David Comissiong – Citizen Advocate

“An idiot is in the House of Parliament recommending that there are 15 – 17000 unoccupied houses in Barbados and Government should look at compulsorily acquiring them to either sell or rent. Pray tell when would THIS government pay the owners for their land. There is currently a plantation about to declare bankruptcy due to compulsorily acquired land and non payment by government. Is this a new form of democracy? Maybe it is time for the citizens to compulsorily acquire unused land and buildings from government and then set the price to be paid whenever they feel like”.BU Commentator Fearplay

Members of the BU household vividly recall at the height of the Cahill debate Senators Maxine McClean and Verla De Peiza  empathic in their condemnation of the BU household for leaking documents. Both of them went as far to suggest the household had committed a treasonous act. The decision to shutdown the Tees Valley 1 and 2 project in the UK has vindicated the BU household and other Barbadians who expressed concern. At the top of the list of concerns raised by Barbadians about the Cahill gasification was government approving the untested technology on a 166 square mile island. Thankfully in April 2016 Air Products- the developer of Tees Valley 1 and 2 -issued a statement to the effect that “additional design and operational challenges would require significant time and cost to rectify” the problem of constructing a gasification plant to process 700,000 tonnes of feedstock every year. The Cahill plant in Barbados was proposed to handle 650 tonnes of waste per day.

Today Minister Denis Kellman under the cloak of parliamentary privilege labelled citizen advocate David Comissiong as an enemy of the state –his crime, seeking a judicial review of government’s decision to approve the construction of the proposed 15 story Hyatt hotel at lower Bay Street. Kellman’s characterization of Comissiong for exercising a right under our law. The BU community was reminded by a family member that there is similar concerns being raised in London about the construction of high rise buildings, to quote him:- “in a city already plastered with “tall” buildings, matters like location, design and impact on character setting are still relevant. Yet we in Barbados supporting Hyatt” – read related article How new skyscrapers including the 1,000ft Trellis will transform London’s skyline.

To restate BU’s concern here is an extract from a BU blog:

If commonsense was not enough to support an EIA as a condition for approval for the Hyatt hotel project, the BU family was directed to the Draft Physical Development Plan (DPDP) dated February 2017 posted to the Town Planning Department website. Not only does the DPDP call for an EIS to be used as a tool to assess proposed development and a condition for approval, also, Heritage Impact Assessments (HIA), Agricultural Impact Assessments (AIA), Traffic Impact Assessments (TIA) where deemed relevant. Here is a quote from the DPDP:

Where ESIAs, HIA, AIS or TIA (Impact Assessments) are required, they shall be completed to the satisfaction of the Chief Town Planner, prior to approval being given. Approvals of development subject to Impact Assessments may contain certain conditions of approval to ensure that adverse impacts of such development are mitigated. 

DRAFT PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT PLAN CALLS FOR IMPACT ASSESSMENTS –HYATT HOTEL TO BE BUILT WITHOUT IMPACT ASSESSMENT STUDIES

After suffering through some of the debate this afternoon in the Lower House several of the government members of parliament who spoke did not address the reason raised by Comissiong in his application for judicial review. They saw no need for transparency by including the people of the area in the transaction. To this day Barbadians have not been told how Vision Development Inc proposes to finance the project. Of the 100 million to be invested what will be the net foreign exchange inflow. This is the nature of the politics we practice in Barbados. 

One can only marvel at the statement attributed to Minister of Housing Denis Kellman quoted at the top of the blog.  He made mention of 5×16 to explain the level of occupancy at the GROTTO. Who can translate? Did Minister Sinckler state he is willing to challenge anyone that there was overruns associated with the GROTTO project? Is he challenging the Auditor General of Barbados who was scathing in his concerns? See Special Auditor General Report 2016 – Special Audit on the National Housing Corporation High Rise Apartments at Grotto and Valerie

134 responses to “David Comissiong Branded Enemy of the State”

1. David Commissiong will do well to ignore Dennis Kellman………..the dems are desperate and will attack any and every one who do not agree with their agenda as they destroy this fair land!

2. I was waiting to hear from Dennis Kellman under whose portfolio the taxpayers lands fall how our land ended up in Mark Maloney’s control?

I am aware that the land was vested in the BTII so how did Mark Maloney come to be building a hotel on it? How much did he pay for it? Is there an agreement that the taxpayers’ land is to be used as equity in the property?

Fumble and his fools think that we are fools like them and that we are not entitled to know the shit that they are doing in our names.

Well, come to think of it we are fools to sit back and let these idiots destroy our fair land!

3. Do they serve hard liquor in the Barbados House of Parliament ?

4. @ David
    Are you not overblowing the situation?

Based on the extract played around 6.00 pm on VOB, Kellman is clearly going senile ..and likely needs some medical help…. either psychological or physiological.

The damn man was ranting and raving, ..totally incoherent, …and talking bare shiite.

One minute he was seeking to compulsorily acquire 17,000 properties,
    ….then he was going to give the owners some land in exchange
    ….then he was willing to negotiate with them
    ….then he was going to rent them to tourists
    ….and all along he kept repeating that “we must be careful….”

There oughta be a law against idiots in parliament, …but that would empty the place
    …and somebody gotta eat the lunch when the day comes.

5. Here we have a man (Comissiong) trying to do what an ‘elected’ government should be doing.

A tyrannical government so blindly as it uses Parliament to defend the most crass corporate impulses.

Those who prefer to be squeamish when certain extreme measures are proposed should re-consider the available options for cutting out (off) these behaviours from society.

6. I agree, Commissiong is a blight on Barbados and should be sent back from whence he came

7. Samuel Shank,
    Are you sane? Here is a man who puts his public duty above personal gain (at the very least he could have been a QC, may be even on the bench), the only lawyer in Barbados, with the exception of the academic Jeff Cumberbatch, to defend the public good.
    Whether we agree with Mr Commissong’s public or legal actions is irrelevant; what is is that here is a man who puts himself and what remains of his career on the line.
    In any civilised country he would have been celebrated. In Barbados he is crucified.
    I know the average public member of BU is retired, and I have already mentioned the social issues surrounding retirement, but they must learn to suspend some of their bitterness and sense of failure and look rationally at people and events.
    But this is Barbados and we are prepared to expend energy on the negativity of character assassination, rather than collectively driving our nation forward.

8. We live in a Barbados that is severely politically polarized. All issues are distilled through a political lens.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

There exists too many political pimps and yardfowls on the island to engender civility, civic duty, intelligence or commonsense.

10. I have to commend Mr. Commissiong for both his legal action(s) against the proposed Hyatt and his response to comments made by Minister Kellman in Parliament.

Only in Barbados could you get someone of Kellman’s limited intellect and capability in a national Parliament. I don’t want to be unkind to Kellman but the truth is the truth and there is no denying that DAVID Thompson had good reason to keep this IDIOT out of a Cabinet.

11. I have long predicted that after the coming election Kellman will not pollute either the Parliament or a Cabinet. To get a good handle on this man and the nonsense he does and says you need to speak with those working in his Ministry.

12. How is that Barbados and its economy has fallen to the state where its future is depended on a fast tracked hotel project like Hyatt?
    This government screwed Bajans by joining with the commercial banks to effectively rob people of their savings. Knowing that the commercial banks had or about to reach their limits of investing in government paper (bonds and bills) they agreed to destroy savings interest rate by leaving it to the commercial banks to decide knowing full well that those with savings could then be steered and encouraged to invest in GOB JUNK SAVINGS BONDS.

Shameful and wreckless.

13. So far the backers for Hyatt have been:-
    Sealy
    Sinckler
    Stuart
    Lashley
    Lashley
    Kellman
    Boyce

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dennis Kellman, the only rat that cleans.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hal Austin

What does retirement got to do with anything? Besides that your points make sense.

16. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

We live in a Barbados that is severely politically polarized. All issues are distilled through a political lens.

@ David, Most perceptive. Can you imagine the kind of future we will have if we continue like this?

17. Are there any countries that are not politically polarized? This is not a new phenomena but an escalation and a vibrancy to make good.Dont panic it is all about making change.

18. @ David

This thing about overt political polarization may serve as a popular short-hand for describing these social conditions but we have never been convinced.

For one, there are known friendships, alliances between belligerent political forces, at a family or personal level. The regularity of party swapping which goes on puts the lie to such notions. So in large ways the political is fictional even when such fiction is accepted as operative truth

We think it goes beyond perceived polarization, by far.

For us it’s more fundamental and goes to deeper issues like the lack of national courage, etc

19. Jeff unfortunately the future is now.

20. @ David and Jeff,

Barbados has a system of governance that requires a winner (government) and loser (opposition).

The competitive nature of our politics creates the polarization.

21. David Commissiong is making sure his ascendancy to political power is sealed proof while at the same time riding a political wave to depressed barbados progress.
    Mostly the poor and vulnerable are at high risk if he gets his way

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Angela Skeete

What the heck are you saying. But, before I say, I hope that you are not the cunt AC I use to cuss because of her, it, whatever the shite it was, ignorance. This government has earned the right to be placed under the microscope after their blatant lies were revealed in the Cahill matter and other matters Their defense of Cahill was mounted with great venom, because the bitches felt that their lies were well concealed. After the truth came out, there had not much room to placed their tails between their disgusting legs and so sought to do some damage control and distraction gimmicks. Since, the deceitful Prime Minister was part of the Cahill deal, after pretending he knew nothing about it, basically, this government should not be allowed to make any deals unless they follow proper protocols. Commision observed that they were operating similiar to Cahill, no impact study, no disclosure of relevant facts. All they saying it is good for Barbados and very much needed in the area where it is be built. That is bare shite. I am one who is convinced that nothing great is going to come out of another big name Hotel on the island even if it is located in Bridgetown. Too much terrorism in the air recently to frighten people not to fly. Remember, the darn hotel does not bring the money, its the people.

23. I angela Skeete say what i have to say and if u doesnt like it too bad.
    Comissiong intentions are unto himself when one looks at the decay of bridgetown and its environs one cannot but asked the question why is Commissiong fighting tooth hammer and nail to further depressed that blighted area.

24. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

Cahill is gift for the Opposition and it keeps on giving and giving.

25. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

angela

David Commissiong could/would not do what he is doing but for (1) the Stuart Aministration’s actions and inactions and (2) the Law provides for it.

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine April 26, 2017 at 9:03 AM #

“What the heck are you saying. But, before I say, I hope that you are not the cunt AC I use to cuss because of her, it, whatever the shite it was, ignorance.”

@ SSS

Yuh mean you have not realized that “Angela Skeete” is none other than the consortium of dullards and yard-fowls collectively known as “AC?”

27. Denis Kellman seems to spend his working hours listening to VOB’s “Brass Tacks” and calling the program to challenge callers; updating his facebook page with multiple advertisements of food and social events at his “Moontown” business and using that social media to “discuss” political issues with people in his attempt to defend the DLP.

Taking these “activities” into consideration, what time can Kellman dedicate to effectively manage the Ministry of Housing and the departments/statutory corporations under his portfolio?

28. So dont come here to tell me how and what i should be thinking it is obvious that Commissiong poitical agenda is driving him to execute legal barriers against barbados progress however the poor would most likely get the end of of his shitty stick whike he continues to live a satisfactory life absence of needs or wants.
    This country can least afford barriers that destroy and deny the most vulnerable entrance to a way towards progress with an end result of having nothing of replacement

29. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

angela

It is not David Commissiong’s fault that the DLP has mismanaged the affairs and the economy of the Barbados such that they needed to pervert the TCPO planning process to allow Hyatt and Maloney to build without an Environmental Impact Assessment Study.

Comprehendo?

30. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

angela

The problem with people like you is that you have that sickening feeling in your stomach that the DLP will not be able to TRICK the people again like in 2013 and therefore you want to lash out at anyone who you perceive as standing in the way of the DLP being re-elected.

You are playing on the fears of poor Barbadians about lack of jobs and opportunities coming from the Hyatt but you know full well that there is a right and wrong way of doing things, unfortunately the DLP likes to do things the wrong way. The Prime Minister is a bajan and no more or less that any other bajan so he is accountable for his actions and his inactions.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Angela Skeete

Will give you the benefit of doubt for now. Of course you can say whatever you feel. If you are going to let yourself be fooled and defend for the sake of defending foolishness, go right ahead. Regardless of what Commisiong’s agenda maybe, he has put forth compelling arguements base on rules that were not adhere to by the government that is now the breaks applied to the Hyatt Project. The DLP government has earned the right to have any project they engage in or consent to, put under the microscope for greater scrutiny and transparency, . The mere fact that you can think Commisiong is doing for Commisiong, and not defending a Heritage site that if subjected to Hyatt, will no longer be accessible for locals, shows you are not a patriot of the preservation of all that is dear and normal to Barbados. Hyatt is a darn hotel (brand name, popular or otherwise), Hilton is also a darn brand hotel, tell me how Hilton has improved the economy that the Hyatt will come later and Quadriple its earning capacity? You see Ms Skeete, if the government had follow the rules for engaging in such projects, Commisiong would not have a leg to stand on legally. The government in their arrogance wants Barbadians to believe that in the case of Hyatt there is no need for impact studies because one in the yesteryears ago was done for the Hilton. If that is not a bunch of shite to you then you are really lost. A lot people just might not have two big a problem with Hyatt; the problem is that a lot of people have a gigantic problem with the way this shitty government goes about doing the people’s business. But, you won’t understand that now would you.

Artax

Do not come here to write that often to pay attention to Angela Skeete. I noticed that ACs have dissappeared. So if Angela Skeete is AC, I will read previouses compared to now and make my own assessment. I done cuss her, simply doing some more posters, which is my focus now and not so much writing.

32. Dont pay attention to angela Skeete that mantra has been said many times over but in the final showdown it is obvious that the voters did not follow the Bu propaganda list .
    I angela Skeete is willing to bet my last dollar that the voters would not vote for a party that attaches itself to a communist one hell bent on taking food out of their mouths

33. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

angela

It is still a whole year out from elections, imagine the desperation and political bullying of the DLP in about 6 months from now?

34. Cahill! and niw Hyatt if govt loses the legal battle on Hyatt the govt can effectively used the loses as a ground against the blp a party who has stood bold face and brazen against any effort which would bring jobs to unemployed barbadians and all the legal facts that the blp would present would not be of comfort and suffice those in need of jobs

35. Adding to the call for the Central Bank of Barbados to address the nation on half year performance. Specifically the public must understand how second quarter performed compared to quarter one.

36. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

angela

No such luck as you, I and the rest of Barbados know that the MP for the City, a member of the BLP has supported the Hyatt. Wanting to follow good governance and wanting investment in infrastructure are not and should not be mutually exclusive.

37. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

‘SHAME, OWEN’
    Published on: 7/2/07.

by ROY R. MORRIS

THE IMPORTATION of Chinese labour into Barbados is an insult to Caribbean people and their leaders, says Opposition Leader David Thompson.

Speaking to the DAILY NATION less than two hours before the opening of the 28th CARICOM Heads of Government Conference at Parliament Buildings, from notes prepared for last night’s Democratic Labour Party (DLP) mass meeting in Black Rock, Thompson said:

“It is interesting that . . . . when Owen Arthur had the opportunity to help Ralph Gonsalves in St Vincent, or Keith Mitchell in Grenada or even Roosevelt Skerrit in Dominica, [his Government] chose [to allow the importation of Chinese labour] from halfway around the world . . . . to work on the Four Seasons Resort.”

Before that, he said, Government allowed the importation of workers from India for the construction of Kensington Oval for “a roti a day and $10 a week”.

“It is Owen Arthur who had an opportunity, if indeed there was a shortage of skilled labour in Barbados – which I am not persuaded there is – to call up a few of his regional counterparts and say, ‘I have some openings for skilled artisans in Barbados, send me a couple dozen of the best you have’.

“It is Owen Arthur who authorised the recruitment of nurses from Nigeria, over the abundance of trained nurses in St Vincent and Dominica.”

The Opposition Leader added: “If Barbados has a shortage of skilled labour, and I insist . . . . that it does not, then our sister nations in the Eastern Caribbean should be our first points of reference.

“What is the point of all these discussions this week if when we have an opportunity to help a sister island we ignore their plight and go halfway around the world for labour?

“Unemployment in St Vincent is said to be over 20 per cent, so too in Dominica and Grenada. Yet, Barbados is home to hundreds of Asian workers.

“I am saying shame on Owen Arthur and his administration, especially at a time when Barbados is assuming the chairmanship of CARICOM. The same goes for nursing. We should not be recruiting nurses from Nigeria when Dominica and St Vincent have very credible nursing programmes and an excess of trained nurses.”

roymorris@

nationnews.com

38. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

angela

This is the same DLP who signed a deal with EXIM Bank of China for Sam Lord’s Castle and which allows 70% of all workers on the construction project to be Chinese nationals??

39. Bright Red Cherry Avatar
    Bright Red Cherry

At the early 2011 groundbreaking for the yet-to-open largest resort in the Caribbean, Baha Mar Resorts CEO Sarkis Izmirlian stands between state-owned Export-Import Bank of China President Li Ruogu, left, and Bahama’s Deputy Prime Minister Brent Symonette, before the two governments squeezed him out.

As an American living overseas, I often hear gripes about U.S. influence in the world. Over the years I’ve learned that the best response is to acknowledge that U.S. stewardship of the post-World War II global order has been far from perfect. But if you don’t like it, just wait until China takes charge.

For a preview, look at Baha Mar, the $3.5 billion resort project in the Bahamas, that’s been rescued and ruined by Chinese state controlled entities, seen its founder shoved aside to placate China and now is about to the placed in the safe hands of Hong Kong’s billionaire Cheng family, longtime friends of mainland authorities and investors in Macau gaming. The biggest mystery remaining is whether the Cheng’s Chow Tai Fook Enterprises is doing a bigger favor for Beijing or Beijing is doing a bigger favor for Chow Tai Fook.

Even though it’s 97% complete, Baha Mar, with 2,200 guest rooms, a Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course and more, remains closed. The Caribbean’s largest ever resort project is a potential game changer for the Bahamas, which has seen tourist arrivals decline by nearly 20% to 1.3 million over the past decade, projected to contribute more than $1 billion to the national economy annually, boosting GDP by more than 10%.

Paradise Island, Bahamas.

Baha Mar’s history begins with Bahamas Prime Minister Perry Christie approaching commodities billionaire heir and Bahamas resident Sarkis Izmirlian to develop the resort. But project financing dissolved amid the credit meltdown of 2008. Enter China, with its Export-Import Bank giving a $2.5 billion loan, state-owned China State Construction Engineering, as primary contractor through its China Construction America subsidiary, kicking in $150 million and Izmirlian providing $850 million. The loan agreement included provisions that CCA could import Chinese construction workers, despite the Bahamas’ double-digit unemployment, and that Baha Mar could not fire the contractor, which had never built a resort on Baha Mar’s scale. Baha Mar complained about shoddy construction work and missed deadlines.

Three scheduled resort openings came and went between December 2014 and March 2015, with Baha Mar carrying 2,000 staff on a $4 million monthly payroll. Baha Mar filed for bankruptcy in U.S. court last June, embarrassing leadership in Beijing and Nassau. The Bahamas asserted jurisdiction, and, with Chinese state enterprises reportedly dictating terms, not only as the largest investors in Baha Mar, but as proxies for all Chinese investment in the Bahamas, including Club Med, downtown Nassau’s redevelopment master plan and port operations. China Harbor Engineering Company, another state-owned company, lent $50 million to maintain the resort in receivership, with Izmirlian’s team cut out of negotiations and local contractors claiming they’re owed $74 million.

Prime Minister Christie tried for more than a year to broker a deal to complete and open the resort and to save face for his government and Beijing. After months of false alarms, a buyer emerged: Chow Tai Fook Enterprises, controlled by the heirs of billionaire Cheng Yu-tung, who passed away in September after years in a coma. Cheng family enterprises became the largest foreign investors in the mainland though property deals in the wake of the 1989 Tiananmen Square massacre, when even many Hong Kong companies ostracized China. CTFE, a long time 10% stakeholder in Stanley Ho’s casino vehicle Sociedade de Tourismo e Diversoes de Macau, was initially associated with Baha Mar through its Rosewood luxury hotel chain, and that brand will be part of the revival. However CTFE cites a non-disclosure agreement to withhold further details. Pending government approval of the deal, Christie says the firm will invest $200 million for a phased opening beginning in the second quarter of next year with 1,500 people to be hired as early as January.

Opponents are crying foul, saying Christie has timed hiring to coincide with upcoming elections. They’re also focusing on CTFE’s links to Macau junkets. And speaking of junkets, a government team has flown to Macau to assess CTFE’s casino operations, something that doesn’t exist. The Chengs have been silent investors in Macau, with no role in day-to-day activities. Henry Cheng, who succeeded his father as chairman of publicly listed Chow Tai Fook Jewellery and New World Development and affiliates, also took his father’s seat of the board of SJM Holdings, STDM’s publicly listed casino affiliate, but has no executive responsibilities there.

Looking for Cheng family underworld connections suggests that gaming regulators in Australia, as well as Vietnam, haven’t done their jobs, since they’ve approved CTFE as a partner in the $3 billion Queen’s Wharf Brisbane redevelopment and lead developer in the putative $4 billion Hoi An South Integrated Resort. Opposition to the Baha Mar deal shouldn’t focus on Macau organized crime but mainland China’s organized capitalism. Chinese state companies wrecked Baha Mar, and, with the help of the Bahama government, Chinese interests stand to benefit from the ensuing debacle.

Baha Mar demonstrates there’s no free lunch, especially when you choose Chinese.

40. Bright Red,
    The even bigger question is if these largely semi-skilled Chinese workers will be given permission to settle permanently in Barbados as they were given in Grenada in 2007?

41. All people like Commisong and Wickham want is a government pick if the BLP regains power.

42. CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Prodigal Son April 25, 2017 at 10:16 PM #

I was waiting to hear from Dennis Kellman under whose portfolio the taxpayers lands fall how our land ended up in Mark Maloney’s control?

I am aware that the land was vested in the BTII so how did Mark Maloney come to be building a hotel on it? How much did he pay for it? Is there an agreement that the taxpayers’ land is to be used as equity in the property?

Fumble and his fools think that we are fools like them and that we are not entitled to know the shit that they are doing in our names.

Well, come to think of it we are fools to sit back and let these idiots destroy our fair land!@@@

Pro Son@ As we sit and watch all the right up we agree with what you wrote, Answers to every question, Most think its just Plantation Deeds or Violet Beckles talking, over and over,

Most lands are SAID TO BE ” compulsorily acquiring” ?

1.Let me give you all a look into the land fraud, much land are sold by the crook agents , money passed and deed made,but not recorded at the land registry, the true owner never sold, had no idea it happen, When they find out tax number move to next person, all the lawyers deaing in land by now know this,

After you say to buy the land or numbers and names move to appear it was sold with no proof of money moving from on to another , the government check their records and take the land from you not paying you at all, the lawyer that help teef your money now delay put back your case with the help of the Clerk of the High Court for years until dead,
    The government moved on your land for they know before all others the land was not theres to sell and hide the true owner in most Cases Beatrice Henry to Violet Beckles land
    the Vaule of the land teeeffffed by the DBLP government then removes the market value of the land to their pockets from vat and taxes collected,
    Up to half the cases in court is about land, Even the government and this lawyer have not asked the government abut where they get Hyatt land from .
    We know its John Beckles land both sides of the Bay Plantation,and the Estate of Violet Beckles nor Beatrice Henry was paid for,

6, Empty houses also part of the Estate in which lawyer hunt in the land tax office and sell to Indians/whites for they have cash and make all thing seem real and right, Audit will clean them out and free the Bajan people ,

7 . We know most on BU think “Clear Title” is a Joke and have fun making comments, , but now we are at the real stage of a Nation on its knees on the internamtional and banking .

8 .Light and Power rules now , say we must re wire and recheck if power was off for more than 6 months which can be very coslty, but Government will turn on the light next day,

9 . Water company play the same game and leave Bajans out with no water they also hold the deeds needed to end such,, before they were bulling down the houses to remove the Plantation houses and other land Marks not written about by the Fraud National Trust books ,Follow the Sir s and see the crimes,

43. The same big stIck that Mia used to tear down barbados would be used to break the backs of the blp. Mark my word

44. Kevin April 26, 2017 at 12:24 PM #

“All people like Commisong and Wickham want is a government pick if the BLP regains power.”

@ Kevin

If your comments are based on how Maxine McClean, Tony Marshall and Harry Husbands used VOB’s “Brass Tacks” call-in-program to push the DLP’s agenda, to be subsequently rewarded with “government picks,” then I agree with you.

However, could you present any proof to substantiate your suggestion that Commisiong’s court action was done on behalf of the BLP?

Or are implying he is opposed to the Hyatt project because you assume he is a member of the BLP?

Perhaps, and in keeping with the thinking of political yard-fowls of BOTH political parties, you believe any individual who criticizes the DLP has to be a member of the BLP.

45. Maxine McClean, Tony Marshall and Harry Husbands never try to active stall nor stop a major project that will bring jobs nor enhance the city.

46. Wuh Wickham does not mix his language when it comes to his support of the leadership of the blp and he is one who should not be trusted since he like Comissiong have loyalties only unto themselves hence one see Comissiong hopscotching from one party to another and Wickham trying to undermine the integrity of the voting system with his tainted poll. Ghee whiz with friends like them who needs enemies

47. Yeap jobs would be high on the agenda and mentionables of all those who stood in the way of stopping them. Cahill yeah Cahill and Hyatt.
    The two issues would be as dangerous as dynamite heading in the blp pathway.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David Comissiong has nothing but nuisance value.

He ran for Parliament in 2008 in St. Michael Central. The voters of that constituency thought so little of him that he received only a handful of votes. He was so demoralised by that event that he has not dared to show his face on a political platform ever again. Nobody but DAVID and the jokers on BU gives Comissiong any credence.

The man is a idiot, plain and simple. That is why Owen Arthur had to remove him from the Pan African Commission. He was totally dislike by Sen. Goddard who saw him for what he is , an opportunist.

49. Amazing not one person has picked up the point that Londoners are having this same conversation about their skyline. This is a city with many tall buildings.

In Barbados however we have narrowed the conversation to the political. So you see Jeff, the future is now. May God have mercy on our pithy souls.