Barbados Advocate Editorial brings into focus the challenge that will come if the Sexual Harassment (Prevention) Bill is proclaimed in the existing text.

mesaFor all the gender neutrality of its express provisions, a statute that provides protection against sexual harassment, such as the local draft Sexual Harassment (Prevention) Bill, now in public circulation, may still be popularly regarded as punishing primarily male conduct that is antagonistic to women mainly. There might be some justification for this, at least at the level of quid pro quo sexual harassment where relatively few women occupy positions that might be capable of effecting an advantage or disadvantage on a subordinate victim at work, depending on the latter’s reaction to the proposal for favours of a sexual nature.

Moreover, overt conduct of a sexual nature such as that covered in the Bill, including asking a person intrusive questions of a sexual nature that pertain to that person’s private life, making sexually offensive phone calls to another person and transmitting offensive written or other material to an individual is not traditionally associated with ladylike behaviour.

In this context, one may appreciate the eagerness of the local Men’s Educational Support [MESA] to be seen as solicitous of the male concern in the Bill so as to ensure some degree of balance in the final legislative document. To this end, MESA has been raising certain objections to the Bill in its present form. These have ranged from the querying the standing of a man wrongfully accused of sexual harassment to be able to seek legal recourse against his accuser to its discomfort with the specialist body appointed to hear cases where sexual harassment is alleged.

Most recently, the body has questioned whether a single instance of sexual harassment should suffice for a valid claim or whether it should be merely sanctioned with an oral or written warning before any claim could be maintained.

According to the Chairman of MESA, referring to the workplace“ It is here that acquaintances are made, friendships moulded, advances made, -accepted or rejected, courtships begun and families created. Many through first encounters, first sight, and first conversation…so we don’t think that the first incident should be sexual harassment, We are putting forward that any first incident should be noted and followed with a warning, after that warning sexual harassment proceedings can start…”

This approach is reminiscent of the legal position in liability for animals where there is both a strict liability rule where the owner of an animal is liable for whatever damage it may cause and the scienter rule whereby the owner is liable only where the animal has previously displayed a dangerous propensity, for example where a dog has already bitten an individual. The gist of the analogy is lost however, where some acts of sexual harassment are so egregiously offensive that it could not be seriously argued that the perpetrator thought that the victim might have been consenting to such an act.

For example, whatever might be said for the workplace being a place for initial romantic approaches, grabbing the genitals of an individual would scarcely be considered such and this act, whether first or later, should constitute sexual harassment on any objective criteria. If by first incidents, the Chairman is referring to polite invitations to dinner or a dance, then, even if the invitation is refused, there will be no need for a warning. This does not constitute sexual harassment in the absence of a previous warning that such invitations from the individual concerned were totally unwelcome and caused the invitee some consternation.

104 responses to “A Nettlesome Draft”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The analogy of sexual harassment to the scienter rule whereby the owner of an animal is liable only where the animal has previously displayed a dangerous propensity is ludicrous. It could make sense only if we hypothesize that the sexual organs of a harasser have a mind of their own, beyond the knowledge or control of the person to whom they are attached. I know that some men are not sure which head they are thinking with at a given point in time, but I’ve never heard anyone claim that they were unaware of what the little head was thinking.

2. De old man jes want to know effing “de propensity of de current administration to hold our genitalia and squeeze them daily or to have carnal knowledge of all Bajans without our permission, irrespective of whether we are at home or at work, if MESA has examined the Act for applicability and remedies?”

This issue of harassment is going o be a hard on to administer.

Imagine if, every time a buxom maiden with the proportions of the maiden that is holding the Grenada flag in the Diaspora Corner, passes my desk in PS Edison A office, I whistle and say girl, I want to wave dat flag for you, would tha constitute harassment or patriotism?

Something like ” I have something hark, long, black and sweet for you” said while offering that object of interest a Cadbury chocolate could get me or Edison fired!

Time for the voice activated disguised pens to record the harassment…

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This legislation…draft or whatever.,,, is 20 years behind, cant these lawmakers do any better.

4. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Seem like they want at least two bites of the apple.
    One for free…
    Lawyers in Barbados need to find something to do.
    Would Bajans characterize MESA as a group of women haters (sounds like it),

5. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

WW&C
    *at least 20 years..
    these guys will soon reinvent the wheel;

6. Anonymouse - TheGazer999999 Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer999999

They have turned me into Chad

7. The United Nations has become a neocolonial institution which bullies its member states into accepting legislation drafted by European and North American elites, which have now accepted radical feminist doctrine as the ruling ideology of our time.
    Sexual harassment legislation has now been standardized, and is remarkably uniform from Australia to India to Sweden. It sets up workplace tribunals to punish men for any conduct women perceive as threatening, offensive or “unwelcome”. This could be a comment, a gesture, a joke or a touch. In Canada, if a woman accidentally overhears a man bragging about his sexual prowess to a male colleague, she can successfully claim to have been “sexual harassed”.
    Harassment laws are deliberately designed to be vague, so that feminists have maximum leeway to punish men. It is one of the principal tools women use to turn the forces of the modern state against men.
    Why men meekly allow their own subordination is beyond me.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chadx9. ..maybe it’s because some of yall are too vulgar, it’s nice to think of something else other than what’s in your pants…all throughout the day.

I have worked in corporate environments and can tell you what the chauvinistic dudes get up to……the invention of the taser should quiet them down though, even if legislation dont.

Seen one old dude chase this female religiously until he dropped from a heart attack. ..work place harassment….and he was well into his 60s, she was 20 years younger, so just imagine what the young men, who are overly interested in females do, especially the ones obsessed with black females….and are trying to hide it…they end up getting into trouble consistently or dropping down dead from their own antics.

Anonymouse…everything the lawmakers on the island do is always at least 20 years behind everyone else…the lawyers are the worse at staying up to date, they seem to have this destructive and dangerous desire to keep the people on the island years behind everything, which is really a decades old practice of slowing everything down to a very, very, slow crawl…that’s their ulterior motives at play.

They have not figured yet figured out that people on the earth are now in a very dark place…it will take them 20 more years and some very expensive lessons to learn. …but knowing their hard heads and and self-absorbed attitudes, I doubt it will sink in.

9. @ Chad999999
    Why men meekly allow their own subordination is beyond me.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    What men?!!

This whole issue relates to the fact that so-called ‘men’ have become mostly feminised brass bowls through a combination of factors such as diet, socialisation, and greed.
    In such circumstances, we may well be lucky to have women to take up the obvious slack…
    Half a loaf is better than no bread….

10. Chad
    Harassment laws are deliberately designed to be vague, so that feminists have maximum leeway to punish men. It is one of the principal tools women use to turn the forces of the modern state against men.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

balderdash your comment is the epicenter of male chauvinistic vulgarity which defines the shallowness of the mind and exemplifies why woman are still abuse by the male gender

11. On the one hand this sexual harassment legislation is just plaster to cover up a sore which has festered for years based on indoctrination from mothers and fathers, males and females and a society which has allowed this to creep in.

My having 5 wives or as many women as I have cows or camels to pay for a dowry is no more or less contributory to the environment of demeaning the respect ALL WOMEN should be accorded than a mother in Bank Hall boasting that her handsome son “does got real girls calling fuh he” or we males meeting at the rum shop to lie as we impress our equally lied friends about our male prowess while indoctrinating the younger new entrants to the domino table or the Masonic fraternity.

Any law can be circumvented or compromised depending on its perpetrator indeed as our Speaker of the House showed after teifing his clients money for 14 years it just in who you are.

Doing the right thing is obviously not a characteristic of the human race so the next best thing will be these laws that, since they are made by the same flawed humans, will be woefully inadequate to the serious task of managing overactive willies and pokkerts

12. Women are owed reparations

13. I do not think most men are thinking through to the ultimate consequences of sexual harassment legislation.
    One of the effects of this legislation is to remake the workplace according to the preferences of women. If men enjoy discussing sexual subjects or events during mid-morning work breaks, but women do not, then men must surrender their preferences to those of women. If men relax best by listening to the sexually aggressive lyrics of rap music during work trips to the field, but women find this disturbing, the men must give up what works for them and accept the punishment of listening to some terrible rant from Rihanna instead, because that is what the women want.If men who must write code (or management reports) for a living seek comfort and inspiration in the naked female form, but women object to the Playboy Playmates they post on their cubicles, the men must take down their posters and find ways to work without inspiration.
    We have seen what happens when women rule. In secondary and tertiary education, the substitution of female values for male values in the classroom has undermined the academic performance of men. Even though men have invented nearly everything we call modern technology, and written nearly everything accepted as great literature, males are struggling today to compete with the Sixth Form girls or maintain their enrollment in universities.Great institutions of learning are now dominated and controlled by obviously second-rate women, who are unlikely to be able to reproduce, renew or extend the past accomplishments of men.
    We are guaranteeing our own decline and future misery.

14. For too long women did not have a voice on matters of concern to their personnel well being. Women were supposed to keep silent in a male dominated enviroment of rules and standards defined by men.Now that the plaster is removed from those sores that were allowed to fester what has been revealed are deep cuts of pain and heart break reminders of a yesterday when women were told yes you can get the job”but first”
    Now that woman has band together for a cause of enlightment through legislation there are still some who have a commonality with a persistence embolden with pretense misrepresentation that woman should be faulted and all gains that women have acquired should be abandon

15. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999

Your sad misogynist rant is exactly parallel to the reaction of racist white people who fought against civil rights for Black people in the middle of the last century.
    They complained that civil rights legislation would remake the workplace according to the preferences of Blacks.
    *If white people enjoyed telling jokes about n
    ggers but Black people do not, then they whined about surrendering these entertainments to the preferences of Black people.
    *They alleged that white people had invented nearly everything we call modern technology, and written nearly everything accepted as great literature, (they were wrong) in exactly the same way that you argue that men invented nearly everything (you are wrong).
    *They fought against classroom integration using the argument that it would substitute Black for white values and undermine the academic performance of whites.
    *Racists still object to not being allowed to post confederate flags (graphic symbols of ownership, the racist equivalent of centerfolds) in their cubicles and public spaces for inspiration.

Far from “guaranteeing our own decline and future misery” the emancipation of women is strongly correlated with positive socioeconomic development in every category tracked by the UN. This isn’t rocket science— it’s obvious that any society that neglects to develop the brain power and productive capacities of half its citizens condemns itself to underdevelopment.

16. PLT
    (1) The academic performance of white males and females did not collapse when schools were racially integrated in North America.
    But the academic performance of males HAS suddenly and precipitously declined, as women and homosexuals have taken over the education profession and remade our schools and universities according to female values and priorities.

(2) The comparison you make to racism is pure BS. Women have never been murdered, enslaved or oppressed as a group by men. To the contrary, as a group, women have always been offered greater privileges, leisure, and protection from danger and death than men.

(3) Men HAVE invented nearly all of modern technology and the science that produces technology. The number of outstanding female physicists, mathematicians, medical scientists, professional surgeons, engineers, etc. is miniscule. In the history of Economics, there is only one truly outstanding theorist.
    Analysis of IQ tests and tests of academic aptitude have always shown that the brightest males are superior to the brightest females. Case closed.

17. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

It amazes me at the presence of akeyboard and computer in Chad’s cave. PLT is correct. The argument advanced for denying one group their rightful place in society is repackaged and moved on to another group.

Chad’s also assume that men is a monolithic group. I would not like to see any nude pics in the workplace; I do not want to hear your crass, lewd and sexist jokes with your buddies. In fact, with this behavior, it is highly likely that I would accuse Mr Chad of sexual harassment..

18. It amazes me that YOU have a computer, which is a male technology.

19. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ peterlawrencethompson September 10, 2016 at 10:26 AM
    They fought against classroom integration using the argument that it would substitute Black for white values and undermine the academic performance of whites.
    *Racists still object to not being allowed to post confederate flags (graphic symbols of ownership, the
    racist equivalent of centerfolds) in their cubicles and public spaces for inspiration.

Your thesis in support of the acceptance women and the institutionalization of ‘feminine’ values as an integral part of our social tapestry is rather interesting and indeed most welcome.

But what could be of analogously greater appeal is if you would display an equal amount of exuberance in fighting the cause for similar demands made by the LGBT community in backward thinking societies as were once commonplace in “the middle of the last century” in the now more enlightened countries.

As you quite convincingly corroborated Black people should be the last people on their god’s Earth to discriminate against minority groups of what ‘other’ inclination whether it be physical, sexual or otherwise.

Maybe your more informed and liberal views about other ‘oppressed’ groups could inspire the likes of Bushie, the five of nine Chad and the religious bigot GP.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999

(1) The academic performance of some males has declined in recent years, particularly in the Caribbean, and the explanation is simple: some elements in our culture characterize hitting the books as effeminate and unmanly. This stupid attitude dissuades boys from working as hard at their schoolwork as girls do. Stop making excuses for boys and men shirking their responsibilities and encourage them to take as much responsibility for their own success as girls and women are beginning to do.

(2) Women HAVE been murdered, enslaved or oppressed as a group by men. The rate of murder of women just because they reject a man’s sexual advances is high: take the case of the fatal shooting of a 22-year-old woman at the recent Caribbean celebration in Brooklyn; she simply asked a stranger to stop grinding on her, so he murdered her. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3777279/Tiarah-Poyau-allegedly-killed-J-Ouvert-telling-man-stop-grinding-her.html. Furthermore, until a few generations ago, women were not allowed to vote, women not allowed to sign contracts, the law allowed husbands to beat their wives and confine them at will, and all women’s property was transferred to their husbands if they married.

(3) It is amusing to see you swallow the propaganda of white supremacists. They argue from the same historical record that WHITE “Men HAVE invented nearly all of modern technology and the science that produces technology.” The historical record does show that white men are credited with nearly all inventions and discoveries; this is because white men not only wrote the histories, they systematically excluded both women and people of colour from opportunities that would threaten their dominance. The absence of women and people of colour from the records of historical achievement is an effect that is caused by oppression, not a reason to extend that oppression.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999 said “It amazes me that YOU have a computer, which is a male technology.”

Ada Lovelace, a woman, wrote the first computer program in the 1840s.

You might also be interested to learn that NASA depended on a group of black women to do the complex astromechanical calculations required for their moon program in the 60s, before digital computers were fast enough to keep up.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Great institutions of learning are now dominated and controlled by obviously second-rate women, who are unlikely to be able to reproduce, renew or extend the past accomplishments of men.”

If the females now in charge were second rate, they would not now be dominating.

Besides, most of the so called “accomplishments of men” are now seen to have been destructive and useless crap, obtained by criminal and nefarious means…..Tesla is one of the few can say he invented anything using pure intelligence, without stealing it from someone else or without a female supporting his efforts.

And Chad is well aware that the antics him and his chauvinistic friends get up to is not suitable in the workplace….the policies are set out by the shareholders of the businesses and distributed for employees signatures by HR, you agreed not to do that crap….why would he blame females for that…

… ..does he boast about his sexual prowess and experiences even though they are lies, in front of his mother or daughter, there is a time and place for everything. ..not many women want to hear that garbage…it falls under….too much information. ..in these cases, it’s too many lies.

All the talk of women controlling in Barbados, beyond the clasroom, is a myth, the best example, the parliament and cabinet are male dominated, always have been….and the island is steadily regressing.

“Women have never been murdered, enslaved or oppressed as a group by men.”

So what do you call protitution and human trafficking, which is mostly females…..36 million are trafficked as we type, it is modern day slavery.

Since it’s being said that it’s only the lawyers in Barbados can get away with rolling back social progress on a 2×4 island…someone told me it’s only the doctors in Barbados can get away with diagnosing people as healthy and the people drop dead days later.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/10/st-philip-family-in-shock-over-death/

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There was another female also writing code for government in the early 19th century….Chad’s bigoted hatred for women has him just sitting in ftont of his computer ranting away without evidence.

Many of us have female relatives with IQs in the stratosphere…who write code in 2016…particularly now that universities have added it along with Combinatorics & Optimization, I have a relative who is a wiz.

……particularly now that top universities, maybe 2 or 3 in the world 7 years ago, have added it to their curriculum, along with Combinatorics & Optimization….of course you may get a class with 30 males and 2 females but I suspect it’s becsuse many females are not aware that these courses exist at top universities.

25. The main reason boys and men are not doing well in schools these days is because the whole approach to teaching and assessment has been turned upside down to favour women.
    Male teachers have been run out of the profession, sickened by the demands that they turn into sissy therapists who must endlessly praise and encourage, but (almost) never discipline or offend their students.
    There is no time or space to explain the details of the way schools have been radically transformed, so let me give a quick example of the discrimination against males.
    It is well known that if you take students through a lengthy course of instruction, and award 100% of the course grade on the basis of an all-or-nothing exam at the very end of the course, men are very likely to do better, and outperform women, than if you divide the course credit into many parts, giving credit for weekly homework, class participation, term papers, and such, which always raises the relative performance of women. So guess how the feminists in our educational institutions have remade assessment practices.

As for the BS from PLT about oppression of women, just remember that millions of men have been slaughtered in every century of human history to protect territory for women to live their lives in peaceful serenity. How dare you make a fuss about the rare case or two of a woman who dies doublecrossing a jealous man

26. “Analysis of IQ tests and tests of academic aptitude have always shown that the brightest males are superior to the brightest females. Case closed”.

Mr Chad, do you care to refer me to one of these analyses? This statement seems at best highly dubious and smacks of a similar misinformed thesis based on race! And a case is not closed by asserting that it is…even if you did so in upper case letters.

27. who to choose ada lovelace or linda lovelace

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999

Your assertions about the relative merits of different ways to approach to teaching and assessment are mistaken.

Awarding 100% of the course grade on the basis of an all-or-nothing exam at the very end of the course is mostly a tactic to reduce teacher workload. Dividing the course credit into many parts, giving credit for weekly homework, class participation, term papers, etc makes the teacher work harder, but is much more effective in promoting real assimilation of the course material— it is also a much better analog of productive work in the real world.

Please produce evidence of the gender differential you allege, because Google Scholar can’t find it.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It is well known that if you take students through a lengthy course of instruction, and award 100% of the course grade on the basis of an all-or-nothing exam at the very end of the course, men are very likely to do better, and outperform women, …………than if you divide the course credit into many parts, giving credit for weekly homework, class participation, term papers, and such, which always raises the relative performance of women.

If the males are such high IQed geniuses. ..it should not matter ifnthe courses are divvied up into ittybitty parts or not….geniuses adapt to any environment or any challenging educational situations….there are programs fir thise who need a little extra time to evolve at their own pace.

I found out recently the NY STATE assessments frr grade school kids have been changed from the days my kids were at school. …yet it has not stopped the kids with high IQs, both boys and girls from from excelling and being accepted into gifted programs….that can open doors, so stop whining…..in a few years I will be able to tell you how my grandsons are coping.

30. Mr Cumberbatch

would I be unfair if I expressed some amusement that the Principal of UWI, a Professor in the area of Gender Studies and a mother of a son should publicly express concern and bewilderment that 66% of the enrollment of UWI Cave Hill is female?

31. Not all Ping Pong. It is a matter of ensuring a fair balance. It is not a gender war!

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999 asked “How dare you make a fuss about the rare case or two of a woman who dies doublecrossing a jealous man”?

A rare case or two? Actually, according to the United Nations, 35% of women worldwide have experienced either physical and/or sexual intimate partner violence or non-partner sexual violence. http://unstats.un.org/unsd/gender/chapter6/chapter6.html That’s billions, not a rare case or two.

3,066 Americans were killed in al Qaeda or Daesh terrorist attacks from 9/11/2001 through to the end of 2014. In that same time frame about 20,000 American women were murdered by their husbands or intimate partners. http://www.pbs.org/kued/nosafeplace/studyg/domestic.html. That’s not a rare case or two.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I must give kudos to the woman or women who damaged Chad…it’s irreparable….and am sure he has not met the worst of them yet…lol

Or it could be the pack mentality…he listened to equally foolish males for too many years of his life.

34. The gender imbalance at UWI is not new. Didn”t Sir Hilary Beckles maybe within the last two years ago report on the results of a study on male enrollment/application at the UWI?

35. I love to see talking points-based arguments get ripped to shreds by evidence. Chad must be an honorary member of MESA. His temerity, like MESA’s, is mind boggling!

36. Enuff

You are the biggest dunce on the thread PLT has produced no evidence. His nonsense about black women and computers is typical. Those black women were hired to do a large number of calculations. It was monotonous clerical work for people deemed to be dunces who could tolerate adding machine drudgery. They were not computer scientists.

Jeff
    is still arguing there are no racial ( and gender)differences in intelligence.I am sorry for you, Jeff. Just look at the distribution of SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE , LSAT, and MCAT scores for the last 50 years by race (and gender). I am black too but I can face the facts.

Of course, women and their allies have used clever tricks to hide the fact that men outnumber women at the upper end of the intelligence scale. They dispute everything, but I suggest you start your reading with

Ian Deary, Paul Irwing, Geoff Der and Timothy Bates (2007), “Brogger-Sister Differences in the g factor in in

37. “Ian Deary, Paul Irwing, Geoff Der and Timothy Bates (2007), “Brogger-Sister Differences in the g factor in in…”

Chad, if that is the title of their article, it disproves your point absolutely!

38. Chad
    I accept my duncehood.
    It would be interesting though to know the results in Bdos for CE, CXC etc based on race and gender, and even socio-economic background, home environment, class size etc. Why go to SAT, GMAT etc?

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999

Thanks for the link to the research Brother–sister differences in the g factor in intelligence: Analysis of full, opposite-sex siblings from the NLSY1979 Ian J. Deary, Paul Irwing, Geoff Der, Timothy C. Bates.
    http://subjectpool.com/ed_papers/2007/Deary2007Intelligence451-456_Brother_sister_sex_differences.pdf

It’s interesting, but inconclusive. As the authors themselves point out at the end of the article “Thus, it will remain methodologically difficult to ascertain the nature and causes of any sex differences in abilities among adults.”

Their data equally supports at least two utterly different theses: (1) That there are more males than females among the top 2% in intelligence among young people in 1979 because there are inherently more smart men than smart women in the human population— or (2) That there are more males than females among the top 2% in intelligence among young adults in 1979 because the young women at ages 14 and 22 years have already been disadvantaged by sexist societal structures to this extent. There is nothing in the experimental design to determine which of these theses is correct.

Clearly you prefer thesis (1). I am convinced of thesis (2). I am certain that if we could go back in time, to the nineteenth century when sexist attitudes were much stronger, we would find a proportionally greater asymmetry between male and female achievement, thereby establishing that sexism is the controlling variable, not gender.

Since we don’t have a time machine we’ll need to repeat this type of study now, 37 years later, to see whether the male/female ratio among high scorers on IQ tests has changed with the changes in the sexist environment.

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff

Don’t let chad99999 mislead you. The women at NASA who did complex astromechanical calculations were not engaged in “monotonous clerical work.”

Katherine Johnson, for example, was a NASA section head who calculated the trajectory for the moon landing, as well as for the Shepard and Glenn flights—Glenn wouldn’t get in the spaceship until “the girl” (Johnson) had confirmed the male programmers’ calculations. She also helped devise a backup plan for astronauts to use the stars to navigate a safe course to Earth if a spacecraft’s computers went out—the Apollo 13 astronauts used this method to get home safely.

You don’t get to be a section head at NASA doing “monotonous clerical work.”

It’s well documented all over the web.
    http://observer.com/2016/09/meet-the-black-female-mathematicians-who-helped-nasa-win-the-space-race/
    http://www.nasa.gov/centers/langley/news/researchernews/rn_kjohnson.html

41. @ Chad99999
    Don’t you think that there were a few people back in Troy trying to deter the brass bowls there from accepting the gift horse too…?
    It is one thing to be overwhelmed ‘viet armis’, …but to welcome the enemy with open arms is typical of brass bowls…

Case in point.
    Jeff says ‘ It is a matter of ensuring a fair balance. It is not a gender war!”
    but….
    Recently there has been a hue and cry about the decline in marriages and the increase in divorces -with all the related implications about social stability etc.

Cuh Shiite man!!
    If you went to school every day with the girls you know….and watched as they all knock around from pillar to post with Tom, Dick and harry…
    You would marry one of them later….?
    …and even if you foolishly did….. how long will it last …with friends taking pleasure in reminding you of past events…?

True …it is not a gender war…. much worse…
    It is societal suicide…facilitated by aTrojan Horse called ‘gender equity’…. which is so much shiite that it is actually funny.

Anyone …who thinks that a REAL man …and a REAL woman are ‘equal’ must be blind, dumb, stupid ….and probably celibate.
    …and if we are so clearly DIFFERENT, on what basis is it logical to demand IDENTICAL preparation for success in life….? and identical rules of engagement…?
    ….Co-education is nonsense.
    What creates a success MAN may not produce a successful WOMAN….and vice versa..
    ….Configuring all workplaces for equal treatment of the sexes is a Trojan Horse…which is why hardly ANY men now teach in Barbados (some males…..but few MEN)

….Laws and rules MUST be in place to protect the interests of all persons, but Chad has a point about the overriding feminist agenda that has come to dominate modern western society – and which seems to be in synch with its demise….

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea

You sound so much like all the fine 19th century gentlemen of the Confederacy who were certain that anyone who thinks that Black and white people were “‘equal’ must be blind, dumb, stupid.” Same argument, different century.

43. Bushie does not argue with anyone who seeks to equate a discussion about MALE SEX and FEMALE SEX with black skin and albino skin…… it is just too idiotic.

44. PLT
    Pure sarcasm on my part.After all I am aware of the soon to be released “Hidden Figures”.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea

It isn’t like you to retreat without putting up a fight…

Black or white, male or female: these are both ways of categorizing humans. What is at stake is whether we should countenance discrimination on the basis of either of these categories. I say we should not.

46. In cases where the perpetrator is a female involved in the solicitation of sexual harassment on the male does the bill give any recognition to solution in such cases . Also since the gender relationships are now widely accepted as to be more than heterosexual does the bill give a fully clarity in a distinctive manner which would be accepted and less challenging in finding the proper solutions
    In reading the article it seems the basis on which the bill is formed in its entirety is on male to female sexual harassment cases but no provisions for other gender base relationships that confront similar acts of sexual harassment

47. Steupss
    How about tall or short; cute or ugly;…. are these not categories too…
    Bushie did not retreat … just not in the mood for arguing nonsense…

Men and Women are designed and structured with fundamental physiological, psychological and other differences. They are in fact, two different components that TOGETHER, can make up a whole human unit.
    Your petty emotional games about ‘racism’ will not work with Bushie …cause …in any case Bushie is probably a ‘racist’ anyhow – knowing as he does, that the the original and TRUE human being is BLACK ….and that all others are but derivatives ..due to genetic variations.
    …so who cares what some ignoramus thought about equality or otherwise…between blacks and ‘whites’?

48. For Enuff, Chad999, Bush Tea, PLT and others,

there have been many, many, many studies on the academic performance of boys and girls in the Caribbean. If you are really interested check:

http://www.ungei.org/resources/files/Gender-and-Education-biblio-final.pdf

252 pages of the many studies, over many years, from different countries in the Caribbean. Yet the Principal of UWI (who did one of these studies) laments the low enrollment of males and gives the impression it is mainly a matter of finances.

49. Paragraph 2 needs to come full circle today as ‘tradition’ has been replaced with ‘contemporary’ where women in ‘power’ are also sexually harassing men. Cater for that as well and I hope that men do speak out and file suit as well. Don’t be ashamed to get some of that easy money because that’s all it boils down to.

Para 4 is moronic . Isn’t the definition of harassment in itself the obvious answer of “NO” to this query since the act has to be on-going or recurring in order for it to be a valid claim?

Grabbing of genitals constitutes assault igniting a 911.

With the plan to make hetero-sexuality obsolete in the western world, women had better appreciate the little attention they get from what’s left of ‘MEN.’ At the rate we’re proceeding with all the rights for LGBT, trannies bis, tri and ???? the death knell for real MEN is just around the corner. The two major catalysts to reduce men to nought in society have been feminism and specious sexual harassment.

We women ought to celebrate our beauty and our appeal to men. We were made to compliment each other. For it was the sheer beauty and sexual appeal of our fore-mothers that brought the Nephilim to this planet to copulate with them.

No one group or ethnicity has a lock down on bogus IQ or genius and to say that men are of a higher intelligence than women is absolute tosh. Real men and women compliment each other. Just examine the left and right or male and female hemispheres of the brain. Today black people are dormant in a state of intellectual stupor because we have lost our way. Mathematics, Sciences, Philosophy, Agriculture, Engineering, Societal Organization etc are not an invention of the white man, these all came out of the Mind of the Black Man and his Woman.

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea said “How about tall or short; cute or ugly;…. are these not categories too…”

Exactly! Should we countenance discrimination on the basis of any of these categories. I say we should not.