Minister of Commerce Donville Inniss
Minister Donville Inniss

Recently a shipment of chicken wings was destroyed by the Ministry of Commerce after it was discovered it landed on the island illegally. What concerns the BU household is the response from several Bajans who were quick to cry fowl to the decision to incinerate the wings. Why? Bajans love their wings, what a waste of good wings they cried!

How was Bhana located at Cave Hill given permission to land the chicken wing shipment in Barbados? How long has Continental Foods been scrubbing labels?

214 responses to “Continental Foods and Bhana, the Chicken Wings and Expired Labels Affair”

1. So Bhana owns Continental Foods? Couldn’t The Nation have figured this out?

2. @Old Baje

Continental is the company with expired foods, labels etc. Bhana is the chicken wings.Change the words a little.

3. OK. So owns Continental Foods?

4. So who owns Continental Foods?

5. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Everybody comes into this country and take advantage of us docile Bajans, knowing full well that we will do a Freundel Stuart ,and not utter a single blasted word. First it was Kentucky, then Chefette and then the Chinese from China Construction Company ,who were selling Bajans vegetables, that were manured with human waste. Now its Bhana. Wasn’t he the same guy who used to make rotis out of dog meat in Lakes Folly?
    This country has really gone to the dogs, and no bigger ones that those who we have chosen to lead us.

6. Barbados

Edward Juman, Sales Director

Continental Foods
    Grazettes Industrial Park
    St. Michael, Barbados

Tel: (246) 425-1800
    Fax: (246) 424-3023
    E-mail: confoods@sunbeach.net
    Total Imports: $4 million Imports from U.S: $2 million

Market Niche: 90% foodservice, 10% retail

Business Type: Importer, Distributor, HRI/Foodservice
    Customers: Supermarkets/Hypermarkets, Convenience Stores, Specialty/Gourmet Stores, HRI/Foodservice

Types of Products Handled:

Dry/General Meats Kosher Ethnic Fresh
    Seafood Snacks/Confectionary Bakery Products
    Halal Frozen Specialty/Gourmet Private Label
    Condiments Milk/Dairy Foodservice

Food Categories of Interest:

Dry/General Meats Beverages, Wine, Spirits Seafood
    Specialty/Gourmet Private Label Condiments Milk/Dairy Foodservices

Specific Product of Interest: Fresh/Frozen- beef, veal, pork and seafood

7. When I first read this story in the enlightened press I was aghast that a company had not been identified with this dastardly deed. I asked myself, where else in the world could public health be put at such risk in so blatant a manner and the fifth estate demured from identifying the villainous perpetrators.

What a dereliction of duty. I cry shame on you mass media and instead offer immense appreciation to BU for keeping us safe and properly in informed.

It’s amazing to me to see the daily rags are quite capable of publishing photographs of accused rapist, murderers and mutulated bodies of accident victims along with names but find it beyond their capability to name a company endangering the health of our nation. But then again, it is the less well off who must eat the wings so maybe it doesn’t matter.

8. @Fearplay

To be fair the disclosure was made on FB and shared with BU.

On Tue, Jun 14, 2016 at 11:03 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Juman…what else is he importing…, well known as a drug dealing family for decades and decades on the island…Juman clothing factory in Grazettes decades ago run by the now deceased father.

Black Bajan males need to manup and stop selling the island for nickles,

10. Edward Juman and his family needs to clear the air about this expired food stuff.

11. Edward Juman and his family needs to clear the air about this expired food stuff. Bhana importing de chicken wings. Every f..ing port of entry in Barbadus corrupt

12. So …….Bhana and Juman ………Hmmm.

13. @Old Baje

The merchant class!

14. I used to be part of the merchant class and neither I nor anyone I knew would sell expired food. These fellas are the bandit class.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am not so concerned about the media not making the names of the perpetrators public. I am deeply concerned that no one is facing the court.

16. @Caswell

Please feel to give James Paul M.P. a call and advise BU.

17. Caswell Franklyn came out on top again but the DPP is not going to touch Juman or Bhana. What a pity.

18. Will it take the burning down of town for the masses to be taken serious. The blame will lie at the feet of the crooks in authority when town burns.

19. This is a serious matter.The minister of commerce must send in his enforcers to eradicate this illegal and dangerous activity and close down Continental operations until a clean bill of health is earned.Where are the Chamber of Commerce big ups?How do these goods get past Customs and Excise?Are they on the take too?These Indians are no better than the Islamists.These Indians see blacks as JA’s,same as Maloney and the albinos do,and they are all given protection by the black politicians and certain public servants whose duty is to protect and serve their relatives and fellow citizens.

20. @David

will send you info

The Customs officer, at DHL today discarded the Commercial invoice that was with a package and demanded Bank receipt showing how much was paid for the goods, explaining to DHL that the package is one of two packages, paid for by way of Western Union receipt,the Customs officer proceeded by applying duties and VAT on total western Union receipt, included the WU charges

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Watchman

So what is wrong with that? The officer did the correct thing.

22. As I recall the Customs Officer can and do apply a ‘Sight’ value if the invoice appears to be circumspect in his estimation.The officer is authorized to protect the Treasury.

23. Caswell

I know what CIF means , are you saying if you import / paid for two pairs of shoes, and one pair was sent with C.invoice for 50% cost of total sum of bank/Western Union receipt that the customs officer can disregard the C.Invoice and applied duties and vat on the total Bank/WU receipt

24. Gabriel

So the C o P is 100% plus right, because as Customs Officers can apply sight value then he/she can decide not to see

25. @Gabriel June 14, 2016 at 9:05 PM “How do these goods get past Customs and Excise?Are they on the take too?”

Where do you live Gabriel? Why do you think Customs dd not want any cameras on their job sites?

26. Damn tricksters. Selling expired packaged goods, and undocumented chicken wings.

NASTY.

GREEDY.

MONEY GRUBBING.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Expiration dates that have long expired on food, low grade rejected food, poor quality goods, and used by date tampering, as a whole, is nothing new to the selling landscape of Barbados.

As long as they are no significant incidences or developments arising from this expired food that can have detrimental and reverberating consequences for Barbados, this is normal business practice on the island.

Look, we have people in Barbados who are into selling expired food products. There is the well-known fella who uses to drive or still driving a blue convertible VW beagle, who built a business out of selling expired goods and used products down there in dah dere Bankhall or Bushhall (I think). Cah remembers his name, but hundreds of bajans would flock to buy his can foods and other stuff cheap cheap cheap.

What is new is the fact that someone or something decided to expose the practice and make it public since the food retailing operation at the centre of this scandal, do not have a problem maximising profits by selling and tampering with the labels of expired goods.

However, as Caswell said, the concern and big eye opener should be that the authorities have not acted upon this information, YET, to bring someone(s) to justice, and the company at the centre of this development to call to account.

Food laws are in place to protect consumers from fraud and poor quality products. I am sure Barbados, under the respective Ministries of Health and Commerce, have these laws in place to protect consumer rights and their health and to prosecute offending businesses who choose to ignore the rules of the law. Where is the public health in all of this? We often see them dealing with the small man but what about the big man?

The exploitative undercurrents of the ruthless and doan carish merchant class are experienced corner cutters. Their buck saving mechanisms do not often take into consideration what effect or impact these schemes may have on the consumer. As long as it is presented to appear wholesome and safe, and they can derive healthy profit margins from products they pay a fraction of the cost for, the risk far outweighs the consequences.

After all money talks in Barbados, the court system hardly prosecutes the wealthy and the deemed ‘economically important’. A nice backdoor settlement ensures the continuation of these companies until the rising and setting of the sun.

Imagine enforcement was something to be proud of in Barbados; what a difference Barbados would be, concerning corruption and, fradulent activity.

28. Chicken is the most contaminated food on the international markets. The Bill of Laden can be fraudulently changed. Most dodgy chicken comes from Brazil, China and Holland. The Bill of Laden may say the US – not a big chicken exporter – or the UK – not a big chicken exporter.
    As to customs officers valuing imports on sight, the thinking is sensible, preventing the Treasury from being robbed, but there are unseen consequences; people buying used goods overseas may be prevented from establishing small businesses to the benefit of Barbadian consumers.
    A good example of this is the fried chicken industry: buying the equipment from overseas can be reasonably priced, but with customs searching the internet and valuing the good themselves all they are doing is keeping unscrupulous fried chicken sales people in business.
    Another example is the used BMW market. I can buy second hand BMWs, in Britain, ship them to Barbados and sell them making a decent profit at a price much cheaper then they are available at present.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

More like the drug dealing, money laundering, gun running class. Those minorities of indians and local whites have been allowed by the authorities and politicians to commit crimes in Barbados for decades….free from sanctions or penalities, it’s only now returning to bite them all in the ass through internet exposure.

Ram Merchandani the female been bribing them all for decades to import her nasty garbage….all the others do the same thing,

Has the authorities not heard of salmonella and other even more dangerous bacteria like ecoli….that kills people. These greedy businessmen shoukd be charged.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…the authorities, politicians, court system in Barbados do not enforce legislation or any laws to protect the people in Barbados….as long as there are bribes to be had.

Scam artists and crooks from UK, Europe and North America are flocking to Barbados because it’s the esiest place to commit crimes against the people and not have to worry about being charged or arrested or deported as long as the authorities and politicians believe you have money.,,..they are a national disgrace.

31. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the DPP’ my ass.

I smuggled a bottle of Vodka into BDS once. There was some misunderstanding of whether the duty-free entry allowance was two bottles or two litres and so I bought three 750ml bottles to ‘split the difference’. It turned out I actually smuggled 250ml of vodka through a very alert HM Customs border control. Others in the queue did not, several receipt books were rapidly degrading as HM Customs took its ‘pound of flesh’ from Bajan taxpayers.

Yet we are to believe the three or four 40′ refrigerated containers, which have to be specially handled, connected to mains power in the Port, inspected by HM Customs officials and transported out of the port with gate passes which are checked again, were somehow smuggled into Barbados?

Like my 250ml of vodka in an airline carry-on bag?

Do the people who use the English language in the press even think of what they type?

These chicken wings were imported illegally by criminals with the able assistance of more criminals in authority and public office who are taking advantage of an island in a crisis of governance and administration, to further their own financial goals.

I have typed here for years: Nature abhors a vacuum. In the absence of organised management, covert and illicit authority will take over.

That is the legacy of Fumble’s Fools. Total chaos and consequential corruption.

32. Well Well,
    What about greedy, money grubbing, tiering BLACKS, from all strata of society? Why only mention Indians and whites (of whatever strata). Blacks are just as guilty for they are the ones who take the bribes and turn a blind ey to these practices. Don’t discriminate. Maybe I should call you Ms Trump.

33. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the DPP’ my ass.

Alvin Cummins June 15, 2016 at 7:19 AM #
    Well Well,
    What about greedy, money grubbing, tiering BLACKS, from all strata of society? Why only mention Indians and whites (of whatever strata). Blacks are just as guilty for they are the ones who take the bribes and turn a blind ey to these practices. Don’t discriminate. Maybe I should call you Ms Trump.

Because WW&C is a racist and has demonstrated such in countless posts.

The fantastic opportunity that racism presents politicians is distraction, Dippa used it to best effect to distract from the very real economic issues a newly independent Barbados faced when ForEx had to be prioritised for medicine etc. and there was a long list of ‘non-essential’ goods banned from importation into the early 80s. It is still a useful tool when dealing with the not-very-smart voter, as highlighted by Trump’s anti-Islam rants.

In Barbados our situation will always be someone else’s fault.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David June 14, 2016 at 7:24 PM

You really mean the “new” Indo-Chinese-Middle East merchant class.

Bloggers like Bush Tea, Pachamama and the other anti-albino-centric misguided racists like the negroman have been doing nothing more than tilting at imaginary windmills in true Quixote style.
    It is no longer the old ‘white’ plantation and merchant class dictating things in Bim.

What you have ruling the roost in Bim is a nexus of Indo-Chino-Middle Eastern importers and distributors of junk food slowly killing the ‘native’ black population. But this unholy alliance of poison distributors are aided and abetted by both a corrupt black political class in cahoots with just a corrupt and living-above-their-official-pay-scale’ black bureaucracy especially at the top.

The likes of Moneybrain, Lawson and John must be smirking all the way to the old Roebuck Street class of merchant bank of “I told you so”. Right, Vincent Haynes?

35. It looks like Bhana tried to bribe Roy Morris. Well done, Roy, for reporting this.

36. Were the wings really destroyed?

37. Read what Roy Morris had to say about attempted bribery relating to this situation:
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82226/public-bribes

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins June 15, 2016 at 7:19 AM #
    “What about greedy, money grubbing, tiering BLACKS, from all strata of society? Why only mention Indians and whites (of whatever strata). Blacks are just as guilty for they are the ones who take the bribes and turn a blind ey to these practices.”

As a man in the know for the past 50 years of so-called Independence tell us more about the blacks who “take the bribes and turn a blind eye to these practices”.
    Who are these blacks? Are they friends of yours? Are they members of the Bajan political class? Are they the corrupt civil servants for whom being on the take from the just as corrupt private business sector is the only way to justify and maintain their extravagant lifestyle?

As has been said before there is no way politicians and their henchmen can ‘negotiate’- through the award of public sector funded (taxpayers) contracts- for campaign contributions or kickbacks for personal enrichment unless those politicians are ably aided and abetted by senior pubic sector employees; either out of fear for their career prospects or for their own cut of the scam and raid on the Treasury.

Why don’t you ask your black-mouth buddy Denis the Lowedown crook or Sharkmouth Lashley the bag man for Maloney how the game is played?

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Alvin, you can call me Mrs. Whatever, so you shoud have no problem with me calling you Mr. Clare Cowan of Cahill scam against bajans fame.

It does not need mentioning that bajan authorities and parliamentarians, politicians and ministers of government in Barbados from both political parties have been taking bribes and selling out themselves, the people and island to minority indians, whites and in between for over 40 years, the island is a majority black nation, they are all black people….everyone inside and outside of Barbados knows this Alvin, you were one of the few people trying to cover it up, until ya got caught colluding with and enabling the Cahill scam.

40. By the way, maybe our food service inspectors should check on the numerous small food vendors and restaurants to ascertain the quality of meat used in preparing the popular stew that we love with out peas and rise. I found myself on the periphery of a conversation between two small restaurant owners or cook-shop owners and my takeaway is that meat marketed as dog food is usually of good enough quality to be used in stew. Are you happy with that?

41. I am surprised that no one has made the connection to the presence of so many guns in the country, the chicken came in following the same route as the guns at least this was the case a few years ago although the cast of characters may have changed. If you don’t believe me ask…….. well don’t expect me to divulge the name.

Time for another calypso Chicken and Guns.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“If you want real investigative journalism, tell the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and the Democratic Labour Party you will not support them in any future election if they don’t pledge to enact a modern Defamation Act and Freedom of Information Act, and have them passed before the next election, or in the case of the BLP, have a fully complete and published draft of each as an addendum to its manifesto. – See more at: “http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82226/public-bribes#sthash.PFgdXUW5.dpuf

Who is surprised that Maloney, Bizzy, Cow and Bjerkham will try to bribe a journalist, they live and breathe to bribe since they been bribing politicians since Maloney was about 5 years old.

They cannot now call up the politicians and complain that pressure needs to be applied to Morris because the politicians are all now trying to cover their own dirty corrupt asses. I hope Morris recorded that conversation. When speaking to corrupt people like Peter Harris and the aforementioned. ….people need to have their recording devices turned on….start isolating the bribery specialists.

Morris is right….the electorate has to force the government to enact legislation and enforce the laws that protect citizens and journalists from corrupt, greedy and immoral business people

Or…..the electorate should spoil the votes, stand your ground, get rid of these corrupt bitches.

43. CHECK DE TING DO Avatar
    CHECK DE TING DO

Finally. Finally. Finally and at last someone paying attention to the crap put before the Bajan population when it comes to food. More of this banning or dumping should happen until it stops with no recourse to the importers by insurance repayment for loss. Further, harming the health of the population by those who purchase such foods to sell, should be considered criminal – put before the courts for bodily harm.

The Ministry of Health and the Customs & Excise should be more vigilant, with specific chemicals in foods, expiry dates, place of manufacture etc having very specific rules and any kind of favouritism exercised to importers also considered criminal. There is much on the list of imported goods that should be banned totally but I guess the huge amount of taxes made from imports is a deterrent to government when I comes to this. But I sure wish they would see the light for the sake of the people who they love so much. But so should the population be vigilant – they need to be educated about what is good and bad for health, not with a pamphlet that once folded into one’s bag, is forgotten, but in the schools from nursery to primary to secondary and beyond, and by signs outside every supermarket that are clear, concise and make one think. Yes believe it or not, think! If the people started examining what they buy and left out the nastiness, those food importers would have to close their doors. Why do we think that we have food importers on every corner, people leaving sewing needles and hard work to bring in food. Because they know they can get away with making huge profits for 10th grade products because we the people simply do not care. Look alone at all those 15th grade dwarf apples filled with pesticides selling like there is no applet-omorrow on the side of the road. Traces of pesticide has been found right into canned apple sauce but we just do not care. It from Amurrica and dat is just super.

By the way for those who do not understand how imports work. America imports trans-goods and this has nothing to do with what sex you choose to be, it is about bringing it in and allowing it to pass through straight to the ports that ship down to the Caribbean. We have companies here with agents there, guess how labels suddenly become something different like Made in the US. Does not take a rocket scientist.

Many years ago it was difficult to purchase food imports in Trinidad, what happened? The people did not starve, they just found other things that were local to eat, and agriculture prospered, markets prospered, fresh produce prospered and guess what? manufacturing food prospered. To this day it is still prospering to some extent, while our manufacturers have dwindled and nearly all o’dem producing pepper sauce, like we could eat pepper sauce when importation comes to a grinding halt because of some natural disaster. Shoot! I forgot we also have mauby and other sugar syrups too – so guess we can survive on pepper sauce and mauby syrup. And since concrete is preferred to land being used to grow food, we could always turn to concrete drizzled with syrup and a few dashes of pepper sauce. Venezuela built up a huge manufacturing and agricultural sector also by banning imports, their problem is they went they way we going – no respect for agriculture – and when the money start to run out because of greed in politricks et al and no money for imports with US doing a number on them because they will not fly the way the US wants them, what happens? Pandemonium in da house. This is what I mean about natural disasters, different kind, same ting.

To improve the manufacturing sector and the agricultural sector, ban pesticides to start with. Have the island organic and clean. It will not only do the people’s health good, but will improve the quality of our water, the seas, the reefs and therefore our sea creatures we like on our table. Good for tourism that we depend on. Imagine we could even advertise that Barbados is eco-friendly and organic. We would have to put on extra planes and build extra hotels just because we serving clean healthy food. What a vision eh? Next, give farmers far more incentives by way of tax, and huge penalties and I mean huge – go as far as cutting off hands like in the old times if necessary (just kind’a joking) – for praedial larceny.

I would personally challenge this government to begin the move forward on the above and would even vote for dem (pardon de pun) if they did. In fact would vote for any government and push for others to do so too and I am sure, so would all those involved right now in the local food sector – from farmers right through. A landslide win for whichever party bold enough. No promises but action. Just do it. Why? Because they can! I am actually having one of my visionary moments where no one can wipe the smile off my face as I see Barbados sweet and clean and organic and producing all the needs of the people and the tourism sector. Nevis does it. Dem doan let a ting pass through their coast if they produce it on the island…not a pig, nor chicken, nor goat! Talk about vigilant.

Sad that these days everything has to turn into a racial mouthing off…we real concern about racism in the US but practice it right here on the rock and think it is okay. What the importation of illegal chicken wings got to do with racism I ent know. Seems to me that all colours and creeds these days intent on getting it all fuh nutting and driving the rock down, further down than it is already.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The Roy Morris article is astounding and very revealing. It provides some interesting evidence that proves the ease at which a phone call and offer eradicate cases against the big ups. Roy Morris should expose the entire thing, since the evidence of this bribe was through his listening ears.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated….I am hurt that you would call me a racist. I don’t have a racist bone in my body…..I am an equal opportunity gal…….Alvin is a pimp, I can’t believe you fell into that trap….well let me tell ya…the bajan whites and wannabe, along with the indians and syrians and other minorites who bribe politicians, sell and run drugs and guns on the island and have been for decades……they all want locking the hell up, naming and shaming just like the black politicians, ministers of government and civil servants who collude with, take bribes from and allow the corruption, gun running, money laundering and drug dealing to flourish…., there, hope that makes you feel much better.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Importing chicken and food products, clothes, cars etc by local whites, indians and the syrian community, have always been a front for importing drugs, guns and other illegal and banned items….see how balanced I am frustrated….everyone will get exposed now…..black, white and in between.

47. Good stuff there chekdeting-meister. Just one lil remark that it is illegal and has been for as long as I knew bout dese things to change source of made-in like your comment that ‘… America imports trans-goods and… it is about bringing it in and allowing it to pass through straight to the ports that ship down to the Caribbean….’

Bro or Sis, yah know dat de people dem gotta consolidate dem imports so the transship ting is perfectly sensible. Changing labels or BoL details is efffing illegal.

On de other matter of de Nation big-boy editor, dat is extremely interesting. That is a real Tom Clarke novel there fah real.

? Only now dese revelations of bribery attempts come into de public domain ?

Roy was a head-man in local media fah effing generations. He uses to work for dat electronic paper for a while too. So maybe he did come back to the Nation because they was trying to bribe he ova-there too much and he couldn’t tek it no more.

Wanna think dat he doctor tell he to start to complete he bucket list.

Dis almost as sweet as de coming revelations up dey in the US…lick-mout lou conniption in we tails.

Wha Roy gone and do. Wha Assange going and doing. Oh blouse n skirt.

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC
    Girl are you thin skin. What the heck is a name besides someone trying to see if they can add injury to words meant to insult you? Girl, ignore the name calling or relish in it. There is an ad hoc arrangement in Barbados that allows all parties involve to flourish without conviction or penalty. It has been a shared secret between these parties for years. Everyone knows that what is in in place is an arrangement between politicians, corrupt civil servants, and bribe offering members of the merchant business sector. The problem is that it is easy to bribe politicians and civil servants because it is only way towards quick riches, the life of comfort and prestige they crave and becoming a somebody in the society where can entertain like never before and go to events you normally would not be invited too. They have sacrifice the interests of the island for their gains.

49. People enough mek de connection between containers and chicken n guns. And people enough mek de connection wid containers coming outta de port and being sent to people’s business premises wid fancy locks pon dem only to be opened when de customs officer on site.

Real nuff people know how dem locks get open and lock back when not a soul was there.

Real nuff people think its Ossie Moore commonsense to look under the street light because dat is where things will be frigging found, too. Dem think dat cameras should be in dem customs sheds too. That is where tings might be found…de light shining right there.

But real nuff people still waiting for de connection why dat can’t happen.

Dah politician shoulda bust off a shot pon de steps a Parliament fah real and stop de coney threat…and leh de guts of all this conniption spill eva sense.

A big suck-teete, do.