David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
David Comissiong

Does the erection of a 15 storey American-owned Hyatt Hotel in Carlisle Bay, abutting Barbadiansโ€™ beloved and world famous Browneโ€™s Beach, constitute โ€œdevelopmentโ€ for the nation and people of Barbados? That is a crucial question that we Barbadians need to grapple with and answer in this 50th anniversary year of our national Independence!

There are some Barbadians who believe that the best way to โ€œdevelopโ€ Barbados is to invite foreign companies to โ€œinvestโ€ in Barbados by either buying up and taking over existing local enterprises, or by setting up their own new business enterprises in Barbados and extracting profits therefrom- profits that they are entitled to transfer to their home countries.

It would appear that the writer of the recent Nation Newspaper editorial entitled Comissiong off target on Hyatt is one such Barbadian. He or she argues in the Editorial that โ€œforeign direct investorsโ€ are critical to economic growth in Barbados, and that foreign investors should always be welcomed since they โ€œprovide much-needed jobsโ€ and โ€œgenerate foreign exchangeโ€. The Editorial-writer therefore welcomes the idea of the American multi-national company setting up their towering 15 storey hotel on or near Browneโ€™s Beach.

I, on the other hand, have advanced a very different concept of Barbadian national development! In my recent article entitled Bajans Wake Up! You Are About To Lose Browneโ€™s Beach!, I expressed this concept as follows:-

โ€œWe (Barbadians) have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We donโ€™t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based on the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians. Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Browneโ€™s Beach, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Browneโ€™s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!โ€

And so, these are the two philosophically different concepts of โ€œnational developmentโ€ that we Barbadians need to think about and discuss in this 50th anniversary year.

The โ€œdevelopment by invitation to foreign investorsโ€ model is most associated with the Caribbean territory of Puerto Rico โ€“ a country which, despite its privileged access to the American market, is suffering worse unemployment and economic crisis than Barbados or any other English-speaking Caribbean nation! Too late have the Puerto Ricans learnt that the road to dependence on foreign investors is the road to even greater national dependence, lack of self-reliance, and poverty of spirit!

The alternative to the Puerto Rican model is a nation that strives to base its development on a population that is committed to thinking for itself, doing for self, and being its own unique self — a nation in which the people are encouraged (and facilitated by their Government) to get busy and produce for themselves, rather than to depend on some “foreign investor” to come from “over in away” to set up a potentially “alienating” enterprise to employ them.

No doubt, there are circumstances in which the establishment of foreign owned business enterprises in Barbados would be welcomed: namely, when the foreign enterprise would be introducing Barbadians to desirable new and advanced technology, skills and structures of production, and at the same time would not be doing any significant damage to our cultural heritage and identity.

Let us , for example, be prepared to seek out and welcome new “clean” high technology manufacturing enterprises to Barbados: but, so far as tourism is concerned, let us resolve to refine and perfect the beating of our own uniquely Barbadian home drums!

316 responses to “What is “National Development”?”

1. “Rather, the Caribbean must have its own programme of indigenous INDUSTRIAL development to which it can, selectively, add elements of foreign-owned productive capacity that will complement and not detract from the indigenous Caribbean industrial structure. And I would suggest that the foreign industrialists that we might wish to attract would be companies that are engaging in high technology industrial production.โ€”

But is this practical given our fragmentation, insularity and our inability to make initiatives like CSME work to the benefit of the people? how will we dispose of our products?

2. What is National Development
    What is Meaning of Life

Rasta Train is coming
    step it out of babylon

3. David August 9, 2016 at 1:01 AM #

โ€œDoesnโ€™t matter that there was little take-up by the public, OSA sold our national bank.โ€

You have conveniently chosen to comment on one aspect of my contribution, which does not surprise me.

I believe in being fair and balanced. NOTE, I mentioned Arthur sold 57% of BNBโ€™s shares to RBL and Thompson subsequently selling the remaining 35%.

Therefore, how can you conclude Arthur alone was responsible, when the evidence I presented clearly suggests both BLP and DLP administrations were responsible for selling โ€œour national bank?โ€

Additionally, if Barbadians believed BNB was so important to Barbados, why did individuals and the private sector not seized the opportunity to buy the bank when its privatization was first announced in 2000?

4. It was deliberate. Arthur sold majority interest in the national bank, Thompson issued a promise to fools. Where would his government have gotten the money to buy shares in Republic in US dollars? Clico?

From the EMERA sale? Get real.

On Tue, Aug 9, 2016 at 10:29 AM, Barbados Underground wrote:

5. BTW, dd he not promise to stop the BS&T sale? How legally woud he have intruded on a private sector transaction?

#getrealthiswhatpoliticiansdo

6. Well said David.
    Artax is one of the highly decorated snake oil salesmen / Economists, so he cannot see the FOLLY of Arthur asking Bajans to spend their savings to purchase a bank THAT ALREADY BELONGED TO BARBADIANS.

Some shiite HAS to be wrong with these economist jokers.

Can you imagine Bushie calling his children together and offering to sell them the family house …because he had splurged on luxuries like stainless steel whackers and BMWs?
    Only jackasses would seriously expect them to go and withdraw savings to buy what was already theirs …

Arthur needed FOREX. His shiite offer was on par with Thompson lying promises…. He basically sold the damn bank in order to raise some quick cash – PARRO style.

All our recent leaders have been acting like PARROs, based on the idiotic advice of snake oil salesmen /economists such as Artax, and the old joker in the Central Bank….

@ balance
    Good question Bushie one I often ponder about myself โ€“ could you please answer it?
    AGAIN? ..Steupsss ..
    If you were interested you could have been a teacher on the subject by now…

7. The bottom line being that if bajans like bush shit is so adamant and convinced about bajan ownership then take the mantle to the highest level by investing in projects that would serve the national interest of the country and self
    All the long sh.iity talk that comes flying across the Bu table adds up to a calculation of nothingness and jackassery
    And much worse is that so called intelligent keep pushing an agenda that none of them is willining to pursue which should be example that if tried and succed other bajans would follow.
    But rather blah blah all kinds of crticism of a successful model that have worked in international countries and carribbean countries
    The long and short of the story either a society is willing to do the hard work or use pretentious speak to arouse and intimidate and protest

8. David August 9, 2016 at 6:36 AM #

โ€œThompson issued a promise to fools. Where would his government have gotten the money to buy shares in Republic in US dollars? Clico? From the EMERA sale? Get real.โ€

I hope the above comments were not written in response to my previous contribution re:

โ€œArtax August 9, 2016 at 12:15 AM #: And after PROMISING to PERFORM the IMPOSSIBLE by RE-PURCHASING BNBโ€™s shares from RBL, Thompson subsequently sold to remaining 35% shares to the same BNB.โ€

If they were, thenโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

9. Wunna sitting on the island dont want to do sh.it so much so that govt is appealing to the Diaspora to invest in the island. What de hell does that say about the David BU and the bush sh.it that galivants as activist but have no real viable offerings.
    Not talking about long overdone solutions but galvinizng an interest of imploring people to invest in the country.
    There is enough shame than can be distrubted in this society when it comes to national investment

10. @ AC
    Who do you think would invest money under the leadership of people of your intellect?
    Do you think it is a coincidence that you can barely afford the weave you are wearing..?

Bushie is not hand to mouth….but would not invest ONE CENT to be controlled by an idiot like you …or even worse, …Stinkliar.

At least Arthur was coherent on some occasions… your people are permanent idiots…

11. Bush Tea August 9, 2016 at 7:33 AM #

โ€œArtax is one of the highly decorated snake oil salesmen / Economists, so he cannot see the FOLLY of Arthur asking Bajans to spend their savings to purchase a bank THAT ALREADY BELONGED TO BARBADIANS.โ€

@ Bushie

I have NOT MENTIONED in any of my contributions to the topic that I AGREED with Arthur selling BNBโ€™s shares, I simply presented the facts BASED on certain comments, which, in my opinion, were made based (more or less) on emotionalism. However, you and David CHOSE to INTERPRET my comments to suit your personal agendas.

But then again, Bushie, as you mentioned previously, I am one of those individuals who were not intelligent enough to pursue studies in medicine, law, engineering or even politics.

So wuh else you really expect from someone like me who โ€œSir Cave and his ilk provided an easy avenue for a โ€˜degreeโ€™ by which they could fulfill their โ€˜graduate in every householdโ€™ mandate?โ€

Sometimes, in this forum, it is not the content of the contribution and the context within it was written that is considered, it is the author. Iโ€™m sure if the esteemed Walter Blackman made similar comments, you would be the first one to agree with him.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David August 9, 2016 at 6:36 AM These lovely paper debates are always interesting for the highfalutin rhetoric. The words never gel with reality. So it’s doubly interesting to hear you asks to ‘get real’.

Is it ‘real’ for the entire BU ‘intelligentsia’ – yourself included of course – to extol the virtues of Commissiong’s self-investment philosophy vis the tourism plant and these hotel projects although – as clearly seen with the BNB , BS&T and Banks deals – the local investment class DO NOT take ownership of local ‘jewels’ when the opportunities arose years previously.

How exactly does that work, sir? Fancy rhetoric but missing decisive action.

There is a thriving and dynamic Credit Union investment class in Barbados so it boggles sane discussion to read the dismissive critiques of the BNB deal without the overall analysis of why it was not sold to the CUs. That in fact may be the ‘real issue’…and the ‘real’ corruption.

So the positions that there was a concerted effort to deprive a new class of locals from owning these various jewels, and/or that there was a need to join BNB to a larger international financial partner would have to be the second more important considerations after the desperate need for US forex. After-all, the forex needs aside the argument that privatization was ‘a sell-out’ lacks credence when we locals DID NOT take up the opportunity to buy the damn shares.

In a related even if not directly similar financial vein one can wonder why Americans would allow the Chinese to buy the ‘US brand jewel’ Waldorf Astoria, despite the ability of key US investors to forestall this sale.

So I simplistically sum the answer as greed to that and your other crucially valid point: Where would Thompson had gotten the money to buy shares in Republic in US dollars.

It’s all about the money and the perverse intentions (more money) of the seller isn’t it.

A minor aside. I read somewhere that many US presidents used the ‘Presidential Suite’ at the Waldorf over the years. But after this Chinese buy… that ends. Another property will host Presidents’ NY trips. No need to explain the LeCarre’s subterfuge reasons.

But these Bajan deals demand a better explanations, however.

The simple platitudes of economic non-theory, Credit Union practicalities not accepted and local investors shunning solid opportunities cannot be wrapped in the apparently token nationalism investment palaver…just as the billion $$ Waldorf sale can’t either !

13. @ Artax
    Iโ€™m sure if the esteemed Walter Blackman made similar comments, you would be the first one to agree with him.
    Let him make them…
    Bushie is waiting for his ‘blackman’ ass…

As to you, …you are a tough cookie, you can take the whacking ….
    you are somewhat like devil-grass, …yuh keep growing back tougher and bigger…

But now that the whacker get tek way, Bushie may put the ‘lens in your roots….
    LOl

14. de pedantic Dribbler August 9, 2016 at 8:06 AM #

โ€œIs it โ€˜realโ€™ for the entire BU โ€˜intelligentsiaโ€™ โ€“ yourself included of course โ€“ to extol the virtues of Commissiongโ€™s self-investment philosophy vis the tourism plant and these hotel projects although โ€“ as clearly seen with the BNB , BS&T and Banks deals โ€“ the local investment class DO NOT take ownership of local โ€˜jewelsโ€™ when the opportunities arose years previously.โ€

@ de pedantic Dribbler

his is exactly what I was trying to explain in my contributions. Your comments and analysis are spot on.

However, it seems as though David (especially) interpreted my comments on the BNB sale were made in defence of Owen Arthur.

15. What is missing from the discussion on the sale of BNB so far is the most important factor in the making of the decision to sell. BNB, being a government controlled institution, was being inefficiently run and was in fact losing money (whoever heard of a commercial bank losing money?). This was the most influential factor in the decision to privatize the bank.

The wisdom of the decision was borne out in subsequent years as the bank became profitable under private ownership and the government began earning dividends on its remaining shares, while, as a major shareholder, remaining in a position to influence the policy of the bank.

The subsequent sale of the remaining 35% shareholding spoke more to an administration that was desperate to get its hands on cash to the long term detriment of the country in that it threw away the government’s influence on policy making, not to mention losing the dividend income.

16. @ Dribbler
    Boss… why don’t you keep quiet nuh?
    Surely by now you have deduced that you are too far removed from the nuances of Bajan brass bowlery to fully comprehend the intricacies thereof…

Do you think that the Credit Union people here are IDIOTS?
    AC may be in a CU, but she could NEVER get on any committee…

Why would a Credit Union take up member’s money to purchase an asset that ALREADY belongs to those SAME members – through the Government of Barbados?
    That is the sorta shiite that Stinkliar, Froon, AC, (and apparently you) would do…. BUT NOT CREDIT UNION LEADERS …because they are not brass bowl idiots.

Now if the opportunity came to purchase Scotia Bank … at a FAIR price (considering the decades of exploitation they enjoyed in Barbados) – something which a VISIONARY Barbados Government could easily ‘arrange’ ….. THEN you could expect credit unions to be interested…

BUT…
    Only a jackass would take his own money to purchase an asset that he ALREADY owns … essentially handing cash over to the SAME jackasses who mismanaged the asset in the first place…

Do us a favour and stay in Canada …but stop drinking the shiite water they have up there…

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea August 9, 2016 at 7:33 AM re “…so he cannot see the FOLLY of Arthur asking Bajans to spend their savings to purchase a bank THAT ALREADY BELONGED TO BARBADIANS.”

Having not studied economics do excuse me for saying that your remarks are the type of textbook circuitous palaver that extols theory to the detriment of reality.

Who bought the family house? Are all the children’s names listed as beneficiaries of ownership in a will? How does child one get paramountcy over child 2 regarding her ownership rights?

And on and on we can go.

Why the house has to be sold is one problem. How that sale should be done or can be done is another matter completely.

Reasonable people can disagree on solutions to a problem but your suggestion dismisses one option and offers another that has limited practical credence…how does that work?

Yes. Mummy or daddy can call the children together and offer to sell them the family house if there are financial hardships โ€ฆ people eff-up all the time. Not you of course!

And one way to resolve the deep debt hanging over the family castle is to sell it first to family members.

If those fam members perceive that its theirs already – sans any legal standing which is the only thing that will be recognized – because of all the effort and monies that they have put into to it over the years then Bushie’s theory plays out…while reality bites and the house … …. …. and the bank and the brewery and the conglomerate is sold from under them

You do talk a very good talk, bro as always.

18. @ Inkwell
    Wait boss …. we thought that you had retired from BU after your last big pick….

Are you saying the solution to piss-poor, shiite management is to sell off the business to strangers who know how to manage?
    Have you EVER heard of FIRING the brass bowl idiots ..and recruiting COMPETENT management?

Have you EVER heard of a meritocratic approach to business management?

Where the hell did such idiotic thinking come from…?
    Don’t tell Bushie that YOU are a snake oil specialist too….!!!

19. Economics is a SOCIAL SCIENCE and cannot be reduced to exact equations. That is because an economic equation has the unpredictable HUMAN element factored into the equation. Anyone who believes that economic theories espoused by persons, however eminent, are as exact as a mathematical equation really does not understand what economics is.

So that a new brand name hotel, providing a few low level jobs and therefore a few immediate dollars must not be automatically considered national development which must be seen in the long-term. There will be a cost to acquiring these short-term dollars. The question is – will that cost outweigh the benefit.

In my humble opinion it will because it perpetuates a pitiful dependence on a massa to provide us with the crumbs that fall from his table. No massa is looking to save us. He is not even interested in a mutually beneficial arrangement. He is going to fight for the arrangement which benefits him to the maximum and us to the minimum.

It perpetuates the status quo. And it is that status quo that is killing us.

We need new thinking, not more of the same. It is a foolish man who continues to do the same thing whilst expecting a different result.

20. @ Dribbler
    Bushie only argues with you on the premise that you are not a fool.

As Inkwell said, the problem with BNB was BAD MANAGEMENT. It was probably the ONLY bank on record in Barbados that was making losses.
    How the HELL does the ‘solution’ get to be passing that bank over to strangers – UNLESS you are saying that Bajans are INCAPABLE of managing it efficiently.

…and how could a government that was spending the percentage of GDP on education as we were; that had HOARDS of other Bajans managing OTHER banks (for foreign owners) successfully (ask Inkwell) ; and that had the option to recruit FOREIGN MANAGEMENT as a last resort …. conclude that selling the bank is a ‘solution’.
    Not only that, but Arthur SEPARATED the REAL loss making Agricultural section of the bank before selling it off to the Trickidadians. After THAT change, ANY IDIOT could have made a profit, so essentially, Arthur HAMSTRUNG the bank, gave it a bad name, THEN removed the handcuffs and gave it to the Trickidadians….

If you don’t get this next point, Bushie DONE arguing with you…

The difference between SLAVES and freemen, is that FREEMEN pass inheritances and legacies from generation to generation, resulting in succeeding children and grandchildren seeing IMPROVEMENTS in life.

SLAVES focus on CASH (like PARROs), sell their birthrights for a pot of soup ..and succeeding generations continue to live hand-to-mouth on minimum wages….. or scotching under the albinos’ back door at the crumbs that they discard… while drinking their shiite water.

21. Bushie,

Apparently nobody here thought of that. It apparently is turning a profit because foreigners are in control. Boy are we in trouble!

22. Shut to F up bus sh..it no body talking about selling off a damn sh.it the hyatt is not a barbadian own hotel that is being sold to foreign investment.
    The fact is that you or no other person dribblling wunna shite have no other alternatives but have advocated the art of being doom and gloom salesman and proprietors of absoluely nothing
    When you and the socialist Commissiong can articulate and demonstrate that this society have a willigness and desire to invest iin the wholesale development of this country absence of foreign investment i would truly silent.
    Until then nothing is off the table that would push thus country forward into a state of financial stabilty and viabilty exculding the socialist and communist agenda

23. @Inkwell

The archives will show that BNB was making profit under Greenidge (not sure if the name is correct).

@Dee Word

The sale of BNB was to acquire US dollars. Now where would the CU have acquired greenbacks?

24. @Inkwell
    What is missing from the discussion on the sale of BNB so far is the most important factor in the making of the decision to sell. BNB, being a government controlled institution, was being inefficiently run and was in fact losing money
    What is absent from the debate is the lack of authoritative information on the making of the decision to sell the shares, if a business which ostensibly should be earning but is losing money the answer is not to fold up the tent and sell the business but to get rid of the dead wood (management) and bring in new people. As you noted the Bank made money after it was sold, so what was the difference in approach?

Then you veer into the political writing about govโ€™ts influence on policy making as a minority share- holder, really? Do eunuchs get to bed the women in the harem?

25. Bush sh.it u are just a joker bodly state u would not invest in your country. But would give free reign to investing in an enviroment controlled by commuist and socialist . your message is very cold and tells a story of an individual consumed by selfishness
    Yours is a story played out in many households by an individual who wants to control the rights of property but does not contribute to one damn thing

26. @David
    The archives will show that BNB was making profit under Greenidge (not sure if the name is correct).
    +++++++
    That would be Louis Greenidge

27. I am asking AC,the oracle of the DLP,straight out of George Street,straight from the horse’s mouth……point us to the legacy of Sleepy.What did he do to improve the lot of the country, Barbados.

28. According to a report I read, which was written by Hilford Murrel, โ€œin the four years preceding the sale, BNB had reported pre-tax earnings ranging from $16 million to $28 million and seemed on a sustained growth path.โ€

29. Thanks Sarge, BNB was saddled with sugar loans AND jobs were under the civil service and left little flexibility to hire and fire to compete with private sector.

30. @ David & Sargeant
    It takes a VERY SPECIAL effort for national bank NOT to make a profit…
    Usually, such efforts involve politicians making idiotic policy decisions; hiring yes-men (or women) whose only role is to find out what the minister wants done ..and how soon; and then handing out cash to their friends and family like there is no tomorrow.

Presumably, having sold the BNB to outsiders, all questions related to such ‘VERY SPECIAL’ efforts to make losses are now dead and buried…

@ AC
    What do you NOT get about bushie being rich as shiite….?
    That did NOT come by investing money with idiots and PARROs….

Apparently that also explains the phenomenal success of Credit Unions in Barbados… Good thing that Dribbler is up in Canada …and not down here on a Credit Union Board….

31. You have hit the nail on the head, David. The locally owned BNB was, de facto, part of the civil service, . And you know how that works. Government would sell the civil service too, if if could find anybody foolish enough to buy it.

Tell me more about that “big pick”, Bushie. How come I didn’t hear about it?

32. LOL @ Inkwell
    Boss … that is only ‘big’ from Bushies humble perspective. … run of the mill for you…

Don’t come with the ‘Civil service excuse’ either Inkie…
    Arthur IDENTIFIED that problem WAY back in the 1990s…and set up the Public Sector Reform ministry …. Darcey Boyce was involved (probably explains everything…)
    Waste of damn time – that ministry has become part of the problem.
    He also set up the “Productivity Council” – another set of shiite …paying a set of known jokers for absolutely NOTHING…

If HE has been UNABLE to do what he KNEW needed to be done at his level, then he should have resigned and let someone who could do the job take over….

MERITOCRACY!!!

Having FAILED as PM to achieve what HE identified as a national priority, he (nor you) can now come an blame the ‘civil service syndrome’ for the BNB give-away.

33. Not sure why this issue is being relitigated several years after the fact, it is all water over the dam. Everyone one knows the history of BNB which came out of the Gov. Savings Bank, yes it was run by Civil servants I think in its initial incarnation it was headed by Harry Lewis but they subsequently brought in a professional banker to run the show, Greenidge had experience with Scotiabank in Barbados and Toronto.

If the Govโ€™t wanted to insulate the โ€œCivil Servantsโ€™ from the technocrats it could have applied the same rationale as it did with the QEH establish a Board etc., employees at some banks are unionized but management is not.

As I said before when these decisions are made no one knows the back story we are all left to guess or respond to the occasional rumour. The Politicians never write their bios the Civil Servants involved never write anything, we donโ€™t see position papers, nada is the buzz word.

Someone once told me that BNB was sold so that Govโ€™t could raise money to build the Hilton, that makes as much sense as anything I have heard.

34. The story is being played out by the socialist and communist to prove that in a demicracy one bad investment is deserving of throwing out the baby with the bat tub which in my assesment adds up to a whole lot of shit talk

@Gabriel when last have u stood on the battle field of goverance.that is my question to you

35. LEARN FROM HISTORY OR BE DAMMED TO REPEAT IT…

โ€œThe manner of such relentless expansion of the erosion of our Liberties is explained by Alexis de Tocqueville in Democracy in America (1835,) having witnessed the often slow but persistent evil of Tyranny, eventually overwhelming nations:

โ€œThe State extends its arms over society as a whole; it covers its surface with a network of small, complicated, painstaking, uniform rules through which the most original minds and the most vigorous souls cannot clear a way to surpass the crowd; …

it does not break willsโ€”but it softens them, bends them, and directs them;`

it rarely forces one to actโ€”but it constantly opposes itself to oneโ€™s acting;

it does not destroyโ€”it prevents things from being born;

it does not terrorizeโ€”it hinders, compromises, enervates, extinguishes, dazes, and finally reduces each nation to being nothing more than a herd of timid and industrious animals of which the Government is the SHEPHERD!

The Servants have become the Masters, people.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BubBxsoCQAAPkaZ.jpg

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ David August 9, 2016 at 9:10 AM Since you made that post (to which I was going to append) I see that other rational grown-ups in your BU family, namely @Sargeant, has clarified perfectly. Like him I agree that the re-litigation, and particularly a very inaccurate and shewed one too, is very misleading.

As Sargeant noted, Greenidge was an experienced manager. As far as I recall at the time he was hired based on merit first and connections second (or maybe both same). BUT the point is that he – this son of the ‘famous’ Grinner from St. Giles Boys – was a competent banker. the Bushman’s meritocracy in action. And as Sargeant also pellucidly reminded us, the history of the bank was replete with government actions that completely retarded its ability to perform properly.

And as Artax noted (and as I also recall anecdotally) under Greenidge the bank started to show some muscle of profitability.

And yes Mr Blogmaster I do fully accept that “The sale of BNB was to acquire US dollars”. And I can also accept Bushie’s point that we should always strive to pass the jewels from generation to generation.

Alas then what is amusingly ridiculous is the pandering by Bushie to this all inclusive illusory class of Bajans who are just ‘brass bowling’ their way through life.

Owen Arthur made a call to inject needed forex at the time. We can lambaste his backside for that and then excoriate to death Thompson’s act to sell all the remaining shares but we just can’t make these simple platitudes about our economic life in some ‘brass echo chamber’ of unreal comments.

How can Bushie continue to herald the gains of his CU brethren and yet offer the rather incongruous argument that it’s some weird affront to buy shares in a bank ‘already owned’.

How can he offer up a very realistic family home purchase/debt example with the most unreal perspectives and solutions.

The brother gets away with some voodoo thinking that would make even Donald Trump sound like Donald Duck!! LOLL… (Bushie you can take it, I know)

So Bushie, I don’t disagree with you on retention of key assets for example.

We disagree on the realities that need to be done to resolve the problems. Your family house example says a lot about your thinking…particularly for a man steeped in a ‘union’ ethos of financial strength by the many for the many.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word

I was surprised when you got entangled with what i believe to be a correct perspective by Bush Tea of a man/family buying his/their own inheritance, which seemed like a refinancing, or something similar, of an item that is yours

The reason that we are always selling the family jewels is a very straight forward one.

We are a one donkey town and if that donkey has drawn water from the well 3 miles away for 50 years, THAT IS WHAT WE GOING DO, for the next 50 years, notwithstanding that a donkey’s life expectancy is 35 years.

I honestly thought that when the question was fielded earlier by MB that we, the BU family (hehehehehe I get that from the Blogmaster pun Sunday) were in a serious mode per diversification of our mono industry, one donkey economy.

I thought that you were going to take that tangent De Word but I was wrong, so de ole man going sit dis one out between you and BT

38. @ De Word (Dribbler is too tempting…)
    Let Bushie try to make this short and simple.
    National development speaks of a process of CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT…..of building a foundation; building on that; building on THAT…ad infinitum…

When a situation arrises where due to bad management, a layer of foundation is found to be faulty, it is NOT a ‘solution’ to MAINTAIN THE IDIOTIC MANAGEMENT making the mistakes while investing scarce resources intended to build the next level, UNDER THE SAME JOKERS’ MIS-management ….to f*** (foul) up even more of the development process.

The solution is to DUMP the jokers, Put competent people in place to correct the problems; and resume the building process….having learnt hard lessons.

Arthur (and Froon /Stinkliar/ AC / YOU… and others) called for Bajans to pool their reserves (intended for future building) and hand these savings over to the same FLAWED process that caused the failure at the foundation level in the first place.

Would you invest your personal savings with a Prime Minister who would appoint a chicken feed maker (who admittedly understands the intricacies of chicken shit) as the National Supervisor of Insurance when CLICO was running roughshod in town…?

…or to someone who signs a binding $700M agreement with a old white, homeless Canadian woman?
    …or a Central Bank Chief who thinks that foreign exchange rates are based on historical factors?

Steupsss…. Man wheel and come back…. and DEFINITELY ease up on the water up there…
    Just because we have been saddled with idiots for leaders is no excuse for ordinary Bajans to ALSO fritter their personal savings away…. Stinkliar will take them via taxes anyway…

39. AC
    So far one contributor who lives in the riding says neither Sleepy nor Richie did anything for the riding.In other words when in ’76 Sleepy won by ‘a pack ‘o cigarettes’,almost defeated by a young Turk Charlie Hinds,and when Richie won after Sleepy deserted the dems for the second time,Hamilton is saying the riding remained the same.But my question to you and the Dems remain unanswered.What is his contribution to the country Barbados which to quote Charlie….’can be seen with the naked eye’.

40. @Gabriel your comments are more revealing of yourself than what others have to say about Sir Frederick Smith. Think about that instead of using this forum to expose your sickening dislike for the late Sir Frederick Smith.
    As for your request of wanting an answer to your ridiculous question i can assure that there is no answer good enough that would satisfy your disdain
    for a man whose gave a lielong service to this country.

41. AC
    You should not interpret my question to entertain thoughts of dislike of Sleepy.I saw Dipper shooing away Sleepy on TV in ’86.Sleepy was not a trailblazer but people liked his candour ,
    forthrightness and his Bajan accent.Nevertheless,you have answered my question,nothing.

42. HERE IS THE REALITY. STOP SPINNING TOP IN MUD AND FACE THE FACTS..

VENEZUELA HAS CLOSED ITS BORDER SO THAT PEOPLE CANNOT CROSS TO COLUMBIA TO BUY FOOD.

THE COUNTRY CONTINUES TO SPIRAL INTO COMPLETE CHAOSโ€ฆ Thanks SOCIALISM!

WHERE ARE BAJAN’S GOING GO IN SIMILAR SITUATION EXCEPT INTO THE DEPTH OF THE SEA! WE HAVE NO AJOINING NEIGHBOURS WE CAN RUN TO FOR REFUGE.

YA THINK WE THAT FAR OFF IF WE CONTINUE TO ENTERTAIN THESE SOCIALIST/COMMUNIST VOICES?

THEY ARE NOT ABOUT REAL SOLUTIONS, THERE IS NEVER THE END GOALS, REAL SOLUTIONS ONLY IMPEDE THEIR WORK AND DESIGN. ONLY GOVERNED CHAOS OF DISSENSION PROPEL THEM FORWARD.

LOOK WHAT IS BEING FERMENTED RIGHT BEFORE OUR EYES TO THROW THIS JEWEL OF BARBADOS INTO DISARRAY AND REGRESSIVE THINKING WHERE BARBADOS WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SUPPORT ITSELF.

WHAT WE ARE WITNESSING HERE IS ENVY, WHICH IS THEIR CODE. THEIR OBJECTIVE IS TO SOW DISCORD, STIMULATE CONFUSION, ERUPT DISSATISFACTION, AND ENCOURAGE GRIEVANCE AMONG THE POPULACE OF BARBADOS.

THIS IS HOW THEY MOVE THEIR OBJECTIVE FORWARD. THEIR UN-SOLUTIONS PROPEL THEM FORWARD.

THIS IS THE PLOY OF THEIR RETROGRADE PHILOSOPHY. IT IS NEVER ABOUT PROGRESS BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT EQUIPPED WITH THE VISION GIVEN TO THOSE WHO ARE PREPARED TO MAKE RISK TO INVEST THEIR HARD EARNED MONEY.

SO THEY CREATE CRISIS FROM A DANGEROUSLY JUMBLED DISORDER, SCHEMING AS THEY ADVANCE THAT THE ONLY WAY IS BY RAPID INTERVENTION AND INTRUSIVE ACTIONโ€ฆ

HENCE MS. COLEโ€™S PREDICTION TO ‘ac’, THAT SAYS A REVOLUTION IS COMING. THEY KNOW BECAUSE THEY ARE WORKING TO ACCOMPLISH THEIR DEEDS. AND COMMIE SING SONG IS THEIR MAN.

THUS BY DELIBERATELY ORGANIZED โ€œEMERGENCEโ€, LIKE THE DEVELOPMENT OF BROWNS BEACH, OF THEIR OWN MAKING A โ€˜CRISIS EMERGESโ€.

ALL IT TAKES IS ONE CAMOUFLAGE COMMIE TO RISE TO POWERโ€ฆ PRETENDING TO HAVE BAJANโ€™S BEST INTEREST AT HEART, WHOSE ONLY TRUE OBJECTIVE IS FOR POWER?
    AND THOSE WHO ADVANCE HIS CAUSE HOPE FOR A POSITION TO RULE OVER THE REST OF US BY USING THESE CODE WORDS OF REDRISBRUTION, SOCIAL JUSTICE, EQUATABLE GOVERNMENT AND COLLECTIVIST THINKING. WHEN IN REALITY โ€ฆ

โ€ข REDRISTRIBUTION IS THEFT, WITH THEM STANDING TO GAIN THE MOST.

โ€ข UNDER THE GUISE OF SOCIAL JUSTICE EVERYTHING BECOMES AN ISSUE TO BE EXPLOITED AND DIVISIONS MADE AMONG THE PEOPLE WHERE THERE WILL SLICE AND DICE THE POPULACE SO THAT THEY MAY APPEAR TO BE DEFENDERS OF PEOPLE WHEN IN REALITY THE USE DIVISIVENESS TO OPPRESS PEOPLE AND KEEP THEM HOOD WINCKED.

โ€ข EQUATABLE GOVERNMENT JUST LIKE VENEZUELA WHERE EVERYTHING IS PRECEIVED AS ATHREAT AND THE HEAVY HAND OF GOVERNMENGT IS USED TO PUT DOWN PEOPLE.

โ€ข COLLECTIVIST THINKING IS USED TO DRAW IN THE WANA BE LEADERS BUT IT IS REALLY THE MAN AT THE TOP WHO MAKES ALL THE DECISIONS AND THEY HAVE TO LEARN TO LOVE IT AS THEY THEMSELVES WOULD BE PRECEIVED AS ANTIโ€™S.

HAVENโ€™T WE ALL LIVED LONG ENOUGH AND HAVE GAINED SOME WISDOM TO SEE THROUGH THE RIVERS OF UNCHECKED SPEWED RAW SEWAGE OFFERED UP TO US BY AS PURE LIVING WATERS, WITH A HOLY TINGE TO IT.

WHEN SUCH RISE TO POWER EVENTUALLY THEIR TRUE COLOURS EMERGE. EGREGIOUSLY CALLING FOR THEIR IMMEDIATE CONTROL OF THE VERY PROBLEM THEY CREATED IN THE FIRST PLACE.

ONCE SUCH GAINS THEIR DESIRE, A DICTATORSHIP EMERGES AS WE SEE IN CUBA AND VENEZUELA, BOTH OF WHICH DAVID COMMIE SING SONG ARE SYMPATHETIC TO THEIR METHOD OF GOVERNANCE.

BAJANS BEWAREโ€ฆ WE COULD BE ONLY ONE COMMIE SING SONG AWAY FROM VENEZUELAโ€ฆ

CHOOSE WISELY, BY THEIR FRUIT YE SHALL KNOW THEM AND WE KNOW OF THEIR BITTER FRUIT.

https://www.facebook.com/475549362567960/videos/939610279495197/

43. Amen Freedom Crier ..AMEN
    WELL SAID BY THEIR FRUITS YOU SHALL KNIW THEM
    HENCE BUSHY DIRECTIVE OF OWNING THE CU and controlling how the money shoukd be divy up .

44. Now the cat is out the bag a careful watch of these Neo Nazis should be a high priority.There language is dead give away of what they propose for the 166sqmiles
    There idea of solutions are one of Total controlled under the of guise of nationalism.Buyer beware

45. Oh shirt! What a tag team! What an unholy alliance!

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

pieceuhderockyeahright August 9, 2016 at 3:05 PM , I really have no quarrel with Bushie overarching demand for asset retention. None. I just can’t grasp his ‘jaundiced’ unreal world view re his house analogy. It was a real analogy. His solution was not.

Yes we can agree there was a need to refinance. Are you suggesting that adult children (or mature corporate players) cannot use their own resources to complete the debt relief needed for the family home.

Or as Bushie said: “Only jackasses would seriously expect them to go and withdraw savings to buy what was already theirs โ€ฆ”

How can it be ‘theirs’ if creditors are holding a lien????

Either we use more debt to manage the house refinancing or we use our own equity savings. That’s as real as real can be.

Now I don’t want to make this complex and get beyond Bushie’s example so suffice to say that it’s a nonsense in the home example to suggest that the current ‘inheritance due’ in the house should in ANY way preclude one of the ‘bequeathed’ children from saving the house and in so doing ‘buy out’ ownership then and there with their own cash infusion.

That was his ‘dis-position’. It makes no sense to me.

And back to what the analogy dealt with…BNB.

Similarly, the fact that the Government and thus the people of Bdos owned the BNB does not in any way preclude any of those same people or CUs from buying THEIR specific shares of the bank.

That is where the house example and the gov’t matter diverges but the point remains clear, I expect.

But this is an unwinnable wrangle with the Bushman…they all are LOLL.

His premise is really a fallacy. And one does not ‘argue’ a fallacy!

NB – For sake of discourse I am being VERY loose with legal restrictions re wills etc here, of course.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You notice um too?

Why is dem out to get Come Sing a Song?

What it is dat he do?

Let de ole man hallucinate a while pun dis one.

We dun know that Sand Nigger get unfair in some Havana/Venezuelan deal that affect them head, so that tek care of dat.

But the virulence of the normally just idiotic AC at CASAS ALL DE TIME!!! dat is to be noted.

Come Sing a Song does post heah sometimes and den doan come back for months.

AC never say nuffin four CASAS before.

So it mean dat AC got a body in the Hyatt Fiasco and dis is why she got Come Sing a Song in she craw.

It is true dat Come Sing a Song win dat case gainst Nit Adriel Brafwit but dat din too important, in the real sense of de word or rather while it was important to the dimunition of civil liberties like Sand Nigger talk bout in she Hitler Mein Kampf diatribe, it is not as important as the contra hotel campaign.

So it mean de following, one is not to watch Baloney or de white peeples, one gots to see which DLP Croney going directly benefit from dis 15 Storey elephant and dere you gots Legion’s connection.

Well so dat Legion doan ting dat de ole man and de Grandson sleeping here be a stoopid poster for her peeples

http://imgur.com/a/1jXp2

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Barbados’ most inept prime minister in 50 years Fumbles was presented a chicken during the Order of Roraima Award in Guyana for Barbadian PM.

For those who doubt this stoopid poster see http://www.stabroeknews.com/2016/news/stories/05/25/order-roraima-barbadian-pm/

The Paling Fowl, also known as Legion, is a BareNeck chicken breed of political yard fowl species know as Sucibus Poochibus which is latin for well I cannot say here.

Other paling fowls and avowed supporters of the leader of the Demonic Lying Party were in awe at the award and themselves are vying for one too foremost among whom are Alvin Cummins and Sand Nigger

During the award, the backward fowl AC/Legion “did number 2 on the hands of the current number 1”

The Prime Minister told reporters when he was interviewed after the Animal Farm Fiasco that “he was hit for shits, sorry that is a typo, six”

See https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2016/04/19/poster-offensive-launched-bajanswantchange/ for more details

http://imgur.com/a/FVGZT

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

50. @ Dribbler
    How can it be โ€˜theirsโ€™ if creditors are holding a lien????
    Which creditors were holding ‘liens’ for BNB, BL&P, BS&T, Banks Holdings…?
    Steupsss…
    You can’t be in church and chapel at the same time.
    The ‘houses’ that Bajans have been asked to ‘buy’ from themselves were not themselves in debt, but were mostly our star assets…. look at the VALUE of these assets IMMEDIATELY after sale….. shiite, Banks Holdings tripled in value DURING the sale…

Don’t you get it yet?
    We have been selling our best silver to strangers for a pittance …so that we can continue to fund our well documented brass bowlery….. LIKE TRUE PARROs…

Do you SERIOUSLY think that we would sell any of the useless, BROKE, shiite entities we own…? such as the Court system; the Productivity Board; The Office of Public Sector reform; CBC; the Senate; ….the damn Parliament?