dpp
We give credit to Barbados Today for highlighting this grave injustice meted out to Kobia Jamal Robinson by Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock. The idea that a person charged with a crime in Barbados has to wait for three years to have their case heard is embarrassing and wrong.  The fact others have had to be on remand for longer than three years confirms what BU has been commenting for several years – see Tales from the Courts.

We have two issues the authorities must resolve with dispatch:

• A heavy backlog of cases in the Barbados Courts
  • A Director of Public Prosecutions who is unable to ready cases for trial in a timely manner despite the backlog of cases

A reminder to Leacock – JUSTICE delayed is JUSTICE denied!

148 responses to “DPP Charles Leacock Found Guilty”

1. This Guyana-born lawyer should never been appointed DPP. I am not surprised that they cannot even get their paper work in order in a reasonable time. Bring forward his retirement. Put him out to grass.

2. “Hal Austin October 19, 2016 at 4:08 AM #

This Guyana-born lawyer should never been appointed DPP.”

You are a Barbadian born immigrant living and working in Great Britain.

Juxtapose that comment to your situation and reflect on Psalm 39

I SAID, I WILL TAKE HEED TO MY WAYS: THAT I OFFEND NOT IN MY TONGUE.
    I WILL KEEP MY MOUTH AS IT WERE WITH A BRIDLE: WHILE THE UNGODLY IS IN MY SIGHT.
    I HELD MY TONGUE,AND SPAKE NOTHING; I KEPT SILENCE, YEA, EVEN FROM GOOD WORDS; BUT IT WAS PAIN AND GRIEF TO ME.

Go and sin no more

3. Hal Austin

You are a bigot and xenophobic because really, what does the man’s nationality or place of birth has to with his ability to do his job effectively? Your very statement is analogous to George Washington saying to the Sir Alexander Hamilton: you haven’t any business authoring our Constitution because you’re from one of the island of the Caribbean. Man listen to your words, do you honestly think that they acceptable coming from a man with your intellectual insight?

4. Hal Austin

Even though Guyana is located in South America, we are all West Indians with a common culture, purpose and aim brother, so therefore, he has as much right as you, myself or any other Barbadian to occupy that post if he has migrated legally and is academically qualify to do the job. So he isn’t good enough to occupy the post because he is Guyanese, but he is okay to represent the West Indies in cricket? We might as well stop talking about regional integration, and cooperation if we continue to allow cultural, ethnic and linguistic fragmentation, to undermine our efforts to see the region as one.

5. Regional tribalism will get us nowhere!

It is a shortsighted, a backward response, absent of 5th order thinking, to posit that because a man is Guyanese he should not be DPP or PM, for that matter.

Suppose both parents are Bajan but he was born in Guyana, should that be a disqualifier as well?

This sterile illogic ignores a history of tens of thousand of years where peoples of this region were moving from island to island, sometimes not settling, most times.

This is the product of a the mind of a modern slave

In more recent times we’ve had Bajan sugar boilers dominating that technology in Guyana. We had Bajan school teachers going to Guyana and playing leading roles in education. We’ve had Bajans married to Guyanese and children who share both countries, multi-citizens.

It is really a social problem when we have titularly Black people speaking with the mind, acili, of White people. For all that animal knows is to divide and conquer.

Even within the UK itself, it is amazing how the British, the Scots, the Irish are divided along linguistic, historic, ethnic lines on small islands. But to the outsider there seems little difference between White people in those isles.

We have no particular brief for this DPP. More fundamentally, we are never impressed by those whose existence is predicated on misguided notions of class conformity. And that’s a much wider formation.

However, to surmise that because this man is Guyanese that that alone should be a disqualifier is puerile.

We understand the wider discourse about Barbados now more and more dependent on Trinidadian capital and the hit to the national consciousness emerging and visceral. But to import division from places which have no right to lecture us as to how we find ways of coexisting is jumping from the frying pan into the fire.

More deeply, the isolationist discourse, while playing well to the mob, has no future. The tide of culture will wipe this nonsense away. The Caribbean is already too deeply integrated, though unofficially, but in the day to day lives of too many people.

6. The sensible Bajans, like Kiffin Simpson, will go to Guyana to get the land reform Barbados will never provide.

The presence of this DPP in Barbados should make that more possible.

7. Hal Austin, as an immigrate here in the States, your very statement has my blood boiling hot because if the America government adhered to your prescription, America wouldn’t have been the country it is today. This country was and is smart enough to recognized the contribution of the immigrate population and devoid of such contribution, America would probably be liken to her neighbor Canada today.

8. By the way, we know well that we will be in the minority.

When we look at cricket it seems that you have to be a Bajan to captain any of the regional teams.

Otherwise, we continue to talk about a region where it maybe easier to have a man/woman with a same-sex partner as PM than a Guyanese of any heritage.

9. It would be a great moment on BU if some of you were attack the central point of the post.

10. @ David

Only three (3) years?

Maybe because people know, especially on the civil side, that sometimes matters could take decades.

11. But yes, every body should be entitled to a fair hearing.

A fair hearing should include a timely and certain court date

The system allows the DPP certain dictatorial powers.

We know this well

David, the prison system in Barbados and most of the world represents a modern slave system. We see this overtly in the USA.

But prisoners in Barbados are made to work for no or little pay that is slavery.

This DPP, no DPP has ever cared, will ever care about people like Kobia Robinson

We are not even persuaded that the unfeeling lawyers, or judges, or the AG cares either.

12. The question for me is this.Does this fall squarely at the feet of the DPP only? Does this not offer an insight into the entire criminal justice system, headed by a CJ that coupled with a PM we continue to pay for loitering on the job?…perhaps dem from Guyana too.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I am wondering what the DPP Leacock does all day long at his desk, does he go wo work every day, why is everything from his office so long, inefficient and drawn out, it’s a small justice system, tiny why is everything so badly organized….

……. imagine if he had the public prosecutor of NYCs job…for sure I know Leacock would be in prison, this is just a manifestation of his gross incompetence and corruption.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Why is Adriel Nitwit the AG not jumping into the media saying this dude should get bail, he has been on remand longer than the police dude Gittens accused of murder and attempted murder…what’s the difference. ., that is the glaring manifestation of their corruption.

15. The fact that this man, innocent until proven guilty, has been on remand for three years and the police prosecutor is still waiting on instructions from the DPP should not just be “not right or fair” for his attorney but for every citizen of this country. Especially for a country celebrating 50 years of independence.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The presence of this DPP in Barbados should make that more possible.”

DPP Leacock is too deeply embedded with the tiny incestuous criminal organization to do his job effectively, ya really feel he is interested in forging closer ties with Guyana and Barbados which would benefit both countries…unless there is something in it for him….he been in Barbados saturated in the rotten practices for too long to see any light, or the bigger picture…lol

17. D cock d AG enn d CJ want locking up too.

18. Lotta Shiite!!
    This is the kind of thing that constitutes the ROOT cause of our national demise.
    It is the lack of JUSTICE, FAIRNESS, openness and ‘rightness’ that is causing our downfall.

IT IS FOR LACK OF RIGHTEOUSNESS THAT WE SUFFER.

And it is now ABUNDANTLY clear that this man – guyanese born or not, is a CURSE on Barbados ..and should NOT be holding any position in our justice system.

When we reflect on the history of justice in Guyana, it had to be foolhardy of us to expect that high standards could result from importing that culture.

Just as…
    When we reflect on the history of criminality and social disfunction in Trinidad, we have to be BRASS BOWLS to expect that having them own Barbados would result in a different kind of culture here…

It is fine to talk all kinda shiite about xenophobia, but only a jackass would seek to impose upon themselves a KNOWN negative culture – and then be surprised when that culture becomes endemic…..
    …and to think that Froon and his gang of goons were fighting to EXTEND the shiite….

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hamilton HIll re “Does this fall squarely at the feet of the DPP only? Does this not offer an insight into the entire criminal justice system”. Most definitely it is both.

As reference let’s got to NYC. Just recently a newly elected District Attorney (equivalent to DPP) was making significant headway in the management of their own ‘backlog’ of cases. Specifically I cite the several wrongly convictions that he had expedited to conclusion since he took up his role. The previous DA had shown no such steadfastness in that area or indeed in some others.

There too there is a criminal justice system badly broken.

That DA died unexpectedly of cancer last week. The concern is : are things back to sloth and lack of focus.

But closer in equivalency to this case. A young teenager was arrested and sent to prison for stealing a haversack or some such thing. He languished there for three years also. He was never actually charged for the rather incidental crime and always insisted that he was innocent. His case only got attention after it too was advanced in the press.

He was very traumatized by the experience and struggled to get on with life after release. Remember, three years of his life in jail with hardened criminals over a stupid misadventure really. He killed himself last year. And heart broken at the treatment of her son also in recent weeks it was reported that his mother died of heart-attack.

The systems are badly broken.

This is a capital case but if the DPP cannot effectively manage the process to lay charges then this defendant should be released until such is done. Is he a threat to society or a danger to witnesses? Likely not.

But it is the entire country that has to force these changes. Yes a crusading DPP or DA can make a huge difference but its all our concerns not just them.

20. What is distressing and frustrating is the passive approach being taken to improve the delivery of justice in Barbados. Bare in mind justice is a key plank to maintaining an orderly society.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That is the nauseating part Bushman…Slave Fruendel and Co. were hellbent on tying the DPPs nearly decade long extension of future disservice at taxpayer’s expense to that of an honest, hardworking bajan civil servant, a truly honorable man the Auditor General Trotman, now how evil is that, how unfair and wicked is that, howvuncaring, defiant and spiteful is that……

……..had not for the opposition derailing that scam.., DPP Leacock would continue to be a burden and leech on the taxpayers and justice system, systematically destroying it for another 10 years with his collusion.

Is it any wonder one lawyer has had enough and taken a turn in, as he/ she calls him, the monster that David Simmons has created to destroy the judiciary. ..ah like that comparison, it resonates…lol hahaha, lol ah can’t help myself, it’s killing me…lol

Someone said they will send a copy of that Naked Departure blog to Chief Justice Marston Gibson and ALL the judges…lol

22. Now back to the subject before deliberation! The backlog of cases ain’t that uncommon here in the States- even though Sixth Amendment of the United States Constitution specifically spelling out in concise terms a speedy public trial, but many states have instituted they own laws which governs such delays, predicated upon the circumstances of a specific case.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Charles Hynes was public prosecutir in NYC for decades, I think from the 60s if memory serves, he was extremely old and kept being reelected…that was the problem, he should not have been there that long, he was way too slow.

A public prosecutor has to face election and reelection, it’s not a political appointment, but I dont think any prosector should have more than 2 terms….you do not want them settling into sloth, keep rotating them.

Pity that new dude, prosecutor died so soon, he was proactive.

I dont recall Charles Hynes’ name ever being called in corruption, but I have not checked, settling in for decades was the problem with him.

But DPP Leacock is a whole nother animal, a jackass of massive proportions who does not know how to be fair and balanced on such a tiny island and never seems to be doing his work or what is right for the people as a collective…never for the right reasons, he is an embarrassment….and a liability.

25. We have never found anything particularly unique about Barbados

Those whose remit, it seems, is geared at preservation even if tinged with a certain scent, a certain history.

To take what they are saying to the natural or atomic level will be to advocate for St. George, for example, to sue for independence. Or St. Lucy.

When this writer was a youngster, we recall these discourses> That St. George was somehow different because it had no sea, or that the people spoke differently.

On the other hand, the notion that Trinidadian culture or Guyanese culture is inferior beggars belief. The delineation of culture alone these lines has led to massive catastrophes for mankind, previously.

This kind of talk does not belong to the 21st century

And in a country of 166 miles square, to hold this unremitting and unfounded belief reminds of the Apartheid era of which Barbados itself was central, maybe still is.

How can these same people argue that Bajans in NY, for example, should have a right to vote, have full citizenship but Caribbean people 45 minutes away are not to be able to live, work, invest in Barbados.

Talk about absurdity!

These protectionist impulses also reminds one of Robinson ‘Crusoe’.

We’ve just had the privilege of touring Iran. A country that represents many languages, ethnic groups, religions, time zones, seasons, histories and so on. And there are forces that would want to divide that country to suit their purposes as well, from the outside.

But in Barbados there is an internal and backward discourse against integration, against diversity, against openness. Forces seeking to create some city on the hill, immunized from everybody else.

This is small-mindedness in the extreme. Those days are done!

26. Christianity, as a culture, has done more damage to African, indigenous peoples than anything else and still 1.5 billion people imposing it on themselves.

And there are many of these who continue to advocate that the teachings of the enslavers should still continue to damage us.

There can be no higher form of madness, ignorance, than a Black man saying that he is a Christian

We are sure Trinidadian or Guyanese culture has no such venom.

What does it matter anyhow that the Trinidadians are consuming assets in Barbados. It is happening because the Bajan corporate culture has gone into a dead end. So in international relations when you bankrupt yourself you must deal with the bailiff. And the Trinidadians are the balliffs.

The people who use to own them run them into the ground. And when they owned them they did everything they could to prevent mass participation.

Is it not extreme idiocy to long for a by-gone age when you had nothing and could get nothing. We say let the Trinidadians buy up everything. That slavery is no different to what was happening before under the White plantocracy.

27. Unfortunately, many Barbadians think as Hal Austin does and its reflects badly on us as people with history common history. And this kind of mentality gets under my skin in the worse way because it affronts what we are trying to achieve as a region in the Caribbean.

28. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Is the level of discourse displayed here on BU an indication of the thinking of the wider Barbadian society? Is this who we have become? Are we happy with where we are now?

If we are not satisfied with who we are what do we do?

29. @Pedantic

I read that story of the 16 year old and his mother. It brought tears to my eyes. The NY Daily is riddled with crime. Now, I try to read Shaun King and skip the rest.

@Dompey

Please explain this for me: “This country was and is smart enough to recognized the contribution of the immigrate population and devoid of such contribution, America would probably be liken to her neighbor Canada today.”

30. The wheels of justice is turning. Only for the wrong people. SOME Judges are trying, even with tied hands.

This disgrace for a DPP aided by a lackey AG and condoned by a PM that has the guts only to insist that the party leaders keep quiet as he is doing on most issues and maintain a low profile.

As we all know, the DPP and almost all of the politicians are on the take, and Justices will be very hard pressed to fairly adjudicate matters before them relating to the real criminals.

Gibson certainly cannot fix the justice system alone and especially with those who he must work with to get it fixed.

God bless Bim on this 50th that we poor and humble people are still alive.

31. Angella Mitchell-Gittens is reported to have said “Certainly if you give someone a capital charge, then you must expedite the matter.”

And we spend time verbally beating up the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Why?

Robert Rupert Jones is dead isn’t he?

They did not charge his elderly female neighbour down the street with his murder.

They charged a young man.

The truth is that VIOLENT YOUNG MEN ARE THE CAUSE of the problems in our justice system.

We Bajans have to spend far too much money, policing violent young men.

We Bajans have to spend far too much money trying violent young men.

We Bajans have to spend far too much money imprisoning violent young men.

Ms. Mitchell-Gittens client may be as innocent as a new born babe (but take note that new born babes are NEVER charged with murder) but what we do know is that he is a part of the demographic which economically and socially burdens rest of us.

We can’t blame the DPP for that.

32. So the DPP and his office is NOT guilty of anything.

33. Maybe we need to spend a lot more time fathering our sons.

Some of us don’t want to spent a minute, or spend a cent fathering our sons.

And when our sons grossly misbehave.

We look around for somebody to blame.

34. I heard our Attorney General engaging in this same blame somebody thing. In his case blaming the mothers.

My question to him: When these young criminals were 2 and 3 and 4 and 5, and 12 and 13 and as they became adults where were their fathers?

Back in the 70’s and 80’s New York State used to run an ad reminding PARENTS that they had a responsibility to PARENT their children.

The ad went:

IT IS 10 O’CLOCK. DO YOU KNOW WHERE YOUR CHILDREN ARE.

I wonder how many of our men including those who sit in Parliament could honestly answer.

MY CHILDREN ARE HERE AT HOME WITH ME.

Until we fix our families.

Until we take our responsibilities as fathers and mothers seriously…we will always have problems…including an over burdened criminal justice system.

35. I hear big men (and women) complaining about the “good old days” when grandmothers used to raise children.

36. Let me tell you something GRANDMOTHERS ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO RAISE CHILDREN..

if your children are living in their grandmothers home instead of in your home, then you the parent is failing at your job of parenting.

Why do you feel that your mother and mother in law should raise their own children, and then in their middle to old years turn around and raise yours.

37. When your mother and mother in law are raising our children please tell me again what is it that you are doing that is MORE IMPORTANT.

You can fool yourselves.

But you cannot fool your children.

They know who you TRULY are.

38. LISTEN TO THE FOOL

That DA died unexpectedly of cancer last week. DUH!

39. And “no” I have never met the DPP; nor am I now nor have I ever been a member of any political party.

40. So we want to massively neglect our sons.

And then expect an excellent result?

Lolll!!!

41. We need to so nurture our sons that they NEVER ENTER the criminal justice system.

42. @Bernard Codrington. October 19, 2016 at 10:10 AM “Are we happy with where we are now? If we are not satisfied with who we are what do we do?”

Dear Bernard: I’ve made my suggestions.

43. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@! Simple Simon

You are a Bajan with whom I am well pleased. The problem starts with us ordinary citizens and the solutions must originate from us the ordinary citizens. Buck passing is for irresponsible,entitled citizen. Those who think the State or Society owes them some thing.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The main problem is in Barbados and the Caribbean. .MEN do not father ther children, most of them neglect their children and do not father their SONS and daughters…thinking in their backward way, they are spiting the mothers….

……..that is why we heard a backward attorney general blaming mothers and grandmothers when things go wrong, he never once mentioned the fathers, in his little mind, fathers are not to play any part or share blame.

However, the DPP Leacock is contributing to the logjam at the courts when he does not do his job and present files to be prosecuted in a timely manner….the DPP is lazy and a sloth.

The one I like in NYC…First you play, then you pay…lol

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

For the scholarly and Christian minded among us who defy the commonsense of the written words. To you wise one: …

‘The 51 one year old DA who had not previously publicly complained of any illness died unexpectedly last week. He had publicly affirmed his diagnosis with cancer just five days before.’

Don’t you have better things to do with your wisdom rather that troll around behind my lack of writing skill. LOLL.

I feel honored to have such a fan. The power of the pen. Awesome!

46. Here it is we are discussing why a man has been on remand for 3 years and have to suffer reading some of the BS posted. In other words accountability.

#canwewalkandchewgumatthesametime?

47. Simple Simon ref comment Oct 19th@11.35 .How simple can you get.
    Maybe our society is bent in the wrong direction. However those in charge must do dilligence in their performance to avoid chaos.
    The lawyer concerns for the client should be of all concern just in the event the shoe is cast on the other foot
    Btw how long is not too long for justice to be brought forth bearing in mind on the other side of this crime there are family members who has been traumatized by this horrific crime and want to see justice pervail sooner rather than later

48. @ Simple
    Try and read the issue before spouting nuh …

Never heard so much shiite…
    The topic is a justice system in reverse gear and you talking about the broken home and fathers and crime… others talking about xenophobia …. now GP want to attack some minor point about heart attack…

THAT IS NOT THE ISSUE HERE…
    The issue is the death of justice …
    The lack of commitment to doing the right thing….
    As far as Bushie is concerned, the man should have been hung within two months of the damn crime if found guilty.

….but for the DPP to sit around for THREE YEARS and do ‘diddly squat’… is unforgivable…
    No wonder the judge is pissed….

49. QUID DIXI SCRIPSIQUE DIXI SCRIPSIQUE
    LISTEN TO THE FOOL AGAIN

That DA died unexpectedly of cancer last week. DUH!

He had publicly affirmed his diagnosis with cancer just five days before.’ DUH

people diagnosed with cancer tend to die sooner rather than later dummy!

no you dont have a fan you have a corrector of your medical blunders on BU

RE Here it is we are discussing why a man has been on remand for 3 years WHO CARES ?
    I HAVE A CASE I WON UNDER APPEAL FOR 16 YEARS

who and have to suffer reading some of the BS posted. In other words accountability. ACCOUNTABILITY TO WHOM? ABOUT WHAT? WHEN YA START WRONG YA END WRONG?

YOU MUST SUFFER MUCH CAUSE THERE IS A LOT OF BS ON BU DAILY

I HAVE HAD TO LEARN TO CONDESCEND TO PARTICIPATE ON BU

BUT WRITING BULL ON BU IS FUN

MAYBE I WILL ONE DAY GET AN HONORARY DOCTORATE FOR WRITING BS ON BU

50. Dear David:

You know that I never post bull sh!t.

I like to keep it real, real simple.

I am old fashioned David.

I still believe that an ounce of prevention (properly socializing our sons) is worth more than a pound of cure (getting them out of jail)