Some say a picture is worth a thousand words. We take no pleasure posting the following pictures which reflect our decaying physical infrastructure. We go further to opine that it is a sad reflection of our inability to effectively and efficiently manage our tiny country. For partisan political reasons many will not want to admit it but it is the truth. If we love our country we need to pull it back!

It is not about the quantum of taxpayers resources allocated to build stalls near to Golden Square to accommodate the displaced vendors from Fairchild Street market, it is about the lack of management to ensure it was efficiently executed.

The three pictures of the dilapidated erection meant to shield the public’s view of one of the most beautiful vistas on our coastline must be described as a ‘sin’.  Do we need to remind the country that Bridgetown and its environs is categorized as a world heritage site?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

110 responses to “It is a Paradise – A Decaying Physical Infrastructure”

1. Stephanie F. Chase tagged you and 23 others in a post.

Stephanie wrote: "Good Morning #realdreamchasers. Weโ€™ve made it to the end of the week. Here is your daily newscap. BOTH STUDENT & TEACHER GUILTY – Move them both, And give the student counselling and her teacher training on how to cope with challenging children. These were the primary recommendations of the board of management of the Ellerslie Secondary School after investigating the incident in which a 14-year-old student and her female teacher were involved in a physical altercation in their classroom at the Black Rock school in mid-April. Responding to questions about why the child had not returned to any classroom since the incident occurred six weeks ago, a source close to the situation explained that based on the report of the board to the Ministry of Education, the childโ€™s last official day on the roll of the school was May 20, last Friday. Thatโ€™s because the investigation concluded that the student was in breach of the schoolโ€™s code of discipline and amounted to assault and battery on the teacher, in addition to gross disrespect. AKANNI BLAMES POLITICS – Taking part in last weekโ€™s opposition organised Walk For Justice appears to have landed head of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) in trouble. But said Akanni McDowall the latest attempt to remove him from the presidency of the NUPW is fuelled by politics and driven by past presidents and general secretaries.โ€œThe sad thing is that I believe that this is being orchestrated by some past presidents and general secretaries driven by politics โ€ฆ I will not be deterred. I will continue to represent the rights of workers of this country,โ€ McDowall said yesterday.The health promotion officer in the Ministry of Health revealed that he was reliably informed there were now eight charges against him, one of which included taking part in Thursdayโ€™s Walk For Justice and shaking hands with Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition Barbados Labour Party. BWA 5M DEPOSIT – What was highlighted in the Auditor Generalโ€™s 2015 report as a $5 million โ€œadvance paymentโ€ to the contractors of the new Barbados Water Authority (BWA) building was in fact โ€œa deposit for worksโ€ as provided for under the memorandum of understanding between the two entities. This was explained by a source close to the project, undertaken by Innotech Services Limited, in response to a story in yesterdayโ€™s Daily Nation that reported on aspects of the Auditor Generalโ€™s report on the BWA new headquarters at the Pine, St Michael. The news story, the source contended, could have left an incorrect picture of the findings of the Auditor Generalโ€™s report on the project.The audit report also noted that an additional $6.1 million was incurred by the contractor for unforeseen but approved additional cost. The project was undertaken by leading contractor Innotech Services and was done under a public/private partnership arrangement. WRONG MIX – In a move reminiscent of a game of back and forth, the controversial case surrounding the construction of a concrete structure on Spring Garden Highway by the Mark Maloney-owned Rock Hard Cement company is set to be sent back to the Town and Country Planning Office for action. Rock Hard Cement is constructing the structure near the Flour Mills and within view of the highway to store its product. Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins issued an enforcement notice against the company on Friday, ordering it to cease construction and to demolish the structure. However, a defiant Maloney has ignored the order and is standing firm.The DPP was not available for comment today. However, the official source said there was no doubt he was passing the case back to Town Planning, which falls under the Prime Ministerโ€™s Office.There were reports that the Town Planning Department had also served an enforcement notice on the Barbados Port Authority (BPA), the landlord of Lots 3 and 7 currently being occupied by the cement company.This is not the first time that Maloney has been accused of engaging in construction work without permission from the Town and Country Planning Office, or of ignoring enforcement notices from the office.At a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) St John constituency branch meeting last weekend, Opposition parliamentarian Kerrie Symmonds accused the businessman of refusing to comply with an order from the Chief Town Planner to remove an island at the entrance to The Villages at Coverley in Christ Church. Symmonds said then that the order was given four years ago, and wondered why the structure had not been removed.Maloney, the developers behind the two and three-bedroom housing project, has also come under fire for placing a petrol station in The Villages at Coverley without first obtaining planning permission. GRAN MOVES – THE SAGA of the last holdout is over. Leotta Burnett, the 94-year-old who had remained in her Road View, St Peter, home for more than 60 years despite almost all her neighbours moving away as a result of a 2009 deal between Jada Builders Inc. and the Methodist Church, has moved and the house demolished. Why Burnett decided to move two months after a story on her resolve was published is unclear as the elderly woman declined to speak to the WEEKEND NATION, except to say she was comfortable.She was now living in St Peterโ€™s Avenue, on the opposite side of the highway.โ€œI have nothing to say to the NATION. I might go down the wrong road,โ€ she said.At the time if the story she was quoted as saying the houses there were too small for her taste. TOO MANY FAT KIDS – BARBADIAN CHILDREN are eating junk and drinking sweet drinks and it is showing around their midsections. These were the findings, said a health promotions officer in the Ministry of Health, of a school-based study done four years ago.Donna Barker was speaking to the WEEKEND NATION as the Barbados Childhood Obesity Prevention Programme hosted a Children Making Smart Choices programme entitled Chop Bad Habit at the Collymore Rock Church of the Nazarene yesterday.Admitting that she did not have the figures to hand, Barker said the 2012 study looked at different practices, healthy or unhealthy, of school children between 13 to 15 years. WATER SCARCE – IT IS A bittersweet tale for those in the North of the island as the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is reporting mixed results concerning ending the water shortages in St Peter, St Joseph and St Lucy. Acting general manager Dr John Mwansa said relief was on the way for those in Boscobel, St Peter, but St Joseph was still an ongoing headache for the statutory body.โ€œWe had a problem at the Haymans pumping station which we have fixed yesterday [Tuesday] that will help residents in Boscobel. However, the water levels will still need time to come back up and I canโ€™t give a definite answer as to how long that is going to take.โ€œIn terms of St Joseph, we are still struggling and are experiencing problems at Bowmanston with a reduction in pumping but we are working on that issue,โ€ he said. BROWN WATER – AS THE NORTH of the island is starved of water, things are looking brown. When some people in St Joseph accessed the community tanks this week what came out was far from satisfactory.โ€œThe water in this tank dirty. I have to leff here and go St Thomas to look for clean water. All yesterday the water was off and the water authority fill it last night but look at it. I get up at 4 a.m for this? How can you drink water like that?โ€ said Chimborazo resident Sharon, as she identified herself.Another resident, who requested anonymity, said when the water was boiled, it left the kettle brown with a lot of limescale residue left. The concerned resident said she was โ€œvery shocked at what is being advertised as drinking waterโ€. TERROR IN ST. JOHN – WITH NIGHT COMES terror for residents in the neighbouring St John communities of Coach Hill and Haynes Hill. An armed outpatient of the Psychiatric Hospital has been tormenting them to the point where some residents are afraid to leave their homes after dark.According to residents their real life bogeyman โ€“ said to be in his 30s โ€“ prowls the streets under the cover of night, and has somehow continually managed to escape capture.Within the past four months his torment has caused thousands of dollars in damage to properties and one man was injured by the public menace who has a liking for throwing rocks through the windows of cars and houses. The several shops in the vicinity are also under siege by the armed bandit, who enters and shoplifts regularly while brandishing a cutlass. โ€œRATSโ€ CAUGHT – The fourth man accused of murdering Scherno Rose on Thursday, May 12, was today remanded to HMP Dodds until June 20.Rackeem Shaquille Alleyne, 20, alias Rats or Goon of Combermere Street, Nelson Street, the City was not required to plead when he appeared before Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant in the District โ€œAโ€ Magistratesโ€™ Court today. Rose died after being shot on May 12 at Neils Tenantry, St Michael.The three others previously remanded in connection with Roseโ€™s fatal shooting are Keshawn Leroy David Greene, 16, of Shepton Lane, Pinelands, St Michael; Darian Ronald Nurse, 21, of Strafford Hill, Pinelands, St Michael and Shaquille Deshone Maynard, 21, of Block D, North Close, Wildey, St Michael.They are also scheduled to reappear in court on June 20. MOTOR RACING FANS – More than 20 rally cars so far unseen by the majority of island fans will go on show for the first time at Simpson Motors scrutineering this Saturday.A huge turn-out is anticipated at the family-friendly fun day at the Warrens, St Michael, dealership where competitors, their service crews and sponsors will mingle with thousands of enthusiasts.Competition cars will start arriving to a pre-arranged schedule from 12 p.m., with the Clubman and Modified classes arriving first, WRC-1 and WRC-2 last.Island fans will find much to interest them, particularly among the cars from overseas: from the Ford Fiesta R5 Evo to be campaigned by M-Sport driver Elfyn Evans, through regular visitor Nigel Worswickโ€™s Ford Escort WRC to 18 examples of the iconic Ford Escort, almost half new to the island, including the state-of-the-art MkII to be driven by local ace Neil Armstrong. UWI BLACKBIRDS – Guardian Group Pride of Villa came so close to taking down University of the West Indies Blackbirds A last night, but in the end the Cave Hill Campus girls emerged victorious 50-49 thanks to 42 goals from national goal-shooter Shonica Wharton.The two sides met in the ongoing Barbados Netball Associationโ€™s Division One League at the Netball Stadium before a boisterous crowd. At the end of the encounter Blackbirds breathed a massive sigh of relief. The scores at the quarter marks were 13-12, 28-23 and 38-36, with Villa ably led by former national captain Latonia Blackman. She had another good night for Villa in her role as goal-shooter with a perfect score of 21 goals from 21 attempts. Fellow shooter Faye Sealy also netted 21 from 25 attempts while Latoniaโ€™s sister Nadia Blackman accounted for seven from her ten. Shonica Wharton scored 42 goals for Blackbirds.It was a rather intriguing game and the score line spoke for itself with Wharton handling herself well in the ring and showing her shooting capabilities when she fell just four goals shorts of a perfect night. She was supported by goal-attack Rieah Holder with eight goals from 11 attempts. MITCHELL FED UP – The ugly impasse that has dogged West Indies cricket over the past several months could sooner claim a very prized and passionate scalp.Chairman of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Cricket Governance Sub-committee, Grenadaโ€™s Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell, is threatening to hang up his boots as a protracted dispute with the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) that spilled over into the recent Twenty20 championships in Kolkata, India, shows no sign of abating.Delivering the 18th Sir Frank Worrell Memorial Lecture at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, last night, Mitchell declared that it may be time for him to move on. A panel of academics and leading Caribbean personalities, led by UWI Principal Dr Eudine Barriteau, set up by the regional prime ministers, had recommended dissolution of the governing body for West Indies cricket and the setting up of an interim management group while the organization was restructured. However, directors of the WICB, which is a privately-run organization, outrightly rejected the recommendation at their December meeting, with the Dave Cameron-led WICB showing no signs of giving in to the leadersโ€™ requests.The obvious friction in West Indies cricket has also affected the regionโ€™s game and it nearly ruined the Caribbeanโ€™s celebrations of its double T20 win in both the womenโ€™s and menโ€™s championships back in April as menโ€™s captain Darren Sammy and Cameron publicly traded brickbats in the full glare of the international cameras.It followed the embarrassing playersโ€™ pull out of India at the height of a dispute with the board over pay that led to threats by India of $43 million in sanctions.Cognizant of much of what has been said and done, Mitchell, who has been in the forefront of the regionโ€™s administration for decades and is an avid cricket fan, told the large gathering at the Roy Marshall Lecture Theatre last night it may be time for some of the people who are currently involved in the process to leave, and make way for others, as West Indies cricket was more than a game for the Caribbean. SAMMY SUPPORTING GAYLE – West Indies opener Chris Gayle might have drawn the ire of some for his recently deemed inappropriate approaches to female media practitioners.But West Indies Twenty20 captain Darren Sammy is firmly in support of Gayle, defending his teammate as being an โ€œentertainerโ€ and claiming that Gayleโ€™s outspoken nature makes him an easy target for the media. Last week, Gayle revived accusations of sexism with some lewd comments in an interview with The Times. However, Sammy played down the latest row.โ€œChris Gayle is the universe boss, a team mate of mine who I admire and respect. I just think people target Chris for no reason.โ€œTo me, Chris is one of our cricketing heroes. Heโ€™s an entertainer, first, but a lot of people have jumped on his back.โ€œI always support Chris because of what he does on a cricket field. Yes, we have a responsibility to ourselves, and the people who watch us, but sometimes I feel Chris is a target for newspaper headlines,โ€ Sammy said in Hampshire today. Thatโ€™s all for today folks. Have a fantastic Friday. ๐Ÿ™‚ <3 Steph."

Learn more about tagging on Facebook.

2. Why stop at the above video. Showcase the mess in another video that the country is in with so many dilapidated buildings and garbage all over the place, and finish with it. Maybe then some shock therapy might get those in charge moving to clean it up. Photograph the buildings left by CLICO that includes the ever-going-to-be-rebuilt Sam Lord’s Castle – it is claimed/alleged Parris bought those for bad mind saying in his office that no white man would ever own these buildings again. What a charmer. We have the remnants of Barrow’s home, the junk yard of two hotels on the south coast on the boardwalk, we have Silver Sands Hotel going to rack and ruin. We have escalating crime – where are the guns coming from? We have crackheads all about – where are the drugs coming from?There are countless other large ‘messes’ around the country that are turning Barbados into a garbage heap and that includes the indiscriminate dumping of garbage into our gullies that is compromising our water (what little we have) and our reefs every time there is the slightest bit of rain. The cutting down of trees because they are in the way of a billboard for a large corporation, not even ours, or because of large hotels (not even ours) – guess when we cannot breathe, we will stick our noses into the concrete and hope we can get a little bubble out of the cracks that might contain oxygen. At this point this country cannot point fingers at anyone – not Trinidad, not Jamaica, not even Venezuela. It is a small little island compared, and the lack of care has been overwhelming and is getting worse. While one cannot just blame government, if the top is broken, the bottom will soon crack and it cracking like crazy right now. Are Barbadians going to just stand by and watch this beautiful country just fall by the wayside? I guess we are. Because we like it so. There was yet another opportunity to show our anger. We stayed home. We feel everything is political and perhaps it is, but if there is an opportunity to show we are not happy with what is going on, why not forget politricks and just do it – cannot believe what Miss Chase has said above with reference to a union leader marching. This cannot be so. What happened to the rights of people to show their disgust at what is happening in their country. Because a person shakes the hand of The Opposition Leader doan mean they love her and want to see her as Prime Minister, it means they are being respectful as their mother’s taught them to be. Honestly. This is truly getting to be a sad situation. If those in power really love their little island, they would stop the nonsense and clean up the mess they created with apologies to the people. If they do not love their island, step down and give a chance to someone else – at least they might be pardoned their disrespect for their island. Or how about invite the Opposition to rule together with them, and together get the island back to where it should be. Now that would show love of country, would it not? At this point no one cares about politicians and their tricks, people just want their country back. Is that too much to ask?

3. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Paradise Lost………That should be the caption and those pics truly reflect what we have become as a country on this our 50th year of “Independence”.

4. Why does Ms Chase post (repost) the news items from the Nation News website? Why not just give a link? She does not seem to provide any independent commentary or additional information. More baffling why does David of BU repost it on BU?

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s just a reflection of the state of minds of politicians from both political parties and the corrupt business people they all refuse to stop facilitating….their minds are all corrupt, decayed and dilapidated.

6. Perhaps because many refuse to buy or read The Nation Ping Pong? Miss Chase’s precis of the news has been and is useful to many. It is certainly so out of the island where if one wants to read the Nation, it simply gives the headline, two/three words and tells you to go buy one. Like you could get a Nation on every street corner the world over. I have heard many complain of this. And the lady is further advertising the Nation FOR FREE as they are mentioned. Maybe they should pay her for this excellent news on a page – everything one needs to know with easy access. I see no reason why BU would not post it as well, the news in a nutshell, and for the purpose of this blog, it works. Is The Nation complaining?

7. …and most baffling of all is why anyone would be inclined to read the long jumbled mess….

8. LOL @ REAL TING
    At least it could be separated into basic paragraphs.
    But we can see that is not an issue for you….

9. @Real Thing

Correct!

The few photos represent the tippy top of the pile.

#sadness

10. Real Ting
    If one can read BU or Facebook i.e one has access to a computer and the internet then one can access the Nation News online! It is NOT an issue for me however I was just curious why people do certain things. I’ll move on, nothing to see here…LOL.

11. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

No agent of the gov’t (parliamentarian, cabinet minister, PS, etc. on down) has any vested interest in anything that belongs to taxpayers. This is not only now, it has been so forever.

The only way to redress this issue is to divest gov’t of assets of any type.

The purpose of gov’t is to LEGISLATE, REGULATE, FACILITATE; NOT OPERATE.

Gov’t offices should be tenants in privately-owned properties, the free market would take care of rental rates and owners would maintain their own properties. If giant companies like SHELL and Cable & Wireless can do this, why can’t the gov’t of Barbados? An auction of gov’t buildings would not only bring in cash for capital works like roads and infrastructure but would also bring in foreign currency.

We need to stop thinking the same old shite just because it has always been done badly and we have come to accept it. Any right-thinking manager could turn this country around in two years.

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

REAL TING May 27, 2016 at 7:19 AM #

I agree,as presently over and away…..just ignore Bush Tea,he is trying to start the wacker.

13. Just scroll if you don’t want to read. The online Nation newspaper publishedmany articles in truncated form so that if she post links it does satisfy the objective to inform. Not all the news reported in the Nation is a nonsense and to give informed critique it is advisable to have a read of the full news.

14. The only way to redress this issue is to divest govโ€™t of assets of any type.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    We know it is Friday, but that is no excuse to start the day talking shiite Frustrated B.

Gov’t does not own any damn assets….. the PEOPLE OF BARBADOS are the owners.
    The shiite gov’t are just elected to manage those assets for five years.

So you are suggesting that the people of Barbados be disenfranchised (further) because we have had a series of jackasses elected to manage our assets? …jackasses who have been bribed into subservience by the usual suspects?
    How does that solve the problem? ….except making the rape of Bajan asse(t)s easier for the predators?

…or is THAT your subtle point…?

Why not suggest that SUCCESSFUL, EXPERIENCED, PROFESSIONAL, TRIED and TESTED managers be head-hunted and hired to manage the people’s assets…… which is the approach that any wise businessman would take with HIS OWN assets?

Why not suggest that the nasty ,traitorous, low-life, politicians be tried for treason and quickly hung ….whenever it is found out that they acted against the public interests?

Why not call on the albino-centric businessmen who are bribing the politicians to be fined 80% of their total declared assets whenever THEY are found to be breaking the financial Laws (such as illegally funding political parties)?

….Much easier to suggest that Blacks revert to the plantation days when we owned NOTHING, and were living in the tenantries …ent it?

15. Also in the original posting on FB each summary of news is started by a heading in CAPS. Why don’t we look at the big picture?

#whydosomeofusbother

16. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Can you honestly say that the private sector would be more effective and efficient ? Where is the evidence? They cannot even create genuine businesses for them selves without asking the Public sector to provide capital and market. Name any new business opened in the last twenty years that did not require wavers of tax and a guaranteed market paid for with taxpayers money.

17. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

All roads in this article seem to lead to Government. Are they supermen simply because we elected them to office? What and where are our responsibilities as citizens? Have we no inputs to make? Even Jesus required the beneficiaries of a miracle to make an input.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea May 27, 2016 at 8:27 AM #

Chuckle …….There you go again with mis-informationโ€ฆ.Much easier to suggest that Blacks revert to the plantation days when we owned NOTHING, and were living in the tenantries โ€ฆent it?

Skippah…..London Bourne owned 3 plantations…….we the people through the govt own the majority of the land in Bim presently………Ah did not see you in white.

When are you going to call a meeting at the wharf and start the change?

19. @ Vincent
    Have you given consideration to staying up in England?
    You must be at home there nuh….. no end of heroes to look up to…. and you will be doing us all a favour by taking your cynicism back home….

Just because it is a good idea does not mean that any and every haphazard, mediocre approach is acceptable…. This is what Bushie likes about GP…..
    If you are going to do some shiite, THEN DO IT WELL – reflecting EXCELLENCE ….. or keep to ass out of the kitchen.

With just a bit more effort, that summary can be packaged in such a way as to even outdo the original Nation shiite as the ‘go-to’ news source for busy people, HOWEVER, when Bushie sees the long, continuous words, all jumbled together, the instinctive thing is to move on…. like with Zoe’s (also highly informative) cut and paste. How is that hard to understand?

Bushie refers you to Pieceuhderock’s efforts with his posters and ‘books’ for an example of what constitutes quality efforts. Mediocracy is a damn curse……Do you think that people would gravitate to BU if you just dumped articles all over the damn place in higgrly higgrly style? Don’t you source relevant pics, docs, and format?

20. @Bush Tea

You are entitled to your opinion, many look forward to her summary of the news. If the thousands of her friends are happy then she is happy. It is a minor point.

21. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

If we want to maintain an elegant physical environment we will have to enforce the Town Planning rules and insist that our fellow citizens obey them. As citizens we need to report breaches of these rules to the authorities and remind our fellow citizens about these rules. We must keep each other honest and law abiding. We do not need a military stare to do this. Appealing to citizens sense of shame and pride is enough.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated…ya right, the politicians vested interests lay in themselves only, just look at all the decay, it boggles the mind that an educated people, with educated leaders would allow this….but it’s deserved, they continue to chase away their brilliant scholars, let them keep their corrupt business people….and dissolve into more decay.

23. @Vincent

It is still a paradise relatively so. We have a lot of work to do though.

The Bushman…as much ss I agree with you…if the usual crooked business people are not removed from the political landscape of Barbados and the politicians made embarassed in the four corners of the globe for what they continue to do with the corrupt business people….none of what you suggest as excellent as they are, will happen.

It’s a nonstarter, particularly with Bizzy and Maloney illegally reenforcing their stranglehold on the politicians and people.

25. We should be concerned as well the same decay can be found in the private sector. BU has repeatedly stated we need to manage the country as one sector, a collective. The polarization that has taken hold of Barbados is a sad affair.

26. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea May 27, 2016 at 8:42 AM #

@ Vincent
    Have you given consideration to staying up in England?

Chuckle……sorry Skippah,ah comin bac…..somebody got to watch yuh back at yuh wharf meeting…..when um is again??

27. The secret sauce is competition. The goverment can seek transparent and competitive bids to run some things now being run by goverment. It is not always necessary to divest.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya have to excuse Vincent, he is one of the plantation born wannabes…the earth will soon be able to breathe a sigh of relief when it’s rid of the plantation mentality, plantation spirit…soon come.

29. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David May 27, 2016 at 9:14 AM #

Someone should do a bit of research as to the cause of the present malaise,state of inertia,lack of leadership that has infected our country and when did it start……was it 1961?

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…it started from the plantation mentality, lack of freedom to think for oneself, lack of ability to believe in self, lack of ability to love and embrace one’s blackness…of course the lies and misinformation originating from the households of the “white” and wannabe whites and circulated throughout and within the black majority population post slavery….. did not help either…

31. @Vincent

There seems to be a lethargy and inertness that comes with living high on the hog.

32. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David May 27, 2016 at 10:20 AM #

That is baffling,we no longer manufacture,have no natural resources and presently enjoying Champagne on a Mauby pocket…….how?

33. That is baffling,we no longer manufacture,have no natural resources and presently enjoying Champagne on a Mauby pocketโ€ฆโ€ฆ.how?
    By begging, borrowing and prostitution.
    Most Hos get away with it for a while …. in their youth…
    Hardly EVER after 50…..

34. ..and you don’t need to watch Bushie’s back.
    Dozens of angels do that constantly…..day and night.

35. @Vincent

This is what happens when our cognitive sense becomes intoxicated by consumption behaviour. Where our education both formal and informal is lot rooted in a philosophical place but instead relativism.

36. Spot light #ANNAKI

GIVE A MAN ENOUGH ROPE HE WILL HANG HIMSELF

37. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea May 27, 2016 at 12:02 PM #

Chuckle….effen dem tek yuh out ah deh warf….wha we gine do…..gotta protek BBE servanrt…

38. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David May 27, 2016 at 12:04 PM

In other words….no vision…..just spinning top in mud…..

It seems by virue of the numbers at the march,the poppuli like it so.

39. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

The technocrats, bureaucrats and professionals in this country really make me shake my head in wonder sometimes. The evidence is before you, you people did not build this country nor can you maintain or grow it. At the very most you were responsible for helping to create a framework for this nation’s builders but even that is being generous.

It is said that 5% of American business startups survive 5 years. I know of no such figures in Barbados but if I had to guess it must be closer to 50% here. Bajans have a VERY entrepreneurial spirit, employees that can do better for themselves, more often than not become self-employed or employers. Up to recent blockades were put up, it was relatively easy to do so.

Every ‘little man’ jetski operator, taxi driver, freight hauler, mason, carpenter, electrician, plumber, newspaper seller, landscaper etc. contributes more to this country than cabinet members do.

Yet you people continue to belittle the Bajan business community (from small to large, we are all part of it) that you owe your very existence to.

So Bizzy, Maloney, Jada, Innotech, Rayside, Bynoe, side-of-road coconut vendors, beach vendors etc. are all smarter that the civil servant idiots they negotiate with to move their businesses forward. Where is the mystery? The civil service has only gotten the human dregs for the past 20 years or more.

WW&C, I agree that we need to run these gov’t and civil servant parasites and freeloaders out of our country but that is not going to happen. The best we can hope for is to minimise the damage they do by limiting their authority and removing the assets they control (or have no control of in my argument).

My suggestion stands. Humans evolved by competition, in Barbados we have defeated the Laws of Natural Selection.

40. I must say that I too, quickly passed over the Stephanie Chase post. It does not encourage anyone to read. It is worse than a find the word puzzle.

The problem on this island is that everyone is an ” I ” specialist and a boss with no one to implement anything. Most officials can’t smell their feces because they have become accustom to it, so we cannot expect much from people rolling in their own filth.

41. David Simmons and the Tomadams Great Combination put forward a new Barbados beginning with 3 cities.The Dems ridiculed the idea and the Bees caved in.Big mistake.Barbados needs a local arm of governance and no more than 8 ministers will be required to represent the country in all aspects of its development.
    The 4 Seasons was going great guns and Barbados was finally getting an international brand to boost its tourist plant.The Dems,ably assisted by the BWU ridiculed the idea and OSA caved in.The rest is history.Bare steel in dey now.Luckily the Hilton and Sandy Lane were demolished and rebuilt without the bogus need for a personnel audit.OSA was playing it fair,back down the wicket to the bowler.
    Glendairy burn down and with all the mud thrown at MAM,it was relocated to Dodds.A successful outcome,as if the goodly lady needed to prove she is capable of delivering on a major project.
    World Cup came to Barbados in 07 and again the lady was at the hellum and delivered earning the admiration of International Organizations involved in the unique Immi/emigration movement and laws governing the E.S.Caribbean as one space.
    Can anyone say what Lord Fumble has delivered before his ascent to Bay St?The answer is out there somewhere and Granger hit the nail on the head…..Caricom?Small Island States?and overnight they added to the citation…..The Reparation Committee??Lol.lawd have mercy.!!Ask any Bajan what the Fumble contributed?The answer is ‘blowing in de wind’ master.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated….the government may want to take a close look at how Cuba is allowing it’s business model to evolve…small and medium businesses only, the very corner stone and rock solid foundation of any business sector….these hold economies together, but from they are allowed to morph into corporations and greed fillled capitalist entities headed by one group only, the degradation seeps in….not that there are any real large corporations on the Barbados, but the greed is there, that is enough to do the damage that’s now evident.

43. Has anyone travelled on the roads in Barbados recently (rhetorical?). A whole other blog.

44. Gabriel ”The 4 Seasons was going great guns ”

Lol, you cannot be serious. That was destined to failure from the beginning and the ‘restart’ was a bigger joke.

I guess some did well out of that one though.

45. This is what the Paradise beach needs, from beginning to end, to create a beautiful vista of the sea.

Compulsorily acquire the land and then this.

Seriously.

https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=photo+of+bulldozer&view=detailv2&&id=3647CAB0CB2BAF233AF3D2F97CE504815EE8562E&selectedIndex=0&ccid=geoWNF1N&simid=607990993006365607&thid=OIP.M81ea16345d4d5b19e80abb7cbe5a2ebbH0

46. With any recent attempt to turn that property into a large successful operation, a new approach should be made.

1) Acquire the land
    2) Bulldoze all structures
    3) Sell medium lots for the SPECIFIC purpose built into covenants of construction of apartment hotels of no less than ten and no more than twenty apartments for each such lot, without building greater than three levels and leaving a specified amount of green space and with the area to include at least two LARGE public access points, including parking.

The said lots to be publicly tendered for and to be part and parcel of a Paradise Beach development, for the sole purpose of short term tourist apartment and apartment hotel rental.

Also in covenants, each such structure must be at least rated international 3 star level.

Any breach of those covenants can lead to re-acquisition or forced sale, based on market value at the time, for resale to another operator.

This will allow for a good number of smaller sized operations to be bid for and built by ‘smaller’ bajan consortiums and will retain local character. As well as provide opportunities for more local entrepreneurs to get into the apartment hotel business.

At a time like this when the world is in excessive recession , good quality but good value operations are the key.

47. David wrote “Has anyone travelled on the roads in Barbados recently ”

Do you drive a 5 series Bimmer or an S class Benz or Audi A5 ?

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Good idea Crusoe, give the small and new operators an opportunity to build a good reliable brand. Leave out those who only think in hundreds of millions with eyes dilating with greed.

Small operations work best and are sustainable.

49. Crusoe,

That is an excellent suggestion.

As long as any and “all consortiums thusly constituted shall be confirmed by oath and notarization to be small to medium sized businesses, or a consortium of such persons of a specific category of income (not proxy fuh de millionaire minister of finance and dem vagabonds) and that the offering shall inure to, and permit for, the “average man/woman of Barbados to own, sharehold or participate in revenues from such structures for as long as they shall live and hold said properties under the agreed covenant, de ole man fuh dat.

Give de po black man an opportunity to own back a piece uh de gold coast under what would truly constitute a Covenant of Hope as opposed to that empty ting that Mia put together tuh fool ingrunt bajans when the bell rings

But dat would be real reparations at wuk and we cyan have dat shyte bout here,

Sedition and Anarchy, who dat man Crusoe is, lock he up.

I gine try to mek dat into a Poster when de granson get home

50. Crusoe
    Do you have any knowledge of the 4 Seasons project?Can you tell us why the project came to a halt when it was well on its way?