David Estwick - minister of Water
David Estwick – minister of Water

Minister of Water David Estwick recently advised that he will be updating the country very soon on the dire state of water management. We hope when he eventually breaks his silence he will address a few concerns raised by BU’s Colonel Buggy.

– Barbados Underground

WATER:

1. What is the true status of Castle Grant Reservoir which feeds residents far beyond St Joseph?
  2. Given that the Castle Grant reservoir’s tank was last cleaned 64 years ago in 1952, when will be the next scheduled inspection and cleaning of the tank take place?
  3. When will the building above the tank be refurbished and the surrounding area de-forested?
  4. When will adequate security be put in place at reservoirs starting with Castle Grant?
  5. Does the Ministry have any plans of requisitioning water dams from private owners fed by streams in the Scotland district to supply water to human beings?
  6. What is the status of Joe’s River/St Elizabeth above ground water tank?
  7. Is the sub pumping station on the Cattlewash side of the East Coast Road still functional?
  8. Can ordinary residents in villages and other communities be treated with the Trenchless Technology ,as was accorded the residents of Cattlewash in St Joseph?
  9. Were some residents in some upscale communities in St Joseph such as Andrews Round Hill given preferential treatment in relation to their water supply?
  10. Why were those residents hooked up to Castle Grant Reservoir over four months ago and were given the impression that the supply from Sweet Vale to Castle Grant was at the testing stage they would have an abundance of water in two weeks, when at that time two miles of the pipe line had yet to be installed?
  11. Are there any plans to deliver non-potable water drawn from the streams in the immediate area, primarily for the use of flushing toilets etc?
  12. What is the status of the enquiry into the alleged massive water leak from the Vineyard Reservoir?
  13. Which reservoirs and communities are fed from the relatively recent installed water wells at Groves/Six Roads ,St Philip.

Is there a Preventive Maintenance plan in place to :-

(a) Inspect, service and clean the metal water tanks on the fleet of tanker trucks .
(b) Inspect,service and repair the tanker truck chassis.
(b) Inspect , service and clean community plastic water tanks, and the immediate area surrounding them.

What health awareness/water handling training has been given to the drivers of these tanker trucks?.

AGRICULTURE

1. What is the real status of Andrews old sugar factory?
  2. Does the Court Order now in force also prevent any further dismantling of the old sugar factory?
  3. Does your Ministry/Government have any plans of conducting an Environmental Impact Assessment exercise to ensure that the construction of the new Andrews Super Factory is not unnecessarily or unfairly held up?
  4. How many tonnes of sugar are we expecting to produce in 2017?
  5. What is the status of the cultivated fields of Wild River Tamarind project?
  6. What type of machinery will be used to harvest these Wild River Tamarinds trees?
  7. Why are we supposedly using an imported variety of Wild River Tamarind when we have an adequate supply of Wild River Tamarind all over the island?
  8. Has any thought been given to the fact that if these Wild River Tamarinds are planted too closely together they may not achieve the desired size?
  9. What has become of the Fuel Cane Project,started some time ago?
  10. Have farmers who were persuaded to grow a number of acres of fuel canes, been adequately compensated after much of these canes were left in the field unreaped for a number of years or trashed backed into the ground?
  11. Are you aware that there is a scarcity in Barbados of Honey Bees, Humming Birds, Yellow Breasts birds, Brown and Black Cow Bees. All very vital in the pollination of plants?

156 responses to “Questions for Minister David Estwick”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This dude Estwick is a joke, just like pothound Kellman.

2. Lady birds and Bats are also on the endangered list here in Barbados. The problem in the country is gross laziness, indifference and chronic lack of leadeship. Many are celebratng 50 years of nationhood yet we are destroying the things that caused us to punch much above our size.

Look at the 2lb dolphins and the sea egg sizes the greedy fishermen harvesting. No vision so the fisheries stock is threatened as Fisheries Authorities nap. Estwick has disappointed and has not taken responsibility as Minister responsible for policy.

What we continue to do is burying our heads in the sand while praying. Persons just have to talk pretty be liked by chairman of a political party or have money to buy influence and they stand a chance of representing us in parliament.

The water issue is just one of the issues that festered and became gangrenous for its not my problem but someone elses. #Selfishness #ANewWay

3. Who is the Opposition spokes person on Water? If in opposition we aint hearing a squeek can we expect any difference when in government Perhaps, we are so fickle that we like it so and never demand accountability from the opposition either.

4. Thanks for your input Kammie. Like Colonel Buggy if only we can get citizens/ Bu commenters to be pointed in their feedback instead of the vitriol we see being spewed. There is an opportunity to up citizen pressure by taking dispassionate position located in substance/

5. Kammie Holder October 3, 2016 at 6:32 AM #

“Who is the Opposition spokes person on Water? If in opposition we aint hearing a squeek can we expect any difference when in government Perhaps, we are so fickle that we like it so and never demand accountability from the opposition either.”

@ Kammie Holder

Yes, we like it so!!!

To hell with the recent credit rating downgrade or the water woes affecting St. Peter, St. Lucy, St. Andrew, St. Joseph and St. John.

We are more interested in demanding accountability from Hilary Clinton and Donald Trump.

As at 6:52 am this morning, the 461 comments their “Fact or Fiction” post was able to solicit is more than enough proof.

6. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Might as well be asking NinjaMan for answers on agriculture and water management.

You should really be asking him why he continues to support the financial policies of the DLP gov’t after vociferously objecting to them.

7. The big question, needed to be ask, Mr. Minister, can you still recognized yourself, after being a caring Medical Doctor of old people for years, but now, a Minister without integrity in a DLP Government

8. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

A big mouth crook Minister , Doctor Kill us all ,

9. @ Artaxerxes

De stupid Ipad lost the whole of my post in response to your remark about the 461 comments about Hilary and Trump

So I here writing it again!!!

One of the tings I try to do Artaxerxes is to tell the truth and I achieve that 50% of the time (that preceding statement is a lie heheheheheheh)

Seriously I try, now that I am on the slope out, though technically speaking all of our as&&s are on the “way out”, I either speak the truth or shut up. And my mouf does get me in trouble.

THe truth about 461 about Trump and Hillary is that you and I are either afraid of commenting hers about things local and salient to our well being or we are COWARDS Artaxerxes.

I can come here, and so can you, and wax poetic about these people from ovah and away AND NOT INCUR THE PUNY MINDEDNESS OF SPITEFULMINDEDNESS against our coward selves

Let me be real ammmmm Artaxerxes.

One Whistleblower came to that same blog and spoke of teifing Timothy Simmons’ exploits at his personal business soon to be passed on to his heirs and assigns

Not a man jack going talk bout that shyt## even if they have the bank receipts that confirm each transaction like the cheque that Owen Arthur endorsed!!

You could be the director who saw Greenverbs Parris teif every dollar of CLICO monies or the secretary who deposited every one of the Fatted Calf kickback cheques to the bank while DT was alive and you are scared as shy##e to say anything Artaxerxes.

DISTANCE my man DISTANCE!!!

Pachamama when he posts here makes some profound statements about US policy and practices but you know what, as controversial as his postings are here, as profound as his stuff does be, and telling as his and Hopi’s insight into the diurnal runnings of the War Dog machinery of the USofA, there is a safety associated with posting the innards of US policy and world practices in a backwoods 166 sq. ml. island.

The anonymity of “a tree falling in the woods, and there being no one there to hear it, guaranteeing that it does not MAKE A NOISE” gives them/us a protection.

Let me brek dis down further for your consumption.

Allah Akbar…is an intonation that when anyone hears it anywhere in the Western World we turn our heads.

It is like what the 4 words “He’s got a gun” mean to a nigger in a police driveby sorry that is a stop and frisk by the state’s assassins.

Go through this entire site and see if you come across any of the most professed of Christians, including me, decrying Allah or his Prophet!! Look how de ole man has a selective pantheism to encompass Allah and tell me if that is not another way of “going along to get along”

You may need to give these seemingly excessive over and away blogs a break.

Particularly so when we are slowly seeing that the soft core blogs like George C brathwaite and Heather C are getting 6 or 7 posts and these like Colonel Buggy are coming to the fore.

We does piss parade pun Hillary and donal because we can say what the ef we like and be sure that one of donald’s companies got more employes dan barbados got citizens, and exaggeration to be sure, but he does not care bout us.

It takes time but we are slowly seeing people coming to BU and reading and tekking notes AND POSTING

10. @ Mr. Kammie Holder.

You said an I quote “…“Who is the Opposition spokes person on Water? If in opposition we aint hearing a squeek can we expect any difference when in government …”

Point 1.

Mice squeak and we are seeing the calibre of the opposition and have been seeing that for all these years to be mice.

Point 2.

Opposition Spokesmen. This is a euphemism for the more apt term of “Shadow Ministers” which we have been shadowed with for years.

What we are seeing Mr. Holder is what in the espionage circles is called “Plausible Deniability”

If you neither speak it, nor write it, it cannot be said that you or your party expressed it at any time they were in power or in the opposition.

This is the M&M Principle and I am not talking about Skittles.

Take a look at the recent “Kick Down the Broken Trident” prattle from a normally intelligent fellow.

This “emotiveness” seem to be representative of the content, extent and intent of the said opposition which seems to like marches in white T-Shirts, bringing old nurses to the House of Parliament and letting thiem brek for themselves, making them climb 74 effing stairs and then have to find a taxi back home to their cuntstituency.

Or callously? encouraging a fellah to “kick down the guvment property” in a public place and risk getting arrest for the willful destruction of guvment property.

I was wondering if he planning to represent de criminals dat do dat kicking down Mr. Holder.

You want to test dat theory fuh me? Go and kick down de wrought iron Trident at one uh dem school gatherings and see if he turn up!!

Now effing I was a DLP big wig I would set up a few DLP fellers tuh do xactly whu he say and video um and den “arrest” dem and see whu he do, effing he willing tuh put he money where he mouf is!!

Dese people really mekking sport wid de peeps of Barbados (dat word peeps i get from MB)

Now mind you Mr. Holder, dis observation is coming from a man and he grandson who does come heah every day and submit anti-DLP Stoopid Posters.

But the thing is Mr. Holder is that, as you have succinctly pointed out, even in “the lull of an approaching storm, we ent even seeing any storm shutters pun de buildings DEM from dis Opposition.”

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watchman October 3, 2016 at 7:25 AM
    “The big question, needed to be ask, Mr. Minister, can you still recognized yourself, after being a caring Medical Doctor of old people for years, but now, a Minister without integrity in a DLP Government..”

Not only that big question to be answered but one of how can the same man be part of a Cabinet which he accused of causing the economic woes Barbados is undergoing. What really is the kind of moral fibre that man is made of?

What also should be answered- not this time by the deceitful fraud called Dr. Pitbull the lapdog of Lord Fumble- of those branches of pseudo science and quack medicine called gerontology and the more financially profitable geriatrics but by the likes of Georgie Progie the BU resident consultant on all matters of a medical nature.

How can a man of the likes of Dr. Blabber the gunslinger of ‘shoot-off-your-mouth-first-then-ask-questions-after-bout-the-real-water problems’ and the quintessential poster boy of NCD’s be considered to be physician specialist worthy of Dr. GP’s validation and consideration into the medical hall of fame for special research into the modern disease called the dystopia for a lying party (DLP).

12. @ Kammie Holder who wrote “Look at the 2lb dolphins and the sea egg sizes the greedy fishermen harvesting. No vision so the fisheries stock is threatened as Fisheries Authorities nap.”

Fishermen are not greedy. They are hungry. Most of them have no “alternative jobs”. No Cane to cut. No roadside gutters to weed.

13. “THE BARBADOS WATER AUTHORITY (BWA) is launching an investigation into why one of its tankers remained parked at its Pine headquarters while scores of families in the north of the island experienced dry taps yesterday.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87649/water-rage#sthash.nitYkjRN.dpuf

14. David October 3, 2016 at 6:44 AM #

I would also be interested in knowing when the CLICOs 2000 odd fertile acres in St.John will be brought back into cane production…..the longer they wait the more cow itch and mossee will take hold.

The point about honey bees and birdlife dissapearing here is disturbing as it will affect the future of our agriculture……..in developed countries fogging is banned and care is taken as to the types of pesticides and weedicides used…….usefull if he could address policy as far as these areas are concerned.

15. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

The solution for agriculture and food security is simple and has always been:

Close CBC.

Use the BDS$40m subvention to subsidise the planting of sugar cane, the only rotation crop that works in Bim, to secure food crop sources.

Allow growers to build and operate micro mills like they did 100 years ago and trade in sugar finished products with whomever the free market determines.

Every time some gov’t jackass makes a comment about Bajan business suckling at the gov’t teet they should be reminded that ridiculously heavy bureaucracy in this country makes it impossible to do otherwise. They need to lead or get to Hell out of the way.

16. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

17. Look at the 2lb dolphins and the sea egg sizes the greedy fishermen harvesting. No vision so the fisheries stock is threatened as Fisheries Authorities nap. Estwick has disappointed and has not taken responsibility as Minister responsible for policy
    ++++++++++++
    Two pound dolphins? If that is widespread it is lunacy with no thought to conservation or no provision about what stocks will be available for the next generation of fishermen.

Unfortunately, you can’t legislate against stupidity

18. @ Sargeant,

“Two pound dolphins?

Could be pan dolphin or chicken dolphin which are different from their larger cousins.

http://i1135.photobucket.com/albums/m625/nicklichenstein/IMG_1771.jpg

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes October 3, 2016 at 9:14 AM
    “The point about honey bees and birdlife dissapearing here is disturbing as it will affect the future of our agriculture……..in developed countries fogging is banned and care is taken as to the types of pesticides and weedicides used…….usefull if he could address policy as far as these areas are concerned.”

These jackasses behind the policy of fogging don’t realize that the chemicals used to ‘imaginary’ kill in true Quixotic style the mosquito which returns in greater numbers year after year also kill off other beneficial insects who not only act as natural ‘population’ control agents of the same deadly mosquito but are also important pollinators for the food crops on which the same humans survive.

These jackasses should listen even to their servants behaving in true Sancho Panza style and should stop tilting at imaginary windmills while learning to live in harmony with Mother Nature.

Why not try the growing of hemp and see if it can bring back harmony with nature and exploit her bounties there from?

But, of course, local agriculture is not part of Bim’s economic future (until the foreign reserves tank runs dry like the water in St. Joseph) since it represents its horrible past of economic exploitation and servitude of the black masses.

More than 80% of the ingredients which make up the instant fares of the fast food industry is not locally grown and processed. Just examine a roti, a pizza or even a chicken snack box and tell us how much is locally grown and sourced; except for the cheap labour of course.

20. Dolphin, Dorado, Mahi Mahi (Caryphaena hippurus) not to be confused with its smaller relative the Chicken Dolphin,

21. We used to use insecticides and weedicides in the 60s and 70s when we did not understand the damage they caused to birds and bees.

We used to spray sane fields using boom sprayers.

Now we know better and should be really careful.

22. Didn’t we have a local engineer coming out recently to knock the chemicals used by the government fogging unit? Did it solicit a response from the relevant department?

23. oops spell check.

” cane “

24. millertheanunnaki October 3, 2016 at 11:51 AM #

Bim in the past has produced yam flakes,we are presently able to produce sweet potato chips as well as cassava,breadfruit,cornmeal and sweet potato flour.

Individual have done research on the production of many food items e.g fish cake batter.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent

Here in Europe they are already producing sweet potato chips and let me tell you, they are absolutely delicious. They are also producing bread made from various vegetables including zucchini. That too is absolutely delicious. Various nuts of all kinds is now part of a very tasty whole wheat bread. That too is very delicious. We are now at the stage of producing cassava flour. We are yet to look into breadfruit flour, and we have a whole lot of sweet potatoes we grow in Barbados that are waiting to be turned into value added products. What are we waiting for and what is the problem.

My Sweet Piece why are you ignoring me. I know I have not been here a lot, but I tend to get bored with BU. That does not mean you can’t send me an email at the address David provided-

26. @ Milertheanunnaki

All of the DLP Government, PM and all of his Ministers will be punish for their evil actions, just look at Minister Lowe,

27. I have it on good authority that Estwick is a jekyll and hyde character.On a political platform,he exhibits the habit of a pig in western type clothing and in private with his patients and in his interface with public servants and constituents he is a caring,decent medical doctor who listens.Words such as lunatic,schizophrenetic,bi-polaritic should not come to mind but he sure as hades is a gunslinger.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine October 3, 2016 at 12:48 PM #

I am not suprised that other countries are running with these ideas,just as in the past we had the cane breeds&west indian sea island cotton with the patents that are now lost.
    Like our inability to get a patent on black belly sheep or road tennis.

Endless opportunities exist and have existed for some time……..what we need is some diaspora re-locating to run with them.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel October 3, 2016 at 12:54 PM

It is precisely because of his schizophrenic ‘bi-polarism’ that his so-called colleagues in cabinet and the elite of his party think of him as a bloody fat joker.

He is viewed as a pit bull sans teeth who in one fell swoop or on the drop of a bone of kickbacks will jump in the fluffy lap of his old school teacher Fumble.

30. Dearest Suzanne,

I said to myself.

“Myself” twould appear as if those unkindly verbal blows that you did help administer to one Walther PPK, a matter indeed heretofore detailed, and an incident which did indeed inflict “such bodily harm on the one PPK”, to whichin, “did cause him grievous body harm” from which he did retire “mortally wounded”

Myself, I continued, it would appear as if you did, inadvertently, make the fair and pulchritudinous maiden pause and wonder…”

Fair Maiden’s thoughts now follow

“I am indeed minded of this action by these scoundrels many …

Ole man’s interjections

“i will not list the names here of these “scoundrels many” encouraged as they were by one and goaded on by many Watchers, and Sage men, and People yet to arrive there, and those who having arrived were drinking coffee or is that tea?, and those whose household guards the gate, and those of filial state who in biblical times, left the house, but returned No siree I will not mention their names

Fair Maiden’s thoughts now continue…

“…and knowing them all, I am perturbed that this ole one, who doth pretend? kindness, did indeed, and in fact, enjoin with them all, in their great numbers, and unfaired (read masticate) said PPK”

“Should I interpret such to be an indication of de ole man’s unbridled dark self, and therefore, being as I am minded by my Daddy that “trouble doth not set up like rain”, let me not talk to him again”

Yesssss my dearest.

De ole man said that this was what transpired and caused you to stop “writing”

Now I must share some private things with you ALONE, ergo the square brackets

[[De Ole man hath wept long tears, no, not for the loss of PPK, but much like Romeo’s “parting was such bitter sorrow” not to converse with you here.

For, many a day, the ole man would see those 3S’s, no, not them scoundrels dat de BLP was did give that ABC Highway contract to, but thine initials.

And they brought Silence, Suffering and Sorrow to the ole man heart seeing thou so, close but yet so far away.

It is a good ting dat i writing dis in square brackets Dearest Suzanne for dere is many who would catspraddle de ole man if dem was to see dis disclosure here pun BU.

Whuloss, especially one up in Canada but I ent going call he name, emphasis pun de “H”]]

[[[[peaceuhderockyeahright@gmail.com]]]] in four brackets for double security

31. This Estwick is a poor boy who got to Medical school at the mercy of??? and developed not only bipolar, but a greed to be rich by any means, a greedy action can be seen in most people, but, this DLP set of Ministers have rewrite the meaning of greed

32. @ piece

The Walther PPk Blackman is firing from the shadows some days, check the ACs range , he can’t change the signature of his firing words

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes October 3, 2016 at 1:01 PM

I notice you are listening to what SSS says @ Sunshine Sunny Shine October 3, 2016 at 12:48 PM as she so eloquently penned as follows:

“Here in Europe they are already producing sweet potato chips and let me tell you, they are absolutely delicious. They are also producing bread made from various vegetables including zucchini. That too is absolutely delicious. Various nuts of all kinds is now part of a very tasty whole wheat bread. That too is very delicious. We are now at the stage of producing cassava flour. We are yet to look into breadfruit flour, and we have a whole lot of sweet potatoes we grow in Barbados that are waiting to be turned into value added products. What are we waiting for and what is the problem.”

Now tell us Vincent, how long must Barbados wait to listen to people with commonsense?
    In the 1990’s black people were paying £1.20 for one pound of breadfruit in markets around London such as Brixton.

When will black people wake up and see the light of commerce in the value of the products which can be so easily produced not only for export to replace sugar but also for the betterment of their own health.?

Why can’t the government financially penalize those fast food establishments which are primarily contributing to over 30% the children of Barbados considered to be overweight or obese by the doctors?

Why not use the financial carrot to encourage them to serve fast foods made of genuine local and healthy imported products as Sunshine Sunny Shine so wisely pointed out?

What is it going to take for them to see the value of their own agricultural produce? Whites or East Indians or Chinese or Koreans to take over the show?

I must say you black people are a rather stupid breed, indeed!

34. millertheanunnaki October 3, 2016 at 4:10 PM #

As I said to SSS we have been creating these things for eons and to answer your question as to what it takes again I refer you to my entreaty toSSS to come home with others of the diaspora and start these things.

Being logical it would suggest that the political class prefer the masses to be poor,ignorant and interested in bling and wuk ups.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

For those in the diaspora to even consider returning to invest their life savings in Barados, first they gotta DEMAND that the political class get all the local minority parasites off the landscape, I sure as hell will never invest my money with the likes of the Bizzys, Cows, Maloneys, Harris, Parris et al waiting in the wings…aided by corrupt politicians to monopolize and steal my ideas.

No one has that time, money, and energy to waste…first, get rid of the parasites…or ya will soon start to eat your own asses.

36. @ Dearest Suzanne

While de ole man would delight in your coming home as such would be a sight for mine eyes, I beg you DO NOT FOLLOW MR. VINCENT HAYNES’ advice of 6.15pm unless you want to waste your life away in this backwoods where anyone who has any suggestions to put to the bogolords bout here WILL BE DESTROYED just for being uppity.

STAND DEY where you are appreciated and even though some would say that we are second rate citizens, it is better to be utilized in Egypt that to be destroyed in Jerusalem by your own.

Unless a radical change comes to this backwoods we are doomed!!

De ole man been saying dis for ages but my name is not Klaus Schwab so um gine tek a white man to say dis fuh we Bajans tuh unnerstand how dire our situation is

“The World Economic Forum’s Future of Jobs study predicts that five million jobs will be lost before 2020 as artificial intelligence, robotics, nanotechnology and other socio-economic factors replace the need for human workers.”

“The good news is that those same technological advances will also create 2.1 million new jobs.”

“But the manual and clerical workers who find themselves out of work are unlikely to have the required skills to compete for the new roles.”

“Most new jobs will be in more specialised areas such as computing, mathematics, architecture and engineering.”

“Governments and employers in every sector are being urged to retrain and re-skill workers to avoid a crisis.”

“Without urgent and targeted action today, to manage the near-term transition and build a workforce with future-proof skills, governments will have to cope with ever-growing unemployment and inequality, and businesses with a shrinking consumer base,” said Klaus Schwab, founder and executive chairman of the World Economic Forum.”

I would end this with my usual exhortation of “come leh we wuk up and have a good time but de ole man is sure that while you will take it in the sense that it is said, Walther PPK will crawl out of the woodwork and suggest that I too am speaking in the same vein as his trembling thirteen year old posteriors.

Dearest Suzanne WE ARE NOT READY!!

37. @David King, Dr Arianna Marshall was once the Green Business Coordinator of the Future Centre and is a very knowledgeable researcher.

As I said before, CARPHA and the Ministry of Health were contacted about Mosquito Traps during the drought as mosquitos were desperate for water, no response was received. #Zika

Dams in the Scotland District and construction of lost feeder wells across country as well as channeling of water would assist in replenishing aquifers. No one stopped to think that if you are building out more houses and consumption goes up so too should water capture. Its not rocket science only common sense. #BWA

Prayer tells me that no one takes time to do a time and motion study on traffic congestion and its contribution to lost man hours and increased fuel consumption. #TrafficCongestion

Opposition extremely silent on ITAL and a new Defamation Act and is not even mentioned in their Covenant of Hope. #ITAL #TransparencyInternational

The political parties candidate selection is so flawed that it will always give us pretty talkers, those preferred by chairman and those with money to buy influence. Fairness and transparency in candidate selection would dictate a debate/speak off and a Q & A which would be better inform constituents selection of political candidate to stand at the wider parochial level. #VoteBuyingBarbados

Ministry Of Environment refuses to embrace the Future Centre Trust CoreNetwork aka Community Recycling while waste management issues escalates #IllMenMakeBadDecisions

Neither will we get change in Barbados until we stop appoint square pegs in round holes. If ever Barbados needed Critical Thinkers and Leaders with vision to inspire a whole nation that time is now! #ANewWay

38. Barbados can be saved but men with big balls who are willing to focus on solutions, country and not their pocket books or their financiers must step up to the plate.

We may need to incorporate Barbados and get rid of the non elected senate also.

39. It is not simply about pesticides, it is the failure to implement policy that looks at maintaining and enhancing biodiversity. It is also about a population that thinks paved driveways, hedges and fancy lawns are more important than fruit trees, flowering plants etc. Funny that the same people who support the solar farm in Waterford rather than a botanical garden are now complaining about the depletion of bees, bats, birds and beetles.

40. My final post for today:

Do you know that Barbados has failed to create a seed bank of indigenous crops. It was decided at a high level meeting about 5 years ago that it needed to be done as part of our food security. However in 2016 it still has not been done. You cannot even get seeds to germinate from many crops imported into the country from the first harvesting

If in doubt ask the Ministry Of Agriculture.

41. @ Mr. Kammie Holder

I wonder how many have seen that?

“Opposition extremely silent on ITAL and a new Defamation Act and is not even mentioned in their Covenant of Hope. #ITAL #TransparencyInternational”

I would hazard a guess that the reason that it is NOT MENTIONED is that with there ascension to office THEY WILL BECOME THE ENEMY OF FREE SPEECH A LA MUGABE!!!

42. LOL HALF AND HALF A FAVORITE CHARACTER IN DICK TRACY

43. If I were the Bees I would hush muh mout bout ITAL too!! Copy cat and stale. Promising the already promised is bad strategy. Just implement; ITAL, FOI etc are fait accompli no need to promise.

44. @enuff

You should recall Tom Adams attempted to introduce ITAL andi t was blocked by the then DLP Opposition. It was sent to Committee. This political class has taken the electorate for a ride for nearly 40 years on the issue of ITAL, BOTH parties.

45. SAY WHAT!!!!!!! SORE LOSER ?

“Gill said: “Like Tony Blair when he left, he said when the curtains come down it is time to leave the stage. I would like to announce to you here tonight that I have left the stage of the Barbados Labour Party. The machinery was against me “. . . . I think I have done well.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87657/newcomer-caddle-beats-gill-blp-nod#sthash.3DDdopE5.dpuf

46. So we are going to grow food crops. Build factories to process and package the food. Sell it to get foreign exchange. Then use foreign exchange to import food.

In the meantime Bajns cannot get a daily intake of fresh vegetables and fruit .

47. Anonymouse -TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse -TheGazer

A Bajan in the diaspora and his/her money are soon parted.

48. Mr Minister, like you, I live in a piped -water abundant area, my monthly water bill is on average $35.00 . Some of the hard hit residents in the Castle Grant catchment area , many of whom have not had a drop of water at their taps at their homes , for the past 20+ days straight, but are receiving monthly bills ranging from $30.00 to $60.00. Do you have any plans of compensating these people in some way, either by way of a rebate, or scrapping the present charges for a period of say 6 months, or until the normal water supply is resumed, which ever comes first?

49. I would say that over the last ten years I have noticed a distinctive trend in UK supermarkets: they have being promoting and selling in ever increasing numbers “Caribbean style” food and drinks produce.

The important German retailer- Lidl – has for a number of years sold Caribbean rum under their brand name at the fraction of the price of more established Caribbean rum brands.

I also read in one of our UK national newspapers that Brits were falling out of love with traditional UK tomato sauce and were developing a taste for chilli inspired sauces such as hot peppered sauces. I have seen a number of home-made hot pepper sauces cropping up on super market shelves.

Even, the humble avocado pear is currently been promoted as a wonder food.
    What does this trend reveal to you? I believe that we may have already lost the battle. It reminds me of when I was a boy growing up. Music such as jazz, rock roll and two-tone (ska) music was considered to be the pejorative of whites. The DJ’s of the day would promote the likes of Elvis Presley, Jim Miller, Eddy Cochrane, Tommy Dorsey, Buster Blood Vessel et al. One was left with the impression that these artists were the standard bearers for the above musical genres.

On becoming a student I realised that all the above music had its roots firmly in the black tradition.

We Negros are a shallow people. We seem to share this perverse anti-intellectualism towards agriculture. Agriculture is central to both our long term prosperity and our longevity. Without the life blood of agriculture we will perish as a nation.

It would seem to me that as other nations develop more sophisticated palettes that we in the Caribbean appear to be gravitating towards an unhealthy and a crude fast food style cuisine.