Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

Walter Blackman the doyen of talk radio of the 90s is back!

An actuary by training who honed his skills in the business environment of North America for the past 21 years has returned to Barbados to establish a business of his vocation. Of note to the BU family is that he has declared an interest in being a member of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) by throwing his hat in the ring to be considered as a candidate in the next general election.

Here is a comment posted to Barbados Underground by Walter Blackman on the 29 June 2016.

I have always put my actuarial profession ahead of politics.

In 1995, I left Barbados with the objective of acquiring 20 years of actuarial experience in the USA. I intended to use that experience to provide quality actuarial services on my return to Barbados, which turned out to be 2016. 21 years. The timing of my return was strictly professional.

I incorporated an actuarial consulting company in Barbados called Actreks Partners. I have now assumed the role of President & CEO and am in the process of building this company.

A lot of Barbadian business owners are moving towards retirement and are not setting aside enough funds to adequately provide for their retirement needs. I design pension plans for business owners and advise them how much money they can contribute to the pension fund yearly. The contributions they make to their pension plans enable them to minimize or eliminate the company’s corporation tax.

Besides designing pension plans, Actreks Partners will be providing a suite of services, including risk management and business consulting, to businesses and Government.

If my company is successful, I would be creating long-term, sustainable, white collar jobs for Barbadians. All I want you to do is wish me luck on that one, rather than talking about going back to “Murica”.

On the political front, you are hinting that I am committing political suicide by sticking with the DLP, whilst Are-we-there-yet, believes that, like clockwork, my mind is systematically ticking and carving out a path that leads to becoming prime minister. These considerations have not even entered my mind.

This is how I see it:
If the DLP wins, I have to work.
If the BLP wins, I have to work.

It has always been that way for me. I hope you understand why I am not interested in hopping on a bandwagon…

521 responses to “Walter Blackman is BACK!”

1. @ Walter
    You are a good man.
    Your history has been solid; your heart is well positioned; and your intentions seem to be well placed.
    Many a good man has been made to slip by focusing on the end rather than the means. You may THINK that the “end” is having strong, intelligent, committed people in Parliament, but IT IS NOT. We could probably arrange that ‘end’ vi et armis …with a few dozen backers (given the joke that we have in the form of ‘defence’….. BUT THAT would produce even WORSE results.

What we need is for the collective society to be ‘DE-BRASS-BOWLED’. To be presented with; sold on; buy into; and accept a WHOLE NEW approach based on openness, integrity, righteousness, and togetherness…. THIS is what BUP offered.

What you are doing is similar to what David Thompson did when he felt lost in the opposition with the idiot Kellman…… He accepted a ‘guaranteed path to power’ … probably with the motive that once there, the end justified the means….

IT NEVER DOES…..!!

2. Two men endorsed you, one who is a brother in the cloth and another a brother in the trenches.

I am of the opinion that your fight would be best outside BUT the $250 is yours.

We Bajans feel passionately about our country so I will back off because they intercede for you.

The other lot are belligerent and they indulge in what is anathema to me, if you getting $15,000 a month avoid graft and corruption as seek diligently to do your job for the people who voted for you.

Downlowes and others like home should be the exception not the norm but some here believe that you can bring change from the inside I felt that after you stated that whether b or d won you would get work it meant that you could go independent too and live with the outcome while blazing a new path.

But yours is the choice.

I am committed to rid this country of the inept whether they be B or D, we cannot afford five years while such inepts try, and fail, to learn the rules of governing.

Build my country, I am for you, tear it down I am your enemy and that has no complexion, race or class. To understand my mind space look at De Pedandic Dribbler at 11.32 in his first paragraph and that of the Blogmaster at 12.01

This is not a test for law classes or moot, we are not going to get a second chance to do this one again ANR Robinson gone home for good.

Choose wisely Walter.

PS I was not serious about the my sweet piece remark that was a joke Walter, it was a play on the bracketed word and a barb at WeJonesing etc. I am vehement about a thing or a position but if I met Mottley tomorrow I would embrace her, I don’t do the grudges, I am a man and I understand the sin, and hate the sin, but until I am taught differently, I understand that you the sinner and I the sinner we are both created by GOD and if I hate you, then I hate ….

That is what my problem is, I am conflicted by a stance so I disagree with a point/perspective so, contrary to the modus of other people, it does not progress to hating you?

Your opinion and mine “diverge” but the GOD in me still sees the GOD in you, and though it is a stupid simplistic way of life it is my way since you are not that Evil Incarnate which comes

Anyways Walter I will watch and see how this strategy of Change will work for you and nation

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright July 3, 2016 at 11:30 AM
    “You know why Mottleyites WILL NOT COME HERE? because they too are fickle men who similarly being unable to deliver what the Nation needs, will be torn to bits here at the Somme that you have made and defended with you Maxim guns David.
    We cannot give quarter for our enemy of which Walter has shown himself to be one, will not give us any quarter!!!
    You think the Troika going let Barbados Underground live in its current form when she gets in?”

PUDRYR,
    Any move by Mottley or any other with similar intent would be making one of the (if not the biggest). mistakes of their political life. It would be the denouement of them and their dictatorial existence. There would be no deus ex machina in the form of brotherhood of the political mafia to save their sorry asses.

It is most hypocritical of the political class to ‘use’ Social Media when it is to their political advantage (like Donville and crew) but seeks to muzzle it when the same social media with its fearless two-edged sword is forced to expose shenanigans, corruption, cover-ups and even coups within the incestuous cartel.

BU offers a vehicle to those who are morally against the DLP (and in some cases downright ashamed as Bajans by the actions of the present incarnation of a former proud and philosophically appealing DLP) to be the real OPPOSITION to this disappointingly ‘failed’ administration.

The Opposition in Parliament is just the messenger to the ‘masses’ after being briefed on BU to go and run with the baton of opposition and censure to expose and highlight the lies, incompetence and corruption of the corral of political jackasses).

Any political party seeking to ‘govern’ Barbados and to exercise the will of the people must seek as often as possible to fulfil the electoral promises made to the people. Any consistently unjustified breach of promises would incur the ire of BU and the devil would take the hindmost to create collateral damage among those who deceive the people.

Unlike Naked Departure BU is not just a two-bit voice of exposure to wrongdoings in the management of the public’s affairs but a force to be reckoned with in its attempt to improve the country’s landscape of governance and to demand a real social and political return on the billions of dollars and immeasurable time invested in the Barbados’s social capital call education.

For BU to attract people of your intellectual stature and world of experience is indeed a big feather in BU’s cap. The list of contributors whose sharp intellect and life experiences is astonishingly mind boggling.
    Even Alvin C and the other “ac” the accredited cretin, his twin in ‘yard-fowlery’ of the highest paling pole, add to the great appeal of BU to underscore the all-embracing call in the famous poem “Desiderata” to allow even fools to have their say:

“Speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others,
    even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.”

4. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Donna July 3, 2016 at 11:13 AM #
    “I guess Walter does not need my vote. He has ignored my question which I know is a legitimate one, even if acknowledged only by the Huckleberry. I who voted DLP all my life but shall no longer, I who still will not vote BLP because I refuse to let them believe they have fooled me. I who promised to be your supporter if you proved worthy of my trust have asked a simple question. Alvin Cummins has clearly demonstrated that he will support a party in well-doing and wrongdoing. Is this the kind of supporter you seek?”

Donna July 3, 2016 at 11:21 AM #
    “My question speaks to the character of the man. Will he do whatever it takes (including embracing the ACs) to attain power? The fact that he refuses to answer me speaks volumes. Alas! Another politician! Make room for him in the egg crate!”

Donna July 3, 2016 at 12:27 PM #
    “Walter Blackman,
    Women make up half of the electorate. Tell me how you expect to win if you ignore the legitimate questions of women, engaging only the men who have been equally as unflattering? Are you relying solely on your good looks?
    PS. I have a very big mouth and I use it wherever I go. Your slight shall not be forgotten”

Donna,
    I know you will believe me when I say that I had not the slightest intention of ignoring or slighting you.

At the risk of being prolix, I will give you a little background.
    Any Barbadian deciding to run for public office today will systematically have to deal with the following lines of attacks that will literally spring up out of thin air:

(a) His/her character is seriously flawed. Just read a few of pieceuhderockyeahright’s comments.
    (b) He/she is looking for an easy way to gain power and prestige. Read Bush Tea.
    (c) He/she is on an ego trip. He/she simply wish to fulfill a lifelong ambition. Read Caswell.
    (d) He she is looking for easy wealth at the expense of taxpayers. Read Pachamamum and Watchman.

These attacks are intended to be destructive, so I hope you will forgive me for taking the time to deal with them first. Regrettably, taking time out to deal with them have delayed my response to you.

Alvin Cummins said that he is willing to support me. I thanked him and noted that some aspects of his character lead me to believe that I can reliably expect that support. Do you think I should have refused his support? Why?
    Is there anything I wrote to Alvin that remotely suggests that I “will do whatever it takes (including embracing the ACs) to attain power?”, If so, can you point me to it?

I note the amount of frustration you have been expressing at not getting a response from me within the time frame that you mentally laid down, not the one we agreed to. I note also your accusation that I have been “engaging only the men”. Finally, I picked up your thinly-veiled threat to use your voting power and “very big mouth”as a woman against me wherever you go. To my mind, I have done you nothing to deserve this.

All of these things represent microcosmic flashes of some of the risks inherent in the political domain.

Bajans ain’t easy.

5. @Miller

Even Alvin C and the other “ac” the accredited cretin, his twin in ‘yard-fowlery’ of the highest paling pole, add to the great appeal of BU to underscore the all-embracing call in the famous poem “Desiderata” to allow even fools to have their say:

“Speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others,
    even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.”

Now that was a bestial caricature of an elevated dimension.

6. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

pieceuhderockyeahright July 3, 2016 at 2:27 PM #

“But yours is the choice.

Build my country, I am for you, tear it down I am your enemy and that has no complexion, race or class.

PS I was not serious about the my sweet piece remark that was a joke Walter, it was a play on the bracketed word and a barb at WeJonesing etc. ”

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    Thank you very much for recognizing and respecting the fact that the choice is mine. I give way to all of the choices that are yours.

I swear to God that I will build your country, if only for the simple reason that I don’t want to become your enemy.

PS. By definition, the slightest reference to Sister Headley and Suzanne means that we are joking around. Everyone on BU knows that.

You are getting slow, “ole man”. LOL

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, re ‘ I am a man and I understand the sin, and hate the sin, but until I am taught differently, I understand that you the sinner and I the sinner we are both created by GOD and if I hate you, then I hate ……. [MYSELF, GOD, THE TRUE MEANING OF LIFE]”

Senor Pieces, no truer words were said. So if people come here and speak of God on sentence one and then display your admonishment on sentence two, three and four why do they wrap themselves in the shroud of faith and a God! To prove what exactly.

Rhetorical, no prolix required.

@Walter, re “All of these things represent microcosmic flashes of some of the risks inherent in the political domain. Bajans ain’t easy.”

People ain’t easy.

In a two variable spectrum world the average person is 5/10 hypocrite, 5/10 egotistical.

Those of us who blog and post (you and me included) vacillate at higher levels. The Jeff’s of this word are 8/10 ego and 2/10 hypocrite. Many others are the exact opposite. LOLLL.

@Bushie, from the other blog. So I ask you about faith and you answer me about Pieces’ faith in his glock! Classic.

I believe that bluntly answered the question although I would submit that his trust in his glock has absolutely nothing to do with the ‘faith and indifference’ about which I spoke.

But as you said it’s likely all about one’s perspective of some type of idiocy anyhow.

8. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Bush Tea July 3, 2016 at 2:13 PM #
    “@ Walter

What we need is for the collective society to be ‘DE-BRASS-BOWLED’. To be presented with; sold on; buy into; and accept a WHOLE NEW approach based on openness, integrity, righteousness, and togetherness…. THIS is what BUP offered.”

Bush Tea,
    I am all for restructuring and openness. If the two of us are pursuing the same national objectives, how do we make a start?

You can’t afford to sit down all of your life and “slap” Caswell around his head because he refuses to BUP. Ultimately, BUP is your responsibility, not Caswell’s.

From a practical standpoint, how do you propose to start de-brass-bowling the collective society? Actually, what do you specifically mean by de-brass-bowling?
    Do we establish some type of foundation? Not-for-profit organization? Think tank? Exploratory committee?

Help me with this one. What actionable steps can we take to put us on the road towards achieving the goal?

9. millertheanunnaki July 3, 2016 at 2:33 PM #

When i read that line i steupse

BUT it opened my eyes to the insulting manner of BLP hierarchy and their operatives thinking of people as fools . I wonder how many people these knuckle heads have offended causing others to distant and rather not participate on BU rather than be called fools
    Miller comments are typical of the ignorant intellectual snobbish boor who still beliefs that their level of intellect carries any importance
    News flash no one cares especially those of the dull or ignorant persuasion about what you think including yours truly
    However come 2018 our message would be loud and clear to you and yours kuncklehead

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman July 3, 2016 at 2:37 PM
    “Alvin Cummins said that he is willing to support me. I thanked him and noted that some aspects of his character lead me to believe that I can reliably expect that support. Do you think I should have refused his support? Why?
    Is there anything I wrote to Alvin that remotely suggests that I “will do whatever it takes (including embracing the ACs) to attain power?”, If so, can you point me to it?”

Walter, from some of your past contributions in which you did make the occasional reference to the ‘accredited’ writings of Shakespeare in order to underscore your political points and highlight their ‘analogous’ relevance to Life’s realities, I, therefore, have come to the conclusion you have been so fortunate during your seemingly productive sojourn at Waterford that you would have dabbled somewhat in the ‘dead’ language of Latin and, by a stroke of sheer luck, could have been ‘saddled’ with the task of translating the Aeneid by Virgil (not Broodhagen).

So here goes a piece of long-lost advice:

“Timeo Danaos et dona ferentes”:
    Or in lingua franca: “Beware of Greeks bearing gifts”.

To make the analogy rather relevant to the current scenario, just substitute Alvin Cummins and his mirror image “ac” for “Greeks” and you have a complete picture of what lies hidden within their wooden horse of deceit and falsehood.

Let us do a litmus test on the little “ac’s” pledged loyalty by examining the quality of oats with which ‘she’ has promised to feed her starving wooden horse.
    Walter B, are you ‘For’ or ‘Against’ the Privatization programme the present DLP administration has forcibly committed itself to but seems incompetently lazy at implementing?
    We shall soon see if “ac” walks next to you with a chalice of poison or her usual balm of hypocrisy.

Do you really believe you would be so boldly backed by those two ‘arch-cretins’ if you had been offered a deal by Mottley to run under her banner or her style of politics of inclusion called the ‘Covenant of Hope’ with the guarantee to not only replace the ‘on-his-way-out’ Pressy the Printer man in the riding which covers the area of your youthful days but also a plum position in her Cabinet to put into action the babbling words and empty promises of Dr. E Byer-Suckall? Well, there and then, the NIS (your current bête noir) with a magical Blackie touch will become your oyster pearl of social security unparallel in Western socialism.

Well, Walter, such an offer would have been even greater than those made to Jesus (Blackie) by the Satan (the Wicked ‘wicking’ Witch of Bush Hall) while in your wilderness of agonizing indecision.

But then again I am not against you but for you. At least you would make a more honest and committed leader of the Opposition in 2018 (or before) than that lying chatterbox and drunkard Dumbville from Pornville.

11. @ Walter

I started at 12 .15 to respond to you and, around 2 p.m. ! after a few phone calls., posted my comment and de “peace token”that was based on the endorsements of Dribbler and the Honourable Blogmaster just disappeared

and I had to write it again and posted at 2.27 .

I going approach this differently.

I don’t know if what you detailed in the Sandiford coup was an indication of whether you have a serious character flaw, that is your summation, not mine

I queried what (a) you specific plans for unemployed youth particularly those in the drug trade (I think since that was so long ago now I forgot)

My last question was if you would do the Sandiford Gambit again and why.

I actually was seeking to examine your character, your loyalties, you commitment, and to find out if you had a real real plan or another Pathways to Progress, you know the things that Bajans should be using to assess their man in the House.

Those fellows love fancy talk Walter and, up to the time in question, I was doing an exploratory mission to ascertain your “depth”

You notice how Mia’s “spontaneous brilliant speeches” are weakening? and she is relying on paper notes more?

Well what I was trying to do was see how deep your vision was based on what you were distributing for intellectual consumption and economic growth for a Barbados with Walter.

So I was trying to see if you could “think on the move” and be on the ball unlike the wavering LoE.

But since such skill assessment came over as my “casting aspersions at you character” de ole man apologizes and as per my pact with De Word and the Honourable Blogmaster I going lef dat and like I said “watch and see ”

@ The Anunnaki

I know a feller who know someone who say dem got some laws coming and some PRC similar practices to be employed and deployed

He say that “with all the social activist in BIM today dem want harmonious environments” euphemism for state censorship under the Troika

12. Miller do nt u have nothing else to do but to come spin the political top for the blp with them dumb jacjass questions that only a political yard dog would regurgitate man do yourself a favor and cook up a stew worth while of consumption and stop being an embarrassment
    Look country first ok end full stop

13. Walter Blackman

your perceived attacks of a,b,c,d on your July 3 @2.37 PM posting are the results of you (a design to concealed fake Walter PPK),trying to position, on a hollow range with bandits and started shooting from the lip and not honestly, will always draw returned fire, from the not so deceitful on BU, even your reply to Donna show fake.

14. Walter,
    I looked at the top of this page and saw that you have generated 211 responses. Good going. Certain people have themselves tied in knots.Wow!!!!. Up and On. Have to say you certainly stirred up a hornets nest. Not a bee hive. Will see how this progresses.
    Thanks for your kind words. There is a song that ties truest fame and high endeavour. You will know about that.

15. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

millertheanunnaki July 3, 2016 at 4:16 PM #

Let us do a litmus test on the little “ac’s” pledged loyalty by examining the quality of oats with which ‘she’ has promised to feed her starving wooden horse.
    Walter B, are you ‘For’ or ‘Against’ the Privatization programme the present DLP administration has forcibly committed itself to but seems incompetently lazy at implementing?
    We shall soon see if “ac” walks next to you with a chalice of poison or her usual balm of hypocrisy.

Do you really believe you would be so boldly backed by those two ‘arch-cretins’ if you had been offered a deal by Mottley…….”

millertheanunnaki,
    You and I know that regardless of what choice I made, I would have been cussed.

Nobody in Barbados can refer to the two of us as “bad boys”. Yet, if you chose to run for the B right now, we (two good boys) will get a combined cursing by everybody. Can you imagine that?

With respect to privatization, I hold the philosophical view that if a statutory corporation is heavily leaking taxpayers’ money, and its activities can create a profit for private sector operators, then it should be privatized. In this regard, some entities that easily spring to mind are The Transport Board, SSA, and CBC. Bids and all transactions should be transparent and an attempt should be made to transfer ownership stakes into as many Barbadian companies as is feasibly possible.

At the other end of the spectrum are those statutory corporations which, despite the presence of opportunity costs, are still operating with a profit. These agencies should be kept. Some Barbadians should therefore ask: “why was the Owen Arthur administration so quick and keen to sell off the BNB?’

I intend to gain a detailed in-depth understanding of the national risk that has been created to our banking operations by the sale of BNB, and the practical steps we can take as a country to manage those risks. That is going to call for hours and hours of discussion with the Wild Coot. As you well know, the Wild Coot is one of the valuable human resources I linked up with during my brief stint with the NDP.

From where I sit, I am not in any position to support anyone’s claim that government’s failure to implement a privatization programme stems from incompetence or laziness.

Let me give you an example. Suppose government hastily put CBC on the selling block tomorrow. Suppose CBC has a pension plan, and its employees have accrued pension benefits. CBC does not generate enough revenue to cover all of its expenses, so it is safe to assume that no one has been setting aside any money to fund these pensions. Therefore, CBC has unfunded pension liabilities.
    If you wanted to purchase CBC, how much would you pay for it? How can you come up with a figure if you don’t know what the unfunded pension liabilities are?

Before government starts a privatization programme, I would recommend that the unfunded accrued pension liabilities of all statutory corporations be calculated. That is a job that my Barbadian company can do for our Barbadian government.

You see how one man can make a difference?

16. Walter,

Good try, Humphrey! You still haven’t answered my question. I loved that show “Yes, Minister.’ My fun was to unravel the longwinded bullshit and realize that absolutely NOTHING had been said.

I did not ask you about political parties. I asked about you. Your admiration for what could only be described as chronic yardfowlism was expressed. So do you wish supporters who do not trust the electorate to make sound decisions based on truth? Do you believe we should be tricked into believing lies under the guise that we are too stupid to face the truth? Do you think we believe everything we read in manifestos? I actually laughed at David Thompson’s manifesto but still voted for what I thought was the lesser of the two evils. We are looking for a new way of doing politics. We wish to be seen as valued partners going forward not as idiots who have to be shielded from the truth because we can’t be trusted to know what’s good for us. If you plan to be part of the deception then show me where is the change you are promising? We must be able to trust our leaders so we can join in the great rescue that needs to be undertaken. Politicians, even you, cannot do it alone. You must take us into your confidence and tell us what needs to be done, how much pain it will entail but what benefits we will eventually reap. Most of us have long realised that we cannot continue as it is. If you condescend to us we will put you in the egg crate with the rotten eggs.

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

2 posts on the same topic I sent to BU last night, but a little earlier, also disappeared!

Coincidence? Or some E-trickery at work.

Perhaps the censorship has already started.

18. @Are-we-there-yet

If there was an issue your last post would have been zapped as well. Actually we found a post from Dee Word at the bottom of the spam bucket 🙂

19. @ Walter Blackman wrote,”That is a job that my Barbadian company can do for our Barbadian government.”

How will you deal with the apparent “conflict of interest” if you become an MP.

20. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

watchman July 3, 2016 at 5:53 PM #
    Walter Blackman
    “even your reply to Donna show fake.”

watchman,
    I get it.

Just for one moment though, let us assume that I made 100 replies, and out of these, there were 10 replies that you don’t like. That means you have found nothing wrong with 90% of my replies.

Could Lord, you mean that you couldn’t find it anywhere in your heart or mind to focus on and amplify anything positive I said?

What happened along the way that caused us, as black people, to become so nasty, slimy, and insidious to one another?

21. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Hants July 3, 2016 at 6:50 PM #

“How will you deal with the apparent “conflict of interest” if you become an MP.”

Hants,
    Like all conflicts of interest. I will declare it.

22. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Donna July 3, 2016 at 6:13 PM #
    “Walter,
    Good try, Humphrey! ”

Donna,
    Ouch. LOL

23. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

“Walter,
    I did not ask you about political parties.”

Donna,
    when you wrote:
    “Am I to understand that you regard loyalty above truth or to be more specific – party loyalty above national loyalty?”
    you directly asked me about political parties.

24. are-we-there-yet Avatar

The problem with declared “conflicts of interest” in many statutory corporations is that they do not necessarily detract from the conflicted party getting the project or the berry.

25. @ are-we-there-yet,

Surely Walter should be given the opportunity to bring transparency and integrity to the politics of Barbados.

26. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

“Walter,
    Your admiration for what could only be described as chronic yardfowlism was expressed.”

Donna,
    I believe that, intellectually, the two of us made a fork in the road right at this point.

You apparently view Alvin as a “chronic yardfowl” and are prepared to dismiss him contemptuously out of hand. As an individual who is not a member of a political party, that’s fine for you to do.

On the other hand, as a member of a political party, I have a basic responsibility to identify the party’s members and supporters who I expect to vote for it on election day. That information is extremely critical and will determine the party’s election strategy.
    Rather than seeing Alvin as a chronic yardfowl, I must see him as a priceless “sure vote”. A sure vote is an asset. The basic political principle being applied here is: The greater the amount of “sure votes”, the lesser the amount of support needed from independent voters in order to secure electoral victory on election day, and vice versa.

My roles and responsibilities dictate that my treatment and handling of Alvin must, of necessity, be different from yours. I hope you understand that.

In a similar vein, you might, for example view watchman and are-we-there-yet also as “chronic yardfowls”. I cannot. I have to see them as a “vote against”. A vote against is a liability. I have to find ways to identify or estimate how many “votes against” there are. These numbers will prove to be invaluable when it comes to tactical and strategic planning.

You can clearly see how membership in a political party can call for an adjustment in one’s thinking and outlook. Sometimes I will have to wear different hats – statistician, demographer, economist, sociologist, actuary etc.

27. @Walter Blackman

why put yourself in a conflicting position in the first place, Walter you knew 21 years ago what cause us black people to be nasty, slimy and insidious to one another, you were stump by it, a part of it and you wrote about it on this BU, your skill with numbers playing tricks on you to assume that 90 likes and 10 dislikes is a good score, I going back under BU cellar just came out for new batteries for the searchlight ,

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;

Yes! I think on balance that Walter probably would lap most of the current politicians in Barbados in the integrity stakes but declaring interest in a project does not necessarily eliminate deals that might involve conflict of interest.

The response that he would do like most others and declare an interest in the proposal is somewhat of a facile cop-out and might, IMHO, not fully endorse the spirit of bringing transparency and improving integrity to the politics of Barbados.

BTW; Perhaps I misunderstood you and Walter. Does anyone actually declare a “conflict of interest”? ..or does a person with connections or interests that might be construed as having the potential to develop into a conflict of interest situation vis a vis a project under discussion, declare that interest and the governing body, board, cabinet or whatever, then assesses the situation and in most cases adjudicate that it doesn’t constitute a conflict of interest. I.e Declaring an interest almost automatically negates a future conflict of interest claim.

Self declaration of a conflict of interest seems to me to be somewhat akin to pleading guilty a priori or taking the fifth. But perhaps I’ve misinterpreted the system.

But I think Walter is at least tangentially right re. the practice since AFAIK, the only action usually taken on such declarations in the Private and Public sectors in Barbados is for the person with such an interest to be asked to vacate the meeting room when the project is under discussion and returns to a fait accompli or choosing an alternative of privately discussing his terms with the Minister for getting a project and indicating that his firm should not be invalidated from getting the project. But I may be totally wrong about this.

Perhaps Walter and Caswell would deign to correct my misunderstandings.

Hants; yuh betta stop posing dese really probing questions for Walter and den backing back!

29. Walter I promise not to show any pique if you don’t respond to anything I write but it has been illuminating following this post and the individual positions taken by some folks

1) Some are unhappy with you for choosing the DLP
    2) Some are unhappy because you didn’t choose the BLP
    3) Some (mainly the purists) are annoyed because you didn’t join some theoretical BUP or start a movement of your own.

When Sutherland was being lambasted by critics on this blog, I wrote that politics was not for the faint of heart and commend you for taking on most of the negativity which has been coming your way. It shows you are made of sterner stuff which you will need because some of the words which you penned in this medium against some political fellow travelers will be repeated chapter and verse on the opposing political platforms as they are being rehearsed here.

References to Shakespeare aside, your position accords with that of some invading armies when they landed on an enemy shore the immediate cry was “burn the boats”, which effectively meant they couldn’t retreat and you have effectively “burned your boat”.

30. I attended lodge meetings with many DLPs yardfowls, and was not a yardfowl, a yardfowl must have a strong neck to keep picking, ask the ACs, on the top side the walter PPK must adjust and wear many hard hats with ear plugs

31. Consider what David Comissiong was able achieve for Barbadians as it relates to the Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations, 2015. And he REPRESENTED Barbadians WITHOUT being a MEMBER of the BLP or DLP.

This is exactly what I was trying to explain in my contributions on this topic.

Perhaps other individuals could take example from Comissiong and aspire to achieve similar objectives.

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sargeant;

Put me in the purist column. I think I treated with Sutherland and Walter on BU in a reasonably equitably manner. Neither Sutherland nor his surrogates responded. But eventually Sutherland realized the optics looked bad and acted accordingly. Walter responded in spades but left most of the relevant points untouched and politicized the others beautifully.

I think Walter is by far the best hope we now have of someone joining the fray who can make a distinct difference for the better in our political situation and I had hoped that that fact would shine like a beacon in the discussions here. But, in Walter, I think we do not have a David Thompson and we also do not have an OSA, the best of the modern politicians in Barbados even with his warts. I had hoped he would transcend them

Walter’s immense promise needed to be interrogated to get a real feel for his innate honesty. That is what I have been trying to do and what I think some others also tried to elicit. Soft ball questions will not allow for a proper evaluation of the man. The questions that are avoided tell a truer story than the ones that are hit for six in a very foreseeable manner.

I wish Walter well.

I done! I’ve seen enough!

33. Agreed with your analysis AWTY.
    Bushie actually thinks that Walter is to valuable to risk being contaminated by either the DLP OR BLP shiite hounds…
    Pissing out from the tent will be a lot trickier than he thinks… when that tent contains rotting skeletons from CLICO to IONICS, SBRC, finger-printing and CAHILL. Even if he makes good progress in that regard, ..there is always the Machiavellian Maria Agard gambit available to the scamps…..
    But perhaps he is even better than Bushie thinks..and indeed able to pull of a Superman stunt.

@ Sargeant
    Sometimes the victory is in the battle itself – and not the spoils.

34. Bush Tea July 3, 2016 at 11:47 PM #

“Bushie actually thinks that Walter is too valuable to risk being contaminated by either the DLP OR BLP shiite hounds…”

@ Bushie

Bravo, Bushie, EXACTLY…………….I could not have written it better myself.

Your comments are a concise explanation or précis of what I was trying to present in my contributions.

35. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman July 3, 2016 at 8:06 PM #
    Hants July 3, 2016 at 6:50 PM #

“How will you deal with the apparent “conflict of interest” if you become an MP.”

Hants,
    Like all conflicts of interest. I will declare it

are-we-there-yet July 3, 2016 at 9:55 PM #
    “Hants;

The response that he would do like most others and declare an interest in the proposal is somewhat of a facile cop-out and might, IMHO, not fully endorse the spirit of bringing transparency and improving integrity to the politics of Barbados.”

are-we-there-yet ,
    Before you come to class this morning, I want you to take a look at the discussion that went on between Hants and me, and compare it to the synopsis that you presented.

To help you reflect, I will offer a simple example of a situation involving conflict of interest.

Let us suppose that the objective of are-we-there-yet is to shoot down or suffocate anything that certain writers produce. Let us also assume that there is evidence to prove it.
    Let us also assume that there is this top position called “The Commenter”. The Commenter is responsible for giving a fair, unbiased assessment of all material produced by all writers.

Are-we-there-yet is offered the position of Commenter. He is therefore immediately confronted by two choices:
    (a) declare his objective to suffocate the output of ceratin writers
    (b) Remain silent

If Are-we-there-yet declares his objective, then a more powerful person, The Blogmaster, triggers a series of procedures that have been put in place to deal with such a situation. By declaring his conflicting objective, Are-we-there-yet started the process of transparency.

If Are-we-there-yet remains silent, (and especially if he uses his position to produce a report similar to yours), then he has placed himself in a situation of conflict of interest.

My advice to all Barbadian businessmen and politicians is this:
    Situations of conflict of interest can develop rapidly. As soon as you believe that you have become exposed to such a situation, declare the nature of the exposure, and let the established procedures handle it from there.

36. Morning Walter, stay of this post today, go visit BU archives

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Walter, you are doing yourself a grave injustice (in my view) by offering the type of esoteric commentary @ 7:46 to simple issues of integrity and transparency.

The imperfect scenario you offered is a rather mild form of conflict of interest. In fact one can deem it simple bias based on seeking personal glory. Surely if an editor (the commenter) suppresses commentary from others because his stated intent is to do just that, then he is biased and wrongly employed.

You have chosen a very convoluted example to effect a simple point. WHY???

To go to your substance that, “Situations of conflict of interest can develop rapidly. As soon as you believe that you have become exposed to such …”.

In real life Barbados any rapidly developing conflict of interest will be seen miles away.

Now the analogy….the fact is that you can see there is an accident at the Bussa roundabout as you approach but may not know that it’s your brother or wife or other relative until you actually get out of your car and get up close. That’s as pellucid as one can get.

If you are doing business in Bim as a financial planner the thing is that because the community is a closed loop so to speak you will likely – back to our car accident – recognize the car in the accident long before you get out of your car…or at minimum be aware that its the type car your relative drives. And in short time as you get closer your heart rate will increase because you can clearly recognize that this is definitely some one close to you that’s involved.

Conflicts of interest in Barbados are like that accident: seen from far away and then quickly appreciated as a personal problem. Now whether its a minor fender bender or hospital emergency type is another matter completely.

And of course in BIM it’s not so easy to use different roads when a major link is blocked so essentially you almost can’t avoid some conflicts and in that regard I accept your point “As soon as you believe that you have become exposed to such …”DECLARE IT.

Which of course your DLP have NOT done. In fact it seems they have caused the damn accidents deliberately.

So do leave out the esoteric and be straight-up.

38. @Donna,
    You wrote:…” You must take us into your confidence and tell us what needs to be done, how much pain it will entail but what benefits we will eventually reap. …”.
    Erskine Sanford did this, to his honour, but he suffered “the slings and arrows” even though he was proven right. There is a severe penalty, ably assisted by yard ducks, for the honesty and integrity called for, especially when persons from the other side start out from a position of scepticism and perpetuate the dissemination of disinformation, misinformation and downright lies, to scuttle the ship even before it is in deep waters.
    Because I support a political party; that I have been a member and supporter of, since the early years of Independence, does not mean that I support their every action or pronouncement. You judge me based on your preconception that I am dishonest, and therefore anything I say, or any position I support is deemed to be “yardfowlism”, a term that is very loosely defined. Is there a difference between a yard-fowl, and a yard-duck?
    I support, and will continue to support Walter; for many reasons, and I will also support the DLP, without fear, and despite what others think of me, because I know myself and can support my positions. I fear no one and have no reason to shift because others want me to shift. These positions are taken after careful analysis, and deep thought. Only last night I was reviewing a position I took in 2009 when I wrote a letter to the Advocate with relation to both the removal of the Emancipation /statue, and the proposed raceway at Vaucluse. I will post a copy in my next submission. I smile because it is now, again, in 2016 that this issue has raised its head. Interesting

39. Walter,

Oh I understood perfectly from the beginning. Any means to an end. Politics, the usual way!
    By the way, I did NOT ask you about political parties. I asked about what YOUR approach would be as a member of such a party. Not the collective but YOU.

P.S. It was just a test. I don’t really think you are a rotten egg. I think that you may be a good egg who will be scrambled and eaten by the real powers that be. I think that you are being naïve believing you can change that system from within. This is bigger than you unless you are some sort of magician.

Good luck!

Sarge,

Pique? He is running for political office. I am a citizen of Barbados. He answered the males and ignored me. If you were a woman you would understand. Heck, if you were a SMART MAN aware of the fight women STILL HAVE to be taken seriously you would NOT have made that comment. Thing is though, I know my worth and will not allow snide comments such as yours to go unanswered. Eventually I will be take seriously because I can give as good as I get.

Are you aware that on average men are still paid more than women for doing the same job?

Wait, I got a question for Jeff! I need to find out if a husband of a Barbadian woman still has to go through a process to acquire citizenship of Barbados, unlike the wife of a Barbadian man who has an automatic right to citizenship. So that I could be on the outside working my ass off to contribute to Barbados and a serial criminal could come out of jail after being a total drain on society get married and confer citizenship on an equally worthless wife.

Pique? You en see pique yet!

40. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Sargeant July 3, 2016 at 10:17 PM #
    ” It shows you are made of sterner stuff which you will need because some of the words which you penned in this medium against some political fellow travelers will be repeated chapter and verse on the opposing political platforms as they are being rehearsed here.”

Sargeant,
    My “political fellow travelers” know that I set standards and that I never follow a multitude to do evil. Taking into account, the interests of Barbados and the DLP alone, I have chastised some of my political friends publicly in the past for their “errant ways”. Worded differently, I have been occasionally forced to inflict some doses of tough love. Whatever position anyone adopts towards what I have done – whether it be “for” or “against” – that’s their right and their choice. My record is there.

However, my opposition to some of my brethren’s actions is a political asset.
    (a) If I could be so rough on my political brethren, how do you expect me to treat the BLP, my political enemies?
    (b) Everytime Mia opens her mouth to criticize the DLP, I can tell her:
    “Mia, you sat down for many years and never uttered a word about the wrongs that Owen Arthur did. You are a lawyer, did you not see anything wrong with him, as PM, cashing that CCB cheque for $75,000? Did you not see anything wrong with Owen Arthur stupidly boasting publicly that he, as Prime Minister, broke the laws of Barbados by hiring and paying illegal workers to work for him? Who ever gave him the right to break the laws of Barbados? Were you the Attorney General when any of these things happened? Didn’t you feel, as a legislator, that you have a responsibility to ensure that the laws of Barbados are upheld at all times? Did you ever get a wiretap on any of these occurrences?”

41. @Donna
    Your question to Jeff was an interesting one.

However, with over 1,000 lawyers and at least 40% of them being women, am quite certain that these legal eagles have already sought a remedy for this inequity.

42. Didn’t Erskine Sandiford first make sure that when the eight percent was taken from the pockets of civil servants and MPs the MPs would at least be back where they started? Artax, help me out here, brother! If we can see them sharing in the pain we will have NO PROBLEM!

43. Gazer,

How many of them are in the House of Parliament?

44. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

de pedantic Dribbler July 4, 2016 at 8:46 AM #
    “@Walter, you are doing yourself a grave injustice (in my view) by offering the type of esoteric commentary @ 7:46 to simple issues of integrity and transparency.

The imperfect scenario you offered is a rather mild form of conflict of interest.”

de pedantic Dribbler,
    I jokingly tried to see if I could get the point, related to a conflict of interest situation, across simply by using my discussion with are-we-there-yet.
    Given your feedback, it appears that my attempt flopped. My bad.

45. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Wait, I got a question for Jeff! I need to find out if a husband of a Barbadian woman still has to go through a process to acquire citizenship of Barbados, unlike the wife of a Barbadian man who has an automatic right to citizenship. So that I could be on the outside working my ass off to contribute to Barbados and a serial criminal could come out of jail after being a total drain on society get married and confer citizenship on an equally worthless wife.

Pique? You en see pique yet!

Donna. I cannot speak from personal experience since I am not married to a Barbadian woman…and I am a Barbadian by birth.

I seem to recall, though vaguely, that the law was amended some years ago to give the Barbadian wife an equal status of conferral of citizenship on her spouse as the Barbadian husband

46. Walter has a smoothness and a level of transparency that is good to behold.
    But this is the pre-election and on the campaign trail Walter.
    When do the ripostes end and the Froon like Walter( silent and irresponsive) emerge? After the elections?

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter;

I had hoped that I had ended my part of this discussion but I see I still have to defend my latest position that has been assailed by non-sequitor hypotheticals.

Let me give a true, real life, example of how a situation of possible conflict of interest was handled many moons ago. I was working as a mid level consultant / operative of a company that did a few small Government contracts. The CEO of the company was offered the appointment of Chairman of a statutory corporation by the MInister responsible for that Corporation. The CEO undertook to elicit an undertaking from the Minister that his acceptance of the position would not impact on present and future availability of projects in that corporation for his company. That undertaking was given under the rubric of an implicit declaration of interest and the new Chairman proceeded to develop, bring to his board where necessary, and win and then have his company implement a number of new projects designed by his Company which obviously would have a huge advantage and inside track on all these projects. Luckily, for my piece of mind, I was not directly involved in the conduct of those specific projects.

The system was presumably above board. My CEO declared a possible conflict of interest. The Minister presumably decided that no real conflict of interest was involved and essentially gave the CEO free rein to have his company develop and implement a number of projects for the ultimate improvement of the Corporation.

But I think, to most rational observers, there must have been conflicts of interest occurring that might have impacted on the ability of our competitors to get a toe-hold into doing a number of financially significant projects for the corporation.

This was in the time of a BLP interregnum.

Let me give you another one but a hypothetical this time.

Suppose someone who has little evident direct qualifications for membership of the board of a pre-eminent Government financial entity is appointed a member. Suppose also that a most unusual dividend is declared in one of that corporation’s funds. Suppose also that that dividend is paid to one of the companies in that member’s portfolio of companies. Would not a rational commenter sniff a possible conflict of interest even though the Board member would almost certainly followed the toothless protocol and have informed the board beforehand of the possible conflict of interest in that matter.

My point again is that the system for declaring, evaluating and managing conflict of interest matters is deeply flawed and your examples above have not convinced me that either in Government or the private sector do they reduce cronyism and several of the other ills that are rampant in this society. Therefore your suggestion that you would do like all the others and declare a conflict of interest rings hollow and does not suggest that you would put such small matters on your radar when you reach your political kingdom.

And Walter, I don’t want any job as chief commenter or otherwise. I am content to leave that job with Bushtea and Caswell Franklin who together serve the BU and its extended family with a vigour, acumen and superlative reasoning and presentation skills that are awesome to contemplate day by day.

And yes, Walter, you might have a teeny weenie point that I might have a penchant for digging at what appear to me to be inconsistencies in positions taken by some posters. It gives me an uncomfortable feeling especially where such posters are persons I hold in high regard and really want to do better to help us regain the position we once held in the Caribbean.

Please think carefully and go back and study the message not the annoying messenger

I fire de class!

48. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Donna, here are some of the questions you asked:

“Walter,
    Am I to understand that you regard loyalty above truth or to be more specific – party loyalty above national loyalty?

Will he do whatever it takes (including embracing the ACs) to attain power?

Is this the kind of supporter you seek?

Tell me how you expect to win if you ignore the legitimate questions of women, engaging only the men who have been equally as unflattering?

So do you wish supporters who do not trust the electorate to make sound decisions based on truth?

Do you believe we should be tricked into believing lies under the guise that we are too stupid to face the truth?

Do you think we believe everything we read in manifestos?”

Evidently, I did not answer all of your questions. Maybe some were intended to be rhetorical. Nevertheless, with respect to the ones I tried to answer, my efforts resulted in your final pronouncement:

Donna July 4, 2016 at 9:03 AM #
    “Walter,

Oh I understood perfectly from the beginning. Any means to an end. Politics, the usual way!”

I have accepted your verdict will move on. Thanks.

49. Jeff,

Thank you. Good news indeed! It would be interesting to know how long ago it was amended. I must check that out.

50. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet July 4, 2016 at 9:59 AM #
    Walter;

“The system was presumably above board. My CEO declared a possible conflict of interest. The Minister presumably decided that no real conflict of interest was involved and essentially gave the CEO free rein to have his company develop and implement a number of projects for the ultimate improvement of the Corporation.

But I think, to most rational observers, there must have been conflicts of interest occurring that might have impacted on the ability of our competitors to get a toe-hold into doing a number of financially significant projects for the corporation.”

are-we-there-yet,
    In your example, the Minister erred. The CEO’s declaration should have triggered procedures designed to deal with the situation.

I agree with you that “there must have been conflicts of interest occurring”.