Submitted by nineofnine

solutions_barbadosSOLUTIONS BARBADOS seem intent to make a difference on the political landscape by offering what it deems a proposed draft of solutions (subject to improvement/revision) for the countries’ present economic and social challenges which by public outcry shows that present governance is found wanting in every Ministerial portfolio.

It is evident that the motive for such an endeavor is highly placed on management of the enormous Debt of which the country finds itself in. A staggering $13billion plus debt. With this in mind, a call/advertisement has been made for 30 employers (business men/women) to rally the cause as candidates for the next general election and so far 14 has answered that call yet (not known) until the formal announcement of election date or they of the own volition surrender their identities before such time.

Conflicts of interest.. businessmen as political leaders?
Will they separate themselves LEGALLY from their business interests as an act of transparency?
WHAT ROLE DOES THE ELECTORATE PLAY IN SELECTION OF CANDIDATES?
WHAT ABOUT CONSTITUENCIES AND THEIR CHOICE FOR REPRESENTATION?

Fundamentally, ELECTIONS are of the people, chosen candidates BY the people and act in service FOR the people. A group of volunteered/SELECTED business men/women is a non starter. There is high probability for corruption. There are many facets of government and it is wise that verse persons suitable for respective portfolios be considered, chosen by constituents with power to recall by the constituency.

As I see it there is no transparency thus far in this undertaking, but an attempt by opportunists for power and control WITH AN ELEMENT OF SURPRISE, somewhat like a Trojan horse.

In their “Policy Solutions“… must seek out/identify its foundational base, the intent of purpose and modus operandi for executing its agenda. In its opening paragraph, academics has been bashed for “RECENT ACADEMIC TRAINING” and lack of experience while adding insult to injury asks for restraint of comments of disagreement, terming them as lazy, yet wanting solutions. These opening remarks makes one reflect on recent comments made by the current Prime Minister.

FOUNDATIONAL BASE
First and foremost its foundational base seem to be the institutionalization of the ISO 9001 plan that concerns itself with streamlining management processes of “A PRODUCT” and an end result of “customer satisfaction”. The interpretation of the words PRODUCT and CUSTOMER must be defined. Is the “product” government and its systems/processes and the “customer” ISO 9001 strategists?

The General Requirements 4. QUALITY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM (section 4.1) of ISO 9001 ALLOWS for an open door for the co-control of an “out-sourced process” (note 2) BY AN EXTERNAL PARTY. Under this guise, SHOULD THE GOVERNANCE OF BARBADOS BE LIKENED TO A PRODUCT? In a nutshell, its no different to yielding to the IMF et al.Please examine this very carefully and understand the implications.

INTENT OF PURPOSE.
As the current political environment tend to be bordering on collapse (whether true or not), with the economy, confidence and polls at an all time low, this predicament could merit the opportunity for opportunists to snatch power of Governance (however conceivable)…. to what end?

Lets dig deeper on Governments’ indecision.. (an attack on sound and exemplary political service). Current indecisions by government surrounds (mostly in part) to Capital works and high-end projects, withdrawing pensions of politicians is a poor excuse of punishment for lack of efficiency and productivity, Again current functioning is due mainly in part to the affiliation to INTERNATIONAL ABC INSTITUTIONS (AS SIGNATORIES) and as your foundational pillar is based on implementing the ISO 9001 then the result will find the country in a similar predicament … “Letters of intent to withdraw” is the remedy for governments lack of control and efficiency, adding to that is, if you are not functioning, you will be recalled, replaced or reshuffled.

MODUS OPERANDI
It appears that when national issues surfaced, an attempt was made to address them, however conceived. Bear in mind that these proposed remedies/solutions will also apply to any successive government.

ACTION PLAN case points.
-Lack of civility in Parliament,…. a curtailment of exposure…absolute privilege vs secrecy. both require remedy.
-Civil servant apathy……………….. as in a recent CBB board appointment? All eligible voters have a right to affiliate to any political party of their choice, then how can there be any non- politicals unless the non-political is exempt of the laws of the land.
-Political victimization…………….. harsh and bordering dictatorship. a violation of Constitutional rights, to disallow a civil servant to join a political party of their choice is already deem a victimization It also has an effect on voter count at election time.
-Non-passionate nurses and teachers.. “educational grants for an alternative career” do not retain these persons in the profession. Strategy of ISO 9001 at work… simply address the concerns of these professionals, this is the solution.
-Statutory corporations………….. A permanent Secretary cannot counsel himself, CEO/Minister same role but switched while encumbering the PS with greater responsibility and POWER without the dictates/recommendations of a counselling body, he then can definitely determine CONTRACT all by himself.

Part 2 will address Improving the Regulatory System and more

258 responses to “For the Claim of Solutions of a Third Political Party Part I”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“I wish that someone would organise a public discussion, perhaps in a secondary school hall or some other venue. I will happily attend and respond to all queries and misunderstandings”.

You are the one supposed to do that Grenville, with refreshments, make it a family affair so that everyone participates…..but make it clear it’s not to accumulate yardfowls.

Now ya know why ya need some degree of financing.

My advice is free and genuine.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson…, why dont you invite my boyfriend Justin to take a little time off from from Canada and go to Barbados to do that, form an all white and smart…smite, political party….the girls will love him.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson……vous pouvez mรชme apporter quelques danseurs exotiques pour les danses de lap avec vous, il devrait convaincre tous les mรขles qu’un gouvernement tout blanc est meilleur, nous aurions dรฉjร  les femelles bave ร  Justin….lol

I could get into trouble with the male population for putting that in english.

4. @ nextparty246

What are you going to do with the corrupted top civil servants apart from rewarding them with not paying income tax, are you sending a bride to the civil servant like the DLP did in 2008

5. I wonder if Roy Morris’ resignation from the Nation which is owned by OCM,signals the first of the secret Solutions candidates stepping into the ring?

6. As you take your sip of tea
    Whether it be Liptons or Tetley
    Have you ever wonder
    The origin of its flavor
    You may not be so alarmed
    โ€˜cause it came from Assam
    Or shocked at this shameful horrible story
    Of the Teas of P G Tips, Twinings or Tetley
    Grown chiefly near the banks of the Brahmaputra
    Itโ€™s the largest tea producing plantations of India
    In an ideal of 96.8 ยบ (F) temperature
    Giving it its malty taste and bright colour
    ๏ฟผ
    Often sold as sometimes Irish Breakfast Tea
    Or Black, or White or Green tea variety
    These teas, as shocking as was Slavery
    Has oodles of baggages of chicanery

Your tea time may be your bliss
    And you may reject tea after this
    From whence it came
    They showed no shame
    If its from India behold
    Its a horrible story untold
    If its from the Assam estates of Assam
    Where the living condition is a sham
    The Giant Assam supply tea to the company
    Of PG Tips, Liptons, Twinings and Tetley
    The manager described conditions as a No No
    And so did Lady Sarah Roberts the big CEO

She said workers conditions as not acceptable
    But did nothing which is damn deplorable
    What they meant was that the estate
    Of 740 homes couldnโ€™t accommodate
    Workers to relieve themselves in 464 toilets
    After filling millions of back breaking baskets
    Many families when they get the rushes
    Just defecate amongst the tea bushes

Sanitation amidst toilets blocked and broken
    With over flowing cesspits more than a token

And on some estates even child labour are used.
    For managementsโ€™ behaviour left workers obtused
    So next time when its tea time around four pm
    Remember the pickers and the plight of them
    Think of where and why it tastes so refreshing
    Write to those who are doing your legislating
    It isnโ€™t from the fresh air of Assam of the greedy plantation owners
    But maybe its from the excreta from the abused wretched workers.

Ps. Pls send this to BUSH TEA.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Grenville….as I told you on another blog, it’s a tradeoff, you will have to spend to hold people’s interest, you do not have to buy votes, but you need social gatherings to convince people….and that is where the campaign finance comes in…Wickham was telling the truth, it really is a tradeoff.

So start moving around the island now, there are only 11 parishes, gather the people and answer their questions, ya have one year.

Make no mistake though, the people you need to vote fir you are the poorest, they make up the majority population, they cannot afford to catch buses, with that useless bus service to go to you, but you can afford to go to them, just dont forget them if you succeed.

8. “The exception is that public servants should not be paying income tax.”

I recall they weren’t suppose to pay duties on cars or interest on mortgages either. I repeat these policies are not progressive or well thought out. There are sensible and pragmatic ways to address civil servants, tax free pay aint one. #aliceinwonderland

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@nextparty246 Re: Tax Policy

Grenville,
    Reducing income tax rates does NOT increase tax revenues. It has never worked in Barbados or any other jurisdiction that I am aware of. The theory that you could cut tax rates and increase revenue gained currency under Reagan and Thatcher, but has been completely discredited (See http://rricketts.ba.ttu.edu/Tax%20Rates%20and%20Revenues.htm for example).

I am curious about your statement that “public servants should not be paying income tax.” Does this mean that their gross salaries get reduced by the amount they formerly owed in taxes, or does it mean that their gross salaries stay the same and the government deficit increases by over $200 million (the estimated tax on the government’s payroll of over $800 million).

Furthermore, how will you define public servant? Just government employees? What about people who work for charities?

10. He is not meant for the the smite party your boyfriend is more the drool and flounce type or the dunce party for short.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Still got a long way to go Grenville, gotta get it together.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Lawson you really love Justin and will one day be grateful he is your pm.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/donald-trump-press-conference-folders-business-plan-empire-blank-fake-handover-donald-jr-eric-a7523426.html

Who is surprised.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/donald-trump-defence-secretary-james-mattis-putin-nato-world-order-biggest-attack-wwii-world-war-mad-a7524256.html

So nice to see it all falling apart.

Everyone knew there was never ever a plan to make the country great, it was always about self-interest.

Let this be a lesson for all political parties, if you are not genuine, it will all fall apart, a new and different era is upon us.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson….as much as you are cussing Justin just imagine if you had Fruendel and Clowns as PM of Canada telling you that the potholes from Toronto to Scarborough and running through 2 other cities are mere inconveniences and the tourist dont mind, so you shouldn’t either….what then, I bet ya prefer Justin, if ya had that crowd to chose from….lol

15. “You can even bring some exotic dancers to lap dance with you. It should convince all males that a wholly white government is better. we would already have the females drool at Justin

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…lawson will love that, haha.

17. Dear All:

My responses follow.

WATCHMAN

To address the corruption concerns, we will allow a 3-month amnesty-of-sorts, where any person or company which has paid or received a bribe can pay a fine equal to the value of the bribe. After 3 months, whistle-blower legislation will be proclaimed where the fine is increased to 10 times the value of the bribe for both giver and received. The whistle-blower gets a reward equal to the value of the bribe. Details are on our web-site.

WELL WELL

We plan to recommence public meetings shortly. In the past, they have not been expensive.

PETER L THOMPSON

The opinion blog entry is very misleading since it does not separate actual revenues. You should have referenced a published peer-reviewed paper in a reputable journal. Please review the 2009 paper โ€œA New Measure of Taxation: An Application to Barbadosโ€ by Greenidge and Drakes published in the Journal of Public Sector Policy Analysis for actual evidence.

Best regards,
    Grenville

18. “To address the corruption concerns, we will allow a 3-month amnesty-of-sorts, where any person or company which has paid or received a bribe can pay a fine equal to the value of the bribe. After 3 months, whistle-blower legislation will be proclaimed where the fine is increased to 10 times the value of the bribe for both giver and received. The whistle-blower gets a reward equal to the value of the bribe. Details are on our web-site.”

Hahahaaaaaaaaaa. #aliceinwonderland

19. @ Grenville who wrote “After 3 months, whistle-blower legislation will be proclaimed”

Have you studied how Barbados is governed ? Parlimentary procedures, drafting legislation etc?

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Grenville….just remember you have to go down in the trenches, let the people who dont know you, get to know you, meet and greet, a years worth of meeting and socializing with people whose votes ya need, will add up, financially.

A minority of 8 0r 10 thousand people, cannot give you the 60, 0r 70,000 votes ya will need to win an election..

21. @ lawson
    Well Well what yo need is a new party to run the country made up of smart white people or smite for short. Smite can get the country running right again.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Wait!!! …you still daydreaming about the good old days boss?
    Never again….. and you can take Bushie’s word on that.

No matter how much wanna bribe the politicians…
    No matter how much of our assets wunna get the Parros to sell to wunna…
    No matter how foolish the black brass bowls make us all look…
    You will NEVER get to relive those ‘plantation days’ of old….

The next order of business for this old world of ours is a period of chaos and death,
    ….and then a rebirth of epic and biblical proportions….

If you make it that far… be sure to give Bushie a shout…

22. l
    Lol bushy you think i really want whites running barbados far from it..I cannot see me ever owning property if whites were in charge, no you guys will run this country into the ground you have done a great job in the last 50 years and at some point I will get that lot off molyneaux unless i decide to buy a toyota instead.

23. LOL @ Lawson
    You are a bright fella…. cause the REAL albino-centrics bout here would eat you alive…
    …and probably confine you to a shack in St John….

You problem is that you are fractionally reasonable…. you don’t really like money bad enough – like Money Brain or Chad99999 for example….
    …here it is you are settling for a Toyota… or a lot…
    A REAL, REAL albino-centric would want the WHOLE of molyneaux …AND a Rolls….

You like you is one of we brass bowls yuh…..

24. I hope Grenville knows how to talk to poor, poorly educated voters. If he goes out spouting O&C language, and big words like Fumbles and Dompey, he won’t be understood.

25. @bajans

Didn’t Bajans vote for Stuart last election big words and all?

26. Bushie wrote”There are some obvious flaws in this logic however, most notably the propensity of business people to be among the most selfish and greedy of people”

Bushie you too loves to mash up business people doh. The fact is that the most successful Nations on Earth have very vibrant business communities providing employment and thereby sustenance for their employees families. Meanwhile those Nations run by Socialist or Commies tend to be POORER. Naturally, Nations should aspire to have an equitable distribution of income and not become lopsided with just a few exceedingly rich and a multitude of poor like Cuba and Russia for instance. Governments which encourage the right business environment are more likely to to raise the standard of living of all citizens.

The solution where Pols are concerned is to pay Pols very well indeed but have very strict Integrity Legislation with absolutely viscous consequences for corrupt actions. In Singapore they pay MPs a couple $mn per year but no one dares to be corrupt.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Solutions Barbados

I reviewed โ€œA New Measure of Taxation: An Application to Barbadosโ€ by Greenidge and Drakes as you suggested. It’s fascinating, but while it concludes that “direct
    taxation was found to have had negative growth effects,” it does not at all address the point we were discussing: will decreasing income tax rates in Barbados decrease government tax revenue? The answer to this question is most certainly yes. The increase in growth spurred by a tax cut is nowhere near large enough to make up for the lost tax revenue in government coffers.

There is no doubt that a very high tax rate reduces tax revenue. The revenue raised is the tax rate multiplied by the revenue available for taxation (the tax base). If the rate is 0% the revenue raised is $0. If the tax rate is 100% the revenue raised is also $0 because the tax base falls to 0 as there is no incentive to work at all coupled with a large incentive to not declare any income. Somewhere in between 0% and 100% tax rate the tax revenue is maximised.

In this article, Stuart, C. E. (1981). “Swedish Tax Rates, Labor Supply, and Tax Revenues”. Journal of Political Economy. 89 (5): 1020โ€“38. doi:10.1086/261018, they calculate that the tax rate that maximizes revenue is 70%. This one, Pecorino, Paul (1995). “Tax rates and tax revenues in a model of growth through human capital accumulation”. Journal of Monetary Economics. 36 (3): 527. doi:10.1016/0304-3932(95)01224-9, calculates it to be around 65%. Both articles are dated because economists settled this question decades ago.

The Bajan tax rate is very far below the 65% to 70% range which maximises tax revenue, so it it indisputable that the Solutions Barbados proposed tax policy will cause a dramatic decline in government revenue even though it will likely speed up economic growth.

The burden of your tax policy will fall disproportionately on the poor and working classes: first because their taxes will go up steeply with the elimination of the personal deduction, second because they are the users of government services in health, education and social welfare that you’ll be forced to cut because the central bank is tired of printing money.

Your tax policy is a great for folks like you and me, but that doesn’t make it good for Barbados.

28. @ nextparty246 January 12, 2017 at 12:09 PM #

…….” First, Ninofnineโ€™s analysis of Solutions Barbadosโ€™ policies is fatally flawed by a complete misunderstanding of the ISO 9001 quality management system. Perhaps if he/she has some working knowledge of the system, he/she would have done a much better analysis. Responding to every flawed point would simply take too much time. However, it may be necessary since the reader may be misled. I will have to set aside some time.

In the interim, please note that while we decided to politicize our civil service, Singapore chose to professionalise theirs and manage it in accordance with the ISO 9001 system. They have since exceeded that international standard.”……..

First, allow me to extend best wishes to you on your quest to present an alternative to current governance of 246 hoping that having a genuine intent to serve, sow prudently you will reap the just rewards of servitude. Guidance will come from unfamiliar avenues, instruction from the heart, always have a listening ear and do good wherever and whenever its required, so be it.

ISO 9001.
    http://cucqae.cu.edu.eg/materials/ISO_9001_2008.pdf

Never ever take things at face value. A rebuttal is the first response to things camouflaged.
    Much was debated of the Singapore model, and conceive successes have been documented. What was drawn to your attention and that which is part and parcel of the ISO 9001 document AND Solutions Barbados base is…

NOTE 2 An โ€œoutsourced processโ€ is a process that the organization needs for its quality management system and which the organization chooses to have performed by an external party.

The words “NEEDS” and “BY AN EXTERNAL PARTY” is questionable of intent. HOW do one interpret this paragraph? please explain, your understanding is of interest. Do one have to be in the system to understand the policies of that system? SB will put forward policies and hope that all laymen will understand them, right?

BY YOUR OWN ADMISSION … “Responding to every flawed point would simply take too much time. However, it may be necessary since the reader may be misled.”

A point is a point (valid) or otherwise flawed (imperfect). Bashing EVERY point as flawed, then to connote that “the reader MAY be mislead” construes unawareness of fact.
    Scrutiny is the right the electorate.

As layman, ……..ORGANIZATION = COUNTRY.
    As layman, ……..PRODUCT = GOVERNANCE
    As layman, ……..PROCESSES = ALL ADMINISTRATIVE BODIES
    As layman, ……. Who will be the satisfied customers?

As layman, …….SOLUTIONS BARBADOS as understood, seek to form a political party base on the standards of ISO 9001, using a global standard system for product/service development processes to run government like a business. TRUE or FALSE?

ISA + UNITED NATIONS Standards Coordinating Committee (UNSCC) = the new GLOBAL standards body ISO

In SIGNAPORE, ISO 9001 was/is a product development system for business enterprises for a global certification of their product/service, it has a stringent adherence format, costly by way of consultation, training and audits.

IT HAS NOT BEEN IMPLIMENTED THUS FAR ON STRUCTURING AND STREAMLINING A GOVERNMENT.

29. P L T

You really believe that lowering ridiculously high Tax rates would not create the conditions for higher Tax Revenue?
    Well my wife and I suffered a 70% MT rate in Bim and we migrated to Canada which after our recent 36th year here has cost the Bdos Inland Revenue more than $2.5mn at the more moderate approx 40-45% level that has existed for many years. So we know for certain that high MT rates leads to a loss of Revenue (many Taxpayers have left numerous overtaxed jurisdictions throughout history) so logic dictates that a more reasonable lower rate should lead to an increase assuming that other laws/ regs are conducive to business formation and growth. Naturally, in the US right now if they only lower Tax brackets a bit and leave the very onerous Regs and Obamacare in place then a reduction of revenue almost certainly will occur.

30. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Money Brain

I was using the KPMG website which says “The income tax rates are 16 percent on the first BBD35,000 of taxable income and 33.5 percent thereafter. There is a basic personal allowance of BBD25,000. The personal allowance is BBD40,000 for pensioners who are 60 years of age or over and in receipt of a pension.”

How does this get to 70%?

31. P L T
    I was referring to the late 1970s under Tom, where there was a 70% bracket, where a $3000 Bonus became $900, we migrated at the end of 1980. How can a highly educated gent like Tom seriously believe that a 70% rate could ever work with young professionals??????? They evidently did not teach commonsense or Comprehending Humans 101, at Oxford. Pity cause Tom was a good leader otherwise.( I will refrain from mentioning other exceptions to good, like Gambling and womanising)

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Money Brain
    I left in for Canada in 1975… missed the whole Tom era.

33. You guys should be discussing effective tax rates, not marginal rates. Marginal rates make comparisons difficult, because the bite of any marginal rate depends on the level of income at which it takes effect.

Also, there is no such thing as a single tax rate that maximizes tax revenue. The tax rate that maximizes tax revenue will vary over time and among countries depending on a host of political, cultural (and possibly racial) factors. There are very few “settled” questions in social science. Change is a constant.

There is also a difference between the effective tax rate and the effective rate at which personal income is taxed. Income tax is only one of many taxes imposed on households. The total rate of effective taxation takes into account the payment of sales taxes, property taxes, excise taxes, etc.

34. WE all know that the political process in Barbados is “controlled”. There are too many instance of so called big up politicians who in a general election are assured another victory because their opponent is little more than a poppit!!! Look at who were run against MIa, David Simmons, Henry Ford, Bree, Barrow now Freundel!! All political losers with little of no chance of winning because they will be starved of vital financial resources!!! Remember the quip Barrow made when Junior was on the way to defeat David Simmons, his friend!!!!

Both political parties shall squeeze the brass bowl out of this new party and then divide the political spoils by absorbing the more important members of this new party!!! Stupid Bajans will be told and accept that independents and third parties CAN NOT work in Barbados. But the doctors and lawyers shall make sure they are involved in this party for one can not take chances with the electorate!!!

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/aPgx307XIy5

Since spying agencies always send in more than one spy, to acquire mutiple tapes as evidence, it seems that these spies are not lying, they claim to have multiple tapes, the fake news seems to be coming from Trump.

It’s unfolding beautifully. …much fun to watch…lol

Get ya popcorn ready.

36. @lemuel

With your thinking there is no hope?

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lemuel….there is hope, Grenville can be molded, bajans just have to shed themselves of the 2 decades old blighted political parties that are at this time not much use to the people, because they do not serve the majority people, they serve minorities and whoever funds their political campaigns.

The people are now responsible for embracing new candidates, new faces, but have all rights to scrutinize and investigate these new faces and their families within an inch of their lives for conflicts of interest that can ruin the people’s business, government business….as has happened with both political parties in the last 50 years.

Despite Grenville’s double speak, advice given him by his lawyers, I am sure he feels much lighter now he has addressed the issue of his father who sat on CGI’s boad of Directors at one time, those are albatrosses that can hang around one’s neck, if hidden in an attempt to keep secrets from an electorate…he can now move on, but with the knowledge that the situation will be watched carefully and as he is not willing to jeopardize his integrity by lying to cover up such instances, he would know that such situations should not occur, because he is answerable to the people….the past is the past before one embarks on a life of PUBLIC SERVICE, then your life is under a microscope.

38. @ David
    lemuel is correct.
    He probably understands that there are much larger forces at work here, than the petty desires of human bowls.

39. @Bush Tea

We always intersect at the boundary of the temporal and other world. Some of still have to find ourselves in the temporal world to gain the courage to take the leap.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The people who jump out to extol education as a phenomenon with such false pride need to look around the earth, education is not solely a bajan thing, it’s a worldwide thing and has been around for hundreds of thousands of years in one form or another.

The current form of Caribbean educational brainwash has only been around for 50 years because of an immigration and transplant of people to the Caribbean in the last 400 years….wake the help up and call it what it is, stupid people with engineered false pride.

41. Bush Tea January 13, 2017 at 7:20 AM #

Let not your heart be troubled anymore…….the human bowls have a date with destiny according to your brothers in BBE.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/living/2608035/this-is-the-bizarre-reason-why-some-christians-predict-the-world-will-end-this-weekend/

42. Vinnie tell them to watch this video and chill .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88GTUXvp-50

More likely than apocalypse this w/e.

43. MB

Chuckle…..nothing so will get through to them.

44. PETER L THOMPSON

Peter, talking about 0% and 100% tax rates to support your position is not helpful and will only mislead those who have not studied this issue. I am sure that you are aware of this. It is too important an issue to be a simple academic argument.

First, the authors examined the effects of increasing taxes in various countries. Let me let the authors speak for themselves.

SPAINโ€™S taxation policies.

โ€œResults showed that tax increases constrained economic activity [kept it from growing] and only temporarily improved the fiscal position.โ€

โ€œwhile indirect taxation seemed to have no impact on economic activity, direct taxation appeared to have a contractionary [shrinking of the economy] effect.โ€

โ€œThe authors also found that increases in indirect taxes are inflationary [increased the price of living], while direct taxes seemed to have no effect on prices.โ€

ITALYโ€™S taxation policies.

โ€œnet revenue had negligible effects on real private GDP, inflation, employment and the long-term nominal interest rate.โ€

16 OECD COUNTRIESโ€™ taxation policies.

โ€œHis findings indicated that [increased] taxes, but not expenditure, had a strong [harmful to consumer] effect on inflation.โ€

23 OECD COUNTRIESโ€™ taxation policies.

โ€œResults also indicted that the effective labour income tax rates and growth are negatively correlated,โ€

G7 COUNTRIESโ€™ and 11 OECD COUNTRIESโ€™ taxation policies.

โ€œthe results of which gave support to Harbergerโ€™s (1964) argument that despite theory outlining how tax changes impact the long-run growth rate, in reality such changes have negligible effects on growth.โ€

EURO AREAโ€™S taxation policies.

โ€œResults indicated that cuts in tax rates on labour income and on consumption have significant positive impacts on consumption and output.โ€

โ€œAdditionally, decreases in tax rates on capital income were found to encourage investment and output in the medium term.โ€

USAโ€™S taxation policies.

โ€œtax increases are very contractionary [cause shrinking of the economy], particularly due to the negative impact they have on investment.โ€

The authors then studied Barbadosโ€™ taxation policies from 1970 to 2009 and found a clear trend of increasing tax revenues with the lowering of taxation rates. The dramatic trends are graphically described in the paper.

Your conclusion that the tax policies will fall disproportionally on the โ€œpoor and working classโ€ is therefore unsupported by the evidence.

It should be noted that the 2009 study, which was relevant to Barbados, was fortuitously available to the current administration at the start of their first term. I encouraged the DLP at that time to trust Barbadians and try reducing taxes. They did not take my advice โ€“ to the detriment of the โ€œpoor and working classโ€. Please do not be so quick to reject good advice.

Best regards,
    Grenville

45. Grenville is a TOTAL moron on the distributional effects of different tax policies.

Please go back to school.

46. NINEOFNINE

Dear NINE. Once again, you have demonstrated such a complete misunderstanding of the ISO 9001 system that I honestly do not know where to begin. Let me start with your query.

ORGANIZATION = Government Department.
    PRODUCT = Government service provided by that department.
    PROCESS = The method that the service is prepared and delivered.
    CUSTOMERS = Internal customers can be the staff and external customers are those who access Government services.

On your uninformed statement about ISO use in the public sector, I am asking you and all readers to read the following linked presentation about implementing ISO in the public sector by the then ISO Secretary-General in 2001 (it leads to a pdf file). I recommended that the BLP implement it when they governed, but they chose not to. Now you are also discouraging its use. We have squandered the past 17 years while other nations have left us behind.

http://www.iso.org/iso/livelinkgetfile?llNodeId=21838&llVolId=-2000

Best regards,
    Grenville

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

” It is too important an issue to be a simple academic argument”

True. However, you had better find a more simplistic explanation the PEOPLE can understand. Or the rejections will continue.

48. CHAD99999

Did you actually read the paper?

Best regards,
    Grenville

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Once again, you have demonstrated such a complete misunderstanding of the ISO 9001 system that I honestly do not know where to begin”…INTERPRETATION….you are stupid.

Ditto…”On your uninformed statement”

You do NOT get people to VOTE FOR YOU by telling them they are stupid and uninformed? You are not preaching to a bunch of academics in a post graduate course?