dpp
We give credit to Barbados Today for highlighting this grave injustice meted out to Kobia Jamal Robinson by Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock. The idea that a person charged with a crime in Barbados has to wait for three years to have their case heard is embarrassing and wrong.  The fact others have had to be on remand for longer than three years confirms what BU has been commenting for several years – see Tales from the Courts.

We have two issues the authorities must resolve with dispatch:

• A heavy backlog of cases in the Barbados Courts
  • A Director of Public Prosecutions who is unable to ready cases for trial in a timely manner despite the backlog of cases

A reminder to Leacock – JUSTICE delayed is JUSTICE denied!

148 responses to “DPP Charles Leacock Found Guilty”

1. IT SAYS BELOW JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

I JUST JOINING THE DISSCUSION AND EXPRESSING MY VIEW

SIMPLE SIMON DONT LET NO ONE TELL YOU WHAT TO WRITE

JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

2. @Georgie Porgie October 19, 2016 at 1:05 PM “SIMPLE SIMON DONT LET NO ONE TELL YOU WHAT TO WRITE.”

I am cool. But thanks anyway.

I have the smallest ego in the world, therefore I am not easily offended, or intimidated.

3. [Barbados Underground] Comment: “DPP Charles Leacock Found Guilty” InboxBin B Barbados Underground

4. WHEN WAS THE DPP TRIED?
    IN WHICH COURT?
    OF WHAT CRIME?
    BEFORE WHICH JUDGE?

CAN ANY ONE TELL M E?

5. Georgie Porgie

I admire your intellectual arrogance because you believe as though the buck stops with you on issues of opinion. who made you judge as to whether or not others are writing intelligibly or unintelligibly? And even though you’re somewhat respected here on BU for your regurgitated medical information, I really believe that you harbour some insecurities and expressed them openly when what you have written on BU has been challenged. One knows that an intelligent man respects the opinions of others, whether those opinions are of a thoughtful nature or unworthy of one’s time and effort.

6. GP when was Hilary found guilty however your new found friend Donald Trump has already sentenced her to jail

7. WHEN I BROUGHT UP BU THIS MORNING I READ DPP CHARLES LEACOCK FOUND GUILTY

MY SIMPLE QUESTIONS ARE

WHEN WAS THE DPP TRIED?
    IN WHICH COURT?
    OF WHAT CRIME?
    BEFORE WHICH JUDGE?

CAN ANY ONE TELL M E?

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I regularly have appended many an article here with the words “the DPP Leackycock leader of the 40K illegal guyanese living here in Barbados’

My remarks on this two part statement about the unknown count of illegals did not stem from xenophobia.

It was based on my knowledge and prosecution of the fact that our Immigration Department was and is part of the problem of blackmailing Caricom Citizens, most notably the Guyanese, into supporting the building of palatial homes for these officers of our Immigration department.

One needs not say too much about the assassination of one of their own, in Butlers’ Avenue in Spooners Hill while he was taking his evening siesta? years ago.

My “prosecution” of DPP LeakyCock’s ineptitude lies in his renown ergophobia as opposed to any customary Bajan xenophobic reaction.

Like many I am disturbed by his aversion to any type of work during his tenure.

But I would wish to speak to the unwitting fallout to his ergophobia.

De ole man has a theory regarding Muslims who “become radicalized” and seek to take lives during subsequent encounters with the public whether in the USA, UK, and Europe (and elsewhere)

Many of these individuals, post the incidents, are researched to “have had no known ties with mainline indoctrination Islam” so investigators have a problem ascertaining their motive.

De ole man has this posit which is built on De Pedantic Dribbler’s aka the Word’s example of that 16 year old youth who subsequently took his life.

De ole man believes that this is the phenomenon/phenomena enacted when men who were incarcerated, react, like Clyde Barrow, of the Bonnie and Clyde duo, when they are released, these are are men who were possibly raped during their incarceration AND THEY, BECAUSE OF THEIR RESPECTIVE SOCIALIZATIONS, CANNOT & WILL NEVER PROCESS THAT ACT.

Of course this is not a scientifically researched posit but de ole man feel that this particular population should not be mixed in dem circumstances cause it does not augur well for Malls and public meetings upon their release.

Notwithstanding that left field submission, for we big balled men who round here prancing around with our testosterone, I would ask wunna to think of what such faceless crime would do to you, and why, post your release into the society, why it is soooo easy to act out that hate.

Like i said it is a theory and wunna dun know how de ole man does confabulate pun dese tings.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I would like wunna to focus on this incarceration thing and what it means to be locked up for an inordinate period of time, sine your day in court!!

Let us put aside any “interpersonal liberties” among the single sex population just for a while, if that is possible, and thereafter think of the festering that is enforced on you to experience an abdication of due process.

Now, be he guyanese or canadian, or britisher jest tell de ole man effing what he is doing is true dispensation of the duty that his job mandates?

If any uh wunna can answer yes well so be it but if there is any doubt in your mind as to the horror that his inaction, compounded by our court system, inflicts on the rights of an individual, then wunna gots to say dat de man is “Guilty as Charged” and in the face of all the irregularities he administers for other guyanese and or whites who brek the law, well he needs to be released when the Troika wins the General Elections

9. The only way we wish to see GP’S friend Donald Trump in the White House is on a guided tour when Hillary is elected President of the United States.lol

10. Piece

I thought I would have never lived to see the day when a man with your intellectual perspicacity, tripped fall over the definition of the words phenomena and phenomenon.

11. Piece

If DPP administers for other Guyanese and or White people who breaks the law, then obviously, he is not the problem, but an antiquated process in want of the proper checks and balances.

12. PIECE

IT CAN NOT BE SAID THAT YOU DO NOT JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, SEEING THAT YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE. BRAVO

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That should be Mia’s first act, firing DPP Charles Leacock.

14. Well Well

The Barbadian electorate ain’t comfortable with the idea of a female prime minister nor does America with a female president, but in the case of America, Senator Lindsey Graham said: “It boiled down to a choice between being poison or being shot.” And both product the same result!

15. Please take US politics chatter to another blog.

16. David

Your very comment leads me to believe that you’re tunnel vision focus because of your unwillingness to allow others the lattitude to ascertain information from other areas of discourse to substantiate a given point of view. Why do you think that it benefit others here to confine our discourse on a topic pertaining to Barbados solely, when one can draw from other places in an effort to broaden our understanding of the given issue before deliberation? And my comment has little to do with America politics and more to do with the idea of women in leadership roles whether Barbados or United States.

17. And David why is that those who live on the island of Barbados are affronted, when Barbadians abroad draw from they own personal experience overseas to shed more light on issue which pertaining solely to Barbados? You should welcome our input because our knowledge and experience transcends Barbados, but instead yall are caught in this narrowly focus mindset- which is centered in and around the politics of Barbados.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Dr. GP

I notice that I asked you your medical opinion about Fumbles wavering left hand in the video that de grandson supplied during his Cuntsultation with the Drugs ting

And you refuse to comment but heah giving me alot of long talk bout my comments hahahahahahahaha.

I would have you know that my grandson tell me to tell you dat he does do all he compositions pun an Apple and he give me an IPad which means dat if de saying holds true and an “apple a day keeps the doctor away well having two musee going ban you to the netherlands…”lololol

Speaking bout doctors and ting whu is you opinion bout dis fellow Dr. Lowedown?

I hope that your Hippocratic Oath is not tied to his Hypocritical Oath and that you would give a truthful estimation of that Oaf

It is good when you can have some good sport in the BU Rum Shop nuh??

http://imgur.com/a/Nbd6I

19. piece

I hope you and your stellar grandson enjoy your apples

I am sorry that I have not given you an opinion on fumble or lowE: Its probably because I have such a low opinion of both of them that I dont even consider them worth discussing. i DIDNT SEE THE VIDEO THOUGH

I GAVE YOU A THOUGHT LAST EVENING ABOUT IRENE GARNER FOR YOUR CARTOONS

SHE TINK SHE PRETTY
    YEAH RIGHT PRETTY STUPID AND PRETTY USELESS

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry Honourable Blogmaster was ribbing the Doctor gently on the “doctor” tangent

Will migrate it to another blog

21. David wunnah running down the road with wunnah pants all down behind wunnah knees like Barbados is the only place in the world where this injustice is or has occured.

Kalief Browder was sent to Rikers Island when he was 16 years old, accused of stealing a backpack. Though he never stood trial or was found guilty of any crime,he spent three years at the New York City Jail complex, Nealy two of them in solitary cconfinement. Bill DeBlasio mayor of New York, announced an effort to clear the backlog in state Court to reduce the inmate population at Rikers Island.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…we all know about the US elections, I can tell you now there is no comparison, so are you speaking for yourself or the people of Barbados re Mia.

You know of the lack of water on the island which I understand is starting to spread to other areas.

You know the lying Estwick is talking about cutting food imports because there is an election, but he will never do it, they been saying that for years.

You know they waste taxpayer’s money on crap.

Disenfranchise the majority.

Take taxpayer’s money and contracts and give them away to minority crooks in exchange for bribes.

You know none of the ministers work for their money….I could go on all day.

So what are you saying, Mia sees all of this is being exposed for the world to see and the electorate is willing to give her a chance to show that not all politicians will sell out their people for bribes and if she did it before, doing it again will see her exposed everywhere…..

…….do you think she will be fool enough to continue the pattern of stupidity being displayed by the current lot of squatters in parliament, obviously you have no confidence in Mia and her gang.

Or, you are telling us the electorate wont want her because she is female, that would display an even more backward mentality, highlighting the very low grade given to the education system.

UK prime minister is female
    German prime minister is female
    Africa have female prime ministers….exactly what are you saying.

Etc, etc

The male prime ministers have proven to be failures for centuries, time for change.

23. Well Well

Wah looka hare gal… I got news fah yah doh: Gal yah meking bare sport … wah wait …yah den no dah I was aa regala pan Barbados Today until Nakeddeparture reck mah program? Gal yah like yah dont get around tah oftan doh?

24. Well Well

I spent countless hours on BarbadosToday and was heavily involved in the concerned/discourse regarding the released of Peter Bradshaw and many others who were released after spending a little under three decades for capital murder. And as matter of fact, we dealt with the very issue that is before deliberation here on BU, on Barbados Today -which if my memory serves correctly, involved a man who was held for years without trial for murdering his wife and daughter. So I am pretty much abreast of what is taking place in Barbados on a daily basis because I blog on Barbados Today, as well as the Nation News blog Well Well.

25. Well Well

I also know for fact that the BLP is involved in voting buying because in my youthful ignorance, I was an recipient of some of the money given out by the former Minister of Tourism Aaron Truss, whose office was located on Roebuck Street in the early 80s.

26. Well Well

And this money was given out on a weekly basis to people from Bank Hall, Bush Hall, Station Hill, Dean Villege and Waterford etc. I do ever remember Leroy Trotman giving out money for votes, but Aaron Truss I do remember quite vividly.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Dompey, we know BLP politicians are vote buying scum too, but there were no digital audio and video recorder and cellphones in the 80s, no social media in the 80s, but the electorate has them now and should use them to their full advantage unless they prefer to be sold out for another 30 years…

…….in case ya missed it Dompey….I already know you will say the voters will still take the bribes anyway, but again in doing so will just highlight and magnify the poor education system in Barbados. .

Click on the poster to see the number of views Dompey.

https://imgur.com/gallery/9hhFq2I

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…the number of views are shown at the bottom of the poster, you dont have to click on it.

To reiterate. ..the electorate has the audio and video recordings now and should use them to their full advantage unless they prefer to be sold out for another 30 years……to the 5% minorities on the island, it’s their call.

29. Well Well

I made the claim to demonstrate to you that political corruption didn’t just started with DLP, as many in Barbados would have us believe. I saw it when I was 18 years of age and it happened to be the one and only time I had voted in Barbados because I migrated shortly thereafter.

30. @Dompey

Do you understand what is a non point?

You are suggesting that because crime to use an example was with us from through the ages we should not try to root it out in the present?

31. Well Well

Of course the people took the money because all of the mentioned communities, were poor communities located on the outskirts Bridgetown in the 1980s

32. David

I am not saying that at all, but what I would like to see here on BU is fair criticism of our political leaders for the past and present improprieties -which by the way, are contributory to the moral-decadent and economic vicissitudes we are witnessing today. And as the old adage goes: the past with its good and evil lives in the present.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey………they were poorly educated people in the 1980’s, they still are poorly educated in 2016, they still take the money.

34. The value in this discussion is to address what is happening in the present and how we can improve going forward. This lot was elected based promises to address the issues. Is Trump and Clinton being considered for reelection based on what Ford, Nixon,and Reagan did?

We can agree to disagree.

35. Well Well

Why would an educated person in the 1980s take money from a politician unless he or she was lazy. Work was everywhere in Barbados in the early 80s, but only uneducated people like myself took money because I distinctively remember being fired from one job and finding other the next day. But these job were very low paying jobs… kinda like working for an Indian down town for $80 a week.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Since the education system was never upgraded Dompey…poorly educated people abound on the island..it’s been the same slap dash education handed to them by the British 50 years ago…

….. ya have politicians/ministers who went to university and some claimed to have degrees from universities outside, but they still taking bribes from minorities, so they are poorly educated, not to mention greedy as hell…

….. you have poorly educated people from the depressed areas taking bribe money for votes. ..they are poorly educated and do not know better.

37. David

Of course not, Trump isn’t being judged by the fails of Reagan and Bush, but he is being judged for leading a party which has a proven track record of supporting the wealthy and corporations as the expense of the poor and middle class.

38. Well Well, where were you educated, if you don’t mine me asking?

39. @pieceuhderockyeahright October 19, 2016 at 4:17 PM “whu is you opinion bout dis fellow Dr. Lowedown?”

Lowedown

or

Downlow?

40. Dompey

Ammmmmm whu you feel bout de way that the DPP has been operating?

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Not in Barbados, so don’t hurt ya head…all private schools, smaller classes, there was no best and better schools and all the other unnecessary folly ya find on the island, there were options for gifted schools as you well know, otherwise, if the fees were not paid, ya opted for public or home school.

42. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ de pedantic dribbler…..just saw your response……am well aware of that case and share sentiments similar to those expressed by you. That it also happened here does precious little to mitigate the anger/frustration experienced locally……. Pedantic I want to say this to you.
    Youth, they say is wasted on the young. Give thought to the fact that while not wasted, education is often stunted by religious zealotry. Were it not for religion and politics this world would be such a glorious place for you and for me. As you have learned to ignore the rantings of the politician, treat similarly to the offal the church at times generates…….even when it wends its way onto the Sinner’s paradise that is BARBADOS UNDERGROUND.

43. THE TEA YOU DRINK

As you take your sip of tea
    Whether it be Liptons or Tetley
    Have you ever wonder
    The origin of its flavor
    You may not be so alarmed
    ‘cause it came from Assam
    Or shocked at this shameful horrible story
    Of the Teas of P G Tips, Twinings or Tetley
    Grown chiefly near the banks of the Brahmaputra
    It’s the largest tea producing plantations of India
    In an ideal of 96.8 º (F) temperature
    Giving it its malty taste and bright colour
    Often sold as sometimes Irish Breakfast Tea
    Or Black, or White or Green tea variety
    These teas, as shocking as was Slavery
    Has oodles of baggages of chicanery

Your tea time may be your bliss
    And you may reject tea after this
    From whence it came
    They showed no shame
    If its from India behold
    Its a horrible story untold
    If its from the Assam estates of Assam
    Where the living condition is a sham
    The Giant Assam supply tea to the company
    Of PG Tips, Liptons, Twinings and Tetley
    The manager described conditions as a No No
    And so did Lady Sarah Roberts the big CEO

She said workers conditions as not acceptable
    But did nothing which is damn deplorable
    What they meant was that the estate
    Of 740 homes couldn’t accommodate
    Workers to relieve themselves in 464 toilets
    After filling millions of back breaking baskets
    Many families when they get the rushes
    Just defecate amongst the tea bushes
    Sanitation amidst toilets blocked and broken
    With over flowing cesspits more than a token

And on some estates even child labour are used.
    For managements’ behaviour left workers obtused
    So next time when its tea time around four pm
    Remember the pickers and the plight of them
    Think of where and why it tastes so refreshing
    Write to those who are doing your legislating
    It isn’t from the fresh air of Assam of the greedy plantation owners
    But maybe its from the excreta from the abused wretched workers.

44. @ Well Well & Consequences October 19, 2016 at 7:37 AM #

I am wondering what the DPP Leacock does all day long at his desk, does he go wo work every day, why is everything from his office so long, inefficient and drawn out, it’s a small justice system, tiny why is everything so badly organized….

………………………………………………

You wont be surprised if I told you that I saw him in the BRA office this morning around 10.30 when he should at his desk.

Obviously a man in his position does not join a long line so he was ushered inside to do his business while others had to wait in line.

Two Barbadoses!

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And with all that special treatment of not having to wait in long lines, DPP still can’t get his job done, not enough hours in the day for Leacock to get to his office.

46. Prodigal Son

Even when I visit Barbados I does get special treatment because of my status as a Bajan Yankee, so why does it come as a surprise to you that the DPP gets special treatment?
    Doesn’t he fit the profile of a mover, shaker and power broker in Bim? The fact of the matter is the backlog of cases ain’t that uncommon and quite frankly, it occured in this country quite regularly which mean that there is obviously a need for judicial reform both here in Barbados and elsewhere in the world.
    I sighted a case in New York City yesterday where a 16 year old kid was held for three years in city lock- up, for allegedly stealing a backpack, and two of those three years he was held in solitary confinement. Which is by all intents and purposes a serious violation of this kid constitutional right? So obviously, we have to revamp the judicial system in this area because it presents some challenges both here in Barbados and elsewhere in the world.

47. Prodigal Son

Reduce the incentive for criminality by avail the young people the necessary employment opportunity-which in term will alleviate the prison ppopulation that is obviously contributory to the backlog of cases.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…you cannot compare the humongous justice system and population size between NYC and Barbados, NYSTATE has 20 million people, half if them criminals….it’s incomparable.

Leacock sits on his lazy ass year after year, he does not have 500 homicides a week, he does not have one homicide a day for 365 days, he is lucky to have one a week. He dies nit have a raoe every 3 secinds, an assault every 5 minutes or a theft every 10 minutes.

Barbados is still 166 sq miles with a population of 275,000 people, it has not grown in size or population in the 15 or so years DPP Leacock has been DPP …

……he is just lazy and refuses to do an honest days work for the taxpayer salary am sure he does not forget to draw down every month.

That is the bottomline.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Leacock as DPP does not have a rape on the island every 3 secinds, an assault every 5 minutes or a theft every 10 minutes to contend with…again, he is lazy, suffers from sloth and the illusions of his self importance. .