Submitted by Heather Cole

Don’t cry for him Barbados

The truth is he never loved you

During these wild years

He kept his promises to the DEMS

So you keep your distance!”

Perhaps a rewrite of the famous song about Eva Peron is in order with the above sentiments expressed by Barbadians. Clearly the bromance that never was, between the Minister of Finance of Barbados and the Governor of the Central Bank of plotting and overseeing the economic demise of Barbados is over.

Barbados Today reported that the fall out between the Governor and the Minister of Finance was with regards to the Governor’s inability to explain the country’s diminishing economic fortunes and rising administrative tensions within the Central Bank.

Again perhaps the economy has taken its final turn for the worse and is on its official death bed and the dreaded devaluation near. The blame game is underway with the Minister of Finance trying to squarely push the responsibility for failure of the economy on the Governor. The Governor clearly does not wish to be the fall guy. His strange action to avert blame from himself by appealing to the Court of Law against his dismissal is indeed cause for comment.

On one hand we had a governor who was a willing accomplice of this administration at every turn for the last 8 years producing alternate facts in speech, actions and data in support of the policies of the government. It is not that some of his economic policies were successful. He has a long list failures and unethical practices. He sold junk bonds to an unsuspecting public, scrubbed the Central Banks website of data and frequently produced data to paint the economy in a positive light. His action of holding $5 million in the Central Bank for Leroy Parris was illegal. He incessantly printed money, offloaded funds to Bjorn Bjerkham who should never have been appointed to any public board in Barbados. Let us also not forget his attempt to practice nepotism. Then it was the matter of the many economic downgrades that affected the country’s credit rating.

He supported and never admonished the Minister of Finance for his reckless economic onslaught against the people of Barbados. The Governor’s actions not only affected the economy but in extension endangered the livelihood of many Barbadians as it was also indirectly responsible for job loss. He did not perform as a Governor of a Central Bank but as a piggy bank for the Minister of Finance. His actions created capital flight and a scarcity in foreign exchange. Our currency has already been devalued in the eyes of our eastern Caribbean neighbours’ and Guyana.

In another place and another time his actions against the state would be tantamount to treason. This now reminds one of Cardinal Wolsey’s fall from grace when he failed to secure the kings wishes. So what did Mr. Sinckler so desperately want that the Governor could not provide that led to his firing? Was it more than what was stated above?

He has damaged his credibility as a practicing economist and brought shame to the title of Governor of a Central Bank. He sold out the livelihood of the people of Barbados and on reflection the People of Barbados should be taking him to court. His actions are at loggerheads with his profession he has not provided sound economic advice to support the economic growth of Barbados through monetary policy. That is the sole purpose of his job.

No one should be even a bit unhappy to see him removed as Governor of the Central Bank. He is now like a product on the shelf that is long past its expiry date. It will be a sad day if the Court rules in favour of the Governor of the Central Bank as it would be, even at this late stage legalizing the economic death of the island of Barbados by giving an unfit Governor the right to continue to destroy the economy.

353 responses to “No Tears for the Central Bank Governor”

1. Wasn’t the Governor recently reappointed in the role?

What changed?

2. The minster of fineants should be tell the Bajan public why he tried to constructively

dismiss the govenor of the central bank.

More logically le premier ministre should speak to the country on his return from Guyana.

3. @Hants

BU tables the view that the unraveling situation should dictate that our Prime Minister does not go ‘two foot’ out of Barbados.

4. @ David.

The attempted dismissal of the Governor of the Central Bank has created a “CRISIS” that should be addressed by the PM.

5. @ David I am glad you view this fiasco as seriously as it is.

6. @Hants

We agree, unfortunately the PM’s definition of what is a crisis might differ.

7. Simple Simon,

I have never been an Englishman. Always a Barbadian.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bjerkam has been in Barbados for 60 years or more, nothing new about him, but given his nasty, greedy actions over the decades and recently with lowlife Philip Tempro against the average bajan, against the average worker, he should not even be allowed to enter the central bank let alone sitting on it’s board as a director.

9. David,
    We badly need a new Central Bank Act, I have been saying this for ages. And, the governor should be on a contract which stipulates a form of termination. The reality is, no matter how docile and incompetent, the minister has a right to replace the governor.
    The world od central banking, finance and economics is totally different to what it was in the early 1970s.

@ well well

Money laundering is a criminal offence. If the government has evidence against Mr Parris then he should be charged. The regulatory requirement is that the central bank (government) is the banker of last resort. The central bank should have enforced this by compelling the banks to accept Mr Parris as a legitimate account holder or risked breaching their banking licence.
    The alternative was to give him access to his money through a central bank account. That is the law in the civilised world. The politics is another matter.

10. @ Bush Tea

A calamity heading for George Street and it look like the DEMs going need DEM before the residents of Clarke’s Road

11. @Hants February 16, 2017 at 11:38 AM “The elections I think are planned for late this year may be sooner than I think. That is just me that think so.”

Agreed.

Elections WILL be held before the end of June, 2017.

12. @Hal Austin February 16, 2017 at 12:01 PM “Money laundering is a criminal offence. If the government has evidence against Mr Parris then he should be charged. ”

Ahhh. But Prime Minister Freundel Stuart said of Leroy Parris “he is my friend”

it is very, very nice to be a Prime Ministerial friend.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hal….actually that money and the account should be frozen, it’s the proceeds of theft and moneylaundering, Leroy Parris should not have any access to it…particularly since there is an ongoing matter regarding stolen money from CLICO policyhokders….in the supreme court.

The government and the central bank governor colluded with Parris to lodge questionable money in a state entity, taxpayer funded central bank.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal AustinFebruary 16, 2017 at 12:01 PM

So Hal, do you think any reputable commercial bank would refuse dealing with a client of such financial means if his money was truly clean and above-board?

It is precisely the reason why the banks treat him as a financial pariah. Money laundering leprosy is not a disease they want to catch to contaminate their international reputation.

You, Hal, are always attacking the Guyanese-born DPP while calling for his head in true xenophobic style.

Why not look first into the mirror and see your own home bred and born rule breakers who fancy themselves above the law and moral reproach?

Why don’t you ask the same MoF if the leper has paid his taxes on the $3.3 million salted away in the form of a gratuity payment from his former employer?

Instead of running down tax-dodging sprats why not go after the big fish like the leper who is a bosom pal of the conveniently- silent Chief of Political Hypocrisy.

15. @Hal Austin February 16, 2017 at 12:01 PM “The regulatory requirement is that the central bank (government) is the banker of last resort. The central bank should have enforced this by compelling the banks to accept Mr Parris as a legitimate account holder or risked breaching their banking licence.”

Ahhh but the banks, I think that it was Scotia Bank in this instance, must serve two masters. Their banking licence which permits them to operate in Barbados; and the foreign laws of their country of origin. The question is what would the Canadian regulatory authorities have done to Scotia Bank if they had continued to be Leroy Parris’ banker?

16. @Simple,
    I would not go so far as to post a timeline, but the actions of new parties and Trojan horses are a good indication of a near election.

17. Until we know the basis why the central bank accept 5 million dollars reportedly belonging to leroy Parris we can only speculate.

18. De Ole Man is, AS PER USUAL, going to present a different perspective for your BU-ian considerations.

As My GOD LIVES, AND WILL NOT DIE, during another of my presentations here per frauds and charlatans and persons who regurgitate the points others Artaxerxes, Mr. Austin, Mr, Caswell Franklyn, Bush Tea, THe Sage Annunaki, TheGazer, Are We There Yet, Frustrated Business Man, and a host of others that de ole man cant remember, I was tempted the other day while commenting on the other charlatan to wonder where this charlatan had disappeared to

So Help Me GOD!

What is different about the comments that many of you have intoned under “Economic Forum Hosted by the Central Bank of Barbados…” or the other article about Devaluation?

The “so and so” title!!

Every single other point has been grafter from thise articles/blogs and now are presented for wunna usually intelligent fellers to comment on and say “Brilliant writing” and “well done” jes ike we does do wid George C Brathwaite, a next BLP supporter.

THere is nothing original here and, as i would say about other writers who are single tracked and contribute noting to the whole, I have a serious problem with those of us who WILL NOT BE PART of any other persons contribution but “want and article fuh demselves…”

Prove my ole as* wrong and check back for 3 months and tell me one article wher either of these BLP agents have made FIFTY CONTRIBUTIONS TO ANY OTHER ARTICLE HERE ON BU

“Peradventure there be fifty righteous within the city: wilt thou also destroy and … Oh let not the Lord be angry, and I will speak: Peradventure there shall thirty be …

Count 10 submissions to any other article here on BU by these two frauds in the last 3 months and de ole man shall eat he Kangol hat…

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DavidFebruary 16, 2017 at 11:46 AM

Why isn’t Worrell not being advised to take his case before the Employment Rights Tribunal- as is his entitlement under the Employment Rights Act- just like the hundreds who were dismissed by this same administration?

We are sure his pal Hal G would speed up the hearing just like what is taking place in your very ‘efficient’ judiciary.

It’s really shocking to see how Lady Justice can sometimes take off her blinkers and run at full speed in the race that favours the rich and the mighty; even those who have fallen from favour but still have friends and family in secret places.

20. @Miller

A good lawyer and access to money and getting the court to hear urgent matters is not an issue.

21. @ Hal Austin, please provide the source of information that the Central Bank is the lender of last resort to PRIVATE Citizens.

22. Well well,

As I understand it the ac count is frozen by the courts. The bank did not say why it no longer wanted the account, but money laundering it ain’t. Every major bank in the Western world has been fined by US regulators for moneylaundering.
    The proper procedure would be for the central bank to order the retail bank to accept Mr Parris’ account,

@simple simon raises an interesting point: who do foreign-owned banks report to, the local regulator or their head offices? That is the question and it is one of the major failings of Dr Worrell’s term as governor. He may be a good economist, and I am not sure, but he is certainly not a good regulator.

@Miller,
    Presumably, the governor has a contract. As Jeff would say, contract law rules, OK.

@ David,
    The central bank accepted the account because it is legally the bank of last resort. There is nothing else to know. Put another way, if one of these Trinidadian banks had a run and savers were in danger of losing their savings, then government is obligated to step in and compensate them. They may not get all their money, but they must get some.
    That is the perverse foundation of banking. When banks are profitable, shareholders and executives get their bonuses and dividends; when they lose money, it is the taxpayer who pays.

23. @ Hal re your 10:56 am post, where is the economic ignorance? If Government hired a politician to run the Central Bank, that should have been reflected in the title. A governor of monetary policy was hired. He should have provided professional advice and not pander to impossible demands knowing full well that it was detrimental to the well being of the economy.

24. h Heather,

Are you being serious? That is like asking if motor vehicles need petrol to drive. That is the principle of banking in the Western World.
    Since 2008 we have had all these debates, that is the problem with trying to discuss serious subjects with some Bajans, you have to repeat yourself again and again.
    Look at American banking from the days of the Savings and Loan, look at UK banking from Hbos to Northern Rocks; look at Lehman Bros and AIG.
    In simple language, this is what is called systemic risk. A troubled retail bank must be rescued for the reasons I have explained; a troubled investment does not have to be rescued because the assumption is that they are all professionals and knew what they were doing.
    I suggest you try the BIS or do a search on the Federal Reserve website, the Bank of England or any other major central bank.

25. NorthernObserver @ 2:36 AM “How can you publish this? “He sold junk bonds to an unsuspecting public, ” I agree with you NOOb, how could they publish this?? The public was not unsuspecting, IT WAS IGNORANT! How many advisers came on to this blog explaining that the freedom given by the Central Bank to the banks to reduce interest rates on savings to a fraction above zero was but a thinly veiled ploy to drive a gullible public to loan money to government? And they rushed in like moths to a bright light to give their hard earned money to magicians of government just to see if it too could disappear like the missing M$300 without a trace. Unsuspecting public my eye.

26. Heather,

Dr Worrell is a technocrat; we do not know what advice he has been giving privately that is why I said he must be free on leaving to explain himself. What we know is that the government has failed.
    We also now know that the minister and his advisers (Frank Alleyne, et al) and the governor are at loggerheads.
    It is cheap politics to accuse him of making flawed political mistakes. His boss is the minister, the politician.
    If you are saying that if pressure was put on him with which he did not agree he should have walked out, then I agree.
    But the printing of money is not the problem; it is printing money to pay civil servants that is the problem.
    That is what Keynesian economics are all about and it is what kept the US economy on track with the trillions pumped in to the economy to save the motor industry; it is what the Japanese are still doing; it is what the ECB is doing; it is what the Bank of England has done; in short, it is such a policy that is keeping the global economy afloat.
    What is the remit of the current Central Bank Act? That is why I have been calling for a new Act for years through my Notes From a Native Son, and still do.
    A new remit would give the bank the mandate to maintain economic stability, steady employment and inflation targeting. None of these is its current remit.
    The government hired a regulator, not a politician. The real problem in Barbados, and I am repeating myself, is the small talent pool. That is the reason why the principle of crabs in a barrel is so pronounced.
    Who do we have to replace Dr Worrell: Clyde Mascoll, Winston Moore? Who?

27. @Hal

Why have you picked on civil servants? Yes we agree there is inefficiency to address but isn’t the bigger issue one of exercising fiscal discipline as well as upping productivity?

28. David,
    Senior civil servants (not the junior ones) run the show, they are the ones with the ministers’ ears, the ones who can do cost/benefit analyses on projects yet when there is overspend they still get promoted.
    The permanent secretaries are the CEO of their departments and are responsible for the inefficiencies, not the ministers. Fiscal discipline is the minister’s responsibility, which is a serious problem with Chris Sinckler; and productivity is for the government, the rime minister’s responsibility.
    But the burden is on the politicians and, since 1966, they have been just more of the same. The only difference between the DLP and BLP is one of personalities, not ideology or policies.
    Solutions Barbados is an irrelevance, a party that proudly states all its parliamentary candidates will be business people. What about the workers?
    David, Barbados is in serious, serious, serious trouble.

29. @Hal

In theory yes but politicians in this part of the world -especially Barbados- have been able to squeeze the right areas of the PS’s anatomy to exert enormous influence how ministries are run.

30. What tommyrot!

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Well well,

“As I understand it the ac count is frozen by the courts.”

Ok…Hal, we now wait to hear the appeals court decision, I think it is, correct me if I forgot and wrong.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hal….I do not know if your are familiar with FDIC and SEC….all North American banks follow those regs and procedures, they get fined heavily if they dont….I an not sure about Trini banks, or state owned banks like central bank, this information should be pubkic….they keep too many secrets that should be public,….FDIC has stringent regs for worldwide banking.

33. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

We can see ALL in the DBLP and supporting teams are crooks, liars and scumbag, It does not matter if you group them or in parts, Most can’t see the full picture, So Go ahead and put a story on each member of both Parties, A pig pen is a Pig pen divided or in whole, They all stink, A block of cheese is still cheese even if sliced,
    People will only say they are dead as soon as they stop moving, But the walking dead still moving, they just won’t lay down.
    Just a shame many took 5 years to wake up as the ship is sinking,
    Just wait to many wake up the the truth of the NHC/UDC Massive Land fraud and the names others will call when the time comes… Let see if those names match our list,

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/VXyX3094TfS

FDIC Insures banks, so I suppose they have some say regarding money they accept….I know SEC are regulators and hit companies and banks with heavy fines fir violations, scams etc.

Is the FDIC a government agency?
    An independent agency of the federal government, the FDIC was created in 1933 in response to the thousands of bank failures that occurred in the 1920s and early 1930s. Since the start of FDIC insurance on January 1, 1934, no depositor has lost a single cent of insured funds as a result of a failure.Oct 30, 2014

35. Well well,

I am familiar with the FDIC and SEC, their territorial battles and their global reach. I am also familiar with the state attorneys general; all battling to be top dog and all punishing European banks unfairly.

36. The FDIC is a federal agency.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Unfortunately, I have no clue who regulates any Caribbean banks, or who reins in central bank, it looks like they just do as they like..

Both agencies have to rein in those banks, remember Wells Fargo, they all have a go at robbing their customers, just imagine if they weren’t regulated how they would steal from everyone and be vicious, predatory loan sharks.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just to show how banks are supposed to be regulated and why, Deutsche Bank is a known crooked banks, always breaking the law….banks should have stringent regulation for this reason.

“In recent years the disgraced bank has been hit by a series of scandals. Last month the UK and US imposed record fines of $630m. Deutsche failed to prevent money laundering by its Moscow branch involving at least $10bn of Russian cash, regulators found.

In January a US regulator, the New York Department of Financial Services, fined Deutsche Bank $425m for laundering around $10bn of Russian money. The UK’s Financial Conduct Authority imposed a £163m fine, its largest ever.

The US Department of Justice is still investigating the Russian scheme. In December Deutsche agreed to pay the department $7.2bn. The fine related to the mis-selling of residential mortgage-backed securities and other activities during 2005-7. The US originally asked Deutsche to pay $14bn.”

39. Well Well,

Ignore the fines. You may notice that European banks are fined more than US banks by US regulators. I wrote about that years ago in my paper when Eric Holder was attorney general..
    ALL banks like money, none moreso than US banks, even if it comes from oligarchs or rug dealers.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just saying Hal…when they break the laws and regulations, they are fined, it’s been happening for decades, people who lose money in insurance companies are gladnfor those regulators…if ya had that type of regulation in Barbados…ya wont have CLICO…or CGI Insurance robbing anyone.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Some people are actually happy that the relationship between Sinckler and Worrell has broken down in such a public way. I must confess that I do not share their happiness, not because I have any particular regard for either of them. It is embarrassing that such a spectacle could play out for the world to see. It makes barbados look like a banana republic.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

We been calling it a banana republic for years, they are just proving us right, proof we were not lying as the missing yardfowls been saying everyday….for years.

43. Do you think EU banks with their assets an in-house lawyers would pay a fine that was not justified. Do you think they would not run to their respective government or the “EU” if the fine was not justified? You lost me with that line of argument.

44. Often time banks and companies that value their reputations will pay a fine to close an investigation.

45. @ Caswell Franklyn,

agree its embarrassing but it is also irresponsible, idiotic and destructive to the economy of a country that depends on FOREIGN INVESTMENT.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

Missing yardfowls….they are aren’t they. Smart though, wait for the dust to settle.

Taking bets, currently 5-2 ON, the PM, whenever he addresses this topic, provides some philosophical irrelevant comparison and tells the citizens all is well. Would seem George St would be a safe location.

47. Good point David, but that does not convince me that US regulators put EU banks in the crosshairs and the banks just pay any fine.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Often time banks and companies that value their reputations will pay a fine to close an investigation”……often time when their legal bills are piling up, and they realize they cannot avoid some penalty, better to negotiate one “without any admission of guilt” and move on.

This referenced payment is but the latest of many, many payments in connection to the events of 2007/08.

49. It was less than two years ago the Guv boasted about having 1 billion in foreign reserves.

It was a short time ago the Guv and the MoF were on a road show working for the good of BIM.

What happened?

Governor Delisle Worrell Projects Growth in 2015, International Reserves 1 Billion

by David on October 21, 2014 in Barbados News Edit

Text – Analysis of Barbados’ Current Economic Performance Audio – Analysis of Barbados’ Current Economic Performance

Comments Off • Continue Reading →

Governor Delisle Worrell and Minister of Finance Sinckler Expound on the Barbados Economy in Europe

by David on June 27, 2014 in Barbados News, Politics Edit

55 CommentsContinue Reading →

50. It is amazing how some are absent. Must be ensuring they all use the same script.