Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

Walter Blackman the doyen of talk radio of the 90s is back!

An actuary by training who honed his skills in the business environment of North America for the past 21 years has returned to Barbados to establish a business of his vocation. Of note to the BU family is that he has declared an interest in being a member of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) by throwing his hat in the ring to be considered as a candidate in the next general election.

Here is a comment posted to Barbados Underground by Walter Blackman on the 29 June 2016.

I have always put my actuarial profession ahead of politics.

In 1995, I left Barbados with the objective of acquiring 20 years of actuarial experience in the USA. I intended to use that experience to provide quality actuarial services on my return to Barbados, which turned out to be 2016. 21 years. The timing of my return was strictly professional.

I incorporated an actuarial consulting company in Barbados called Actreks Partners. I have now assumed the role of President & CEO and am in the process of building this company.

A lot of Barbadian business owners are moving towards retirement and are not setting aside enough funds to adequately provide for their retirement needs. I design pension plans for business owners and advise them how much money they can contribute to the pension fund yearly. The contributions they make to their pension plans enable them to minimize or eliminate the company’s corporation tax.

Besides designing pension plans, Actreks Partners will be providing a suite of services, including risk management and business consulting, to businesses and Government.

If my company is successful, I would be creating long-term, sustainable, white collar jobs for Barbadians. All I want you to do is wish me luck on that one, rather than talking about going back to “Murica”.

On the political front, you are hinting that I am committing political suicide by sticking with the DLP, whilst Are-we-there-yet, believes that, like clockwork, my mind is systematically ticking and carving out a path that leads to becoming prime minister. These considerations have not even entered my mind.

This is how I see it:
If the DLP wins, I have to work.
If the BLP wins, I have to work.

It has always been that way for me. I hope you understand why I am not interested in hopping on a bandwagon…

521 responses to “Walter Blackman is BACK!”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David at 7:36 PM re “The NDP was perceived has a one man party, it was subsumed by the almighty image of the late Sir Richie.”

And for that very reason talk of a third party in Barbados under a ‘Solutions Barbados’ banner was always laughable. The larger than life, full-on-assault personality of a Dr Haynes is needed to get any traction whatever and infuse life into a campaign. And even then it’s still a very hard slog.

Blackman’s decision to go the traditional party route makes perfect sense seen in the light of a failed NDP.

Yet, commonsense argues that he will find it very difficult to change the corrupt ethos of the DLP in any less time that it would have taken him to build a new party and work into the Bajan’s confidence so that they learned to suckle from another.

Now one can conjecture that Walter Blackman if he is true to his stand of integrity and change may still just as likely become a 21st Cen. Richie Haynes and start a new party if this re-introduction to the DLP fails.

But the problem is that he would be quite a bit older than Richie when the doc made that leap and politics is really a young person’s game so I suspect he will be keen to achieve his DLP cleanse.

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Does the Prime Minister really listens to himself? ” Barbados did not achieve 50 years of independence by being mediocre “. Sounds like a comedian’s catch phrase. He should have added, “not counting the last 6 years”.

3. Colonel
    The man professes to be a ‘classics scholar’,in his case, pretence.Our understanding of that term conjures up the likes of a Grantley,a Hugh,a Tom,a Ritchie,an Oscar.He must be careful in his simplistic knowledge of pronouncing English words too.The cognoscenti would prefer to hear the word ‘exemplar’,phonetically sound more like ek’zem’pluh.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole man have sat here all day.

Between running the Bajans want Change Recording Studio and the Stoopid Cartoonsmost of the day was spent watching how the Walter BlAckman free blog was shaping up.

So de ole man watch de number of Posts, who posted, the content of the posts…

But more importantly than all of that I watched the responses.

For those who concurred with Walter he, post copying all of that posts responded with thank yous and platitudes.

But for every single query contra the Walter PPK, every single one, even the one that was not contra Walter, it was met with downright acrimony and retort!!

Now as de ole man tell wunna, I does “see” heart and listen “smell” which while being sensory impossibilities asks all of you to examine the archives pre this announcement of Walter s return and launching rather renaming of Barbados Underground to Walter PPK

I congratulate you again for you entry to the fray but my alter ego has seen you Walter for what you, post 21 years have become? Which is what you are.

I now return to my Stoopid Posters because, having tasted the ooolaid since I thirsted, I found myrrh.

I am now utterly convinced post 202 comments in 2 days that I caution all here assembled that “ye must seek another”

It is more though than this responses it is in the story that you told, the pejorative word being story, about overthrowing Sandiford.

If it is true it would cause me concern per your sociological experiments and if it is a lie, crafted in the absence of Remembrance, well Walter thou are to be feared in equal drought as Mia Amor Mottley Leader of the Troika in Waiting

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins July 1, 2016 at 5:56 PM #
    “Walter Blackman,
    I wish you well. I know you, your background and attributes. Welcome back to Bim.
    Ignore the Tormentors (and there are quite a few).
    Anything I can do to help you, I will, if only by spreading the word.
    Press on regardless.”

“Oh! What A Tangled Web We Weave When First We Practice To Deceive”

To one Walter, please heed the above advice embedded in the poem written by another Walter much, much older but whose message is still much alive and relevant in the world of politics as is Niccolò Machiavelli’s manual on subterfuge and elimination of obstacles in the ascent to power.

How can you accept any kind of support from any “AC” contributor to this blog without first protecting yourself from either a dose of poison or a stab in the back in true “Et tu, Brute” style?

Alvin Cummins, that johnny-come-lately fan of yours, has on all occasions taken a position which is completely contradictory to yours as far as the CLICO ponzi scheme (Cliocgate) is concerned.

Are we to conclude that: either one, you have removed the sword of censure from over the heads of Greenverbs Parris and his sidekick the thieving T Thornhill and ace documents shredder for robbing the poor CLICO pensioners and innocent policyholders of millions of their hard-earned savings in order to get the nod and much needed financial backing to run in the SME constituency; or two, Alvin C is about to do to Parris what Lord Fumble has done to Maloney by throwing him under the bus while denying ever knowing the law-breaker equivalent to what Simon Peter did to Jesus as the weathercock ‘crowed’.

Walter B, watch out for your new-found fair-weather friends in the “Acs”. They might just become your DC’s (dangerous comrades) when you need them most in 2018, or before.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Draught **

7. A young strong person Man/woman with integrity and the will, can achieve a third political party in Barbados.The winning cards are the women, motivate and include the women ( not like NOW) show all the Barbadian women respect in every sense, the men will follow, remind the Bajan women that over the years, most of the male politician from PM to backbencher only needed the Bajan women votes, to big then up, then marry a no Bajan woman but want Bajan woman on the side, showing disrespect to Barbadian women, why? have this present PM ever show respect to a Bajan woman or any woman? last election this PM tell the women my government will support all the children, until the fathers pay,

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

Sad! Isn’t it.

I really thought that you and Caswell had seriously overreacted and jumped to unjustifiable conclusions in your initial posts but the overall tenor of the to-and-fro in the 202 comments in 2 days suggest that you might have been prescient rather than “previous” in the calls you made.

I think that David offered Walter an opportunity to collar and run with the narrative and prepare a wicket for his big test at the constituency level but, imho, he largely wasted that opportunity by choosing to ignore the hard questions or statements from a number of us treating them as irritations rather than being substantive. Walter should analyse the implicit meaning of the number of “thumbs up” and “thumbs down” he got from the BU family that is not usually given to providing info for analysing posts to get a slightly objective indication of his performance on this matter.

But then he is dealing with a party that is not necessarily analytical so he might be on good grounds and well placed to secure the nomination and move “up and on”.

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, you seemed disturbed re “But for every single query contra the Walter PPK, every single one, even the one that was not contra Walter, it was met with downright acrimony and retort!!” WHY?

I read somewhere today (to badly paraphrase) that if you want a Sunday School teacher politician them Jimmy Carter would be your man but if you want conviction, a lot of nasty and forthrightness then Trump is the real McCoy.

Walter, is no Jimmy Carter! (Here we invoke that famous Dan Quayle is no Kennedy phrasing – LOLLLL)

And he certainly is not the first Bajan politician that sweet talks those who show him some love and tongue lashes those who don’t (Trump and Walter learned that from the Dipper, you think).

If you want nice and decent then Grenville is your man.

But where rough and tumble, in-your-face, rag-ma-tazz ‘Govistic’ Machiavellism is desired (posters and cartoon style) then the reality of a Walter is the tonic.

Nuff said.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt word

“There is a time to laugh and to cry, a time to live and to die”

The BU constituency provides a panoply of actors and actresses (a word btw that has virtually disappeared from the American vocabulary because of ignorance of gender vocabulary rules AND having to be correct politically)

It is obvious rather desirable to have a Sunday School teacher who will cut your behind periodically why after all “He Who Created the Sabbath” beat up the money changers in “His Father’s House” but he to whom it fell to save and redeem us all DID NOT LICK UP EVERYTHING EVERY SINGLE TIME EVERY THOUGH HE HAD INFINITE LEGIONS AT HIS DISPOSAL.

This is the face of the DLP in Walter’s first outing and you can colour it however which way you like I, Caswell, Are We There Yet and and others who engaged with the erstwhile seemingly calm and collective, fair, reasoned, resolute in the face of fire, now see rather are now fully aware of this “I have spoken” and much like Mia, “even before they are seated in the seat in the House of Parliament, they show the despots that they are, while touting their respective Covenant of Hope.

I sat at the table and I drank cool aid but in stepping away to relieve myself and my full bladder all then the other guest got was myrrh and the DLP styling of if you differ with my edict I shall give you a Walther PPK

You can remain at the table drinking but I dun wid dat

11. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

pieceuhderockyeahright July 1, 2016 at 10:09 PM

“But for every single query contra the Walter PPK, every single one, even the one that was not contra Walter, it was met with downright acrimony and retort!!”

pieceuhderockyeahright,

A definition of retort (noun) is: “a wittily incisive reply to a remark or accusation”.

I confess that I might have used a little retort, here and there, in these posts. There is nothing wrong with that.

However, so far, I would give the “Retort First Prize” to ac for writing this:
    “ac June 30, 2016 at 10:39 PM #
    PDYR ///Walter really got you all tied up in little knots wuh ole man if you keep up at this high rate of searching and finding and now calling on all and sundry for help you might have a brain aneurysm
    better yet stick to DEM stupid cartoons”

A definition of acrimony (noun) is: “bitterness or ill-feeling”.

Now, “my sweet Piece”, let us carry out a simple sociological experiment. For this experiment, we are not going to use “every single contra the Walter PPK”. We are going to look at yours only.

To start this experiment, I am asking you to identify or highlight one, just one, instance under this post, where I met a contra Walter comment or query from you with “downright acrimony.”

I did openly state that I intended to stand up to political bullies on this blog. If you want to accuse me of keeping my word, then I can live with that.

If you want to accuse me of not having good enough judgment to identify or define a political bully, then we can carry on that discussion under a different post.

12. i have sat in the pavilion for the past two days and enjoyed every minute of this matchup as the batsman strike every ball out of the grounds playing closely to the crease with masterful stroking striking every ball into wide open field and into the parking for six while pilling on a big score of enviable portions against the bowling of the great likes of balance!enuff ! watchman! Are we there yet! Dribbler !and others who are amongst the best bowling line up on BU
    Awaiting the final score

13. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet July 1, 2016 at 10:50 PM #
    “PUDRYR

” Walter should analyse the implicit meaning of the number of “thumbs up” and “thumbs down” he got from the BU family….”

are-we-there-yet,
    You are showing the BU family the “tricks” of your trade.

14. @ Ac

Your should stay in the pavilion your score is and always will be like DLP Government 00.0

15. @Walter

How do we fixed this problem. These are the ‘leaders’ of tomorrow. This is real. Not the mumbo jumbo political bullshit by those trapped in a boxed mind.

https://www.facebook.com/kaneka.ramsay/videos/1742177859393029/

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC pimps ya full of crap…what people will be watching is how many agents of DLP will be slithering around the communities and villages trying to buy votes in the dark, the people will need to use their recording devises and take pictures…and I mean this for both political parties. ..it’s time the people take a stand…3 generations of people have lost their minds and diminished any critical thinking skills by practicing yardfowlism and political pimping….and look where it’s got the country..ya can tell by the actions of the younger generation and their inability to think beyond the moment…just like the politicians.

17. The young people will always endorse fun activity /s and stay far away from doom and gloom posturing and stupid posters

18. David@8.11am
    Dismiss the school head

19. @CHAUNCER

Yes the head should be disciplined but how does it address the root?

20. @Chaucer
    I don’t know what to say.
    My thoughts
    (1) that should not be happening at school
    (2) ND always talking foolishness about teachers and schoolchildren. Perhaps…
    (3)I may just be an old geezer who is out of step with the youth
    But the headmaster need talking to

21. @ac 6:26
    I get the impression the bowlers are holding back.
    Almost like sending up flares so that Walter PKK may get his boat safely back to shore..
    Or perhaps it was seeing this right-handed fast bowler sauntered to the crease and start batting left-handed.
    Wha next??

22. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Sargeant July 1, 2016 at 11:29 AM #
    “From what Walter has been advocating on these pages over the course of some time he has not been reticent in calling out people from both sides of the aisle for errant actions. ”
    Sargeant,
    Your comment is fair and balanced. Go to the top of the class.
    We have a commenter on this blog by the name of balance who could never produce a statement like that, even if his life depended upon it.

de pedantic Dribbler July 1, 2016 at 7:02 PM #
    “@Balance, its long past time that you change your moniker.”

de pedantic Dribbler,
    Brilliant observation and suggestion, my friend. Do you think he will change it to Imbalance?

PS: Balance’s index finger has caught arthritic cramp from frantically pressing the “don’t like” button on BU over the last 2 days. Right now, he has it soaking in Epsom Salts and warm water, and is contemplating whether or not to use “the middle finger”.
    Don’t do it, balance!

23. What i see in the video are children in a controlled enviroment having fun which is the purpose of the event.Always looking for moral stances can send messages of restrictions and garbbled noises to children who rather than become engaged in controlled enviroment look to the streets where they are free to participate in any and every derogatory activity.
    Sometimes it is necessary to give a little in order to keep children in a resonable set up for control.instead of taking awsy and having no other replacement by which thr child would be hsppy
    Suffice it to say the children were happy and not on the streets being mislead by gangsters and hoodlums all fully engaged in violence

24. @Gazer.

ac still sitting in the pavillion waiting for the game to begin. However reading the daily Bu comment line i get the impression that some of the bowlers hands might be soaking in Epsom salts
    In any case you can start the day off. No sense wasting my money in these hard economic times.
    Watching and waiting

25. @ David
    Perhaps …through videos such as these we will get to see where our education budget is going and why the ‘outputs’ from the system need to find ‘foreign investment’ in order to survive.

To be honest, what else should those children be doing?
    It is not like they need to prepare themselves to manage anything – the DLP/BLP are selling off every shiite we own as a country.
    It is not like they will ever be intellectuals of any note…. who are the role models?
    It is not like they are likely to be creative artists of note…. beyond lewd calypsos about jamming on a botsy; getting down; drinking rum; or hitting it…”

In fact, given our commitment to tourism, attracting ‘foreign direct investment’ and generally ‘soliciting’ the moneyed of the world to come and spend their dollars here ..for their personal pleasures….. PERHAPS our education system is functioning as it should…..

As to disciplining the Principal….
    What for? …don’t these children remind you of the ministers…?
    As crude as the MoE…..
    ..and one of the fellows there look a lot like the minister of youth …and just as tall…

26. @Bush Tea

What is sad is that we have the adult jackasses who see nothing wrong with children engaged in a behaviour that is commonly referred to as the minibus culture; a sub culture. It is no surprise those who feel these way do not live in Barbados and therefore are unable to appreciate the challenge.

27. If anyone can point BU to the Prime Minister’s tribute we will post it, it must be within the next hour though.

Mia Amor Mottley

46 mins ·

I was deeply saddened this morning to learn of the passing of the former Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Mr. Patrick Manning.

Mr. Manning was a fervent supporter of regional integration. I got to know him well when I had to report to him directly for 2 years when he was the Lead Prime Minister for Security in CARICOM and I led the security efforts in the 10 countries of the region preparing for the hosting of Cricket World Cup in 2007. Indeed, it is this work, and his leadership that led the way for CARICOM to agree that Security would be the fourth pillar on which our Caribbean Community would rest.

Patrick Manning was always a gentleman. He was unfailingly courteous and always accessible. While Mr. Manning did not always agree with what you said, he was always willing to listen.

I also benefited considerably as a young politician as he liberally shared his experiences. He was always interested in your welfare and development. Indeed, he reinforced in me the importance of remaining close and faithful to the people you represent.

I would forever remember his constant caution that most politicians were enamored by the platform but that it was the personal interaction, the ground work, that made the decisive difference. In his words, the platform would never win you an election but it could cost you a victory.

On behalf of the Barbados Labour Party and on my own behalf, I would like to extend to his wife Hazel, his sons and wider family and to the people of Trinidad and Tobago our deepest condolences.

Patrick Manning served his country and his region well. We regret his many battles with illness in the last few years, but we know that he handled those too with his characteristic dignity and fortitude.

May his soul rest in Peace and may his memory forever live in our hearts whenever we recall our journey to better the development of our Caribbean and our people.

28. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David July 2, 2016 at 8:11 AM #
    “@Walter

How do we fix this problem? These are the ‘leaders’ of tomorrow. This is real. Not the mumbo jumbo political bullshit by those trapped in a boxed mind.”

You have no idea of how difficult this question is. I suspect that my answer will surprise you, but since all of us must learn to take the bitter with the sweet on this blog, I am prepared to take the licks that surely will come my way.

As a youngster, I watched Elvis Presley gyrate his hips provocatively on stage whilst “horny” female members of the audience swooned. I remember how Michael Jackson used to hold on to his crotch suggestively as he moonwalked his way across the stage. Barbadians, rather than concerning themselves with what schools these artistes and others went to, bought their music and put a dent in our foreign exchange reserves. I was young, but I became acutely aware of how we were being culturally dominated and kept out of a multi-billion dollar industry.

Recently, I have noticed that, whereas we try to denigrate our young people for “wukking up” (by the way, they do it with such infinite ease), the white man, always looking for an opportunity to make our money, is beginning to craft our specialty into his own art form.

Thus, the emergence of the present participle of this North Atlantic informal verb:
    “Twerking – dancing to popular music in a sexually provocative manner involving thrusting hip movements and a low, squatting stance.”

It will not be long before “twerkers” start eating into our forex.

We have no say in establishing global markets. We can only seek to exploit them.
    So let us check quickly on how we are doing in certain areas.

There is a global market for snipers and sharpshooters. Olympic glory awaits any Barbadian who can win a gold medal in shooting at the Olympics. Despite all of the guns and the lawless gun men in this country, how many persons will be representing Barbados in shooting in Rio? One? Do we expect him to win anything? No.
    Not one cent in forex will the guns and shooters in Barbados bring us.

Every weekend without fail, motorists on the highway have to watch in awe as young Bajan motor cyclists raise the front of their bikes and ride on the back wheel only, meandering through traffic and performing other stunts as they do so. Whilst we must justifiably condemn them for their ignorant, dangerous, and reckless behaviour, we cannot help but ask; “how do we tap into this pool of talent that young Barbadians possess so that we can earn some foreign exchange for our country?”

That is precisely the same question I asked myself when I saw the video of the school girls “dancing”. You view it as a problem. I view it as a product that needs to be marketed internationally. Can we produce high-quality videos of the dance moves of our young people and market them in metropolitan countries?

As you correctly pointed out, the young people are our leaders of tomorrow. But what are we leaving for them to lead?
    A debt bill of 10 billion dollars?
    An NIS that might collapse after the baby boomers have been supported?
    A few, or no Barbadian-owned businesses, rendering them “hewers of wood and drawers of water” in their own country?
    Villages full of young people, sitting at every street corner, trying to eke out a meagre existence by selling “fanta”, lighters, “skins”, and loose cigarettes?

I don’t know about you, but if I were to live a million years, I would never be able to dance so skillfully. Those who know me personally will wonder if I would be able to dance, period.

I congratulate and applaud those young girls.

Instead of castigating the headteacher, we ought to offer congratulations to the school. How do we go about getting these girls and others like them prepared for a career in music and the arts? How do we get the lower-skilled twerkers of America to bow down, worship, and financially reward the superiority of the Caribbean wuk up?

29. @Walter

Thanks for your prolix response. It is always about the economic consideration these days it seems.

30. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David July 2, 2016 at 1:56 PM #
    “@Walter

Thanks for your prolix response. It is always about the economic consideration these days it seems.”

You are welcome. I took a little time, and used a few extra sentences to put my response into proper context.

When we were kids, the old people used to criticize us for dancing, playing, and listening to “banjo”. They could not stop us. The wheel has now come full circle.

Short and sweet.

31. “CHAUCER July 2, 2016 at 10:58 AM #

David@8.11am
    Dismiss the school head”

Why now the horse out of the stable?Isn’t this what we have been portraying as our culture for some time now.

32. “Walter Blackman July 2, 2016 at 11:33 AM #

Sargeant July 1, 2016 at 11:29 AM #
    “From what Walter has been advocating on these pages over the course of some time he has not been reticent in calling out people from both sides of the aisle for errant actions. ”
    Sargeant,
    Your comment is fair and balanced. Go to the top of the class.
    We have a commenter on this blog by the name of balance who could never produce a statement like that, even if his life depended upon it.”

Thank you Blackie but try as you might I wouldn’t be changing my tune on this one. I reiterate that freedom of expression and association is guaranteed under the Constitution and you can join whatever organisation with which you feel comfortable but do not expect me like others to accept your political epiphany without question no matter how you have flowered it with your business proposition.

Was discussing your volte-face with my bosom pal who can be described as an acquaintance of yours and he is of the view that you probably believe that you can effect change from within. But as a fellow perceptive blogger pointed out and i quote

“what puzzles me is how does a man who professes “thick moral fiber” and a high level of integrity, fit in with the DLP especially under the current circumstances.

“How does ONE MAN go about changing these attitudes”

I rest my imbalanced case and wish you all the best in your new endeavours hoping that you would continue to pressure the DPP to address your concerns as eloquently indicated in your open letter and that your redemption would not cause you to unceremoniously discard the letter and the causes it espouses.

Should UP and ON be NOW changed to Down and OUT

ONWARD EVER BACKWARD NEVER.

33. David July 2, 2016 at 1:32 PM #

@Bush Tea

What is sad is that we have the adult jackasses who see nothing wrong with children engaged in a behaviour that is commonly referred to as the minibus culture; a sub culture. It is no surprise those who feel these way do not live in Barbados and therefore are unable to appreciate the challenge.

Walter Blackman July 2, 2016 at 1:47 PM #

David July 2, 2016 at 8:11 AM #
    “@Walter

How do we fix this problem? These are the ‘leaders’ of tomorrow. This is real. Not the mumbo jumbo political bullshit by those trapped in a boxed mind.”

You have no idea of how difficult this question is. I suspect that my answer will surprise you, but since all of us must learn to take the bitter with the sweet on this blog, I am prepared to take the licks that surely will come my way.

I congratulate and applaud those young girls.

Instead of castigating the headteacher, we ought to offer congratulations to the school. How do we go about getting these girls and others like them prepared for a career in music and the arts? How do we get the lower-skilled twerkers of America to bow down, worship, and financially reward the superiority of the Caribbean wuk up?

David July 2, 2016 at 1:56 PM #

@Walter

Thanks for your prolix response. It is always about the economic consideration these days it seems.

Am unable to decipher from the Blogmaster’s muddled response if he is in agreement with Walter’s discourse or he is holding fast to his call to discipline the headmaster or am I missing something.

34. Seems as if play has resumed late in day with the bowler Balance bowling in bouncer style wide of wicket . should see how this innings unfold at the end of days play

35. @Walter

It appears you have been strategic to target St. Michael East. A weak incumbent in Kenny Best and an ailing BLP candidate in Trevor Prescod. We get it, your objective is to gain a foothold in your lifetime.

36. Mr. Blackman should run as an independent.But he wont.Cant blame him either.Bajans are not that serious and not think it wise enough to vote in AT LEAST ONE SINGLE PERSON outside the BLP/DLP who is actually competent in what they do.David Commissiong just proved with the fingerprinting issue. One man with competence can make a huge difference, and I could care less about David C the personality. I dont know him personally to like him , nor personally to hate him.If people think this government is bad, wait till they see the next one.

37. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

balance July 2, 2016 at 4:12 PM

“Am unable to decipher from the Blogmaster’s muddled response if he is in agreement with Walter’s discourse or he is holding fast to his call to discipline the headmaster or am I missing something.”

balance,
    David has strong views on the subject and has opted to launch his “attack” from a social and moral perspective. His views have been supported by calls for punishment to be meted out to the headmaster.

I, on the other hand, decided to view the “problem” from an economic and financial angle.

Given the path that the country has been walking down for some time, you and Bush Tea seem to think that the horse has long kicked down the stable door. The way you see it, it’s too late for moral considerations. I posted my comment without seeing Bush Tea’s.

Now, if David had thrown out this issue to a wider Barbadian audience, I think the responses would also reflect the two different types of perspectives. At the national level, would the economic /financial emphasis win out over the social/moral? We just don’t know.
    There is nothing written here to suggest that David has abandoned or altered his position in any way. I respect his views.

38. @Walter

Like many in this forum ‘balance’ resorts to play the man and not the ball. The BU household is use to it.

39. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Alvin Cummins July 1, 2016 at 5:56 PM #
    “Walter Blackman,
    I wish you well. I know you, your background and attributes. Welcome back to Bim.

Anything I can do to help you, I will, if only by spreading the word.
    Press on regardless.”

Alvin,
    Occasionally, you and I have adopted divergent viewpoints on a particular issue. Many times, in the face of incredible odds, you have tenaciously clung to positions that members of the BU family considered to be startling and unpopular. The Cahill WTE fiasco readily comes to mind.
    Like everyone here on BU, you have won some and lost some.
    Yet, through it all, you have never once shown the slightest inclination to turn and flee from your tormentors. Any person could rely on a friend like you in the heat of battle.
    I am very heartened by your support and look forward to receiving your assistance if and when the time comes.

Much respect.

40. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

ac June 30, 2016 at 6:28 AM #

“I belive that Mr. blackman in all his years across the waters held a mindsight belived in the physchological moorings of Barrow a belief which remains engrained in his mind that forces him after21 years to return to his homeland to fulfill his dream of building a better barbados. Sir..barrow would be proud of you .welcome back .To you i say the road is not for the swift but those who making it to the end Good luck”

ac,
    Everyone knows that you have provided me with some rather unique experiences on BU. I have felt the wrath of your tongue when I disagreed with positions you took which I believed to be untenable. On the other hand, I have been excoriated by the BU faithful for complimenting you on those occasions when I knew you were right.
    You, in return, have never missed an opportunity to steadfastly chastise and upbraid those who you perceived to have wronged me.
    I admire you for the manner in which you steadfastly defend your right to be heard, just like anyone else, on BU. Despite the amount of insults that are hurled at you daily, I want to assure you that even a day’s absence from BU will cause you and your so-called “hignorance” to be sorely missed. You are often cursed, but deeply loved. That’s one of the contradictions that results from dealing with Bajans.
    I sincerely want to thank you for your words of welcome and encouragement.

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter Blackman re your July 2, 2016 at 6:29 AM post;

(I said): ” Walter should analyse the implicit meaning of the number of “thumbs up” and “thumbs down” he got from the BU family,,,, (your response) ” are-we-there-yet, You are showing the BU family the “tricks” of your trade.

Actually, I must apologize. I thought those are the tricks of your trade, not mine. My trade was much more “down to earth”

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter;

I had an old wise neighbour who often said: … To explain yourself you have to expose yourself.

True!

43. @ Walter there is only one more person I know that has used such word smithing to call a man a fool to his face and the fool will not recognize it.

Sir Branford Taitt.

Indeed that tongue lashing you just delivered to Pigrim was superlative

Right about not that imbecile is at home basking in self adulation believing that you have complimented the recipient of the thine Hignorance knows no bounds.

Requoting what thepartysaid is good form and while you did drop it down a notch, you did expose thine Achilles heel which some of us will forget and others won’t but the blog count goes up still.

You did not answer my question though but since you are in quasi apologetic? mode you might go back and see the question and entertain de ole man.

To speak to your undercurrent per help offered and now retracted.

I am good at what I do, no boast, no ego trip, just fact, and no the water scare joke was not done at my studio.

Your team of Dufuses benefitted from my “skills” before, ask Cranston.

Here is the thing.

you are on the loosing team right??

Imagine if I had not retracted that offer to you, positioned as you are, in the heart of the den of thieves, you, when you saw my skills, would not keep them secret would you?

lol ok I showed a fellow a few of my skills remotely and what he did was to pretend that he could not see the running demo remotely and, when I upgraded his rights to view, he downloaded the files.

That scamp, I ever expected that from him.

I dun wukking for him, for life, no effing code.

Code is important to me Walter is it important to you?

Well I see that, as TheGazer stated, no body ent asking you no hard questions and dat everybody is you friend again other than a few.

But here is a question that I have for you

Would you employ the Sandiford Gambit again during this lifetime and in which circumstances?

44. Mr Blackman I sincerely bow head in humility to your kind words words in effect which. reinforce my sincerity in wishing in the best of the all their is . Sir would we watching your every step and would be praising when necessary and admonishing when your head becomes swollen with egotistical banter . You can count on my support

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs..yall would bow head to any politician, yall are cheap dates and easy tricks.

46. Well it is the end of the days play the pitch is covered all players (well only one bowler) managed to make it to play today but his delivery was slow and unfortunately with not much delivery. The batsman continued his usual style of easy strikes .At the end of days play the BU line of bowling seem to have fallen short as the scores reached a high level which by all means would be insurmountable for the other side to achieve.
    All in all one can easily state that the match is a no win going forward for the other side against a stellar batting performance of a old batsman who has honed his craft over the years. Good job Walter .but it would be rude of me not to say Good luck next time to the bowling line of BU’s greatest all star bowling team ..lights out for now
    Oh by the way is that PDYR hobbling coming across the field? This ole guy he never gives up ..look at that even in the dark he is making another stupid poster..lol who would have thought

47. Lololol, Pigrim I could have bet £1000 that you were not going to recognize Walter s insult and there you have it lolol.

Now let me bet this

Will Walter answer the 3 questions?

For the first he must go back and read.

For the second he must engage in some sort of sincere profound response

And the third is a closed ended question like double jeopardy

So let me see.

I think he will, why after all he must for silence would mean that the last ball? Of the match commented on by the antithesis of Tony Cozier would have upended his stumps lololol

Now let me see.

Will there be ad hominem no for such would return him to the former status, so no that style cannot be utilized.

Will there be psychbabble contrariness, possible for such might gain “currency” but soft a while there are three questions at the heart of the query so psychobabble can’t be employed so I will wait, but not tonight of this I can be sure, that would cause loss of face so tomorrow then, and to this night adieu, and should it be the last night for either of us, then fond farewell and good hunting should it be mine

48. Lol PDYR hearing voices in his head for certain his new career of poster making is affecting his mind. Now who in the hell is Pilgrim .this got to be demonic forces at work. PDYR maybe it is time you take that much needed vacation you told me about

49. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Testing Testing

50. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Do you have any of my comments tonight in your “for moderation” tray?