David Estwick, Minister of Agriculture
David Estwick, Minister of Water Resources

According to media reports Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Water Resource Management Dr David Estwick has scheduled a press conference for later today (07.10.2016). Estwick has been the target of severe criticism because of the inability of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) to achieve its mandate to deliver potable water to ALL Barbadians.

One hopes that Estwick will treat Barbadians with respect AND assume an empathetic posture later today by leaving his usual blustery and bombastic approach at Hoodies’ door.ย ย  BU agrees with Dr. George Belle that the ongoing water crisis will have political implications for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) when the bell is rung for the next general election. It does not take evidence-based analysis to determine how long suffering residents in the areas of Barbados affected by water shortages will place their X.

One has to wonder what motivated Estwick to state recently, he intends to treat the water issueย  as a national problem in response to the question why he has not reached out to residents of the most affected areas. He is technically correct to say his mandate must be national in focus, BUT, the reality is that there is an area in the North of Barbados that is being affected.ย  Any sensible politician should appreciate the need to establish an ’empathetic connection’ with the affected residents.

Human beings cannot survive without water – the infrequent supply to areas of Barbados has served to increase the level of stress of residents in the affected areas. This is an important observation in the context of a Barbados gripped in a protracted economic crisis for the the last eight years. And there is no light at the end of the tunnel!

BU and others have written voluminously about the water problems afflicting Barbados.ย  The poor management; communication, planning etc. Residents in the affected areas must be grateful in 2016 to be receiving the many gifts of water. The many acts of kindness must be commended BUT it does not absolve the BWA and David Estwick from the responsibility of ensuring ALL Barbadians receive water at the tap. One wonders why the simple task of maintaining supplies to the community water tanks is not being achieved. Why rapid response teams are not being satisfactorily mobilized to fix burst pipes. Why we cannot manage efficient customer contact centre operations to respond to dissatisfied subscribers.ย  Proactive communication alerts via ALL channels. The website of the BWA is wholly inadequate in 2016, there is no visible Facebook and Twitter presence to efficiently exploit the digital platform in a country withย  deep Internet penetration.

The BU household will join many concerned Barbadians later today to listen to Minister David Estwick. Our expectation is that he will leave the political rhetoric for the political platform and deal with how his ministry plans to relieve the suffering of Barbadians in the North of the island.

#weliveinhope

239 responses to “David Estwick Addresses Water Crisis, HOPEFULLY”

1. There is the Barbados Council of Economic Advisors, use to be headed by Dr. Frank Alleyne. Do not know how effective or relevant it has been though.

2. Fact

Barbados is classified by the UN Commission on Water as a “water scarce” country, putting it only slightly ahead of the desert nations of the Middle East in terms of availability per capita. This makes it particularly vulnerable to the effects of cyclic droughts, such as the one which occurred in 1994-95. Said to be a one-in-150-year event, this saw over 3,000 households regularly without water. On 1 August 1995, the day after supplies failed to virtually the whole of Bridgetown, including the town’s Queen Elizabeth Hospital, the Barbadian Government acted to review the future of water provision.

3. The government has had almost two terms knowing water supply and generation was an issue. In their manifesto it promised to address the issue. Then there is empathy – has minister Estwick even visited any of the affected areas or has he relied solely on media reports and his blind friend.

4. Good morning Well Well and yes, the Bush and Trump families are the typical scumbags ,but I would caution you to be circumspect with respect to the manner in which you characterize Bill Clinton, because he is still idolize here in the Black community as the first Black President of the United States of America. Lol

5. Thanks for the information David!

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….the majority of black people in the US are just frigging dumb….to even have such a notion or believe that both Clintons dont hate their black asses…they are frauds bith of them, that’s their jobs that’s how they survive…that’s how the Trump family survives.

Not hijacking this forum, but I really do wish NBC fires this little scumbag jacked up pimp Billy Bush.

http://ow.ly/PeWu304YU6W

And…here is the real backlash.

http://ow.ly/C097304YU98

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….Barbados has been classified has water scarce for donkey years…not just yesterday……or 8 years ago….yall lowlife do nithings had 8 years to get a headstart on the issues affecting clean water or no water.

So what’s your useless point.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It appears that nothing Frank Alleyne heads is effective in regulating, monitoring or enforcing procedures, rules and regulations. ..just look at the insurance industry and the free for all, anything goes, highway robbery and thefts. ..

……and what did Alleyne do when he headed the agency that was supposed to stop these crimes perpetrated by the insurance companies like CGI Insurance and CLICO…, the same crimes that happened before he arrived, the same crimes happened while he was there and after he left and are still happening. ..they are all useless.

9. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Dompey @6:45 — excellent

I have seen videos and read stories of the ordinary Bajans who were affected by the shortage of water. What I find amazing is that as they described the problem, they do not seem to speak to the hope of having this problem solved. It is almost as if they had accepted the continuation of these problems with the same surety of the rising and the setting of the sun.

Scamming and stealing money is one thing. But there can be no greater crime than stealing the hope and future from a people.

In this case, there may no recovery under any set of fools.

10. Well Well

Both sides were wrong about the so-called HIV, virus.

There is and was never new about this.

We have long known practitioners who have been successfully treating these AIDS defining illnesses for 30 years, without pharmaceutical intervention.

Given our knowledge about how that industry is structured we would not be surprised that all these so-called new or recent diseases were contrived to mek money, achieve social control.

11. @Well !Well your useless daily diatribe of rants and raves says nothing or does nothing your rants and raves are as useful as sh.it going down a pit toilet
    For you to understand the magnitude and impact of the drought conditions the analysis would have to contain the word Corruption your favourite word of any giving day or article that pricks the mind but fails to corroborate or substantiate with sufficent proof your aggitated mouthings.

12. Before some of you take this discussion in the gutter here is another point to consider. A big problem this government was unable to resolve was to get the BWU onboard who should work on the laying of the water mains, a major project. Several years unable to solve the problem has pushed back the job by the government to replace 100 year old mains. It is stated 50% of water is leaking in the underground.Stop playing politics with national problems. Barbadians elected this lot to solve the problems.

13. David October 8, 2016 at 7:00 AM #

The government has had almost two terms knowing water supply and generation was an issue. In their manifesto it promised to address the issue.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….

You are so correct….they were privy to the 1997 and 2006 reports showing the lack of water and….did they go and stop the leaks or build desal plants during those 8 years…..oh no….but they did build a state of the art 60m BWA HQ,was that a grant or a loan?……go figure.

Alvin
    Is the reverse osmosis plant required?

14. Shiite!!!
    When we reach the stage where it takes Dompey (6.45AM) to make such lucid and clear comments on what should be OBVIOUS policy by Bajan leaders….. we MUST know that we are dead.
    The reality however, is that we are stuck with ineffective leaders, useless advisors, worthless managers and clueless people – because they are all holding nasty secrets for each other.

Many ‘leaders’ are forced to hang on in office – even in the face of ongoing failure, incompetence, stress and shame – BECAUSE THEY HAVE TOO MUCH SHIITE TO HIDE UP… They cannot afford to leave and have all their dirt exposed.

‘Advisors’ owe the perks of their position to the incompetent leaders. Their ‘advice’ is therefore based on what their benefactor wants to hear…

The VERY WORST among these criminals are auditors and audit firms- supposed professionals – who know of all the nasty secrets, but whose ‘appointment’ and lucrative pay …is at the whim of the very crooks that arrange their hire…
    The current Auditor General appears to be an exception…..

The WHOLE system is warped towards wickedness…. and the consequences for us as a country are INEVITABLE….

We needed Caswell.
    But it is too late now….

15. @Vincent

Is the reverse osmosis plant required?

How would he know without being privy to results of water testing?

16. Miller;
    You ask: “”How do you expect to shit and piss and dump millions of gallons of dangerous chemicals and other toxins in the same water from which you expect to source your same potable supply without paying a heavy cost in return?”

That has to be a question to which you already have the answer. It is THE PEOPLE !!!
    A square suss!
    The Belle area is in a ZONE ! area. The Belle area is not to have houses etc in the ZONE 1 area. The SQUATTERS WHO WERE ALLOWED TO CONSTRUCT HOUSES AND ESTABLISH THEMSELVES IN THIS ZONE 1 AREA, FOR POLITICAL REASONS; note who has been the representative for the area when these illegal dwellings were neon constructed, and for whom THE PEOPLE have voted countless times, and who because of their refusal to adhere to restrictions, are the ones contaminating the water.
    YOU HAVE CONDONED THIS BEHAVIOUR. YOU HAVE BEEN A PARTY (pun intended) to this type of behaviour over the years so don’t pretend to be all innocent. EDUCATE THE PEOPLE AND ENFORCE THE RESTRICTIONS. THE PEOPLE ARE THE ONES WHO CREate the garbage, and it is the PEOPLE who shit in their own water. When the people are wrong, tell them they are wrong.
    You are such a hypocrite!!!

And Well Well you have the nerve to castigate me:..”Alvin is crying grievances from 50 years ago,” . .. and you are still angry about slavery after over two hundred years?
    Hypocrite!!!

17. @Alvin

You continue to bray like a partisan DLP jackass. What has this government (DLP government) done to correct the problem at the Belle?

Why has the government not drawn-down on the Canadian funds made available to construct the Osmosis Plant?

18. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

@AC
    You seem to have missed the math lesson on inequalities.
    So far I have seen you
    (1) equate Barbados to the US and
    (2) grievances from 50 years ago to slavery
    When you defend shiit, you end up talking shiit

19. What ac is doing by spinning political BS is no different to what others are doing in the US in response to the Trump expose. Check ac’s comments to come on the Trump blog. It defines what partisans do, define ALL issues through a muddy lens.

20. David October 8, 2016 at 8:57 AM #

He seems to know everything….hence my question

Alvin
    Approx. 230 years of the 300 years bajan planters&farmers used pen manure to fertilise their crops within the last 70 years greater emphasis has been placed on the use of weedicides and fertilisers whose ill effects are being now discovered.

21. So this flooish scarcism of placing blame on one side that being present govt is so ridiculous. Really because when casting blame the net swallows up privious govt for their inept performance and failure to priortize the problems relating to water scarity in barbados.
    So yes it took the govt eight years taking into consideration that govt finances were scare and yes the govt have piortize the problem towards resolution.
    So this finger pointing coming from the opposition is laughable especially when they were exposed to the findings of water scarcity in barbados as far back as 2000 and had an eight year window of opportunity to resolve

22. The issue, the DLP promised to deliver potable water to ALL Barbadians, it is why David Thompson increased water rates by 60%. If they are incapable to fix the problem, call the damn election. Time for excuses long gone.

Use the loan to build the castle on St.Barnabas to lay the water mains.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“And Well Well you have the nerve to castigate me:..โ€Alvin is crying grievances from 50 years ago,โ€ . .. and you are still angry about slavery after over two hundred years?
    Hypocrite!!!”

Nit angry dummy, just see it more clearly than you ever will even if you had 150 more years on this earth Alvin.,..

I see it clearly enough to put it in it’s correct context…you cant even get past understanding your black consciousness or have empathy for your own people, how do you expect to reach my heights of analysis.

24. The paristian bull sh.it starts when opposition and yardfowls having been using their political lens as one upmanship to score political points especially knowing all the facts and factors that are problematic in resolving a two hundred year old issue
    Hear u have Dale Marshall right out of the box adding fuel to fire after Estwick adress in which Estwick spoke factual concerning the problems and solution in which his statements were absent of political grandstanding.
    Then this morning the one response from Dale Marshall was one of politcal bull sh.it to garnish attention to himself

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…ya dummies…Barbados did not have an 8 YEAR DROUGHT….

…..the slaves in parliament had and still do, reports available to them when they entered parliament, on the current water conditions, protential problems and available solutions….I am not going to baby you or spoon feed you this morning shitheads.

Each year there is a potential for drought conditions in Barbados as the UN has outlined for decades.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Tell Michael Lashley I say he wants another beating…he wont stop selling out his people for bribes and kickbacks.

27. Elections won’t solve the problem!!!

There is no more water available to allocate!!!

Another source needs to be found, like the sea.

Problem identified in 1946 Senn Report

Predicted in 1978 Water Resources Study to kick in mid 1990’s

Kicked in as predicted.

Ways found for 20 years to find a way around the problem

… so now the chickens at home to roost!!!

Replacing one set of monkeys with another one won’t help anyone!!

Quality is a different issue.

You see the Canadian High Commissioner complaining about the $40 million RO plant at the Belle.

That may help quantity but it is to me an admission that the quality of the water has been jeopardized and not surprisingly, given the heavy development upstream in the Warrens area and its environs.

Fifty years of complete idiots at the helm … starting with the Right Excellent Erroll Walton Barrow.

The day will come as it did in Russia when all the statues erected by one set of monkeys will be pulled down like the statues of Joe Stalin in Russia.

… but even that was an empty gesture.

These idiots should have been held to account while they were alive and prevented from creating the mess for more idiots to solve.

Barbadians will get what they deserve.

For the moment, they will suck salt …. until they have had enough!!

28. @Well .Well …
    Blah blah blah corruption cause the drought. Blah blah. they were no kick backs and greasy plams so the govt was not interested in preventing the drought. Blah blah blah STFUP

29. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Is this the regular “John” of BU.
    The tone was different.
    I found myself agreeing with some (not all -EWB).
    Good to see some passion

30. Sweet Vale and Bowmanston supply elevations according to the 1978 Water Resources Study above 500 feet.

If these two sources are compromised by drought or contamination, any one living above 500 feet will be in trouble, …. looks like even in St. Peter!!

If full desalination is ever put into effect, the problem still remains … how do you get the water up to those higher elevations from sea level? There is an energy cost involved.

In the absence of rainfall sufficient to recharge the underground water sources the chronic water shortages at the higher elevations will persist.

One way to get another supply of water at that elevation is to plant and reap sugar cane at that elevation, grind it at that elevation and use the water extracted as a by product!!

… but the economics of that would have to be examined closely.

Place a moratorium on construction of new houses above 500 feet and try to live within our means.

31. Love the sign Colonel!!

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I have not gotten started yet ACs…yall useless pimps in parliament will see shortly. ..,,,. ..just you wait.

Ya better start packing ya georgie bundles for when ya get thrown out of parliament and into a fowl run.

33. @John

Perhaps it is why Minister Estwick concluded in his press conference that the desal is the way to go. Was a little disappointed he did not address harvesting water by damming runoff to the sea. It appears a few contracts to construct desals and lease/install temporary ones is on the horizon.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac October 8, 2016 at 9:45 AM
    โ€œBlah blah blah corruption cause the drought. Blah blah. they were no kick backs and greasy plams so the govt was not interested in preventing the drought. Blah blah blah STFUP..โ€

Instead of hoping you too would โ€˜STFUPโ€ we want you to sing for your yard-fowl corn and tell us what do you think about your administration’s decision to privatize the SSA operations.

This move represents the first of many deep wounds to be inflicted in the coming major war of privatization. We will not forget your rabid defence against any privatization in any form whatsoever.

Sing it, ac, sing for your dangerous lying porridge of deceit. Sing the DLP pledge of privatization. Which is next on the privatization block.? The BWA? But you need to increase water rates by at least 50% to attract those potential buyers, not so?

But one must admit your damn lying party for an administration is doing a fantastic job in preparing the BWA for its eventual fire sale. Why not run the operations into the ground to justify its removal from government ownership? Itโ€™s a pity CBC has not been so lucky.

35. The SSA has given Anderson ‘fatchild’ Cherry a contract to pickup residential and commercial garbage AFTER sick minister of garbage Lowe stated it would never happen.

#consequences? #explanations? #desperation?

36. Anonymouse – The Gazer October 8, 2016 at 9:55 AM #

If memory serves Nicky Sealy had about 26M in the BWA coffers to sort out the leaking pipe situation in 1978 and EWB said no to that,my understanding is that on his death in the same year it was transferred to the consolidated fund where it was put for other unknown uses.

What John has said is quite factual.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins October 8, 2016 at 8:59 AM
    โ€œThe Belle area is in a ZONE ! area. The Belle area is not to have houses etc in the ZONE 1 area. The SQUATTERS WHO WERE ALLOWED TO CONSTRUCT HOUSES AND ESTABLISH THEMSELVES IN THIS ZONE 1 AREA, FOR POLITICAL REASONS; note who has been the representative for the area when these illegal dwellings were neon constructed, and for whom THE PEOPLE have voted countless times, and who because of their refusal to adhere to restrictions, are the ones contaminating the water.
    YOU HAVE CONDONED THIS BEHAVIOUR. YOU HAVE BEEN A PARTY (pun intended) to this type of behaviour over the years so donโ€™t pretend to be all innocent. EDUCATE THE PEOPLE AND ENFORCE THE RESTRICTIONS. THE PEOPLE ARE THE ONES WHO CREate the garbage, and it is the PEOPLE who shit in their own water. When the people are wrong, tell them they are wrong.โ€

And can you imagine what the state of play would be today if the prisons were not moved from Glendairy sitting right in the same Zone 1 area. Arenโ€™t you the arch opponent to the building of the new prisons while claiming they were only built so that the BLP crooks could come into more than a bagatelle of kickbacks? How come the Guv is no longer blaming the Dodds BOLT payments for Barbadosโ€™s depleting foreign reserves?

Why only the squatters?
    It is not only the โ€˜easy-targetโ€™ squatters to take the blame for the โ€˜filthโ€™ in the Belle but also the many commercial and industrial businesses which have dumped thousands of tonnes of toxic materials over the years.

What about the hundreds of fancy houses built around Barbados (especially on previous agricultural lands) over the last 50 years with thousands of gallons of human and chemical waste poured into the suck wells which lead to the underground watercourses that feed the same aquifers?

38. Look if the new SSA plan going to help local business people no harm done. But when Mia and others want a whole sale privitazition to sell enties that sure will put thousands of workers on the bread line there is where i draw the line

39. @ Alvin Cummins

There is much bravado in your pronouncement about the Head of Section a bravado that is born of dissembling and deception.

Saying that with such seeming aforeknowledge and conviction in your post is to try to make people think that the Head of Section misspoke but, unless he wants to end his foreign service career on this insignificant rock called Barbados, he spoke as per instructions.

Here be a small copy and paste that should shed some light on the chain of command at the Canadian High Commision.

“A chargรฉ d’affaires en pied is a permanent head of mission who is accredited by his country’s Foreign Minister to the receiving nation’s Foreign Minister, in cases where the two governments have not reached an agreement to exchange ambassadors.

A chargรฉ d’affaires ad interim is a diplomat who temporarily heads a diplomatic mission in the absence of an ambassador.

The Commercial Head of Section is a different “beast” so to speak.

Mr. Parisien is posted to the Canadian High Commission to promote the economic interests of Canada and will report economic developments in Barbados to his ambassador or to Ministry responsible for Commerce in Canada.

It is noted that Mr. Parisien may not be a career diplomat in that he does not explicitly represent Canada’s foreign ministry but does represent the governmental agency responsible for commerce like how Humphrey was supposed to be our man at the EPA, all of the per diems notwithstanding.

If he acted Ultra Vires his appointment will be terminated though knowing the small mindedness of STINKLIAR he is going to see to it that Miss Love to Fly bout the World First Class Maxine (as he himself did while Minister of Foreign Affairs) will seek to have the man removed.

However, so that you dont misunderstand how this works, embassies and consulates are not in Barbados for their health, THEY ARE ALL OFFICES OF THEIR GOVERNMENTS SEEKING BUSINESS FOR THEIR COMPANIES.

Unlike our FSO postings where Humphrey and Morris and Odle and we peeples in Brazil/Venezuela Phillips down deah having a good effing time, these FSOs work for a living promoting their cuntry.

But you would not know anything bout that would you? you lazy acolyte and boot licker

40. @ Bush Tea

The Video Posted by Hants (elsewhere on the DPP blog and your response) makes the PERFECT STOOPID CARTOON video for this fat gut fool – David IQuick-To-Run-UP-My-Mouth-At-Every-Occasion-I-Get

I dont know if your realised this but, for 80% of the effing video, David IQuick-To-Run-UP-My-Mouth-At-Every-Occasion-I-Get was pulling both sides of his jacket to cover his guts and looking down at his crotch to see if his ***ie was leaking.

Here we are 8 effing years into the operations of the BWA mekking statements that any effing minister would have made at day one

The Process of Intelligence Gathering and its subsequent analysis is not rocket science.

It is based on collecting and utilizing information to support decision making in order to optimise the operations of an entity and is imperative to have the most up-to-date,
    accurate information regarding amongst other things, capacities of HR and/or assets to be deployed/accessed

Any idiot of which David IQuick-To-Run-UP-My-Mouth-At-Every-Occasion-I-Get, used these processes in every effing discipline be it politics, business, or effectively running a government.

“Not One Effing Seat”

http://i.imgur.com/JkTTEi1.png

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac October 8, 2016 at 11:26 AM #
    โ€œLook if the new SSA plan going to help local business people no harm done. But when Mia and others want a whole sale privitazition to sell enties that sure will put thousands of workers on the bread line there is where i draw the line..โ€

Oh, dear ac! Which line is that? The one that Stinkliar has drawn in the sand?
    He is the one calling for the privatization and restructuring of the public sector which must put thousands of currently unproductive drones off the employment welfare system called statutory bodies.

Are you having philosophical differences with your former mentor Stinkliar? Here is what he (not Mia) had to say about the โ€˜restructuringโ€™ of your much beloved State-owned enterprises (SOEโ€™s):

โ€œComing out of that process the report was presented to and discussed by the Cabinet and a number of decisions were taken. Of these the following are of particular note:

Amalgamation or abolition of some of the SOEs should be pursued;
    Management Accounting Unit should start the process of collecting more detailed information by undertaking a survey of key fiscal data points (has been completed);
    Establishment of a formal process of performance oversight; and
    Establishment of a Performance Monitoring Framework.โ€

โ€œProposed implementation
    The Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs has established a process of implementation which it will begin very shortly. That reform process will be highlighted by the following:
    It is proposed that for the Financial Years 2015โ€“2018, the Government will adopt a phased-approach in implementing the Performance Management Framework. During 2015-2016 five (5) selected SOEs/SBs, in terms of risk and size would adopt the Guidelines to โ€œprove the conceptโ€ and allow for the development of necessary reporting arrangements. The five (5) SOEs/SBs selected for the pilot are Transport Board (TB), Barbados Agricultural Management Company Ltd. (BAMC,) National Housing Corporation (NHC), Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) and the Barbados Port Inc. (BPI).

At the beginning of the financial year 2016-2017 it is anticipated that the remaining ten (10) SOEs/SBs will adopt the guidelines so that they can commence work on the PMF in preparation for commencement of the programme in financial year 2017-2018.โ€

Now pray tell us how under heaven or earth can those state-owned enterprises be restructured and made less of a burden on the taxpayers without loss of jobs?

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“If he acted Ultra Vires his appointment will be terminated though knowing the small mindedness of STINKLIAR he is going to see to it that Miss Love to Fly bout the World First Class Maxine (as he himself did while Minister of Foreign Affairs) will seek to have the man removed.”

The Canadian government would never destroy one of their own for the backward shitheads in parliament….particularly with the well known corruption and violation of human rights at play on the island.

43. Glad Sinckler told that Canadian official to have manners and he should act and behave like a diplomat. Sounds as if the official was carrying political water buckets for those special interest groups in Canada which he represents and those buckets were begining to weigh him down hence his frustration.
    The fact being that the country is already saddle in high debt and can least afford a 40million loan plus high interest to satisfy the Canadian business enterprises that the official represent

44. Was the 60M BWA HQ built with grant funds or a loan??

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…yall will have to go back begging cap in hand and tail between legs…the same Canadians..but wait…ya will be out of parliament soon, so it will not be you..lol

46. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Did David Estwick address the problem?
    Did he provide solutions?
    If so, are the solutions ‘workable’?
    Are the solutions permanent or just a plaster?
    Are the solutions just another give away to a select group?

47. The GOB has no money!!!

It can only borrow.

There was the Sugar Factory, $400 million, the Hospital, $800, the Belle RO plant, $40 million, desal plants ??????????????/

Face it, Barbados is bankrupt.

Its productive capacity has been destroyed over the past 50 years.

Who madman would lend it any money?

It is amazing big able heducated people let a bunch of monkeys do this to their country!!

48. Anonymouse – TheGazer October 8, 2016 at 2:41 PM #

Was the 60M BWA HQ part of the solution?

49. @Vincent

The rationale is that an efficient BWA must integrate technology and a modern approach how it does its business. Therefore the decision to start at base.

https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/videos/10153711482265989/?hc_ref=NEWSFEED