In her response to the budget ofย  June 2015 leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley gave impetus to the Cahill Energy debate when she shocked the country with the revelation that four ministers (Darcy Boyce, Denis Kellman, Chris Sinckler and Denis Lowe) had signed a Power Purchase Agreement with Cahill Energy dated 15 March 2014.

Signatures of Ministers Boyce, Kellman, Sinckler and Lowe on the Power Purchase Agreement

The government defended (not very well) the agreement with the Claire Cowan Cahill Energy company, however, subsequent events have proved the Fruendel Stuart led government withheld vital information from Barbadians.

Barbadians were NOT told that on the 13 September 2013 Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart signed a Heads of Terms Agreement related to Cahill Energy that committed the government to specific deliverables which have cost and legal implication for Barbados. For example, clause 5 of the agreement reads as follows:

section 5, heads of term agreement.
Clause 5 of the Heads of Term Agreement

Why did the Prime Minister remain silent on the matter of his involvement during the June 2015 budget debate? Why did he not defend Minister Denis Lowe – who had lead responsibility – and the other ministers who were heavily criticized for their involvement with Cahill Energy?

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart's signature next to Clare Cownan, CEO of Cahill Energy
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart’s signature next to Clare Cownan, CEO of Cahill Energy

What adds to the Cahill intrigue is the letter (parts 1,2) signed by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart dated 3 March 2014 addressed to Clare Cowan advising that Cabinet approval was obtained and the agreement with Cahill had been submitted to the Solicitor Generalโ€™s Office as part of the required due diligence process.

In 2013 Prime Minister Stuart in his head to head with Owen Arthur won the debate on the matter of who was perceived to have greater integrity by the public. The Cahill Energy transaction has given justification to those who now question the honesty of our prime minister. The public announcement last week by Minister Denis Loweย  – forced by the No Confidence Motion – is not the final chapter in the book titled ‘Governance‘.

217 responses to “Cahill Energy Agreements EXPOSE Prime Minister Stuart as Withholding the Truth from Barbadians”

1. Loud steupse

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Anywhere else in the civilised world the Government would have resigned or forced out of office when these details were revealed. Barbados is well and truly a banana republic complete with its own crooks.

3. @Caswell

What the Cahill debate has shown us is the power of the people which is a tenet that defines a democracy. Just imagine if the people felt so motivated to engage on many other issues. This is why suppressing public comment and a government deliberately operating by stealth is undemocratic.

4. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Caswell Franklin;

Amen to your 6:09 AM post!

The documents above again concretize the picture of who the PM actually is.
    There are no redeeming features. Some day it will be realised that the toxic environment enabled by the man is primarily responsible for Barbados’ slide into ignominy and seeming perdition.

5. This is why Fumble gave that rhetorical spiel around the Dennis LoweDown matter.

He must really feel like a fool in truth thinking that DownLow had investigate the Cahill Woman and done all the due diligence required (No Disrespect to our DD)

Fumbles doan worry doah, you going get back at them Eager 11 jes now when you mek all uh dem lost dem seat

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This country owes a debt of gratitude to Kammie Holder. Barbados needs more like him to get them motivated to engage on many other issues. Unfortunately for this former slave society, we have too many that are prepared to just say, “yes massa” and keep safe.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Is this the same AC who loudly cussed us all on BU and said Fruendel’s signature was forged and that ee are all liars…lol

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Your above is true only to the extent that the Cahill debacle and its very tepid unfolding up to now is merely another example of our brassbowlishness.

As long as Stuart and the DLP and their BU surrogates continue to thumb their noses at the populace with silence and blatant untruths the Cahill affair is merely a vague signpost of what might be possible if we wake up from this bad nightmare of a dream.

9. @Are-we-there-yet

The sensible and educated among us have to satisfy good judgement, we can’t be distracted by yard fowls and the dullards. Imagine if Kammie had become discouraged earlier on by the JAs. Imagine the feeling which overwhelmed him recently at the admission by the government that plasma gasification as proposed is discontinued.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The prime minister of Iceland resigned when it was revealed, in the Panama Papers, that he had a secret bank account. The president of Brazil is currently suspended from office awaiting an impeachment trial because she did not reveal the true state of the country’s finances. On the other hand, downright corruption is revealed in Barbados and nothing happens to the perpetrators. This is called independence, fifty years of it, worthy of celebration.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswelll…along with the fact that you are paying 7 million dollars to celebrate it, I find insulting and your anger is justified.

12. are-we-there-yet Avatar

…. and a lot uh people here wunt even support a somewhat token march against corruption and lap up the cynical attacks on the opposition past!

Brassbowls!

13. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Well Well & Consequences May 18, 2016 at 6:36 AM #
    Is this the same AC who loudly cussed us all on BU and said Fruendelโ€™s signature was forged and that ee are all liarsโ€ฆlol

That is how a good general sends his soldiers to the front, ignorant and obedient.

14. De Grandson was wondering about Mia’s Ting Tomorrow.

He said that it would be an interesting thing to see the Posters in the hands of those marching

Their message, graphics, materials and layout.

I guess Ricky with his acute vision and he people going be doing dem ting tuh support dis

Oh and dis foolishness bout waiting till de right time

Any strategist will tell wunna dat to get a boulder rolling down a hill, you have to make it move first, once in motion, it cant stop.

Such a sad state to know that wunna going loose every effng seat and that the Troika going be in power all alone.

Wunna have destroyed this country in so many ways.

The worst Government we have ever had

15. @ David

What does Part B of the Head of Terms agreement between GOB and CAHILL say regarding the Town & Country Planning Development Office permission? What did the GOB legally bind themselves to do in relation to TCPO permissions?

The Prime Minister said he would deal with Cahill when it came him given that he person responsible for TCPO.

16. @ David

If my reading of the agreement as to the legal undertakings by GOB for TCPO permissions are correct then I have to disagree with the PM because having signed the Head of Terms agreement he could NOT even adjudicate on the matter if and when referred to him by the Chief Town Planner given the clear and obvious conflicted position he would find himself in.

17. Hamilton Hill Avatar

As Caswell Franklin said a debt of gratitude is owed to Kammie Holder. As a Mark of recognition I wish that Barbadians would heed his word as written in an earlier post and hold the feet of this administration to the fire,starting tomorrow. As I said before this is bigger than the opposition leader. This is about the preservation of our country. I shudder to think of the true extent of the damage done by these wood ants, once the proverbial carpenter starts ripping away, as the rebuilding process begins.

18. William Mathers Avatar
    William Mathers

The PM had made it seem that he did not know anything about the Cahill deal when the Opposition Leader Ms. Mottley revealed that the four Ministers had signed a contract with Cahill. There is a different picture of the PM emerging now, especially with repeated statements that he supports Leroy Parris. The problem for the public is that the only way to redress all this is in a general election that is still in theory 1-2 years off. A lot can happen in that time. The restoring of the 10% to Minister’s pay, when many of us have to shell out money to BRA for income tax payments due to the loss of allowances says that the Government suspects it won’t get back into office next election, and is seeking to capitalize financially for its members between now and then. People are afraid of speaking out in case, especially if they are public servants, that they are victimized in one way or another, and where do you go to seek redress? The Employment Rights Tribunal, which took forever to set up and is in controversy with its running? The Law Courts, which are moving at snail pace? You might get justice eventually but at what personal, health, emotional, or financial cost to you? It is all very worrying.

19. In any other jurisdiction where honesty and integrity merits respect, ALL of those involved would, as a matter of respect to the citizens of this country, have resigned. And to think it was done on the floor of Parliament.

It is not always necessary to tell an outright lie in order for you to deliberately mislead.

To paraphrase George Orwell “The further a society (politician) drifts from the truth the more it will hate those (BU family) who speak it.

20. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

William Mathers May 18, 2016 at 8:24 AM #
    The PM had made it seem that he did not know anything about the Cahill deal when the Opposition Leader Ms. Mottley revealed that the four Ministers had signed a contract with Cahill. There is a different picture of the PM emerging now, especially with repeated statements that he supports Leroy Parris. The problem for the public is that the only way to redress all this is in a general election that is still in theory 1-2 years off. A lot can happen in that time.

And this is the fundamental problem in a nutshell.

Bajans have known this gov’t to be useless for years. The only thing that has changed is that there are now specific issues for which many believe the DLP cabinet now has to answer.

The only way for them to ‘answer’ is at the polls.

So the real question is this, should MIA not be marching on Gov’t House to force an election? Isn’t that what all right-thinking Bajans want right now? How do we force a general election?

21. @ William

The PM thinks he is smarter than all those in his Cabinet and all those he leads in Barbados. The problem for the PM is that both Chris and Donville want this administration to fall prior to 2018.
    Many people inside the DLP and connected to the DLP are openly making the accusation that the Minister of Finance intentionally brought that 10% re-instatement to the Cabinet and to Parliament so as to start the beginning of the end for the Stuart administration. Remember Chris Sinckler was the personal assistant to Erskine Sandiford and to this day many including the former Prime Minister claim that he was instrumental to causing the collapse of the Sandiford administration.

22. I would like to support Caswell in congratulating Kammie Holder. David, the BU family and the person that leaked the documents are also deserving of high praise. They are not guilty of treason, Maxine. Can we translate this into some more victories? If any civil servants with documents that need to be seen feels afraid to pass them on, fear not. The only organisation that could unmask you is the FBI and they have definitively stated that they have no interest in do in so. In fact, they are eager to have corrupt politicians exposed.

Please remind us again of the procedure for uploading documents.

23. Not re-electing this (mal)administration to office cannot be considered punishment but more like a deserved reward because they didn’t re-elect themselves. Punishment would be to deny them an undeserved pension by whatever means even if it requires the next administration to abolish parliamentary pensions.

24. To the BU household this is so familiar, it reminds us of when we posted similar blogs about 3S Srl read Gline Clarke and the BLP.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Frustrated Businessman

You said:

The problem for the public is that the only way to redress all this is in a general election that is still in theory 1-2 years off.

I must disagree with you. There is another way to redress all of this, and that is a stint at Dodds Prison.

Unfortunately, the people to get them there are mostly acting in their jobs and if they rock the boat, they are more than likely would find themselves reverting to a more junior position. NOW YOU SEE WHY POLITICIANS WANT TO KEEP PERSONS ACTING IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE.

26. Hamilton Hill Avatar

There is another way to assist in forcing an election. Let the management of NUPW, BWU, BSTU, BUT and UNITY trade unions agree that the common goal is representation of the workforce in Barbados. Let them agree to bury the hatchet and confront the wicked bunch that has shown total disregard for industrial relations in the country.In times of old this would have obtained.

27. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

Caswell Franklyn May 18, 2016 at 9:03 AM #
    Frustrated Businessman

You said:

The problem for the public is that the only way to redress all this is in a general election that is still in theory 1-2 years off.

I must disagree with you. There is another way to redress all of this, and that is a stint at Dodds Prison.

Unfortunately, the people to get them there are mostly acting in their jobs and if they rock the boat, they are more than likely would find themselves reverting to a more junior position. NOW YOU SEE WHY POLITICIANS WANT TO KEEP PERSONS ACTING IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE.

We all know this will never happen. If no-one did gaol time for St. Joseph’s Hospital, no-one ever will answer for corruption except by outside agency.

At this point we don’t trust the gov’t and after last week and the next couple of weeks they will not trust the population. That is an untenable position for all and certainly no way to spend the next two years. Two more years in recession can’t work for anybody with deflating foreign reserves, increasing taxation, increasing layoffs leading to decreased spending, failing health service, non-existent refuse management etc.

As always, our sheeple need to be led by the nose, preferably by someone or entity perceived as a neutral party like the NUPW or BWU. I have been told that NUPW will be supporting the march tomorrow, I expected to read such in the press today. Maybe their internal conflicts are tearing them apart.

From a constitutional standpoint, how do we force elections NOW?

28. In her response to the budget of June 2015 leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley gave impetus to the Cahill Energy debate when she shocked the country with the revelation that four ministers (Darcy Boyce, Denis Kellman, Chris Sinckler and Denis Lowe) had signed a Power Purchase Agreement with Cahill Energy dated 15 March 2014.

###########

How long were these revelations available on the pages of Barbados Underground?

From June 2015?

I am inclined to go with; ac May 18, 2016 at 5:39 AM #

Loud steupse, but not for the same reasons.

Some call it waiting for the right moment, the Raw Bake household calls it opportunistic. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but should give cause for pause when it appears to be self-serving.

#nomorefreepasses

29. It is okay for the Unions to call out workers to join a political march but reckless and irresponsible to do so on behalf of aggrieved workers.

How did we get here?

#BajansWantRealChange

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated…with all the turmoil, if the politicians would only do their jobs, they will find it to easier manage and the population not so angry, but they are instead focused on securing pensions, while wasting taxpayer’s money on a year long celebration and not growing the economy enough to produce jobs,,,, that is where the unrest starts…people have families to feed and politicians are worried about their pensions, even though they have decent salaries and the laid off workers have no salary…nothing.

I dont see how that makes sense to any thinking government ministers, it’s like they dont care who can or cannot eat as long as they can.

31. Bajans have been invited to a peaceful march to show their “displeasure” with the government and support for the Barbados Labour Party.

The number of people who march will indicate how serious Bajans are about “governance”

20,000 would be a good number.

This should help in the analysis.

http://www.indexmundi.com/barbados/demographics_profile.html

32. My advice to anyone who plans on participating in the march tomorrow is to walk with your smartphone/cell phone and have it handy. Should jones decided to crack some heads and shoot some people, the police, the government, CBC and the Advocate will be unable to put spin on ANY type of intimidation or violence by the authorities.

33. I just luv it. This site gives me a thrill. I like the jokes corner for some serious stuff and love the other blogs for some serious humour.

The fellas here are serious, donโ€™t get me wrong, but the commentary is hilarious โ€“ if you living and breathing wid Bajan politics for years.

Tell me how the bad-word a PM could NOT know that 4 of his (frig it) rashole cabinet ministers sign a major deal for over $700M.

Or how the coney bad-word could a man be elevated to #1 after the most crooked PM in Bajan history AND allow all the players involved in all those blatant illegal conflict of interest activities be left untouched and be considered as HONEST.

How de fuck does a #2 stay involved with a dishonest man and his worker ants unless he is either ignorant (in a good way) or a dishonest worker ant TOO.

You guys and girls love to mek jokes. The Cahill debate showed us simply that we have some seriously dedicated Bajans like dis Kammie brother and dem udder fellows that really brek-apart all dat technical stuff and also fellas who got serious search skills.

And then it also told us that Bajans are a bunch of fucking coneys who dus just hear what they want to hear when these assholes full the airwaves with high decibel shite.

This ain’t nah some day bull-dodo here. This is now today bull-dodo. We know Mia crooked as shite. And we don’t need naf frigging glasses fah that. We saw how Mascoll was treated. And wid glasses we coulda see that the other wannabe PM was also as crooked as shite.

But as coneys, after Mia get elected and have her predictable Cahill project we gine be back here wid more serious jokes bout she too and how we now seeing how bad she is. Sugar and spice.

Looka, first we gotta MARCH tomorrow cause we do need to start the process to get rid of these assholes ——-

But check out some jokes pon de joke corner too, cause we need to get ready for Mia’s self serving shite talk.

34. To her credit Mia unleashed the Confidential Information Memorandum (the Jacobson document) in the 2015 Budget and to my recollection this was not previously known to the public of Barbados and certainly was not available on the internet for anyone to access.

35. I don’t think it is unreasonable to say that Miss Mottley has been responsible for the death of two scams/shams, namely:-
    (1) Solid Waste Tax
    (2) Cahill Energy WTE project

36. Big man, you serious fuh trute?

37. Miss Mottley may not be perfection in motion (none of us are or ever will be) but we must all admit that she is obviously very competent, always seems to have the interest of Barbados and Barbadians at heart and is head and shoulders above anyone else who is asking for the opportunity to lead.

38. The DLP needs a political adviser / spin doctor.

First ball ….we have listened to the people and will cancel the 10% increase of our salary.

Second ball …. We have listened to the people, re evaluated the Cahill project and out of an abundance of caution based on blah blah blah blah there will be no WTE plant at Vaucluse.

The rest of the first over. We have listened, we care, our love for Barbados knows no bounds, we will continue to serve etc. etc. etc.

The above is a sample of my “bowling”. I am a good spin doctor / bullspitter and can be as “disingenuous” as required.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants…ya will find liars in politics everywhere, but it’s when those lies become destructive, are blatant and impact the people and country negatively that the people are then responsible for standing up and saying….enough….after all, the politicians are the employees of the people, despite those politicians in Barbados who believe differently.

40. Wait a moment.

Let me see if i get this one straight.

A feller called Past Zone, come heah to the Sanctum Sanctorum and, without so much as testing the waters, launch into a spiel bout how honest Mia Mottley is, and how she leading the charge against Cahill, and against the Solid Waste Tax and ting??

dat fellah gots tuh be practicing reverse psychology.

Evey boy heah know dat mia is a self serving woman interested only in herself.

You like you ent hear bout de WireTapping uh OSA phone and evey body phone in Barbados who might have been and is still considered to be a dissident in the Camp of the Troika.

looka watch youself yuh…

@ Brother Hants

I was looking fuh you earlier.

And Here i find you “spin-bowling” pun BU outside de Sports Corner FUH DE DLP!!! Man dem gine get beat so bad, all uh dem gine gotta emigrate. My doogla friend bettah hope dat Trump doan get elected President cause wid she curly hair, he ent gine leh she emigrate tuh de United States.

As comical as your suggestions are, you do know that your suggestions would have appeased the brassbowls that we Bajans are, you know that right??

Hants. Hants Hants.

Jes when I thought i had seen it all a friend uh mine send me dis

http://www.amazon.com/Jobar-International-Travel-Urinal-Reusable/dp/B004ANM6C8/ref=pd_sim_121_6?ie=UTF8&dpID=51W1RRTr3OL&dpSrc=sims&preST=AC_UL160_SR108%2C160&refRID=1A3F1JN1W4D812578Y5C

Hants, dem got a video pun it showing a lady standing up like either uh we AND PEEING!!

Hants, de ole man cud not believe it

Instead uh dat bembah sending me a link like you does do, to Fleur, dat is whu he send me. I soon gine buse he doah

Steupse

41. @Past Zone

Agree that Mia’s revelations coming out of the Jacobson report gave impetus to the Cahill matter in her budget reply and she also held a meeting at Bow Road as well.

42. One by one the cabinet is experiencing damascene moments of serious import.Something is amiss.First,Lowe made a turnaround on Cahill.Second,Jones did a turnaround in his dealings with the BUT,third Stuart made a 360 and told all of Barbados on CBC TV that he will not support Leroy Parris …to quote PM Stuart,”He cannot get me in anyway to influence his fortunes from where I sit”.
    Soon we will get a 360 from Inniss and his nonsensical diatribe about fingerprinting Bajans when they leave or re- enter the country.What Commissiong did was the correct method to deal with this and any other oppressive government.Take the matter to court.Thats what keeps the tyrants in their place.Mia would do well to do the same and the Labour Party must be prepared to do pro bono work if they want to prove their worth.

43. @ Gabriel

Pro Bono Work?

The Barbados Labour Party?

Wait you din hear one of them declare that dem doan wuk fuh free or for po’ people?

Let me explain what is the 360 manifestation that we are seeing

It is moreso a 359 cause they are not going all the way and will retract that significant 1 if the people are ingrunt enough to give them a third term.

Like their representative here LEGION, they know that their end time is near and that the sentiment of bajans on ALL THE BLOGS and the vociferousness of all and sundry is assailing their ears.

Remember that they see us in the churches and in the streets and in the supermarkets AND EVEN THEIR SYCOPHANTS avoid them.

That is the thing Gabriel, when your own people avoiding your scvnt then you start to wake up and say wait, DEM ent like me yuh.

When you walking into rooms and people got on a dour face, and backing your scvnt, or doing like a friend uh mine does do and turn he chair tuh face de back uh de room when you speaking, the realization hitting them.

NOT ONE EFFING SEAT!!!

THat will be the legacy of the Bringer of the Fatted Calf

“โ€œBe sober, be vigilant; (DO NOT BELIEVE ONE WORD THEY SAY] because your adversary the devil [THE DEMOCRATIC LYING PARTY] , as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:โ€ [and tell lies to and try to fool all uh we like them fool Alvin, that they are a caring government]

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Piece, Alvin is like an easy woman…..AC is an easy woman.

45. @ pieceuhderockyeahright

In relation to your comment “Evey boy heah know dat mia is a self serving woman interested only in herself.” please advise if she is any more self serving than Owen Arthur, David Thompson and Freundel Stuart?

At least with Mia the government will be competent and will have achievements that benefit the public. You don’t know that a vast majority of the DEMS believe that the Prime Minister has made a significant achievement, that achievement being that he survived the Eager 11 palace coup and the DLP remains in office?

46. Head and shoulders above every other contender and still no better than previous contenders.

Is it new wine in old skins or old wine in new skins? I can never remember which is correct.

47. Raw Bake

Do you think the DLP is doing a good job governing the affairs of the country?
    Do you think the PM is doing a good job being the Prime Minister?

48. No, no, no, no, no, Past Zone.

Noooooooo!

Not the government will be competent Mia will have a level of competency, complexioned by extreme self interests.

Anything else about her band of yet to be proven ministers is pure expectation at the best and wanton speculation at the worst.

Whu after all sum uh dem fellers dun bin dere and dun show that they too are incapable varmints.

Dale “Skin HIS 200 Shark Teet” Marshall – Attorney general Presiding over the same dim witted incompetence of our Courts ad Adriel DimWit brathwaite.

Glyne Clarke, Minister of Transport and Works just as inept as John.

Minister of differents Hats If forgot his name Payne, yes Payne,

Ronald Toppin, he who presided over the Bartel FTC debacle (let us not repeat the rumours that F. King, seeing the abject teifing, resigned)

Name them, Bostic from the City, sound off their names in your mouth, measure them, what the ef have they done?

You see there is a cadre here of men and women who even though we like a particular party ‘s representative(s) we are equally disposed to calling them out, irrespective of that liking.

This site is 9 years old and has live through 2 administrations but there are men and women here who, irrespetive of who is driving round MP1, will call a spade a spade, equally so.

And that is the thing that we are missing “I pledge allegiance to my country Barbados …” not effing Dale Marshall, Suckoo-Byer, Fumbles Stuart of Mia Amor but to the honour of country.

That is whu the Jihadists got pun we scvunt absolute commitment to cause and country albeit misguided.

Mia going march tomorrow BUT you and I ent going be there cause we fraid dat Fumbles going be there by proxy tekking we pictures and next week when dem letting go people during the witch hunting retrenchment, we scvnt going get send home.

But BOTH MOFO GUVMENTS DOES DO THAT SHY*E!!

And to your other point bout self serving an selfishness.

We all is some selfish bastids, ALL UH WE, WE WANTS DE BUBBIE FUH WESELF from de time we was lil chilrun (are is learning well)

De difference is AND WHAT A FEW UH WE TRYING TO SAY is dat dere is sumting very wrong with getting in the school sand pit and brekking de teacher knee caps when she see we pushing maria scvunt out of the sand pit and off the swinger that you and me does fool weself dat we entitled to a “Piece Uh de Effing Rock”.

mark de ole man words and we gine see.

Being an MP or a PM makes you a servant of the people but our vermin feel that it makes us their slaves in their kingdom and that this is a throne that they will not release BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY

49. @ pieceuhderockyeahright

Maria is a head case, you witnessed it in Parliament last week no less. Only a nut case tries to change something when they have no power whatsoever to ensure/deliver the change.