Submitted by nineofnine

solutions_barbadosSOLUTIONS BARBADOS seem intent to make a difference on the political landscape by offering what it deems a proposed draft of solutions (subject to improvement/revision) for the countries’ present economic and social challenges which by public outcry shows that present governance is found wanting in every Ministerial portfolio.

It is evident that the motive for such an endeavor is highly placed on management of the enormous Debt of which the country finds itself in. A staggering $13billion plus debt. With this in mind, a call/advertisement has been made for 30 employers (business men/women) to rally the cause as candidates for the next general election and so far 14 has answered that call yet (not known) until the formal announcement of election date or they of the own volition surrender their identities before such time.

Conflicts of interest.. businessmen as political leaders?
Will they separate themselves LEGALLY from their business interests as an act of transparency?
WHAT ROLE DOES THE ELECTORATE PLAY IN SELECTION OF CANDIDATES?
WHAT ABOUT CONSTITUENCIES AND THEIR CHOICE FOR REPRESENTATION?

Fundamentally, ELECTIONS are of the people, chosen candidates BY the people and act in service FOR the people. A group of volunteered/SELECTED business men/women is a non starter. There is high probability for corruption. There are many facets of government and it is wise that verse persons suitable for respective portfolios be considered, chosen by constituents with power to recall by the constituency.

As I see it there is no transparency thus far in this undertaking, but an attempt by opportunists for power and control WITH AN ELEMENT OF SURPRISE, somewhat like a Trojan horse.

In their “Policy Solutions“… must seek out/identify its foundational base, the intent of purpose and modus operandi for executing its agenda. In its opening paragraph, academics has been bashed for “RECENT ACADEMIC TRAINING” and lack of experience while adding insult to injury asks for restraint of comments of disagreement, terming them as lazy, yet wanting solutions. These opening remarks makes one reflect on recent comments made by the current Prime Minister.

FOUNDATIONAL BASE
First and foremost its foundational base seem to be the institutionalization of the ISO 9001 plan that concerns itself with streamlining management processes of “A PRODUCT” and an end result of “customer satisfaction”. The interpretation of the words PRODUCT and CUSTOMER must be defined. Is the “product” government and its systems/processes and the “customer” ISO 9001 strategists?

The General Requirements 4. QUALITY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM (section 4.1) of ISO 9001 ALLOWS for an open door for the co-control of an “out-sourced process” (note 2) BY AN EXTERNAL PARTY. Under this guise, SHOULD THE GOVERNANCE OF BARBADOS BE LIKENED TO A PRODUCT? In a nutshell, its no different to yielding to the IMF et al.Please examine this very carefully and understand the implications.

INTENT OF PURPOSE.
As the current political environment tend to be bordering on collapse (whether true or not), with the economy, confidence and polls at an all time low, this predicament could merit the opportunity for opportunists to snatch power of Governance (however conceivable)…. to what end?

Lets dig deeper on Governments’ indecision.. (an attack on sound and exemplary political service). Current indecisions by government surrounds (mostly in part) to Capital works and high-end projects, withdrawing pensions of politicians is a poor excuse of punishment for lack of efficiency and productivity, Again current functioning is due mainly in part to the affiliation to INTERNATIONAL ABC INSTITUTIONS (AS SIGNATORIES) and as your foundational pillar is based on implementing the ISO 9001 then the result will find the country in a similar predicament … “Letters of intent to withdraw” is the remedy for governments lack of control and efficiency, adding to that is, if you are not functioning, you will be recalled, replaced or reshuffled.

MODUS OPERANDI
It appears that when national issues surfaced, an attempt was made to address them, however conceived. Bear in mind that these proposed remedies/solutions will also apply to any successive government.

ACTION PLAN case points.
-Lack of civility in Parliament,…. a curtailment of exposure…absolute privilege vs secrecy. both require remedy.
-Civil servant apathy……………….. as in a recent CBB board appointment? All eligible voters have a right to affiliate to any political party of their choice, then how can there be any non- politicals unless the non-political is exempt of the laws of the land.
-Political victimization…………….. harsh and bordering dictatorship. a violation of Constitutional rights, to disallow a civil servant to join a political party of their choice is already deem a victimization It also has an effect on voter count at election time.
-Non-passionate nurses and teachers.. “educational grants for an alternative career” do not retain these persons in the profession. Strategy of ISO 9001 at work… simply address the concerns of these professionals, this is the solution.
-Statutory corporations………….. A permanent Secretary cannot counsel himself, CEO/Minister same role but switched while encumbering the PS with greater responsibility and POWER without the dictates/recommendations of a counselling body, he then can definitely determine CONTRACT all by himself.

Part 2 will address Improving the Regulatory System and more

258 responses to “For the Claim of Solutions of a Third Political Party Part I”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I see Grenville is on Naked Departure working hard at distancing himself from Peter Harris, how unfortunate for him he cannot dispute or distance himself as being a board director at CGI Insurance helping Peter Harris destroy the lives of injured claimants and policyholders.

The evil deeds you do tend to follow you…lol

2. For the sake of total transparency TRUMP has relinquish ALL control of ALL his business to family members LEGALLY via a press conference while blasting MSM (CNN) for fake news

A notable example to follow…

@19 mark

3. Crap

4. Grenville Phillips II the spokesman for Solutions Barbados has refuted the accusation he is involved with Peter Harris /CGI. Given what we know of Grenville the BU household will take his word over all and sundry in the absence of irrefutable evidence.

Dear All:

Please be advised that Peter Harris is neither a candidate, advisor, financial backer, nor is in anyway associated with Solutions Barbados. Further, I have never had a role with CGI, and have never been associated with the company at any level – I do not even have a policy of any type with CGI.

Please note that I am not distancing myself from Peter Harris or CGI. I am simply correcting the allegation.

Best regards, Grenville

5. The BU household will always give some time to the Grenvilles and Neil Holders of BIM party because they have gotten up from their backsides and decided to make a difference.

Here is the irony:

We select politicians from among the people who are shown to be controlled and manipulated by the businessmen in our society, yet, we criticize Grenville for encouraging businessmen to step forward and cut out members of the political class. What a system we have!

6. “Fundamentally, ELECTIONS are of the people, chosen candidates BY the people and act in service FOR the people. A group of volunteered/SELECTED business men/women is a non starter. ”

Imagine the same people who were recently critical of Maria Agard’s removal, the defeat of David Gill in the nomination of a candidate for SMSC and the selection of Verla Depeiza ahead of Taan Abed are now supporting 14 candidates chosen by themselves WITHOUT any constituents’ input. #arealaliceinwonderland

Re – CGI. Grenville is correct, but me thinks it is/was his father.

7. We have never found anything particularly redeemable about ‘businessmen’ or in the local context ‘merchants’.

There are very few real local ‘businessmen’. We largely mean people who import and sell but inaccurately referred to as businessmen/women. When we mean merchants!

In any effect, they could hardly be more than 20 candidates between all parties that measure up to the highest ideals, under the present system.

Indeed, merchants by they very nature cannot be assumed to have any more commitment to the nation than the lawyer/politician.

Some may urge us to expect a rancid oligarchical regime which will go to any lengths to achieve objectives.

Soldiers in the streets if necessary.

We can’t think why the backers of this hidden and misbegotten idea would want to expect sentient people to willfully surrender to Uncle Grenville and his band of unknowables, people to be imposed, what the people in the US would call an ‘AstroTurf government’

These are the kinds of things often to occur in a military context.

They may be best advised to save themselves the embarrassment and start the preparations for the back-street abortion as best described by Richie Haynes.

8. @enuff

Let us agree that Grenville’s is a novel approach, the people will decide on general election day. He is obviously hoping that the track records of his people speak loudly.

9. @nineofnine January 12, 2017 at 7:44 AM #

โ€œTrump Organization handover plan slammed by ethics chief
    The director of the US Office of Government Ethics has criticised Donald Trump’s plan to hand control of his business empire to his sons before his inauguration on 20 January.

The plan does not match the “standards” of US presidents over the last 40 years, Walter Shaub saidโ€

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-38591754

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I repeat, with an addition for full clarification, because this is not the time to go soft on any candidates seeking election to have access to and control of the treasury and who will be representative of the people of Barbados, so far you have had 2 failed political parties for 50 years who only are expert at telling lies and deceiving the electorate.

I make no apologizes, these candidates need to prove they are worth 1 vote.

Well Well & Consequences January 12, 2017 at 7:31 AM #
    Grenville, Barbados needs new faces in the political landscape, devoid of corruption, devoid of not paying their employees vacation pay, NIS or benefits, devoid of the schemes, scams and manipulations, bribery and outright theft of taxpayer’s money via taxpayer’s contracts by the 5% minorities who do business on the island and believe the black majority are their chattel and are aided by ministers of both governments.

Since you can respond and has presented yourself to answer any question, so who are your financial backers. Dont say you dont have any and dont need any, you are not Trump and every political party needs campaign financing.

I am always willing to give everyone a chance, that is what they deserve, but do not take grown, experienced people for idiots as has been done to your own bajan people for 5 decades by black politicians of both political parties, just come clean and no one will go after you to expose or pry information out of you.

The truth is I had a list of CGI Directors because of Peter Harrisโ€™ dishonesty and I am currently turning the whole place upside down to find it to post to BU, I have been travelling quite a lot so it may be misplaced, had it a few years now, I am also trying to source another list, I hope you are rightW

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I’m hesitant to criticize Solutions Barbados because Bajans desperately need to come up with solutions. However, I am deeply skeptical of their secrecy; furthermore, their policy platform, although well intentioned, is deeply flawed. It appears to be uncritical recycling of discredited conservative ideas.

Take the tax policy proposal for example. They propose that “… individuals will pay a flat tax of 10% of their gross income with one deduction โ€“ giving to registered charities.” This flat tax proposal has been floated elsewhere in the world and thoroughly discredited. It is not revenue neutral, ie. it will result in a huge drop in the government’s ability to pay for services like health and education. It amounts to a dramatic tax cut for the wealthy at the same time as a steep tax increase for poor and working class Bajans. It takes up to $2,500 out of the pocket of a gardener, maid, or hotel worker, but gives their boss, who earns 4 times as much, more than $10,000 extra in their annual take home pay.

Annual Income Current Bajan Tax Solutions Barbados Tax
    $25,000 $0 $2,500
    $35,000 $1,600 $3,500
    $45,000 $6,550 $4,500
    $55,000 $11,500 $5,500
    $65,000 $16,450 $6,500
    $75,000 $21,400 $7,500
    $85,000 $26,350 $8,500
    $95,000 $31,300 $9,500
    $105,000 $36,250 $10,500
    $115,000 $41,200 $11,500
    $125,000 $46,150 $12,500
    $135,000 $51,100 $13,500
    $145,000 $56,050 $14,500

I don’t know whether middle and high income earners are paying their fair share of taxes now, or whether some are using existing deductions in the tax code to end up paying less that 10% of their gross income in taxes, but it is clear to me that a flat tax which raises the burden on the poor and working classes is bad policy, as well as politically and ethically inept.

12. The bottomline is that this is uncharted territory for the US, let us see how they will unravel it. This is what happens when people become so disillusioned with the establishment.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Sorry that the table above did not format well.

Furthermore it should read “… but gives their boss, who earns 4 times as much, more than $20,000 extra in their annual take home pay.”

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Re โ€“ CGI. Grenville is correct, but me thinks it is/was his father.”

I know it was a Greville Phillips on that CGI List of Durectors, I just cant find the list, so why dont Grenville just say it was his father aligned with Peter Harris and CGI insurance he would have saved himself grief….but then he would not have wanted to publicly denounce involvement with Peter Harris or let it be known it’s his father, he had to be forced to…steupps.

Again, I have an eidetic memory which seldom fails me.

15. Grenville’s argument for encouraging ‘businessmen’ to take a role in politics is that they would have acquired some experience in managing an organisation, working with people, and -hopefully, in turning a profit.
    There are some obvious flaws in this logic however, most notably the propensity of business people to be among the most selfish and greedy of people, and their willingness to maintain a huge gulf between themselves and their employees (everyone else)

Also, Grenville must know that it is the ‘business class’ that ran Barbados in the bad old days before emancipation….

On the other hand, David Come-and-Sing-a-Song’s position against business persons being targeted rings hollow …unless he is also going to make a strong case against lawyers – who are generally clueless about business realities, Ain ADDITION to being just as selfish and anti-lower class as the businessmen.
    David C would also, if he wants to be fair, need to make a case against doctors being in politics – since we know them to be in large part, focussed mainly on their mercedes benzes and big houses – much more so than on the best welfare of their customers.
    …besides we have clear examples of shiitehounds and JAs in parliament who are doctors.

No group of Bajans is better suited to fill the seats in parliament than one consisting of ordinary citizens – who are representative of, and constantly at the disposal of, their respective constituents.
    No other system provides for this situation better than a co-operative political arrangement – with a coop Supervisory Committee; the power of recall; full coop transparency; and unrelenting reporting requirements from those elected is standard fare.

If we could have a meeting of Grenville, David, Caswell and some of the current leaders of the Coop movement to explore these options, THEN we may see some progress in solving the political problems of the brass bowl place……
    Until then, we are spinning top in shiite….

16. @David

That’s what you’re calling it-novel? I would say a novel, fiction!! #solutionsisnotready

17. Bushtea

You too love to deify the co-op movement but I find the larger co-ops in Barbados to be more corrupt and nepotistic than the banks.

18. @ David

We are such persons who 30 years ago proferred that ‘businessmen’ should come forward and stop corrupting the local politician from the shadows.

But this is not an attempt so to do.

It is indeed a totally different animal altogether.

For one, have the people had a say in that changing of the guard? Have reparations been paid for the social damage caused? And who empowered Grenville and his unknowables for such a national transformation?

This is not it!

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

If Grenville says it is or was his father involved with CGI Insurance, plus name his present or future political financial backers, I will look at himin a far different light.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Grenville Phillips’s father Grenville Phillips used to head up Coopers & Lybrand in Barbados befor it merged with Price Waterhouse. He served as Chairman of the Barbados National Bank as well as on the boards of the Barbados Stock Exchange and One Caribbean Media. It is likely the father who is on CGI’s board.

21. @enuff

The people will decide on Solutions Barbados fate. He needs to come up with a narrative that will disrupt very soon.

You are correct it was his famous father who made his mint from managing companies in receivership.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences said “plus name his present or future political financial backers”

The Phillips family fortune is reasonably significant. From public documents I can trace about US$5.8 million in assets to their wholly controlled Brentwood Corporation.

23. The problem with naked departure is that the Cutting woman scrapes shit from the Internet and or post any submission without any kind of due diligence. In the process many innocent Barbadians are hurt in the process.

24. @ peterlawrencethompson ,

Are you sure your information re Brentwood Corporation is correct ?

25. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Hants

Yes, You can get it from a careful reading of disclosure in the OCM annual reports.

26. @ peterlawrencethompson ,

methinks you have opened a “can of worms” lol

27. @Pacha

It is a so called democracy and Grenville is free to determine the role he wants to play.

28. How so enuff?

29. What Grenville knows is that it is quite possible within the business community to raise enough money to literally buy the elections. When we take a serious look at the slim margins in some constituencies, this is not a far fetch position. We already have a multimillionaire, Bizzy Williams , publicly admitting that he supports BOTH parties financially. Buying elections does not necessarily mean giving poor people hand outs. It means that you can also ‘buy’ votes by making promises that are attractive to those who are struggling. For example: If Bizzy Williams says he is going to build a thousand houses in an area where there is a shortage of public housing, that could be an enticement to vote. So while I am convinced that Grenville and company are not a serious threat right now, I would not rule out that a day in politics is a very long time. If they feel that the island is for sale they might just attempt to backraise the political class many of whom go to the same business people to finance their campaigns. Remember what someone said in 1937: “Today is a funny night.”

30. Comissiong political lesdership has been astoundingly rejected by barbadians many times his advance criticism of any political party is like throwing water in a bucket full of holes

31. We think William Skinner is generally right.

However, he overestimates the economic power of these local business boys, including Bizzy.

These boys maybe wealthy in a local context but have no real money fuh trute.

Yes, but he cannot in so doing also pretend that he speaks for the people of Barbados. Or that he has some authority to drag us along with him on HIS questionable quest.

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Hants

Why is the Phillips family fortune a “can of worms”…? I don’t see anything illegitimate about it. Is it simply that wealth is suspicious? Black wealth? Or are you just saying that “it is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to” be honest and well intentioned?

33. Why would you think so Pacha, the people will have the final say. IF in their ignorance they refuse to exercise their right, so be it.

34. There is the stigma of corruption attached to wealth which has been hard to refute with a string of proven illegaties that have influenced negative decisions that affected the poor and voiceless across political lines mostly with a structural indifference to what is right

35. @ peterlawrencethompson,

Phillips family OCM. Think.

36. “It is important to note that employers include: engineers (like myself), doctors, lawyers, contractors, accountants, merchants, hair dressers, landscapers, barbers, dentists, musicians, dramatists, economists, coconut vendors, and every other professional and non-professional person who took the risks of starting their own business and employing others”

37. I hope BU bloggers and maguffees will treat Solutions Barbados like they have the other parties in Barbados.

David, Bushie and Piece ???

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I see no evidence that the Nation newspapers will be influenced by Grenville’s father sitting on the board of One Caribbean Media. Do you? There was a time that the newspaper was seen as BLP when Sir Fred Gollop led the Nation Corporation while simultaneously being a BLP Senator, but now the whole corporation seems simply to accomodate itself to the PIP (party in power).

39. How many shares does Phillip’s father own in OCM ?

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Phillips’ father owns about 3% of OCM; about 2 million shares of about 70 million issued.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Solutions Barbados has been in existence for years, but the only substantive reference that I can find to it in the Nation is a critique by political consultant Hartley Henry last February. If the Nation newspaper is indeed a pillar of support for Grenville Phillips they have a strange way of showing it.

42. If Solutions Barbados is the best party to govern Barbados the Nation newspaper will support it.

I await the identities of the other candidates and will not waste any more of my time discussing imaginary politicians.

43. If people think Mr Phillips definition of an employer includes a shop keeper you will be fooled.Solutions Barbados just want the business elite.Barbados is still classist with a good dose of economic racism.This party will not uphold a grass roots vector.Good governance dictates a social consciousness element.Which business elite you know will want to level the playing field?Has the business elite in Barbados lower anything besides a duppy in a grave ?You think SOL interested in sharing the profits from the BNTCL sale with rank and file Bajans? Steups.

44. @peterlawrence

And Sir Fred was chairman of the Nation newspaper when that newspaper ripped the BLP apart for months leading up to the 2008 elections. Today some of the same reporters are now PR Officers for statutory boards.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    now I see why you follow OCM so closely.
    As far as any taxation goes, you can levy all you wish, if you cannot collect and are not prepared to enforce collection, then what has been achieved?
    You see the MoF says he is waving the penalties on $1B in uncollected taxes, for penalties to accrue one must be in arrears (not current).
    Income tax is an archaic animal, because they are too many ways around it. And governments have entered into open competition as to who can collect that tax, from where, and at what rate. Hence why the majority of the BRA outstanding items are in VAT and Land tax.
    If any government can COLLECT, they are way ahead regardless of rates.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Peter…they may very well be able to fund their own political campaign, the Phillips, but Grenville needs to say that, clear the air, let the people know of past or present associations of his family with those who are now deemed destructive to the island, I for one will never hold that against him, but both he and the candidates whom he chooses have to come to an understanding that the era for keeping secrets, telling lies to and deceiving an electorate…,.has long passed…..that is why no one wants to see any of the politicians from any of the other 2 political parties.

It’s most evident in the recent US elections, everyone if those candidates past returned to haunt them, especially Killary and Trump.

And if Grenville is serious, he would ban all yardfowls and yardfowlism, he does not need them…he dies nit need party followers, he needs voters, ya being elected, you do your job, the taxpayers are paying you, end of story.

And if he is really good, him and his government, he can set an example for the other Caribbean leaders to follow, but no one needs anymore slick tricks, deception and bullshit.,, they have had it for 50 years..

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As long as Grenville 1, 2 or 3 dont start taking bajans for granted, do not take voters for granted in 2017, it’s not 1950s….the people have suffered useless politicians and their stupid yardfowls for 50 years….and he is genuine, ya never know.

….. as I told him when he first went on BU, use the blogs to put information about himself out there, this information should have been out there since last year, no one should have had to pull the information out of Grenville…..when he knew before us that his father has the same name.

48. Talking about the Nation, has OCM settled the claim made against it by the late Trevor Clarke with his estate. I think we ought to know.e

49. Dear All:

NINEOFNINEโ€™S ANALYSIS

First, Ninofnineโ€™s analysis of Solutions Barbadosโ€™ policies is fatally flawed by a complete misunderstanding of the ISO 9001 quality management system. Perhaps if he/she has some working knowledge of the system, he/she would have done a much better analysis. Responding to every flawed point would simply take too much time. However, it may be necessary since the reader may be misled. I will have to set aside some time.

In the interim, please note that while we decided to politicize our civil service, Singapore chose to professionalise theirs and manage it in accordance with the ISO 9001 system. They have since exceeded that international standard.

I wish that someone would organise a public discussion, perhaps in a secondary school hall or some other venue. I will happily attend and respond to all queries and misunderstandings.

ALL EMPLOYERS ARE NOT MERCHANTS

Second, please do not make the mistake of assuming that all employers are merchants. None of our selected candidates are merchants. As Hants reminded you, employers comprise engineers, doctors, lawyers, contractors, accountants, merchants, hair dressers, landscapers, barbers, dentists, musicians, dramatists, economists, coconut vendors, and every other professional and non-professional person who took the risks of starting their own business and employing others.

FINANCIAL BACKERS

Third, Solutions Barbados has no financial backers except myself, and the amounts are insignificant. I explained this to Peter Wickham during the Brass Tacks program with Hartley Henry and Corey Layne. He noted that we needed large sums. I explained that we had no intention of paying anyoneโ€™s bills, or doing anything that may be interpreted as purchasing anyoneโ€™s vote. It then asked him what we needed large sums for, and he went silent. So, can anyone explain why we need financial backers?

FLAT TAX

Forth, the flat tax query is much appreciated. I will prioritize my time to respond to such queries. Our problem is that we need additional revenue โ€“ especially foreign currency. How has Barbados increased Government revenue in the past? By lowering tax rates. How has Barbados decreased Government revenues in the past? By increasing tax rates.

We are simply proposing to do what we have always done to increase Government revenue in the past โ€“ but in a fairer manner, and where everyone participates. The exception is that public servants should not be paying income tax.

Best regards,
    Grenville

50. Well Well what yo need is a new party to run the country made up of smart white people or smite for short. Smite can get the country running right again.