threat to personal freedom which we sought to address with the development of four new human rights laws.”

And his colleague Marcello Ienca, of the Institute for Biomedical Ethics at Basel University, said: “The mind is considered to be the last refuge of personal freedom and self-determination, but advances in neural engineering, brain imaging and neurotechnology put the freedom of the mind at risk.

“Our proposed laws would give people the right to refuse coercive and invasive neurotechnology, protect the privacy of data collected by neurotechnology, and protect the physical and psychological aspects of the mind from damage by the misuse of neurotechnology.”

He admitted such advances might sound like something out of the world of science fiction.

But he added: “Neurotechnology featured in famous stories has in some cases already become a reality, while others are inching ever closer, or exist as military and commercial prototypes.

“We need to be prepared to deal with the impact these technologies will have on our personal freedom.”

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger May 3, 2017 at 7:53 AM

“”The lurkers need to be drawn out, it will take time””

I hope when they are drawn out they don’t write as much nonsense as you do.

10. Carson…I thought you were still trying to find who had your pension money, what happened, the commenters chased you off barbadostoday again..lol

11. This article gives a very interesting perspective on the “silent majority,” re: “an unspecified large majority of people in a country or group who do not express their opinions publicly.”

I also found some of the reasons listed as to “why many remain a part of the silent majority” equally interesting, especially when one takes into consideration why people choose, for example, not to participate in any formal discussions about the economy or any other issue presented for “discussion” in a social media forum.

Forums such as BU often “mirrors” real life situations, where a group of individuals liming by a rum shop, at a party, under the street light or at someone’s residence, may engage in discussions about a specific topic. Obviously, there will be those present who will present arguments for and against, cuss those not in agreement with their point of view, and there will be individuals who for reasons as outlined in the article, will not participate in the discussion.

Similarly to SOHEE, there is reason to believe a “vast majority” of those individuals who read BU or listen to the “call-in-programs,” may also “not be willing to participate and often just simply lurk in the background.”

Additionally, “a tiny minority of users, approximately 1% of the membership, account for almost 100% of the content,” could also be applicable to BU. This is evidenced by frequent contributions by certain “members of the BU family” or the daily “regular callers” to “Brass Tacks” and “Talk ya Talk.”

For those reasons, I separated the following reasons and juxtaposed them with this forum: 1. A personal choice; 2. Fear of victimization/embarrassment; 3. Shyness and 6. They do not feel called to action.

BU’s harshest critics, such as Carl Moore and those of his ilk, often come to the forum, not to make meaningful contributions to any topic, but to criticize and insult those who, perhaps for reasons of shyness, personal choice or mainly out of “fear of victimization/embarrassment,” choose to make their contributions “under the cloak of anonymity.”

Yet, journalists will quote information provided by sources that are “anonymous,” “usually reliable” or “refused to disclose their names,” while taking all reasonable measures to protect their identities in the process.

Why can’t we ignore those contributors who we recognized as being rude, obnoxious or having a specific agenda, while thanking the forum’s facilitators for giving us the opportunity to present our opinions in a responsible manner?

• @Artax

Agree with you that it is a very interesting article by Doc Grant. Consider that individuals can post anonymously.

12. @ Artax
    Why can’t we ignore those contributors who we recognized as being rude, obnoxious or having a specific agenda,…..
    Because it is much more fun to whack their donkeys…

13. Carl Moore is a jackass, he can never go on facebook and demand that anyone use theur real nanes, he will be banned for bullying, most people on facebook dont use their real names, many people like myself do use their names….no one cares, it makes absolutely no difference, except to shitheads like Carl Moore who believe they can victimize people based on their opinions which they do not agree with or dont have the intelligence to understand, if they know these people’s identities…, a form of discrimination and muzzling.

14. Slightly offtopic but very relevant…….

THE Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is ready, willing, able and determined to carry on governing this country after the next general election.
    This is the assurance of the Party’s President and Prime Minister of Barbados, the Rt. Hon Freundel Stuart.
    Addressing the DLP’s 62nd Anniversary Gala and Awards ceremony on Saturday night, he made it clear that this will not be done by the practice of any conjuring tricks.
    “We don’t have to lie to the population. We don’t need all the tactics that I see being played out from other quarters,” he pointed out.
    “All we need to do is to tell the people of Barbados the facts about the record of the Democratic Labour Party. Because facts have their own power and when you are confronted with lies and distortion – the most powerful weapon against lies and against distortion is the truth. The most powerful weapon is a fact and that is what we have been doing in the Democratic Labour Party.”

15. offtopic but FACTS……

Journalists in Barbados are being asked to act responsibly when reporting on issues that affect the country’s image.
    Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development, Donville Inniss, said what has been happening in Barbados today, is that some media houses have been highlighting bad news, without first checking the facts.
    He also charged that the media had been disseminating information to the public from international rating agencies without checking the authenticity of the report, or the credentials of those who are presenting it.
    “But what happens, you get on the front page of the papers, online, or otherwise, things that people say about Barbados and you run with it as though it is gospel.
    “And then you have a few individuals who really don’t give a damn about this country or the Government, and who believe that the best thing that they can achieve is to see the back of Democratic Labour Party,” Inniss said.
    As DLP supporters who attended the party’s third FACTS conference at Belfield Resource Centre, Black Rock, St. Michael, on Sunday evening, applauded Inniss for the tongue-lashing he was giving the media, the outspoken Minister reminded journalists that they “are all are Barbadians and your country must come first and foremost”.

16. What happened to PDYR did he join the silent majority ,, Good move on his part! very good move indeed Chuckle

17. David
    I thought the response to Dr Ronnie Yearwood’s presentation at the TAFC an indication that there is a likelihood the 40 percenters are not beyond reach.The quality of candidates and the standard of debate might help to destroy the lies of the DLP.Stuart suggests letting the record
    of the DLP speak for itself…that nonsensical talk is guaranteed to put that party at the bottom of the heap.The NUPW,the BWU and the BSTU all seem to be spoiling for a fight but these are early days yet.Stuart is Mr Delay…down to the wire…May 2018 likely….a year from now.

• @Gabriel

So far we have not heard any compelling message, no charismatic leader(s) to woo those who are battling apathy but we live in hope.

18. Keep asking what pension until the electorate throws yall out of parlianent fpr giving away 300 million of NIS pension money to crooks…lol

Ya can try to muzzle the media with deceit to continue corruption, but there are the blogs..lol

Today’s Nation editorial makes one wonder why they will not accept that social media is here to stay even with its warts. They should recognize that nothing prevents the traditional media from playing in the social media space as well.

EDITORIAL: Why we must protect our free Press

editorialcolor

THE NEWS MEDIA is at a critical junction. Why? The convergence of many events has reshaped the way the media operates, shifting all of the norms of yesteryear.

There is the fake news spectacle, promoted by special interest groups with no goodwill for the Fourth Estate. This is why we must avoid being manipulated by those who set out to do so almost daily.

They will seek comfort and be emboldened given the support they see coming from those in high office who are persistently denigrating the media.

Then there is a demand for more investigative journalism in Barbados, but no freedom of information legislation. This means that whistle-blowers can be prosecuted and persecuted.

In the efforts to scare away timid journalists, there is always the threat of court action for defamation even when there is no justifiable case.

The growth of social media and heavy use of Facebook and Instagram with the ability to give instant news, has captured the attention of audiences worldwide. However, this is often without the tenets of responsibility, good taste and fairness, which form the hallmark of responsible media outlets.

There is the targeting of journalists especially when taking a critical stand on issues and against those holding power. The threats can come in many different ways, from withholding of advertising to harassment of reporters and photographers.

The environment in which the Press – print, broadcast and online – operates is one which has seen a loss in trust as well as audiences, with business models in turmoil.

Despite all the hurdles, having an unfettered Press is a necessity for the protection and entrenchment of democracy. Like the judiciary, the legislature and the executive, the role of an independent, fearless but fair news media contributes to upholding those lofty principles to which we all aspire.

This is why nations which cherish freedom need quality journalism to highlight the critical issues for a more discerning audience.It may be the Auditor General’s report, exposing to public scrutiny the pros and cons of public/private partnerships, or reporting on the performance of state-controlled corporations.

The Press cannot waiver in its duty to hold elected officials to account and be a watchdog against greed and abuse by a privileged minority.

We must not censor ourselves out of fear of offending some high official, buckle to threats of lawsuits, or allow not having freedom of information legislation to curtail our efforts to highlight matters of concern to the public.In it all we must be fair and accurate in our reporting.

Our role is to report the facts, helping people to understand the information by putting it into context. This is why we support the theme for today’s World Press Freedom Day – Critical Minds For Critical Times: Media’s Role In Advancing Peaceful, Just And Inclusive Societies.

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/96402/editorial-protect-free-press#sthash.az4zkKCW.dpuf

20. Esther Byer-Suckoo made this coments just before the 2013 general elections. Bajans are silently going around looking at what the DLP is doing or not doing. With that said, the DLP was return to power. Then lots of people were surprised. Why? Because the noisy minority made it seem like a different outcome would have prevailed. Many folks remain ‘lurkers’ because of fear of victimisation or fear of being attacked by the noisy minority, like what occurs on this blog.

• @Kevin

The problem with politically blinded yard ducks like you is that you have no ability to be objective. In the lead in to the 2008 general election you missed the memo when BU was labeled a DLP bog because we threw our support behind the late Thompson. DLP surrogates were crawling over the blog.

• Wasn’t there concern expressed by Beckles et al about the declining number of student registrations? How will an increase in fees address the problem or is it a case of dollars and cents.

21. @ Kevin

Recall after the general elections, Stuart and Adriel Brathwaite made certain references to allegations of “vote buying” and promised to investigate.

During that day, “Bajans were SILENTLY going around looking at what the DLP (and BLP were) doing or not doing,” to benefit from the parties DISPENSING MONEY and “GOODIES” with such LARGESSE, as well as identifying politicians and their cohorts who engaged in that activity.

“With that said, the DLP was return(ed) to power. Then lots of people were (not) surprised.”

“Why?”

Interestingly, after the results of the 2013 elections were announced, we did not hear any FURTHER talk of INVESTIGATING vote buying, which obviously suggests two eventualities:

1) Stuart and Brathwaite decided to remain silent when they subsequently discovered members of their party were guilty of vote buying.

2) The DLP was happy with the results because they were able to influence the elections by their ability to “purchase” more votes that the BLP.

“Many folks remain ‘lurkers’ because of fear of victimisation or fear of being attacked by the NOISY MINORITY (i.e. CCC, Angela Skeete, Kevin, Fractured BLP, Waiting and Bajanfuhlife), like what occurs on this blog,”

22. We wonder at the future of the UWI…………with dwindling student intake, government still owing it millions and now higher fees……..how can the UWI survive?

The dems have decimated everything this country held dear!

23. I guess we can all agree that many in the silent majority came out at the Fed up March. From comments overheard at the march, people are really angry at these incompetent morons!

24. @ Ping Pong & David
    Cuh dear, if Sealy is arguing that a few hotel projects will solve our unemployment problems – presumably with the employment of hotel and associated workers, what then is the sense of spending good money on UWI to produce more ‘liars’ and economists (whatever the hell those are)?

Would you not then expect them to cut UWI spending…and give the money to baloney to build Hyatt?
    The potential first class students could go wuk for Sandals and the ‘upper seconds’ to Hyatt…
    The rest is for Massy, Emera and Republic….

25. @ Artax
    “Many folks remain ‘lurkers’ because of fear of victimisation or fear of being attacked by the NOISY MINORITY (i.e. CCC, Angela Skeete, Kevin, Fractured BLP, Waiting and Bajanfuhlife), like what occurs on this blog,
    Fear of WHO?
    Steupsss – empty brass bowls that keep the most noise???

Fear is a killer….
    Truth be told, those who are consumed with such irrational fear probably should keep quiet indeed…

26. Artax, Gabriel

We have been hearing the dems assaulting us with ………….tell us what to cut…….what can we do.

I have looking at some of the Auditor General reports and I can now fully understand why we are where we………down in a black hole.

These incompetent people have been spending money wildly…….Look at the annual deficits from 2010:

2010………$480 million
    2011………$682 million
    2012………$382 million
    2013………$826 million
    2014………$982 million
    2015………$697 million

How can an economy survive like this? Heavens help Barbados had the price of oil remained at $110 per barrel.

The Auditor General spoke of an unsecured $2 million loan to Southern Golf Club which has never been serviced and may never be recovered…..no paer work and no one answers questions.

He spoke of another loan for $950,000 to Durette which may never be recovered as the sow got under this counter……this loan was never brought to book. I wonder where Kellman is on this.

He spoke of outstanding loans to the BTII of $141 million and much of this money was never voted on in Parliament.

He spoke of the loan to Four Seasons of $124,329,766 million for which he still cannot get paperwork.

I saw tables of advances in 2014………

BTII……..$18,757,808.46
    Barbados Agricutltural Management $58,635,015.70
    National Housing $87,945.336.13
    BAMC loan $7,500,000.00
    Advances to Rural $6,400.000.00
    Advances to Urban $1,600,000.00

This is mind boggling………….is there anything going on in agriculture to merit $58 million? All of this money you would notice went to DLP pet projects.

The unaccountable spending that really got to me was overdrawn of salaries to the tune of $2,728,835.29………..

And Sandi wonders how we got back here?

27. @ Bushie

Come on, Bushie, my comments were “slightly tinged with satire.” Surely you don’t believe I would think ANYONE is ACTUALLY AFRAID of the yard0fowls I mentioned, especially the AC’s and their reincarnate Angela Skeete.

28. @ David May 4, 2017 at 1:55 AM

Bajans will soon be having a double-whammy set of challenges on their hands which should force PM Stuart to show his electoral poker-hand before next year.

It is highly rumoured there might be an imminent changing of the royal guard at Buckingham palace leading to a Constitutional crisis in Barbados as to who is the real Head of State.

The retirement of the Prince consort might soon be followed pari passu by HRH.
    Philip might not be an ‘Albert’ the Old Vic’s favourite but the old Lizzy might just decide to follow her husband until death do them part.

Maybe Stuart has gotten wind of this pending Constitutional challenge and is preparing the wicket for the Republic debate to resume. So why not blame the colonial Brits for the fiscal disaster Barbados is facing?

But he must remember that a business tycoon from the same ‘empire’ is offering free advice on how Barbados can save itself from pending economic meltdown.

Why not call elections just after the upcoming jump-up in August and put these challenges to the test with the following questions forming the focal points in the debate:

Should Barbados become a republic to stop the effects of colonialism on our fiscal health?

Or

Should Barbados continue be a failed state financially dependent on foreign aid under an IMF long-term arrangement?

And

Should mary jane be decriminalized and put the local entrepreneurial talent to good use by turning those overgrown former cane lands and idle hands into productive activities using the same supportive tycoon’s ‘red & white’ airline to transport to niche markets the high-end, high value-added items?

Maybe Hal Austin has the answer to those questions, as usual! Then there will be no need to worry about keeping foreign reserves for a rainy day. Every day will be a sunny day and everything will be coming up roses.

29. Yardfowl Prodigal can u explain those numbers and how they relate to running the economy

30. Miller,

Where did you get that from? Under our constitutional arrangements, whoever is the monarch is head of state in Barbados. Simple. What crisis?

31. Only yardfowls with the size of a pea brain would post numbers without first analyzing the facts or reasons

32. Bushie

Fear of WHO?
    Steupsss – empty brass bowls that keep the most noise???

Fear is a killer….
    Truth be told, those who are consumed with such irrational fear probably should keep quiet indeed…
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Hahahaha,,,,ah dat u……wuhloss….yuh shud tek yuh own advice in yuh last sentence……a man offer to meet you on broad street years ago and you still hiding…..hahaha….yuh bess hush.

33. @ Hal Austin May 4, 2017 at 8:17 AM

Agree whoever is the Monarch in UK is also Head of State in Little England but will require some changes in the livery and a ‘neutralizing’ of the Constitutional provisions to change ‘Her’ Majesty to ‘His’ Majesty or whoever is the reigning monarch at the time.

New senior lawyers who curry the favour of the establishment would no longer be entitled to carry the sycophant label “QC” but ‘a-six-is-half-dozen equivalent of “KC” as prevailed prior to 1953 and etched on many a tombstone in the graveyards for fallen legal heroes.

The gravamen of the question posed is one of using that opportunity to change the model from a constitutional monarchy to a republic as has been courted and floated by both major political parties.

In your ‘learned’ estimation, shouldn’t both parties ask the people for their approval to right the past wrongs inflicted by their colonial masters?

Hasn’t the country’s head honcho argued quite convincingly (if only to his naïve minions) in his ‘revealingly ‘scape-goatish’ discourse on the colonial origins and causes of Barbados’s current fiscal predicament and which should magically disappear by going fully republic even it means sliding in process on a banana skin of IMF dependence?

34. Miller,

Changing him to her on the letter heads is a minor issue for the printers. Top lawyers calling themselves QCs to KCs again is minor. We do not have to wait for the Queen to die or abdicate to become a Republic; that can take place anytime.
    As to ‘asking the people’ for their approval to right historic wrongs, are you talking about reparations? At some point we must look forward and not backwards all the time. I have been following the reparations arguments and so far am not impressed.
    I do not know who is the country’s head honcho, but our economic predicament has been caused by bad economic management by both the current DLP government and the previous Owen Arthur-led BLP one.
    As to the IMF, we owe a duty of care to ordinary citizens that if the elected politicians cannot govern the country than someone/organisation should intervene.

35. @ Hal Austin May 4, 2017 at 9:38 AM

So if it is that easy why not do it without waiting for Her Majesty to abdicate or die?
    It certainly would be easier than trying to pull down Lord Nelson.

At least you wouldn’t have to worry about paying the printers or inviting the legal dogs to queue up like Muttley to receive a “KC” medal when the lackeys can settle for a “SC”.

In your simplistic way, you are overlooking the much costly rebranding exercise.

Can you imagine the Police and the Defence Force strutting around with pips and crowns regaled in regal ceremonial trappings in the Republic of Barbados and marching to old colonial music: “It’s a Long Way to Tipperary?

As far as reparations are concerned, not one blind red penny would be given by the likes of Teresa May as long as your black leaders continue to blame colonialism for your present fiscal hellhole.

36. @ Vincent
    a man offer to meet you on broad street years ago and you still hidin…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie has no interest in meeting any stinking men…
    The bushman does not play down that line…

In any case, neither you or that man would be keen to meet the bushman if wunna knew of whom wunna speak…. and of his connections.

@ Artax
    Bushie is well aware of your sterling work in seeking to keep the yardfowls behind the green gates – and away from the rational members of society, and you certainly cannot qualify as one of the scared among us.
    You may, however, be surprised at the number of brass bowls around, who may be influenced by the ACs and ASs with the big mouths and small brains.

37. Miller,

It is simplistic. If the people of Barbados want to become a Republic they will. You are making a meal out of a small fry. So-called rebranding cost will be minimal. Or is it that Bajans just like to argue.
    With the Defence Force it is easy, get rid of them. As to Nelson, the Irish, Welsh and Scots were in Barbados before the saves. We cannot rewrite history.
    Who is blaming colonialism for our economic predicament? The people to blame are Stuart, Arthur, Sandiford, right back to Nov 30, 1966.

38. Bushie

Chuckle…..poor you……still hiding behind the whacker…..one of these days you may grow some cojones…….then again I doubt that……hahaha.

39. @ Hal Austin May 4, 2017 at 10:25 AM

What are you on about, Hal?

The current administration cannot even pay salaries or even tax refunds without resorting to the printing of money. A practice you claim to abhor unless it is for infrastructural investment purposes. Yet you want to rebrand something that is working effectively as it is in Bermuda, Cayman & the Turk & Caicos Islands.

Stuart is the man who recently blamed colonialism for the country’s current fiscal strictures. But you hardly keep abreast of the nonsense emanating from the local political jokers, right the very deep Hal?

Nelson is just a red-herring which British tourists hardly notice so don’t make a Lilliputian statue out of a giant foreign hero.

The same the Brits sold the original London Bridge to the Americans. So Barbados can donate Lord Nelson to the Antiguans where he rightly belongs in his own dockyard looking over his own harbour in exchange for the relocation of the LIAT HQ to Little England where financially and operationally it rightly belongs.

Now if you were to disband the local Defence force (something strongly supported) who would be paid to be on standby to “crack heads and shoot people” should they be deemed the enemies of the DLP state under a republic of the African version?

That is one area which- far from seeing any cut backs- has seen significant increases in the expenditure budget over the years while education and health have taken big hits.

We can talk all we like but there is one institution which will remain insulated from any rebranding. Those proud houses of Parliament where over 375 years of colonial history will reign supreme; mace and all!

40. Miller

Antigua would be only too happy for the statue,contrary to ignorant Bimmers they have turned a negative into a great tourist and yachting attraction.

Bimmers are too confused within themselves over how to deal with the aftermath of slavery that was abolished almost 200 years ago…..beyond me to see how creating false heroes, ridding oneself of Nelson and getting reparations(whatever that is) will change the past……the legacy of UWI.

41. Miller,

I guess you want an argument. You are the one talking about rebranding, I said any such cost would be minimal. I suggest you re-read the various postings. I suggest you look at your 5.41am posting when you talked nonsense about constitutional crisis.
    What is all this about Stuart and fiscal difficulties; you raised the matter and I said it went back to independence, of all parties. In other words, such a suggestion is nonsense. Without being rude, I have views about Stuart and he certainly does not understand macroeconomics – nor, by the way, does Owen Arthur.
    Now you are rambling on about Nelson. Again I pointed out an historical fact: that the Welsh, Irish and Scots were in Barbados before the slaves. Is that incorrect?
    I am out of this discussion. It is going nowhere.

42. @ Hal Austin May 4, 2017 at 12:22 PM
    “What is all this about Stuart and fiscal difficulties; you raised the matter and I said it went back to independence, of all parties. In other words, such a suggestion is nonsense. Without being rude, I have views about Stuart and he certainly does not understand macroeconomics – nor, by the way, does Owen Arthur.”

Tsk, tsk dear Hal! Aren’t you being a tad too ‘shallow’ here?

Is that the light in which you see those estimable prime ministers of your dear beloved land?

Even the 7th standard boys from your Ivy League college would have done a better job; don’t you think?

Or you- with your ego well inscribed on one of those lost plaques equivalent to a Bajan version of the Rosetta stone- would show those nincompoops a thing or two on how to manage a small island economy with less than the population of the ethnically diverse Brent or Hackney to handle?

The miller was as surprised if not pissed off with that crap which was ejected from the mouth of that boy from Marchfield who fancies himself as a proud member not only from the slave-owning house of the Stuarts but also as a right honourably outstanding member of the inner sanctum of Oriel College of that Oxfordshire’s higher school of learning.

BTW, the “Welsh, Irish and Scots” were not only ‘barbadoesed’ they were sent as white slaves to other islands including St, Kitts/Nevis and Jamaica.

Just look at the names so proudly worn by the modern-day black slaves (including Miller and Austin) and you would get a flare of understanding of what you are up against in any battle over reparations.

43. @ Hal Austin May 4, 2017 at 1:36 PM

No! Just smoking for enlightenment. Just like you with your stratospheric views on foreign reserves.

How the hell can a two-bit forex-dependent country build-up a sovereign wealth fund to gamble with in the international finance casino unless it earns its way in the world and save some of it for such risky pursuits?

But we are not surprised at your position. Only the Guyana-born DPP with the “Bajan” sounding name would be amused.

44. 5 days of real Test cricket culminating in a WIN for West Indies. Sweeeeeeet!

Apologies to those of you who have different priorities.

45. @The gospel according to Donville and Carson C. Cadogan May 3, 2017 at 3:58 PM And then you have a few individuals who really don’t give a damn…and who believe that the best thing that they can achieve is to see the back of Democratic Labour Party,” Inniss said.”

Why do you guys make it seem as thought this would be a bad thing?

46. @The gospel according to Donville and Carson C. Cadogan May 3, 2017 at 3:58 PM “they are all are Barbadians and your country must come first and foremost.”

Can somebody please tell dem fellers that the DLP and Barbados are not the same thing.

Many of us love Barbados.

But we don’t love the DLP one little bit.

47. @Hal Austin May 4, 2017 at 9:38 AM “are you talking about reparations? At some point we must look forward and not backwards all the time.”

We are indeed looking forward–to the reparations.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.