Barbados Advocate Editorial brings into focus the challenge that will come if the Sexual Harassment (Prevention) Bill is proclaimed in the existing text.

mesaFor all the gender neutrality of its express provisions, a statute that provides protection against sexual harassment, such as the local draft Sexual Harassment (Prevention) Bill, now in public circulation, may still be popularly regarded as punishing primarily male conduct that is antagonistic to women mainly. There might be some justification for this, at least at the level of quid pro quo sexual harassment where relatively few women occupy positions that might be capable of effecting an advantage or disadvantage on a subordinate victim at work, depending on the latter’s reaction to the proposal for favours of a sexual nature.

Moreover, overt conduct of a sexual nature such as that covered in the Bill, including asking a person intrusive questions of a sexual nature that pertain to that person’s private life, making sexually offensive phone calls to another person and transmitting offensive written or other material to an individual is not traditionally associated with ladylike behaviour.

In this context, one may appreciate the eagerness of the local Men’s Educational Support [MESA] to be seen as solicitous of the male concern in the Bill so as to ensure some degree of balance in the final legislative document. To this end, MESA has been raising certain objections to the Bill in its present form. These have ranged from the querying the standing of a man wrongfully accused of sexual harassment to be able to seek legal recourse against his accuser to its discomfort with the specialist body appointed to hear cases where sexual harassment is alleged.

Most recently, the body has questioned whether a single instance of sexual harassment should suffice for a valid claim or whether it should be merely sanctioned with an oral or written warning before any claim could be maintained.

According to the Chairman of MESA, referring to the workplace“ It is here that acquaintances are made, friendships moulded, advances made, -accepted or rejected, courtships begun and families created. Many through first encounters, first sight, and first conversation…so we don’t think that the first incident should be sexual harassment, We are putting forward that any first incident should be noted and followed with a warning, after that warning sexual harassment proceedings can start…”

This approach is reminiscent of the legal position in liability for animals where there is both a strict liability rule where the owner of an animal is liable for whatever damage it may cause and the scienter rule whereby the owner is liable only where the animal has previously displayed a dangerous propensity, for example where a dog has already bitten an individual. The gist of the analogy is lost however, where some acts of sexual harassment are so egregiously offensive that it could not be seriously argued that the perpetrator thought that the victim might have been consenting to such an act.

For example, whatever might be said for the workplace being a place for initial romantic approaches, grabbing the genitals of an individual would scarcely be considered such and this act, whether first or later, should constitute sexual harassment on any objective criteria. If by first incidents, the Chairman is referring to polite invitations to dinner or a dance, then, even if the invitation is refused, there will be no need for a warning. This does not constitute sexual harassment in the absence of a previous warning that such invitations from the individual concerned were totally unwelcome and caused the invitee some consternation.

104 responses to “A Nettlesome Draft”

1. @ Ping Pong
    After these “many many studies on the academic performance of boys and girls in the Caribbean” what progress have we made in applying the knowledge towards maximising the performance of our students….?
    If ‘none whatsoever’ or ‘piss-all’, why would you think this to be the case…? The UWI principal probably (based on actually having a son) realises that the studies are all shiite…

Would you trust ac to complete a meaningful study into “the performance of political parties in Barbados and the enfranchisement of the political class’?
    …or trust someone who never heard of Lenz to design electromagnetic equipment for your next project?

These researchers have NO IDEA of the design intent; the overall plan; the desired characteristics or the potential pitfalls that underlie the concept of male and female sexuality in human beings.
    How the hell could they possibly make any meaningful conclusions?

Is there an executive summary or synopsis of the lotta tripe that Bushie can read …and hope to be proved wrong…? Did not see any…

2. @ PLT
    Boss, …you live in Toronto too….?
    …or do you just import your water from there….?

3. OK PLT …if you insists on talking shiite….

You don’t want to discriminate on the basis of cute and ugly…?
    …so you would give ac a job at CBC on the people damn TV?
    …scratch that …
    dey got some up there almost as ugly as ac… (but at least they are not unmannerly)

Allright!!
    Would you not give preferential treatment to tall applicants …if you were choosing a basketball team…? or would you pick Lil Caesar….?

…and Boss, when Bushie was looking for a partner, your ass would have been seriously discriminated AGAINST at the VERY start… no matter how much ‘equality’ you believe in…

This shiite is so BASIC that it is funny….
    WOMEN are NOT MEN…. and with some clear (and growing) exceptions, Men are not women.

COMMON SENSE tells us that we SHOULD discriminate on these categories. Bushie ain’t opening no damn door for YOU!….. nor is Bushie interested in chatting you up….

Donna….on the other hand…. 🙂

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea
    I’m currently volunteering for a Canadian development organization in Kingston, Jamaica.

5. LOL @ Peter
    thanks bro…..that explains the water…

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea

I would give the “job at CBC on the people damn TV” to the most qualified candidate, male or female, Black or white. The same with the basketball team; the most qualified candidates based on performance (Muggsy Bogues, at a towering 5ft 3in, had a successful NBA career that lasted 15 years). Likewise I would not have been in the running to be your partner, strictly based on performance; I’m just not up to the job.

I’m NOT arguing that men are the same as women. Men are not women and women are not men, we just require that they be equal in the eyes of the law. It still needs to be illegal to discriminate against women or men on the basis of their gender when it comes to pay, jobs, educational opportunities etc.; qualifications and performance are all that should matter.

7. Of course there are cases where women have sexually harassed men and even children belive Mesa should be more proactive in their concerns focusing for enon those instances which could help to strengthen their argument men and in the process give more attention to relationships that are not only heterosexual

8. So you agree that A is NOT EQUAL to B, but because some white people insist that it is the politically correct to do so, you will treat A identical to B …and expect to get good results…?
    BTW …who is this ‘we’ that “require they be equal in the eyes of the law…”? Somebody BIG..?

Shiite man!!
    You would have been a top permanent secretary in Barbados….hands down.

Bushie is almost afraid to ask what the Canadian white people you are working for in Jamaica telling you to do down there.??.. Skippa ..BE CAREFUL taking shiite to Jamaicans hear!!?? dem men don’t play … they are not brass bowls of the Bajan variety yuh!!

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea

You are confusing equality with sameness. Human A is not the same as human B, they are not identical, but for the concept of justice to be meaningful we (sane smart people) require that human A be accorded all the rights and privileges under the law as human B, i.e. that they be treated equally. It’s not really all that complicated.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Barbados parliament and Cabinet have been dominated by MEN and still are….the business and most other sectors on the island have been dominated by MEN…since the 1600s and still are….for over the last 400 years…and the island, economy and people have been steadily regressing….for decades, long before females entered the equation…..

……it would be nice if someone can offer an explaination for the regression. ….blaming females will not count, if you read this post twice or more, even if you read it fast.

I do not need to list the names of any of the MEN responsible for this damaging and destructive regression which really started 50 years ago, post independence…everyone knows who they are…..as far as i know, none are female…. at least not openly..

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“…and if we are so clearly DIFFERENT, on what basis is it logical to demand IDENTICAL preparation for success in life….? and identical rules of engagement…?”

This is where the Chads get too emotional and end up missing the whole point, in the Bushman, it’s excusable…he never admitted to living in North America for donkey years…in Chad it’s unforgivable and idiotic of him. ..because he has…

…..in the government ministers of Barbados…it’s criminal, because not only have they traveled on taxpayers dime extensively from post independence, but quite a few of them have children who are born in North America, read Brandfird Taitt a former minister of education…..and others, including Barrow…so they have been and are well aware, it has nothing to do with co-education, but everything to do with children, both boys and girls, who are capable…OR NOT, of developing and/or excelling at the same pace…and the responsibility of these ministers of preparing and making provisions for these instances.

Instead…the ministry of education…ALL MEN…at that time and still mostly MEN today continue to employ and force their own backwardness on the population of how they think things should be re educational progress instead of using reality…not all kids ,boys or girls excel at the same pace. …post slavery, boys were given opportunities while females were still under adult sufferage, not given the same opportunities for personal development….so naturally. …………………..

I leave you to fill in the spaces….I am not about to spoonfeed Chad or the Bushman.

12. @ WW&C
    You are EXACTLY correct when you blame men (and NOT women directly) for the failures of society …and particularly, for the clear and persistent decline we have been seeing for some time now.
    These failures are all related to LEADERSHIP ….or rather, the lack of it…. and this is a designed responsibility of men rather than women….who were assigned different – but even more critical responsibilities.

In the old days, when people were not very well ‘educated’, they tended to take crude guidance from SPIRITUAL leaders, who specified different roles for men and women … and who socialised boys and girls to fill those roles. IT WAS CRUDE…. and in need of refinement – like everything else in life.

Along comes the ‘educated’ (- like peterL), talking shiite about ‘equality vs sameness’ and proceeding to solve the problem of the crudeness of the spiritual leaders by treating everyone the same…
    …so make the boys play with dolls and protect them from every mosquito bite…
    …let the young girls run wild ‘a bit’ and explore their surroundings ..among the pimps and the pedophiles…
    …let’s put them all in the same environment ..and shake the whole lot…
    BECAUSE THEY ARE EQUAL UNDER THE LAW….

Now what RESULTS do you expect?
    ….not a lotta ‘she-she’ boys – with the gall to openly admit to liking men?
    …not a bunch of worthless girls that no man wants to make his children’s mother?
    …that skin-out all their privates on the road to Spring Garden, and at every fete…?

Where the hell will we find ‘LEADERS’ in such a scenario…?
    Peter Wickham?
    WeJonesing?

…and if the men have become sissies, and the women have become unsuitable to be mothers, is it not NATURAL that some of the brazen ‘man-women’ take up the leadership positions ….especially if the alternatives are of the ilk of Froon, Stinkliar and Lashley?

What we have is a self fulfilling prophesy of societal suicide, facilitated by a Trojan Horse called ‘Gender Equality’, which has been embraced by those among us who have been highly influenced by western (mis)education…..a process built around GREED ..and devoid of any reference to the FUNDAMENTAL design constraints of male/female relationships.

13. Yesterday, I had to abruptly discontinue one of my comments on this thread to attend to some guests who arrived unexpectedly at my home.
    Jeff seized on the incoherence of an incomplete reference I made (in haste) to a scholarly article. It happened as I was disengaging from the tiny cell phone keyboard I was using at the time, but Jeff is trying to make me look like an amateur blogger who is so unfamiliar with the research literature that I can’t write down a scholarly reference without screwing up. Shame on you, Jeff.
    Those of you interested in the subject of gender differences should know that women really do have the political clout around the world to prevent public acknowledgement of their inferiority. The private, not-for-profit organizations that create and administer tests of academic aptitude such as the SAT and the ACT have been attacked so fiercely over the years by the feminist lobbies and their powerful male allies, that they always discard any test questions that men answer correctly more often than women, and periodically revise and “re-centre” their tests to ENSURE that women, ON AVERAGE, do no worse than men.But even when the female median scores are adjusted in this way to force women to be equal, in most years (until very recently) there were still more men than women at the upper end of the distribution (of aptitude test scores) especially for the sections of the tests that measure mathematical and spatial abilities. These differences were sometimes large. However, according to feminist doctrine, women are not inferior to men, even in mathematical ability, so now we see some clever feminist researchers playing games with the numbers, and constructing new tests to show that women are actually superior to men.
    Even at universities such as Oxford and Cambridge in the UK, the effect of the feminist revolution of the 1970s (the Second Feminist Wave) has been a dramatic increase in the number of first class degrees awarded to women in the last forty years.
    In fact, throughout the Western world today, any important professor or academic department that awards higher test scores to men usually comes under sustained public attack by the feminist brigades until women are artificially promoted to equal status. Of course, if women are given higher scores in an academic subject, feminists applaud and support that result. So men can never win, and they don’t seem interested in protecting themselves from feminist onslaughts any longer.A pity.

14. Interesting exchanges many which we have had before in this forum. BU sides with Bushie somewhat that the role of a man and a woman is different and is meant to complement to harness the full potential of the family unit read defined as a man and woman leveraging the gift to man of procreation.

Recently some leading women in Barbados have been offering that professional women be paid to have children. There is a lot inherently repulsive in the suggestion.

15. Speckled fowl David BU and if you read the article with understanding the objective is to focus on sexual harassment on the job and not the meandering and nuances which have hijacked the premises of the article by bush shit and others

##jac a.ss

16. @ Chad9999 (bushie took off a ‘9’)
    Those of you interested in the subject of gender differences should know that women really do have the political clout around the world to prevent public acknowledgement of their inferiority.
    Boss, you have a way of seeing past a lot of the shiite that blind many of us…. but your methodology of making your point leaves a lot to be desired…

WOMEN ARE NOT ‘INFERIOR’ to men.

They are DIFFERENT to men.
    Men are better at some things BECAUSE WE WERE DESIGNED TO BE…
    Women are better at other things BECAUSE THEY WERE DESIGNED SO…

Careful analysis from a correct perspective will even show that the women carry GREATER RESPONSIBILITY for success in society, while the short-sighted albino-centric view tends to glorify the man’s role.

In making these strong, baseless statements therefore, you do more harm to your argument that good….and everyone loses…

17. Checkout page 12A of today’s SUN. A good example of gender tension and why great hypocrisy exist when discussing and addressing this matter.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman…I do agree with you and we do need to look at reality from an unblinkered view….and here is where your analysis is at it’s strongest…

“WOMEN ARE NOT ‘INFERIOR’ to men.

They are DIFFERENT to men.
    Men are better at some things BECAUSE WE WERE DESIGNED TO BE…
    Women are better at other things BECAUSE THEY WERE DESIGNED SO…

Careful analysis from a correct perspective will even show that the women carry GREATER RESPONSIBILITY for success in society, while the short-sighted albino-centric view tends to glorify the man’s role.

In making these strong, baseless statements therefore, you do more harm to your argument that good….and everyone loses…”

And if the leaders would draw on those strengths. …from both sexes, which are positives leading to progress….the battle would have been won…

But instead….it’s the bad education policies set by ministers imposing their uppity backwardness and doing nothing to upgrade the education system sufficiently….to make any significant changes or difference….they insisted on reusing repeatedly a system handed down to them over 50 years ago by the british…there should have been upgrades.

…..with new freedoms handèd to girls who came with varying abilities and intellects, but with both boys and girls needing programs allowing them to learn at their own place….which would leave the kids who have advanced skills to explore their limits…unimpeded. the bottomline…kids arrive with different gifts, skills, intellect and abilities, which the education system is supposed to recognize, shape and tap into.

The ministers never made the appropriate changes to match the ever changing times and progresses…and they are still too selfish and self-absorbed to care that an antiquated, archaic education system will cause the island to regress….not progress.

And here is why co-education is really not the problem, it has become really too easy to blame…but as we can see, billions of dollars in the same useless education model has regressed to human trafficking in prostitutes lead by the males who are now asking to legalize trafficking in young girls so the sex trade can generate foreign exchange.

Someone told me that minister of labor Byer told them to take it to cabinet for review, they said Club Rehab owners are also making the request, but one of the owners does not one to be named….ah wonder why…….someone else in Nation News said young gorls are selling themselves.

…….so we have arrived at the real problems plaguing the society….there are less than 100,000 school age kids on the island, it should not be a probleming upgrading the education system…it’s not rocket science….. as far as I lnow the only change that was made in 50 years was changing from the british handed down O levels to the useless, unless ya pursuing CAPE studies, CXC.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85375/pull-strip-clubs-tax-net

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85365/teen-sex-pay-increase

This is the approaching blight to the island..if this prostitution and human trafficking trend keeps up, in 30 years the island will have 2 generations of aging prostitutes, then they will have a real birthrate problem.

Upgrade the education system…and no one can prove how useless government ministers have become…each continuing or new social problem plaguing the society…..can be traced right back to government ministers.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85366/half-bus-fleet

20. @ WW&C
    If you grasp Bushie’s analysis of the problem, you would not be surprised that more teen girls are seeing their bodies as sources of income…… mind you, these are the high-fliers from the coed school system -who ‘out-do’ the boys throughout the system…
    These are among the 70% at university …and the growing majority in the workplace…

Perhaps you may say “so what”!!??
    Cause the men who went to school with them will not be marrying them anyway – not after “knowing them” as they have for the past ten years… not to ‘mother their children’… maybe as a ‘child-mudda’ or a kept-miss….

But this is the consequence of Jeff”s”equality”, and of peterLthompson’s being “equal before the law”…..
    There is a way that SEEMS right to mankind.
    But the END thereof, is the way of death and sorrows…

The problem with your analysis WW&C, is that in order for government leaders to make sensible changes to the 60-year-old educational system that they inherited, then they would need to be intelligent enough to understand what needs to be done….and why.
    THEY ARE NOT…
    They therefore basically copy what they see the white people ‘over and away’ doing….. and those albino-centrics are blinkered by the drive for a quick dollar….including selling their albino asses.

We rushed into ‘coed’ because the World Bank tied that condition to loans for a school building program back in the 70s.
    We dropped GCE for CXC so that hoards of useless educational officials in the region could get to spend millions of dollars reinventing a wheel- instead of just paying a few thousands to Cambridge to correct the shiite papers.
    Instead of GRADUATING from free education because our people have been enfranchised, and no longer need the handouts, Froon dropped it because he needed money to give to Bizzy and Maloney in exchange for election bribe monies.

No vision;
    No planning
    No reasoning
    No hope
    ….just spontaneous brass bowlery from clueless jokers.

21. @Bush Tea

The problem with your analysis WW&C, is that in order for government leaders to make sensible changes to the 60-year-old educational system that they inherited, then they would need to be intelligent enough to understand what needs to be done….and why.
    THEY ARE NOT…

It is not that they don’t now, they lack the WILL.

22. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

“these are the high-fliers from the coed school system -who ‘out-do’ the boys throughout the system…These are among the 70% at university …and the growing majority in the workplace”

Looking to find the source of this statement. Refuse toi believe that Bushie would set a straw man and then knock him over..

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The rot has set in Bushman……right there is the proof that education failed because post slavery, the intelligence beyond the “albino centric” hand me downs….was and is still not available in the leaders to achieve progress…..it’s all lost.

I am no prude, but just imagine what would happen if any of the unscrupulous in the 2 governments even consider the requests of the strip club owners….

……ehile considering though, they may want to remember that they are the same 2 governments who are strictly opposed to casino gambling of any kind…which really makes no sense to me because there is racehorse gambling every minute of every day, machine gambling, lottery gambling….am just saying cause I know politicians got short memories, particularly when faced with one of their money gods.

Just imagine how kids, both boys and girls, will be dropping out of school at an extremely high rate…just to sell ass….

……the way these IMPS for strip club owners are advertising this across the Caribbean and around the world…….just as though Barbados holds in it’s hands all the tools for the second coming. ..which is really the road to hell.

Oh I can tell you well enough that girls from the public schools have nothing on the catholic educated school girls, I can tell you, my daughters can tell you…if as a parent you are not strong, many of those girls already exposed to the world will carry away satan….and just imagine they get a more structured, better funded, more expensive, well rounded education, complere with discipline, than can be found in any public school.

That too…a real comedy of cockups.

25. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

A lot of our discussion seem to take place in a vacuum or in a land of milk and honey.

People are selling their body because things are hard on the island. If we were brutally honest we would admit that sex-tourism is a part of our industry and our festivals.

Let’s get real and put our vcollection of blinkers (party, religion, political, ….) inside of the garbage can.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

But…we also gotta take into consideration that the system also creates and engineers social problems which leads to prostitution. One being the very expensive cost of university tuition worldwide…to graduate….to get a better job…..to make more money…….which in turn creates high class call girls of the university educated variety who later become your doctors, lawyers, legislatures…corporate executives…etc..

The system can be the biggest pimp.

27. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

“They therefore basically copy what they see the white people ‘over and away’ doing….. and those albino-centrics are blinkered by the drive for a quick dollar….including selling their albino asses.”

Agree with this and the remainder of Bushie statement. Isn’t this post about a law that was cut and pasted from elsewhere?

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…….which in turn creates high class call girls and call boys of the university educated variety who later become your doctors, lawyers, legislatures…corporate executives…etc..

I failed to remember that the males are also badly affected by expensive university tuitions.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I find it peculiar that in all the hand wringing over the growth in Bajan prostitution by Bush Tea, WW&C et al, there has been much mention of what has gone wrong with young girls (or boys), but nothing at all about the culpability of the grown up men (and women) who are buying sex from young people.

I too deplore the exploitation of prostitution, but it is the buyers who are the more guilty parties. If you buy sex you should go to jail (Black or white, tall or short, male or female, Bajan or foreign).

30. The true cost of sexual harassment legislation will become apparent when local women start destroying the careers of the men making the greatest contributions to the economy.
    Then Barbados may literally have to choose between jobs and feminism.
    A recent high-profile case in the US is instructive. A former beauty queen sued Fox News after she was fired, claiming sexual harassment. Fox News settled the case for $20 million and fired the CEO, Roger Ailes, who was personally accused of propositioning the accuser. Ailes built Fox News from scratch into the most profitable news network in the US. It’s annual net income exceeds $1B, far more than CNN or MSNBC. And Fox has superior graphics and better policy debates.
    All that is now at risk because of a former beauty queen.
    Can Barbados afford to lose a capable factory or hotel manager to a female accuser?

31. “We dropped GCE for CXC so that hoards (sic) of useless educational officials in the region could get to spend millions of dollars reinventing a wheel- instead of just paying a few thousands to Cambridge to correct the shiite papers…”

Bush Tea, but that would be an albino-centric accreditation, would it not be?

32. Oh Shoot!

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999

Fox News spews the most pathetic propaganda of all the major American “news” organizations. You can be certain that Gretchen Carson’s allegations were well documented or Fox would never have paid her a dime. The were so embarrassed that they paid Ailes twice as much ($40 million) to slink away with his tail between his legs. The funny part is that the culture of abuse was apparently so rampant at Fox that even throwing all that money around to shut people up has not helped, and the revelations of sexual harassment continue to pour out.

It’s an object lesson not to let your valuable organization be run by an insecure little boy who thinks that his corner office makes him sexually attractive.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@chad99999

It’s an interesting coincidence that so many of the large American corporations that get themselves into trouble by having corporate cultures that incorporate sexual harassment, are also those corporations that exhibit the most overtly racist behaviour as well; Fox News, Chick-fil-A, Abercrombie & Fitch… Just one of those things that makes you go hmmmm.

35. As far as I can tell, there was no rampant culture of harassment at Fox News, just a normal sexual interest by men in women.
    But if feminism decrees that men must never show sexual interest in women at the workplace, even when employees must work very long hours every week, problems can arise.
    Once more we see the extreme distortions imposed by ideology.

36. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@Chad
    Depends on how you define rampant culture….
    There were no clubs or women being dragged by their hair, but

http://www.slate.com/blogs/xx_factor/2016/07/25/new_reports_of_fox_news_sexual_harassment_culture_are_unsurprising.html

37. @ Jeff
    Bush Tea, but that would be an albino-centric accreditation, would it not be?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Of course it is…
    Don’t be simple Jeff.
    It is an albino-centric world that wunna trying to succeed in… If we are incapable of reverting to our own destiny, then at the VERY LEAST we can seek to do THAT well….

Why create your OWN mini-albino-centric certificates …..only to find that all the big shots at our banks, at Banks, at BL&P, Lime/Flow/ or whatever…. and at most hotels DO NOT CARRY CXCs but international albino-centric certification.
    …while our shiite ‘CXC holders’ are the maids and gardeners….. and Mother-Sally’s….

38. It is a myth that “harassment” and “normal sexual interest” are the same. They are on the same level as rape and consensual sex!

39. A feeble response, Bush Tea.

40. There is no clear distinction between rape and consensual sex. In feminist doctrine, rape has occurred if the woman “feels” sex was non-consensual, even if this “feeling” takes a day, a week, a year, or 20 years to emerge. Women who seem to have consented at the time are allowed to subsequently change their minds and reclassify an event as rape. No doubt this is what got Bill Cosby in so much trouble.
    Similarly, in most North American jurisdictions, a single act of sexual interest can be interpreted by a court as harassment. There is no clear line between normal sexual interest and harassment.

41. @ PLT
    I too deplore the exploitation of prostitution, but it is the buyers who are the more guilty parties. If you buy sex you should go to jail (Black or white, tall or short, male or female, Bajan or foreign).
    Boss, so far you have not been sound on ANY of your doctrines…

Are you calling for a world without temptations? …where we can all live happily ever afterwards – like in the albino fairy tales…?
    Sorry!! Wrong world boss.
    In this REAL world, the objective is to rise ABOVE temptations ..and to become a better person as a result.
    It is called CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT.
    That fairytale model where we all live happily afterwards is misguided and misleading.

There have ALWAYS been (and always will be) dirty old men ..and devious young women. Sensible old folks protected their young girls by sending them to school away from boys like Bushie ..during their most VULNERABLE years…;
    …by teaching them VALUES about self-respect and family responsibilities;
    …and by putting the fear of god into any idiot who would even THINK of taking advantage of a family member …or even of another young victim.

You go around BU advocating that we ‘treat everyone the same’ under some law that you seem to respect, and now blaming the predators for taking advantage of your ignorance….

Boss … if you stop mowing the lawn, then weeds will take over.
    What do you do…? get vex that the thorns run wild…?

What are you REALLY doing in Jamaica though…?
    ..not promoting batty-man culture Bushie hopes…
    ha ha ha ha..

42. @ Jeff
    A feeble response, Bush Tea.
    …and you think that the original comment deserves better…?

43. Anonymouse

Slate is a propaganda mouthpiece for the Democrat Party.
    Women at Fox think they can exercise power over men and enjoy big paydays by accusing supervisors of harassment, so guess what. They are exaggerating.
    Read between the lines. Nothing unusual was going on at Fox.

44. Look Boss…
    A wise man will succeed in ANY WORLD that an idiot is able to create.

When Joseph (of the coat of many colours fame) was sold as a slave, he ended up in a completely different world to the one where he was the favoured son of a well-off father.

In short order, he was running things in this new cruel world…. so much so that the wife of the King there…wanted to have him in ways that she really shouldn’t….

Bushie speaks of the REAL spiritual purpose of life; …of the REAL value of the Black race; ….of the uselessness of wealth and material possessions; and of the fleeting nature of this ‘life’….and the unimaginable glory of REAL life…

At the same time, the bushman speaks of the folly of selling one’s birthrights for temporary pleasures (a pot of food); of allowing strangers to enslave your children ..out of greed; and of the critical value of LEADERSHIP if we are to make any success of this temporary, fleeting life.

It may well to difficult to follow the complex line of argument sometimes, but one expects such confusion from ac and Alvin…. not from the great teacher himself…

When we decided to put our eggs into the ‘education’ basket as a methodology for national development, we should have used GLOBAL benchmarks to ensure that the kind of quality we were getting, matched the best ANYWHERE.
    You do not win an Olympic medal by creating your own game and rules, but by beating the WORLD at their OWN game…and their OWN rules.

By creating our own benchmarks, we effectively painted ourselves into a shiite corner – where we could pleasure ourselves into thinking how great we were doing……. until the fan and the smelly stuff collided, and we found that it has all been worthless….

Can’t you see that soon you will have no one to teach…. no matter how many grade 1s and 2s CXC dish out….

45. Can one incident of harassment or offensive behavior constitute sexual harassment?

It depends. Quid pro quo cases may be considered sexual harassment when linked to
    the granting or denial of employment benefits. On the other hand, the conduct would have to be quite severe for a single incident or isolated incidents of offensive sexual conduct or remarks to rise to the level of a hostile environment. Hostile environment claims usually require proof of a pattern of offensive conduct. Nevertheless, a single and extremely severe incident of harassment may be sufficient to constitute a Title VII violation. A general rule of thumb is that the more severe the harassment is, the less likely it is that the victim will be required to show a repetitive series of incidents. This is especially true when the harassment is physical.

This is the US position, Chad 9(5).Ours, I submit is identical.

46. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea asked “Are you calling for a world without temptations?”

Nope. I’m calling for a world where grown up people rise above temptation without resorting to criminal activity. If they resort to criminal activity, and buying sexual services is criminal activity, then they get prosecuted and punished. Not complicated. Dirty old men are called dirty for a reason; such dirty behaviour has no place in civilized society. You are damn right we should blame the predators.

47. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@chadster,
    This story is in a very large number of papers/websites. Are they all mouthpieces?

“Nothing unusual was going on at Fox.” I think that is the point; sexual harassment became a part of the fabric of FOX. It was the usual……

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea

It puzzles me that you talk about combating the abuse of young girls “by teaching them VALUES about self-respect…” but make no mention of teaching their grown up abusers the same “VALUES about self-respect and family responsibilities.” Part of the teaching methodology should include incarceration.

You point out that “There have ALWAYS been (and always will be) dirty old men.” There have always been murderers and all sorts of other criminals too, but we investigate, arrest, prosecute and incarcerate them. What gives dirty old men special dispensation to abuse without consequences? (The answer is sexism, I know, but that was supposed to be a rhetorical question).

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@PLT your 2:44 PM is a bit narrow. A broader view may instruct that persons who dismiss the merits of Black affirmative action (to combat decades of White affirmative action), will likely also uphold a ribald, free-flowing sexual work environment; disavow that glass ceilings exist for women; excuse sexual discrimination against females in the military with a retort that they should not be there on the front lines anyhow; and on and on.

Chad is convinced that it’s Ok for a boss to tell a female employee that she should have sex with him and her and his life would be so much better and devoid of the tension and angst. After all we are all big boys and girls.

The real power players like Ailes and Carlson play million $$ games with this sexual harassment issue and cause real serious grief for lower level managers who have to be extremely careful when disciplining female subordinates.

Chad is right in that view when he asserts in essence that the true cost of sexual harassment legislation becomes apparent when women use it fraudulently and try to destroy careers.

No doubt Carlson used all her charms and intelligence to repel the flirtations and innuendos from Ailes. And no doubt he really wanted to share a glass of wine in her hotel…after the fact.

But there are rules against that and she outsmarted the old man.

This has little to do with Bajan managers unless they are as stupid and arrogant as Ailes.

What Chad forgets to tell the blog is that the man had been having various dalliances with his attractive female underlings over almost 40 years.

50. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Do I detect a preference for the albino-centric grades of Cambridge and London? Is there a faint suggestion that the grades of CXC are inferior to the albino-centric grades of Cambridge……
    Must be my imagination…