trump-pence

What concerned me most during the run up to the election was the planned false reporting by the corporate media and some of the major internet sites. The election was always much closer than they were purposely misreporting, and only folks who had the opportunity to hear or read news from alternative sources that the election would be a dog fight and not a cake walk for Hillary – BU Commenter Bajan in NY

Against the the run of popular opinion Donald Trump was elected the 45th president of the United States of America. What is bodes for the world time will tell. What is reaffirms to the BU household is that the voice of the people is the voice of God.

On behalf of Barbados Underground (for what it is worth) we congratulate Donald Trump and hope he will be able to advance the cause of mankind as President of the United States.

463 responses to “Trump Threads the Needle”

1. @ NorthernO
    He has no point…..Ja Boremann !!!
    He is just a troll who pimps around behind BU in order to plagiarise ideas for some shiite blog he writes…
    Unfortunately no one bothers with the drivel … so he is here often….
    ha Ha ha

2. Marcia Shaniquette Weekes Avatar
    Marcia Shaniquette Weekes

Lol northern … lol an smiley face yall get it. Ah cant write “I” but ah can write ah, yall knew? Lol, too.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

ac you amuse me.
    I have watched your approval and encouragement of the protest movement. It is obvious you think protesting has some effect, and is valid and justified. I don’t oppose you, because a basic freedom is to peacefully express our views

Yet just a few days ago, when on another thread it was suggested peaceful protests around the 50th celebrations would be in order…..here is what you typed

“The only people who are opposing the celebrations are those looking for Utopia driven by a selfcentred agenda while carrying the weight of a huge political axe to grind.
    What you nerd to do is drop that heavy weight and become doers instead of antagonist asking self what you can do for the country instead of asking what can country do for self”

Can you imagine if the Trump supporters began a victory march (celebration) what would happen? The Cleveland Cavaliers just went to the White House as part of their victory celebrations. The Chicago Cubs held a victory gathering, reportedly attended by more than 5 million (more than voted there).

On the one hand you support celebrations recognizing an achievement and on the other you support celebrations which oppose such victories/achievements.

I think you should change your moniker to ac-dc, you go all ways.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT
    Boredom on a Fri afternoon.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 11, 2016 at 5:47 PM
    “So the swamp is keeping Donald Trump from sweeping himsrlf out to sea Now he says he will keep some of the Affordable Act intact. Well well well what a difference a day makes.
    Go protesters”

What’s the point you are trying to make about Trump? He has been ratified by your boss man Fumble so why don’t you perform your yard-fowl duties and fall in line?

Trump has not promised any thing more to the American electorate (and on which he will renege) than what Fumble and his bunch of liars and clowns promised the Bajan electorate of fools.

Remember the catchy slogans of “No Layoffs of Public Sector Workers” and “No Privatization” under a DLP watch?
    Now STFU, and cluck like a yard bird against Mia, as is your SOP.

6. de pedantic Dribbler November 11, 2016 at 5:44 PM #

We will agree to disagree…….I always look at the bottom line……..who benefits……it does not lie.

7. @Miller

Commenters are free to post, some take a sabbatical for reasons known to them. What BU has never done is to pressure anyone to post to BU.

8. miller fuh real wuh trump has not yet been allowed to govern and in less than forty eight hours he has changed his mind . Now compared what Trump is planning do in reference to the Affordable care Act with a simple change of heart to the length of time it took FS to initiate a plan to stop barbados from falling off the fiscal cliff left behind by the great economist OSA and his band of cohorts in collusion of which Mia was one

9. @Marcia Shaniquette Weekes November 11, 2016 at 5:22 PM “Does anybody whose IQ is bigger than their shoe size, or anyone above the age of 17, still say LOL? ”

I still write lol because I do not know how to spell laughing out loud. Lol.

10. Northern observer

Where did i say that no one should oppose or refuse to engage in the celebration of barbados 50th . i do not in any way see my criticism as one of telling people whether they should not celebrate However the election of DT have far more reaching consequences internationally and locally than a one day celebration in barbados as for certainty the constitution gives DT a period of four years on the job to be governing america initiating policies that have long lasting effect in america and the world over and for that reason given his stated recommendations to Give back america the protest should be welcomed not because he won but because of his reactionary policies like immigration and Nafta which would take america back to those good ole days of ultra extremist policies which hurt the poor and shut out the rest of the world from sharing and being a part of the economic growth and wealth which america controlled also which are essential to progress and productivity for other countries advancement economically as well as socio-enviroment working in their best interest. also added to the growing worry than Trump believes or has shown a propensity not be guided by those who have more knowledge and experienced than he but to travel a road best only known to himself

11. are-we-there-yet November 11, 2016 at 3:05 PM #

not agreeing with your comment reference Putin a beneficiary bringing cause to protest action. What is see is another threading of a needle to weaken DT resolve by the protesters Hence his first tweet , then his compromising 2nd tweet in the early morning,
    The protesters understand psychological warfare and its negative impact on the human psyche now less than forty eight hours DT is singing a different tune and he has not started to govern and all his loud and unfettered bombas is being weaken by the sight of people shouting rejection to his governance therefore he has no other choice than to pull out his Trump card of appeasement which he has used during the campaign to woo his supporters… now the chickens are beginning to come home to roost with riots in the street and he must once again used the appeasement trump card to save his hid

12. @ David who wrote ” some take a sabbatical”

and some just stop by to read Bushie, Miller,Jeff and you. lol

13. The protest are growing from state to state with high expectation of getting larger. This is one time DT wished he could called his security to”get them out of here” Yes he can but first he has to apologized to all the good people in america and across the world most woman and immigrants that he hurt and insulted with his bombastic language

14. @Miller etc
    Give a shout-out also to our recently unbalanced friend “balance”. Hope the old codger is still around and looking to hear from his side of the debating scale
    Balance is still around, he just changed his moniker, you are an observant fellow you should be able to figure him out.

15. @ AC
    that he hurt and insulted with his bombastic language
    When the Unions here start putting similar lashes in Froon’s donkey over wunna nasty, petty action in dealing with the NUPW president, …we will hold you to the same statement about your bombastic and insulting leader….
    He will apologise too…?
    For CLICO…?
    for CAHILL…?
    for Lowe…?
    …for sending home 60-year-olds from BIDC …and keeping ‘wuk-up’ Worrell at 97?
    …and fighting to keep[ the useless DDP til he ain’t able to play golf no more…?

16. @Bush Tea

They better resolve this conflict with AKanni if not they will be real embarrassed come independence day.

17. @Chad
    Of 22 people on Trump’s transition team, only Ben Carson is black. And Ben is a political novice. A dim bulb.
    ++++++++++
    Right you are but Ben has been a good and faithful servant and he will be rewarded, Christie seems to be on the outs after his errand boy performance when he dropped out of the Primaries. Christie ought to have known that his usefulness would be over as soon as Trump won, you ask why? Christie as a prosecutor sent a billionaire named Charles Kushner to jail for illegal campaign contributions, tax evasion and witness tampering. Kushner is also the father of Jared Kushner who happens to be Trump’s son in law, now are you going to have any love for the man who sent your father to jail? Wouldn’t you be whispering in your father in law’s ear that he should jettison Christie ASAP?

Christie is going to be lucky to get a role as dog catcher in Trump’s Administration, the official reason will be pinned on “Bridgegate” and possible indictment.

18. Bush shit are u comparing DT soon to be world leader of the free world one whose actions and policies can cause devastating consequences to countries albeit his way of winning by his narcissistic display during the presidential cycle towards woman and people of various races and cultures
    Are u saying that an Annaki demotion should give rise or causes for similar protest in barbados is like comparing apples to oranges. Furthermore Annaki was not qualified and that might be the only comparison or similarity Annaki and DT has in common

Trump makes the stock market great again

It is a crowning insult to Donald Trump’s political adversaries. First they insisted that Donald Trump was not to be taken seriously. As the race tightened, they insisted that he was a threat to global peace, prosperity and stability. Then he is elected and the US stock market has the temerity to edge up instead of collapsing.

Even for ardent NeverTrumpers, relief would be a much more fitting response than resentment. The world is at a delicate moment. The most powerful country in the world may reverse its stance on almost every important issue. If markets remain buoyant as the transition takes shape, good. It is one less thing to worry about. And strong markets stimulate confidence, which is something America could use just now.

Markets are strange beasts, though. While they tend towards equilibrium — towards putting the right prices on things, given the information at hand — at any given point what they are doing need not make sense. Sometimes the nonsense lasts quite a while. That said, the post-election strength in stocks and accompanying decline in bond prices has a simple, compelling explanation.

It runs as follows: Mr Trump promised strong fiscal stimulus, in the form of lower taxes and higher spending. This should stimulate growth, and the accompanying deficits that cause interest rates to rise. So, sell bonds (whose prices fall as rates rise) and buy stocks (which are valued based on future growth). Industrial stocks in particular should rise, as infrastructure spending targets them more or less directly. Banks too: as long-term interest rates rise, their lending profits rise so long as short rates are relatively stable. This is more or less what has happened.

Everyone should hope that this story is true, and that its later chapters are as pleasant as the first. It may well be so: higher government deficits are strongly correlated with higher corporate profits (all those government dollars have to land somewhere).

Given the enthusiasm, the story has been taken up by market pundits and participants. However, it is worth noting some of the ways the plot may thicken.

First, if all of this is so obvious, why was it anticipated by so few people before the election? Well, remember that the market received two pieces of information after the result. Republicans retained the Senate, making Mr Trumps programme more likely to be enacted. And the only policy he articulated in his initial comments after his victory was a commitment to heavy infrastructure spending. This is precious little to go on, though. Right now, Mr Trump is providing information to the markets with an eyedropper. In a few months he will be using a fire hose. No one should be too confident of the market effect of a Trump presidency.

https://www.ft.com/content/f81bd368-a806-11e6-8898-79a99e2a4de6

20. @ Davd,

Looks like America will have President Trump inc.

His closest advisers are his children.

Reality show in the White house.

21. @Hants

Nothing wrong with it once he does not pay them.

22. David

forgot to mention that health care stocks will rise under Trump because he is unlikely to restrain drug price increases as energetically as the Clintons; and oil industry stocks will rise because of the removal of restrictions on fracking.

These upward trends will be only slightly offset by declines in green energy stocks because Trump is not keen on subsidies to the solar industry.

Trump has floated the idea of paying for some of his infrastructure projects with private capital. That would hold down the fiscal deficit and moderate expectations of future inflation.

23. @David
    The stock market was doing well without Trump and it would have done just as well with Hillary just ask the Oracle of Omaha (Warren Buffet).

The biggest mover in this recent surge was none other than Corrections Corporation of America whose stock rose 49% another company called GEO Group’s stock rose by 21%. What do these companies have in common? They are part of the private prison system in the USA, so Wall street is betting that profits from these businesses will continue to rise as long as the Republicans are in power. We used to hear of the Military Industrial Complex, it should be expanded to the Military Prison Industrial Complex since the US has the highest rate of incarceration in the world. Recently the Justice Dept. said it would stop using private prisons and Hillary announced that she was against the practice but Hillary is now a private citizen.

The very concept of private for profit prisons should be verboten in most progressive countries as ideally socioeconomic conditions would put a damper on activities that would lead people to prison and Gov’ts would prefer to have citizens engaged in the community rather than being locked away. Private prisons have a profit motive and require clientele to remain in business, if there is a profit motive those K street lobbyists representing the private prison Corporation will be lobbying Congress for increasingly tough sentences for minor offences to keep the pipeline moving. That could explain why so many black men are in prison and why prison reform remains a pipe dream.

http://ow.ly/HbH03066jxo

The poison that is Trump..

http://ow.ly/m0Fn3066jAw

Which can only get worse as time passes.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/vx4Q3066jFU

Old friends and slimy allies again.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hillary has shares in the prison system, she and her slimy husband expanded on it and immigration detention in the 90s….it is huge corporate business, dont mind the fraud Chad. Trump will just expand on it further.

It should be called what it is. …trafficking in incarceration and detention between city, state and federal governments.

Why do you think so many people want to see the Clintons behind bars, just returning the favor..

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/wfZz3066kgf

The Trump legacy.

28. Under Obama, the stock market has been driven primarily by monetary policy decisions.

Under Trump, who is at war with Fed Reserve Chair Janet Yellen, fiscal policy will begin to affect the stock market almost as much as monetary policy.

And if Trump can increase the rate of economic growth, with tax cuts, repatriation of corporate profits, deregulation and changes in trade policy, the stock market will rise faster than would otherwise have been the case.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-elections/donald-trump-transition-team-members-presidential-advisors-washington-swamp-a7412226.html

Lol, hahaha, lol

Trump is draing the swamp alright by putting all the washington crooks he was railing against to do his dirty work…lol

The only swamp he is going to drain is when his idiotic supporters start to realize he lied and liedvto be elected, hr will have all of the rounded up and increase the prison system for profit…that would be their perfectly deserved karma.

Ya better start stocking up on that prozac Chad…that is no joke.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-trade-theresa-may-donald-trump-deal-a7413216.html

At least some people are thinking clearly and intelligently. ..knowing that all the pie in the sky promises by Trump are delusional, intentional, malicious and deliberate,

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Drain the swamp my ass, all Trump will continue to do is fill the swamp with pondscum.

Chad…ya would think you would by now at least have the decency to be ashamed of yourself….lol, MoneyB and GP left you alone to twist in the wind, they are hoping something good comes out of the fraud that is Trump so that they can say…”you see, we were right about Trump”….but so far even them have to admit, it is becoming a costly mistake to have thought that Trump could be anything other than what he is, a criminal, liar and fraud….so now ya on ya own….lol

The news just keeps getting worse and worse, nothing good will ever come out of any of this…stock up on the prozac.

31. @chad99999

The bottomline is that we will have to wait to appraise performance. He cannot do any worse that Obamma where racial shooting and tension was at its highest.

32. “America is still the most powerful nation in the world, but it is a declining power.
    It is just a matter of time before Brazil challenges the US for regional influence.
    In Asia, Duterte is even contemptuous of the US (ignoring the racism implicit in his attack on Obama).
    It is a complex world.”

I have already made my position clear on America’s loos of influence in world affairs under Mr Obama with his boyscoutish approach to foreign policy issues which has caused the Great Satan to lose much respect in the eyes of those who looked to them for support.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

The best article I have seen on Trump since the elections.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/11/trumps-fascist-triumph/

For Chad 9×5, Charles Skeete, etc.

34. And Yes as Trump assumes his position of power to take back america the eyes of the world are watching with great concern as the protest grows larger by the minute even high school students are taking off school to form their own protest America Great Savior of the world has arrived blowing his Trumpet riding on His white horse and the country has began to revolt
    the end times has begun

Revelation 20

35. “In short, the rule of Big Money and its attendant culture of cupidity and mendacity have led to our grand moment of spiritual blackout. The founder of Western philosophy, Plato, foresaw this scenario. In “The Republic” — history’s most profound critique of democratic regimes — Plato argues that democracies produce citizens of unruly passion and pervasive ignorance, manipulated by greedy elites and mendacious politicians.”
    — Dr. Cornel West
    Spiritual blackout in America: Election 2016
    The neofascist catastrophe called Donald Trump and the neoliberal disaster named Hillary Clinton are predictable symbols of our spiritual blackout.
    bostonglobe.com
    https://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/2016/11/03/spiritual-blackout-america-election/v7lWSybxux1OPoBg56dgsL/story.html

36. Piece uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar
    Piece uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

In the fullness of time all of the conspiracists and conflationists with stories of EEPROM embedded code in voting machines and superlative hackers WILL CEASE and what will happen is that the USA will go back to being what it is.

A game show star will implement his parallel policies for (a) ensuring that he and his family benefit personally from this presidency to the max and (b) the status quo where elitist america and its mighty military machinery WILL LIVE and when I say LIVE I mean that it will PROSPER as it always has and must.

De ole man agrees with those of you who are constantly watchful of Putin and his never changing agenda and know that DT wont sell out the USofA for EEPROM code.

The thing is that with his IQ and that of his advisor family they cant necessarily see fomenting discontent in the structures of the US society read increasingly violent street protests with the concurrent displacement and witch-hunting of minorities that will now continue apace compliments of Donald J Trunk.

This is what happens when you sow the wind.

I am really not interested in nor will I continue to waste time on this “denouement” read Republican whitewash and do not believe that, barring that Electoral College issue that Maryland is pursuing, anything will come out of any and all of the lawsuits pending contra DT

What I AM VERY MUCH INTERESTED IN and what i find pertinent to our own circumstances lies in what Bernie Sanders speak to in this article in the NY TImes

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/12/opinion/bernie-sanders-where-the-democrats-go-from-here.html?_r=0

This has and continues to be the ole man’s chant regarding the total inaction of the BLP party in opposition which for me is indicative of what portends.

How does an opposition, waiting in the offing, as they have been these 8 years, show that they have the competencies to change this malaise and abyss called the Demonic Lying Party???

The reason Hilary lost is that she spent too mush time with Bernie and did not focus on the threat of Trump!!!

I have said that a few times but let me translate that into the practicuum of our Bajan experience.

What will the BLP bring to the table that shows that they have a working counter that will address our Garbage Disposal Issues?

What does Mugabe and her Troika propose that is of such sterling ans sound content that, unlike the vapid promises of a campaign trail do not do the RETRACTIONS like Trunk is now doing with the ObamaCare Repeal??

We need to get serious about our own governance issues going forward past the whitewash that the DLP WILL RECEIVE

When we look towards what the infrastructural requirements of this floundering country what becomes clear is that the credentials of the BLP which is going to be relied on to take us out of this pit MUST BE IMPECCABLE!!

De Ole Man cannot get pun dem site no more causing, wid all the hardware that the grandson put pun me machine their BLP.ORG.BB site, which is tracking all viewers, reports “Access denied. Your IP address is blacklisted. If you feel this is in error please contact your hosting provider’s abuse department…”

But the point that i am submitting for your consideration is simply this.

Let me use the example of Sandra Husbands at St james South as opposed to Ronnie Yearwood Innovation Expert from UK Diaspora.

Sandra has been knocking around Barbados for years (just like Hilary was) The former has held several positions in leading private sector entities most notable of which was her post at the Small Business Association where Lynette Holder resides ad infinitum.

What are her achievements there?

Wunna getting the ole man drift??

What is you claim to fame? what has you do fuh de time dat you was at de sterring wheel?

If the answer comes back nothing but twist up you mouf and talk like if you got a frog in your throat, then what we have is another Pornville in the making.

We need to be dispassionate about this and DEMAND THAT, EVEN NOW AS MOTTLEY IS SETTING UP HER SUCCESSION, they these politicians, start to deliver a clear pathway for us that is carved in ROCK.

Here is a frightening proposition for the BLP to consider.

The disenchanted electorate STILL HAS POWER THAT WUNNA DON’T UNDERSTAND.

Just like Clinton realised, we have to power to vote (for Fumbles) OR SIMPLY NOT VOTE!!

And therein is the greatest problem that wunna going face

VOTER APATHY!!

Frankly if MOTTLEY DOES NOT PUT SOMETHING SERIOUS ON THE TABLE that shows that she does in fact have serious succession plans then the outcome of this coming GENERAL ELECTION will be a severely hampered outcome with regard to the number of seats won and a de facto limp DLP government without the # of seats to make any meaningful changes.

37. Interesting….

China has warned Donald Trump that he will be defying the wishes of the entire planet if he acts on his vow to back away from the Paris climate agreement after he becomes US president.

http://on.ft.com/2g3bKm1

38. Bushie predicts that Chad99999 will only see the light about Trump when, like the black Trump supporter who was roughly ejected from a rally, Chad is faced with the REALITY of Trump’s agenda.

Trump has won the election by going with the flow in the USA….as opposed to Clinton with her false optimistic “America is great” shiite…

That ‘flow’ is racist, selfish and specifically ‘white-supremist’. This is why, no matter what other shiite Trump said or did, his 51% support was assured. All he needed was to get them to vote – and the free publicity caused by his outlandish actions and words did exactly that.

Having won, he now has to decide how he will bridge the gap between the 37% racists, the 37% liberals, and the 26% clueless morons who comprise that country. An almost impossible task after passions have been raised to the levels that they had to be, for him to win in the first place. The result will be inevitable….. as fractions take steps to protect their interests.
    It is called civil war.

The USA will be very familiar with the concept, ….having actively and liberally incited it across the world from South America to Asia ..in the last 60 years.

Karma is a bitch.
    …..and she is no respecter of brass bowlery.

39. I agree with bushy barbados needs a white primeminister

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fantastic article by Laurie..

People are not planning to return to Joim Crow days without a fight.

http://ow.ly/WkC23066vWF

This is what Chad will now experience on a daily basis, it’s obvious despite living in the US for decades, many blacks, hispanics etc were never really in tune with the simmiering undertones, many people did not believe us when we said this will be the outcome…now they are the ones who will become the victims of their own actions..

http://ow.ly/JsXa3066w11

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/trump-kicks-black-supporter-rally-calls-thug-article-1.2850358

This is what Trump does to his black supporters.

Yeah Lawson…and Canada needs a black prime minister, right sfter the gorgeous Justin.

42. The hysterical rant from Peter Laurie is evidence of the miserably poor quality of our senior civil servants.
    This guy is uninformed and lacking in judgment. How could he have risen to the top of the foreign service?

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David November 12, 2016 at 6:24 AM re ” The bottomline is that we will have to wait to appraise performance. He cannot do any worse that Obama where racial shooting and tension was at its highest.”

Mr Blogmaster you are a reasonable man so you will allow me to be frank and say that your remarks above are grossly unfair and shows a sad bias.

It is insidious to compare any racial climate engendered by the Black president Barack Obama who came into power walking a tight rope of racial balance to suppress any idea that he was overly biased towards those who looked like him to Trump.

On several occasions when he stepped out of that box to express his feelings on race positively and powerfully he was yet chastised….example when he noted painfully that Trayvon Martin could be his son; or when he ‘angrily upbraided’ the white policeman for arresting unnecessarily the Black university professor in front his own home.

You equate Obama’s peaceful and overly accommodating temperament on race (particularly) to the incendiary, deliberately divisive tenor of Donald Trump. Really!!!

If I may remind you and the blog that in September 1963 four lovely Black girls were blown to smithereens in their Sunday School class by racist segregationists. YET only in 2001 and 2002, just SIX years before that Black man took office were the last two of those racist cowardly scum brought to justice.

They were in the lovely US of A protected by their brethren, voting and enjoying life. All of them surely like their KKK brother David Duke and his like minded cohorts who protected them all those years would have voted for Trump. Yah think!!!!

So when you suggest that the man who incited and excited to the polls folks like those KKK cretins from Birmingham can do no WORST than Pres Obama re racial tolerance and tension in the US, you would excuse me for calling that ‘a tad’ ridiculous. With respect bro!

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chad…is that your lame answer, Laurie has reasoning and analytical skills, enough to propel him into the diplomatic community…where are yours, has Trump chosen you for anything, since he unceremoniously dumped Chris Christie……his main yardfowl..

…..besides your current role as an uninformed yardfowl, what role have you been given in the Trump organization…..enlighten us.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ chad99999 November 12, 2016 at 9:15 AM
    “This guy is uninformed and lacking in judgment. How could he have risen to the top of the foreign service?”

The same way Trump was able to rise to the top of the political shit pole.

They say shit always float to the top. Look around you and see that truism at work; especially right in your shitty Barbados.

Why do you think you are on the top of the BU chart?