Submitted by Heather Cole

Without him even having to give one Hail Mary, we seem to have given Prime Minister Freundel Stuart a pass regarding the latest scandal in his administration. Mr. Stuart will go down in History as the weakest and most unpopular Prime Minister of Barbados. Among his failures to date are: the un-kept promises made to the electorate for two consecutive general elections, the buying of votes, the economic downgrades as well as the overall handing of the economy, increases in taxation, decline in the delivery of social services and his government’s action of not providing free tertiary education to the children of tax payers at the UWI.

He has not displayed any leadership skills either to his Ministers or to the people of Barbados. His approach does not demonstrate an ounce of responsibility towards the people of Barbados. He is so out of touch with the reality of life in Barbados that he can only be likened to a man who literally fell asleep at the wheel. Perhaps he lives in the wrong time and may have been more suitable to have been living in Medieval England as he enjoys flowery speech.

Then they are the scandals.

Under his leadership the government has been rocked with scandal after scandal making the TV series by that name quite tame. Just when you think it can get no worse, another explosion is seen and heard. The most notable of these have been the Clico scandal, the scandal involving the Speaker of the House, the Coverley Scandal, the Cahill Scandal and now the Mark Maloney and TCPD scandal.

It is a well known fact that the Prime Minister was intimately connected to three of the biggest scandals to rock the island. The first scandal occurred when the Speaker of the House was found guilty by the High Court of stealing a sum of money from an septuagenarian. It was some time during that scandal that the PM used those infamous words that have now become immortalized by every Barbadian. Amidst the allegations, when the story first broke and had not yet reached the Courts, the Prime Minister was quoted in his defense of the Speaker of the House advising him to get a Lawyer.”

With regards to the Clico Scandal, thousands of Barbadians lost their retirement savings in a Ponzi scheme involving Leroy Parris and other managers of Clico as well as deceased Prime Minister David Thompson and his wife Mara Thompson. Again in this scandal the PM delivered another quote that will remain in living memory for many years to come. In defense of Leroy Parris, he stated that “Leroy is not a Leper.”

The Cahill Scandal involved a group of government Ministers signing an agreement to build a plasma Gasification plant on the 166sq ml island without the approvals of the Town and Country Planning Department, an Environmental Impact Assessment or the usual Town Hall Meetings to involve the public. Despite the public revelation of the signed documents on the Internet, the Prime Minister’s in his own defense in a much publicized quote claimed that nothing can’t happen unless I say so.”

I cannot recall him stating anything publicly about the Coverley Scandal even the circumstances surrounding the death of young Abijah Holder.

The latest scandal involves business man Mark Maloney refusing to comply Town and Country Planning directives to remove a structure he is currently building. The Prime Minister must have commented. This brings me to the source of this article that we are missing the infamous quotes made by the Prime Minister in defense of or regarding Mark Maloney. These quotes may have again brought him into disrepute. In an effort to avoid being involved in the scandal or his name associated with the scandal or yet again having his infamous quotes on the lips of every Barbadian, the Prime Minister passed the responsibility for the Town and Country Planning Department unto Minister of Energy Darcy Boyce.

The real dilemma here is that the Prime Minister made a very short sighted judgement. While he may have won the battle, he has lost the war. He forgot the Laws of cause and effect. The Prime Minister appears to have created a psychotic monster. We now know because we have seen the evidence twice of his laughing at a young man’s death, ordering plants to be dug up and removed as well as his delusional rants that there is a ruthless, narcissistic personality on the loose. One wonders what he will do next. Does it mean that the Prime Minister himself is afraid to deal with the serial law breaker Mark Maloney? Can this lead to a matter of national security with the rise of a Bajan Mafia who believe that their entitlement puts them above our laws and that they can take out whoever opposes them? Will the rest of the population have to pay bribes to the Maloneys to get simple things done? Does it set it stone that bribery and corruption are now part of the norm for everyday life in Barbados?

One would have thought that the Prime Minister would be cognizant of the fact that Mark Maloney in fragrantly disregarding the Laws of Barbados is sending the wrong message to the rest of the population and that he would have stood up like a real man and do as the song says “I and I created a problem and I must solve it

141 responses to “The Missing Mark Maloney Quotes”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You did not mention the chicken wing affair. So far, we’ve seen two ministers making an effort to put a good face on this emerging scandal.

2. http://imgur.com/1oM9FsK

The picture says it all.

Credit for the Bestselling Book (cover) goes to Ms. Heather

3. @ Caswell

This one is attributed to you and your mention of the chicken wings

Again I make it known to all that the ideation is that of Mr. Franklyn and de grandson is the scribe

http://imgur.com/q8JLVPz

4. Sorry David [BU]

Thought I was posting on the Poster campaign page

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maloney is a direct threat to the island and it’s reputation, Peter Harris is a threat to the island and it’s reputation, so is Bjerkham and he should not be sitting in the central bank, he is a direct threat to the island’s economic security, Bizzy and Cow are direct threats to the island, they sit in the bsckground and orchestrate all these malicious scams to steal money from the treasury and have been doing so for decades, any businessman who openly attempts to bribe the police to have his own way, to avoid being questioned or investigated is a threat to national security.

But none of this could have happened unless allowed by ministers and politicians of both political parties….Mia is only now seeing the danger to herself after enabling and condoning these activites for decades, is Fruendel smart enough to see the danger these business people pose to the security and future progress of the island.

Building a bunch of buildings and having taxpayers mortgage their souls to pay for what they cannot afford, is not progress, it’s idiocy.

All bajans have to do is not purchase foods from those who seek to do them harm by selling tainted chicken wings and expired foods, shut them down, leave their garbage on the supermarket shelves and turn them into paupers…it’s your money, no one can tell you what to buy. The 2 known shitheads for ministers are hoping that bajans forget all about it by next week, then they can say they investigated, a lie, and found nothing wrong…Inniss is already lying before an investigation has started, they are not fit to manage a pig farm but are allowed to mismanage a country.

6. Unemployment down! the deficit down ! the economy on a direct path for growth and the BLP answer is Mark Maloney steupsee only one word can explain this stupidity DESPERATION

7. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

We need a full Audit on the 5% of the Island top business Men and Women to see what shit rolled down hill to the 95% who is picking up the bills, Then we will better see what roll the DBLP government played in this mess before it can be cleaned up,
    Crime is the best business in Barbados,The World had done an Audit on Barbados , but not Barbados, everything is going as plan, right down the drain.Barbados have its own New World Order of crooks liars and scumbags, Wait till you add the Land Fraud to the list which is bigger than all things posted, Most of the 5% have no business doing business on the Land they built on, none had land owners Permission to build, So there is a lot more to be PUSHED DOWN.As Town and Country said ” We Dont give Permission to Build”, We Just Approve Plans”. A land tax bill is not a DEED,,Nor Permission to build.
    Barbados looking to put out a fire by aiming the hose at the smoke and not the root fire as WE BURN.

8. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Heather

Bimmers obviously have no problem with the actions of the PM otherwise he and his govt would have been removed.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Heather

Amen!

10. Skylar of Moltrar Avatar
    Skylar of Moltrar

The economy is screwed ok?
    It is up to the DLP to brainwash their following that this is not true and that in fact, like 2013, things are getting better and PM Stuart and his Cabinet are going a wonderful job.

11. I get the impression that the blp like putting the cart before the horse.

12. Skylar u say things are screwed then talk initiatives and better way forward .These issues to distract means nothing to the working person looking for alternatives and viable change
    Wonder if Solutions Workshop was a success

13. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@pieceaderock….you is too creative for one man. Despatch soon bring charges against me, cause I parking de people truck every couple miles to check BU for more. On point and on fire. Tooo sweet!

14. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the DPP’ my ass.

Great article which prompts me to type, once again, one of the many statements I have typed on BU several times over the past 7 years.

Nature abhors a vacuum. In the absence of legitimate authority and management, illegitimate authority and management will take over.

7 years ago I stated here that the DLP gov’t was not prepared to manage even a rumshop, far less a country and that was before Dennis Kellman got his ministry. Now we know what a failure the best DLP rumshop manager has proven himself to be.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools. Every man for himself on our sinking ship.

15. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Frustrated Businessman ….. re. your 8:26 am post.

You said “Nature abhors a vacuum.
    In the absence of legitimate authority and management, illegitimate authority and management will take over.”

That statement alone totally explains the situation that Barbados has found itself since Freundal Stuart became PM.

Your prescription for recovery is absolutely true and deserveS to be highlighted in caps:

THERE WILL BE NO ECONOMIC RECOVERY UNDER FUMBLE’S FOOL’S. EVERYMAN FOR HIMSELF ON OUR SINKING SHIP

16. Every man for himself indeed, except mainly the minorities appear to be prospering under this government’s regime. Who, 10 years ago, would have predicted Barbados being the crime and drug ridden place it is today? Why are people from all over the world risking their livelihoods to bring drugs into Barbados? who are these drugs for and who in Barbados is in high command of this industry and for what purpose? Further, why would the government allow these minorities to get rich off of the majority that pay taxes by giving contracts to them when, from all accounts, they started their businesses with no experience or qualifications. Notwithstanding, there does appear to be a concerted effort by the government to bring down Mark Mahoney which lends credence to his claims of victimisation as he is but one of many, not only Mahoney and his ilk but the likes of Parris, Harris, et al have been leeching off the population for years. From where I sit, 50 years of independence looks more like 50 years of dependence.

17. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar

AWTY, we see this in private-enterprise business often.

You cannot push a rope. Leadership must be by example from in front.

When the ‘boss’ starts coming to work late, taking off golf afternoons, etc. the effect will trickle down. ‘Do as I say, not as I do’ does not work as a management tool.

It is a Bajan curse that managers believe seniority brings the privilege of slackness. It is also the main reason our snivel service is so useless; clerks get to work on time and wait hours for supervisors who then leave early. When the clerks get their promotions, as they must do in our corrupt ‘no consequences’ system, they take on the role of the master just like the Animal Farm pigs.

But in the private sector the consequences of poor management is business failure. In the gov’t and snivel service the consequence of poor management is country failure like we are currently experiencing.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

To answer Josh’s question, just look to the same Maloneys and Bizzys flouting and disrespecting the law 0s of the land openly and disrespecting all the politicians of both political parties for your answers…all the politicians dirty deeds are returning to haunt and bite them in the asses….it’s do or die for them now.

Well Well & Consequences June 20, 2016 at 9:32 AM #
    So here they now are talking about “ducks guts” afraid like hell for the same Maloneys and Bizzys they spent decades enriching with taxpayers money. With their limited vision it never occured to them that after being given all that wealth for doing little, the Bizzys and Maloneys now see them as nuisances, obstructions to what they really want noe that they are wealthy, sucked the island dry and want the politicians all gone…they show little respect to the prime minister,, he cant even call his nation a black nation without Bizzy jumping down his throat and telling him he is a liar, that’s not true, they have no respect for the laws of the land, the courts of the judges…they just want them all gone so they can control the economy and do as they like to the people…without interference.

That’s the legacy these dummies for politicians of DBLP left, that is what they will be remembered for….that’s the monsters they created, now let them get rid of them all on their own.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I remember this motto in the US while raising children and go into certain institutions..you read….”First you play, then you pay” …lol that reminds of what the ministers and other politicians are now experiencing with the minorities whom they only cared to enrich neglecting their duties to the majority whom they need much more….at least 3 years ago I kept asking on BU, why these good for nothing ministers and politicians did not rein in Peter Harris of CGI Insurance…then another site revealed all the nasty things he does on the island.

The ministers of government helped him and the other minorites play, now they will pay.

Well Well & Consequences June 20, 2016 at 9:25 AM #
    Donna…..the problem with the politicians as I said in another link, they live in the now, no 50 year plan for the generations who will be alive after they are gone….. for some reason that basic instinct for survival of the black race never forms part of the black man/woman’s long term plan….their short term destructive motto is…..have plenty foreign exchange gross or no….WILL SPEND…….

………treasury full of money in the billions…do not look for long term investments to benefit the people like agriculuture, oh no, that will take too much money, instead….look for the nearest Maloney to build big concrete structures, or wait for the Bizzy call he is sure to come up with the latest scam to milk the treadury, or search out Bjerkham to see how much taxpayer’s money he wants to do business…..the only thing politicians of both political parties try to do is ENRICH MINORITIES……and leave the majority hanging all the time…..they have no shame.

20. To the Rockmeister, you gots to seriously talk some more to people pon de blog. You and Heather-FireInThe-Cole say quite rightly Fumbles command that “Nothing Can Happen unless I Say So” .

But too many peeps still getting mamyguyed by this dog and pony show. One blogger says “Notwithstanding, there does appear to be a concerted effort by the government to bring down Mark Mahoney which lends credence to his claims of victimisation..”

WTF. Victimization. Bring down a big time money man.

Please write a few more books to clear up de fog for de people dem who actually believe dat shiiitee.

The only time a politician does bring down a financial Don for he own party is when de fella in got no more money or getting ready to be convicted for murder or some shiiite serious like dat.

Somebody believe Maloney gine get arrested for murder soon den. Fah real.

21. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

The PM and his lot are bigger fools for thinking that people like myself can’t see right through their bullshit!

22. Josh,

Who would have thought? I would have. This rot didn’t start with this current administration. Neither will it end with it. This was a long time coming. The gangs were here. The drugs were here. The minorities were getting richer. Bribes and corruption were rife. The kingpins were going free. All this administration has done is make it a bit worse. Don’t ever believe our problems will be solved by another meaningless election. We are in way too deep for that! Look deeper! Think deeper! Please!

23. These words can easily described the article.
    Tired!repetitive!overdone! Rehash! Nothing of substance .Warm over soup.like soggy cereal
    Get real

24. If we ever had any doubt that the ac’s are sent onto BU to spout dlp propaganda……look no further than ac’s post above.

Fumbles in George Street yesterday said that the CB governor and someone else (whom I dont recollect as I can bearly listen to him) said that unemployment is down and people are returning to work. Tell this to the thousands who are unemployed and cannot find a job and whose unemployment benefits have expired.

We are now convinced more than ever that this man is totally out of his depths and is delusional, his diabetes seem to be affecting his brain.

Where is the evidence to prove that unemployment is falling? Where are the new jobs? Does he think that because the CB governor said so, it is so? Why……..we all know that the governor and the Stinkliar are confirmed liars. The IMF has said that they do not trust the governmen’s data.

There is no doubt that Barbados is in a worse position than during the Sandi disastrous era when almost 6000 people were sent home and public sector salaries were cut by 8%. Unemployment then was 25%. If things are worse now than then, how can unemployment be lower now. The unemployment rate has to be over 25%.

The CB figures are bogus….the governor refuses to use the figures from the Statistical Department but does their own stats….so we know that the figures are manipulated to suit the governor’s propaganda. I never thought the day would come when we cannot rely on the CB to give Barbadians a true picture of the country’s economy.

We are doomed under these morons.

25. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

Brathwaite; Maloney ain’t going nowhere – yet. Do you believe that Knocking down a few huts and a fence will hurt a magnate like Maloney? All for show my friend; all for show!

26. Heather,
    Excellent article.
    It is good to have a running summary of the going-ons. These shenananigans need to be documented and those with limited memory or a short attention span need to be reminded often.

27. ac June 20, 2016 at 5:59 AM #

“Unemployment down! the deficit down ! the economy on a direct path for growth and the BLP answer is Mark Maloney steupsee only one word can explain this stupidity DESPERATION…”

Is the T&CPD ACTING on INSTRUCTIONS from the BLP relative to the law suit or the enforcement notices issued to Maloney?

Perhaps you could take time from pimping food and drinks from Astor B in George Street “when de Fridays come,” and ask Freundel or Darcy that question?

I will “talk initiatives and better way forward….”

Barbadians, for a “better way forward” use your “initiatives” and vote Fumble and his fools out of office in 2018.

Thine ignorance is boundless.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son:

Just a ‘shout-out’ to my soul mate in blogging.

Aren’t you pleasantly surprised that what you have been preaching all along at least for the past 3 years is now being repeated by all and sundry on BU.

What Heather is highlighting about this despicable lying party (DLP) administration is what we have been saying all along.
    But it is never too late to know the Truth.

Here is your conman Fumble the lower-class clown trying to convince stupid Bajans that unemployment is falling.
    Of course it would fall if after 6 months the unemployed is taken out of the statistical count.
    Have you seen a reduction in the number of the boys on the block or young people of ‘ working age’ walking ‘aimlessly’ daily in Bridgetown?
    The only way of reliably establishing if there has been a ‘significant’ drop in unemployment over the past year is if the there has been a concomitant increase in the number of contributions to the National Insurance scheme when compared to a year ago.

The head of that cabinet of liars can only claim the economy is improving if there has been an increase in transactional taxes or there has been a steady upward movement in the country foreign reserves.
    Can that bold-faced stranger to the truth provide statistics to support those indicators of recovery and growth in the economy?

If a man loses $100.00 in one horse race but wins $50.00 in the next is he better off at the end of the betting day?
    In the land of the brass-bowl blind called Barbados the lying one-eye man called King Fumble is Primate inter Perfidy.

29. Retribution,

Saturday’s Cou Cou and Flying Fish summed it up nicely.

30. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

Proddy boy, my sentiments exactly; where are the statistics? The PM keeps spouting claims without facts believing that the whole population of this 166 square miles are dumb.

The PM has clearly shown that he does not give a rats ass about the people of this country. It’s all about me myself and I. He needs to be reminded that there is a God.
    ……………

On another note; can someone tell me with all the intelligence out there; why would a (not so well- health wise) PS in retirement be given such a high profile position overseas? Yup, we are doomed!

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Retribution. …really, yall give Maloney, Bizzy et al too much credit and therein lies the problems.

..yes they have stolen millions from the treasury over the decades with the help of corrupt politicians ang government minosters…but magnates, hardly…if the ministers stop giving them money from the taxpayer’s treasury and the various banks call in all the various 50 million dollar loans for which they use the taxpayer contracts as collateral, you will see a beeline to the airports, all the income from those villas will not be enough to cover those loans…and that is the reality.

Let’s see what the treacherous traitors for government ministers and politicians do going forward, noe that the minorities have backed them into a corner…blink and ya will miss it.

32. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

Yes Donna, the DLP way of doing business.

33. Soloman (Suleman) Bhana gives a lot of money to both parties. The chicken wing story will be a one week wonder.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

WARNING: THE AC (CHI) PIMPS ARE LOOKING FOR ATTENTION, PLEASE IGNORE…DO NOT FEED.

lol

35. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar

Retribution. …really, yall give Maloney, Bizzy et al too much credit and therein lies the problems.

No credit being given here; my point is, as long as there is a corrupt politician involve then people like Maloney, Peter Harris will continue to strive. The thing is; I do not believe that we will be for any better under the BLP administration. May God help us!

36. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Frustrated….

I agree fully with your 9:22 am post.

But I think that, even though Public sector management was on the decline over several administrations since the early 70’s, it took a huge drop after the DT interregnum. The consequences of Freundel’s leadership vacuum, that essentially removed oversight of Minister’s actions from his prime ministerial responsibilities and thus made Ministers accountable only to themselves, negatively affected many aspect of Government and Public sector governance in this country.

The FS outlook and practice re. Prime Ministerial responsibilities was a new untried phenomenon for a country such as ours and it has failed abysmally. All PMs prior to FS took explicit and recognizable action to control their Ministers when they appeared to be taking the wrong path. OSA fired or redeployed a few and he kept them on a relatively strict leash and demanded and got respect from them. DT fired at least one Minister for indulging in matters which now seem to be commonplace. FS overtly disciplined not a fella and actually appears to condone indiscipline. Any respect that he engenders does not appear to be real and may be gauged by considering public statements by some of his Ministers that go unpunished.

In my view, the FS approach is responsible for a large part of our past and current travails.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And I agree with you 100% Retribution…….BLP anfdMia have done the same nasty destructive things…enriched the minorities at the expense of the majority…hence the reason she is unable to get rid of Peter Harris…a BLP created monster.

I pay no attention to them either and just waiting patiently for them to be elected, that is presuming that the impatient to control the island fully…minorities dont pull a nasty stunt on all the corrupt greedy ministers and politicians first.

38. @ac

“Skylar u say things are screwed then talk initiatives and better way forward .These issues to distract means nothing to the working person looking for alternatives and viable change
    Wonder if Solutions Workshop was a success”

Initiative #1 – GET THE DLP OUT OF OFFICE, THE QUICKER THE BETTER.

Initiative #2 – SEE INITIATIVE #1 ABOVE.

39. But AWTY, what if the man KNOWS that he is an idiot?
    ….and who else would you put in charge?
    …so perhaps he is doing us a big favour by staying asleep….
    The only thing worse than an incompetent minister fouling up a ministry is having an incompetent minister AND an idiot boss doing the job….

….Well not exactly true.
    The worse, WORSE of all is having FOUR ministers AND an idiot boss signing the CAHILL shiite agreement…
    wuhloss!! …we dead fuh truth.

40. AS SOON AS THE DLP KNIGHTS BJORN BJERKHAMN, THE BLP IS GOING TO CARPET BOMB THEM WITH MORE OF THE FACTS ABOUT CAHILL ENERGY INCLUDED DOCUMENTATION THAT CAHILL ENERGY WAS OWNED LOCK, STOCK AND BARREL BY BJERKHAMN, TEMPRO, MALONEY AND JADA.
    IF THEY KNIGHT BJORN BJERKHAMN THE DLP WILL BE MADE TO PAY A VERY HEAVY PRICE AND SOME OF THE FOCUS WILL SHIFT FROM MALONEY TO BJERKHAMN AND TEMPRO.

41. I DO THINK THAT IT WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA FOR THE BLP TO GET ALL THREE, MALONEY, BJERKHAMN AND TEMPRO IN THE DOCK OF PUBLIC OPINION LEADING INTO THE NEXT GENERAL ELECTION. MALONEY CAN HANDLE IT BUT BJERKHAMN AND TEMPRO DON’T WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW THE TRUTH.

42. a c posits unemployment down. The deficit down.The economy is on a direct path to growth.Not bad, problem is the source of the figures applied.DE LIAR WORRELL.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It will all come out in the wash Pastzone, despite Bjerkham and Bizzy being the brains behind all those scams, Maloney is the frontman, has no patience and wants full control of the government now…it serves these treacherous beasts for government ministers right, they are traitors….

The same thing I witnessed a female told Billie “the goat” Miller a couple years ago at Massy Sunset Crest when Miller tried to push the lady around because she got this shit title of a pimphood added to her name…they are all disgraceful and traitors.

44. De-lusional Worrell?

45. Then the IMF is lying too right ?and in collusion with govt. Right Hamilton ? u guys are a bunch of jokers fuh real

46. I remember the weeks and months going to into tge 2013 election when the blp belived that Clico would have sent govt members to jail and forced govt to resign it has not happened .Seems the blp operatives have not learned any thing about the public appetite for unproven slander and malicious gossip still doing the same ole things all over again. When will they learn.

47. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar

ac June 20, 2016 at 12:53 PM #
    I remember the weeks and months going to into tge 2013 election when the blp belived that Clico would have sent govt members to jail

And you are so proud that your thieving whoremasters got away with it that you bray about it in a public forum ??!!

YOU ARE CONSCIENCELESS SCUM!!!!!!!!!!

THERE WILL BE NO ECONOMIC RECOVERY UNDER FUMBLE’S TEEFIN’ FOOLS!!!!

48. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea; Re your 11:31 am post;

You said ….and who else would you put in charge?

The point is that anyone else would do a better job. Even ding ding!

Actually, I would put Donville Inniss in charge. He can do no worse than FS.

Wuhloss, we ded fuh truth!

49. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea;

I think your question deserves a better answer. Actually, I think our decline was preordained and required just the right ministerial ingredients to achieve the current observed outcomes.

Just suppose that, all other things being equal, we had a Central Bank Governor, that used traditional statistics and did not make up his own. Even with a Freundel in charge we might have come out of our parlous economic situation earlier.

Just suppose that Freundel had a CTP who went beyond the sterile TOR of his job and insisted on doing what was right. Yuh tink Maloney wouldn’t have been scuppered long ago and perhaps that young Rasta might still have been alive?

It was not just bad luck that DT formed a cabinet consisting significantly of scammers (many known to the BU family through earlier exposures here). It was also not just bad luck that FS retained and confirmed every one of them in their posts and essentially signalled to them to carry on smartly with their special proclivities.

Of course he also added the Minister from the north. Wuhloss, dat proves de pint!

We got here through a unique mixture of happenstance which was nevertheless preordained and the guiding preeminent aspect of it was the very atypical leadership style of FS.

In 2018 (or before) the people of Barbados can either turn around or cement our misfortunes.

Despite all the negatives of the BLP, do we have an FS like person in that party who is likely to carry on the unique FS legacy? To me that is likely to be the main difference between the DLP and the BLP at this time. We ignore FS’ role in fashioning our current amoral landscape to our peril.