Flooding in Clarke's Road
Clarke’s Road

clarkes-road-pMinister of Drainage Denis Lowe needs to go. There has been no improvement in the task to alleviate flooding in Barbados since his appointment. In fact, it has gotten worse. Surely it is time for commonsense to prevail and for the Prime Minister to give the opportunity to another person to bring a fresh approach to the job? Unfortunately we know that he will continue to have the backing of Prime Minister Stuart because he is a loyal foot soldier AND there is an election to be won.

For those whose lifes and properties continue to be threatened by heavy rainfall – what are we to do? Yes, we should be able to celebrate Independence Day (whatever that means) and discuss the attendant issues of the day.

By the way, are the weather radars working?

God bless BIM on Independence day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

284 responses to “Minister Denis Lowe Resignation MUST be on the Table -Flooding @Clarkes Road. St. James – GOD Bless BIM on Independence Day”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fruendel dont care about those important problems, he is too busy promoting the fraudulent, pretentiousness of independence, aiming to please and impress Harry and simultaneously fool the electorate…time to throw all these enablers of parasites out of the people’s parliament, they would keep the stagnation of the majority ongoing for another 50 years, if they are not removed….2 more ignored and deliberately misinformed generations of people will be lost, misused and abused again.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/30/bjerkhamn-honoured/

What affordable housing does this greedy pig and his employee Mark Malobey provide for the average bajan, are they talking about those over priced box ovens at Coverley or the even higher priced ovens at Grotto and the other 2 locations that Bajans CANNOT afford and which are only large enough for the mice and cockroaches that will soon inhabit them.,,, a total waste of millions of dollars of taxpayer’s money by Sinckler, Lashley and Kellman.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

May whomever you worship provide their blessings on Bim on this day of celebration.

3. I use Guadeloupe Radar as I am not sure if the images from the Barbados one are for real.

Good to have a reliable source that actually works ….. compliments of imperial France!!

Guadeloupe and Martinique never became independent and my impression is that things actually work there!!

A lesson to be learnt perhaps!!

You could kick Dennis Lowe to the moon and not get any improvement in drainage.

The flooding issues from yesterday’s rain could not be mitigated.

Saner folk in the old time days would simply have avoided the flood prone areas where our leaders have chosen to “develop” or used their heads.

Holetown would probably not have been developed in a field belonging to Sandy Lane named “Swampy Ground”!!

Ronald Tree chose the better (higher) ground to develop Sandy Lane Hotel which probably never floods!!

If we really wanted to avoid the flooding issues raised in yesterdays rain we would have needed to have kicked the whole sorry lot of clowns to kingdom come a long long time ago.

But look on the bright side, it is only for a day …. at least ’til the next time!!

…. an’ nobody ‘ent dead …. an’ the school children get let out …. an’ everybody went home from work early.

Plus, today is a Bank Holiday!!

4. What has taken place on this island (and I saw some of it for myself – cars buried under water et al) with just a small amount of rain (what if we have hurricane rain?), potholes bubbling up even more sewage, restaurants like CinCin where water came down like the best-looking heavy waterfall that Barbados has, right through the kitchen windows, then gushing to the sea through the restaurant was unreal. There is more of course,, everyone has been affected, and we will soon hear what a mess we are in if the media is allowed because after all we have people from over and away here and then there is The Prince and God forbid he sees where we are at 50 years of Independence. Even the garrison was a sea, it is a wonder people were not fishing there.

Some Independence celebrations. I was watching CBC from early morn as I wanted to see a particular interview, and up to 11 a.m. when I still had it on and by that time it was only music (at least local) there was not one warning about flooding. I had a call from over and very abroad, while I was stuck on the borders of a newly-formed gushing river between two cane pieces on either side of the road, telling me there were flood warnings for Barbados and try and get myself home. Really? What a mess it was out there indeed.

Is the government getting a message? Not only from the heavens but from the people who did not really come out in droves for hand to hand but were in pockets around the island? Shame the sea of water did not dislocate that most awful looking whatever it is they are unveiling at the garrison at great cost to Barbadians – this would surely have been the big message from the Universe!

Money has been no object in the celebrations of Independence from the UK to Barbados (the UK high-end all the way celebrations made me laugh, are we not the ones that want a republic right away if not sooner) and while I agree money should not be an object on this 50th, Barbados has been neglected in so many ways by this government with the screams of no money for this or that, more taxes piled on to ‘help’ the country get through a recession that seems to be affecting only Barbados as the rest of the Caribbean doing okay, not wonderful but okay, and we here in a total mess. Recession abroad? Where? Only here is ‘recession’ apparent? there for everybody to see except this government? No water in areas, back to the standpipe. Telephone and internet services the worst. Potholes cannot done, some large enough for a whole house to fall into. Sewage spewing on the south coast into the sea. Foreign exchange running out every five minutes, given a little boost when a tourist decides to come in. Price of food up in the sky. Education system up a creek. Man! This is all so ridiculous. In the more than fifty years that I have lived in this country, I have never ever seen so much pain. Thank God the island itself has a beauty that surpasses many. Thank God the people are resilient although this is a time they need to wake up and make some demands. Thank God those who live here are doing their best to try and get through this mess because the love for their island is deep.

Time to move out gracefully DLP that is if any one of you have a graceful bone in your bodies. Are you that blind or are you just trying to milk every breath outta your country? What?

There is no embarrassment in accepting you have not done the job mandated, there is more glory in accepting you are in above your heads and stepping down. Call an election NOW. And yes! a crown for Bjerkham? Why? Cause you owe him so much money? You should be all, every one of you, ashamed. You have us the Bajan public feeling shame, that is for sure.

5. Now here’s a Pragmatist. John November. Please also remind Barbadians to keep their OWN drains free of debris and learn how to channel their runoff water !!

6. DLP, BLP no matter which, same rubbish.

All we can do is say “God Bless Bim on Independence Day …. an’ every other day” because for sure we have been cursed by a sickly lot of politicians over the past 50 years.

7. @ David

It is good to see that somebody other than the watchman, is watching the dangerous man made situation that was allowed and supported by Mr. Frank Thornhill the CTO of MTW/Drainage to developed at Clarkes Rd,St. James, only mad person-s would put a road across a watercourse ,This risk must be corrected , I shall continue with this fight for my friend

8. @ PAINFULTIMES
    Well said.

One has to wonder what it must take for us to recognise the clear signs of being overtaken with evil.
    The building of that ‘monument’ with Satan’s pitch fork emerging from the Garrison signifies that Satan himself lies below all we see being done in this now-wretched place.

….and the rewarding of Jerkham with national honours is probably the ultimate insult to black Bajans that could be bestowed by this shiite government in 2016.

Anyone who thinks that this worse-ever rain drenching (which came at the EXACT worse possible time for the government) has been coincidental, …..is probably also optimistic that this pack of JAs can lead us to success….

Bushie says again….
    The unveiling of that ‘monument’ will be a watershed in the history of Barbados….. marking the official handover to wickedness that we have seen growing at all levels over the past decades…..

When Satan is fully installed, it will be Hell…..

9. Costa Rica just got hit by their first hurricane in recorded history and now they are being drenched with torrential rain.

http://www.ticotimes.net/2016/11/29/rains-5000-people-shelters

10. STATING THE OBVIOUS!!!!!

If you build houses, roads and parking lots you have to create and MAINTAIN a drainage system.

Canefields and swamps used to absorb a lot of the rain water thereby reducing the effects of “flooding”.

They even built a hotel on a swamp in Holetown ( Discovery Bay ).

Water does not penetrate concrete and asphalt.

Now we need a billion dollar “infrastruce project” to build dams, drainsandstormsewers.

Happy independence day.

11. The issue of flooding has been raised multiple times on this blog and it will not be readily resolved. Starting in the 1970โ€™s as Bajans became more affluent they made decisions to purchase and build homes in areas which were formerly โ€œrun offโ€™ platforms for excess water and we have reaped the watery harvest.

One small example when in Barbados I live a stone throw from my former home and I know the area and most people very well. One area was subject to minor floods when there was heavy rainfall but a well in the vicinity (ostensibly dug for that reason took care of that problem) A few years ago I was there and there was rain which resulted in flooding (the well is still there) but the flooding was more extensive. That particular well used to be bordered by canes on both sides of the road but โ€œdevelopmentsโ€ on each side has channeled more water in that direction but the well canโ€™t handle that massive amount of water in a short time. (Just spoke to my mother and she confirmed yep there was flooding but most of the water has receded).The homes canโ€™t be moved and the whole area is โ€œconcretizedโ€ but there are many other areas subject to the same problem and until someone or some agency dig more wells flooding will continue to be an issue.

12. Hants
    Costa Rica is an example Errol Barrow copied for such ‘developments’ as NIS,operation bootstrap and the Social Partnership..

13. Meanwhile may I wish, even with the despair in my heart, all of us who love this island, and are passionate to see it returned to the glory it was, a great Independence Day. For those who have not seen it, Barrow – The Freedom Fighter is well worth every second of film. Lots is said that needs to be readdressed by this and any government of our little island, Barbados. And at least may Barrow not turn today in his grave, let him be at peace for what he achieved. Tomorrow he can go back to turning, poor man. I wish he was still here raising hell with this lot although I doubt Barrow would have stood them for long “off with their heads” would have been the cry from this King of Hearts. So celebrate his vision again with the cry of Happy Independence (found it hard to write happy, truly but respect is due to all of us who care).

14. I recall prior to independendence when the councils existed,they used to do preventative maintenance.

In St.Andrew a Mr Watson from Trio Path was in charge and all the bridges were checked and repaired,trees in gullies/streams were cut down if they showed signs of being prone to falling,before the rainy season.

I remember in 1967 after they were abolished,where I was living at Haggats St.Andrew we were marooned for days due to heavy rains like we expereienced yesterday,bridges down,roads flooded and landslides.

Preventative maintenance appears to be no longer in vogue and the preference lies in mash up and buy back a la our public buildings.

15. It boggles the mind the MTW will have to outsource road maintenance.

16. This flooding is happening because the CTO of MTW Mr. Thornhill refused to carry out his duty, the watercourse took away the water for years before he allowed the illegal action of building a botch road in said watercourse to remained,

17. David

A 4 man crew used to deal with the bridges and roads 60 years ago….what happened????

18. @ Vincent Haynes

I see you need to be enlighten of today happenings , the corruption in places like MTW /Drainage and the BWA don’t allowed for people with integrity anymore, every task , from the Minister down, asked, what in this for me? therefore in-house task is outsource where a kickback is welcome, even the person from the Ministry to supervise the job will look away and allowed any short cut, the subcontractor need to make, he get a piece of change.

19. Watchman November 30, 2016 at 12:11 PM #

Sad state of affairs on our 50th…..how the mighty have fallen.

20. To the letter writer, no man nor woman can stop mother nature. You can try to reduce the effects but you cant stop it.

21. @PAINFULTIMES , What ‘little bit’ of rain are you referring to? I work on the south coast and it rained from around 10 am to 1 pm heavy. Then it was falling moderately till evening time. Even when i got home around 7 it was still falling.

22. @Kevin November – I meant little in that it was not furiously falling like in a hurricane. There was a lot of rain in terms of at certain times throughout the day but at no time did I anyhow see rain where you could not see your hand in front of you as happens when hurricane time or a big ‘mugga’ of a storm passes over with lightening and thunder. That is all.

You will admit however that even when a little bit of water drops from the skies there are areas on the island that immediately flood – I remember when a few drops caused the whole of Sunset Crest area to be inundated. I hear it is better now but I do still try and not go that way when rain falling.

We as people are very much at fault with reference to floods caused by blocked drainage because all manner of things are thrown out the window (seen this with me own eyes) and dumped in bagfuls on side of the road (have seen this too), also huge piles of garbage of all kinds from old stoves to airconditioners are in our gullies (sadly came across a whole heap of it just before a handful of visitors where about to enter same said gully on a tour). I remember the days not that long ago when one could not see rubbish anywhere on this island – now it is all over.

When it rains, all bits and pieces that can float or get washway, get into our drainage system that is not regularly cleaned for the tax dollars paid. The sewage system on the south coast, a catastrophe in itself and a horror story in waiting to happen. We need to do better generally when it comes to the ravages of storms on our litter. No doubt about that.

23. Yes, there was a lot of debri, mainly vegetable matter, that I saw blocking the drains.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/30/business-mogul-welcomes-national-honour/

I am sure this sleazy looking crook was drooling for a pimp title to create more havoc on the island, it is the blind they all hope and pray for to hide behind, ah guess it did not happen.

25. Major landslips in the Scotland District have occurred due to heavy rains in 1784, four years after a major hurricane and 1901, three years after a major hurricane.

The only year I have found with a major hurricane when heavy rains caused major landslides was in 1831 and to be honest I don’t know if the rain occurred before, after or during the event.

I was not born during Janet so don’t know of any flooding during that event, I get the impression it was the wind that caused the problems.

I have read of major flooding in Barbados in 1938 and 1948 before I was born.

I remember the floods in 1970 (I think) and heard of major rainfall in 1966 causing landslides at Greenland in 1966 from Edward Cumberbatch (RIP).

The point is that we rarely get hurricanes and when we do flooding is not an event that seems to happen ,,, except in the case of the 1831 hurricane.

I agree we have issues with drainage but we always have had most of those issues.

We dealt with them in earlier years by staying indoors and out of the flood prone areas.

Now, we build in flood prone areas and can’t imagine why we have flooding issues and look to people to solve them.

A large area at Wotton was developed in the 1970’s and no one could understand how there could be so much flooding even though the area included a small plantation called Water Grove and it was bounded by Water Street!!!

… and then there was what was known as the “Horse Pond” in Montrose which for many days rendered the adjoining road leading to Water Street impassable.

COW can move the earth to please but he can’t do nuffin with the rain which will move it back how it wants it to be!!

26. Bushie says againโ€ฆ.
    The unveiling of that โ€˜monumentโ€™ will be a watershed in the history of Barbadosโ€ฆ.. marking the official handover to wickedness that we have seen growing at all levels over the past decadesโ€ฆ..

Well, from what I hear the whole Garrison is a watershed even before that “monument” gets unveiled!!!!

Satan’s pitch fork …. Lord have mercy!!!

27. John, also what has occurred is how drains are being built. Many drains on new roads are being built on the same level or even a bit higher than the road. This makes no sense. Also, many roads are being newly paved and sidewalks are being constructed as well and nothing is done to deal with the rain water run-off. Take for instance, Union road in St. Philip. It floods all the time now because sidewalks were built alongside the road and the water is trapped. Before the side walks the water would runoff onto the land and no flooding occurred.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That also explains who really owns the earth in Barbados and it sure ain’t Cow…lol

Mother Nature is a force to be reckoned with.

Part of thevproblem is the population do not take flood warnings, storm warnings or hurricane warnings seriously..as I child I was in the island for the 1970 flood….46 years ago, it was ugly, some people lost their lives, young people on weymouth field playing football, climbed a tree to get away from the water when it rose suddenly early that morning and drowned.

Successive, intelligent government ministers should have known since the water rose tbat night, that more dams needed to be built on the island in the last 46 years.

Older folk should have passed on the information from 46 years ago that you do not build in flood prone areas, many people lost all their possessions to water damage in 1970…bajans do not like to share important information with each other.

It will take hundreds or thousands of people drowning one of these years before it is taken seriously…before everyone makes an effort to stop the indiscriminate littering, keep all drains clean, before the idiot ministers responsible for clogged public streets understand that they should be kept clear…..

…there is some issue going on with La Nina and waters will rise, ya just will not know when.

Snowcaps are steadily melting causing the seas to rise, the island is all but under the sea.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GIS

3:15 PM Local Time Wednesday 30’th November 2016

The Barbados Government Information service with respect to the Ministry of Education is issuing an advisory to the Barbadian public.

Initial investigations have deemed certain Educational Institutions not fit for operation, please see the list below and follow accordingly.

Ellerslie Secondary School
    Combermere Secondary School
    St.Winifreds School
    Lawrence T Gay Memorial Primary School
    St.Leonard’s Boy’s School
    The Alleyne Secondary School
    The Lodge School
    Princess Margaret Secondary School
    Harrison College Secondary School
    Deighton Griffith Secondary
    Luther Thorne School
    Metropolitan High School
    St.James Secondary School
    Queens College Secondary School
    The Alexandra School
    West Terrace Primary School
    Bayleys Primary School
    St.Catherine Primary School

Parents are advised not to encourage their children to attend these institutions as a clean up effort has been initialized so as to commence classes on Monday 5th December 2016. The Ministry of Education greatly appreciates your co-operation in this matter.

30. John

Edward was our neighbor at Haggats,yes 1966 was rainy including independence day,my aging memory says ’67 for the rains that brought down some soil that blocked the St.Simons road,Isolation to St Simons was not built yet,the bridge where the cricket ground is went and coggins,bruce vale and baxters being impassable for two days with trees and debris…..these occured quite regularly upto when I left St.Andrew in 2006 and I doubt they would have been recorded as no major gabion laying was required,

My underlying point was about preventative maintenance that is missing since the dissolution of the councils.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Is there a disaster fund in place to access for this damage to the schools, ah bet the damage is much more than 7 million wasted dollars for independence celebrations..

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Wait to hear the tiefing insurance companies all gather in their crying rooms to wail about paying out pokicyholders for flood damage to cars and houses….

…. they were all crying wolf only last week about paying compensation for injuries, that is what happens when ya tell lies…ya pay more…lol

33. please notice David posting November 30,2016 at 4.50 pm, the chain link post mark the center of the watercourse, from there up to the end of the wall on the right is the botch road that turned across to the right at the end of the wall leading to Appleby that caused the flooding, as you will see Kelvin mother nature is on the job

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/30/owners-of-cin-cin-restaurant-assess-losses/

I should have added payment for flood damage to businesses the lyingm tiefing insurance companies that only like to COLLECT MONEY….will now have to pay out.

Gotta love Mother Nature, she works hand in hand with Karma.

35. David November 30, 2016 at 10:33 AM #
    It boggles the mind the MTW will have to outsource road maintenance
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    To be more specific, the Minister of Transport and Works. Waterfords Bottom was repaired and resurfaced by the Ministry of Transport and Works work teams. And a commendable job they have done , demonstrating the skill that is within the Ministry, but MTW personnel repairing roads cannot put a million dollars in anybody’s briefcase.

36. John November 30, 2016 at 3:54 PM #

I remember the floods in 1970 (I think) and heard of major rainfall in 1966 causing landslides at Greenland in 1966 from Edward Cumberbatch (RIP).
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’
    I am not aware that Edward Cumberbatch had passed on.

A large area at Wotton was developed in the 1970โ€™s and no one could understand how there could be so much flooding even though the area included a small plantation called Water Grove and it was bounded by Water Street!!!

โ€ฆ and then there was what was known as the โ€œHorse Pondโ€ in Montrose which for many days rendered the adjoining road leading to Water Street impassable.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    All of the old plantation suck wells in the Wotton /Kingsland were filled in by the various developers, to give them a a few more square feet of sale-able land.
    That area in Montrose /Wotton outside of the Salvation Army, which used to flood in earlier times, and the last time it was worked on, a few years ago, residents were assured by the engineers that flooding would never occur there again. Yesterday it was impassable.

37. On Wednesday March 9, 2016 my friend got an email from Sharon.deane@publicworks.gov.bb

Dear Mr. Blackman

I acknowledge receipt of your e-mail dated February 24 and advise that I have spoken to Mr. Thornhill who has assured me that he will address the matter, thanks for your patience and co-operation in this matter.

What Sharon Deane may or may not know is Mr.Thornhill told Mr. Blackman that he the CTO of MTW will not commit the Ministry to any remedial work in that watercourse, now this is the same Mr. Thornhill who task the workmen of MTW to paved that botch road for the benefit of a white foreign woman who built the road, in time Mr.Blackman will get remediation from mother nature, the likes of Mr.Thornhill await KARMA

38. Persons who have been flooded out of their homes should take up residence at the Grotto, Lancaster, Church Village, St Philip or Constant in St George.

39. Someone I know went to see what happened after the 1970 flood in his Volkswagon and stuck up in Waterford Bottom.

Luckily, the son of the owner from a neighbouring plantation also went exploring but he was driving a tractor so could pull out the Volkswagon.

Waterford Bottom exists because it is the result of a collapsed cave.

The gully from under the Baobab Tree at Warrens joins the gully which originates in Coffee Gully St. Joseph and the resultant gully passes through under the ABC highway, massive bridge just after the Warrens Roundabout, through Rayside Quarry and into Waterford Bottom.

It continues to the Belle Pumping Station where it joins the gully/watercourse from Hothersal Turning which passes under the bridge just outside Belle Yard before the ABC highway.

A third Gully from Charles Rowe Bridge and beyond joins these two as well.

You drive across it just before you reach the studs at Howells Cross Road.

Yesterday they were all flowing so much so that the folks in the Belle Yard were isolated, could not get to Howells Cross Road and could not get to the ABC Highway.

Once those three gullies come together the outflow is behind Glendairy, under Tudor Bridge and into Constitution River.

I was told Tudor Bridge washed out in the 1948 episode.

Normally, when rain falls the gullies act as natural drainage so seeing them behave like rivers does not happen. The water passes through their cracks and fissures and goes underground.

In heavy rainfall the gullies won’t drain the water so they flow just like rivers.

I was told that in 1970, the section of gully before Warrens which passes under the bridge at Cane Garden was so full that water passed over the bridge.

I remember the bridge that is there now was rebuilt but I don’t know if it was as a result of flood damage but it is higher than I remember it being when I was young.

If you happen to be on Weymouth Playing Field when there is a major flow of water into Constitution River I can imagine it would overflow its banks and pose a threat, particularly if the tide is in.

It subsides quickly depending on the amount of rain but if you are in the way, you will get taken out to sea, like what happened to some houses at Delamere Land in the 1970 flood.

People died there, same principle as what happened to Carew in St. Peter although mankind had a serious hand in his demise.

In the Scotland District the rush of water can be sudden.

In fact you can be standing in a watercourse with no rain falling and suddenly there is a rush of water as a result of rain in the hills and you go out to sea.

I found two examples of this happening in my reading, one to the son of the owner of Hopewell Plantation (Coggins Hill) who decided to ride his horse across the watercourse by Bruce Vale and was swept away, the other a girl crossing Joe’s River close to Frizers.

Both died.

The experience was described to me by I think Coleridge Pilgrim who heard the roar and got out of the water course in time, same one by Haggatts.

40. I was told a few days ago the Edward had passed but I had not heard until then.

I hope my source is wrong.

41. Colonel Buggy November 30, 2016 at 7:46 PM #
    Persons who have been flooded out of their homes should take up residence at the Grotto, Lancaster, Church Village, St Philip or Constant in St George.

I understand Ilaro Court has no tenant!!

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John et al
    I found this in the McGill university library. A thesis on historical geography as it relates to Bim from 1967. I only scanned it as it I was looking for something else.

http://digitool.library.mcgill.ca/webclient/StreamGate?folder_id=0&dvs=1480540213920~736

43. That area in Montrose /Wotton outside of the Salvation Army, which used to flood in earlier times, and the last time it was worked on, a few years ago, residents were assured by the engineers that flooding would never occur there again. Yesterday it was impassable.

If that is just by the playing field that was what was known as the Horse Pond.

It was probably the name of the canefield before it became the playing field.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/90946/jones-stop-malicious-nonsense-school-closures

Ronald Jones said he never gave information about schools being unfit for kids to attend, I am glad to see he is on his toes and connected to what is being posted.

45. Chefette was built in a watercourse at Charles Rowe Bridge

46. What is the need for a Ministry of the Environment and Drainage, when the prevention of floods Act Cap 235 lies with the Ministry of Transport and Works, was this Ministry created to keep Denis Lowe as a Minister , can this be call hurting many for the benefit of one, Walter Blackman,what your take on this.

47. Saw Ministers Lowe and Sinckler carrying on a conversation while the Bishop of Barbados was leading the dignitaries in prayer at the Garrison earlier this evening.Did somebody claim that lowe has a doctorate in the christian faith?Seems unlikely.Two of the wild boys for sure.