Dr. Justin Robinson, Chairman of the NIS

This space is created to accommodate comments about the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) of Barbados.ย  The BU household concedes that the management of the NIS as with any social security fund is a complex matter. It is against this background that Barbadians need to hear the technocrats explaining the status of the NIS fund and NOT the politicians.

It is unforgivable that in 2016 the public is not able to (re)view the financials of the NIS fund by clicking on the NIS website. Dr. Justin Robinson on several occasions assured the BU family in this forum that his Board intends to be transparent in its work and a first step is to bring up-to-date audited financials to the public.

The BU household invites Dr. Robinson to provide an update on the fund.

124 responses to “National Insurance Fund: Dr. Justin Robinson an URGENT Update is Required”

1. If the government was talking direct foreign investment, or if they were talking to one of the merchant class the government (and here I mean the BLP as well) they would actually invite the foreign investors or the merchant to a conversation. The government (and here I mean the BLP as well) would listen. The government (and here I mean the BLP as well) would negotiate.

But the government (and here I mean the BLP as well) wants healthy, intelligent children, but doesn’t want to hear a word from our young women…who are the only ones who can produce healthy intelligent children, and who will be the ones principally charged with raising them. But neither party has any serious conversations with our young women.

2. So if the wise old men want children let us ask the Bush Teas and the Harry Russells to bear and rear them.

3. The suggestion that what we need is a higher child birth to deal with the demographic problem is seriously wrong. Fertility does not flow equally across all groups. We have people who have nine and ten children – sometimes for different baby father.
    What is needed to resolve the problem is higher productivity, by the introduction of new technology and working harder. Putting a limit of two children per family, so that the population of 300000 would reproduce itself, but not grow.
    People having a third child should be compelled to pay for all their health and education costs; a fourth child should be taken into care and fostered or offered for adoption.
    Japan has an acute demographic problem, but they re not allowing in foreigners to fill that need, as the US is doing with Latinos. In fact, all OECD countries have demographic problems; the Germans want to deal with theirs through Middle East refugees. These are easy answers. Even Ronald Jones has the idea of more foreigners, but new people will change our national culture for ever.

4. “The NIS funds are not public assets.

NIS funds are not the governmentโ€™s money.

NIS funds donโ€™t belong to the private sector.

NIS funds are the peopleโ€™s money.”

So wrong my friend, so wrong.

5. @Hal

There is the view held by some -Elombe et al- that we are one Caribbean people and space, therefore, inflows from the island’s should be encoraged.

Obviously you would disagree?

6. Not at all. I hold Elombe in the highest respect. In fact he is our greatest oral and cultural historian. I am big on Caribbean unity and want to see a federation and, as Elombe would say, we are one people.
    I am not keen on people coming from the Middle East, Nigeria, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Europe and outside our region etc set up shop. As tourists, yes; as permanent residents, no. When people travel they travel with their history and culture. They change the new societies. Have a look at Britain.

7. @ Hal
    …so don’t you see how the culture of Barbados has changed ….with routine public executions now the norm? …with persons casually not paying road tax or insurance? ….with special religious schools creating a foreign culture…

Persons moving to another country should be REQUIRED to adopt the full culture of the host country …or to return from whence they came.

You are 100% correct about productivity (and creativity) being the solution – rather than the idiotic suggestions about population increases…..
    Some people are so totally blind, stupid and single minded, that they cannot be expected to understand the implications of what they are calling for…

The BASIC problem is that we have a culture of LAZINESS.
    Getting thousands of additional LAZY-ASSED children will solve exactly what…??!!
    More mouths to feed…
    More shit for the sewerage system…
    More complainers without water…
    More pressure on the same NIS.

Lotta shiite – just what we would expect from Ronald….

8. We have our form of multiculturalism forced on us by the dire economic circumstances. For example, the Chinese have been advancing concessionary loans and grants with conditions read take Chinese labour. The projects are completed but some Chinese apparently gave reason to remain on the island.

9. David,
    You and Bush Tea are spot on. A condition of Chinese loans is that the labourers must stay on in the country. And we have some politically illiterate leaders who agree to these secret conditions. Then they talk about loyalty. They are mutts.
    Remember the Chinese shopkeeper who could not speak English who shot the little boy in Guyana because she thought he was there to steal; remember the Chinese restaurant owner in Kenya who barred Africans from his restaurant because they were not good for custom; I have mentioned Grenada and the ex-prisoners who built the new cricket field in 2007 then stayed on.
    Young men have urges, so there is another problem waiting to happen. If our politicians think they are getting easy money, just you wait.
    Where are our immigration officers when these people stay on?

10. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

@Hal, “The suggestion that what we need is a higher child birth to deal with the demographic problem is seriously wrong. Fertility does not flow equally across all groups. We have people who have nine and ten children โ€“ sometimes for different baby father.
    What is needed to resolve the problem is higher productivity, by the introduction of new technology and working harder. Putting a limit of two children per family, so that the population of 300000 would reproduce itself, but not grow.
    People having a third child should be compelled to pay for all their health and education costs; a fourth child should be taken into care and fostered or offered for adoption.
    Japan has an acute demographic problem, but they re not allowing in foreigners to fill that need, as the US is doing with Latinos. In fact, all OECD countries have demographic problems; the Germans want to deal with theirs through Middle East refugees. These are easy answers. Even Ronald Jones has the idea of more foreigners, but new people will change our national culture for ever.”

………………………………………..

Can I tell you Sir, that these same able bodied mothers with nine and ten children is driving this country in further debt by receiving countless aid from the Welfare Department. Mine you; the DISABLE has to constantly beg for aid.

Watch this: These lazy ass women get free housing- that the children destroys, they are assisted with welfare, they get their utilities paid – having leaving on the lights from evening until morning. They get their nails and hair done with the welfare (taxpayers) money, take a million men and their ghetto family members in the same free Ranch yet; they can’t get the their rent paid.

NHC then fixes the same free ranch when it has an issue – Outfit the free ranch with windows and doors and fresh coat of paint when the little brats destroys the place. Somebody has to pay for all this FREENESS.

And we cry; (most times the Opposition in power) – “yah can’t put them out cuddear – they only kids”.

Where is the transparency for NHC and the Welfare department. Shouldn’t these women be expected to contribute to this country instead of draining it mostly by using their pokeys – Not me, SS say so!

11. There is a way of dealing with some of these mothers: take the children in to care and leave the mothers homeless. Having a clutch of illegitimate children cannot b a free ticket for welfare for life.
    But the fathers also have responsibility. There is a cost to having children, apart from the sex.

12. The Caribbean is heavily underpopulated,its present day inhabitants are out of tribes from all over the place……nothing wrong with some more….we are but transients in a transient world.

13. Vincent stop talking rot.

14. @ Hal
    Vincent stop talking rot.
    Yuh could as well take out he tongue then…..

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Caribbean does not need anymore children, their leaders are too corrupt, dumb and greedy, they use children as a ticket to free taxpayer’s dollars for their pockets, women should stop breeding….full stop. Since the likes of Hal dont think the government should also contribute to the raising of their future taxpayers….total backward thinking.

From 5 month gestational period, the second trimester in a pregnant woman’s or girl’s life, they are entitled to support through a WIC programe…WOMEN, INFANTS AND CHILDREN…until the child reaches the age of 5.

I am sure the UK has such a program or one like it, even the dole, which Hal benefited at one time or another if he has kids….or the mother did.

Canada has a program., Norway, Denmark, Finland….all progress countries help pregnant mothers and mothers with small children…..with their housing and food needs

Only wild animals want to see mothers homeless…..only Caribbean men believe women and children should suffer. ..echoes of the African beast and savage.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

….all progressive countries help pregnant mothers and mothers with small childrenโ€ฆ..with their housing and food needs….

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is the US WIC program.

From 5 month gestational period, the second trimester in a pregnant womanโ€™s or girlโ€™s life, they are entitled to support through a WIC programeโ€ฆWOMEN, INFANTS AND CHILDRENโ€ฆuntil the child reaches the age of 5.

18. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

“here is a way of dealing with some of these mothers: take the children in to care and leave the mothers homeless”.

I am not a religious man and sometimes I border on being a nonbeliever , but when I do pray, it is a simple one.
    ‘There but for the Grace of God goes I. God be merciful to me a sinner.’

19. Hal

Tell me what part of what I posted is rot??

Guyana,Cayenne and Suriname are deemed part of the Caribbean and they are highly underpopulated.

The Caribbean is inhabited by the progeny of every tribe on earth.

Bringing it home to Bim with a population of 0.28M on 166 sq.mi. as compared to Singapore with a pop of 4M plus on 236 sq.mi.

Managed properly we can easily absorb another 0.1M over a set time frame.

Xenophobia is one of the curses of migrant tribes very similar to the migrant trump not wanting anymore migrants in the US.

20. Vincent,
    Singapore is grossly over-populated. There are 7000 islands and territories in the Caribbean. We have to feed our current population.
    It is not more people we need, but better use of our resources. Guyana alone, which is bigger than England, can easily hold another 50m people. Then it will look a bit like Britain.

21. Hal

In essence you have accepted that I am not talking rot….thanks

I would not suggest that our population ratio should imitate Singapore hence my figure over a period of time.

With effective management these united countries can hold more people and become a vibrant player in the world.

22. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

@ Well, well- all the freeness is stifling this country.

Why can’t they (mothers) go and find work like the rest of us. We have become a Nation of enablers.

Where else in the world but Barbados can you break into a Government unit and take up residence and subsequently was able to get a home free – Just so! Especially when the list for housing is as long as 166 sq miles. These children are their meal tickets and they know it.

Future tax payers; let me tell you about those future tax payers – They are HUNGRY, they are LOST, they are forced into PROSTITUTION to survive and they are being ABUSE physically and sexually. At present, I am aware of one two many cases.

When you work for it – you earn it!

23. @ Vincent
    Tell me what part of what I posted is rot??
    …so how come you asked Hal …and not Bushie too bozie….?

24. Bush Tea December 6, 2016 at 2:09 PM #

Chuckle……Muh Bruddah……last ah heard yuh was wid mosses in de burning bushes trying tuh sort out yuh gransun dompey…..causen yuh cyant figure out howcome he got more sense dan yuh……wuhloss

25. โ€œWhere else in the world but Barbados can you break into a Government unit and take up residence and subsequently was able to get a home free โ€“ Just so!โ€

Reminds me of many of the โ€œself-employed individualsโ€ I have encountered, such as vendors, shop keepers, operators of public service vehicles, artisans and numerous other entrepreneurs who, during their working life, refuse to contribute or remit NI deductions from their employeesโ€™ earnings to the Scheme.

However, when they are approaching retirement age, they expect to receive a non-contributory old age pension off the backs of all those who contributed to the Scheme.

26. 2 Vincent
    Very funny…

Bushie is surprised and disappointed that you fail to see where you are talking rot
    …as Hal put it.

That albino-centric thinking about adjusting population size to maximise economic performance is very near to the lowest form of warped thinking that is possible.
    It devalues human life to the point where it equates to commercial value …. just as was the case in slavery.
    You only have to look at the inverse situation to expose the lunacy and low-mindedness that drives such thinking…
    …what about those countries whose populations are too large to sustain efficient economic balance …. India, China for example.
    Would you recommend appropriate ‘adjustments’ there too…?
    This was Hitlers way of thinking …and acting…

The potentialities and sacredness of human life is desecrated by such thinking. The challenge in life is for mankind to use his wisdom and knowledge to maximise the efficiencies of the natural world around him …. not to play God with the lives of other men…. in order to maximise albino-centric benefits.

27. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

Correct Art, this country can only be better again when the Freeness and the Thiefing stops.

28. Bushie

I see things from a holistick,one planet,one race that should be free to roam wherever to their hearts content as existed millenia ago.
    Countries and borders are a human construct which have to be dismantled for our race to survive…..mother nature will assist those hard ear ones

29. @Hal Austin December 6, 2016 at 3:43 AM “that the population of 300000 would reproduce itself, but not grow….People having a third child should be compelled to pay for all their health and education costs; a fourth child should be taken into care and fostered or offered for adoption.”

The population has NEVER been as high as 300,000. So how do you plan to get it to 300,000 without childbirth or immigration you genius.

Since as you have said we need a population of about 3000,000 can you explain why you would punish those people who contribute to the growth that you desire by bearing a third child?

It is common knowledge that is child is always better off being raised in the home of its two natural loving parents, so can you explain why you would punish 4th children by institutionalizing them and depriving them of their parent’s loving care?

Since Barbados already has too many children in institutional care, and since Barbados already has too few loving foster homes, can you explain why you would put even more children in institutions? And can you please explain where you plan to find these good loving foster/adoptive parents. And don’t just tell me, tell the Child Care Board so that they can place some of the currently institutionalized children with these good loving foster/adoptive parents. Perhaps you can even offer yourself as an exemplary good loving foster/adoptive parent…that is if it is not too much work.

30. I take it that you also understand that Barbados’ population growth rate has been stagnant for more that a generation, and that we haven’t a hope in hell of getting the population up to your desired 300,000 unless we development and implement good EVIDENCE based child friendly policies.

Punishing children by removing them from their natural families is NOT a good evidenced based child friendly policy.

Punishing parents by removing their 4th children from them is NOT a good evidenced based child friendly policy.

31. @Bush Tea December 6, 2016 at 6:27 AM “Persons moving to another country should be REQUIRED to adopt the full culture of the host country โ€ฆor to return from whence they came.”

You know that this is impossible right?

You know that it is impossible for an adult to adapt fully to another culture?

So it doesn’t matter what you feel or what you think. It ain’t going to happen…just like you and Harry never ain’t going to become young daddies again.

Lolll!!!

32. Tobesides there is good SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE that old men are at much higher risk of getting children who develop schizophrenia in their young adulthood.

http://bjp.rcpsych.org/content/183/5/405
    Paternal age and risk for schizophrenia

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/27/health/mental-illness-risk-higher-for-children-of-older-parents-study-finds.html?_r=0
    Mental Illness Risk Higher for Children of Older Fathers

So I would advise wunna old men not to go out there trying a thing leaving behind a bunch of mad young adults for the rest of us to look after.

33. @Simple Simon

Do you have comment to share on the topic?

34. @David December 6, 2016 at 6:27 AM “but some Chinese apparently gave reason to remain on the island.”

Dear David: What a sheltered life you live. I have been seeing the half Chinese babies showing up in the polyclinics for more than 10 years now…some have even sat the !+ already. Don’t tell me that you didn’t notice.

If the Bajan men don’t know how to procreate and raise good Bajan children with a good working class Bajan woman…well then THE CHINESE MEN WILL DO THEIR WORK FOR THEM.

Lolll!!!

You know that China has a surplus of healthy young men right?

So what to you expect a Bajan woman to do when this healthy young Chinese man asks her a question?

Wunna mussee living in 1950.

35. @Retribution-things that make me go hum! December 6, 2016 at 7:42 AM “Can I tell you Sir, that these same able bodied mothers with nine and ten children is driving this country in further debt…Shouldnโ€™t these women be expected to contribute to this country instead of draining it mostly by using their pokeys โ€“ Not me, SS say so!”

These mothers ARE CONTRIBUTING to the country by raising the next generation of WORKERS.

Haven’t we had Prime Ministers, MP’s, entrepreneurs, doctors, lawyers economists, labourers and tradesmen who were raised by unmarried women…some of whom may have had to depend on welfare for a relatively brief period of their lives.

if I live on welfare for 10 years, and in a government unit for 40, and go to work for 35 years all while raising 6 good sons and daughters (all taxpayers and contributors to the NIS) how does that make me a worthless woman?

is a woman only good and useful if she has a husband?

If a man makes a woman a good woman why then do you have 500 men in jail (and the mental hospital) for every one woman?

36. When you need a home helper to wipe your sorry @ss do you think that COW’s daughter is going to come to your aid?

No. Very likely it it the same woman formerly on welfare or her daughter. or grandaughter who will ensure that you have a clean botsy and a dignified old age.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Retribution..I have a better idea, if females become conscious enough they will realize they do not need babies, it’s the government need future taxpayers…..therefore they will only be responsible for taking care of themselves, if they have no babies, if they can find this nonexistent work you are talking about…problem solved.

No burden to anyway, you talk as if it is just as simple as breeding and then finding a job, without factoring in all the other social issues.

38. @Hal Austin December 6, 2016 at 9:01 AM “There is a way of dealing with some of these mothers: take the children in to care and leave the mothers homeless. Having a clutch of illegitimate children cannot b a free ticket for welfare for life.”

You are such a joker.

And who will look after the children when they are taken into care?

Do you think that the professional class men women, those who are lawyers, doctors, policy wonks, those who are the of the political or merchant class those who are the wives and daughters of the political class, and the merchant class will be willing to be low paid child care workers or foster parents?

Ary you Hal Austin willing to be a foster parent?

Simple Simon
    A real, real successful foster foster parent.

And tobesides if you check the birth and marriage certificates in your own family, and the families of your parents and grandparents you will find “a clutch of illegitimate children” right there in your own family…and some of those clutches of illegitimate children will have been dependent on others for some aspect of care at some time in their lives.

Have you ever spent 24 hours of your life caring for a child who is not related to you by blood or marriage.

if you think that good quality foster parenting would be an easy policy to implement you are living in a fantasy land.

39. @Vincent Haynes December 6, 2016 at 12:56 PM “Xenophobia is one of the curses of migrant tribes very similar to the migrant trump not wanting anymore migrants in the US.”

True, true.

Trumps’ mother migrated(I am not sure if legally or if she over stayed her visa) from her small Scottish island. And now he wants to build a wall to keep out migrants who in their aspirations are not different from Trump’s Scottish immigrant mother, or his German immigrant grandparents.

40. @Retribution-things that make me go hum! December 6, 2016 at 1:51 PM “Why canโ€™t they (mothers) go and find work like the rest of us.

A Simple Response: Child bearing is WORK. Why do you think that it is called LABOUR? Child rearing is also WORK.

@Retribution-things that make me go hum! December 6, 2016 at 1:51 PM “Where else in the world but Barbados can you break into a Government unit and take up residence and subsequently was able to get a home free โ€“ Just so! Especially when the list for housing is as long”

A Simple Response:And why is the waiting list so long? Buncha lazy, tired old men who take years to pore over a housing request list, and to make decisions. Let me tell you I have worked in social housing on a volunteer basis for over five years and it is not that difficult. We never had a housing unit vacant for more that a day or two, when one family moved out a brisk cleaning/painting, and a new family moved in in a day or two.

Now we hear that housing units at the Garrison have been vacant for more than 3 years, and some a Lancaster and no doubt elsewhere vacant for more that 5 years.

In this situation the woman was right to break in. it is a pity that more women do not do the same.

And his disiples asked him “Is it lawful for a man to pluck an ear of corn on the Sabbath day?”

And Jesus responded “yes”

so don’t you be blaming poor women for governmental inefficiency.

41. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

@ SS on reading your note that you too have experienced working with the system, I would of been lead to ask which rock you peep out from under.

“if I live on welfare for 10 years, and in a government unit for 40, and go to work for 35 years all while raising 6 good sons and daughters (all taxpayers and contributors to the NIS) how does that make me a worthless woman?”

……………

What work you talking bout my brother? These women have never work a day in their lives or care too ….. You live in Barbados? Why would I as a Government allow an able bodied woman to be on welfare for 10 years? Stop the enabling and lazyass culture. The Welfare Department system want shutting down – with immediate effect!

Did you read my earlier comments? 6 good sons and daughters where? How? Children that are exposed to different men in their lives every week or every few days? These children in question raising themselves. Look, these are different times I don’t know if you know. Gone are the days where the man brings in the bread and the woman raise the kids and do the chores.

The women home and the pot turn down! Lol!

42. Give me a break. Will respond later. Right now I have to supervise homeWORK.

43. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

@SS, should a man that fall on hard times break into a unit and take up residence, persons would be saying to charge him he should know better. This is not a practice to be encouraged.

If free houses given out I want one!

44. Every decent society looks out for young children and their mothers. Young children, especially infants look to their mothers for nourishment, for life itself. You and Hal Austin may wish to separate young children from their mothers. But biologically young children do best when they are with their own natural mothers.

I did not make it so.

God made it so.

Or 3 million years of evolution made it so.

Whatever it is an unchangeable fact.

You may not like women nor children much. But the truth is if the society is to progress we need children.

Either our own children.

Or other people’s children.

These are the only options.

Take your pick.

45. “Reminds me of many of the โ€œself-employed individualsโ€ I have encountered, such as vendors, shop keepers, operators of public service vehicles, artisans and numerous other entrepreneurs who, during their working life, refuse to contribute or remit NI deductions from their employeesโ€™ earnings to the Scheme.

However, when they are approaching retirement age, they expect to receive a non-contributory old age pension off the backs of all those who contributed to the Scheme.”

๏ˆ
    Only today Artax I was in discussion with a colleague and we were both of the view that the Inland Revenue should have created a unit within the Department to identify and flush out those persons of whom you speak particularly wayside garages who refuse to pay taxes or contribute to the national insurance scheme and rather than harassing the wayside vendors encourage them to register with the inland revenue department and National insurance scheme and then bring down the weight of the law on those who do not comply. I will also toy with the requirement of a tax clearance certificate for income earners travelling abroad.

46. That said there are only 6,000 non-contributory pensioners left.

Some of these people are 90, 100, 100+ years old and were too old to contribute significantly to NIS when it started up, but contributed much hard work for very small wages in the sugar industry

Some were born with serious developmental disabilities and were never able to go out to work.

Some were women who worked at home raising large families, and whose children and grandchildren contribute significantly to NIS and to Barbados Revenue Authority.

I don’t even like the term non-contributory, as it implies that the person did not contribute and is therefore undeserving.

But if a woman has given birth to 13 children, many in the hard years before 1938 and raised a dozen to productive adulthood how can we use language that implies that she did not contribute.

Or if a young mother dies and leaves several small children who are raised to productive adulthood by their auntie, who is not in the paid workforce because because she is also raising 3 or 4 of her own how can we infer that she is a non contributor.

Much of the valuable work in any society is done at home for no wages.

47. Simple Simon,
    You have misinterpreted my views. I believe children should be brought up in the warmth of a family – mother, father, siblings, and the extended family, especially grand parents.
    In our culture, grand parents (mothers in particular) pass on the family history and offer the expressive unconditional love that busy working parents do not have the time to offer.
    I loved my maternal grand mother’s cooking .

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Grandparents now have to work until they are 67 years old, some till theirn70s and 80s when insurance companies steal their pensions!

So mother, father, grandmother, grandfather, aunts, uncles, older siblings are all working to keep a roof over their heads and food on their tables so they do not become a burden to taxpayer funded council housing, or section 8 and welfare or the dole….

the children are raising themselves…..more social problems, parents are only at home 8 days per month, if they are lucky.

I am one of the few grandmothers I know at my age who have the time to play with grandchildren….and at home where they can visit at any time….because of how the system is set up for the tax grab…..grandparenting has become a luxury to most.

Some of that tax dollars should go into social services to help ALL mothers with housing etc as the need arises…instead of into politicians pockets, they steal the excess money anyway.

In Barbados from a candy bar is taxed, everyone pays taxes and ALL mothers should be entitled to social services.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah bet Hal would not want to discuss the millions of homeless very young people in the UK…despite the dole and council housing….dont knock homeless mothers in Barbados and the Caribbean,

50. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

Listen man; a lot of those children that they parents are on welfare do not benefit from it. The men and the fete promoters do, we all know this. I am grass roots – I know what am talking about.

We need serious programs in place to assist the children in need.