Barbados Underground supports the Rastafari family in its fight against the establishment -Barbados Child Care Board to win custody of their children. The following is a report by Simba Simba โ€“ Barbados Underground
Is this family being 'persecuted' because they are Rastafarians?
Is this family being ‘persecuted’ because they are Rastafarians?

The African Heritage Foundation (AHF) accompanied the Lashley family to their court hearing regarding the custody of their two children today (27/10/2016). The Barbados Child Care Board has brought a custody case against this family in an attempt to take custody of their two children and make them wards of the state. The foundation of their case is that the Ministry of Education has brought a case against the family for failing to send their children to school and not following proper procedure which would allow them to home school.

On Monday the 24th October the AHF represented by myself and Ms Leah Clarke along with Attorney at Law Mr Ajamu Boardi met with officials of the Ministry of Education to discuss the best way forward in the above mentioned case. It was stated by all parties present that we were all acting in the best interest of the children. We were told what the Ministry of Education required for the allowing of home schooling. It was highlighted that although a letter was sent in by the Lashley family to the Ministry of Education stating their intention to continue home schooling it was not accepted by the ministry as that. It was also stated that a curriculum and a work timetable had to be submitted along with names and qualification of intended educators. The AHF agreed to their request and further clarified the position of the parents in the methodology of how they would like their children schooled and the role they as the parents would play. It was agreed by all present that the religious perspectives and rights of the family be strictly observed as we proceeded in this delicate matter of religion vs education and institution. A question was asked by the AHF about assessments for the children. The Ministry of Education stated that no assessments of the children were carried out on their part. We the AHF then informed them that our organization had arranged to have assessments done and then summaries of the assessments for the two children were handed over to the representatives of the Ministry of Education. It must be noted that the assessments done were carried out by a professional in that field who also works on the behalf of the said ministry from time to time.

Within two days a revised letter of application to home school, with curriculum, work time table and intended educators with their qualifications was submitted to the Ministry of Education by the AHF on behalf of the Lashley family with their consent. Today the 27th October 27, 2016 the AHF submitted an affidavit that states our continued support of this family in the area of the education of their children.

With all this being done it would seem that the judge is moving in the direction of throwing the case out and has even questioned the jurisdiction of his court in hearing such a matter. He is of the opinion that the best place for the children at present is with their parents. However the Child Care Board seems relentless in their efforts to make the children wards of the state. According to what has been stated before it would seem that all other parties have the best interest of the children at heart and are working together to attain the best solution in this matter. It is only the Child Care Board that seems to be in it for the win and not acting in the best interest of the children. In the light of all the cooperation and extended assistance being given one would think the wellbeing of the children educationally would no longer be an issue. That is not the case. Even with all the discourse in the society about home schooling being held at various levels of our society and the overwhelming support for it as a viable means of instruction for children, the Child Care Board presses on as if the idea of home schooling was absurd.

I am left now with the feeling that this case was never about the wellbeing of the children but some sort of attack on this family to make an example of them. A warning perhaps, to other Rastafari families who have issues with the education system and would like to educate their children at home, to desist with this thought, seems to be the motive of the Child Care Board. Seeing it has been put out there by several political entities that home schooling is prevalent in Barbados and that the Child Care Board is not dragging parents that home school left and right before the court is an indicator that the real motive is not to fight home schooling but to fight a certain section of the community that would like to have this option open to them. Everyone and their grandparents agree that the Child Care Board has been found wanting in their duties of protecting children in Barbados. Cases of the abuse of children that have been reported to the Child Care Board that have been dealt with in less than satisfactory ways, that have led to the death of children are well documented in the minds eye of the Barbados society. Maybe this strong handed approach by the Child Care Board is a statement to Barbados saying โ€œhey look we actually are working to keep our children protected from various forms of abuse.โ€ Seeing that they are now out to save unabused children and remove them from the safe and loving environment of their parentโ€™s shows that maybe the Child Care Board is not very clear on what abuse really is when it pertains to children.

Tomorrow morning the judge will give his decision on the matter. Will these two Rastafari children become wards of the state or will they be left in the custody of their parents? No matter the outcome, something needs to be done with the Child Care Board by those with the power to act. I hope that the Rastafari community can mobilize petitions for the government and UNICEF to look into this case. The Child Care Board needs shaking up. Lend a hand and help shake it.

Simba

144 responses to “Child Care Board Insists Rastafari Children be Made WARDS of the State”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“However the Child Care Board seems relentless in their efforts to make the children wards of the state.”

The intent of the ministry of education and child care board is to corrupt the minds of these children, any psychologist worth his or salt will tell those goats that removing these children from their comfort zone, safety of the home they have ever known and away their from the love of their parentsm will cause trauma.

The ministry and child care intend to cause these kids psychological damage, while their pedophiles are just waiting for these children with open arms.

This matter should be highlighted internationally, it appears the ministry of education and the child care has not been embarrassed enough, they need much more embarrassment to bring them into the 29th century.

They all refuse to do anything about the child abusers, child killers, child predators and pedophiles on the island, but are determined to destroy the lives of 2 children and their parents, who do not deserve their backward attention.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…….21st century…..

3. As small island nations struggle to come in line with the many social changes which the global community has already implemented as a need towards relaxed goals of inclusiveness , Small islands courts would have to lead the way by giving small island institutions and govt the necessary authority to remove those hard line obstructions that once where hinged to old methods of colonial governance

4. do the kids smoke pot, are they exposed to pot smoke on an on going basis, this may be a factor the judge has to consider not just home schooling just as dropping children on their heads has influenced the AC’s thinking ..exposure to chemicals at a young age may also have detrimental effects

5. @lawson

That is a very insensitive remark. The big issue here is a Child Care Board attempting to remove a child from a loving home.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@AC, not quite clear the thrust of your position but your use of ‘small island’ repeated in the brief retort initially came over as pejorative and demeaning. A matter like this is not one that should overwhelm our island’s -small or otherwise – courts as some ‘hard line obstruction of an old colonial governance’.

There are groups in Barbados that have been ‘home schooling’ their children in some way or other for years.

This situation smacks of discrimination first and foremost as the author Simba so carefully laid out. It certainly appears that the CCB is not interested in how well adapted the kids are as the assessment mentioned was given scant interest. That is obviously a key aspect of any such case and it appears the children accounted themselves well re peer based pedagogy standards. So that’s not the issue it appears.

It is not abuse according to the hearing summary. Nor is it indifference or child neglect.

Thus as the author said, “I am left now with the feeling that this case was never about the well being of the children but some sort of attack on this family to make an example of them”.

And what does that have to do with colonial vestiges exactly other than the fact that a Black peopled CCB and government are more disjointed in 2016 than maybe they ever have been about Bajans Rastafari since I was a boy and the government were apoplectic about the growing Rasta community in St John and across the island!

7. Ya know, at times there is the urge to do what is wrong irrespective of the consequences that may follow.The headline of this article really got my goat, if I may use a saying of old. Unless every last vestige of that board’s top brass for at least the last fifteen years is extinct I would ask this question.On what moral authority does this entity stand to disrupt anyone’s home setting? Perhaps we should start to bring to light the at risk little girls that were taken out of the proverbial frying pan into the fire, and who turned a blind eye….Bewiched Bajans!

8. David it may be a loving home but so was the Beans cave in endinburgh, the judge must weigh all evidence to make a discision of what is best for the child under the laws of the land. It is a tough area to broach but loving your children is not enough as by law the welfare of the child comes first. I am sure the judge will make the right choice, usually they are a parent themselves and have a good grip on what is at stake here.

9. @lawson…..as the saying goes”he who feels it knows it”. Based on your post it is a very fair deduction that you were exposed to perhaps more than the smoke…. Ever heard of the lil boy that died of a gunshot wound? Ya think weed was involved there too?

10. And when I say bring to light I talking bout dropping some names into the public domain…We got some shameless heifers bout hey!

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Let us for a moment introduce something other than the usual emotive thread into this conversation that moves away from the emotive (imagine that – the ole man who thrives on the effect of the emotive now seeks to take a step in the other direction)

I hold no brief for Simba, nor the Lashley family nor any others in this studious attempt to make an example of Rastafarians who “feel dem got the intellect to fight the Ministry of Education” that is being championed by the Child Care Board.

Oooops i slipped bact to the emotive didnt I? I sorry!

Take a look at the simple statement that follows if wunna will

“…A question was asked by the AHF about assessments for the children. The Ministry of Education stated that no assessments of the children were carried out on their part…”

If that is not the definitive in this matter and if that does not show the underlying driver in this then de ole man would retract all he “Not One Effing Seat” for the DLP campaign with immediate effect.

Any idjit, of which I am one, and Ronald WeJonesing is many, would have said, let us get our house in order BEFORE WE PROSECUTE THIS MATTER which is, quite simple, that one of the children went to school with their apparel smelling like tampi.

A teacher was made aware of this circumstance and all hell broke loose thereafter.

This has nothing to do with Home Schooling per se!!

This is contra marijuana!!

Again de ole man has outlined a number of pertinent statistic that equally inform on this matter (i) precedence (ii) the level of education of the educators (iii) economic standing of the parents (iv) colour of the parents (v) assessment of the performance of thusly taught students.

All of these items are sadly missing from the debate and for de ole man only confirms that this is not a home schooling matter but the prosecution of an issue to deal with children smoking ganga and coming to school partially spaced out.

What is at the core of this legal wrangle is the use of marijuana in children and all the hullaballoo that Simba and de lawsons and the MoE, and the CCB mekking is what is behing this mess.

I gone befo’ i mek somebody get demote like Akanni McDowall or wusser still loss dem pick.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/ohio-police-share-photos-adults-overdosed-child-car-article-1.2784467

Lawson…what do you think about this and how it affects this child in the car, those 2 parents in Barbados, do not look zonked out of their minds, neither do the kids, they look like 2 functioning adults raising 2 functioning children….who have alreading been accessed, if you read the article….and found to be high functioning and literate.

13. I am all for parents who wish to educate they children at home, but does this method of education short change the child? Does the child who is home schooldevelopes those social skills which are necessary for a child to function as he or she should in modern day society? And shouldn’t the Ministry of Education exercise some level of oversight to ensure that the child’s education prepares him/her to meet the needs of this new global society long after the parents are gone?

14. First of all i do not see this issue having any thing to do with discrimination but with laws that are already on the books that are being challenged .Moreover because other
    individuals have gotten away with breaking of laws over the years it does not mean that a precedent set by unlawful rule negates that such precedence set a foundation wherby others should follow.
    In my humble opinion these are growing pains which small island nations would have to grapple living within a global community who standards have changed across a social enviroment to accomadate
    The courts therefore must be cognizant of all facts pro and con and may at times take a look at how other states or jurisdictions have handle these complex and complicated problems
    The govt on the other hand in the pursuit of what is rigt guude by law might have to revisit or revamp old and existing laws in effort to be fair minded and not be accused as advocates of heavy handedness and dictorial tendencies

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Do you see the true definition of child abuse and exposure to drugs by parents,, the police in the US are so fed up….and Canada too Lawson and UK too,….. and….and…..too, dont get there playing holier than though when Canada has an equally horrendous problem with narcotics like heroin and the exposure to children, abuse and other stomach churning realities.

This case in no way warrants the attention to this couple and their children other than exposing the backwardness of ministry officials and the nonfunctioning idiots in the child careless board.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/s745305CJtp

For the illiterates among you….

http://ow.ly/cKA4305CJCB

You are welcome.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/yroL305CJMp

Advantages.

If I had to do it all over again, all my kids would have been homeschooled privately.

18. I’m all for pushing the ideology of race consciousness and race empowerment through the medium of academics, but race consciousness will not prepare a child who is home school to face the contemporary challenges of modern day society.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“A Growing Option in American Education: Interesting and informative article that shows how much money homeschooling is saving taxpayers in instructional costs. It also gives a little history into homeschooling, showing that George Washington and Thomas Jefferson were students of homeschooling.

2 US presidents were the products of homeschooling, now yall can have an intelligent duscourse instead of gibbersih.”

You are welcome….in most countries with fioward thinking leaders, it’s an option being pursued by parents.

20. Homeschooling is done across Barbados everyday, the difference here is that it has to be approved by the ministry of education. What BU is struggling to understand is why is an incompetent CCB requesting the children to be wards of the Court. The same CCB whose neglect led to the death of two children, probably.

Based on Simba’s report the magistrate has been sympathetic to the plight of the parents in this matter. These parents have not been accused of child abuse .

21. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

This is a very difficult issue and is bordering on the emotional. But that is to be expected. Man is an emotional being.
    The major issue should be the best interests of the children and their ability to cope with and live in the Barbadian society. Education should be able to prepare the youth for the world. The school is not about religion,. It is not about race. It is not about class.
    That said. Is educating the child in the public school system that bad?
    How does one define child abuse? There is no charge here. How did the CCB get involved ?
    The fairest conclusion is for the children to remain with their parents but for them to get an education where they can socialize as well as acquire high quality education.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/Rvii305CQWf

I sincerely wish this couple has an option to sue the useless jackasses in the child care board falsely accusing them of child abuse and trying to make their children wards of the state.

I am sure there is something more devious and disgusting in the minds of those at childcare board, people have lost children over the years because of those beasts, someone was relating a case to me where a mother of a couple kids never found out where one disappeared to after child care board intervened.

As we all know they never intervene in real cases of abuse and rape that leads to children’s death, they need to be thorough investigated this fraud agency.

Maybe this is the catalyst to shine a larger spotlight on what goes on in there.

http://ow.ly/wz5N305CSeq

More information for the illiterates.

23. @ David

Until the original set of lies are extirpated these contradictions will dominate

Christendom is the real enemy here, the churches used to practiced the same nonsense too

The contradiction however, is that the Rastafari also misguidedly are an offshoot of Christendom.

Central to their doctrine is the preeminence of a bloodline which NEVER existed.

Of course, we speak of artificial line of King David, Solomon, Jesus, Selassie I, etc.

This whole acili, root and branch, must be destroyed otherwise no amount of home-schooling will make any substantial difference.

24. @Pacha

Recently a UWI,Cave Hill academic challenged the system that religious should not be taught in schools.

In both systems religion is thought.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha…you are right, the religion thing is crap, but just the thought that the hypocrites want to castigate and dictate to these people who also use the same bible in their religion as everyone else does, is mindnumbing.

The issue at hand is getting the necessay forms and having them processed so that the kids can be homeschooled as the parents wish, using ministry approved curricula…anything else is human rights violations by both the ministry and child care board of numbskulls…against the parents and children.

26. i thought that we should not be thought any thing at all……murder in the rum shop
    better stay home and be thought at home rather than go school and be thought to spell simple words like thought incorrectly

the BU bullshit too sweet

27. Well Well & Consequences October 28, 2016 at 9:55 AM #

i agree with you
    all of our children should stay home
    no religion
    no bible
    let them be “thaught” only by reading the daily drivel on BU led by a number of obvious devils

28. re Recently a UWI,Cave Hill academic challenged the system that religious should not be thought in schools.

IN 1971 AT CAVE HILL AT AGE 19 I HEARD A LECTURER IN USE OF ENGLISH CLASS “THAUGHT ” THUS

THE BOOK OF ROMANS IN THE BIBLE IS THE BEST PIECE OF ARGUMENT IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE

HOW FAR HAVE WE DESCENDED

29. I MUST CONFESS THAT I STILL MUSE ON THINGS I WAS “THAUGHT” IN PRIMARY SCHOOL SUCH AS THESE WORDS

Lord, I would own Thy tender care,
    And all Thy love to me;
    The food I eat, the clothes I wear,
    Are all bestowed by Thee.

โ€™Tis Thou preservest me from death
    And dangers every hour;
    I cannot draw another breath
    Unless Thou give me power.

Kind angels guard me every night,
    As round my bed they stay:
    Nor am I absent from Thy sight
    In darkness or by day.

My health, and friends, and parents dear,
    To me by God are givโ€™n;
    I have not any blessing here
    But what is sent from Heavโ€™n.

Such goodness, Lord, and constant care,
    I never can repay;
    But may it be my daily prayer,
    To love Thee and obey.

30. When parents are being challenged by an agency of the state in an argument about how their children should be educated, we are in a familiar debate about the rights of adults versus the rights of children.

As a thoroughly colonized people, Barbadians have signed on to the notorious United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, otherwise known as a CROC. This Convention gives children virtually the same rights as adults, in this case the adult parents, so the Child Care Board is speaking on behalf of the child and his or her “right” to overrule the parents.

Does anyone grasp how crazy this is? Ever since the world was asked to agree that “all races are equal” we have been saying that everybody is equal to everybody else. Women are equal to men. Children are equal to adults.

But that is nonsense. A child does not have the cognitive capacity or life experience of an adult, and should not have a “right” to decide how it will be educated. If adults have to make decisions for the child, then the parents should be presumed to have a greater interest in the welfare of the child than the total strangers working for the Child Care Board.

End of story.

31. Yes Well Well

More broadly it is about social conformity.

Conforming to the established code, mores of Christendom even, and religion is only one part thereof.

Even if it means a substandard miseducation from a third rate public school

All and sundry must bow to the god of this system

This is built into the fabric of this society.

They already say, for example, if you don’t have certain toxic vaccinations you can’t be admitted to public school.

And although we know with certainty that these things are wrong, we MUST obey anyway.

Christendom is an *itch

32. @ Georgie Porgie

You are such a brassbowl, female rabbit

Is this to be a spelling challenge now?

Are you still doing the eleven plus?

That is why we are convinced people like you want fu*king killing, and there are many.

On one hand you could follow a stinking religion, built on grand lies and there are no critiques of that.

But that David could spell a word/s wrong on his own blog a fu*king nothingnarian like you could find nitpicking the thing to do.

33. @Pacha et al

Please try to contribute and stay away from those who do not have the interest of a Bajan blog at heart. Here is our only comment on this matter, The behaviour of David is/will be influenced by one person alone, DAVID ๐Ÿ˜€

34. Pachamama October 28, 2016 at 10:20 AM #
    @ Georgie Porgie

YES SATAN YOU WERE A MURDERER FROM THE BEGINNING
    NOW YOU WILL KILL ME AND SEND YOUR AD HOMINEMS AT MY “THAUGHTS”
    GET THEE BEHIND ME SATAN

RE try to contribute and stay away from those who do not have the interest of a Bajan blog at heart.

LOL I JUST JOINING IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING MY VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE

35. RE They already say, for example, if you donโ€™t have certain toxic vaccinations you canโ€™t be admitted to public school.

YOU ARE INDEED A DEVIL
    THE WORK OF SABIN AND SALK AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE SCIENCE OF IMMUNOLOGY ….HAS IT NOT MADE A DENT IN THE COMMUNICABLE OR INFECTIVE DISEASES?……..I

SO CALLED TOXIC VACCINES CHANGED THE PRACTICE OF PAEDIATRICS FOR SURE

DO YOU KNOW THAT THE ORIGIN OF PAEDIATRICS WAS “STRAIGHTENING FEET” ONE THE MAAJOR SIGNS IN COMMUNICABLE DISEASES SUCH AS POLIO

36. What good is an education if it doesn’t equiped the student with the necessary tools to challenge the conventionality and orthodoxy of a given society or age? When I was a child my parents did their best to shape my worldview the best they can, but when I started to develop my own individual throught process, I started to rebelled against a lot of what I was taught by my parents. But we have an academic system today that is more focused on indoctrinating the student rather than giving the student’s the necessary tools to put that same academic system under scrutiny. It wasn’t until I took philosophy that I really started to question my faith, my moral outlook on life, and those traditional methodologies handed down by past generations -which shaped my overall thought-process.

37. Well Well & Consequences October 28, 2016 at 8:22 AM #

If I had to do it all over again, all my kids would have been homeschooled privately.

I AGREE WITH YOU
    ID HAVE THEM READ THE DAILY DRIVEL AND DRINK THE DAILY KOOL AID PRESENTED IN THE BU SHIT TALK SHOP

38. Pachamama October 28, 2016 at 10:20 AM #

SLIMY SCUM LIKE YOU TINK THAT ONLY YOU HAVE THAUGHTS AND THAT ONE MUST ADHERE ONLY TO WHAT WUNNA THAUGHT

WUNNA THINK THAT ONLY WUNNA CAN CHALLENGE

AND WUNNA GET OFFENDED WHEN FOLK WITH INTELLECT CAN SIT DOWN AND WITH MIRTH “TAKE AWAY YOUR MARBLES”

39. Hear yes hear yee

To be transparent about a decision we have made, the moniker GP was flagged that all comments be moderated.

40. oh Lord

GP has lost his SALVATION

HIS BREATH IS GONE

GP I DEAD BECAUSE OF THIS DECISION

41. Well Well

You’re going to home school your children with books which are published in Europe and in North America rather hand them tools which encourages individual thinking.

42. David

If you censor GP you might as well censor Bush Tea because he is and has been a verbal bully here on BU for years, and you have allowed him to act without impunity.

43. @ Dompey

How did Bushie get into this?

Whether you like it or not Bushie is the professor emeritus of the BU household. And this writer so recognizes him, whether he like it or not.

One thing about him, and we must admit, is that he has a mind of his own. And we highly appreciate that.

And yes, we agree on most things but there is an ‘intractable kernel’ on which we may never agree.

Bushie is the one poster we always read. And though we may disagree 1% of the times, we are never so disagreeable that these numbers could be inverted.

We could not say these same things about the subject of this discourse.

44. Pam

“How did Bush Tea get into this was the question?”

What has independence of thought to do with an individual who is as intellectually arrogant and impertinent as this twisted individual? He hasn’t any respect for the views of those he deemed nonsupportive of prevalent discoure here on BU, and at times he does resort to the gutter in an effort undermine the confidence of those who haven’t the testicular fortitude to stand up to him. Take the young man Artax for example: he doed not have the wherewithal like an AC nor a Dompey to push back here on BU, so he faltered under the opposition a few weeks ago, with your very Bush Tea leading the charged.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…you are misquoting me, everyone of my posts distinctly says, if the parents choose such, if it’s the parent’s choice, if they opt to home school…it is a personal and available option and the most intelligent people, who can afford to do so, choose that option.

As I said, if I had to do it again, I would homeschool my children privately, you can also homeschool publicly…and not one backward ass could stop me without a nasty fight, real low down and dirty fight….because those in petty power in small island states love to violate other people’s rights…suffice it to say, my kids were not schooled in the Caribbean and had the option, but I did not have the time.

I never forced religion on my children because as a child I saw the mindwash and all the crazies it creates….it has only gotten worse over the decades.

My children never read the drivel in the bible and they are well adjusted adults, most of them raising well adjusted children.

Pacha. …in a small minded backward society things can only get worse.

I lived many years in the US, never got caught up in any of their shit religions. ..Canada, ditto….it is not a necessary part of life…..discouraged all my children from falling into that pit. ..because it is not a necessary part of life.

Life is such a happier and uncomplicated paradise without the manmade miseries.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

But GP…ya gotta admit, there are things posted to BU that I did not know and was glad for the knowledge, I am sure you can say them same….

…… when the Dompeys and ACs mangle a subject and I google it out of curiosity, I learn something new, so yes, I would let my grands, children are old people now, read BU cause they will learn something they did not know I did not know and their parents did not know, knowledge is power, only if you read.

I was reading a blog over the weekend that exposed so much that goes on to destroy the supreme court in the island, as much as I talk on here, much of it I did not know. There was even a threat to email the blog to the chief justice and judges, so that they too cannot pretend they do not know…..everything made public to effect change.

Despite spending years in the US i did not know that 14 or 15 US presidents, Winston Churchill of UK, Bach, Mozart, Alexander Graham Bell, Louis Armstrong and thousands of other world leaders were homeschooled. ..did you know before I posted it on here, I think not, so the blogs also serve their purpose and play their part in educating society. Dont knock BU.

47. @ Dompey

At 9:47 David made an important point.

Instead of studying the import of such we were distracted by an ‘alleged’ spelling error.

So its alright to follow an entity unseen but David who we known well, the deeper meanings of his contribution, we must be distracted from.

We would like to get back to the issues. Not be any longer deterred.

On that contribution, we wanted to say that it is good that the UWI person made the comment about teaching religion in schools.

However, it is contradictory that the teaching of religion happens there and elsewhere.

48. Why does Christianity and Christian culture pose such a threat to medievalists? Let me state the specific case of the Rasta family and how up once again the obvious flaws in our family and welfare law,
    Two children were absent from school on a number of occasions; the class teachers, who are responsible for the roll, would have noticed this after a number of day – whatever the school policy is.
    The duty of that teacher is to draw the situation to the head teacher’s attention; s/he would then write or visit the parent, while also informing school welfare. There could have been a death in the family.
    After that, the head and welfare would decide what would be the next step: either a visit by school welfare carrying out a formal interview and warning the parents of the consequence if they fail continually to send the children to school.
    If they have to prosecute, then it should be in the family court, not an ordinary criminal court, since the identification (privacy) of the children should be protected. That is the primary duty of the family court and is universal common law.
    By identifying the parents in a small society, they could have well have identified the children. This is the injustice.
    The family have been failed by the teachers, the heads, the courts and school welfare; in other words, the state have failed poor people. This is the level of sophistication of Barbadian justice.
    It is Barbarism masquerading as justice.

49. The court does have a duty here to perform.Throwing the case out on whatever grounds does not solve or find any solution.The court is therefore duty bound on twofolds to protect the States right under law or be the arbitrator in assisting the govt in making sure that the long arm of law does not undermine or take control of parental rights in the rearing of the child

50. In all honesty. I feel that this whole matter has more to it that the well-being of the children. If the parents have done all that the Board has requested and submitted the documentation to them.. what now is the big problem? can the Government afford to take care of these two children who seem for all practical reasons are doing just fine in their home environment? To me, something seems to be missing from this whole picture, and it doesn’t seem to be the well-being of the two children. The strange part to this all is that many are going to school and still aren’t fitting into society like normal beings. Many children in Barbados and matter of fact in most countries are very disrespectful even with all the training that the schools are supposed to be offering. Everything starts from HOME; In my opinion, these two children more than likely will do better being homed schooled; Aren’t their more pressing issues in Barbados that needs the attention of the Government?