Adrian Loveridge

Airbnb has taken yet another step in its quest to broaden its influence beyond accommodations, according to a recent article in the industry news source, TravelMole. It has led a US$13 million funding round in the dining booking app Resy Network Inc, which values that company at around US$70 million, not bad for a business that was only founded in July 2014 from US$2 million in seed funding and currently employs only about 30 persons.

Resy currently lists around 1,000 restaurants in 50 US cities and handles reservations via a real-time cloud-based system for around 1.5 million diners each month. With the interest expressed by Airbnb, it is inconceivable that the concept would not be taken globally within the foreseeable future and considering our culinary offerings on Barbados, it just might be prudent to become involved as a destination, in the early expansion stages.

Airbnb had already agreed a strategic partnership in November 2016 as parts of its ‘Trips’ expansion into activities and the collaboration will see a restaurant booking option added to the existing Airbnb platform.

It the words of Airbnb’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Brian Chesky, ‘Many of our most-treasured travel memories come from experiencing the local food. Helping people find and book incredible local restaurants is a key part of us moving beyond just accommodation to focus on the whole trip. We cannot think of a better partner that Resy to help make this possible’.

Resy CEO, Ben Leventhal, added ‘Resy and Airbnb share a vision for how people experience local venues. We’re committed to building a product that allows anyone, anywhere, anytime, to live like a local.’

So from a consumer viewpoint, what is the attraction of booking through the Resy portal? To quote its own website ‘Resy is re-inventing hospitality using technology. That means you get the best booking experience and reservation selection anywhere. Short story, if you want that booth on Friday night at 8pm, then that’s what you get. No begging, no wait-and-see, no phone calls. Two taps and the table is yours. The best restaurants in the world use Resy to take reservations. Grab a seat, because not all reservations are created equal’.

Clearly with dining out, literally eating up a substantial proportion of a holidaymakers budget, I can see the appeal in wanting to secure the best table position possible, especially as in many cases of our restaurants boast enticing ocean views. While, there must be inherent costs to the individual restaurant partners, being part of this form of marketing just might open up and stimulate new avenues of business and awareness.

Many industry observers view this further Airbnb involvement in Resy as merely the tip of the iceberg. What next? Tours, attractions, activities, car rental, the world is their oyster and it seems only logical that other areas of the tourism product will be fully investigated and exploited soon.

53 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Airbnb Strikes Strategic Alliance with Resy”

1. Airbnb should be encouraged by govt as alternative to the continous love afair with brand names,it will also ensure that more forex comes into Bim.

2. Same issue different island.

#Sandals

Why is the govt afraid of an open & transparent process for a world-class resort in Tobago. If SANDALS is so good and a perfect fit for Tobago then an open & transparent procurement process will result in SANDALS being the choice for this important billion$ project. And, you can be 100% sure that T&T will get a far better proposal and deal if there is a competitive open & transparent procurement process with the leading international resort companies putting forward their best to win this … not so?

Since when a PM has the power to decide who will be awarded billion$ projects in T&T? haven’t we learned enough, from GTL, Sulphur, Tarouba, NAPA, Calder Hart, UDECOTT, Petrotrin, waste water treatment plant etc?

Rowley keen even before he was PMPrime Minister Dr Keith Rowley approached Jamaican hotel tycoon Gordon “Butch” Stewart to bring the Sandals chain to Tobago before he had won last year’s general election.Stewart confirmed this in an email interview with the T&T Guardian, noting Rowley approached he and his son Adam when they were here in mid-2015 for a function hosted by the T&T Manufacturers’ Association.“Adam was a guest speaker at the manufacturing association. A gentleman came up to me and said when I become prime minister I am going to give you a call,” Stewart recalled, noting that man was Rowley.After winning the 2015 general election, Stewart said he received a call from Rowley. “He called and he said, ‘look, I would like to have talks with you.’ He (Rowley) told me that he would like to see Tobago take advantage of its natural resources.”Since then, Stewart said he has had a couple of “good” meetings with the THA and Government ministers.

750-room Sandals hotel in Tobago can be reality: Butch eyes No Man’s Land

Founder and chairman of Sandals Resorts, Gordon “Butch” Stewart, has admitted he has his eyes on No Man’s Land f…

Where will the resort be sited? In southwest Tobago, right? No Man’s Land, right? Where is the assurance that the fragile ecology of southwest Tobago will not be in jeopardy? Where are the THA and the people of Tobago in all this exciting future? Put differently, where is the consultation? Where is good governance? Doesn’t it matter to Dr Rowley and his cabinet that, in this high-stakes venture, the people would have issues and concerns that need to be addressed and, in some cases, appeased? Or is he thinking that the issues and concerns have already been ventilated ad nauseam and so are well known and now is the time for action? Is he thinking that, with all those benefits, and with a well-intentioned government, we shouldn’t bother ourselves with public participation in the decision-making? Is he thinking that he and his cabinet know best and consultation would be an irrelevant and inconvenient distraction?And what about the small matter of how much Butch will be getting out of this,… er,… caper? Is that for another time? Does he intend full disclosure? Or would we be forced to dig it out of him?

A Sandals for Tobago?

Billionaire Sandals owner, Jamaican Gordon “Butch”’ Stewart and his children tell the story of Dr Keith Rowl…

750-room Sandals for Tobago

A 750-room Sandals Resorts is earmarked for Tobago, as Government seeks to make the island a tourism destination…

————————-

POLICE RAPID RESPONSE – call 911 or 999 

* Protect Our Children – REPORT CHILD ABUSE!

CHILDLINE 800-4321 Children’s Authority 800-2014

NATIONAL FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION 627-1163

VICTIM AND WITNESS SUPPORT UNIT 624-8853

CHILD GUIDANCE CLINIC 726-1324

“Give me the liberty to know, to utter, and to argue freely according to conscience, above all liberties.”

John Milton

To: yahoogroups <congressofthepeople@yahoogroups.com>; PP <peoplespartnership@yahoogroups.com>; yahoogroups <caribbeantalk@yahoogroups.com>; yahoogroups <jahajeedesi2005@yahoogroups.com>

Sent: Monday, January 16, 2017 5:35 PM

Subject: Fwd: Does the PNM get the CLICO/SANDALS link? __ Re: DAVID WALKER responds__ Re: Warning to Govt__ Re: Divestment plan for Govt exit CLx Financial in 5 months

Of course, they get it! They have already made plans how to get that land off CLICO’s hands into the hands of SANDALS. Read carefully the BG column, see link below. They will not want to admit there is THE Clico/Sandals link, at least not as yet, but no one is buying the PNM govt’s feigned ignorance of this key link in their great eatahfood project that will transfer or give away $billion$ in land & incentives, sole selective personal choice of resort company, and secrecy while they plan and tell the people they don’t have information as yet. If Rowley & company really do not know of the CLICO/SANDALS link then they are far more ignorant, far duncier, far more clueless, and far more useless & harmful to T&T than people thought and the nation is in far more serious trouble than you think.

But, no, they know all there is to know about this project, this and the Toco ferry/port/St Clair horel/Chag hotel are plum projects, these are the great feasts for you know who….. but, sadly, like so many other projects of previous PNM and UNC governments, they are merely conduits to the eatahfood trough and will be colossal failures, some even requiring subsidies from the State (but we don’t have money for more subsidies and we already have to subsidize the Tobago airbridge farce, and the water taxi, and the tarouba Stadium and Napa and…..)  If you don’t know about the SANDALS business model then you will not know why people in T&T, especially the small & medium tourism sector, will bawl and cry and close down post-Sandal.

See Business Guardian last Thursday.  You have to buy the newspaper on Thursday, $3, or subscribe to the online version. If you can’t afford a $3, deprive yourself of one sugar-loaded "sweet drink" so you can buy the BG on Thursdays. Or, you can eat one less KFC cholestrol-laden snack box ….

Image may contain: 2 people, text

Business Guardian | The Trinidad Guardian Newspaper

————————-

POLICE RAPID RESPONSE – call 911 or 999 

* Protect Our Children – REPORT CHILD ABUSE!

CHILDLINE 800-4321 Children’s Authority 800-2014

NATIONAL FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION 627-1163

VICTIM AND WITNESS SUPPORT UNIT 624-8853

CHILD GUIDANCE CLINIC 726-1324

“Give me the liberty to know, to utter, and to argue freely according to conscience, above all liberties.”

John Milton

To: David Walker <d.walker@alcindorwalker.com>; yahoogroups <congressofthepeople@yahoogroups.com>; PP <peoplespartnership@yahoogroups.com>; yahoogroups <caribbeantalk@yahoogroups.com>; yahoogroups <jahajeedesi2005@yahoogroups.com>

Sent: Sunday, January 15, 2017 6:58 PM

Subject: Fwd: DAVID WALKER responds__ Re: Warning to Govt__ Re: Divestment plan for Govt exit CLx Financial in 5 months

To: TnT PATRIOTS <tt.patriot@yahoo.com>; yahoogroups <congressofthepeople@yahoogroups.com>; PP <peoplespartnership@yahoogroups.com>; yahoogroups <caribbeantalk@yahoogroups.com>; yahoogroups <jahajeedesi2005@yahoogroups.com>

Sent: Sunday, January 15, 2017 6:44 PM

Subject: Re: Fwd: Warning to Govt__ Re: Divestment plan for Govt exit CLx Financial in 5 months

It grieves me to have to reply to this post but I feel compelled to offer a rather different insight based on those troublesome things called facts. I will deal with each of the points in the order they were stated –

See how the United States ad Europe handled those who committed white-collar crimes especially leading up to the 2007-2008 financial crisis

Reply : Every one of the leaders of AIG etc is still running the companies as before. Management was almost universally left in place to clean up the mess under the watchful eyes of the regulator. Governments do not know how to run companies. Just look at Petrotrin, CAL etc.

-  the people must be paid back every damn cent, in cash, and not in any future payments before any part of the company is returned to anyone.

Reply: This statement is self contradictory. Until the company is returned to shareholders, they obviously cannot repay anyone. The government and the Central Bank will therefore keep control forever. We should be seeking to get our money back asap which can only happen once the company is returned to its owners. I agree that the taxpayer and creditors should be repaid as soon as possible and that can only happen through the return of the company as demanded by the Central Bank Act.

– in addition, interest must be paid to the people on the principal bail-out amount, from 2008 to all the principal is  repaid.

Reply: Both Afra Raymond and I complained about the terms of the bailout at the time. We were ignored then. Once the terms had been signed they have to be adhered to, Its called the rule of law. Ironically, an early return of the company could be negotiated with interest from the date of agreement to date of payment. The earlier this is done the earlier we can start charging interest.

– there must total openness & transparency on all transactions

Reply: The lack of openness in the rescue has been breathtaking. It is successive administration to blame. They are currently in court contesting a lower court ruling that requests for information under the Freedom of Information Act must be complied with. I not only support your point but have myself submitted numerous requests under the Freedom of Information Act with no response

– those who caused the company to crash must be held accountable and charges laid. The CoE on CLICO/HCU must be made public or and the DPP take action before any part of the company is handed over. People are lost in Remand Yard for a ganja joint or minor crimes and some are jailed for years for minor crimes so we cannot allow those who cost us billions to simply get back their companies. If so, then all those in prisons must be released if they say they are sorry and repay for crime committed.

Reply: If offenses have been committed, the relevant parties must be taken through the courts. Without that there is no justification for denying them their legal rights. A rescue is meant to end in the return of the company and repayment of debt in the shortest possible time. If we wanted to take the company and its assets we should have been honest and nationalized it.

– the people must be convinced that adequate measures are put in place to prevent such a recurrence of the CLICO/HCU debacle before anyone associated with that fiasco is allowed to own or run any business in T&T.

Reply: I have argued from the outset that we have failed in this regard, and it only gets worse. Firstly, the Regulator (the Central Bank) has been put in control of the company that it failed to regulate. It now runs a company under its regulatory control. What chance of proper regulation? Further, the auditors who failed so miserably, PwC are the ones putting together the handover plan. The auditor of HCU has been villified and will never recover his previous standing. PwC by contrast is handed ever more consulting work. They have been rewarded for spectacular failure with hundreds of millions of dollars of work. Are we serious?

Finally, Duprey brought us a company that he said would recover once the global economic crisis eased. Kamla Persad Bessessar told us in 2010 that the deficit at the company was just over 7 billion. Minister Imbert told us last year that between 2010 and 2014, the assets at CLICO increased in value by more than 15 billion dollars, as Duprey had predicted. The company effectively saved itself but is still under government control. That is because of the value of the assets that are coveted by some. It is not because Duprey bequeathed us a Ponzi scheme as Prof Watson claimed. If he did we would be rushing to get rid of it.

David Walker

d.walker@alcindorwalker.com

On 01/15/2017 05:25 PM, TnT PATRIOTS wrote:

Will a recession-hit hard T&T allow the PNM govt to hand over CL Financial to the people who wrecked it, almost crashed the nation’s economy & financial system, destroyed lives, and cost the people over $25 billion? See how the United States ad Europe handled those who committed white-collar crimes especially leading up to the 2007-2008 financial crisis. Some of them still in jail and companies had to pay BILLION$ in fines.

Several issues/points:

-  the people must be paid back every damn cent, in cash, and not in any future payments before any part of the company is returned to anyone.

– in addition, interest must be paid to the people on the principal bail-out amount, from 2008 to all the principal is  repaid.  

– there must total openness & transparency on all transactions

– those who caused the company to crash must be held accountable and charges laid. The CoE on CLICO/HCU must be made public or and the DPP take action before any part of the company is handed over. People are lost in Remand Yard for a ganja joint or minor crimes and some are jailed for years for minor crimes so we cannot allow those who cost us billions to simply get back their companies. If so, then all those in prisons must be released if they say they are sorry and repay for crime committed.

– the people must be convinced that adequate measures are put in place to prevent such a recurrence of the CLICO/HCU debacle before anyone associated with that fiasco is allowed to own or run any business in T&T.

All in T&T must not allow this travesty to take place; we cannot allow the people to be left holding cat in bag while those who mismanaged, stole, and almost destroyed T&T to say they will repay some of the money, in shady & secret deals, and then get back the now profitable companies. The govt must be very careful in this tense and difficult period; they must tread carefully; they cannot take the people for granted; they may think the easy-going laid-back Trinis in the good times when money was flowing are the same Trinis when things are very bad but that would be a mistake they and the nation should not make or pay a heavy price; and the govt cannot demand higher taxes & sacrifice from the people while giving away companies that are still owe billions to the people.  Be very careful, PM and PNM govt.

3. Since a big gain in Tourist arrivals on our shores there have been a seismic shift in Adrian loveridge negative articles relating to Sandals.
    Once before a day or a week would not have gone by without Loveridge poison pen articles via media about Sandals Barbados
    Any one who believes that the concessions to Sandals are inappropriate should first be honest in their evaluation and consider the positive effect of the commercialization of barbados over international media by sandals .
    Such commercialization if had to be undertaken by govt at taxpayers costs would run the govt into millions of dollars yearly

4. The increase in visitor arrivals has almost NOTHING to do with Sandals as they still only have 280 rooms. The same number as Couples and Almond. As and when the additional rooms are online then we may be able to give them credit. 280 rooms is 280 rooms and accounts for around 560 people per week. FULL STOP. Again to repeat, what proportion of Sandals revenue ever gets to Barbados?

5. My point is that of relating money spent by Sandals via the commercialization of barbados as Tourist destination by the Sandals group to attract visitors to our shores
    Money which is a cost savings to govt annually contributing to govt revenue and money which when compared to the concessions given to sandals is money well spent

6. You make no point because a rising tide raise all boats. Tourism arrivals have increased across the Caribbean and cannot be attributed to Sandals alone. The Barbados wanted to attract a name brand hotel and was willing to pay for it with a washpan of concessions. This is a hotel where a significant % of monies remain offshore.

7. For all intents and reasons one can keep kicking the Concession bucket down the road but it is disingenuous to say that Sandals have not given back monetary to the revenue of barbados in jobs in purchasing power of local products and in the commercialization of the islands ,
    That financial aspect means that monies remain on the island and cannot fiscally be placed off shores
    Annually when all of the above is tabulated is a substantial cost savings to govt for whatever years or period of time Sandals remain on the island even past the twenty five year granted for concessions to Sandals with an fonancial outflow that positively affects the island overall

8. The “positive effect of the commercialization of Barbados over international media,” could also be attributed to other international brands such as Fairmont, Hilton, Sandy Lane and Elegant Hotels.

Sandals has 280 rooms, did you check the hotel’s occupancy levels before you wrote that shiite?

So to attributing the increase in tourist arrivals specifically to Sandals is being extremely disingenuous.

In keeping with your modus operandi of defending the DLP in this forum, you are only defending this inept administration’s decision to offer Sandals 40 years of tax free concessions.

9. Seriously ! Fairmont and other local named hotel brands have not been ambitious in their advertising of Barbados when compared to The Sandals brand.
    A brand which has not spared no expense in showcasing barbados world wide by their agrressive advertising
    It is almost laughable that a person who touts their profession in an area of accounts cannot understand the duplicity of the many areas of financial gains for Barbados that the country has derived from the Sandals brand in jobs and local spend including advertising which cannot but be a plus for tourist sourcing
    A truth which cannot be dismissed or disregarded looking through any political lens

10. So Sandals is the saviour of Bims tourism product…….now I have heard it all…….numbers up spend down…….what a saviour.

11. Firstly, your ignorance of the hotel industry caused you to erroneously categorize Fairmont as a “local named hotel brand.”

FAIRMONT is NOT a local hotel brand. FAIRMONT is an INTERNATIONAL BRAND that has a CUMULATIVE TOTAL of EIGHTY-TWO (82) HOTELS & LUXURY RESORTS located WORLD-WIDE, with 44 in Barbados, Bermuda, Canada, Mexico and USA; 9 in Europe; 18 in the Africa & Middle East; and 11 in Asia Pacific, which is by far MORE than Sandals hotels.

Why do you think Fairmont Royal Pavilion can boast of having occupancy levels averaging at least 90% year-round? Clearly, YOU DO NOT “understand the duplicity of the many areas of financial gains for Barbados that the country has derived from” international brands.

Secondly, since your political rhetoric has proven you do not have any knowledge of Fairmont, you cannot state as a fact that Fairmont has “not been ambitious in their advertising of Barbados when compared to The Sandals brand.”
    It is also ludicrous for you to suggest Sandals is SOLELY RESPONSIBLE “for the many areas of financial gains for Barbados that the country,” when you do not have any information relative to Fairmont’s contribution to the tourist industry or how much funds it allocates to advertising Barbados.

You comment on issues because it is POLITICALLY EXPEDIENT for you to do so, in your feeble, misguided attempts to defend the DLP, and not because you have a requisite knowledge of the subject. In this instance, you are essentially ATTEMPTING to SUPPORT and JUSTIFY government’s decision to give Sandals 40 years of tax free concession.

“A truth which cannot be dismissed or disregarded looking through any political lens.”

12. My statement pertaining to other named brands as local is not to be descriptive or taje away from the brand importance but to state a truth and questioned how much adverstising power Hotels like Fairmont has been influential is selling barbados as a preffered Tourist
    destination
    Also when one questions concessions granted to Sandals there is also a convenience of forgetfulness to the millions of dollars over the years that many Hoteliers were granted some of which was never paid back. In finances a loss is a loss and every penny adds up whether in concessions or monetary loans at taxpayers expense not refunded

13. The ACs continue to expose their ignorance in tourism related matters.

You cannot mention the word “TRUTH” or “QUESTION” how much advertising power Hotels like Fairmont has been influential is selling Barbados as a preferred Tourist destination,” especially when you do not KNOW of or HAVE any INFORMATION pertaining to Fairmont’s ADVERTISING POLICY.

Your common sense should tell you that a regional hotel chain would not advertise to sell a specific island “as a preferred tourist destination,” especially if it has many other hotels in other islands. What Sandals would do is to advertise those Caribbean islands in which its resorts are located, while highlighting places of interests or beaches, etc of those islands, to give potential tourists a choice (market demographics) or cater to a specific desire (market segmentation).

In other words, supposed “condition A” is specific to Barbados. Sandals, through advertising, would exploit that “condition” to solicit potential tourists into staying at Sandals resort.

Additionally, for example, Sandals Grande Antigua is located in Dickenson Bay, Antigua; an island that can boast of having 365 beaches. What is there to tell you that Sandals would not spend more to advertise Antigua than Barbados?

To suggest that because hoteliers were granted “millions of dollars over the years,” “some of which was never paid back,” justifies government’s decision to give Sandals 40 years of tax free concessions is not only ludicrous, but indicates a myopic way of thinking. TWO WRONGS will NEVER make it CORRECT.

If we were to take you argument to a logical conclusion, those hoteliers that never repaid “the millions of dollars over the years,” if the hotels are still opened, would have contributed to VAT, PAYE, other duties and taxes towards which Sandals and its management have a 40 year period not to contribute.

You and the DLP should tell Barbadians what are the cost benefits to Barbados relative to this Sandals arrangement?

14. By the way, have you ever worked in the tourism industry?

If not, then I don’t see any point in continuing this “discussion with you, because your comments would be based on FACT, but “hear say” and “political speculation.”

15. Will Bim get these???

http://ow.ly/OlnB3089VFT
    Would you like to see something similar in Barbados?
    Sandals’ overwater villas feature in the New York Post
    Leading Caribbean hotel resort chain Sandals recently unveiled its over-the-water bungalows with the acclaimed venture now being featured in the…
    loopnewsbarbados.com

16. What you should do is bring an argument that can prove that the estsbilshed hoteliers had a policy in place equal to that of Sandals that could have attracted tourist to barbados .instead of your usual political sound bites and twisted retorts to galvanize useless support for your mouthings

17. But you are the one who presented the argument Sandals is responsible for attracting tourist to Barbados, NOT ME.

Therefore, the ONUS is on you to “prove that the established hoteliers had a policy in place equal to that of Sandals that could have attracted tourist to Barbados.

I only showed your contribution was “absolute rubbish” and that you do not know anything about the tourism industry.

You can never bring anything to substantiate the shiite you post to BU, but use political rhetoric and generalized statements to support and justify the nonsense that this inept DLP administration has bestowed upon Barbadians.

It is ironic that whenever anyone presents an alternative perspective, which differs from that of the DLP, you accuse them of being political, and this against the background of you posting ONLY pro DLP contributions.

There isn’t anyone who contributes to this forum who brings the “usual political sound bites and twisted retorts to galvanize useless support for your mouthings” than YOU!!!

I hope you don’t commit suicide when the DLP loses the next general elections.

18. Sandals Barbados ad right now on CBC Canada TV.

19. Does anyone know what the BTMI does in Canada?

20. Listen negro the the proof of the onus lies in the fact that locally or internationally none of the big brand hotels mentioned have never done an appreciative job in comparison to Sandals by way of advertising locally or internationally.
    Sandals has out paced and outsmart every one of these named brand hotels on the island with a barrage of incentives to lure tourist to this tiny island
    Ok i will give the Crane a small edge out of respect that their advertising program has gain some leverage due in part to to some travellers guide contest which also has been beneficial to barbados imagev
    But for the most part other sophisticated brands are sleepers in their content and ineffective by methods of attractiveness to generate long term visitors interest in the island.

21. None so blind as those that refuse to see…….unfortunately that leads to all sorts troubles,even falling over cliffs.

22. You yes you Vincent do you understand the power of advertising nit wit.?

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Hants January 19, 2017 at 2:40 PM #
    Does anyone know what the BTMI does in Canada?

Here is a job fah yuh. I can tell you they take up office space in the Consul Generals office on Sheppherd, along with Invest Barbados. And love a conference, trade show or presentation. I am sure Mr Griffoot would love to see your report!!!!

24. Advertising is a powerful tool and a marketing strategy used world wide to build consumer confidence in a product
    Only a fool would snicker or dismiss the economic power of advertising
    Sandals brand would not be known world wide without the appartus of marketing which has converted Sandals into a well known household brand
    Govts across the carribbean have wisely tagged onto the Sandals brand as an additional support for reliable and a safe marketing startegy on behalf of their country

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Plus there was the big fete in TO last year
    http://www.paxnews.com/news/agency/barbados-water-returns-milestone-year

I have seen them in the past at shows out west too.
    Today 50% of most media budgets at targeted at digital and social media, but I don’t come across them too often. The lady in the house who is an expert in the area, tells me their twitter feed is awful.

26. AC

How do you know Sandals spends more money advertising Barbados than any other hotel?

Could you please give me the name of the website where I can read information relative to how much more money Sandals spends advertising Barbados than, say for example the Hilton, in which the government is a share holder?

Or could you post the financial statements of Sandals & Fairmont Royal Pavilion, so we could make a comparative analysis of each hotel’s advertising costs as it relates to Barbados?

Just cut the long talk and speculation and bring the proof, if you want us to take you seriously.

27. What the hell does ac know. Some of you spend too much time on ac, and avouch DLP yardfowl.There is no argument against the DLP she will ever agree.

28. David submit your research that can substantiate your above statement, BTW how come you never attack the BLP brigades that frequent this blog

29. Thomas Lynley

i never sated that Sandals spend more money on adverstising than any other Hotel in Barbados

This what i said
    the fact that locally or internationally none of the big brand hotels mentioned have never done an appreciative job in comparison to Sandals by way of advertising locally or internationally.

Sandals has out paced and outsmart every one of these named brand hotels on the island with a barrage of incentives to lure tourist to this tiny islandnt

My comments speak of strategy in their marketing programs , However one wants to speak of monetary value . One can point as an example advertising via international media specifically Television where one minute of advertising can cost millions of dollars

30. ac January 20, 2017 at 7:34 AM #

“Sandals has out paced and outsmart every one of these named brand hotels on the island with a barrage of incentives to lure tourist to this tiny island.”

Could you PLEASE SUBMIT the SUBSTANTIATING EVIDENCE to SUPPORT your ABOVE comments?

Where can we FIND this INFORMATION you are presenting in this forum as FACT and TRUTH?

It is blatantly clear that you DO NOT have any EVIDENCE to SUPPORT your claim and are only using generalized statements to make it appear as though you have intimate knowledge, when in actuality it’s your feeble attempt to justify why this inept DLP administration gave Sandals years of tax free concessions.

31. I stated my evidence in my last comment which is indisputable. Furthermore i have yet to see any evidence via international media specifically Television where any ither brand name hotel outside of Sandal has advertisement with an emphasis to showcased Barbados by name or any other reference.
    Any how if you have evidence to present instead of silly attacks to deflect i would retract my comment
    Btw You Tube does not count as International news media via Television

32. This is what you wrote in your “last comment”:

1) “the fact that locally or internationally none of the big brand hotels mentioned have never done an appreciative job in comparison to Sandals by way of advertising locally or internationally.”

The above is a GENERALIZED STATEMENT and cannot be CONSIDERED as EVIDENCE, unless you can PRESENT the SOURCE of your information.

2) “Sandals has outpaced and outsmart every one of these named brand hotels on the island with a barrage of incentives to lure tourist to this tiny island.”

Again, ANOTHER GENERALIZED STATEMENT that CANNOT be CONSIDERED as EVIDENCE, UNLESS you can PRESENT the SOURCE of your information or the STATISTICS to VERIFY your claim.

WHAT IS IT ABOUT MY REQUEST THAT YOU CANNOT UNDERSTAND?

Stop DEVIATING from the issue, and PRESENT the EVIDENCE by posting the source of your information, IT IS AS SIMPLE AS THAT…

Surely if you interpret my request for you to present STATISTICS or the SOURCE of your information for me to read as “silly attacks to deflect,” it clearly demonstrates you are only writing shiite on this issue, in an attempt to defend the DLP and their granting Sandals 40 years of tax free concessions.

If you know you cannot comply, why continue to comment on the issue?

33. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Artax continual clubbing of the “ac” must now be considered as abuse. He is decimating the yard-fowl population.

I am beginning to feel for ac.

34. Artax i know what i said no need for your version
    The truth is cannot bring proof to verify your comments

35. ac January 20, 2017 at 11:46 AM #

“The truth is cannot bring proof to verify your comments”

@ ac

It’s not MY comments you have to verify………. it’s YOURS!!!!!!

36. Anonymouse – The Gazer January 20, 2017 at 10:51 AM #

Chuckle…..not sure what can be done with a person arguing wrong and strong,methinks Artaxs’ way is the best akin to the teachers of a 100 years ago beating sense into what they saw as hard ears pupils,except in this case we have some one refusing to remove the blinkers which are causing all the abuse.

37. Negro u say i am wrong so prove yourself right . i dont think so.
    On previous occasion u have found some type of article to prove your comments .it is obvious on this issue u cant find any .
    Generalities my a ss

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

AC you amuse me from time to time.
    I have no issue with Sandals, or the fact they use extensive advertising, successfully, to promote their product. Once we appreciate they are promoting SANDALS, the destination isn’t relevant once you pick Sandals.
    That said, there is another person, whose enterprise is also in the accommodation and tourism business, and who is known to strike equally advantageous deals but whom you slam at every turn. I speak of D.J.Trump.

39. Northern agree that Sandals is promoting their products but as a part of that promtion location is relevant
    Not saying or pretending that Sandals business would not be of first preference for them in competing .But then again who would not place their interest above all else
    However the Fact which most here would like to dismiss is the Barbados attachment to Sandals wherby the island reaps some of the tourist sourcing done by the Sandals brand by way of advertising

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

While not measurable, the benefit to Bim is not invalid.
    I know when I used to watch the TV, printed ads and it was always Sandals-Sandals in destinations other than Bim, it was as if it were a lesser destination. Today it is on par.
    And I think it has more value than simply advertising the destination, which is the common method of most destinations. By advertising accommodation along with location it gives the traveler an immediate call to action versus the “contact your travel agent”, which is a dying trade.

41. It is measurable because it gives barbados an advantage in cost saving compared to if barbados goes solo would cost taxpayers millions of dollars for a sixty minute spot on international TV.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

By measuring, I meant the number of tourists who were drawn to Barbados by the Sandals ads, but who did not stay at Sandals. Not the costs, they are clear.
    By the way….you deftly avoided my comparison of Butch to DJT?

43. Word of mouth was always seen as having greater value than advertising

44. I CHALLENGE you to INDICATE WHERE in ANY of my RESPONSES to your political rhetoric on Sandals, I WROTE you were WRONG? And as such, since I never mentioned you were wrong, I DON’T have to find “some type of article” to prove your comments as being wrong.

You wrote statements suggesting as FACT, Sandals goes “above and beyond” the international hotel brands in Barbados to promote the island. All I asked you was to present the evidence to support your claim.

Instead, you PURPOSELY continue to AVOID my request, while shifting the “goal post” mentioning things I never wrote, as a way to save your “generalization ass.”

However, what I have once again PROVEN is that you are DISGRACEFUL, DISHONEST, LYING, HYPOCRITICAL yard-fowls, which is clearly EVIDENCED by your contributions to this issue.

45. @ ac

In a previous comment you wrote: “ac January 20, 2017 at 7:34 AM #: Sandals has outpaced and outsmart every one of these named brand hotels on the island with a BARRAGE of INCENTIVES to LURE tourist to this tiny island.”

Would you care to NAME these “barrage of incentives,” especially taking into consideration, for example, Sandals’ decision to choose Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum as the rum of choice “over and above” Barbadian rums, such as Mount Gay, Cock Spur, Old Brigand or ESA Fields?

“ac January 20, 2017 at 2:45 PM #: It is measurable because it gives Barbados an advantage in cost saving compared to if Barbados goes solo would cost taxpayers millions of dollars for a sixty minute spot on international TV.”

Are you DISCOUNTING the cumulative total cost of advertising done by the hundreds of hotels, apartments and guest houses in Barbados that also advertise and promote the island?

46. I meaning only if a survey was done by the barbados Tourism management would there be an official record stating if barbados benefits from Sandals advertising
    However i would venture to say that if Sandals marketing strategy was not successful inclusive to that of mentioning the name barbados they might have withdraw some of their advertising via international tv .
    Therefore by Sandals continuing that type of advertising it suggest that there is a measure of success in attracting visitors to our island how much can only be related to Sandals competitive marketing strategy

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    “Sandals’ decision to choose Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum as the rum of choice”
    Sandals is a BRAND. When I go into McDonald’s in Belgium or Shanghai, I expect to be able to order a Big Mac. Appleton 12yo is a premium rum, higher rated on most rum review sites than any Bajan Rum.
    And it has wide brand acceptance across the Americas. I haven’t seen a Cockspur rum in an Eastern Canada store in 7+years. Mount Gay is reasonably widely available, though their aged products are hit & miss to find.
    Further Appleton 12, is 12 year old rum. Mount Gay XO (formerly Extra Old) is a blend of rums between 8 & 15 years, while Cockspur Bajan Craft 12, is a blend between 4 & 17 years old, blended “to taste like a 12 year old”. Both are good rums….but, Appleton has better brand recognition amongst the majority of Sandal’s customers from the Americas. Plus Stewart is Jamaican?
    Good decision in my books.
    Similarly in blended Scotch, they pick JW Black, not Chivas. In single malt they pick Glenlivet, again along with Glenfiddich the best KNOWN (vs the best).
    They select the best they can negotiate and go with it across the board.