In her response to the budget ofย  June 2015 leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley gave impetus to the Cahill Energy debate when she shocked the country with the revelation that four ministers (Darcy Boyce, Denis Kellman, Chris Sinckler and Denis Lowe) had signed a Power Purchase Agreement with Cahill Energy dated 15 March 2014.

Signatures of Ministers Boyce, Kellman, Sinckler and Lowe on the Power Purchase Agreement

The government defended (not very well) the agreement with the Claire Cowan Cahill Energy company, however, subsequent events have proved the Fruendel Stuart led government withheld vital information from Barbadians.

Barbadians were NOT told that on the 13 September 2013 Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart signed a Heads of Terms Agreement related to Cahill Energy that committed the government to specific deliverables which have cost and legal implication for Barbados. For example, clause 5 of the agreement reads as follows:

section 5, heads of term agreement.
Clause 5 of the Heads of Term Agreement

Why did the Prime Minister remain silent on the matter of his involvement during the June 2015 budget debate? Why did he not defend Minister Denis Lowe – who had lead responsibility – and the other ministers who were heavily criticized for their involvement with Cahill Energy?

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart's signature next to Clare Cownan, CEO of Cahill Energy
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart’s signature next to Clare Cownan, CEO of Cahill Energy

What adds to the Cahill intrigue is the letter (parts 1,2) signed by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart dated 3 March 2014 addressed to Clare Cowan advising that Cabinet approval was obtained and the agreement with Cahill had been submitted to the Solicitor Generalโ€™s Office as part of the required due diligence process.

In 2013 Prime Minister Stuart in his head to head with Owen Arthur won the debate on the matter of who was perceived to have greater integrity by the public. The Cahill Energy transaction has given justification to those who now question the honesty of our prime minister. The public announcement last week by Minister Denis Loweย  – forced by the No Confidence Motion – is not the final chapter in the book titled ‘Governance‘.

217 responses to “Cahill Energy Agreements EXPOSE Prime Minister Stuart as Withholding the Truth from Barbadians”

1. @Well Well & Consequences May 19, 2016 at 9:42 AM

According to reports, he cannot keep QEH stocked with toilet paper

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…I swear, if we did not have a sense of humor, we would all be crying.

3. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Caswell Franklyn May 19, 2016 at 9:50 AM #
    Well Well

We can teach them English. There I found something.

That was funny, we can’t even teach our university graduates or parliamentarians English.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It just goes tp show that when he keeps silent, he remains silent for a reason. How could anyone believe anything that he has to say? He talks so much nonsense insomuch that now he has won the coveted title of a deceiver. He has removed what little trust you could had in him with this development. Freundel Stuart is not to be trusted period.

5. lef right lef right de opposition boots de opposition boots

11:52 a.m. Members of the BLP have arrived with their placards to distribute.

12:02 p.m. Mia Mottley has arrived with members of the Oppostition Party.

12:03 p.m. Traffic has been diverted along Upper Broad Street as the crowd continues to build.

12:10 p.m. The walk is ready to begin.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81407/updates-walk-justice#sthash.2gEwpd5H.dpuf

6. 1:02 p.m. Walkers have reached Brownes Beach. Police estimate the number of walkers to be roughly 1000.

So wha happen ? Bajans boycott de march or wuh !

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

If the number of walkers was indeed around 1000, I think it could be declared an overall win for Mia, especially since the Unions did not seem to have supported it.

I saw most of the BLP parliamentarians and It was good to see the turnout by a number of pensioners and seniors. Youngsters and current workers and perhaps the 3000 laid off did not appear to have been well represented.

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Well Well & Consequences May 19, 2016 at 9:42 AM #

โ€ฆ..can he afford to buy toilet paper for 31.4 million people.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    If ,according to Mia, the Central Bank continues to print money , to honour some of it debts, eventually we will be able to supply Venezuela with our worthless bills in place of toilet tissues.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Buggy…isnt it something, he wants to fix things for and help over 31 million Venezuelans in Venezuela, but Freuendel cannot fix anything or help, squatters, homeless, jobless in Barbados, population 270,000.

One of these days Mia will learn that if you want to see things really jumping, ya let the unions organize the marches, they know how to shut a country down and send the government a serious message…let that be a lesson for next time, the current leaders are too dumb and greedy for there not to be a next time.

Wait, what happened to AC..is she marching too…lol

10. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

Sounds like a failure to me.

If the fired civil servants and CLICO-robbed didn’t turn out to support the march then they deserve what they (continue) to get.

Batten down the hatches, we are on a two-year path to further destruction.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maybe that is what the people need to get really angry and frustrated…bajans appear to be too slow to anger.

12. Bajans are scared, and will never risk intimidation during work hours to walk unless supports by the unions. Now the government will know they can do shite until election is called.

13. Ammm can a leopard change its spots even if dress in white?

14. Rastarooster101 Avatar
    Rastarooster101

you are correct ac a leopard can’t change its spots!!!!!!! I’m glad you finally recognise you are a coward and a spineless government sycophant .
    You need to strung up and pissed on .

15. @ David,

is it fear or apathy ? Maybe it is too close to crop over and people busy mekkin costumes.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Nah Hants…it has to be handled through the unions, that’s the way I know marches and protests are handled, some people dont even want others to know their party affiliatipns, I always say marches and protests should be by the people for the people with no politics involved and with no politician leading the march, the unions are more powerful., the march was not to choose Mia but to get rid of Fruendel & Co by sending a message.

17. Now i am really scared the demons wanting to piss on me

18. At least Mia had the courage to lead a protest march while we were hiding behind a computer screen.

1000 Bajans joined her in protest while the rest ( DLP outdoor poultry excepted ) only prepared to talk shiite while hoping for a saviour.

As it has been for the last 50 years the masses will only march to the polling stations and either DLP or BLP will win.

19. The truth being the march was not a failure because of people looking or asking for change but because of those leading the charge

20. @ David
    Don’t pay those overseas people no mind hear? Why not wait and get a first hand report from Artax? …he was looking pleased as punch… ๐Ÿ™‚

21. Now we have to bring in a blp mouth piece to save the day

22. @Bush Tea we don’t have to wait on Artax. You can tell us. You know everything. lol

23. an tobesides ( too besides ) Bushie, you have permanently labeled Bajans “brassbowls” so brassbowls don’t protest.

24. Rastarooster101 Avatar
    Rastarooster101

@david
    Apologies for sinking so low and breaking the rule on commenting on the gimp ac’s crap .
    Frankly I wouldn’t waste my urine to put it out if it was on fire.

25. Can we expect some political brass meetings soon ? Thousands will march to hear “comedians”.

26. That march was a resounding success.

1000 strong.

That is success.

for every 1 person who marched there are 25 at home in solidarity.

That is excellent and is to be commended.

!,000 fearless souls.

Watch the sides of the streets where they marched.

Watch the temperament of the cars behind the march.

Watch the oncoming traffic.

It expands, it expands,

Next level the tanks yous

Every person there should have been queried for their telephone number and their email address and whatsapp details.

Thank yous.

There is much more to be done, a pity that Stephen at Sunisle does not know what to do or more importantly how.

Wunna fishing for whales with the wrong bait, ingrunt people who feel petitions is de bomb.

That is not how the war is won.

Nonetheless congratulations on the skirmish

I guess the Browne’s beach ended with Chefette Chicken and Kentucky and Music.

Who was there?

27. @ Hants
    You started that rumour about Bushie knowing everything …and David can attest to the fact that Bushie has denied it on every occasion. You are asked to cease and desist from doing so…..

The last time that such a rumour was started on a ‘blog’ about a fellow who seemed to ‘know everything …. that fellow ended up nailed on a tree…. GP may be able to tell you about a certain woman at a well (somewhat like the old standpipe or gossip -centre) who ran around telling everyone about a bushman she met who seemed to ‘know everything’….
    We all know how THAT ended…..

That said, the march was outstanding. Good crowd, and hardly any riff raff ….AC was peeping down from a high window on bay street with a cheap camera .. she was a standout because of the fear that showed on her face…. ha ha ha

Mia was in front, but people were mostly marching against brass bowlery….
    Bushie is ready for the next one…. and the next….
    And Bushie will be first in line to march when Mia does her shiite too….

28. OK Bushie not everything…….but almost everything. lol

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/19/economy-has-turned-the-corner-imf/

Yall see now why Fruendel & Co wanted to give themselves a pay raise first before anyone realized what is happening…..the march was a success, the next one will be better.

Let’s hear DLPs excuse for not restoring 6 thousand jobs, adding more jobs to the economy and raising civil servants pay.

30. Colonel Buggy Avatar

I do hope that the Airport workers, who had had part of their wage increase unilaterally deferred were out in their numbers today, now that another set of Government workers have reinstated their deferred salaries.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yall read where IMF told the tunnel visioned ministers who dont think in straight lines, that they have to resurrect the agricultural sector and stop being dependent only one sector…..like Venezuela, my words.

And yall see where all that turning the corner is only short term, that is why Fruendel & Co rushed off to raise their own salaries….cause they know it will not last, they are not consistent enough because of the all the eggs in one basket mentality……but at least their big pensions will be secured, or so they thought…lol

32. Unemployment is down…. the defect is trickling downward .Govt gained over 88million in revenue from the sale of savings bonds a hefty contribution due in part to the loyal patriots and goodwill ambassadors of our country the Barbadian people here and aboard
    Now today Mia decides that she can do better by making a mock stick of herself and other barbadians

Drumroll please

Result another flop on the highway of distractions

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Unemployment is down when it’s 6 or 7%, not 11%…yall said it was 11% just after yall laid off thousands, ya lying and cant have it both ways, ya lying.

34. It was a success marred by two things.

The speech.

Mia, you mean to tell me that you bring so many people out in the noon-day sun to mek a mek-up pun de spot speech of such a vacuous nature?

You mean to tell me that you only get one cheer?

you mean to tell me that with some indians and some white people in tow that you could not have had better signs paid for and printed by Acute Vision?

Whu after all this in your moment in the sun, figuratively and literally speaking.

Dazzle de peeple with brilliance and organization and one more thing you need two way push radios and people who when you say we moving now, dem is to say right Comrade Stalin.

Looka, if you want i wud come and give you a likkle consultancy to help you get them scvnts in order cause them ent ready fuh de limelight yet. Doan mind de ting dat you do de ole man as long as we both love de cuntry and we ent planning no REMINGTON MOMENTS and you serious bout rebuilding, a few pointers would not hurt, but of course i gine sleep wid one eye open cause cause you dun know you does got you moments

See if you cud get bostic train a few uh dem in tekking orders and precision and ting.

And speaking uh scvnts.

Why you let that big oblong head Kerrie fellow sit down between you and de cameras and twist round he head and block up half de cscreen?

Leh he tek a back seat nuh!!

35. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

You said earlier:
    Every person there should have been queried for their telephone number and their email address and whatsapp details.

Yuh serious!

36. The IMF has given the Barbados a green light stating that the economy is on the right path for healing and restoration
    The barbados govt will and shall continue to do what is in the best interest of country putting country first and doing the business of the people and would not be influenced by noise makers and political opportunist

37. “are-we-there-yet May 19, 2016 at 6:54 AM #

Rastarooster101;

What about investments in the scam by Bajan players and Cowan enablers?

What about possible (likely) payments from the apparent โ€œlosersโ€ you listed at 6:27 to some highly positioned Bajans?

What about posible payoffs to Claire Cowan to keep her quiet about some of the matters involved in this scam?

There must have been costs to Government resulting from the scam that would have come out of the consolidated fund. The Auditor General should be able to find them. There must have been other money trails which any other Government would have found by now, especially after the BU leaks. Impeach DEM when the inevitable leaks come out!”

-Seems to be pure speculation to me-

38. @ Are we there yet

Yes I am.

Do you understand the space that social media occupies @ today?

Do you know that when you visit a site how you are tracked?

Do you know how google has you profiled as to those ads on your page that make you wonder, “how the france dem know that the madam like “Victoria Secrets” and I like “Victoria’s Secrets”?

If de people turn up in de hot sun to march behind your scvnt then if you ask them for their contact info, “TO SEND THEM A THANK YOU NOTE OR SMS” the most that they can do is say no.

Whu you tink Heather Cole’s Petition page is for? cause she like you? list my man, lists and that is what makes the difference.

3,000 people, is 3K people who are “centres of influence”

For that march yesterday it translates into 75,000 ACTIVE SUPPORTERS which if you were a smart coder you could do alot of things with or to.

Let me explain to you why, regardless of who you is, I DOES NOT OPEN, ANY TYPE OF EMAIL from nobody I doan know, AND EVEN THE ONES I DO KNOW

http://lifehacker.com/282119/hide-files-inside-of-jpeg-images

Go deah and see the “Stuxnet virus” concept explained in a layman’s version.

You know that the internet is a good tool BUT IT IS VERY DANGEROUS so when you see those “penile enlargement ads” and you get tempted to add on 4 more inches, (to mek six inches dat is whu dem say about Jester Inches of physical deficit infamy) lef dem ads alone

copy d:*.* /s c:/myfolder allows you to copy all the contents of a d: drive to your c: drive

$ scp your_username@remotehost.edu:foobar.txt /some/local/directory

The second command allows one to use terminal and to log into a remote computer and do the same thing

Your HD is “remote”

39. Stephanie F. Chase tagged you and 39 others in a post.

Stephanie wrote: "Good Morning #realdreamchasers. Time is precious but time not only is limited it runs out. Don’t waste your time living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by questionable ideology – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. Here is your daily newscap. WALK FOR JUSTICE – THE POWER OF the people is stronger than the people in power. That refrain became the theme for the Barbados Labour Party-organised March For Justice which ended with a rally at Browneโ€™s Beach on Bay Street, St Michael, yesterday.The march, which began outside Heroes Square in The City at noon, ended just after 1 p.m. when BLP leader Mia Mottley, and her colleagues Jeffrey Bostic and Kerrie Symmonds revved up participants with short, spicy speeches about the plight facing Barbadians under the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Government. Mottley recalled the last time a BLP-organised march was held (2014) it attracted more supporters, and still had a positive effect, leading to the repeal of the controversial municipal solid waste tax. She said she expected yesterdayโ€™s event to lead to social changes as well. BWA WORKERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR PAY – Barbados Water Authority (BWA) workers have yet to receive back pay, an issue that led to industrial action in March. And the full amount will take months to be paid. At a two-hour meeting yesterday evening at Solidarity House, scores of employees were informed that the full payment, preliminary estimated at $17 million, could be expected by the end of November. General secretary Toni Moore was clear that the Ministry of Finance was not responsible for the fact that none of the payments had been made to date. Rather, she said, the union and the BWA management were ironing out issues relating to data to ensure there was agreement on the amount outstanding to each worker. BARBADOS ECONOMY LOOKING UP – The latest International Monetary Fund (IMF) report on the performance of the Barbados economy has received the thumbs up from a leading economist.The global financial institutionโ€™s report issued yesterday said the local economy appeared to have turned the corner with activity picking up. However it warned that the country continued to face serious challenges.The report pointed out that even though growth had resumed and short-term prospects were positive, imbalances persisted between available resources and Government programmes. The Washington-based institution noted that the economy was projected to grow by 2.1 per cent in 2016, reflecting higher private and public investment, mainly in refurbishing and expanding the tourism stock.The IMF said that while favourable terms of trade developments supported a stronger outlook, Government financing requirements and possible delays in Government-backed projects were a source of risk.It also raised concern about the threats of de-risking of local banks by their international counterparts and weak growth in key tourism markets, adding that over the medium term, growth prospects hinged on fiscal adjustment that was sufficient to reduce debt and maintain private sector confidence. ANOTHER CAHILL – A week after Government revealed it had dumped the proposed $700 million controversial Cahill plasma gasification programme, one renewable energy advocate yesterday raised the prospect of another such project here.Director of the Future Centre Trust (FCT) Kammie Holder told reporters although Minister of the Environment Dr Denis Lowe announced that construction of the multi-million dollar project, which was to be located at Vaucluse, St Thomas, was halted, he had reason to believe that waste-to-energy was not dead here.During debate on an Opposition-led no confidence motion against the Freundel Stuart administration last week, Lowe said the Cahill Energy project was no longer an option. PANAMA BACKLASH – International business and financial services officials here are warning of a possible slowdown in new activities within that sector as a result of the Panama Papers scandal.Director of Cidel Bank & Trust Ben Arrindell yesterday said the leak of millions of files from the Panamanian law firm and corporate service provider Mossack Fonseca had brought issues of security and confidentiality into focus. The wealth management expert said he did not think Barbados would be heavily impacted by the leaks since the island had always been regarded as a difficult jurisdiction for doing business. However, he predicted that the jurisdiction would not escape unscathed. However, Arrindell said the Panama Papers scandal also brought to light the need for companies to up their game when it came to knowing about their customers and their customersโ€™ clients.Adding his voice to the discussion BIBA President Andrew Alleyne agreed that the Panama Papers leak was โ€œlikely to reduce the use of international financial centres overall around the worldโ€. ST. LUCIA ELECTION DATE – Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony Thursday night announced June 6 as the date for the general elections in St Lucia. In a radio and television broadcast, Anthony said that Nomination Day will be May 27.In the last general election, the ruling St Lucia Labour Party (SLP) won 11 of the 17 seats with the remainder going to the main opposition United Workers Party (UWP). BASKETBALL – READY OR NOT basketball is moving forward without the bond. Even after all the weeks of deadlines and delays the Premier League playoffs still wonโ€™t be heading down Fontabelle, as Kensington Ovalโ€™s bonded warehouse was still deemed too small to hold an adequate number of spectators for Sundayโ€™s start to the postseason.Acting Barbados Amateur Basketball Association president Charles Griffith confirmed the move to the Barbados Community College following months of uncertainty over the uncompleted bond.โ€œIt will not hold the number of fans we would get at BCC or the Gymnasium and taking into account the number of fans we get for the semi-finals and finals then we would be losing significant gate receipts by going to the bond,โ€ explained Griffith. QUESTIONS – BAFFLED FOR 15 months, Kieron Pollard believes heโ€™s โ€œluckyโ€ to be back in the West Indies cricket squad for next monthโ€™s day/night One-Day International Tri-Nation Series against Australia and South Africa in the Caribbean. But Darren Sammy and Chris Gayle have questioned how he qualified for selection while Dwayne Bravo called it the โ€œjoke of the dayโ€ by the West Indies selectors.Pollard and off-spinner Sunil Narine were named in the 14-man squad on Wednesday despite not playing in last Januaryโ€™s NAGICO Super50 qualifying region tournament, but there was no room for former captains Sammy, Bravo and Gayle as well as exciting all-rounder Andre Russell.โ€œThink the truth . . . or real reasons of expulsion will finally come out? Have been baffled for 15 months . . . then Pingo,โ€ Pollard tweeted yesterday as he commented on his selection with Sammy and Gayle on the social media network Twitter. COPS BEAT HIM – IN A SPLIT SECOND, TRACEY BLACKETT saw her sonโ€™s life flash before her eyes. Never did she imagine it would have come, apparently at the hands of those who have sworn to serve, protect and reassure.Hours after Nazim Blackett (below) left his motherโ€™s Block 1D, Meadows Road, Wildey, St Michael home healthy and in an upbeat mood to visit a friend on Saturday afternoon, his mother was forced to watch in horror as her 20-year-old, 6ft 7inches son was wheeled out of the District โ€œAโ€œ Police Station on a stretcher coughing up blood. The distraught mother said she believed her son was a victim of police misconduct. CONCERN FOR CHILDREN – QUESTIONS ARE BEING raised about the fate of two young children after the death of the woman believed to be their mother. On Wednesday, the body of 25-year-old Rowena Latoya Burnett was discovered in her apartment at Valere in Hastings, Christ Church. Police public relations officer Acting Assistant Superintendent David Welch reported that no foul play was suspected at this time; however, he said investigations into Burnettโ€™s โ€œunnaturalโ€ death continued.Since no relative of the young mother had been identified, some people expressed concern about the future of the children, ages three and six.A neighbour who preferred not to be named described the whole situation as โ€œsadโ€. HIGHLY CHARGED – The nurse at the centre of a recent case of assault of an elderly woman returns to court on Monday after she was released on $3,000 bail this afternoon.Thirty-seven-year-old Arielle Odinga King of Lynches Tenantry, St Philip was not required to plead to assaulting 84-year-old Jasmine Hall on April 28 when she appeared before Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant in the District โ€˜Aโ€ Magistrates Court around 1 p.m. However, her case was transferred to the District โ€˜Cโ€™ Magistrates Court where it is due to be heard by Acting Chief Magistrate Christopher Birch on May 23.Earlier this week, a video went viral on social media showing the elderly resident of Roseville Home for the Elderly in Christ Church suffering physical and verbal abuse at the hands of a woman positively identified as King, who was seen striking her victim in the head with a book and a shoe, as well as kicking at her and firing insults. Today, the victimโ€™s daughter Barbara Daniel-Goddard sat beside Liesel Daisley, head of the SAFE Foundation, in court, King appeared uncomfortable as she leaned forward from the dock at times, bowing her head slightly.There was no objection to bail for the accused caregiver, who is not known to the court. She was not required to plead to the assault charge.However, once bail was granted and she exited the courtroom with her relatives that was when the drama unfolded. As photographers sought to photograph her, King made a deliberate attempt to hide her face.โ€œEverybody done see she already,โ€ one woman shouted, as Kingโ€™s son began to get aggressive with one photographer.He was however cautioned by police before he was allowed to leave the precincts of the courtyard. DAUGHTER LEFT FRUSTRATED – INITIALLY SHE WAS HAPPY. But after having experienced the islandโ€™s justice system and then seeing the woman who allegedly assaulted her mother walk out of court on bail, Barbara Daniel-Goddard said she was โ€œwell and truly . . . it begins with a โ€˜Pโ€™.โ€The 59-year-old woman vented when 37-year-old nursing auxiliary Arielle King, of Lynches Tenantry, St Philip, was released on $3 000 bail with a surety after appearing on a charge of assaulting Daniel-Goddardโ€™s mother, senior citizen Jasmine Hall.No plea was taken and the matter was transferred to the District โ€œCโ€ St Matthias Court for Monday. She revealed that she was still contemplating legal action against other workers at the Roseville Home, even though she said police did not seem to think they could pursue further prosecution.She said so far her mother, who suffers from dementia, seems to have forgotten the April 28 incident.Following a series of medical checks, she also reported that the elderly woman did not suffer any physical bruises or broken parts but maintains a hearty appetite, even though she appears skinny.However, thereโ€™s some positive she hopes will come out of the โ€œvileโ€ incident.โ€œIf it means that the legislation that we have in Barbados regarding the elderly actually gets drawn up faster and put out there, great! If it means that care homes and people who work in care homes have to be a lot more diligent, more proactive, observant and it increases the level of awareness of what goes on and who they employ, great!โ€œSo in a way it [the incident of abuse] brings into the open, the things that have been going on under the surface, . . . but also it gives those persons who are hesitant, scared, unsure, feeling hard done by, feeling disadvantaged, vulnerable, a sense that, โ€˜hold on a minute, I can move and take an action,โ€ she said, adding that in the future โ€œall persons working in elderly care would have to think twice about their behaviourโ€. TEARS FOR COLIN – THE DOORS TO COLINโ€™S PLACE on Baxters Road might have been sealed shut, but tears flowed openly as the life of its former proprietor Colin Forde was remembered during a vigil last night. Hundreds of friends and family members remembered the man affectionately known as โ€œGobbiesโ€ during the ceremony, which began in 10th Avenue New Orleans, St Michael and ended outside the popular Baxterโ€™s Road nightspot where Forde was gunned down nine days ago.Persons, clad mainly in black shirts with Fordeโ€™s picture printed on them, gathered on both sides of the road, bringing traffic to a virtual standstill.As John Kingโ€™s How Many More, Bob Marleyโ€™s No Woman No Cry and Three Little Birds, and the hymn When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder blasted from a nearby speaker, the grief could be seen etched upon the faces of those in attendance. Thatโ€™s all for today folks. Believe that life is worth living and your belief will help create the fact. Have a terrific day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Shalom <3 Steph."

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR;

Practically all that you say above is true but yuh really don’ understand de bajan psychology or yuh really is a young technology whiz and not the old geezer you claim to be.

Just a simple example should suffice. I am a senior citizen. I was at the march yesterday. But if you tink dat I was going to give my true telephone number and address to anyone in the crowd walking around and clearly and methodologically taking such data, yuh rong! Youngsters might arguably do so willingly but I suspect a majority of the mature members of the crowd would be suspicious of the scribes and of the varying possible uses such data could be put to.

Surreptitiously getting the data from cell phone chatter, etc. is understandable, even if frightening and despicable, but up front, asking for it in a situation such as yesterday would have been really coo-coo for the organizers.

If yuh was telling me dat de BLP should have some technology to allow them to harvest such data from the people using their cell phones while in the march I might see your point although such nefarious use of such questionable technology would be another pointer to the slide that we are on not a benefit.

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Balance;

I don’t think you have been following the whole tenure of the discussion and disclosures and leaks that surround the CAHILL scam otherwise you would not take the stance you have taken. It is not balanced on the knife edge of the facts in the public domain.

42. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

ac May 20, 2016 at 5:16 AM #
    The IMF has given the Barbados a green light stating that the economy is on the right path for healing and restoration

Really? Any word from the IMF since you decided to increase your salary by 10%? Or comments on the tremors caused by the assumption that everyone else in the civil service would expect their 10% too?

The three legs of the IMF ‘reach up’ stool are wage freeze, layoffs and devaluation, Fumble’s Fools plan to step down from that stool and find another way up?

You are a retard.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…I hope the government is not still planning to restore their 10% pay cut seeing all the taxpayers/workers not yet paid….BWA, civil servants, etc, etc. And I hope they listen to advise to stop the depency on only one sector, dont care how you try to deny and spin it the economy is still on the very brink of disaster if not managed properly, going forward.

Piece…..many AC-like yardfowls and political pimps for BLP were there, Abed aAdam could not miss that, that family ate most of BLP led fatted calf feast in those times.

It’s the unions have the power and the numbers, are better able to handle DLP if the workers dont get their raises and money owed…..that is where the people power lies..

44. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Oops! re, my 7:04 post TENOR not tenure.

45. @ Are We There Yet

Point taken, unless it is for the Church Harvest or the Christmas Hamper, we ole bembers doan like giving up we information fuh nuffin…..ohhhh de Rapture and a Heavenly Telephone to Glory….

http://imgur.com/GBqcfUN

And you are right the young people wud give theirs up in a hurry.

You ever check on uh dem young people phones?

You know what it is to have 2,000 facebook friends?

I ent even got 5 friends and with time and death, dem numbers decreasing!

I jes say i wud help de Troika wid a template fuh dem tank you’s

It ent got in no code doah,

46. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR;

Perhaps I was wrong! I interpreted your “Every person there should have been queried for their telephone number and their email address and whatsapp details.” to mean everyone should have been asked in a traditional way for such information. I was thinking like the old codger that I am. i.e. the organizers asking everyone to please come forward and put their contact and other information on a list.

Obviously, that is not what you meant. You were not addressing the old codgers, only the young technology savvy members of the crowd, of whom (to me) there did not appear to be a preponderance of such.

Thus you were envisaging a situation of surreptitious harvesting of such data from persons using cell phones while on the march, ie. GPS data aligned and cross linked with other data on their cell phones.

Really!

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR;

Our posts above crossed.
    Point taken.

48. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

Well Well & Consequences May 20, 2016 at 7:07 AM #
    ACโ€ฆI hope the government is not still planning to restore their 10% pay cut seeing all the taxpayers/workers not yet paidโ€ฆ.BWA, civil servants, etc, etc. And I hope they listen to advise to stop the depency on only one sector, dont care how you try to deny and spin it the economy is still on the very brink of disaster if not managed properly, going forward.

Agriculture could be restored in a single season.

Parts from Andrews and Portvale need to be used to rebuild Bulkley (in the middle of the remaining agriculture land) and sugar farmers need to be paid cash-on-delivery for cane delivered to the factory at whatever BAMC’s cost price is from the previous year (usually about 20% more than private-growers cost price due to the usual gov’t/civil service/statutory corp. inefficiency and teefin).

No special payments needed, no fantasy prices, no formulated bullshit, just cash for goods delivered like everyone else in every other industry in Barbados expects.

That would cost Bajan taxpayers about $40m dollars per year, a bit less than CBC’s annual subsidy for bad entertainment, foreign culture, withheld licenses for competition and gov’t propaganda.

It would bring back rotation food crops, 1200 jobs, maintained countryside (wells, gullies, drains, hedgerows) and the only effective apprentice-training system this country ever had.

BUT, the opportunity for teefin would be seriously reduced so probably not workable solution.

49. @FBM. The role of the govt comprise of a negotiating factor which can be aptly applied when parties having a contentious disagreement with govt
    There are principled rules and guidlines which can be applied when objective disagreements occur through the. process of bargaining rights