This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The supposedly “honourable” Donville Inniss, Barbados’ Minister of Commerce and Industry, is a liar of the highest pedigree, as is evident by his outrageously mendacious comments about the racial self identification of David Comissiong while a teenage school-boy at Harrison College. (In a recent debate in the House of Assembly Inniss claimed that David Comissiong self identified as a white boy when he was a student at Harrison College)

David Comissiong– the son of a Methodist Minister of Religion– migrated to Barbados in 1971, after living at Victoria Square and attending Tranquility Primary School in Port of Spain, Trinidad, in the midst of the Black Power revolution that erupted in the communities of Port of Spain from the month of February 1970. (Incidentally, Tranquility Primary was a government school that also produced Dr Eric Williams, Stokely Carmichael and Tony Martin).

The eleven year old David Comissiong ( and the family that he was a part of ) were required to live in the Methodist Manse in the semi-exclusive residential area known as Highgate Gardens, and almost immediately he challenged the race and class structures of that residential community by seeking out friends from the black working class community of the Pine housing area.

The Comissiong home became a veritable community centre in Highgate Gardens , and became the locus of an extensive group of black middle class and working class boys drawn from both Highgate Gardens and the Pine who grew up together and became life long friends. Furthermore, many times the young David Comissiong was forced  to defend his black working class friends against racist white residents of Highgate Gardens who were opposed to their constant presence in the hitherto exclusive residential community.

Actually, David Comissiong did not come to social activism as an adult– he was fighting race and class struggles in Highgate Gardens from as early as thirteen years old . Indeed, what Donville Inniss may be blissfully unaware of is that there is a whole generation of people from the Pine– particularly from the areas of Blackman Field and Princess Royal Avenue — who knew the teenage David Comissiong well.

But it is not only the people of the Pine who were able to witness and scrutinize the teenage David Comissiong up close– virtually the whole of Barbados had a good view of the young David Comissiong. You see, while he was still a school boy at Harrison College, David Comissiong used to regularly appear on a CBC television programme called “Understanding” — a programme in which he and other young students such as the now deceased David Thompson and former Government minister Liz Thompson, would interrogate adult public figures and would express their own social and political views.

The reality is that David Comissiong was literally born Black conscious and from as far back as he can remember self identified as a proud Black human being.

Indeed, David Comissiong’s first published Letter to the Editor was written when he was 14 years old and was a defense of Black people against a scurrilous racist attack. In addition , David Comissiong was known at Harrison College for his big Afro hairstyle, and he had the distinction of once being called out by the Headmaster (Albert Williams) before the whole school at morning assembly and instructed not to return to school until he had cut his hair!

It may also be usefully noted that David Comissiong appeared in theatrical productions at Harrison College and for Harrison College at NIFCA, and famously played the part of the African prince!

David Comissiong , who distinguished himself at Harrison College as a House Captain, Editor of the School Newspaper, Vice Captain of the school’s Track and Field team, Barbados Exhibition Winner, and who was voted by his sixth form peers as the student who had made the most outstanding contribution to the school, actually has no recollection of Donville Inniss at Harrison College.

He , however recollects many other presently outstanding citizens of Barbados who were at Harrison College with him! One of them is prominent Attorney-at-Law and Cricket administrator Philip Nicholls, who has recently published a book in which he refers to the teenage David Comissiong.

Here, for the record, is one of Nicholl’s recollections of the teenaged David Comissiong :-

Extract from Philip Nicholl’s recently published book entitled “More Binding Than Marriage: The perils of a legal partnership” :–

“From Merrivale I moved on to Harrison College in 1971….. At Kolij I met up with some persons who were to become lifelong friends, guys such as Edmund Hinkson, Solly Nana, Frank Belgrave…. David Comissiong…and Reuben Bailey…. Already, however, those early days were seeing auditions for our future interests. Those present at our many summer limes that included robust playing of road tennis will remember well David Comissiong’s mortification that some of us could be supporting “imperialist” nations at the 1978 World Cup when African nations and Brazil were playing.”

Oh, what a congenital liar Donville Inniss is!

125 responses to “For the Record DONVILLE INNISS is an Outstanding LIAR!”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There is a valid, more than one actually, the closed brethern formed their own school, how is it the ministers of those days did not try to stop them or embarrass them…, disgrace that the slaves in parliament still are 30 years later.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

The Corbin to whom you refer had a cousin whom I believe was a B’dos Scholar/Exhibitionist, whose family was “read out” when that student chose to attend University. So he went to 6th form. DC would know him, for he was likely in his year.

I am going to guess that 6th form itself was considered Higher education by the Brethren.

3. No David Commisiong after reading your comment posted at 12 .55 i am of the opinion that your are trying to remain politically relevant using BU as a sounding board to further aachieved your political ambitions .You stated that DI told a lie but why use the court of public opinion to correct a lie ? Why not use the court of law and order.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

WW&C

Were Presentation and the Convent not sponsored/run by a religious group? Religious schools are as old and as common as salt breads.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

“trying to remain politically relevant”. Look in the mirror please. If DC was not relevant why would a senior minister bother making any reference to him?

6. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Greetings PUDRYR
    It delights me to see you here and firing on all cylinders.
    We might be strangers, but yet I see you an as old friend.
    Welcome ….

7. @ David,

and Willie D( asI used to call him on BFP ) did not have to respond in such a foul manner but it is my considered opinion that your true character eventually manifests itself when you are angry.

Even if Commissiong had “whitewashed” at Kolij it is what he has done in his adult life that really matters.

Now David BU…… Can we have a blog titled PROBLEMS IN BARBADOS AND THE SOLUTIONS.

We should be talking bout potholes,water woes,Cawmere and BRA and ……..

8. I don’t know about the brethren not going to University or acquiring higher education. I knew some brethren and their father was an accountant. If I am not mistaken Stephen Pile attended uni in Australia.

9. As I recall there were many Brethren children attending the Louis Lynch Secondary and I was told that they took their kids out of school after 3rd form.They were not to use computers,not to listen to radio and not to mingle or mix with other than the brethren fold.I can also say that I have seen them traveling to Jamaica and to St Vincent by air,and each man,woman and child had a 6 pack of Cockspur or Mount Gay in hand.Fact.

10. Can’t you read?

Do you understand what parliamentary privilege mean?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Northern…the Convent is catholic sponsored, the oldest religious con game, can’t remember where Presentation came out from. I did not say there was anything wrong with the brethern opening their own school, which can be equated to home schooling their own children, I am saying the slaves in parliament did not try to stop them although knowing that their teachings would not be conventional as one would find in public schools and can any of them say the brethern sctually follow the ministry’s guidelines….the name CLOSED brethern saysit all..

The convent, I know personally, follows ministry of Eds guidelines, with no deviations and so dud Presentation..

12. Can i have an opinion please without always have to be viciously under attack by political operatives. Everybody here says whatever they blasted like true or lie but there always seems to be exceptions to the rule when others give a difference of opinion
    I stand by my comments could not care less who agree or disagree
    Commissiong has found BU as a refuge and a haven to carry his socialist communist agenda to a higher level

13. Your hignorance knows no bounds!

#JA

14. Weak kneed knuckled heads like northen observer would continue to sing the praises of Commissiong like the same kunckled heads in america who wanted change not fully understanding the mind games of those whose sole quest is to require power

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…yall thieves in parliament have nothing else to steal so be gone, you know the minorities have no further use for you when you have nothing else to deliver, yall broke the island with corruption..

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Well Well…..closed is a largely Bajan term. Google it an you will see. The split was into Open and Exclusive arms of the Brethren. I believe the Bajan ones are from the Exclusive order, But effin ya en open ya mussee closed?

Presentation was also Catholic sponsored. And while you are likely correct it was tantamount to a version of homeschooling, I think a greater issue was their increasing inability to get their young people to conform, due to “schooling exposure” They always “opted out” of any religious practices at school, as did some others. There is no reason to believe they would not keep to Ministry guidelines.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

WHERE have you seen me singing the praises of DC? Once when he wrote a letter to the SSA, I congratulated him for having the gumption to ask questions which were in the public interest.

I have asked another known supporter of the party in power, with identical initials to yours, WHY it is ok the NIS hasn’t produced an annual report in umpteen years?

I would ask the same question of any party/group in power. I could give a hoot about the political make-up of the government, other than it was fairly elected by the people.

It is of no value to pose such a question to a supporter of those not in power, because they will reply “how do you expect me to know….ask one of DEM”.

So I become a weak kneed knuckle head because I asked of you…”If DC was not relevant why would a senior minister bother making any reference to him?”

Notice, both you and the other AC have called me names, but neither have answered very simple questions. In typical style, the question is ducked like a bouncer, and the response is an attack on the person.

18. @ David who wrote ” Your hignorance knows no bounds!”

…. in Bajan vernacular…. a wrasse whole idiot !

19. @ John November 23, 2016 at 1:14 PM

lol

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“other than it was fairly elected by the people.”

That is also in question as both Fruendel and Adriel Nitwit swore they witneesed vote buying in 2013, by both political parties, everyone is still waiting for Fruendel and Adriel Nitwit to lock up the parties they saw buying votes…., that’s the reason there is this…

https://imgur.com/gallery/9hhFq2I

Lookee ACs….over 6,000 views, is that a successful poster or what.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Northern…it’s nice to see you still trust and have faith in men…lol

22. Why is Commissiong so senstive about being called white at the point where he brings the fight to BU and attacks Dornville
    It is not as if his reputation was being sullied he seems very thinned skinned on an issue that crosses racial lines or could it be that his bigotted side is being revealed in more ways than one.So what so wrong with being called white if your skin pigment is not black

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs..why are yall such petty, stupid people, Donville Pornville Dumbville is a mediocre jackass, tell him the roads in Haynesville are in a deplorabke state and need fixing, or is he going planning to attemot buying votes in that area again for next election, the people should do to him what they di did to Liz Thompson in 2008…. this time around.

Dumbville is not minister material, he shows it everytime he opens his mouth, he is not equipped to rise above the pettiness of a small mind….the people are tired of being sold out by Dumbvilke who has no problem endangering his oen people’s health and lives, he is a nuisance to be gotten rid of in 2018.

24. So David Commissiong was accused by DI to reffering his identy as being white
    Bizzy got mad at PM for stating that barbados is a predominately black nation
    The truth being that there was an time in barbados when being white gave a higher leverage to acess of favour than being black
    Sometimes peoples actions speaks louder than words and can send a message which the individual is not self conscious or unaware of the intent of the message sent
    There is a possibilty that Commissiong actions while in the presence of class mates send different messages preferably identical to white attributes which could have been easily interprted by his black counterparts as Commissiong prefereably wanting to be identified as white .
    Di was only calling out what he saw in Commissiong traits during the school years.
    Taking this issue and blowing it out of proportion serves only to give the inclination that David Commissiong inner feelings might have been rooted with an image of self hatred towards himself as a child in skin identity and DI mouthings are reminders he rather forget
    Maybe DI might have pinpointed a relevant sourcing of self denial which Commissiong harboured in his teenage years while initiating a catalyst necessary by which Commissiong can shed himself of any race self induced hatred he felt as a child towards himself

25. You and Pornville are jackasses of a feather…

Commissiong did not complain about questions of his racial identity… he complained about the fact that the pornman is LYING…
    Which person seeking to be seen as ‘white’ back then sported an Afro hairstyle….?

Yuh Cobo …. (corbeau, or ‘shiite bird’ for the uninitiated…. 🙂 )

26. Lol afro was symbolic and it was worn across all racial lines blacks wore it as a symbol of identity. White’s wore it as showing support for blacks causes
    However back to crux of the on going now what has become a feud and it’s
    relevancy to self identity
    Commisiong sensitivity to his self identity to which DI references gives reason to belive that Commisiong had presented two sides of himself .There is a possibility that in all earness Commisiong struggled with his identity and protray either side in his quest of trying to be accepted during his school years
    Of course within time as race became a well publicised and vocally unacceptable Commisiong decisions of readily accepting himself to be black became a lot easier
    Today one can easily see by his record on works through African organizations where his heart lies but one should also easily understand that in an era of hositly towards blacks his variances to fit in with both faces and cultures would have been forced by a willingness of wanting to be accepted through no fault of his own.A force and a challenged which he fought through his school which might have been a misrepresentation of himself and unintentionally misread by DI
    A lie NO an unintentional misrepresentation Yes which can easily be forgiven given the time period and era of racial discontent both men lived in.

27. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

“All over Barbados there are successful businesses owned by the Closed Brethren, and heavily patronised by Barbadians.
    It would be interesting to learn which secondary schools, old or new, did most of these Close Brethren businessmen attended?”

Close Brethrens or Plymouths whatever they feel like being identified as are educated up to 3rd or 4th form mostly the females, they do not go as high as 6th form. Their businesses strive because they are great accountants, they leave school early to become certified accountants. Their English language skills are deplorable.

They are a bunch of alcoholic uneducated hypocrites. They hire blacks simply to under pay them. The Poli trickians in Barbados should be eradicating these injustices meted out to Barbadians instead of constantly attacking each other for fame.

Donville Innis and his DLP counterparts are all LIARS.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….wont yall dumb asses feel insulted being associated with white ideologies, any smart conscious black person woul and would also voice it have you no commonsense, it’s even worse if it’s a lie.

I have heard black men boasting, through ignorance that they have “white in them” without knowing that they are demeaning themselves, they then pass that lack of knowledge of white ideology on to their children, ehich in turn produces asses like yall.

When the uneducated ministers and minstry of education finally learn that “whiteness”…is not a skin color, but a state of mind and start legislating that this awareness be taught in the schools, there will be no moe confused psychologically damaged jackasses like Dumbville parading in the parliament trying to use the blighted lack of knowledge by people like himself….for political leverage and gain.

29. bush sh//it u are a real fart hole fuh trute doah, uh alwayz ready n able to be a low life sneaking side winding snake with uh slimy attacks using the same vernacular u condemn others ,,u miserable creep

30. Well well

I’ve also witnessed white people here in the states argued quite persuasively that their have black in them, and these people are obviously correct because the evidence is there to support the fact that the blood of the African as well as the European in the western hemisphere is indeed mixed. Now the question is: should we be celebrating this as though it is to be wore as some badge of honour, certainly not? The sad fact is we are all human beings equal on every level, but the institution of slavery has obviously damaged the collective psyche of the human race, but it will take time to change this erroneous way of thinking I suppose?

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….in reality, there is nothing such as a white person, it’s an ideology. In reality, there are people of African descent, lighter toned, darlpker toned, whatever.

Whiteness is made up shit in the last couple centuries by people who were searching for thir own identity and some riches. ..read some KKK literature, it will help you tremendously, yuugely, bigly.

32. @ WW&C
    …what nonsense are you encouraging now?
    Reading will only serve to confuse Dompey more….

The only way to get through to dopey is with licks. Unfortunately, that wise teacher that he had at St Leonards did not get the opportunity to finish the job he started…..

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..just trying to hepl out Bushman.

34. Well Well

You need to read Sir Arthur Lewis as well as Claudette Williams book called Charcoal & Cinamine, to better understand the origin of the concept of whiteness as it applies to the people of European extraction.

35. Chuckle……

Well Well & Consequences November 24, 2016 at 10:48 AM #

….in reality, there is nothing such as a white person, it’s an ideology. In reality, there are people of African descent, lighter toned, darlpker toned, whatever.

Whiteness is made up shit in the last couple centuries by people who were searching for thir own identity and some riches. ..read some KKK literature, it will help you tremendously, yuugely, bigly.
    ……………………………………………………………………….

Finally sense emerges.

36. Well Well

You really can’t help me with much regarding race because there isn’t much that I haven’t read in the way of relations as an immigrant living in a in country founded on the principles of racism and sexism.

37. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Thanksgiving day and who do i see .. Dompey 🙂
    I will still give thanks

38. One cannot deny that skin color is a normal form of racial identity if that was not the case we would all be categorized as a people without a race or just simply the human race which is not the case but encouraged and accepted as one of many reliable way of recognizing one race from another by use of skin color
    So for those with their so called boring and boorish intellect setting out to dehumanized a normality of the human gene i say to them take their ridiculous ideas albeit with selective scientific findings to persuade and discourage and disassemble a well know truth that people skin color is a marker used to differentiate the race of a people and culture
    In any case the ideology of whiteness has nothing to do with the topic at hand . The difference being the skin color is an identity marker genetic to pigmentation while the ideology is a construct meant to have superiority over one race that does not remove identity

39. Well Well

Are you aware of the fact the American Constitution made no provision for women, minors of people of colour at the time of its ratification? And that a lot of the views on women regarding the suffrage amongst many other things, came about as a resulted of the thinking of the quite a few philosophers from the western intellectual tradition?

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…that was such a stupid comment from yall, not even worth answering, keep up displaying yall lack of intelligence and everyone will stop indulging you…lol

Dompey…it’s been days now I have been saying on here that the constitution was created by long dead people, for long dead people, to ensure that only white men and no one else had any rights, it was never upgraded sufficiently by the living to assert the rights of everyone, except for a few measily, nonfunctioning amendments…

….. therefore, long dead white men are still controlling living people’s lives negatively from the grave, because the living refuse to bury those long dead ideologies wth those long dead white men.

In the case of the black leaders in Barbados they love being controlled from the grave by long dead white men, or they woud make drastic changes to their constitution to benefit their own people.

41. it is stupid because you cannot refute my point of argument you choose to turn the subject matter into an ideology built on a premises of superiority which was not the intent or for which was Commissiong concern
    However it is not unlikely for you to bring in your boorish recants as a way to control the content of any given article
    Always so f ing annoying

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I am not helping you Dompey, I told you to read t KKK literature, that will help you, I know you never read any of it by your comments.

Vincent…none of that is new, there are just many more underlying factors to deal with, you take what I posted and post it on the website of any KKK, Neo Nazi or far right extremist group and see their reaction, better yet, confront them physically with the truth and see what they will do to you.

I have always held that view, but you want to change the mentality of blacks to reflect that truth and expect them to act accordingly, but you said nothing about changing the nasty racist mentalities of the whites and other groups…it’s not the job of blacks to stop them from being stupid racists….and that is where we diverge.

So how are you going to convince racists around the world that they are supposed to be accepting of their black brethren and sistren and that we are all one and of the pelau race and yada yada….

The floor is yours Vincent.

I suggest you start in the US, UK, Germany and Canada….not the Caribbean.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…only annoying because you cant get anything in your mind to make sense, by the time it reaches the blog, it’s gibberish.

44. WW&C

Present day humanoids’ DNA indicates that they are all of the same origin,that melanin is not a gene,hence we are one race with many tribes by virtue of cosmetics such as environment,geography, culture,etc,etc…..tibes form,disappear,new ones emerge.

Present day Caribbean has had a makeover during the last 700 years and by crossfertilaisation of many tribes,there is presently an opportunity to classify ourselves as a new tribe that I refer to as Pelaus due to our variety of ingredients like our Caribbean dish pelau.A Pelau covers the full quantity range of melanin and has shared experiences.

Once we identify ourselves,accept that the rest of the world does not owe us anything,stop looking at everybody else,develop our own code of operation and a vision,we will be ready to take on the world and establish our place as an equal.

45. David Comissiong Avatar

FOR THE RECORD:-

According to Caribbeanelections.com, Donville Inniss was born on 1st January 1966. He would therefore have entered the first form at Harrison College in September 1977, the year that David Comissiong entered the sixth form. And it would appear that Donville Inniss went as far as the fifth form level at Harrison College.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…that does not fix the problem of racism practiced by the very tiny minority of whatever they call themselves lately against majority black populations in the Caribbean, which is apparently state sanctioned, nor does it repell racist tourists from visiting the Caribbean shores, racism has been a blight on the Caribbean islands for those centuries, how do you reprogram racists, you are living in a fantasy pelau world…a dish I really like and cooked on Monday, but the reality to your fantasy….is quite different.

Ad whenever tha is fixed, you still have the curse that is classism embedded in society coupled with racism….solutions Vincent, not fantasy.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Re Dumbille..that so explains everything.

48. Sure WELL WELL like your well recitations and retorts of the same boorish arguments like your 12.34 comment blah blah blah
    however for good measure i crowned you Bu Turkey of the day just another ideology one that is factual and cannot be refuted having all the stuffing and trimmings well placed for those of your likened mind to gobbled up

49. Well Well

Racism and classism speaks to a mentality that is intricately interwoven with some measure inadequacy because why does one have to determine his or her self-worth through one’s race or one’s enabling means?

50. It is regrettable we have these politicians who drop untruths in the public space and it is given currency by yardfowls. Agree with you 100% holding them to account.