youth“Education would be much more effective if its purpose was to ensure that by the time they leave school every boy and girl should know how much they do not know, and be imbued with a lifelong desire to know it.”William Haley, British Editor.

In Barbados, more things are changing than are staying fixed. More things are seemingly failing than obviously succeeding. It reasons therefore, that the society as a whole must admit the point at which this country sits. Barbadians must be prepared and proactive in deciding what can be done to rescue and recover the progress that Barbados had grown accustomed – at least up until a few years ago.

Necessity demands an issues-centred approach to active engagement with our society. More so, the youth and their affairs must be prioritised in any national engagement since it is this vital group that is being wrongly demonised today. The youth is the same group that will bear the brunt of policy outcomes and hopefully will lead industry in the medium and long-terms. This is precisely why Barbadians should feel compelled to trace our steps to the root problems affecting the nation, and fix the same as a matter of urgency.

Barbados’ educational system is broken. The mode of instruction inclusive of the resistance to new technologies are rendering the educational system obsolete in areas, and thus, in need of comprehensive reform. For starters, the school curricula at primary and secondary levels must be revisited. Concomitant with addressing the educational fallout must be ways that the country comes together with a demand for civic engagement within erected structures of participatory democracy. At present, Barbadian youths suffer due to widespread marginalisation and institutional discrimination.

Politicians have conveniently suggested that Barbadians complain too much, and critics of the government ought to desist so as not to send the wrong signals into the international system. Social media, so natural to youth, is a medium that antagonises the politician in government. The fact is, the current government has fascination with silence and silencing. It is for this reason, that it must be added that Barbadian youth are being short-changed due to this cryptic inclination from the political elites that is exposed in many more ways than one.

Let us be clear. We are in deep, deep trouble as a country. The educational situation is greatly complicated when fixed ideas about reality are continually substituting for discussions on dynamic issues and complex problems. Annually, there are increasing numbers of Barbados’ youth that suffer through primary and secondary education. These young people later emerge as under-certificated persons interested in earning rather than learning. A few of them are lucky to get pass the gatekeepers and Personnel departments whose claim to fame is more about sexy bottom than top heavy intelligence. With access to tertiary education being delivered a heavy blow by the current administration, it is not surprising that inequalities of all kinds are re-entering post-Independence public discourse.

Incidentally, there will always be young persons having with the right connections that are more able to fit into the unstable job market and avoid means-testing. They eventually will join a callous and competitive workforce that has fallen to be under-productive. Sadly, and without addressing all of the related issues, the country is then told by employers that there is systemic ignorance abounding in Barbados. As W.E.B. Du Bois said many decades ago, “education must not simply teach work – it must teach life.” A responsible Barbados government must not pass the buck. Human Resources gurus have advised that there is lack of critical thinking skills entering the work arena. The public is reminded that acquiring a degree is no replacement for being able to use common sense.

Added to the conundrum negatively deflating the ‘Bajan’ ego is a shortage of information, especially the kind that is driven by research and hard localised data. The public is now at a stage where there is a serious rupture between the governing and the governed. There is low-level validity in relation to people’s expectations and facts on the deliverables. Hence, misinformation, propaganda, and partisan parading have risen to the forefront of policy confusion. Obtuse political factors are calling the tunes for Barbados’ splintered polity, and the apathy has further developed among the nation’s youth.

Barbadian youth are confronted with the denial of opportunity. This dynamic has to do with the selfishness evidenced from those that emerged in higher socio-economic brackets but forgot their starting points. In that regard, the pride and industry that stood for something positive and progressive, has recently dissipated with the politicians’ cleverness in saying ‘follow me, but do not ask questions’.

Traditionally, the Barbados experience has never been to turn a blind eye to the challenges that we face as a nation. Rather, the resilience that is reflected in our self-characterisation has always been about facing the challenges of the day while overcoming without need for wanton boast. Surely, the political, civic, and business leaders in Barbados ought to be doing more to pass the baton to our youth without disqualifying incident.

One clearly recalls the current administration producing a policy document – The National Youth Policy of Barbados (NYPB). The Minister of Family, Culture, Sports and Youth used a historical benchmark inclusive of the post-1937 social reforms, adult suffrage, the provision of free education, and the graduation of the country through attaining Independence in his ‘Preface’, to state that:

“At each of these critical turning points in the recent history of Barbados, the aspirations of young people to participate more fully in the important sectors of society and to enjoy a higher standard of living featured prominently in the deliberations and added a sense of urgency to the demands for change.”

Barbadian youth are demanding urgency, change, and opportunity once again. The present administration has failed to fully embrace the youth in the policy formulation and decision-making processes for national development. In fact, the same NYPB affirms that “the apparent preoccupation with deviant youth and the mistakes that a minority of young men and women make during the transition from childhood to adulthood, has cast a long shadow over youth development.” This condition has served as an impediment to the progressiveness of national youth.

Furthermore, there are gross misunderstandings and intergenerational fallout because of the overly zealous attitude of asserting outright control, instead of promoting critical thinking among our youth and people. These problematic areas give rise to social conflict, and must be immediately addressed. Interestingly, the NYPB asserted that “Caribbean societies have succeeded in reproducing themselves with all the punitive and enslaving historical baggage for which they are renowned.” The demands of today’s crop of youth are indicative of the quest for freedom within the context of rights, duties, obligations and responsibilities.

The social democratic character of Barbados is no better put than in the Barbados Constitution. Implicitly and explicitly, there is recognition that the Barbados Constitution affirms the citizens’ “belief that men and institutions remain free only when freedom is founded upon respect for moral and spiritual values and the rule of law.” To what extent is the current administration and by extension the political class in Barbados muzzling the voice of the citizen and the youth? Does the deteriorating situation in Barbados reveal the graft of political expediency and the craft of achieving acquiescence and authoritative control?

Moreover, there are many things occurring in Barbados that demand attention of the citizen and the critical thoughtfulness of our youth. Regrettably, critical thinking is hardly a formative part of primary and secondary education in Barbados. The outmoded form of knowledge transfer practiced in Barbados, is also causing hiccups at the tertiary levels. Incompetence is spilling over into the workplace and adult-oriented environments.

Ministers of government, for example, have now seeped themselves in a culture of excuses. The political class has literally and figuratively walked away from nation-building and moved to self-triumphalism. This shameful behaviour is contagious, to the extent that the country is hearing that managers in the public service have not been living up to the expectations commensurate with duties assigned. Think on these things because as John F. Kennedy once said: “Too often we … enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.”

(Dr. George C. Brathwaite is a part-time lecturer in Political Science at the UWI-Cave Hill Campus, a researcher and political consultant, and up until recently, he was editor of Caribbean Times (Antigua). Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

126 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Youth Being short-changed”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is way too positive not to share it twice.

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/meditation-detention-holistic-life-foundation

Again…it’s meant t8 be shared in Barbados and across the Caribbean so that the varus kinistries of education can add a positive to their curriculums to benefit ALL THE CHILDREN….ACROSS THE CARIBBEAN…prepare the young people, show them how to control their emotions and their lives.

Teach them to strengthen their inner core with discipline…adults find it very useful…I use it all the time.

Again…this is not to be stolen by stupid people to get useless credit and to score cheap brownie points in the newspapers…it is to be SHARED to benefit the youth, ALL the children of Barbados, from elementary/primary schools….through university…in a positive way.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Again…it’s meant to be shared in Barbados and across the Caribbean so that the various ministries of education………

3. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

From the scholastic results and the exemplary behaviours of the majority of the youth, I think it is an exaggeration to say that they have been short changed. Very often we allow the media to blindside us to the good things that are taking place in our society. Never the less, we need to nip some unsavoury practices in the bud before they flourish and overtake and swamp the good.
    It is a good thing that nature does not allow” mean wellers” to determine what is good for the rest of us.

4. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

In my day,a long time ago, the detention was used by the detainee to do his home work, to improve his handwriting,or write passages from Scripture or Shakespeare. The object was for him to learn fortitude ,patience and anger control. Is this not the same objectives that is portrayed in the meditative model of WW& C above?

5. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Objective not “objectives”

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bernard…the media always focuses in the negatives in socirty…their aim is to sell news using the controversial…they have nit yet learned to balance the majority positive with the minority negatives.

The same ibjectives can be met…20 minutes of meditation followed by homework, handwriting skills etc…imaginr the possibilities of a more restful, quiet, peaceful, focused mind, imagine thousands of such young minds.

7. Fifteen paragraphs littered with errors of grammar and diction (where did George get his PhD again?) in which George manages to say almost nothing.
    The educational system is broken. Youth lack critical thinking skills. The curricula must be re-visited. Youth must be prioritized.
    OK. But what are the practical steps needed to fix the problem? Don’t leave us in suspense, George.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chad…dont you have anything better to do….who the hell has time to count errors or typos, yall are some petty people.

There used to br some people on here counting posts. …intelligent people do not have the time for those mindless, petty things.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999 asked “But what are the practical steps needed to fix the problem?”

Eliminate all religion from schools; it’s incompatible with critical thinking.
    Retrain teachers to understand that they do NOT know what is best for their students; the teachers do not know what the future holds, so the best they can do is teach students adaptive strategies.
    Change the administrative structure of the education system so that the objective of schools is not conformity, but creativity https://www.ted.com/talks/ken_robinson_says_schools_kill_creativity?language=en
    Get teachers to model life long learning for their students; retire any teacher as soon as s/he stops learning no matter what his or her age.
    Start entrepreneurship education in primary school and keep it as a required core subject through O levels.

10. PLT

Sorry. I don’t think you can do much to teach critical thinking, adaptive strategies, or entrepreneurship. You can provide some tips, but that will hardly guarantee the results you want.
    On the other hand, secondary schools can teach basic English, Mathematics, Statistics, Economics, History, Environmental Science, Chemistry, Biology, Soil Science and many other subjects in which they can be confident the body of knowledge acquired by the students will be useful for a lifetime. I have no idea why you are overestimating the pace of technological change.

11. @ Chad 45

Your 7.45 pm post speaks and sumizes George s modus.

Write a blustery article repeat all of the hot buttons and, post giving no solution, sit back and cull information from practitioners of the respective subjects, which he is not, graft their proposals into his resulting papers published elsewhere, as his own, and earn a few dollars off you, WW&C and PLT

He never returns to the articles he writes because he cannot support his simpleton articles with anything more meaningful than what he initially published.

I would hazard that everything that is published here has already surfaces in Antigua Times when he was editor.

He has become the very thing he is writing about – an anachronism

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson September 27, 2016 at 9:37 PM re ” … the teachers do not know what the future holds, so the best they can do is teach students adaptive strategies. Change the administrative structure of the education system so that the objective of schools is not conformity, but creativity”

I have been out of secondary school now for quite some time but during my time there and over the years since then what you said above has ALWAYS been the hallmark of the successes we have enjoyed. So what exactly are you saying?

Furthermore, we shift the burden of all things on teachers. Learning has always been about being adaptive and the ability to apply fundamental skills of ‘how to learn’ to every new endeavor encountered. This should not be an ‘encumbrance’ on teachers per se. Rather this is a parental burden.

I recently had a little verbal fight with AC on the concept of logic and I was amazed how s/he conflated logical progression with changing times and suggested that our logical processes have changed as well in lock step. That made no sense to me. The process of logic – the ‘how to’ – is fundamental and ‘innate’. The fundamentals remain constant.

Every child should be exposed to basic logic from as early as possible (there are multiple children’s books). Simply starting them on the path to understand how to approach a problem, understanding its parts and then seeking to solve it. Of course those basics will apply whether its maths, Shakesphere English, science and so on. And too if you are building a tree-house, top-scoring on a video game or trying to write some code.

So I hear you but I started that basic process of ‘logical problem solving’ with my ole man as a lad and I surely believe that many others did as well (And I am not referring to some academic concept of logic either). Schools build on that. And the good ones have been doing so for years now.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What do you expect from a Trump supporter….hope you were not expecting logic…from Chad.

If you look at the ages of the children doing the meditation in Baltimore, that is the target for future change….

………at that age those minds are the most impressionable…easily swayed in the right or wrong direction….

………you want those minds conditioned to self-control and self-discipline from that age…everything going forward after that….is a breeze…less social problems….the upward mobility effect.

That is the goal.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/pDV9304DP2j

Either use the simple solutions available to stop the majority of the social problems now…or the people in the world whose lineages are dying out due to diseases…will find ways to create bigger social problems…to ensure their own survival…when a species is dying out, it will do whatever is necessary to survive.

Black people tend to take their naturalbstrength of survival for granted.

The infant in the twitter post is the product of 3 or more individuals……DNA materials from more than 2 individuals were used in this creation…..my concern is with the growing shifting personalities and potential for social degradation.

Last year I had read that the UK had approved such creations because of the amount of diseases ravaging the population when DNA from only 2 people have been used….for centuries. This from thr people who for centuries have claimed to be superior,

You can let your imagination run wild with that one.

I am thinking of the consequences.

There are more than enough problems with just the DNAs of 2 peoole in one body running around…imagine 3 or 4 DNAs.

Frankenstein cant keep up…lol

15. @Dee Word

Agree with you to some extent. The BU forum can be used as an example where posters from different backgrounds can be found, however, in most cases almost every issue is distilled via a cloudy prism. There is a preference to leave logic/reasoning at the door and go with what is less mentally strenuous.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Black people tend to take their natural strength of survival for granted.

17. peterlawrencethompson September 27, 2016 at 9:37 PM #

I share your ideas on education reform.

Entrepreneurship is a bit ticklish to teach/train one on and should be approached by showing money making opportunities in respective subject areas which would allow those so gifted to pursue it.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@de pedantic Dribbler September 28, 2016 at 6:04 AM # Re “… we shift the burden of all things on teachers. Learning has always been about being adaptive…”

Recall earlier this year the Springer Memorial Principal ordered a student to pick up litter that neither of them had dropped. This is not a productive relationship of teacher to student; it is the relationship of master to slave. With leadership that awful the students are doomed.

The cultural emphasis on obedience and conformity which is prevalent in the education system is not only at the heart of the poor elearning performance, it is also a prime cause of the disciplinary problems that it is so ineffective at correcting. The master/slave discourse is effective only at provoking either rebellion or shirking.

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

^learning^

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“This is not a productive relationship of teacher to student; it is the relationship of master to slave. With leadership that awful the students are doomed.”

It is a slave minded society…peroetrated by the leaders, perpetrated by the employers…accepted by the people…taught in the schools.

Protected by the leaders.

It’s a lose, lose situation…unless the people stop it, unless young minds are shaped and reshaped.

The leaders are useless and would npt even understand this discourse…products of the slave minded society themselves.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes
    Entrepreneurship is much easier to teach to children than just about any other subject. This is because the students can easily see the relationship of what they learn to practical results. It also is a huge support for their learning of other subjects like arithmetic and language arts because now they are motivated. The Barbados Youth Business Trust does some good work but the effort needs to be expanded a thousand fold.

At its core, entrepreneurship is not about making money: it’s about taking responsibility for your own place in the world and in your community. Money is just a means to an end.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999 Re: “I don’t think you can do much to teach critical thinking, adaptive strategies, or entrepreneurship.”

Critical thinking: there is a lot of experience teaching this around the world; it is part of education systems in Denmark, Finland and elsewhere. It is not that dificult, there is even a wiki page written at the primary school level. http://www.wikihow.com/Teach-Critical-Thinking

Adaptive strategies: this is more difficult to teach, but it builds on critical thinking skills like observation, comparison, and skepticism of authority.

Entrepreneurship: this is actually very easy to teach. I’m currently doing so to a wide variety of adults including some blind people with very little formal education. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i2zMm9Ig0EI

23. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

You said and I quote ” The BU forum can be used as an example where posters from different backgrounds can be found, however, in most cases almost every issue is distilled via a cloudy prism. ”

“There is a preference to leave logic/reasoning at the door and go with what is less mentally strenuous.”

I would strenuously disagree with your posit regarding “preference” David.

Preference imputes that there is an option to employ the first but that a predisposition to deploy the second kicks in.

And therein lies the noble aspiration and myth that you would seek to rely on David, THAT IS NOT TRUE SINCE THAT FACILITY TO REASON IS NOT IN OUR PSYCHE s FIRST RESPONSE!!!

In fact David, it is not even 2nd or 3rd!!!

The first response of Bajans to any discourse and or encounter is through a lens of “who you?”

When we start talking or responding to another party we first do a calculation as to if the party’s currency of societal standing permits them to discourse with us.

This happens in milliseconds David and is why fellers like Come Sing a Song come here and post, and Loverige and George C Brathwaite post and do not respond to queries because “god, purposely non capitalized, has spoken” and who is you?

The second level is “do I deign to respond and lower myself?

Tell me David, when you get up and see your wife and children, what do you do every single morning?

You say good morning!!!

There are PEOPLE THAT NEVER HAVE SAID THOSE WORDS IN THEIR ENTIRE LIVES!!! A nation of people practiced to never interact until, like the way the tide recedes for every wave, it is habitual

These responses of which the ole man speaks are ingrained into the psyches of our people because niggers were not encouraged to speak to each other on the plantation so that “practice” manifest itself in this prelude to exchange, be it verbal, or written or just as a consequence of doing our job David

Merely doing your daily job is prescribed by the thought of “do I deign to act for these faceless charges and lower myself?” And the response that we are habitually fed is “no”

The final thing that complexions your thoughts David prior to this process of which you speak is singly the worst and most insidious of all the pre-engagement processes that we employ prior to that logic step you speak of.

It is called “spontaneous envy” and at the speed of though, merely because of the metre or timbre and content of your outreach to me, I immediately categorize what you are saying, writing, requiring of me, AND I ENVY AND/OR HATE YOU FOR IT!!!

The logic kicks in and that my friend is what BU is saddled with in a nutshell of milliseconds of being

24. Not “the logic kicks in…” It is “then logic kicks in…”

25. peterlawrencethompson September 28, 2016 at 8:30 AM #

Ah….thats where we differ……entrepreneurship in its truest sense has been around since the days of bartering and is all about gaining as much of whatever commodity is desirable at any given time,usualy by whatever means.There is no such thing as an honorable entrepreneur…..they simply would not exist.

What you are talking about is more akin to ones civic responsibilities with a bit of DIY and help your neighbour thrown in which is all to the good.

26. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI September 28, 2016 at 9:04 AM #

You say good morning!!!

There are PEOPLE THAT NEVER HAVE SAID THOSE WORDS IN THEIR ENTIRE LIVES!!! A nation of people practiced to never interact until, like the way the tide recedes for every wave, it is habitual
    ………………………………………..

My first experience of Bim in the ’50s was of a very polite society where everyone from young was taught that ” manners maketh man” ,children would not dare enter somewhere without offering the requisite courtesy.

This has changed no doubt and the question is when an why?

27. @ peterlawrencethompson
    Entrepreneurship is much easier to teach to children than just about any other subject.

….This is not a productive relationship of teacher to student; it is the relationship of master to slave. With leadership that awful the students are doomed.

Entrepreneurship: this is actually very easy to teach. I’m currently doing so to a wide variety of adults including some blind people
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Why the hell don’t you stop pontificating on things that you know nothing about nuh?
    Just because you read a ‘wiki page’ about some shiite… that does not make you an expert on the subject….steupsss.
    It would be instructive to hear how you have been impacted in your personal live by these ‘easy to teach things’

What have you ever “entrepreneured”?
    You know of course that in blind man land, a one-eyed fella is a boss. Unfortunately for you, BU is infested with 20/20 bloggers….

28. So wunna get a real real Bank Holiday.

“ALL BANKS in Barbados are closed today.”

29. George,
    I am very disappointed, not only in the content of your contribution, regarding the subject, but in the writing itself.As Chad pointed out, there are too many errors, showing lack of thought and analysis, but carelessness in construction and grammar itself. There is an attempt to score political points which makes the juxtaposition of clarity of thinking with the construction of the article itself. Do not take my word for it discuss it with others more knowledgeable than me and see for yourself.
    Never listen to Well Well. She is so “consumed” that she is prepared to advise you not to “count typos or errors” because, as she says: “intelligent people don’t have time for these mindless petty things.” She wants you to do the very things you are advising should not be done with the youth. I regard a Computer Programmer as a very intelligent person. But he/she has to be very disciplined and one who pays close attention to how the programme is written. Misplacement of a single digit, a wrong letter, a 1 instead of a 0 CAN MEAN DISASTER. A MATHEMATICIAN CANNOT IGNORE A MISPLACED NUMBER IN THE CALCULATIONS; Einstein took over two days of review of his Theory of Relativity, to discover an error in his calculations. Students from an early age have to be taught to be disciplined, logical, patient and application of clarity, in their writing and thinking, so that they may be successful later in life. This is the type of preparation that is now not apparent in the education of students today. These are the values that are to be taught. Teachers seem to be too much in the Well Well mode; prepared to let things slide.
    Chad wrote:
    “On the other hand, secondary schools can teach basic English, Mathematics, Statistics, Economics, History, Environmental Science, Chemistry, Biology, Soil Science and many other subjects in which they can be confident the body of knowledge acquired by the students will be useful for a lifetime.”
    My thoughts exactly. Despite what Dr. Brathwaite has said, these core subjects are among the things that prepare a person for life in the “school of hard knocks.” I recently congratulated a long lady that I mentored from the time she left primary school, throughout her secondary school, and through her time at University. She just graduated with Honours, and breathed a sigh of relief that her “school was at last finished”. I had to advise her, that that was only preparation for the school that would last for the balance of her life:”the school of life”. Our jobs, as parents, are to further guide them in the application of what they would have learned at secondary school and University, in the world of living.
    Among these are; patience, discipline, anger management, virtue, respect, consideration of and for others, attention to detail, and attention to “the petty things” as Well Well regards them.

30. @ Peter Thompson

Your model for education is too narrow, shallow, lacks spiritual content, empty.

Anybody could be a technician, that is not at the centre of what we need.

DuBois, for example, struggled with four lifelong issues and that is where we should have been.

None of your suggestions promotes courage, wisdom, honesty, integrity, decency, virtue for examples.

Technicians are a dime a dozen and haven’t changed anything. Cannot do anything but serve the establish system

So let us deal with more fundamental issues for our children.

1) How does integrity faces oppression?
    2) What does honesty do in the face of deception?
    3) What does decency do in the face of insult?
    4) How does virtue meet brute force?

31. Vincent Haynes:
    “There is no such thing as an honorable entrepreneur…..they simply would not exist.”
    Bill Gates?

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent Haynes Re “… entrepreneurship in its truest sense has been around since the days of bartering…”

You are right about this, but it doesn’t have to devolve into “by whatever means,” that is simply thievery. Bartering is based on neighbourly behaviour, because if exchange is not entered into freely, it is not bartering.

33. Alvin

Do some research on how his early competitors/partners were dealt with and let me know what you think.

34. peterlawrencethompson September 28, 2016 at 10:07 AM #

Sad to say that what you refer to as thievery also existed in the days of bartering,history is replete with examples of putting sand/dust in bag of wheat or the one with bags of corn being likewise adulterated.
    Humans have a built in programme towards thievery which in some may lie dormant.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea
    I’m a serial entrepreneur, my ex-wife says that with the same intonation as serial killer 😉 By my last count I have founded or been an equity partner in 7 businesses over the past 42 years, ranging from furniture making to Internet service provision. None of them went bankrupt, but all but one provided meagre returns beyond a salary. The one that was more successful allows me to spend my life now as a volunteer teaching entrepreneurship on a USAID funded project.

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Pachamama Re “Your model for education is too narrow, shallow, lacks spiritual content”

So add to it; I did not think it was an exhaustive list, just a start.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin..can it…if ya had any goddamn intelligence and did not think at the level of Chad and Trump you would know that any intelligent person..despite typos…would know what the person is trying to articulate…..it’s called translation.

Ya can with some foresight, anticipate what the person is trying to articule.

Which proves that foresight escapes political pimps and yardfowls…

…..what grammar what…because of the condensed dialect spoken, most kids cannot write standadrd english, and even if they do, cannot translate, understand or think in standad english….

….,,you are a good example.ya proficient in grammar…writing skills…but your critical thinking english skills is crap.

Yall spend all ya time counting errors and typos and miss the whole point.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…..only know business people who are crooks and thieves in Barbados….small island ….he has never been exposed to the huge wide world of honest entrepreneurs.

I just spoke with one businessman in Canada who is as honest as they come…he is one of many that I know personally…very wealthy, very succesful.

Crooked entrepreneurs are born with it in their DNA.

39. @ Peter Thompson

Yours makes the world …………… more of the same.

We did add ……………………. surpassed, but you can’t see.

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Pachamama

You added… objectives, not solutions. How will you teach integrity to face oppression? etc.

41. @PLT

The cultural emphasis on obedience and conformity which is prevalent in the education system is not only at the heart of the poor elearning performance, it is also a prime cause of the disciplinary problems that it is so ineffective at correcting. The master/slave discourse is effective only at provoking either rebellion or shirking.

You appear to be confusing an education system that is trying to inculcate values like respect, integrity etc not to be confused with conformity.

42. @ PLT
    Seriously Boss …. you mean you have not even initiated a few multimillion dollar operations that employ a number of persons in productive self-developmental jobs …and that satisfy important social needs?
    You know of course that even Carl Moore have started numerous shiite schemes too – like ferreting out nom de plumes; quieting the society and attacking GP ….most of which came to nought ..much like your ‘entrepreneurial’ experiences.

Do you REALLY feel qualified to teach this to anyone?
    …well at least blind people will not be expecting much.

On education, the FACTS are, that some of the MOST CRITICAL LEARNINGS that are possible from a good education system – involve VALUES – such as respect, loyalty, honesty, COMMUNITY MINDEDNESS (which is what the Springer Teacher was emphasising). Your perspective is completely skewed and downright idiotic…. sorry to say…
    The subjects that you seek to emphasis are not priorities for the formal education system because these are LIFELONG LEARNINGS, …and in fact these become outdated in very short order….especially with advancing technologies.

You need to ask questions and listen more…

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The issue at Springer Memorial illustrates that the educational system indulges those in authority with arbitrary exercises of raw power, like picking up a wrapper because “I say so.” That is neither integrity nor respect; it’s simply the ego of the school administrator.

44. Well Well’:
    See how shallow and one dimensional you are? You say: “…what grammar what…because of the condensed dialect spoken, most kids cannot write standadrd english, and even if they do, cannot translate, understand or think in standad english…”
    First of all despite what you may say, the young people have to be taught and must realize that they live in a world; and a real world, that DEMANDS a standard above mediocrity. They have to be brought to this understanding that correct grammar etc has to be to the standard required. However if all they know is dialect, then apply their knowledge and write a PROGRAMME IN DIALECT. LEARN HOW TO TRANSLATE THE DIALECT TO COMPUTER LANGUAGE AND WRITE A PROGRAMME FOR THOSE WHO NEED, or insist on the USE of DIALECT. THIS IS CRITICAL THINKING. BUT THEY HAVE TO BE TAUGHT THAT FROM PRIMARY SCHOOL. PEOPLE LIKE ME WHO USE CORRECT LANGUAGE, WERE ALSO SURROUNDED BY DIALECT BUT WE ALSO HAD TEACHERS WHO LET US UNDERSTANDING THAT STANDARD, AND CORRECT ENGLISH USAGE WAS THE ACCEPTABLE standard. We learned English language throughout our education and there was no excuse for incorrect usage. It is disingenuous of you to give the impression that mediocrity is more acceptable, and pass on that impression to the young people.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea

Of course I’m qualified to teach entrepreneurship; both by schooling and experience.

If the Springer Memorial Principal was trying to teach community mindedness she would have led by example and picked up the wrapper herself. So either she is incompetent at a teacher, or she was trying to teach something else i.e “I am more important and powerful than you are and you must obey me.”

Of course I agree that a good education cultivates values: respect, loyalty, honesty and community mindedness. What kind of education system does this? The current one fails miserably.

46. By the way Well Well,
    Donald Trump is a crook, a liar, a bigot, and a racist. How dare you put me in a category with him? I have never had to declare bankruptcy. He has been six times, and used that as a loophole to rob and disadvantage many many small businessmen whom he refused to pay for goods and services. As I said, You are one dimensional.

GIRL YOU MAD?!!!

47. BUSHIE;
    I AGREE WITH YOU;…”VALUES – such as respect, loyalty, honesty, COMMUNITY MINDEDNESS (which is what the Springer Teacher was emphasizing”)More people ned to study attitudes more.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“However if all they know is dialect, then apply their knowledge and write a PROGRAMME IN DIALECT. LEARN HOW TO TRANSLATE THE DIALECT TO COMPUTER LANGUAGE AND WRITE A PROGRAMME FOR THOSE WHO NEED, or insist on the USE of DIALECT. THIS IS CRITICAL THINKING. BUT THEY HAVE TO BE TAUGHT THAT FROM PRIMARY SCHOOL. PEOPLE LIKE ME WHO USE CORRECT LANGUAGE, WERE ALSO SURROUNDED BY DIALECT BUT WE ALSO HAD TEACHERS WHO LET US UNDERSTANDING THAT STANDARD, AND CORRECT ENGLISH USAGE WAS THE ACCEPTABLE standard.”

Alvin…how is it you never suggested this to any of the ministers of education over the last 50 YEARS, now I bring it up, you got advice. Have you told this to Ronald Jones in the last 8 years, if he was there that long.

When my children spent any time in Barbados…at a young age….I banned any use of dialect in the house, any use of American Ebonics….there is nothing wrong with speaking it, but it is a language all its own and is really not very useful in a world ruled by standard english.

I tend to think in any language i speak, translation and comprehension skills from dialect to standard english tend to be poor….unless you are super proficient and articulate in both.

Trust you to treat the symptoms without understanding the root cause…..and then want to blame me…proving that ya critical thinkings skills are for shit.

vous devriez avoir appris une deuxième ou une troisième langue et étant donné vous-même un avantage dans la pensée critique

49. PLT

Your ‘nakedness’ is showing.

Your petticoat was previously exposed but now, lord!