Caswell Franklyn,  General Secretary of Unity Workers Union
Caswell Franklyn, General Secretary of Unity Workers Union

In June 2013 Government embarked upon a retrenchment exercise, in the public in order to reduce expenditure. By the time that exercise ended, 6,000 public servants were placed on the breadline. In effect, Government inflicted a 100% salary cut on those workers; many of whom are still out of work today.

After much cajoling, to show solidarity with the suffering masses, Government was persuaded to make a token 10% cut in the salaries of parliamentarians and other political appointees. I well remember, when the idea was first mooted, one parliamentarian showed his opposition by insensitively declaring that he could not afford a salary cut because he had bills to pay and children to support, as though those 6,000 public servants did not have similar commitments. In the end, however, parliament approved orders by the Minister of Finance setting out new salaries for parliamentarians and political appointees. The new salaries amounted to a 10% cut.

In accordance with the Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances) Act and the Senate and House of Assembly (Remuneration and Allowances of Members) Act, the Minister of Finance must publish orders to vary the salaries of parliamentarians. These orders must then be approved by both houses of parliament.

On February 7, 2014 the Minister made orders setting new salaries for parliamentarians. The orders did not contain any provisions stating or even implying that the new salaries would only be effective for a particular period. For all intent and purposes, the salaries in the 2014 orders became the new salaries for parliamentarians. If the reduction were intended for a specific period, the order would have said so and there would have been no need to return to the House, since a restoration would have been automatic, as was the case when public servants’ salaries were cut in 1991.

On April 15, 2016 the Minister again published orders setting new salaries for parliamentarians. When the contents of those orders were revealed, the public outcry forced Government into retreat and the orders were not debated. Eventually, Government spokesmen started to spin an explanation to say that the change in salaries was merely a restoration of the old salaries that had been reduced for a specific period. I do not recall any Government spokesman saying in February 2014 that the decrease in salary was only a temporary measure. I am not too big to apologise if anyone can direct me to Hansard (the official report of parliament) or any newspaper report which stated or even suggested that the 10% reduction was a temporary measure when it was instituted.

After a period of sustained propaganda, it would appear that Government felt comfortable enough to debate the measure. While introducing the resolution, Minister Sinckler was at particular pains to point out that the salary increase was not in fact a salary increase. He will be taking home more money, and if I have read the order correctly, he will also be back paid to April 2016. But he somehow believes that all Barbadians are mindless political dullards, who would actually accept what he said without question.

In his contribution to the debate, the Prime Minister made an apples and oranges comparison when he suggested that there was no difference between what they were doing now and the the restoration of public servants salaries in 2000. In the first place, the Public Service Reduction of Emoluments Act reduced the salaries of public servants, by 8%, for an eighteen month period and when it expired, salaries reverted automatically. Further, the salaries that were restored in 2000 were the actual amounts that were deducted from the workers emoluments. This was done when the economy improved and the Arthur Administration was in a position to return the money without adversely affecting the country’s finances. Is the PM suggesting that the economy has returned to health and the country can afford this largesse to politicians? If that is so, public servants who were sacrificed should soon be getting a decent salary increase after an eight-year wage freeze. Maybe, the improvement in the economy might only be enough to take care of the DLP politicians.

192 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Greedy, Insensitive, Money-Grabbing, Lying DLP Politicians (UNEDITED)”

1. Morally and legally right for the minister to get the monies restored that they voluntarily loaned to the barbados govt, Furthermore with an upcoming election the need for the monies to be given back to the ministers who had volunteered should be given the go ahead with a recognition that any changes made to the governance of the country by the electorate in 2018 can result in the ministers loss of not being able recoup those salaries
    Attaching govt decisions which might have affected civil servants in the past as reason enough for the ministers not receiving their salaries (which is not an increase of salary )is long winded political poop tossed against a slow and moving tide of alternative facts .
    The NUPW leadership especially should be now be ashamed to go after govt in a manner to whip up frenzy after their reckless disregard and months of tirade in which the call to close down countrys interest was hinged on the dismissal of one man Annakani Mcdowell

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“After much cajoling, to show solidarity with the suffering masses, Government was persuaded to make a token 10% cut in the salaries of parliamentarians and other political appointees. I well remember, when the idea was first mooted, one parliamentarian showed his opposition by insensitively declaring that he could not afford a salary cut because he had bills to pay and children to support, as though those 6,000 public servants did not have similar commitments. In the end, however, parliament approved orders by the Minister of Finance setting out new salaries for parliamentarians and political appointees. The new salaries amounted to a 10% cut.”

I remember this, it was a total disgrace, the ministers had to be named, shamed and made embarrassed on social media before they grudgingly took that pay cut….very selfish, very greedy.

The voters have to make absolutely sure that not one of those government ministers ever get a raise in salary from taxpayers ever again, send everyone of them home, fire them let them enjoy their pay raise….they do no work on the taxpayer’s behalf anyway.

3. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

All along CROOKS, LIARS, SCUMBAGS, Yet lawyers on this blog never step up to have the public understand or to know what is what,

Caswell have to be the gatekeeper and watchman of the government with top eye open for this and these DBLP crooks,

1 Billion USDOLLARS$ for the buying of VOTES by way JOBS so they can ride 5 more years of DLP lies .
    Most work never last the people a term to by Land, Home , car, these JOBS will come by way of more taxes , short term for elections only,
    More homes 2nd ,3rd and 4th home for the World,
    While Bajans can not even get their first or improve their living standard,

What timing after more than 20 years of VAT and still not UDC or NHC, No money to help the people and the World will not help the people until the DBLP government can show Clear Title to the land in order to get the Millions on Hold.

Government moves ahead on deals against the People and the laws, The day will come that all of them will pay for their Treason.

As most can see the World have moved away from most crime governments, Barbados and St.Vincent are the main to left over from the Old World Order of crooks and slave masters,
    Elections were tight in both Nations, this time the People need to clean out the Gully of the D and the B, with all of the DBLP. We are not one is fooled by Election time games.

What’s wrong with Barbados is not jobs, its the government Fraud, When the Fraud is understood and exposed, set right, Work will replace JOBS. The most People will not have to seek UDC/NHC to get their own homes with “Clear Titles” People Need Homes and a living wage.NHC says you must make about 800 per week where most Bajans take home about 250$bds ,so for most NHC is out.The VAT money never showed up at UDC .It end up in Ministers and Lawyers pockets, Vote CUP.

4. @ Caswell
    The single biggest tragedy in Barbados today, is that a man of your vision, balls, stamina and commitment to TRUTH and decency is not playing a MUCH MORE significant role in the governance of this shiite country.

That a country can have a resource like you – and it be wasted in a little shiite union and in writing weekly newspaper articles, speaks more to the endemic brass-bowlery than any whacking that Bushie can possibly do….
    so..
    Frig all o’ wunna….!!!
    BBs….

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

Anywhere else in the world, people’s power would bring down the Government for such a shameless act. Further, all of them lied to parliament and the country when they said that the reduction in salary was an interim measure. That was never communicated to the country.

This country should be on a general strike until this Government resigns.

6. Bushie

Stop blowing fuses,like you wake up on the wrong side of the bed today,be carefull BBE dont call you home hear.

Caswell is playing a major role in providing knowledge and balance to the issues of the day.

Caswell

I note that some govt ministers are saying that most of the dismissed workers have been reemployed by govt……..any truth to this?

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswell. ..the people need to show that will, all around them everywhere else in the world people are protesting the negatives coming from their leaders..,, the great US has daily protests the UK is gearing up to protest the US President…,, while bajans still sit on their asses silently accepting discriminating, disenfranching treatment from mediocre, semi literate, self-serving government ministers who would not be allowed to be leaders in any other part of the world.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Vincent

That is just another lie that these ministers publish intending to deceive the media into publishing that propaganda. It is the same as the oft repeated lie that 3,000 public workers were sent home, when in fact the number is 6,000.

Presently, I have 23 cases, before the Chief Labour Officer, seeking reinstatement to their jobs at the National Housing Corporation. They certainly have not been re-employed.

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I hope this is the clever AC writing. I often comment on things that you write because you defend the position of your party very courageously, though at times quite blindly. However, I will not, could never, not even for this slightest moment, give in to agreeing with you on your suppose reasoning regarding 10% return of what most of you (ACs) think is their rightful due. I am not even going to remark on the civil servants who had to sacrifice more than the parliamentarians. What I am going to say is that there is call on the part of the politicians to acknowledge in their conscience, if they still got any left, yeoman service to the nation. This means that in the interest of sacrifice making, for the benefit of all suffering people under the current state of all that is happening in Barbados, a restoration of their 10% earnings can wait until a later time. This nonsense about not being able to recoup earnings because they will be loss at the change of governance is absurd. If the parliamentarians sacrificed the earnings, it means that whoever is the government have a right, is under due process and are obligated to make provisions available at the turn of the economy to give those parliamentarians their 10% along with retroactive payment. In other words, it can happen at a later stage, under a particular clause note, when the economy is sound enough to give all those who made sacrifices in the interest of the national good, a return of all earnings loss during the period. But, but, but, but, but, it should not happen now; not under situations where many are still suffering and politicians are looking to get theirs at the expense of those who cannot get anything.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

SSS

Don’t be misled with this nonsense about paying back anything. This Wicked Government forced thousands of workers to sacrifice 100% of their wages and salaries and there is no talk about restoring anything for them. The Government ministers were forced by the weight of public opinion to also make a sacrifice. Why should they get back anything?

11. This inept DLP administration and its yard-fowl supporters are trying to spin the issue by quibbling over the semantics of โ€œsalary increaseโ€ as opposed to โ€œrestoration of salaries,โ€ which under the circumstances, is irrelevant and โ€œlong winded political poop tossed against a slow and moving tide of alternative facts.โ€

Over the past 8 years, public sector employees had to endure a freeze of their salaries/wages, during which time having to cope with additional taxes, as well as increases in taxes, the cost of the living and inflation. Additionally, government forcibly retired and retrenched over 6,000 โ€œcivil servants,โ€ while MAINTAINING the LARGEST Cabinet in the history of Barbados.

One must also take into consideration that, if there was not a freeze in emoluments, public sector employeesโ€™ salaries/wages would be at a higher level than they are currently. Therefore, the amount of money they did not receive during the past 8 years can also be viewed as money โ€œthey VOLUNTARILY LOANED to the Barbados governmentโ€ as well. It would be HYPOCRITICAL of those who CHOOSE to THINK OTHERWISE.

As such, is there not a โ€œmoral and legal rightโ€ for those public sector employees, through their bargaining agents, to ask for an increase in salary?

12. Sunshine Sunny

This nonsense about not being able to recoup earnings because they will be loss at the change of governance is absurd. If the parliamentarians sacrificed the earnings, it means that whoever is the government have a right, is under due process and are obligated to make provisions available at the turn of the economy to give those parliamentarians their 10% along with retroactive payment. In other words, it can happen at a later stage, under a particular clause note, when the economy is sound enough to give all those who made sacrifices in the interest of the national good, a return of all earnings loss during the period. But, but, but, but, but, it should not happen now; not under situations where many are still suffering and politicians are looking to get theirs at the expense of those who cannot get anything.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

The govt right to retrieve their money is legal and practical within the given time frame and in fact is over due giving the time period which has expired by which the ministers had agreed , Such legal practicalities of timing give them that right to pursue, If in the case the govt changes the legal barriers can become complicated and challenging for the ministers to gain access to the monies they gave up voluntarily

13. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

The Government is an ASS they make problems and then act like they are fixing something that was never broken until they came along, A see-saw DBLP, All 60 of them.

14. Not to mention that the issue has been turned into a political football by the BLP if in the possibility having to win the govt in 2018 would be hampered by their utterances of not to restored and most likely would remained committed to their present political position and a commitment to their loyal supporters
    The Govt taking such a chance would be like shooting one self in the mouth after hearing and being attacked by the opposition for advancing their position of restoration by a rightful and legal and constitutional right

15. Gallus gallus domesticus, also known as the ACs

http://dehayf5mhw1h7.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/sites/462/2016/08/26115817/Chickens.jpg

I cannot believe there exist in Barbados, people who are so ignorant to throw their sense of reasoning through the window, to blindly support a political party.

16. The MPs likely want their salaries increased to ensure higher pensions.

It appears that the DLP has no interest in winning the next election.

17. What increase are u talking about. Do not get caught up in alternative facts spouted by the blp propaganda machine.For what it is worth the Blp leadership did not care to volunteer any of her wages when asked by govt to do so she held fast with a notation of personnel interest and accountabilty to her self
    However she tries to toss a “red herring” boiled in deception to score political points.
    The govt is right owed the money which was attached to a legal right of restoration within a given time period.A period which has already expired about one and a half years

18. In the REAL world, those Johnies in Parliament would be all fired … or at the VERY least …get a pay cut, …based on their lack of productivity.

NOT ONE SHIITE HAS BEEN SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED – EXCEPT FOR THE BIG UGLY MONUMENT TO SATAN WHICH THEY CONSTRUCTED ON THE GARRISON.

This shiite about them giving themselves a 10% increase on what was their RIGHTFULLY legislated salaries, is a slap in the face of all brass bowl Bajans…..
    It is not even worth discussing…. they should all be charged with impersonating human beings …and sent to the damn abattoir for processing….

Bunch of Deplorable Lackies and Pimps…… !!!!

@ Vincent…
    Haul….!!!
    Bushie vex!!!

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…haha ha lol

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

my thoughts exactly

21. @Caswell

Why is it so difficult for media practitioners or some other source bringing the proof to the public what was the Order? The government states that it was was temporary as proposed. You say differently. Let us show the proof. Then there is the Opposition.

22. @ David
    Is it not clear to everyone that Kellman is the thought-leader in the DLP?
    Between him and AC (if there is a difference) they seem to represent the kind of logic used to drive decision making in the damn government…. pack of jackasses…!!

We cannot say a word about Trump being the mad, female rabbit that he clearly is…
    …not when we have such degenerates running the little shiite show ’bout here…. and big able people standing for it…

23. To pay attention to the DLP politicians alone misses the mark.

It is a necessary but insufficient pre-condition.

That mark should be the whole system

We were never convinced, and are incapable of being convinced, that their replacements would be any different. They have never been.

So the question must be, would Barbadians be enough mad to exchange the Devil for S(B)atan?

And would we be able to muster the national resolve to find another way of governance.

24. @ ac

Forget your generalized statements and political rhetoric.

PRESENT to BU WHERE, in the โ€œMinisters and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances) Actโ€ and the โ€œSenate and House of Assembly (Remuneration and Allowances of Members) Act,โ€ it states the ministers agreed to a 10% reduction of salary for a SPECIFIC PERIOD of TIME?

That is a simple request.

25. Bush Sh.it cuss me all you want , The fact that govt minister volunteer to do a noble thing of a short term waiver to remit some of their wages to the govt, The fact that MIA would stand bold faced against a legal restoration speaks about her callousness within a frame work of her ability to manipulate and a profound truth by which OSA accused her of being a megalomaniac

26. @ AC
    Bush Sh.it cuss me all you want
    Who is this ‘me’? ….AC? or Kellman?

Cause…the only person in Barbados who has shown themselves to be so persistently stupid and also so open and public about it ….is Kellman….
    Most of the other jackasses only show up themselves when forced… even Froon…. while Kellman and AC OFFER up their ignorance to the world willingly.

LOL….If AC and Kellman are two different people, then our asses may be in even deeper shit than we now know…. too much stupidity for this little island…

BU stop wunna from thieving big money with CAHILL, sugar factory, Bizzie’s recycling scam, Hyatt, CLICO etc, ….so now wunna resorting to a direct assault on the treasury…?

…but wunna going pay an even bigger price for this highway robbery….
    Watch!!!

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the intelligent AC I hope really hope

So is the right of the workers who sacrificed far longer than the parliamentarians. Rather they all agreed or not, where is the leading by example; the acknowledgement that if all cannot get back what they have lost and are entitle too, that the parliamentarians will stand tall and showforth their yeoman and patriotism by not receiving back their 10% until things are better. Why must they exercise the few for a few, and none for the all? They have never led by example and this move plainly shows that they have no intention on leading by example at all. Barbadians are incense by this selfishness. And you, intelligent AC, should be ashamed for defending this position because it is clear signal that these particular captains have no intention on going down with the sinking ship.

28. Sunshine

If you can show where the restoration is legally wrong then i would agree in part.
    However the opposition process of using wedge issues as a narrative to confront a legal right is a political wrong

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Caswell

I respect your thought process, and as much as I believe they do not deserve one shite back, if they agreed to giving it up for specified period of time, then they are entitle to getting it back after a specified time period. However, that time period cannot and must not be now. Their timing on pushing for it is so darn wrong it borders on selfishness and the stench of meconium. It is just simply wrong and all should protest this action by these selfish brutes because they know their asses are going to get kick hard out of government so they snatching at what little they all can get now.

30. Caswell

Thanks

I grieve with you and agree that you have all rights to vexatiousness based on the happenings here and over’n away.

…..but….what would you do as head of a failing govt with elections coming fast and you need to oil your election machine…..what would you do?

31. @ Vincent
    what would you do as head of a failing govt with elections coming fast and you need to oil your election machineโ€ฆ..what would you do?
    Boss, if Bushie had a track record like Froon’s, Stinkliar or any of those other Government people, the bushman would pack the whacker in an old crocus bag, catch a LIAT flight, and jump out over the Soufriรจre….. TONIGHT!!!

32. ac January 29, 2017 at 12:42 PM #

โ€œIf you can show where the restoration is legally wrong then i would agree in part.โ€

@ ac

Are you the Kellyanne Conway of the DLP?

Forget your usual unsubstantiated generalized statements and political rhetoric.

PRESENT to BU WHERE in the โ€œMinisters and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances) Actโ€ and the โ€œSenate and House of Assembly (Remuneration and Allowances of Members) Actโ€ it states the ministers agreed to a 10% reduction of salary for a SPECIFIC PERIOD of TIME?

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the intelligent AC I hope really hope

I am not making this a legal argument so stop twisting it to be so. I said that they are entitle to what they give up but things are not good enough for them get what they are entitled too just yet. They must be the example more so then the darn gawn cotton picking rule. You are choosing to ignore the plight of workers who are still in sacrificial and suffering mode. I am sure that non of the parliamentarians have suffered like the civil servants. None of them have had to bend and twist to make ends meet. When the 6000 were put on the bread line, the bloated and swell cabinet remain intact. Again I ask, where is their Yeoman. Where is their sense of Patriotism, where in their hearts can they allow morality to spring forth in this issue and stand tall as leaders. Betters be careful that this does not become the straw that brek up the camel’s back.

34. @Bush Tea

BU’s postion on the restoration is simple -the government has the authority to restore and the people have the right to share feedback. The issue here is whether the government stated it was timebound or not.

@Caswell

Doc received and will upload soon.

35. 10% of a MP’s salary is a minor “problem”.

10% of a messenger’s salary is a personal financial crisis.

36. @ David,

The government should show that they “care” and forget about restoring their 10%.

That would be good politics but they seem to want to lose the coming elections.

37. @ Hants
    Bushie doubts that they will run again….
    …out of fear that they may win….

So look for them to ‘tek’ whatever they can get their hands on…, and move overseas the week prior to elections, or devaluation, …. whichever comes first.

38. @Hants

Bear in mind one of the loudest voices in the Cabinet is Donville Inniss who has been a strident defender of the status quo. To quote him, ‘he has bills to pay too’.

39. De ole man going try a little ting heah among de “big horses” on this intellectual Savannah.

THe ministries that have consistently been able to effect big projects and cunsultancies and ting euphemism for teif? have been MTW Lashes, Housing (Lucy Son and Lashes) SSA Downlowe, Tourism Uncle Lookup Sealy and the erstwhile Buffalo now muchly diminished due to the purported disease, short me crutch Caesar and a few others.

“The Devil knoweth that his time is short….” so they are running about seeking ways to augment their incomes but, and one of them tell somebody who de ole man know a body dat know them, the true reason dat dem want de money restored

De po’ mouf po rakey MPs who was not able to “bult” bajans (remember that verb is the extent of unfairing bajans without grease) these are the fellows who are complaining that “dem time short and dem want to know that their pension “will kick in at the highest level” when they get kick out!!

The fellers are managing the internecine squabbles and trying to keep things going right up to the date that Fumbles calls cause EFFING DERE IS RUPTION and dem brek up before the date ALL UH DEM GONE LIKE BADWORD!!

So this is truly a money grabbing exercise as Mr Franklyn has rightfully pointed out but them vagrants and paros are saying to their so called colleagues, “brek fuh wunna selves, we got ours”

This is an act of appeasement like how they attempted to extend the retirement time of Leaky Cock de DPP and mek he feel dat they doing everything they can pun he behalf, instead of riding he behind like dem riding ours.

Unfortunately de ole man fall among dem who is “bereft of any wisdom and sartorial elegance” and therefore only sees thing is a simplistic way, note well the variance with the word “simple”

40. There are those who keep calling for Mr. Caswell to enter the political arena for many reasons, but as far as i can see, the one main reason is his ability to call a spade a spade and his seemingly lack of fear of no one. I do believe if one day he should decide to heed the call or is somehow motivated to embark upon such a career, then for political expediency we’ll most certainly lose a good man, a champion of the down trodden.
    Why not let Caswell’s be our role model, why not learn from him, why not let him be the catalyst of which most Barbadian black men can aspire… Grow a spine, grow a pair of balls not for fooping only.
    Must we keep begging for a messiah when we’re shown daily how to make our own miracles?

41. @ Whitehill
    A man who only has balls when he is not is a political party is no damn man…
    Such a man is more of a ‘PWicker’ who usually ends up married to a REAL man …and getting drilled.

Caswell is a fella who will ‘talk his talk’, take legal action, and expose shiite, if he is in a Party, a Union, a Credit Union or even in a friendship….

There is probably not another ‘Caswell’ on the whole damn island, …and as to the rest of brass bowls ‘growing a pair’ and being like him ….
    ….when Hell freezes over….
    Not from the useless, mendicant, pooch-lickers we have bout here.

42. @ David wrote ” To quote him, โ€˜he has bills to pay tooโ€™.”

I have no empathy for anyone who makes more money than me. Hopefully the voters share my view.

43. @Whitehill

By your logic how will we the people who the politicians serve be able to effect meaningful change?

44. The following posted on behalf of Caswell Franklyn.

I have attached two documents: the Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances) Act and the 2014 order that was made  under that act.

Please refer to section 5. (2) (a) of the Act.  You will not that it gives the minister power to make any supplementary provisions that he deems necessary when he makes an order for those salaries.

If you look at the 2014 order which set new salaries for ministers, you will see that there are no supplementary provisions saying or even suggesting that the order had a limited duration.  Anybody whose asserts otherwise is just a liar.  The salaries in the 2014 was not any voluntary give back; it was the legislated salary that would have been in effect until it was increased and that is what they did last week.

This Government is prepared to tell any lie as long as they believe they can get away with it.

Could you please post this comment along with the two documents.

45. Artax asked ac on two occasions to produce the evidence to prove the restitution of salaries was indeed legal. They refuse to respond or present the proof.

However, Caswell has provided BU with the truth, which is enough to also prove ac is a lying political yard fowl of the highest order.

AC, save face and apologize for trying to mislead BU.

46. For those of the view the restoration of the 10% is about readying MPS for the election and maximum pension qualification, this is an opinion gathering currency. Caswell can validate the below.

“After eight years’ service an M.P. is entitled half the highest salary ever paid to the M.P. over a three month period.

After 12 years’ service an M.P. is entitled to two-thirds of the highest salary paid over a three month period.”

47. Apologise for What ///////What was part of restructuring program to control debt and which was agreed by all mentioned as part of the program and which legally should be restored within the agreed time period of 19 months that what was part of the program

In addition, the Barbados Cabinet also agreed on a 10% cut in the salaries of all Ministers, Government MPs, Parliamentary Secretaries, Personal Assistants, and other persons designated as political appointees in the employ of the government, and a 50% cut in the external travel budgets of all ministries, and statutory boards.

48. I have said before, it is rather strange offering parliamentarians a 40/60 defined benefit pension. This is a scam. A much better deal would be to offer former members of parliament a resettlement grant for losing their seats. For example, six-months pay.
    If they must get a pension, then it should be a defined contribution pension, with the member bearing risk.
    In any case, MPs’ pension should be contributory and should take in to consideration their parliamentary earnings and any other private earnings. This is one for the tax man: a single person should not be allowed to have a parliamentary pension, and other personal pensions.
    And, if there are tax advantages, which there are, this is a massive fraud on taxpayers.
    Whatever model they go for, it should not kick in until the state retirement age. Better still, just give MPs a resettlement grant when they lose their seats.
    The present system is perverse.

49. > Not even the most profitable companies go with defined benefit plan these > days. A scam indeed. >

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The whole pension system for MPs is completely perverse if you compare the pension entitlements of other persons who give public service. I will restrict this comparison to public officers not employees of statutory boards.

After eight years’ service an MP is entitled to a pension of half of his salary. A public officers has to wait 10 years to qualify and then, he is only entitled to one-fifth of his salary.

An MP who serve 12 or more years is entitled to a pension of two-thirds of his salary. On the other hand, a public officer is entitled to the same pension after thirty-three and a third years.

Public officers retirement age was increased and it will be 67 years from January next year. MPs reduced the age at which they qualify for pensions from 55 years of age to 50.

When public officers start to receive their National Insurance Pension, their public service pension is reduced by the amount they receive from NIS. MPs suffer no such reduction.

I have come to the conclusion that everything surrounding the salaries and retiring allowances for MPs is a scam, a literal fraud on the country. The worst part of it is that the MPs make the rules for themselves.