This week’s Barbados Editorial adds to the commentary about the rising pubic concern about crime.

crimeWhile the national crime rate is not the direct legal responsibility of the governing administration, opposition parties everywhere are never slow to go on the offensive whenever this reaches an electorally unacceptable level, that is, whenever there is the public expression of popular discontent with the status quo. This is understandable; the perception of an electoral advantage is strategically enticing to any political grouping.

In our view, however, any political approach to crime should be bipartisan or non-partisan even since, first, like the rain, crime is no respecter of persons, and it falls alike on the government and opposition members and supporters without discrimination and, second, a propensity for crime is unlikely to be abated by something as mundane as a change in governing administration. Indeed, our regional neighbour, Trinidad & Tobago where, if anything, the crime rate has increased exponentially since a change in administrations, is a case in point in this regard.

It was therefore of more than passing interest to read in a recent issue of Barbados Advocate of a colloquium between the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in that jurisdiction that has by now become globally notorious for its murder rate that significantly exceeds one victim per day for this year so far.

Unsurprisingly, their meeting appears to have revealed little in the way of bold new initiatives to combat the scourge, although this is in no way to belittle this laudable bi-partisan political effort. According to the report, they agreed that preliminary enquiries in the magistrate’s courts should be abolished, that there should be effective co-operation between the governing administration and the opposition, and that there should be the right legislation to increase the effectiveness of the police in apprehending criminal offenders.

Regrettably, and we say this mainly because of the unlikelihood of its future execution, both sides agreed that the death penalty should remain the law of the land.

We are minded to counsel that there should be a similar collaboration locally, especially at this critical time. As Dr. Rowley intimated after the meeting, “mutual respect was necessary between the Government and Opposition”, and there was agreement that a Joint Select Committee be established to be chaired by an Independent Senator, “to ensure that the political acrimony that may exist between [the] sides does not affect the work…”

In Barbados, the Attorney General has rightly been taken to task for his recent assertion that the upsurge in crime, especially gun crimes, is not his fault. At a strictly literal level of expression, he may be right, but then no one is accusing him of having committed the offences himself.

However, good governance entails the creation of the appropriate laws and policies to ensure a socially just and orderly society. Moreover, under the Westminster system of governance that we purport to follow, a policymaker is never allowed to say “it is not my fault” in respect of any foul up that might occur under his or her watch. It was not the fault of then British Foreign Secretary Lord Carrington in 1982 when Argentina invaded the Falklands but he was in charge of the Foreign & Commonwealth Office that had failed to foresee this development; nor was it his fault in the Crichel Down affair in 1954 when the Minister of Agriculture resigned despite the fact that all mistakes were made by civil servants without his knowledge.

Nevertheless, calls for the resignation of the Attorney General at this time are clear political bluster; after all, faithful adherence to the Westminster model is not, and has never been, the system of governance we practice in this country.

215 responses to “Crime and Political Solutions”

1. The Attorney General said that the upsurge in crime, especially gun crimes, is not his fault.

He is correct.

The police appear to be apprehending the criminals very soon after the crime is committed.

The main causes of crime in Barbados are drugs,guns and lack of meaningful employment.

2. hmmmmmm…if I did not know better i would say that the style and metre of this article bespeaks one person called ….

heheheheheheheh.

While it is not the fault of the manager at Chefette that Uncle Jeroff comes in to his branch and deposits a ball of pup, IN A CUSTOMER’s CHAIR, noting that (a) he is the manager and (b) Uncle Jeroff is doing it every day him not showing any initiative to Mr. Haloute that he is employing tactics to stop Uncle Jer*off’s daily bowel movement AND TO BOOT telling mr. Haloute “the man’s bowels are his and that is not my fault” constitutes grounds under which Haloute, who is not running a charity, but a business, where his clients rely on security and safety, as do tourisesesses and we Bajans, should ask for the nitwit manager’s resignation or fire his scvunt and hire a more aggressive manager.

We shall wager a guess that the normal suspects will gather to defend the indefensible Adriel Nitwit and the Sleeping Fumbles, BLESS HIS SLOTHFUL SPIRIT.

Whu aftah all de man ent mek heself!!

As none of us have.

Come leh we all go and wuk up

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“However, good governance entails the creation of the appropriate laws and policies to ensure a socially just and orderly society. ”

To the “it wasn’t me” brigade…..and this also applies to the opposition whose members were at one time or another the attorneys general, the acting PM, the PMs etc holding posts which gave them ALL the duties of legislators. …..just like the current Adriel Nitwit…..YOU DID NOT DO YOUR JOBS., over the years, none of you…….and the ones occupying the same posts today, are not doing their jobs now either, it might be escaping you, but it does not escape everyone.

Dale Marshall, former Attorney General, with Mia also as attorney general and acting PM at one time, never bothered to enact legislation to rein in and regulate the insurance companies to make absolutely sure. ..they paid injured claimants with high court judgements in a timely manner…or pay them at all.

The results of that neglect:

Dale Marshall, former attorney general is in yesterday’s nation newspaper lamenting the fact that after a year of Harmony Insurance neglecting a judgement by Justice Cornelius in 2015 to pay his injured client over a year ago, Harmony Insurance still ignores the judgement…, and refuses to pay the claimant or acknowledge Marshall’s many correspondences…..

……my question…why did Marshall, as attorney for this suffering man….wait one year to expose Harmony Insurance, they should have been exposed within 30 days of the judgement.

With all things being equal, I hope Marshall can appreciate the irony in exactly how karma can be a bitch. He never saw it necessary as attorney general to tighten up, legislate, regulate and enforce laws so that the Managers and CEOs or whatever they call themselves of these little scam insurance companies like Harmony and CGI Insurance can be arrested when they refuse to pay and ignore high court judgements awarded to injured people.

Mia as former attorney general and former acting PM also did not see it necessary to do her job back then either, in regulating these scam insurance companies…Adriel Nitwit will certainly not legislate to regulate them because as things stand currently, he himself is refusing payments to a nurse who was injured on her job at QEH over 30 years ago and is suffering and in need of surgery……he is making sure she suffers and will never get an adequate amount of money to get the necessary surgery to relieve her pain and suffering……the one reason, among many, that Adriel Nitwit should never be returned to parliament. ..by the people. He would do the same to his voters.

All of these ministers and former ministers are well aware that the FSC…Financial Services Commission…which is just a pretty name and acronym…has no teeth to do anything in making the dishonest insurance companies pay injured people.., the people who work for FSC are stooges paid to cover up the fraudulent practices of the insurance industry on the island and make the international agencies believe that there are best practices and not fraud being perpetrated on the customers and people who have to deal with the insurance companies when injured…thrir role at FSC is one of cover up.

Since ALL the former attorneys general, PMs, acting PM, current attorney general and future attorneys general, PM, acting PM etc…are friends with, have either worked for, have sat or are sitting on the boards of, have accepted bribes and/or campaign financing from these same insurance companies and their thieving, dishonest, owners/directors/CEOs……not only do the injured not stand a chance…but the injured themselves are responsible for immediately exposing these insurance companies, immediately they do not pay your claim, after a judgement or settlement….do not wait a year…30 days after a judgement, or one week after settlement sgreements are made and not honored…expose these beasts refusing to pay….ALL of them.

The politicians and ministers have all been colluding with insurance companies for years, many, as lawyers on a tiny island, they have all been on the payrolls of these companies at one time or another…they rub shoulders with the dishonest people who manage these companies.

We will see if the government in waiting, once elected, make the necessary changes to the laws preventing insurance companies from refusing to pay injured people, or if they will leave it to the people to continue to expose the insurance companies as well as the government ministers who refuse to rein in the insurance companies and have the police arrest their dishonest CEOs….or if they will continue to play the “it wasnt me” blame game and keep passing the responsibility back and forth to each other…..because of how badly they have compromised themselves with conflict of interest.

4. It is difficult for us to understand certain reasonings.

If the majority of crimes have their origins in drugs and the lack of employment, how is it that the chief law enforcement officer can escape blame?

We would have thought that the so-called drug problem is central to the functions of the AG. He can decriminalize, commercialize, all the plants produced by Pachamama and refer those dependent to adequate health care facilities. Just like those dependent on sugar need a health care intervention. Problem solved!

As far as lack of employment is concerned, the AG can seek to legalize a radical land reform; the redistribution of resources, as measurable, enforceable law, vital to societal harmony.

There you go, the two biggest problems in Barbados solved by a sensible AG.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha. ..you do not have a sensible AG.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You have a small minded, petty minded AG, whose claim to fame is withholding treatmrnt money for surgery from an injured and suffering woman, who worked at QEH as a nurse and was injured their….that is the extent of his intellect.

Have you heard of Adriel Nitwit doing anything positive, progressive or earth shaking during his tenure..6 years and he cant get a draft legislation made law to regulate the legal profession. ..so dont hold your breath. ..they can only manage to destroy the vulnerable, these new age ministers..that’s the extent of their skills set.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…treatment. ….there. ..

8. wuh loss ! so early in the morning hear that AG legalize drugs and crime disappear! BTW Pachaman i sent the memo to all the AG’s world wide awaiting their response.

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your advice that “We are minded to counsel that there should be a similar collaboration (a colloquium between the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition) locally…” is deeply flawed in my view. Absolutely well intentioned and all that but it is balanced on the broad foundation that (1) politicians are central to effective law and order or (2) that politicians are ‘solutions’ to the problems or are perceived to be such. No, no and no.

The mere fact that such frothing palaver from Dr. Rowley like “mutual respect was necessary between the Government and Opposition”, and the further cow-dung that “there was agreement that a Joint Select Committee be established to be chaired by an Independent Senator, ‘to ensure that the political acrimony that may exist between [the] sides does not affect the work…’ ” is a clear indication of the absolute lip-service paid to the major issue of crime.

There is Parliament where the people’s business must be conducted. There is no need for stupid talk about setting up another committee. That type ‘committee’ MUST have been in place in T&T since I was in high school and reading about the exploits of Commissioner Burroughs.

Such ‘collaboration’ would have HAD to be in place when T&T employed a Commissioner and deputy out of Canada to assist in getting their Law and Order criminal justice process in order. Surely. And on and on we could go. More talk. More ‘independent’ committees’. What crock! What makes it more meaningful now?

Looks more like the emperor’s new clothes to me. Just saying bro!

Thankfully Bdos will NEVER reach T&T stage (or Chicago where 90 frigging murders were committed in the last month) …for one reason only: we too small!

We have all the other ingredients: the corrupt BS’ing pols, rampant drug and gun trade, indifference to social norms, uncontrolled police brutality and malfeasance, run-a-way teenage angst/pregnancies etc and of course the elite and money makers who drive all this.

But we just don’t have the scale to match those locales. That’s the only damn thing that will save my little homeland from devolving into a crime abyss…but we trying really frigging hard, tho.

10. @Dee Word

Scale is a function of environment read cause and effect?

11. Firing the AG makes no sense IN BARBADOS makes no sense. His replacement will just continue to spin top in mud.

Legalizing marijuana is worth considering. Rum shop owners don’t have turf wars.

Page 8 of BarbadosToday…. Puerto Rican fined $750. for $10 worth of marijuana. Seriously????

12. Hants wrote…
    The Attorney General said that the upsurge in crime, especially gun crimes, is not his fault.
    He is correct.
    The police appear to be apprehending the criminals very soon after the crime is committed.
    The main causes of crime in Barbados are drugs,guns and lack of meaningful employment.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Sometimes, Hants does just talk some real shiite …perhaps after an unsuccessful fishing expedition ..or after a drink too many…

This is the same shiite AG who, upon being appointed, STARTED OUT by bragging how not another boy will hang under his watch….

What message does that sent to the idiots out there on the blocks with guns, with no mirror image, no prospects in life (thanks to a shiite education), …and living at their mother’s house off her pension….?

ANY kind of jackass must KNOW that the ‘death penalty’ is designed to deter those fringe idiots who have nothing else to lose…
    There is NO negative difference between life in prison …and life on the blocks – for a certain percentage of our lost youth…. indeed, the former may well present a more stable and SAFE environment for such lost souls…

When the system MANAGER creates a situation where it may actually MAKE SENSE for a small percentage of such idiots to kill ‘for a few dollars’ … pray tell how the hell he can then turn and claim to be faultless…

Steupsss….Brass bowlery seems to be endemic in this place…

@ Hants
    Boss, if things were not so tight down here in St Andrew, …Bushie would really send you some decent water to drink when the days come….

13. @ Bushie,

Name one member of the DLP (or BLP ) who would make a substantial difference as AG?

Firing the AG would satiate you, MIA and the BLP but drugs and gun crimes will continue until politicians with balls are elected.

14. @Hants. I agree with you completely, even though it goes against my grain to let Nitwit off with anything. Any increase in crime is down to the Police and the DPP, not the AG and only a brass bowl would suggest otherwise. BTW, what is the political affiliation of the DPP?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs… ah posted something about yall white collar criminal activites to ND, yall feel that those international agencis regulating insurance companies do not know about the insurance fraud perpetrated on injured people that FSC is trying to hide…think again.

Amused….who is crazy enough to blame Adriel Nitwit for the rise in crime….his blame manifests itself when he does nothing, as AG, to legislate, implement and give the police the tools they need to enforce laws as a deterrent to criminal activities…and that includes …WHITE COLLAR CRIMES….as an AG, his job is to meet international standards like ALL AGs in implementing preventative laws.

The police, as well as the DPPs…hands are tied unless Adriel Nitwit does his jobs re the laws.

If DPP Leacock has the laws available to him and he is not using them or durecting the police to nit use those laws because he is buddy, buddy with the criminals…he should be fired.

BTW…seeing that Fruendel & Co tried that slick trick to saddle taxpayers with that ineffective DPP for another 9 years, it appears he is one ah dem, , but he would have started out as DPP under the Owen/Mia crew…so seeing the connections and incestous practices of all involved…unless they had a falling out…who can tell.

One things for sure…the electorate/taxpayers cannot trust any of them from either side of the divide.

16. @ Hants
    Name one member of the DLP (or BLP ) who would make a substantial difference as AG?
    Pray tell us what that has to do with anything that Bushie said…
    Come on Hants, you went to a good school back when it actually meant something…. AND you were smart enough not to study Law….
    You CANNOT be the ultimate manager of a system…. make definitive POLICY decisions… and then say that the results are not your fault.
    FULL STOP.

@ Amused
    Wait … you still smelling bout here on BU…?
    Bushie thought that you were still off somewhere working on a creditable response to questions on the matter of your man Vernon Smith as it relates to the death of one Mrs. M Smith…
    You opinions on the matter of the death penalty MAY otherwise be suspect … at least to discerning brass bowls like Bushie.

17. @ Amused
    BTW, what is the political affiliation of the DPP?
    Steupsss.
    …probably the same as Darcy Boyce…. and Hal Gollop, …and Bizzy ….and COW…
    Who the hell knows…or cares….
    These people are all ‘affiliated’ to their own damn selfish interests.

What became of the original sensible Amused….?

18. @ Bushie,

I live in a country that does not have a death penalty.

19. Many on BU and elsewhere demonstrate the incapacity to holistically sized the problem. No one stakeholder can be held responsible if we stay married to the saying – it takes a village to raise a child. What BU will concede is that some stakeholders influence the process more than others.

BLP vs DLP
    Private vs Publc Sector
    Unions vs Employers
    PSVs vs Public Transports

#etc

20. @ Hants
    Don’t you also live in the biggest (and probably one of the most asset-rich) countries in the world ….and which has about as much global influence as does Barbados? …de water..?

That is NOT the point.

We are talking about a man, ASSIGNED THE RESPONSIBILITY and authority to frame and promote POLICY on crime and justice, having the temerity to disclaim responsibility for results – AFTER TAKING STRONG POLICY DIRECTIONS on penalties.

It is like those who strongly supported co-education back in the 70’s …now disclaiming any liability for the results we are seeing….. or like parents who let their 4-year-olds do as they like, now disclaiming responsibility for 17-year-old terrorists…

No one stakeholder can be held responsible, but shiite man, to whom much (AUTHORITY) is given much much (RESPONSIBILITY) is expected.

We can’t blame AC for crime…. it is true!!,
    …but then again, AC IS a crime…. 🙂

21. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Which ever party forms the GOB is responsible for law and order. That is what government is about, however selected and whatever their political philosophy. So it is nonsense calling for a meeting of politicians outside of Parliament. They are just pandering to the press and the public. Neither of which should be fooled. This is bare window dressing. And an excuse to do nothing. Ask anybody who has visited Singapore if they see garbage on the streets. The laws must be enforced. Period.

22. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Hants September 17, 2016 at 8:22 AM
    “Name one member of the DLP (or BLP ) who would make a substantial difference as AG?
    Firing the AG would satiate you, MIA and the BLP but drugs and gun crimes will continue until politicians with balls are elected.”

One thing you are omitting from the discussion.
    Who should be held culpable in a situation where the actual AG is ‘alleged’ to have witnessed (along with his boss as Constitutionally defined) vote buying and other electoral malpractices but has up to this day not followed through with the publicly announced promise to deal with this matter which is deemed to be a crime.
    Don’t you think the man should take the blame for such an egregious breach of promise and faith in that office with the appropriate penalty of removal?

23. Winston Moore is stating the obvious.We are sure AC will disagree but the bottom line is the lack of confidence in the lowlife brigade aptly referred to as the Wild Boys in our Poor Rakey Parliament.The investment climate is zilch unless it is a Crop Over event,or a Reggae on the Hill and all the ganja and gun violence that goes with those two disgusting displays of low life,wild animal outcomes.Barbados has been taken to its bathos by the DLP and that’s where it will remain unless the 40% who did not vote,make the about turn and restore the pride and the industry of past generations.Read Moore’s views:-

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/17/blp-boom/

24. THAT SAME AG GET AN SAY THE DEATH PENALTY SHOULD COME ONLY TO THOSE WHO MURDER AH POLITICIAN, JUDGE OR MAGISTRATE, BUT YET NO ONE WILL BE HANG UNDER HIS WATCH, WHAT AH TOTAL JACKASS……SO OTHER LIVES DON’T MATTER, WELL LET ME SAY ALL LIVES MATTER U FOOL.WHATS THE PURPOSE OF THE GOVERNMENT, IF THESE THUGS GETTING AWAY WID MURDER,ACCUSE MURDERERS GETTING BAIL ETC. BUT YOU SEE “EVIL THAT MEN DO LIVES AFTER THEM” SO BARBADOS IS IN AH NOOSE THATS DRAWING TIGHTER EVERY DAY, MURDERS/ THEFT, CORRUPTION AT EVERY LEVEL, FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. HOSPITAL, AGRICULTURE, MANUFACTURING,WATER, TOURISM, GARBAGE, PUBLIC SERVICE ET. GONE TO THE DOGS……THESE THINGS MUST HAPPEN WHEN U HAVE AH GOVERNMENT THAT IS NOT RESPONSIBLE OR ACCOUNTABLE TO NO ONE. AND THE ELECTORATE ALLOWING NINCOME POOPS, MUTTS, MORONS, IMBICILES, TO GET AWAY WITH.

25. @ RecoAnthony

What do you mean by “AND THE ELECTORATE ALLOWING NINCOME POOPS, MUTTS, MORONS, IMBICILES, TO GET AWAY WITH…[IT]?”

I constantly am amused when, after clearly enunciating the list of problems that besiege our entire administration, someone will say that we, THE PEOPLE, are “letting the government get away with it!!”

It makes no sense.

It is like me being on of the people standing in the crowd at Lucky horse Shoe where Rick Rick was killed and you saying that “the crowd that was gathered at the carpark, saw Rick Rick ‘s body AND DID NOTHING about it!!”

Frankly, after we elect these people to office, much like we expect the police to do their jobs as policemen and interdict and arrest, that is the extent of our expectation.

There is “nothing that we can do about it” as the electorate other than WHEN THE TIME COMES TO VOTE, VOTE THEM TO EF OUT OF OFFICE.

Maybe there is one more thing Reco.

We can encourage the 40% of the electorate who refuse to exercise their ballot on election day, to go out and make sure and vote because, WITHOUT THAT ACTION, in this inefficient system call governance in Barbados, we the electorate can only allow the nincompoops to do as they like and barring treason and sedition, something which you and I DO NOT WANT, dem going “GET WAY WITH IT.”

26. @ millertheannunaki,

I defer to you and Bushie.

I don’t have the balls to suggest who should or should not be fired.lol

Too besides no politician in Barbados resigns or is fired.

27. Peter Bradshaw was let out after doing 30 years for murder.After 6 months of freedom the police pick him up again and he’s back in custody.Time to forget this rehab foolishness and this crybaby attitude to murderers.Bring back the feared dispatcher.

28. @ Piece
    I constantly am amused when, after clearly enunciating the list of problems that besiege our entire administration, someone will say that we, THE PEOPLE, are “letting the government get away with it!!”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    recoanthony is right!

Your pessimistic ‘”poor us, we can’t do a shiite but vote when instructed” attitude is the mind-set of slaves. History is replete with societies taking stands for truth and justice …and even of individuals who stood against all odds – in the fight for what is right.

Only physical and mental slaves – and Bajan brass bowls …. feel so helpless and insignificant about themselves, that they DARE not even contemplate that THEY can change the course of history for the better…

Supposedly, were you located in the USA as a black man, you would, (like Sargeant) respectfully await the white people finally coming around to accepting that police routinely shooting young black men in the streets may not be totally acceptable …in 2016…

..or would you have joined ‘Black Lives Matter’ …and burned some police cars; pelted some bottles and FORCE authorities to adjust their agenda…?

Boss, the whole point of Jesus TAKING A STAND in the temple in support of adherence to the Laws …was to demonstrate that ‘righteousness’ is not just about shiite talk and feeding a couple dozen lazy-ass bums in Bridgetown…..
    It is about ACTIVELY fighting for what is RIGHT….even to your personal peril…
    If Bajans were not so ‘brazen’ in nature, we would bring such pressure on this shiite government, that they would be FORCED to drastically change their shiite policies – or get to hell out of the way…. As it is, even the BLP – on whom you await for salvation, has not enough CLASS to stand up openly for truth and justice….

Blessed indeed, is the man who suffers persecution for the sake of RIGHT… But Bajans would never find out…

29. When the subject of crime is being discussed, it should be pointed out that rising rates are part of the price we pay for CARICOM membership.
    Our CARICOM partners are some of the most violent countries in the world. Jamaica alone has twice the number of murders each year as the entire UK. Belize, Guyana, Trinidad, and virtually all if the Windward and Leeward Islands have higher murder rates than Barbados. If we were to leave CARICOM, we could tighten the rules restricting the movement of Jamaican and Trinidadian undesirables into the country.

30. @ Hopi

That exposee certainly is not the type of information that the Clinton campaign needs.

It was and is unrehearsed and, judging from Trumps response, while they facilitated the revelation by placing the source in the front row seat, they did not research it nor orchestrate it.

Wow.

Depending on the materials in the party’s possession, it is not an insurmountable issue however, given the spin doctors that are out there.

It is expected that the man has copies of his backup records since they will be required…

We are in the final 2 months of the campaign for the Presidency and there will be more exposees particularly those that will reveal the associations with dirty money of all types.

This is the thing, at the end of the day, if you cant be a man like Obama, with an upaid 17 year old parking ticket, with one wife, and one “baby momma” and no downlowe practices, you going have a problem of some magnitude.

For this accusation of the theft of Relief Money for the Haitian earthquake and the “over throwing of Aristide” so to speak, to be countered, AS LONG as there is an incontrovertible trail, it has to be a really damning counter with a trail of investment links to the Kremlin by the Donald, some actual bodies in real estate deals gone bad, some outside children in Slovakia or wherever, it has to be big.

Again one underpins the corollary that there has to be written evidence or it is just another verbal accusation.

One can expect rumours of lawsuits for defamation to be immediately issued by the Clinton Foundation.

If there is no source evidence in the dealings with the accuser, IT WILL NOT BE A RUMOUR, he will be sued by Monday morning.

Some Thorn conspiracists will say that they hope that his life insurance is all paid up or that he does not have any relatives anywhere who are running or have run afoul of the law.

Good Find Hopi, you are an American to the core and a Trump supporter to the hilt.

31. “we could tighten the rules restricting the movement of Jamaican and Trinidadian undesirables into the country.”

What are you talking about Chad99 (another 9 gone…)
    Do you understand that Barbados is currently being run by these people WHO now OWN IT? …compliments Owen and Stinkliar….
    The only one who will be “restricted” are Bajan brass bowls… from good jobs, from certain places, and from enjoying success…

Who do you think runs ‘our’ BNB? …Republicans skippa…
    Who runs Sandals …….. not Jamaicans…?
    Who runs Massy, Guardian General… ?

Steupsss
    Go back to sleep Chad….

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85389/supervisory-college-bid

Ah……the power of the internet, the below commenter said it best…will FSC include legislation to penalize insurance companies like Harmony and CGI Insurance who now blatantly ignore High Court judges and their judgements and refuse to compensate injured people with valid claims…it is insurance fraud, why was provision to punish the heads of these companies not made before…and will they be made now, it’s not hard to find the international agencies responsible for monitoring such criminal practices in the insurance industry and reporting these inhumane and vicious acts to them, am sure FSC does not need the embarrassment

“In the meantime, how will injured people get their money from insurance companies that refuse to pay even after a High Court judgement and will the new legislation make provisions for punishing these insurance companies that refuse to pay claims and ignore high court judges..

If you can stop those unfair practices, then you will really be doing something, or claimants will be forced to report these wicked, unprofessional, inhumane practices and those who perpetrate them in the industry, to the international agencies who monitor the best practices of insurance companies on the island. They will have no choice, you cannot keep doing that to people.”

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Wait….I told the ACs I posted something on ND, I did not tell them to spend the whole day on Naked Departure, I thought they would just go look, where did the ACs go….lol

34. @ Bush Tea.

Tell me what you suggest as viable options Bush Tea?

Where does the pressure come from?

How is this Rambo-esque suggestion going to be deployed, and more importantly, maintained?

Are you suggesting a Doctor Rat type modus to disrupt?

Are the people who will “stand against all” to look to martyrdom?

This is the “maw of death” where we are churned up and out, at the will of a force bigger than you or I Bush Tea.

Can you tell me what a force of one or even ten would achieve in Barbados if, hypothetically, they were to do what subliminally, Reco is suggesting, and you, uncharacteristically, are supporting?

THAT IS NOT THE WAY, BUSH TEA

The immediate fallout would be the issue of convincing all of the existing partner governments that the democratically elected government’s replacement is a valid one.

I am not even talking about the other issues my man, i am talking about continuity.

It would disrupt the economy PERMANENTLY.

So, given that we are not talking about that “type of disruption” then you are talking civil discontent “TO THE MAX!!

Ok let me see now.

Civil Discontent (within the confines of the Law?)

Over 4,000 bajans are discommoded in St Joseph by the lack or water to bathe their pokkerts and balls for over a year

Dale marshall, the BLP representative for St Joseph, is only able to get 91 people to turn up at the BWA to bring social pressure on the government of the day.

What that suggests to me now is that Bajans, while we talk pretty about things, ARE NOT PREPARED TO DO ANYTHING that exposes them to being hurt. Even at the march, you still had a few people who hid their faces from the CBC camera!!

Even here Bush Tea, while you might like a post by me, people are afraid to have even their mock names associated with a poster’s remarks.

That is the reality of the current disposition and mindset of we Bajans Bush Tea.

We play it safe ALL THE EFFING time.

And, at 2016, it is only there that we can truly seek to make an impact, in that space where Bajans, “feel safe”

We ent got no Trivoli Gardens mentalities among us Bush Tea, we ent there yet

35. @ Piece
    …and thus we get what we deserve.

On August 9, 2014, Michael Brown was shot by police in Ferguson, Missouri.
    By August 11, police needed to use tear gas to control crowds protesting this action of injustice against a citizen…

From Wikipedia…
    “In response to the shooting and subsequent unrest, the U.S. Department of Justice conducted an investigation into the policing practices of the Ferguson Police Department (FPD).[16][17] In March 2015, the U.S. Justice Department announced that they had determined that the FPD had engaged in misconduct against the citizenry of Ferguson by among other things discriminating against African-Americans and applying racial stereotypes, in a “pattern or practice of unlawful conduct.”[18][19]
    Black Americans are MINORITY people in the world’s biggest superpower and bully.
    Black Bajans are the MAJORITY in the world’s biggest brass bowl centre and are self-centred cowards…

Do you think that US police would even CONSIDER shooting unarmed white boys in the streets….?
    Shiite. … if the minority blacks responded so decisively ….have you ANY idea of how the majority peoples there would respond to the arbitrary execution of their sons…?

But of course you are suggesting that those blacks should have waited for the next constitutional amendment to have their concerns addressed…right?

Bajans are all totally concerned about their SELFISH interests…. that is why so few march…
    Bajans only respond when it happens in THEIR family…
    Bajans all wait to see someone else ‘bell the cat’…

These people in Ferguson responded IN THE NAME OF JUSTICE….
    Many were WHITE….
    Most had no relatives in the picture…

See if you can spot the difference….

36. But Bushie

The majority is a minority in Barbados, or worse!

See how the politics change when numbers are not on their side.

37. @Bushie

That is a powerful explanation of the predicament we find ourselves as a predominant Black country.

38. In closing on this one Piece, How do you feel about the FACT that a woman can be kidnapped and murdered …. and the whole matter just disappears from sight without even the appearance of an investigation of the circumstances….?
    What does it say about US as a people? …that we do NOTHING but blame someone who is an OBVIOUS jackass …. and who WE put there to take the heat?

In REAL countries, CITIZENS would be calling for justice in this and MANY other matters – with INCREASING INTENSITY ……. until clear and decisive action was taken by authorities….

Of course you understand Bushie point …since your interest in a more recent ‘police matter’….
    But the point is that JUSTICE is EVERYONE’s responsibility … even if we occasionally gotta burn something to get it….

@ Pacha
    Barbados is a lost cause….
    So much potential..
    So many blessings…
    …to much brass bowlery…

39. @ Brother Bush Tea.

Look at me.

An ole ingrunt neanderthal and Stoopid Poster Boy.

Denied Justice by **, afflicted by ***, hated by many, despised and rejected? by the rest, proud citizen in a nation that you rightly? refer to as brassbowls.

Yet, while I am mindful of the highway men and tiefs of varying calibre and position who pretend to be your colleague and then sell you out for 30 pieces of silver.

You never tell them that while they were conspiring against you, the very people that they conspired with called you and shared the conversation.

I dun tell you BT, and Pachamama, dat wunna does need to talk softly and more specifically “not utter too many truths heah pun BU” cause dem does upset de ole man.

Years ago, when I was much younger, I did something, (among the many “somethings” that I did before and afterwards) that I regret to this day, and until the day I die.

It remains with me, in summary, I made a “representation” and after the act when I looked to see who I had done the representation for, NOT A MAN WAS THERE, and I was alone and seriously “incapacitated”.

Things like that leave you “scarred” BT, not “pessimistic”, and since I am not the Messiah, I dont have the constancy NOR THE PURPOSE, that was and is ONLY HIS.

Barbados has 250K people (and 40K illegal guyanese of whom the lead illegal? Guyanese is Chalie Leackcock, axe WW&C bout he status heheheheheh, me ent know one ting banner)

Like with the 81 marchers protesting the water shortage in St. Joseph, the rest of the cunstituents neither knew about the march, did not care about the march or were afraid of representing themselves and being at the march.

I put this to you, barring that woman who was on tv talking about the plight of her 79 year old mother, of those 81 marchers, very few were there because they were conscientious marchers, or because it was the right thing to do.

Dale Marshall was there because it is his constituency and he wants the peoples votes but that “I am here because it is the Right Thing to do, is a dead concept”

When the General Elections day rolls around that the DLP government announces that they will be deploying the police and the defence force because “they have it on good evidence that there will be a faction around to disrupt the General Elections” as was the case where that voice message was released around Barbados that led to 4 detentions at Kadooment, whu Bajans going do??

Wunna really tink dat this DLP government going tek this white washing lying down??

Dis is why de ingrunt ole man been begging dese BLP scvunts to wake to shyte up and get active cause this one is not going to be an easy election, irrespective of what, Dr. Moore and the rest uh dem saying.

How long has the Emergency Rule been going on in France now??

Wunna gots eyes but see not and ears but hear not!!

40. @PUDRYR and Bushie

If you were to pick five to ten individuals to bring together to operate in the role as change agent who would you go for?

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha..the majority WANT to be a minority in Barbados, they could not even distinguish the difference. ..and if you tried to point out the obvious to them that they are the black majority on the island.., they tell you straight up, they did not know …that is the government ministers and politicians comfort zone.

So who is responsible for that decades old lack of knowledge. ..obviously it’s not being taught in the schools, the ministers are not telling the people that they are the majority. ., they letting shithound Bizzy tell them it’s not a black nation and the jackass Fruendel bending over backwards to please and soothe and allowing Bizzy to publicly bribe the police….to make him feel good.

You are dealing with the most stupid blacks who ever lived that are leaders.

Look……I have very little patience with people who claim to be the most educated people in the Caribbean, but with very little proof of that claim….for the people who are vulnerable…the strong people among you are quite capable of embarrassing them all for their blighted criminalty…

…….the one thing the government ministers, the insurance company crooks who are blatantly disrespecting the judiciary and decisions made by the judges, the crooked business people and all the other pretenders do not want…..is the information of what they do on the island, exposed in the international arena….cause they get out there when they travel and tell a lot of lies,….

….so……SHAME THEM…put the proof of what they do in the international arena…..and sit back and watch the transformation…..the easiest job in the world.

If ya had ANY good leaders…they themselves would have exposed the activities that have led to the degradation and decline to the island decades ago…instead, they continue to enable it…and are crying out now cause it’s starting to negatively affect some of them.

Now you will know who cares about the island or just talk cause there is an available forum to spew bullshit, you will now know if people are completely comfortable with things as they are…or are willing to upset the criminal element in the government and society to create positive change.

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Bush Tea September 17, 2016 at 1:35 PM re “Do you think that US police would even CONSIDER shooting unarmed white boys in the streets….?”

This is a rather loud statement that has a valid purpose when juxtaposed against the death of Black males at the hands of the police. It has much less value on its own however.

Several White youth are also killed by ‘trigger happy cops’ also.

Deaf man killed for speeding,29-year-old Daniel Harris -white
    Arkansas man James Ahern killed by cop – white

I can cite a few more but that doesn’t make the point any more or less: Killings of citizens caught up in an altercation with a police officer is a ‘complex’ matter and involves more white folk than we realize when we get beneath the blaring headlines.

Absolutely there are large numbers of Back men and boys killed by cops who should be alive today. That is painfully evident but do not for one moment perceive that it is not prevalent on the high ways and byways of white America.

What we often do not appreciate is the deprivation and ‘bad behaviour’ that afflicts LARGE numbers of white America re the criminal enterprise of the meth-drug and heroin trade. As crack and marijuana sent lots of Blacks to their death by cop or to jail so too does meth and heron do for Whites….among other reasons of course. The two above were not directly related to drugs

Police bullets can be quite indiscriminate when the one holding the gun perceives that his life is at risk!!!

43. This is an interesting question David. Interesting but potentially “troublesome”.

I started my list and then i deleted it. Let me explain why.

There are some really good bajans from either side of the divide whom one knows but, for one to single them out, I have the fear that they will be seen as “undesirables” purely because de ole man see them as persons with vision and “stamina daddies and mammies”

They become “marked” as “people of interest” endorsed by one of the perceived “insurgents and seditionists” pun BU. For as you dun know, de ole man is among those that Verla et al. would have hanged for disseminating information heheheheheheh

Therefore, by de ole man endorsement, they may become “tainted meat”.

But i see your point nonetheless.

Which quite simply put is “if I have so much to say about what is not working, why don’t I (or is that we?) put my choices on the table to show that, given the aggression with which I argue against what is, I can show that I can propose people whom I believe will grow this nation. ”

Let the ole man think about this for a few moments

I will mention three whose names I have already mentioned here and whose “currency” allows them to withstand all onslaught to be thusly perceived (oh de arrogance of de ole man)

Jeff Cumberbatch as AG and Director of a “congealed” legal spectrum of services which are now all over the place.

Any AG in the newly constituted Barbados would have to have balls and Jeff doan fear a fellah

Leighton Trotman as Auditor General and Director of another congealed mechanism that would extend to, that is include the FSC.

Caswell Franklyn as Advisor to the Government on Union and Labour Related Matters

I have a recommendation for a new Chief Justice after firing Marston and sending him back to new Your, but to mention their name will bring fire and brimstone down on the humble yet knowledgeable party.

Having said that I will toss in this name purely because “hope springs eternal from my jaded heart.”

I would give Barbados’ next Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley a position of leadership in such a new construct with the caveat that she abandon all Mugabe-esque modes of engagement.

There be a bold statement of some perplexity.

De Ole Man is canvassing tirelessly for the “irrevocable and absolute ousting of the Democratic Labour Party” with the de facto appointment of MAM as Prime Minister yet, in the same breath assigning barbados’ next Prime Minister, a non PM role.

I will explain that madman statement.

I do not query if Mottley will seek to leave a legacy to mark her time here, I just fear the cost and the mechanisms and the croneys that she will employ to achieve that legacy and therein lies my impossible pronouncement.

I have 8 other names for

Minister of Business & Commerce
    Director of Innovation and Invention
    Minister of Education
    Minister of Labour
    Minister of Agriculture
    Minister of Tourism
    Ministry of International Business and finally
    the ministry of Foreign Affairs

Among whom are two bajan whites and one Indian

Oh I also would suggest a contract system for certain agencies that would be based on certain deliverables, like Leroy Parris paid his managers and agents, I you don’t perform you don’t get paid.

Thank you for letting me write that fairy tale on BU heheheheheheh

44. Chad @12.11p
    Bahamas is a Caricom member however they opted out of the freedom of movement thing.Tell me Barbados can do the same or restrict the ghetto type crowd which bring in drugs on every aircraft leaving Jamaica and the ghetto types who come looking for maid work and end up in the lie down bizness or working for Lewsi the undress kingpin of the wukkup pun de pole bizness.

45. How can politics solve crime when politics as is practised today is the harbinger, facilitator and protector of crime? Crime in Barbados, Crime in the US…ALL IS ONE!

@PieceDR……. Here is a piece from the horse’s mouth about your dear sweet angel Obumma…..Larry Sinclair is now dead. Please don’t kill yourself. Do you ever wonder why he’s called the 1st gay President other than his support for everything homo and trans?

Enjoy!

https://youtu.be/18578nQObow

46. @ Piece & Bush Tea,

A friend of mine sent me this text. I have no idea if it is authentic; however it appears to be an accurate portrayal of how the Negro comports his/herself irrespective of where they inhabit on this globe.

Sadly, we may have to accept that we are a doomed race. We remain individualists and abhor collectivism. As can been seen here on this blog where we delight in demolishing the views of others rather than finding a common ground which could unite us.

Sadly, we have in power the government that we fully deserve.

http://changeheadlines.com/2016/07/04/why-are-blacks-not-wealthy/

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Well, nothing is ever the blackman’s fault. His
    -compulsive habit of killing his own,
    – compulsive material consumption.
    -His inability to build businesses or
    -preserve wealth are usually somebody else’s fault.”

It is a fundamental truth as shown to us in the last week by the “it wasn’t me” brigade of ministers who do not want to take responsibility for their lack of actions in doing their jobs.

The leaders steal from their people…..true

“The fundamental rule is to keep your money within your racial group”….true, something responsible parents and leaders need to teach their younger generations, from a young age.

“He kills his fellow blacks daily instead of wanting to see his fellow black do succeed”…true, the US is the perfect example if black on black crime.

“Their leaders steal from their people and send the money back to their colonial master from whom they borrow the same money from.”

We speak of the scams between government ministers, politicians and the business sector scam artists.

Have we not been spotlighting that black leaders discourage keeping money in the black communities and are only interested in finding 700,000 dollars a year to import garbage, sending the money away from the communities….

……the author saud money exchanges hands in the jewish communities 18 times before it leaves those communities. .it’s even worse with the indian communities. ..they do not let the money leave their communities.

No…that crowd of ministers, both DBLP make sure the Bizzy, Cow,, Maloney, Bjerkham crowd get their hands on all the contracts and money…never to be returned to the black communities…..useless leaders.

48. @ Hopi

Dear Hopi you have managed to now be appended to that group of persons whom I love to read but “hate” to read since, by reading what they post, de ole man becomes further distraught by the information i glean from the three of you – Bush Tea, Pachamama and now you.

I have an almanac/calendar of this man and giant Obama from way back when and must admit “I drank the cool-aid”

So content was the ole man to say “he black, I going with that” that i must say that I was not interested in, nor did I concern myself with, any of the flax.

THis is why I like to stick to Hants’ posts.

Flowers, fleurs and Fish, pulchritudinous creatures upon which de ole man can dribble, dream and imagine all sort of things without fear of being locked up barring the Minority Report or Equilibrium eras yet to come.

Steupseee, ultimately I going find some cave somewhere and retire from all this futile pursuit of life which is but a dream.