Submitted by DAVIDย  COMISSIONG, Citizen of Barbados
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

So, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart chose an exclusive luncheon of the elite Barbados Chamber of Commerce to announce to an audience of business executives that he will be granting permission for Mr Mark Maloney to construct his proposed 15 storey hotel on Browneโ€™s Beach!

Well, the fundamental questions I have for Mr Stuart are as follows:-

(1) When were the people – the ordinary Barbadian Citizens and residents – of the affected communities consulted by you or by the Town Planning Department that you have ministerial responsibility for, prior to your coming to this decision?ย  (And I am referring here to the thousands of ordinary black working class Barbadians who reside in Wellington Street, Pondside, London Bourne Towers, and other surrounding residential areas, as well as to the thousands of Barbadians who religiously avail themselves of Browneโ€™s Beach.)

(2) When did you or the applicant company, Visions Development Inc., hold even ONE Town Hall Meeting with the ordinary citizens of Barbados – particularly with residents of the nearby communities – so that you could be informed about their views, prior to your making this decision?

(3) Why is there such a record of your Administration time after time bending over backwards to confer all sorts of outrageously privileged contractual arrangements on Mr Mark Maloney or on companies that are controlled by the said Mark Maloney – Storage Solutions Limited (payment of rental fees in the sum of $2,150,000.00 per year over 20 years for the rental of 3 molasses storage tanks); Housing Concepts SRL (an agreement to purchase any of the houses constructed at Coverley that Maloney is not able to sell to the public); Bushy Park Circuit Inc (appropriating Bushy Park from its lawful owner and virtually placing it in the hands of Maloneyโ€™s company); and the list goes on.

(4) Are you aware that this is the Barbados of 2017 and not the old colonialist and elitist Barbados of 1917, and that in todayโ€™s Barbados the masses of black working-class Citizens have a right to be consulted on major decisions that have the potential to significantly impact on them and their country?

(5) Are you aware that Barbadosโ€™ Town Planning Department as well as the major international environmental institutions such as the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) require the carrying out of Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs) as part of the procedure for processing applications of the magnitude of a 15 storey beach hotel, and that central to such EIAs is consultation with the people?ย  Are you aware that Town Hall Meetings are routinely held in Barbados as part of the procedure for processing applications for major projects?ย  Why is Mr Maloneyโ€™s application for a 15 storey beach hotel being treated so differently?

In light of the fact that Prime Minister Stuart has not consulted the people of the affected communities, the decision that he announced yesterday is WRONG!ย  It is politically wrong; sociologically wrong; procedurally wrong; ethically wrong; and in all likelihood legally wrong as well!

On the 24th of August 2016 I wrote to Mr Stuart and urged him as follows:-

“….please do the right thing by subjecting the proposal to construct a 15 storey hotel in Bridgetown to a comprehensive Environmental Impact Assessment, with the people of Barbados (and Bridgetown) being suitably notified and permitted to participate and make inputs.”

I also ended the letter by informing our Prime Minister that “I look forward to hearing from you as a matter of urgency.”

In the five (5) months that have elapsed since I hand-delivered that letter to Mr. Stuart’s office I have NEVER received even an acknowledgement from Mr Stuart, much less a substantive response. Yet, Mr Stuart– the Prime Minister of Barbados– is pictured on the front page of the Nation Newspaper gleefully shaking Maloney’s hand and “skinning and grinning” in his face. What a national embarrassment !

Mr. Stuart would do well to remember the old Bajan adage that–“if yuh start wrong yuh bound to end wrong.”

Mr Stuart was required to start with a consultation with the people of the relevant Bridgetown communities, and he has neglected or refused to do so.

I therefore believe that Mr Stuart has started wrong!

123 responses to “Stuart is Wrong!”

1. Ok

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fruendel the Fiend acts as though it’s only white tourists and a handful of minorities have any legal right or say in anything regarding Barbados, he never acts as though over a 260,000 majority black population exists on the island unless he has some lies to tell or when he wants votes.

The people who do not exist in Fruendel’s mind will have the opportunity to vote him out of their minds and out of their parliament come 2018, so that he too will no longer exist,….fair is fair.

The man is disgusting and a blight and disgrace to the black race….he does not represent mass productivity but slave ownership.

3. Let the building of Hyatt begin. Let the demolition of the old dilapidated buildings that line Bay Street begin as well.

4. Cheers for the Hyatt. Bridgetown is in need of a heavy dose of revitalisation.
    In the meanwhile let the Comissiong and naysayers keep doing what they do best bickering.
    Those who are complaining about foreign investment better be thankful as a new america has arrived with a more closed door policy of protectionism of its turf.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…ya need tourists to fill hotels….and spend that money, IN BARBADOS.

6. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

This man will do and say anything to get votes, even to build on land him nor the government owns ,We keep warning people of these same games and hopes of short term jobs during elections and go home after, Most will go to people who dont live in Barbados anyways.

7. David Commsiong is a public nuisance. Heโ€™s incapable of creating a single job in the economy but uses legal tricks to block jobs for poor black people. BU tolerates Commisiongโ€™s disgusting pup. BU supports the plan of the public nuisance for an injunction to block for the umpteenth time a project of benefit to Barbados and poor unemployed blacks. We place the judiciary on notice to throw Commisiongโ€™s rubbish into the garbage bin from day one. The time has come to end the rot . Sores that fester on the public body must be eradicated or the body will die. Progress cant be halted by one jackass. Commisiong is a public nuisance devoid of shame.

8. All hail to Comissiong for standing up to the power brokers of Barbados who don’t care a damn for succeeding generations.Stuart is not a family man for a start.Hes a loner.A loner is always a bad politician.This JA grinning from ear to ear and wanted us to believe in 2006 that he despised whites and reds(read Tompson)because according to him he berry blak and not purty atall qualifying for the Amen Alley brigade.With that kind of mindset,vision is absent from economic development of this country once Stuart has anything to do with it.

9. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

I don’t see foreign investors beating down Barbados door to invest. We are not in a position to be picky. We are competing with 196 countries for FDI. Once the investment is credible and above board I have no problem . The only issue for me is that we are too tourism-dependent.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Intelligent leaders would start looking for opportunities outside of the FDI rat race, from 30 years ago, ehen that race collapses as it will, there should be a plan B, but leaders on the island are shallow minded and cannot articulate beyond and above the cul-de-sac that is tourism..

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/27/champion-this/

The intelligent business people can see through Fraudulent Fruendel….productivity does not only mean giving permission to build expensive hotels to hire maids, gardeners etc…..productivity is linked to a high level of entrepreneurs, employment and even higher salaries that facilitates economic growth in a country.

Fraudulent Freundel does not represent productivity, he does not understand it, get rid of him.

12. Where did Mr. Maloney and Mr. Edghill get the land from? I thought that was BTI/GOB lands, no?

Neither Maloney or Edghill have the balance sheet to do this project, even if they combine their personal wealth they can raise US$100M. Once again the privileged few have conned the people of Barbados out of their real estate, secured permission a project not permissible, and will now promptly go around the globe looking for people with money who they can ‘skin out’ financially.

13. @ David Commisiong

“You are wrong….” to think that you can reason with the illiterates.

“You are wrong..” to waste time with sending letters and seeking to engage with these scvunts.

You are right … to highlight their illegal actions, to broadcast such via every media outlet available to you and to send notifications of such to the UN Heritage agencies and others

You are right… to carry them to court on all illegal actions

You are right… to seek injunctions wherever necessary

Here is what you do next.

1.Edit your court representations to short narratives

2.Partner with one of the emerging political parties, not Granville, he is too disconnected, and give them access to your materials for active dissemination

3.Hire a spokesman/woman to voice the short version of your message on their Facebook page (get a brown skinned presenter from UpWork to do the spokesperson task with a British accent. Black Bajans and Bajan whites doan get offended by brown people)

4.your objective is to (1) highlight the shyte that they are doing (2) show how it was effectively countered (3) bring currency to the specific party you choose to align with and (4) show Bajans that it is possible for “David” to fight against Goliath and win.

Stop doing this just for doing it sake and make it meaningful and impactful

You must got some family in England who got a pretty face, a good reading voice and who would put a green plastic bag behind then on a wall so that you can add some after effects to the video and mek it look good when it showing?

14. In the 2013 elections Stuart made Estwick get on the DLP’s platform to carry their economic message, he didn’t chose Sinckler, the Minister of Finance. What did Stuart promise Estwick if the DLP somehow miraculously won the elections? Estwick was quite vocal during the elections in his and DLP’s opposition to the privatisation and ofter used BNTCL as the example.

In 2013 after the victory was secure, did Stuart keep his word? Why did Estwick refuse to go to the swearing in? Why did the same people/person who is about to buy BNTCL lobby Stuart after the 2013 election as to why Estwick would not be suitable as a Minister of Finance?

15. WHITE SUPREME POWER is in full effect in Barbados.

16. The average Barbadian was more ‘Independent’ under the British white than they now are under the Bajan Whites. Forgive me if Independence is not something I celebrate with much enthusiasm, we got a Country from the British and these idiot turned around and sold back to the Bajan Whites. Pack of facking clowns.

17. The promotion of sardines and biscuits and bribe politics is promoted by the ‘white few’ and they are safe in the knowledge that system will alway attract a certain type of politician, one who is not very smart, not very confident and not very morally upstanding and this makes them ideal candidates for the purposes of the Bajan Whites.

18. Trade beads (sometimes called aggry and slave beads) were otherwise decorative glass beads used between the 16th and 20th century as a token money to exchange for goods, services and slaves (hence the name). Trade beads were used to exploit African resources by early Europeans. This included African slave trade. The beads were integrated in Native American jewelry using various beadwork techniques. Aggry beads are a particular type of decorated glass bead from Ghana.

19. Freundel Stuart the PM is shameless and more so to be shaking the hands of the likes of Mark Maloney in public as shown in the Nation News. Mark is fronting for Bjerkham one of the directors of our Central Bank and taking Bajans way below the bone and into the grave.

Mia is going to have a very ahrd up-hill battle to fix this economy after Chris, Cadogin, Low down Lowe, Kellman, Worrell and Jerk ham.

May God help this Barbados

20. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ abajanhowe Jan 27 @ 8:27AM

Happy to have your opinion agree with mine of several blogs back. The information on which to make sensible policy decisions are now slowly appearing. the fundamental diseases plaguing the society, polity, and the economy are now being admitted. Yes, it is going to be an up hill fight. Barbados gird your loins.

21. Stuart is wrong???? …Wrong shiite!!

When has Stuart EVER been right?
    Stuart is Stuart!!
    A Froon …
    …whose word means NOTHING;
    …whose analysis has consistently been flawed;
    …whose tongue has the power of a fart;
    …and whose legacy is one of building a monument to Satan in the middle of the damn Garrison….

Steupsss…
    What Hyatt what!!!
    Right after the Four Seasons start; the Sam Lords start; the Sugar Cane factory start; the finger printing start; the Banana Republic start …and the CAHILL start…

Looka…
    Fool Bushie once, …twice even….!!
    But EIGHT times…?!!
    Not for shiite…!!!!

22. @Gabriel January 26, 2017 at 8:56 PM “All hail to Comissiong for standing up to the power brokers of Barbados who donโ€™t care a damn for succeeding generations.Stuart is not a family man for a start.Hes a loner.A loner is always a bad politician.”

it is said that Stuart is the father of a daughter, but truthfully i don’t know how much time he spent raising her.

People who do not raise their children get no respect and no vote from me.

23. @abajanhowe January 27, 2017 at 8:27 AM “Mark is fronting for Bjerkham one of the directors of our Central Bank and taking Bajans way below the bone and into the grave.”

Not all of Bjerkham’s money and power could stop his 10 year old grandson from going to an early grave, by the hand of Bjerkham’s own son.

People who do not raise their children well get no respect from me.

24. @In and Out January 26, 2017 at 8:44 PM “David Commsiong is a public nuisance. Heโ€™s incapable of creating a single job in the economy but uses legal tricks to block jobs for poor black people.”

A Simple Response: David Commissiong is a scholar, a gentleman and a patriot. He knows the law and he rightly challenges those who would seek to circumvent the law. If we had any sense we would commend him.

@In and Out January 26, 2017 at 8:44 PM “BU supports the plan of the public nuisance for an injunction to block for the umpteenth time a project of benefit to Barbados and poor unemployed blacks.”

A Simple Response: This project is not about jobs for “poor unemployed blacks” It is about money for capitalists and money for the political class.

@In and Out January 26, 2017 at 8:44 PM “We place the judiciary on notice…”

A Simple Response: Let me remind you that the judiciary operates independently, and that nobody has the authority to “place the judiciary on notice”

@In and Out January 26, 2017 at 8:44 PM “Sores that fester on the public body must be eradicated or the body will die. ”

A Simple Response: I hope that you are not threatening Mr. Commissiong by using language like “eradicated” if you are doing so I hope that you understand that you are in violation of the Internet Misuse Act.

@In and Out January 26, 2017 at 8:44 PM “Progress cant be halted by one jackass. Commisiong is a public nuisance devoid of shame.

Is it progress? What is progress?

David Commissiong is a scholar, a gentleman and a patriot.

25. Orchestrated and creative madness to stop foreign investment has proven to be the death nail of socialist and communist regimes like Cuba and Venezuela

Commissiong has never shy away or hid the fact of an alignment to such principles and idealogies practiced by such regimes to the detriment of the country and citizens progress.
    His ongoing effort to stop FI from entering barbados might be platable to a sector of politicios with self interest which in the long term has nothing to do with the interest of the country

26. Death knell. NOT nail.

You know that Cuba has a better life expectancy that Barbados right?

You know that Cubans, including black Cubans have a better life expectancy that black Americans right?

What death nail are you talking about?

You really need to stop drinking the stupid coolaid.

Sorry Mr. David the blogmaster. I know that I ain’t supposed to call other bloggers stupid, even if they are stupid.

Lolll!!!

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“2.Partner with one of the emerging political parties, not Granville, he is too disconnected, and give them access to your materials for active dissemination”

Lol, hahaha, lol

Aside frm the laughter, that is very sound advice, the mood of the country is ready for such a transition.

28. What FDI ac keeps talking bout, isn’t Maloney a local business owner and is teh one funding the Hyatt? Someone enlighten me please.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Bush Tea

You too darn funny, but oh so right. Stuart is Stuart, and even then you are still trying to figure out the idiot leader that he is. But he is not all idiot, Stuart knows a deal when sees one.

30. The rich in Barbados getting richer,the middle class losing every benefit and concession they got from previous governments especially the last BLP government, and now today we heard Kellie complain that he has to share his ministerial emoluments with the poor and needy of St Lucy.
    One thing we can say for political representation in St Lucy.Kellie uses his influence to big up the restoration of St Lucy Parish Church under the capable leadership of the Rector of St Lucy,Canon Curtis Goodridge It was just political flavoring that Stuart,the former pastor of the Marchfield Church of God,felt less intimidated by the New Testament pastor than he would have Canon Goodridge,a scholar of no mean repute,capable of quoting the classics with greater confidence than the boy who sat at Lee Hartford Skeete’s feet.

31. @enuff

Even if Maloney were to mortgage his plantation it would just be enough to build 2 floors.

Who are the backers? Obviously not local.

32. YOU’RE CONSTIPATED

Your intestine is over 20 feet long buddy
    Nicely wrapped up in your sweet tummy
    You put a lot of junk in there
    Most times you show no care
    Then you never clean it man
    This I can never understanโ€™
    What you think going happen one day
    It can go on like this forever, no, nay!
    Take some thing, do not ever get into a rut
    Youโ€™ve got to regularly clean out your gut
    โ€˜cause when you go to the toilet
    You will surely strain and sweat
    Now you know the cause, eh? youโ€™re so constipated
    Nothing coming out no matter how long you waited
    Its supposed to come out like a big banana
    And no matter you pray to God or Allah
    You are out of luck
    Youโ€™re literally stuck
    Every time when we eat
    We use flour and meat
    Can you imagine the big problem
    When you put together both of them
    They stuck together like crazy glue
    And when digested, the smell ooh!
    Save your self from a lot of cancers
    Use stuff to clean out called enhancers
    For meat takes 3 days to digest
    With the flour you do the rest
    You wonโ€™t feel so lackadaisical anymore
    A smile on your lips as you do your chore
    Your juices flowing now youโ€™re man of pep
    With glowing skin and a spring in your step1

33. @ David

Just asking.

34. I would like an email address for Mr David Commisong in regards to a legal matter in Barbados urgently.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Let’s hope Commisiong finds enough facts to at least stall this Hyatt scam until after these present ministers are kicked to the curb…..from the people’s parliament.

36. David commission:
    Your statement; “Prime Minister Freundel Stuart chose an exclusive luncheon of the elite Barbados Chamber of Commerce…” Where do get off using the language, describing the Barbados Chamber of Commerce “elite”. You among others have been calling for the Prime Minister to “say something”; even though he has been talking from time to time, and now he has chosen to speak to the Business community, at an occasion where others were also present and accommodated, you are getting snarky. What is elite about the Chamber of Commerce? Where would you have liked him to speak? Of course you would not have liked him to mention the word Hyatt, in any case. However you have o realize thq5 it its a done deal. Barbados needs that hotel, the exposure it will give the island, the increased revenue it will bring; both from its construction and management, and allots advertising dollars. In addition; Mark Maloney, is a BAJAN, and NO BAJAN SHOULD BE DISCRIMINATED AGAINST, ESPECIALLY ONE WHO WAS BROUGHT UP IN BARBADOS. I REMEMBER WHEN REVEREND COMMISSIONG CAME TO BARBADOS AND WAS STATIONED AT BETHEL. NOBODY DISCRIMINATED AGAINST HIM AND HIS FAMILY THEN. WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO DISCRIMINATE AGAINST MARK MAlONEY NOW.
    Keep it real.
    Just call his office; number in the phone book, contact the Clement Payne Movement office in Crampon Street (next to Harrison College gate) .

Gabriel: You said”the middle class losing every benefit and concession they got from previous governments especially the last BLP government,” What benefit and concession “the middle class” losing? Define the middle class.
    Simple Simon:
    It is about money for capitalists and money for the political class.” Every business person, is a capitalist. and is in business to make money. If there were no capitalists, making money here, we would have no economy and no country.

37. Alvin
    I should have said ….middle class lost.Are you clear that we are in the 21st century or are you stuck in the 20th century.When one speaks of the 19th century,it is meant to convey 18 something not 1999.
    Now are we clear on that?You really asking me to define middle class…when you do not know one century from the next.Buff Armstrong would send you to the back of the class hombre!

38. WW&C
    Methinks there will be grounds for court action IF the minister responsible for Town Planning does not follow the law.So far he has not,but if he plays ‘powful foolish’ and goes ahead and gives permission without following the laid down process,he might be guilty of an offence under the Act.But first,he must be allowed to act hopefully within the confines of the law.

39. @Alvin Cummins January 27, 2017 at 5:36 PM “If there were no capitalists, making money here, we would have no economy and no country.”

You do know don’t you that the place which we now call Barbados has existed for hundreds of thousands of years, and that for thousands of years, perhaps tens of thousands of years other people have lived here in a fashion that was good for them, and for their children, and for their grandchildren’s grandchildren.

Do you think that we will be able to do the same?

40. What if capitalism is not the best way for human beings to live, what if capitalism drives over production, and over reproduction, and over consumption, and obesity, and hifh blood, pressure and heart disease (note that the most capitalist country in the world is also the most capitalist) what if it degrades, the soil and the water. What if it degrades us?

What if there is a better way?

What if we have forgotten that better way?

41. note that the most capitalist country in the world is also the most obese

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Got ya Gabriel……

Alvin obviously has a problem with the definition of the word discriminate also, he should try explaining the Maloney Grotto scam and millions missing from the treasury because of that scam, as outlined in the auditor general’s report which Alvin like the lousy ministers are also ignoring,, taxpayer’s money missing…..then tell us who the real victims of discrimination are on the island.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…simple commonsense which the likes of Alvin with a Ph.D and dumb givernment ministers with titles and no intelligence, cannot see, they only see what dead slave masters taught them, they can never see a better simpler way, too blinded by stupidity and mass confusion created for them by dead people to last hundreds of years.

They lack the intellect and brain power to do it differently and better…dead slave masters told them it’s capitalism and nothing else and they too will take that to their graves.

44. Strange that these projects are stalled, are there land ownership issues?

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Apparently there are always land ownership issues in Barbados……too many forged title deeds floating around.

46. The reasons the projects are stalled are well documented. Mainly lack of financing and TPD conditions.

47. @ David,

Embarking on a project would hardly lack financing, not of the scale imagined. Investors may have had a change of heart due to developments or seeks surety, surely the intent to invest is most welcome.
    TPD conditions are lawful and clear-cut, still, the boss 2 takes orders from the boss 1 who may know more than his mate. Boss 1 holds responsibility for the final decision…. I hope common sense prevails and to not make any further blunders.

Integrity is worth more than a fleeting dollar.

Excuses can be camouflaging and misleading, worse yet when documented.

48. THE NEW WHITE NIGGERS , HAVE TO TAKE ORDERS FROM THE REAL WHITE EUROPEANS, SLOTS,SLUTS THEY ARE

49. STUART IS RIGHT, THE STINKING MORON, XEZBETH, BAPHOMET ROTTEN TO DE CORE, NEW WHITE NIGGER, HAVE TO GIVE WHITEY WHAT THEY WANT, COW,BIZZY, MALONY, DASILVA, BARE CUNT, MALLA LOU WHAT THEY WANT……………..