chickmont

One of the promises advocated by the then opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP) during the last election was their intention to break the stranglehold of the monopolies in Barbados. One of the monopolies which has been high on the agenda is that which controls the food sector. So far if the PEOPLE were to judge the effort of the government after 14 months most would probably feedback that the rhetoric of the campaign has not yet translated to any discernible improvement in this area. In the defense of Minister David Estwick who has been recently given responsibility for the matter, he needs more time to tackle what is a very deep-rooted problem.

To break-up monopolies in Barbados will have an economic and social cost for Barbados.

Over one year and the PEOPLE of Barbados continue to be sold-up the river by the merchant class and a government continuing to struggle to fulfill a campaign pledge to break-up monopolistic practices. The naiveté of the government when in opposition to think that this is a task which can be solved using tried methods has been disappointing i.e. suasion, threat of competition, price-controls etc.

Let us pick on the chicken industry in Barbados. We have heard the fact that Barbados is a chicken loving country. There has even been the trivia which has circulated for some time that the KFC restaurant in Barbados consumes more chicken per capita when compared to outlets in their global network. What is a definite fact is that there is a heavy DEMAND for chicken in Barbados.

BU received the following submission from a new family member which places the issue of the monopoly on the chicken sector in perspective:

Submitted by BU family member N

I came across your online publication recently and I’m quite impressed by the fervour of the articles, its quite nice to know that there are others out there who believe that the everyday injustices being perpetrated throughout Barbados NEED to be stamped out.

I am not sure if I’m addressing this in the proper forum, and indeed, on the scale of injustice, this might be one of lesser proportions, but I believe nonetheless that it needs to be addressed. Recently there was a case where the chicken conglomerates (Chickmont/Montrose) were justly accused of “jucking out Bajan’s eyes” regarding the pricing of their miraculous product “chicken drummetes”.

I stand to be corrected, but is not the price of chicken Government regulated or monitored? How can any seemingly educated human being believe that by cutting a chicken wing in parts and selling them individually it is still anything other than a chicken wing?

Seriously people!!! How can this be justification for pricing these drummettes at approximately $17.00 a kg?

In hindsight it seems that the vicious rumour regarding the sexual leanings of Bajans must be true….because everyday we getting B@ll and apparently enjoy it so much….we just line up for more…..

1. Anybody who is too lazy to cut up their chicken deserves to pay $17.00 per kilo for drumettes.

Or as you so elegantly put it they deserve to get bull.

2. Food conglomerates in this country will always function as a monopoly because the powers cannot do any better because they have sold their souls to them. Enough said.

3. I still say the consumers have the power but seem to be afraid to use it. STOP BUYING these expensive things and the people will get the message.

4. M,
    I agree with you. Bajans have got to take care of theirNEEDS and not their WANTS. If you go into a store or supermarket and the price is not to one’s liking DON’T BUY. Barbadians have to get away from the habit of saying,” YUH CAN’T EAT DE MONEY.” That’s why the merchants keep laughing at our asses all the time. We don’t want to buy anything cheap. We want to outspend our next door neighbour. It’s part of a STATUS thing.

5. I dont buy chickmont chicken i buy chicken done by the chicken stop in salters better price very clean and nice

6. When i was in Bimshire, I use to purchase my chickens from Steve poultry up in Welchman hall. Along came a dead chicken controversy and the end result is what we have to day as a monopolistic going concern,….and the price of chicken has been on the rise eversince. Brandford Taitt warn wunnuh, them minister of health, and i will continue to say inspite of RA, John and others, when certain people get to control economic sectors in Bim we does all end up suffering. Some can Call Carson C. Codogan whatever, but de truth is de truth.

7. If you want cheaper Chickens, and cheaper food;
    10 people get together start a veggie garden, raise Chickens in it, to eat the bugs, and share the veggies, eggs, and chickens ! If enuf people do this the overall price of merchant goods will come down, do to less demand. If enuf people don’t do it to effect the prices, at least the ones who have the fortitude to do it will benefit from their efforts. Unlike all those who only seek to set back and whine like little girls !
    Your responsibility to yourselfs, and your country don’t stop with a vote for empty promises.
    What exactly are you all waiting for, a new Government that does everything it says it will ? You ARE the Government, get busy !

8. A sensible approach Daniel but the problem for the Barbadian consumer is a little complex. The educational system which Barbadians boast about has come full circle to curtail our development. For example, we understand that there are several plantations in Barbados which are open to the public to harvest various food crops, there are also farm gates springing up all over the place and we should not forget the markets where fresh meat and other edibles maybe purchased. The advantage of patronizing these outlets is that it cuts out the middle and end persons.

Here is the problem as we see it.

The Black middleclass Bajan has become very status minded/aware. The Black middleclass Bajan will not be caught dead digging yams, sweet potatoes, picking peas etc or going to Cheapside early on Saturday morning to buy fresh meats etc. These educated Black Bajans feel very smug referring to their visits to leading supermarkets like SuperCentre. A good example of this was yesterday on air when Stetson Babb on the evening call in program was very happy explaining how expensive cassava hats are priced at his supermarket.

9. all bajans too proud,get rid of the stupid lawns and plant some food. cut down all the ornamental plants and grow fruit trees. get rid of the dogs and dog food purchasing. get a goat and have free milk. also raise your own chickens. i know that hard times are coming. the barometer to watch is when wunna stop buying dog food

10. For someone who is a lover of chicken drumettes that person will have to cut up a lot of chickens to get a belly full. hahaha

People nowadays don’t want to spend the time to do something if it can be found partially prepared or readydone – anyway to save time. Dah is part of de bajan latest lifestyle but to be fair, dey aint alone. Um hapning hay, dey and everywhere.

M – You are sewwww right on. These establishments with high priced chicken needs boycotting but one or two people can’t show the affect, it takes the masses.

11. ” i know that hard times are coming. the barometer to watch is when wunna stop buying dog food ”

Hello Don,

Or you meant to say…..they will continue to buy the dog food….but too bad it will be the HUMAN BEINGS and not the DOGS eating it !!!

12. David,
    Let the fools be parted from their money !
    The mentality of people like that is the same everywhere , including the states.
    The beauty of a small country, is similar to a small town. It is easier to effect change because of the limited number of people involved. It is always a matter of getting the right people to band together. People like don, who realize that a garden is much more attractive than a lawn. And a Goat can be just as good a pet as a dog.
    Dwelling on whatever brought society to the point it is, is only making excuses. Change is a matter of personal involvement. The more people become involved, the more things change.
    Anyone who profess to demand change, should also post what they’re doing in their OWN life.
    I.E. “Those rotten &^%&*& merchants !!” posted by Don, member of Gate garden #27, and St. Mike’s co-op buyers group.
    If someone isn’t willing to be part of the solution, then they should stop complaining about the problem.
    The answer to the food monopoly is as I stated before. Simply stop buying from ONE of the controllers. It cost the consumer the same $, but brings great pressure on the one boycotted. Start tomorrow, print fliers, spread the word, carry a sign ! It truly is a relatively simple thing to do !
    In fact I challenge everyone here to tell why they WON’T get involved ! Is it really that hard to go to one store, or market than the other ?
    Or you can all just sit back, proudly pay your high prices…….and be quiet.
    Every one, and every place, has it’s problems. But given everything I’ve experienced in Barbados, I’d still rather live there than anywhere else I’ve found. And yes, when I come, I plan on being as much a part of solutions as I can. Not as an outsider looking to fashion things to my liking. But as a caring productive member of the community, trying to make things better for all of us. Us being the human race. I hope that I won’t be brushed aside because I’m tall as a Trini, or as light skinned as a merchant.

13. What lawns do bajans have to dig up and plant food? They have concrete all over the yard and they build houses the same size of the lot, so there is no room to plant anything. Bajans do not like to get their hands dirty, look around their yards. They believe that the supermarket has everything for them so why bother to plant. When hard times really hit they will be out in the pasture fighting the goat and sheep for their food.

14. Bajans don’t know how lucky they are. My neighbour and I cannot wait for spring to appear so that we can begin the ritual of preparing our kitchen gardens, tomatoes, lettuce, brocolli-rab, etc. and we use everything that we plant, in fact during the warmer months we spend so much less, I wish it was warmer all year round. I do not know why people in a tropical climate have to spend so much money as bajans do.

15. As to the problem of no soil around the house. Container gardening ! It’s the best way to go anyway. If you check my web site badartdog.us you’ll see some innovative approaches. Including a growing ” wall”. I had 5 tomato plants, some 12 ft. tall and strawberries growing in the large one. all in about 5 sq. ft.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

One can also use tire gardens- a technique developed and patented by the late Dr Colin Hudson at Edgehill. the

17. With the high incidents of life style deseases in Barbados, you would think it would make sense to rethink our approaches. I see a generation of Barbadians living to a 100 and another dying at 35-58 and one glaring difference between the two is the lifestyle, and that of the former is closely related to the common theme that i have attributed to longevity in the “Blue zones” around the world.

http://longevity.about.com/od/longevitylegends/a/blue_zones.htm

Working the land is an extremely effective way of staying active. It is no amazement to me that the majority of Bajans reaching 100 years have a working background in argriculture.

18. There is the practice by poultry producers in Barbados to sell chicken chops i.e. damaged chickens, cut the bad parts off, sliced the rest of the chicken in smaller pieces.

Usually sold a little below normal price.

19. There is economic as well as a health benefits from growing your own food, and if you are financially well of and don’t need to grow your own food, or live in a society where weather and city codes restricts what and how much you can grow, a lawn and flower gardens will still keep you active.

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Apart from the hard work (exercise) they did, they ate plenty yams and potatoes etc. which provided sufficient starch to generate glucose for thier energy needs, but not enough for storage as fat.

In addition they are chemicals in these foods that have been proven to be conducive to good health.

They tended to eat less meat and more fish, and they used omega 3 fatty acids (shark oil, cod liver oil) long before the scientists started haping about the benefits of these substances.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Many Bajans have long since departed from eating yams, BUT……….

Yams provide a very good source of dietary fiber fiber, in addition to large amounts of the important co-enzymes, vitamin B1and B6, which is required by the liver body to break down a substance called homocysteine, which can directly damage blood vessel walls……..and lead to cardiovascular disease.

In addition, yams are a good source of vitamin C, and the trace mineral manganese which helps with carbohydrate metabolism and is a cofactor in a number of enzymes important in energy production and antioxidant defenses.

Yams are also a good source of potassium, a mineral that helps to control blood pressure.

Yams’ complex carbohydrates and fiber deliver the goods gradually, slowing the rate at which their sugars are released and absorbed into the bloodstream.

In addition, because they’re rich in fiber, yams fill you up without filling out your hips and waistline. You’ve just got to hand it to Mother Nature; when She brings forth a food, She makes sure it integrates everything needed to contribute to your health and vitality.

Because yams have a low glycemic index, they offer a more sustained form of energy, and thus provide better protection against overweight and diabetes.

Dioscorin, a storage protein contained in yam, may also be of benefit to certain individuals with hypertension.

Preliminary research suggests that dioscorin can inhibit angiotensin converting enzyme, which would therefore lead to increased kidney blood flow and reduced blood pressure; both important considerations in the management of any pregnancy.

Yams are a good source of potassium a mineral that helps to control blood pressure. Since many people not only do not eat enough fruits and vegetables, but also consume high amounts of sodium as salt is frequently added to processed foods, they may be deficient in potassium. Low intake of potassium-rich foods, especially when coupled with a high intake of sodium, can lead to hypertension.

In the Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) study, one group ate servings of fruits and vegetables in place of snacks and sweets, and also ate low-fat dairy food. This diet delivered more potassium, magnesium and calcium. Another group ate a “usual” diet low in fruits and vegetables with a fat content like that found in the average American Diet. After eight weeks, the group that ate the enhanced diet lowered their blood pressure by an average of 5.5 points (systolic) over 3.0 points (diastolic).

22. Dear Adrian you wrote “I wish it was warmer all year round. I do not know why people in a tropical climate have to spend so much money as bajans do.”

When it is warmer all year round (as in Barbados) it is also drier and windy-er that it is in your part of the world. Warmth is not the only thing required for things to grow, at this time of the year we would be glad for the moisture of spring. But we get a very drying wind.

J sometime farmer, and former resident of the great white north

23. Dear Georgie Porgie:

Now that you have given us the yam treatise, please do one on okras. They are truly easy to grow and I believe very healthy to eat.

24. Take a young girl’s advice on how to save $$$$ and eat healthy!

My boyfriend and I go digging yams & sweet potato and shaking out cassava. We both love breadfruits. As for vegetables we travel to Spring Hall Land Lease in St Lucy, which had TOMATOES @ 0.25c per pound (you had to pick them yourself) & CUCUMBERS @ 0.50c per pound; last month. Cabbages were $1.50 per pound. We also got butternut squash, sweet peppers & pumpkins on that trip! If you look at the back of the newspaper, you will see when plantations have provisions on sale. We eat lots of what is in season (and cheap), and dice, freeze and store as well. We buy chickens, lamb and pork mostly from small producers; and never have any problems. I only buy necessary items from supermarkets, and if we can do without we dont buy it.

We have been doing this about two years now and we have seen healthy savings. We must try to cut cost as much as possible. These supermarkets charging these exorbitant costs can hardly justify their actions, and the poor black persons doing most of the hard work being paid at minimum wages. We need to boycott places like Pricesmart who charging a membership price of $50.00 and to renew each year, another $50.00. Pricesmart prices just as high or higher than the supermarkets and then, they dont give bags! Nonsense! Not my money!

We must not stop allowing people to come in this country and rip us off, we must root them OUT. We must stop talking and start taking action!

25. J // March 5, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Dear Adrian you wrote “I wish it was warmer all year round. I do not know why people in a tropical climate have to spend so much money as bajans do.”

When it is warmer all year round (as in Barbados) it is also drier and windy-er that it is in your part of the world. Warmth is not the only thing required for things to grow, at this time of the year we would be glad for the moisture of spring. But we get a very drying wind.

J sometime farmer, and former resident of the great white north
    ===========================

Save your water! How many people in Bim capture rain water from their roofs? It is not that difficult to do, and a very short rain fall can fill a 50 gallon drum very quickly. You think Hoad could live as “cheaply” as he does in this cold ass place?

@L Medford
    Good for you, a little effort on a daily basis, will do you much good in years to come.

I had my sardine and Oatmeal this morning. 🙂

26. @ L. Medford

Way to go girl! Don’t just talk about the high prices do something about it!

27. Philantropist Myass Avatar
    Philantropist Myass

The poultry producers have been protected by goverment at the expense of consumers.
    I remember when the poultry producers said they would offer consumers drumsticks at cheaper prices to prevent goverment from importing chicken wings.

http://74.125.47.132/search?q=cache:Gzt44EvDjhIJ:www.nationnews.com/story/313386925528930.php+drumsticks+barbados+poultry+producers&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=10

Since chicken wings are price controlled, it is more profitable for them to produce drummetes.

I cannot believe that people are actually buying these!

28. Philantropist Myass
    Dis is one a de best ‘names’ I have come across on BU. Ya got ma laffin.
    Murtherrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

29. Why are Bajans eating chicken wings? Try skining a wing and see what’s left . Wow!! You have all bone. These things are lethal to your health. Flying fish were recently sold 35 dollars a hundred . Dolphin is fetching a price of 5.50 per pound. “Pot fish” can’t exceed 6.50 per pound . Salmon is retailed at 4 dollars per can and Bajans are quarelling about the price of
    4-dollar corned beef , another WMD (weapon of mass destruction). When I was a child I saw chicken served at home once a week and it wasn’t the wings. Fried fish, boiled fish and fish soup, along with salmon/salted fish were served Monday to Friday. Saturday was cou-cou and mackerel , herring or flying fish if they were plentiful. Sunday’s protein was chicken or beef or pork or lamb, depending on what the village butcher slaughtered that weekend. It is time we get back to healthy eating and bypass the fast-food outlets. Young couples must spend more time in the kitchen and less time on the computer/tv. Can you imagine parents lining up outside a gas station on mornings to collect a hot dog and a cup of coffee for their children and themselves? I hope the recession teaches them sense.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

This brief note on OKRAS is specially for J!
    Okra is rich in a number of essential nutrients, and is a good source of dietary fiber, folate, magnesium, potassium, thiamin, calcium, phosphorus, and vitamins A, C, E, and B6. It is also very light on calories, with about ten pods having a total of about thirty-two calories.
    Okra oil may be extracted from the seeds of the okra. This greenish yellow edible oil has a pleasant taste and odor, and is high in the unsaturated fats oleic and linoleic acids which are great for everyone’s diet.
    Unspecified parts of the plant reportedly possess diuretic properties.
    Because of its thickening abilities, it is a notable source of pectin. The vegetable’s mucilaginous substances not only thicken soups and stews, but help lubricate the intestines and soothes duodenal ulcers. When okra is heated in water, its starch granules absorb water molecules, which swell and eventually rupture, releasing amylose and amylopectin molecules as well as gums and pectic substances, all of which attract and immobilize water molecules, thickening the soup or stew.
    Medicinally, okra is effectively used as a demulcent which soothes inflammations, including duodenal ulcers, and lubricates the intestines. In India, infusions of the pods are used to treat urinogenital problems and chest infections. In some places, okra is also added to artificial blood plasma products. Non-medical uses includes its being used in the making of rope in some countries.
    For the gardener, okra flourishes if grown with melons and cucumbers.

31. Thanks Dr. GP.

32. GP
    Good info.

33. Every time the poor finds an alternative, where they can get maximum value for their money, these producers cry foul, and government rushes to their aid.

When it is not eggs, it is chicken wings, now it is turkey wings.

As long as they enjoy government protection there is no need for them to offer competitive prices on their products.

The poultry cartel continues to get assistance from government at the expense of consumers.

Do we really like it so?