Submitted by the Secretariat of the PEOPLESย  EMPOWERMENTย  PARTY
David Comissiong
David Comissiong, President of the Peoples Empowerment Party

The issue of race is ever present in Barbados, and surely underlies the amazingย  public furor that has arisen over the recent crowning of a white Miss Barbados beauty queen.

And so, we now take the opportunity to revisit the issue of racism in Barbados, and to share with the public a number of pertinent questions that Mr David Comissiong, President of the Peoples Empowerment Party, posed to the government appointed โ€˜Committee On National Reconciliationโ€™ way back in the year 1999.

These questions – as relevant today as they were seventeen years ago – are as follows:-

1. To what extent does the false notion of Black or African inferiority still infect Black, White,ย  and Asiatic Barbadians? If this is the case, how do we correct this state of affairs?
  2. Are there Churches, religious practices and theologies in Barbados which foster and / or perpetuate the false and discredited notions of Black inferiority, subordination and dependence on non-Blacks?
  3. To what extent is the distribution of land in Barbados racially skewed and inequitable? If this is so, are specific governmental corrective measures required? Is there a need for “Alien Landholdings legislation”?
  4. Is the education system doing an adequate job of imparting to our students information about the history and achievements of the various racial and ethnic groups which make up our population? Is the news media of Barbados doing an adequate job of providing the majority Black population with news and information about Africa and peoples of African descent?
  5. To what extent are there racially segregationist regulations and/or practices in place in the clubs, beaches, hotels and social institutions of Barbados? Are governmental corrective measures required?
  6. To what extent do businesses in Barbados indulge in racial discrimination in their employment and procurement policies and practices? To what extent is there evidence of race-based business monopolies and unfair race-based business practices designed to eliminate competition?
  7. What is the precise state of the distribution of wealth in Barbados across race and class lines? Is there a need for new re-distributive policies?
  8. To what extent is there evidence that the lending policies and practices of banks and other financial institutions are based on racial considerations? Is there a need for governmental intervention?
  9. To what extent do the major secular institutions of Barbados – the law courts, police force, office of the Governor General, etc – still retain elements of an institutional culture that is alienating to Black and/or working class Barbadians?
  10. To what extent are the foreign films, videos and music coming into Barbados propagating racially demeaning notions and sensibilities?
  11. To what extent is the racist historical tradition of the stigmatization and criminalization of the business activities of small black business-persons still in evidence?
  12. To what extent do we have a sense of consciousness of the great moral wrong of slavery, and of the inhuman cruelties and disabilities that were inflicted upon Black people? Are we prepared to support a campaign for Reparations?
  13. Is there the need for a conscious effort to rectify the imbalance deliberately built into our national culture by investigating, re-evaluating and re-appropriating aspects of African culture?

If the current storm-in-a-teacup motivates us to address our minds to these vexed yet very relevant questions, then something positive would have been achieved!

270 responses to “The Real Race Issues in Barbados”

1. Pretty young lady wins Miss Barbados and out comes the race card!

Welcome to everyday life in Barbados!

2. The real issue in Commisiongโ€™s article is the problem of racism in Barbados, not Cuba. Rather than focusing on the subject of his contribution and comment appropriately/accordingly, some jackasses always demonstrate their ignorance and stupidity by preferring to attack the messenger. Why? Not only because they are of the opinion Commisiong is โ€œanti DLP,โ€ but it is politically expedient for them to do so, believing they are scoring political points for this inept DLP administration.

The last I checked Commisiong was a Barbadian citizen and not Cuban. As such, how can he influence change in a country where he cannot influence policy changes? Some contributors to BU support Hilary Clintonโ€™s policies, while others support Donald Trumpโ€™s. Does that mean they will travel to the USA to campaign and vote for Clinton or Trump?

Racism is still rampant in the United Kingdom, yet Barbados continues to follow a parliamentary system of government modeled after the one that was developed in the UK (Westminster System), and have the Queen as the head of state. Can they identify any Barbadian or member of parliament that has travelled to England, Wales or Scotland to advocate change in the UK relative to racism?

Yet these same jackasses would remain silent and ignore these issues each time they travel to the UK.

Partisan politics and politicizing every issue, causes particular โ€œadultsโ€ to continually display signs of immaturity in this forum…….. every day. It comes a time when people should reach a stage of maturity when they can identify itโ€™s time to grow up and when โ€œenough is enough.โ€

3. @bookwork

What the discussion so far has exposed is the need for there to be national debate about race. It will not disappear by doing nothing.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Again..,..for the simple minded, educated illiterates and your day dreaming, fantasy absorbed dummies….

There is a MINORITY of racially diverse/multi-racial, multi-cultural people numbering less than 8,000 people living on the island.

There is a MAJORITY definitively black population with visibly African descent, numbering over 260,000 people living on the island….making the island a MAJORITY BLACK NATION.

That is your reality..now deal with it.

5. Nobody who has not been, currently, working in the vineyards for the liberation of the Alkebulani can have anything to say to those who have been so doing.

Yes, Commissiong is not perfect but he has an active resume of such work. It is a record of activism against systemic racism in Barbados as documented by the UN.

So while the rest of so-called educated Bajans seek fortunes serving capitalism, corporations, Commissiong has deliberately sought this relatively lonely path.

We are minded that his conscious will not allow him to do anything less.

Instead of constantly criticizing him for possible pass actions it is time that we join him in facing our open oppressors – the owners, controllers of the racist system.

That racism is manifested in the ownership structure of the country. And we are aware that defenders of institutional racism in Barbados like stinking Bizzy Williams and his brother, Cow, will consistently present a rejoinder which pretends this state of affairs is not real. Even although we have a UN report agreeing with us. A report the supine regime in Bridgetown has taken no action on in 15 years.

The guardians of racism are the same people who so own the Parliament of Barbados that insurance policies, backed by the masses, could be taken out to protect private profits for 20 years into the future.

More importantly, all of these people’s wealth came from governmental action, corporate welfare, corruption of politicians and senior government officials.

Support Commissiong or announce yourselves as lackeys of racism.

6. @David

I take your point but surely in the 150 years since slavery ended and 50 years of independence here in Bim,this has been discussed to death?
    And the outcome is that those black citizens that were anti white then are still anti white now.
    Black Bajans really need to wake up and judge a person on their deeds and character rather than on their skin colour. What do you think would be the outcome if some of the black on white comments on here had been reversed? Cheese on bread! The screams of racism would be heard on the moon!
    There are those in Bim that have made names for themselves pontificating on slavery and racism and vilifying the colonial power but at the same time grovelling to accept the “honours” doled out by the power.
    They have found a willing audience in the victim culture so prevelant among the darker skinned among us.They are the true racists here.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bookworm…I believe there is much more to it than that, but those with illusions of power on the island are such hypocrites, liars and use any means necessary to cover up their slimy actions..that it always results in controversy and having to protest too much….In the newspapers every five minutes.

It would do them well to shut up, stop trying to explain away everything..cause the judges will not care about their issues on the island as long as it does not affect their franchise…..and see if the girl can cut it internationally..come January.

There was more than one white female sent before, they even sent a white Canadian and they did not cut it, could not reach the top 5…same applied to black females who were sent.
    If shedoes not make it into the top 10 or 20, they may want to rethink how the selection process is determined and base it on advanced education, talents, skills, specialties…like intelligent people do.

If there were any dishonest or unfair practices back then during the selection process of the local show……it will all come out in the wash.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Come hell or highwater……black bajans have to break out of being forced to live in1600s, 1800s and 1950s reality….the era has passed.

9. @bookworm

Your logical response is fine BUT what matters is the current state of race relations in Barbados. A sniff test of where we are can be done by rereading the questions posed by DC.

10. Sorry folks but racism is not a state of mind built on a observation to highlight one state or countries plight but a collection of all the wrongs and condemnation of those who have practiced or been associated with racist practices. In as much as DC has step out on the battle field for several years to speak against the evils of racism his failure to speak against those regimes that does lityle or nothing against policies that tramples on the rights of citizens should be of concern to everyone.
    The messenger cannot be given a right of passage because he delivers a message that is appealing or appetizing to those of any political divide but the message
    should have a cascading affect that speaks to a commitment for all peoples of the world having an advantage of a truth based on moral persuasion
    For those who do not like the fact that i questioned DC political team on their silence to Cuba indifference towards racism if blacks in Cuba proves that their genesis of what is right or wrong is rooted in an interest of selfishness.
    Any right thinking person would want to know why would DC see failures within a democracy but never condemns such failures that breed hate and inequality in regimes like Cuba
    Not here to deplete the mesage but to emphaize that a measuring stick on morality cannot be shortened as a guide to distinguish some failures for some while there are those with similar weakness given a pass

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…you jackasses…over 260,000 black bajans DO NOT live in Cuba…deal with the realities in Barbados….Cubans can handle themselves…everything, even racist practices have to evolve…deal with the crap on the island that is stagnating progress for the majority and are being perpetrated with the help black government ministers and politicians.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

……deal with the crap on the island that is stagnating progress for the majority and are being perpetrated with the help of black government ministers and politicians.

13. @ bookworm
    Black Bajans really need to wake up and judge a person on their deeds and character rather than on their skin colour
    You had better pray that this never happens….
    If Bajans were to ever do such, there would be major revolutionary chaos in the place…

Fortunately for you and some others, Bajans are not very proud of themselves ..and we continue to judge everything from the perspective of mental slaves. This is why that girl won, and why she would win again next week…and next year.
    It is why completely average (at best) persons like COW, Bizzy and Maloney will continue to ‘win’…. while clearly brilliant talents like Caswell and Jeff will continue to bury their candles under a little shiite bush named Unity….or wasting time with fear trading….

Judging by ‘deeds and character’ is about having a MERITOCRACY…… where rewards go to excellence and productivity – rather than to kith and kin ….and to lackies and yardfowls.

……That shiite would overwhelm Barbados.

14. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences September 23, 2016 at 8:42 AM
    โ€œ.. deal with the crap on the island that is stagnating progress for the majority and are being perpetrated with the help of black government ministers and politicians.โ€

Voilร ! You have hit the proverbial nail on its figurative head.

Blacks in Bim have only themselves to blame for their own social economic state today.
    You can somewhat understand the plight of the African-Americans since they are indeed a declining minority and hardly ever sway political power in racist America.

But in Barbados the situation is in the reverse. Blacks make up the significant majority and โ€˜pretendโ€™ to have political power in the form of the two so-called labour parties, the B&DLP.

Even if the white people in Barbados were to die out next year due to some skin pestilence caused by an extra burst of solar radiation, black people will still not take control of the economic destinies.

It will be left to the other ethnic minorities to fill that breach left by the whites. The East Indian, Middle Easterner and Chinese are already taking over economic control and employing blacks as their servants and modern-day slaves.

Where else do you see such a state of affairs where the immigrant minorities take control over the native majority except in the case of black majority countries just like Barbados?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

After the social structure has become so damaged by the centurie sold practice of racism in Barbados…judging blacks by skin color, and deeds . …the jackasses actually have the nerve to call for the practice of NOT judging each other by deeds and character when those two alien words are NEVER practiced by the minorities who STILL practice racism against blacks on the island.

Are these idiots for real….ya cant make this stuff up.

It’s the responsibility of the black community to break down those barriers and evils still existing and still practiced by minorities on the island…….

…….ignore the bullshit politicians, government ministers and anything they say…they are slaves and lackeys of this minority group of wannabe slave masters.

Bookworm………it looks like you are one of the many frauds on the island….living outside of reality, but dont worry, reality will sink in……soon.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…the behaviors of blacks who are the majority population on small islands would make for some genius dissertations.

17. Do not need for you or anyone to tell me in which or what manner i should direct my views on the subject of racism just because i questions the integrity of the messenger apparent chastizment of racial barriers or inequality in barbados while neglecting the same judgement placed on communist dictatorships.
    If Dc wants to be captain of the ship he and his political team should be openly fair when in their pronunciations to avoid the tainted sway of predjudice

18. It is an attempt in futility for black Barbadians to continue discussing racism, unless we first confront and solve issues relative to segregation, which we have developed among ourselves (probably as a result of slavery).

Black Barbadians practice an โ€œunofficial policyโ€ of racial segregation when they seek to separate themselves into groups according to skin complexion (placing lighter skinned people to the top and darker skinned people at the bottom), quality of hair, thickness of lips or nose size.

We use pejorative terms such as โ€œblackie,โ€ โ€œdark man/woman,โ€ โ€œgolly wogโ€ or โ€œblack and scruffyโ€ to describe another individual because he/she may be of a darker complexion. Or when they describe themselves as being โ€œbrowned skinnedโ€ to emphasize some sort superiority over someone of a darker complexion.

Segregation also comes to the fore when we elevate people to โ€œhigh statusโ€ because they went to school at HC, QC, St. Michaelโ€™s or Combermere. A higher level of respect is extended to a UWI graduate who went to school at Lodge than the graduate who went to Ellerslie, despite both individuals may have pursued similar degrees and attaining similar grades.

We also segregate people based on stupid categorizations such as their jobs, type of car, house (wood or wall), where and with whom they may associate.

This reminds me of the house slave and field slave mentalities, which, unfortunately, is still a present reality.

Despite complexion, job, car, house, education or money we are all black people. I have seen dead black people in $100,000 caskets, while other are reposed in $2,500 coffins. But they are both buried in $500 graves.

Let us, as black people, get our house in order first.

19. @ Artax,

what you have written is true. Bajans have practiced racism, shadism and classicism since I was a boy in the 50s.

I am a red fella who has lived and experienced these “ism” in Barbados. Being light skinned in Barbados in the 50s to 80s was an “advantage”.

Race relations is a complex issue in Barbados.

One solution would be to level the playing field by redistributing the “land and the “wealth” “equally” but you know that is not possible because none a wunna ent ketchin bus an plantin kitchen garden.

20. Some contributors are always critical of the white rich people, such as Bizzy, โ€œCOW,โ€ Maloney or Seale, especially when the same opportunities exists for โ€œthemโ€ and โ€œusโ€ to be successful.

But who should we blame for their success? Black people do not support their own.

If George Black decides to import โ€œSoft Rockโ€ cement to retail, his fellow black Barbadians will buy Arawak โ€œbecause dem did โ€˜bout hay evuh since and dem know โ€˜bout cement.โ€ Or they will buy โ€œHard Rockโ€ from Billy White because George may become rich too quick and many are of the opinion white people should be entrepreneurs, while black people should remain as sales clerks.

Black politicians will categorize Billy White as a โ€œbig business manโ€ and find ways to implement policies to make the environment conducive for him to operate, ensuring he gets all the โ€œcement work,โ€ while relegating Black to โ€œsmall contractorโ€ status, giving him โ€œcement work now and then.โ€

Ironically, white and black people support white peopleโ€™s businessesโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ white and black people support black peopleโ€™s businesses only when the need arises.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Honourable Blogmaster and a few others

The cliche definition of madness is repeating the same failed strategy over and over yet expecting different results ”

Just a few weeks? ago I proved that I am mad since, in relating that story about the Campaign 360 fiasco with the French company I did the same “madness ” again.

That is my “wart” and should you or anyone else tell me so, as many of my closest friends often do, I would agree with yo BUT herein comes the clincher.

When I ask any of them to tell me the formula for doing the right type of engagement strategy or to give me a working modus operandum for implementation, not one can tell me a series of steps that I have not used, that have not failed.

David Comissiong won the battle against the Office of the Attorney General and its illegal proposal to fingerprint citizens.

Who benefits from that David? Who benefits from the US implementing border crossing between Barbados and the United States?

Yet, in the very face of what should be an obvious choice and bias, I congratulate him and verbally prosecuted the issue BECAUSE HE WAS RIGHT!

This “wart” that I remark on, albeit vociferously, relates to this verbal chant over all these years and my sad observation that it seems fruitless mind you, that is coming from a man with THE SAME AFFLICTION, speaking to another man, caught in the same stasis, notwithstanding that my arena of operations and his are different.

I too lament that we as a people are seemingly milling around on the shores of self realization oblivious to the journey that we have to take yet touting this statistical chant that we are 95% of the population

Let me be blunt

The Department of Political Science, History & Global Studies – University of the District of Columbia promotes scholarly research and critical analysis of issues related to the challenges of race relations.

Even though UDC is one of our people’s leading research centers globally yet such has yet to translate into anything all these years in the United States of America David and my commentary which is so clearly directed at David is purely my frustration with the repetition of that pattern, exacerbated in our country which is so much smaller, significantly less populous and peopled by a majority of us niggers.

If there is a focus on the wart here, it is not at David per se cause he seems alone to present the problem for our repetitive ruminations

Which brings me back to the point I presented yesterday

we can’t keep doing the same thing over and over again he David, and we Bajans, need to make some serious recalibrations for our vessel like an “upping of our game” cause, if we stay on this course my brother, WE WILL CRASH AND FLOUNDER LIKE THE TITANIC DID.

And it is of note that Whites recall the sinking of all their vessels, with reverence, why they even made a bestseller with Leonardo di Caprio yet tell de ole man de name of one black vessel that similarly sunk that is so enshrined in our history?

I hazard this proposition Honourable Blogmaster even if we likened the black race to such a ship, if the Rwandan experience of self genocide were to be achieved by the HIV AIDS warfare that continues, they would not be a footnote in their books to remember us by.

And that is why I goad David so, lest he be lukewarm and, pot these representations, sputter out and fade.

22. @Bush Tea

What was your man DJ trying to say in his interaction with your man anti America this morning?

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Segregation also comes to the fore when we elevate people to โ€œhigh statusโ€ because they went to school at HC, QC, St. Michaelโ€™s or Combermere. A higher level of respect is extended to a UWI graduate who went to school at Lodge than the graduate who went to Ellerslie, despite both individuals may have pursued similar degrees and attaining similar grades.”

“This reminds me of the house slave and field slave mentalities, which, unfortunately, is still a present reality.”

That’s the downfall of the majority blacks on the island, learned from their evil slave masters….it’s learned behavior.

Dont forget to mention that these are ALL high schools and are not even schools for the exceptionally gifted…many feel that going to kindergarten at St. Angela’s, St. Gabriel’s or St. Winifred’s from age 3 to 11 automatically puts them at the level of geniuses….lol

“But who should we blame for their success? Black people do not support their own.”

And that’s why ALL blacks on the island starting with the leaders have to shoulder this blame….while putting the minority parasites in their places, let them know the gig is up, their parasitic ways, practices and nature are coming to an end…let them know that everything, land, wealth, businesses must be distributed evenly to EVERYONE on the island…the weak leaders have to manup and womanup.

“Black politicians will categorize Billy White as a โ€œbig business manโ€ and find ways to implement policies to make the environment conducive for him to operate, ensuring he gets all the โ€œcement work,โ€ while relegating Black to โ€œsmall contractorโ€ status, giving him โ€œcement work now and then.โ€

That evil practice by ministers has totally dessiminated black businesses on the island.

They got a lot of work to do to restore self confidence in themselves…to support their own..that is a 10 year job….if done correctly.

ACs…I love to highlight the opportunities you give me to show how stupid yall are…blame yaself..

24. @ David
    Bush Tea…What was your man DJ trying to say in his interaction with your man anti America this morning?
    Ya mean apart from agreeing that the lawyer-woman is a jackass….?
    Imagine countering an argument with the line that ‘you have said that already, so find something else to say …even though the issues remain the same…’

Some shiite is wrong with ALL these so-called lawyers in Barbados….and Jeff should be asked to account for it….

Yuh must admit though that DJ got class. He is able to cuss even more viciously that Bushie, and yet to do it on radio, …with a smile, …and with some sweet-ass words….

25. Can some of you post answers to the 13 questions posted by David Comissiong ?

BU maguffees please step up.

Actually Bushie can answer all of them ( “he knows everything”. lol lol )

26. “Thatโ€™s the downfall of the majority blacks on the island, learned from their evil slave mastersโ€ฆ.itโ€™s learned behavior.”

Show us just one “black” alive today who had “evil slave masters”who taught that behavior.

How long will this victim culture persist? Wunna LIKE being victims.it gives wunna a purpose in life and excuses failure. After all, the only thing holding wunna back from a huge success in life is that great great grandaddy was a slave 150 years ago!!

Let go of the past. Honour the ancestors but stop using THEIR suffering as a catch all excuse for failure and non achievement.
    Get off our arses and stop accepting all that is wrong with Barbados.
    Stop accepting lack of water in 2016.
    Stop accepting garbage strewn environment.
    Stop accepting corruption and bribery.
    Stop accepting the bandit behavior of the ZR crews.
    Stop accepting the criminal state of the roads.
    Stop accepting the lies of the politicians
    Stop accepting who you know not what you know
    Stop accepting the rubbish customer service in stores and offices.
    Stop accepting 3rd rate politicians as ministers.

You cannot change anything while you accept it
    And finally
    Stop calling Maloney and the Williams white, they would never pass at a KKK meeting!

I leaving the room now.

27. Artax wrote…..’despite complexion,job,car,house,education or money,we are all black people.I have seen dead black people on $100,000 caskets,while others are reposed in $2500 coffins.But they are both buried in $500 graves”
    I have no knowledge of a $100,000 casket but I marvel at the foolish lot of show that grieving families are either encouraged or enticed in the interest of ‘giving her/him a good send off’ which of course the-only-too-willing undertaker is happy to supply.This copying of the American type of funeral with its attendant show off with the biggest casket is such folly when one considers that the container which Bajans used to call a box,is immediately placed in a hole to satisfy the Health laws and covered in soil and marl.The reality is that it’s human remains that is being buried and not the individual you think it is.Its a corpse and should not be touched other than by the mortician.The press notices,some of which contains so many names, pictures,flowers,service sheets,hymn singing,procession are all totally unnecessary and a wasted expense.A simple press notice for the archives should suffice as my opinion is that a funeral is a private family affair.Companies closing for an employees funeral is so unnecessary.It’s evident that some are not aware that the skeletal remains end up all together in a special hole in the burial ground.Save your pennies for your children or grandchildren.Dont waste it in funeral expenses.There is only one winner in that business.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“bookworm September 23, 2016 at 1:01 PM #
    โ€œThatโ€™s the downfall of the majority blacks on the island, learned from their evil slave mastersโ€ฆ.itโ€™s learned behavior.โ€

Show us just one โ€œblackโ€ alive today who had โ€œevil slave mastersโ€who taught that behavior.”

Ya forgot two Bookworm…good job by the way.

Stop accepting mediocre shit like Cow, Bizzy, Maloney, Bjerkham, Tempro etc who think they are white, practicing racism, classism and theft of lands etc.

Stop accepting foreign whites and other minorities practicing racism, classism and discrimination on the majority.,

Would you like to know where they got the practices from….it’s also learned behavior.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87270/glover

Good job Commissiong, if ya going to expose the island to people, make sure it’s intelligent people with positive and not negative self-serving motives…make sure it’s someone with a track record that can be admired and looked up to….intelligent international ambassadors.

30. Well Well & Consequences September 23, 2016 at 7:53 AM #
    “Again..,..for the simple minded, educated illiterates and your day dreaming, fantasy absorbed dummiesโ€ฆ.”

“There is a MINORITY of racially diverse/multi-racial, multi-cultural people numbering less than 8,000 people living on the island.”

Can you please identify these “…MINORITY of racially diverse/multi-racial, multicultural people numbering less than 8,000 people living on the Island.” and explain how/why they succeed living/working among 260,000 Blacks!?

31. @Miller

What I found interesting in the UK recently were the terms racism/racist attack being used by the media when some individuals of poor melanin content killed individuals of poor melanin content,I am refering to the killings of the Polish immigrants by the local louts.

Here in Bim we have a country full of Pelaus,that some people refer to as mixed race but as both Artax and Hants highlighted ones melanin content is still the citeria used to define you as opposed to ones worth as Bookwork so rightly suggested.

We here are just like the louts and the Polish immigrants………one mixed race telling another mixed race to apologise………our country is in potter but we are finding time to talk about melanin……..the sheeple deserve what they get.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Maaz A Love
    Maaz A Love
    September 23, 2016 at 1:30 pm
    Thanks u for admitting the truth as u see it โ€ฆLetโ€™s stop racism! If more people like u speak out โ€ฆit could be a step forward . Racism can be unlearned since no one was born a racist”

This is a commenter from barbadostoday mirroring what I said, racism and all of the behaviors of fake superiority behaviors that causes the feeling of inferiority are LEARNED BEHAVIORS.

Neither black, white nor indian babies are born with these destructive traits, they are picked up and learned along the way…

I remember spending a couple years in Barbados when my daughter was 3 years old…, she was enrolled at St. Angela’s…one day my daughter came home and said her teacher Ms. Goddard, a bajan white, told the class that everything black is bad.

I have always had an excelleht rapport wuth my daughter from the womb…, so I told her, when you go to school tomorrow, tell Ms. Goddard, that you asked Mom…and she said that everything white…..is also bad.

I wanted the reaction, but she knew not to awaken the beast in me.

Goddards class was filled with indians, blacks, whites, both local and foreign….and mixed breeds….St. Angela’s is now a majority black school…these were 3 and 4 year olds, impressionable minds…and that animal Goddard believed she should damage babies psychologically, by teaching them race hatred.

Black teachers do not do that.

I returned to the US shortly after, when I returned to Barbados, they had gotten rid of that spotted cow Goddard, for continuing to teach babies racism…….

so Bookworm, dont test me.., cause I ain’t even got started on Annie Binks yet, who started her racist shit at St. Angela’s, where they had to get rid of her…..and who carried racism in it’s most potent and condensed form to St. Winifreds.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Here in Bim we have a country full of Pelaus,that some people refer to as mixed race but as both Artax and Hants highlighted ones melanin content is still the citeria used to define you as opposed to ones worth as Bookwork so rightly suggested.”

This is where the bullshit mix up keeps happening…..you do not have a country filled with mix breeds…that is just not true.

Mixed breeds make up even less of the population than ya average local white….if ya stand all the mixed breeds in one corner of Barbados…they do not number 5 thousand.

As a mixed breed…I am smart enough not to think that when in Barbados, there are 200,000 people like me, or that I am a majority. ..why, cause it’s just not true.

I live in the real world. ., people of African descent make up the majority…it’s visible, live with it.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

….”and explain how/why they succeed living/working among 260,000 Blacks!?”

They succeed very well Zoe…cause the majority dont seem to be intelligent enough to challenge them and let them know that it is time to work beside them….as opposed to for them and beneath them…again ya have weak leaders, when ya have weak leaders….anything negative is possible.

The slave and slave master days, though still very attractive to the most greedy in the society…has come to end.

Let those with the slave master wannabe mentalities. ..go peacefully into the night.

35. @ Well well
    You missing the whole point!
    Those teachers paid the penalty for their actions, they have no power today so why keep harping on? Move on or they will have succeeded.

Whats with the “testing you” ?

36. @Well well

Mixed breeds make up even less of the population than ya average local whiteโ€ฆ.if ya stand all the mixed breeds in one corner of Barbadosโ€ฆthey do not number 5 thousand.

I find the term mixed breed just a bit pejorative but would be very surprised if there were many Bajan born who did not have both white and black ancestors. Certainly many more than the 5000 figure that you plucked out of the air..

37. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ bookworm September 23, 2016 at 1:01 PM
    โ€œStop calling Maloney and the Williams white, they would never pass at a KKK meeting!โ€

Not only at a KKK meeting but also get pass the Australian Immigration without rigorous examination as to the authenticity of their racial categorization.

It can be easily argued, and possibly proved genetically, that around 95% of so-called white Bajans carry a long trace of a daubing with the tar brush.

Thank god for the technique of DNA testing, the modern miracle of science. Not only can it tell who really is white or black or in-between but it can also save many a man from wearing for a financial lifetime a ready-made jacket tailored by a scheming woman good enough to outsmart Eve.

Both the Maloney and Williams clan are indeed inheritors of the genetic markers of that black and white paint job called โ€œColour Blind Foopingโ€; making them perfect candidates for the enviable positions of coachman, bookie or field supervisor on the plantations of yore.

I think these guys- having been made aware of their ancestral daubing- should be content to see themselves as quadroons or octoroons (with special privileges among blacks) in a more enlighteningly ‘colourful’ Barbados.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bookworm…that is simply not true…there are even less multi-racial people than bajan whites.., the large numbers are only in yall heads….

…….yall need to stop pretendiing that over 200,000 people with strong AFRICAN features…DO NOT EXIST on the island unless yall want them to work for you to help enrich you…or clean ya stinking yards and houses.

39. Question 1.

To what extent does the false notion of Black or African inferiority still infect Black, White,  and Asiatic Barbadians? If this is the case, how do we correct this state of affairs?

Inferiority is still in play. We see it in Blacks gravitating to where Whites hangout whether liming spots, schools, shooting clubs etc. We saw t recently how the country responded to the disappearance of the Harris woman. Several more examples abound.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“bookworm September 23, 2016 at 3:44 PM #
    @ Well well
    You missing the whole point!
    Those teachers paid the penalty for their actions, they have no power today so why keep harping on? Move on or they will have succeeded.”

…what teachers paid what penalty what…do you think all the parents at St. Angela’s had my mentality to put Goddard in her place…take a guess at how many young minds she destroyed with her evil teaching of racis, she soent years at school, that’s hiw long it took to get rid of her…

……my daughter went on to school in NY..at schools where diversity is understood….at SCHOOLS where diversity is understood.

As for Annie Binks….she spent years as principal at St. Winifred’s, she retired there…those are only 2 of the teachers spreading their venom and racism in the island’s school that I personally knew about……there would be many taught by those 2 walking around as adults with their heads filled with shit……so where is the point I missed…other racist teachers I only heard about.

I think you missed the whole point yaself.

41. @Well well

Regardless of features, regardless of body shape, regardless of hair texture, I contend unless you can offer irrefutable proof, that the majority of Bajan born of all shades have both black and white ancestors. Something that they should be proud,not ashamed,of.

42. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ bookworm September 23, 2016 at 3:50 PM
    โ€œMixed breeds make up even less of the population than ya average local whiteโ€ฆ.if ya stand all the mixed breeds in one corner of Barbadosโ€ฆthey do not number 5 thousand.
    I find the term mixed breed just a bit pejorative but would be very surprised if there were many Bajan born who did not have both white and black ancestors. Certainly many more than the 5000 figure that you plucked out of the air..โ€

We could be a bit less โ€œpejorative and employ the more politically acceptable term of โ€˜mixedโ€™ or of โ€˜dual ancestry or genetic heritageโ€™. I am sure WW&C will find that acceptable and more up her lineage of racial origin.

But what you cannot dispute is the reality that over 70 % of so-called black Bajan (and by extension Caribbean) males carry around 25 % of โ€˜European bloodโ€™ in their genetic veins.
    This genetic fact of forced miscegenation arose out of the one-sided sexual relationships between black young nubile females and their white masters, sons of the masters and the white or mulatto plantation workers.

Who do you think were the first to bed a virgin black wench? A black-ass old field hand name Uncle Joe or the Massa his teenage son or the bookie-clerk from St. Elizabeth?

43. Bookworm

You are correct the majority of the present day offsprings of the original inhabitants of Bim from the time of its colonialisation are progeny of west african and european tribes interbreeding.

44. Question 2

Are there Churches, religious practices and theologies in Barbados which foster and / or perpetuate the false and discredited notions of Black inferiority, subordination and dependence on non-Blacks?

To answer a question with a question. Where do the majority of Whites go to Church in Barbados?

45. @Well well
    Your original post stated that they were got rid of because of their views, now it is a different story.
    NY SCHOOLS WHERE DIVERSITY IS UNDERSTOOD? Give me a break! This the New York in the good old US of A where blacks are being gunned down almost daily?
    They sure understand diversity!

46. Questions 3

To what extent is the distribution of land in Barbados racially skewed and inequitable? If this is so, are specific governmental corrective measures required? Is there a need for โ€œAlien Landholdings legislationโ€?

Interesting question. There is no doubt Cow Williams et al own a significant area of land in Barbados. It is also fair to say that CLICO and other interest  rival COW in ownership. Agree Alien landholdings legislation is required if we accept that once ownership slips to foreigners it invariable remains offshore. Foreigners in this case is defined as White.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…….take a guess at how many young minds she destroyed with her evil teaching of racism, she spent years at school, thatโ€™s how long it took to get rid of herโ€ฆ

Goddards teaching of racism would have impacted childrennwho are now adults in their mid-twenties…

……just imagine the teachings of racism before that by white british teachers like Annie Binks…whose former students will now be in their 50s…the same as*holes who believe themselves, white, to believes themselves the majority on the island, to believe themselves “superior” to the majority on the island….to believe themselves owners of the slaves in parliament. ..to believe themselves the only people on the island.

2 generations lost to the nasty teachings of racism….by racists.

So dont tell me crap Bookworm. ..try that on someone who is not familiar with the dynamics of racist teachings.

And it’s time to get rid of the crap…no moving on…get rid of…..the racism on the island.

48. @ David
    Tou are not wrong in your answer to Q1. This is the black upwardly mobile trying to move away from the communities they were born into. Their loss, the rum shop has far more to offer!

49. Question 4

Is the education system doing an adequate job of imparting to our students information about the history and achievements of the various racial and ethnic groups which make up our population? Is the news media of Barbados doing an adequate job of providing the majority Black population with news and information about Africa and peoples of African descent?

The answer is obviously NO!

Our media houses goes with what is popular, more importantly the incestuous nature of our makeup on a tiny island ensures that manipulation of information is rife. There there is not FOI legislation nether does the traditional media clamour for it. Where there is an obvious failing is that the majority of people have not been educated to inform a narrative to promote a Bajan identity/brand. The local media appears not to see its role as being an important strand in safeguarding our democracy. It is just a job.

50. @ Well well
    And itโ€™s time to get rid of the crapโ€ฆno moving onโ€ฆget rid ofโ€ฆ..the racism on the island.

The irony is that in your desire to get rid of it, you are perpetuating it. The way to get rid of it is to leave it behind.
    Just seen that this was 40 years ago! Stueps!