Vernon Smith QC

The unfortunate death of Marcelle Smith who was the wife of retired headmaster of the Lodge School Aurelius Smith and who is the brother of Vernon Smith and Frederick ‘Sleepy Smith’ of the venerable Law Firm Smith and Smith has generate a distasteful public story.ย  Based on the documents attached we have a family feud which is fuelling serious allegations. In the interest of being balanced and transparent BU will post the attached documents to inform public discussion and leave the speculation to others.

309 responses to “The Vernon Smith Vs Marcelle Smith & Family Affair, with Court Documents”

1. While the late Marcelle Smith was living outside of Barbados who took care of Aurelius Smith?

2. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Heather April 2, 2016 at 7:34 PM #

@Violet Beckles, I owe you an apology. There were many times that I thought you were crazy to be claiming half of the land in Barbados. I do not anymore. Your story must be told. I would gladly do the honours.@

Thank you , can be reached “Coalition of Unified Parties ” on face book

3. Halvern Golpsmith Avatar
    Halvern Golpsmith

Amused… @Amused

Where do you get your ‘statement of mere fact’ about where Marcelle Smith spent her time?

Do you work at passport control at GAIA departures 24/7? Pretty boring place for a ‘lawyerly speaking type’ to be hanging out to be able to make such statements of fact

Sounds more like lawyer/liar stuff Amused, and not fact.

I observe your comment on this forum appears to be the only one supporting these nasty lawyers reported in the press on this matter.

In effect you are condoning the murder of Marcelle Smith and the nefarious activities of those attorneys reported in the press. This is sinister and worrying, coming from someone in the Barbados legal fraternity, on this forum.

As they saw in southern US drawl, ‘Hal hath no fury like a woman scorned’

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

You credit me with more knowledge than I have. All I did in this exercise was to pass on to Mr. David King some information that mysteriously landed in my inbox; and commented on what I know to be facts.

Mr. Aurelius Smith was the Deputy Headmaster when I first entered Combermere. We had a few encounters, and even though I had right on my side, he prevailed and on a number of occasions. He cut my backside for standing up to him. Over the years, whenever he saw me, he would remind me of his attempts to make a man out of me. He never forgot me.

On the occasion of the Smith family reunion that was held at NUPW around late 2009 or early 2010, I saw him at the function. It appeared to me that he was not aware of his surroundings. He certainly did not remember me which I found to be strange. In my non legal, non medical opinion, the man I saw that day did not possess the faculties to shoo away a fly that was bothering him; he could not instruct any attorney at that stage. He was unaware of what was going on around him. I could not understand how he could have recovered enough of his faculties to instruct a lawyer in 2014. I think I am entitled to express an opinion on what I saw.

I don’t know anything about him not being served but as far as I could have seen then, serving him with legal papers would have been no different from serving a six months old child.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Amused.

I unlike Golpsmith am not amused but am quizical.

You state “…notice that the late Mrs Smith had not served copies on Aurelius Smith. That is the height of impropriety on the part of the late Mrs Smith…”

Why would it be impropriety which to the best of my understanding speaks to wrong doing?

I my be missing something here so help me.

Was the late Mrs Smith a lawyer? who would purposely have reneged in her duties to serve Aurelius Smith? Is that part of the process? for the wife to see to it that the husband is served? in these matters?

The learned judge may have erred in his observations of those things because he is al learned judge but I would be grateful to understand how her actions were so impropitious?

SWMBO is of the same gender as the late Mrs Marcelle Smith.

I can only surmise that you might not have consulted her before you made these utterances with regard to your remarks because while your lawerly observations per the procedural aberrations will as always stand up in a court of law, the more serious imputation here lies not in the correctness of whether she served him, or if the son was/is overseas, or if the police had any rights to be there etc but moreso as to the nature of her death and if there were any oddities associated with her demise.

SWMBO would had you spoken with her, have cautioned you that the procedural irregularity did not outweigh the more serious imputations and it might not be best to remark on such a sensitive matter given the “greater sin”

This was like that Donald Trump “punish the women for their participation in abortion” statements since a suspicious death attended the party.

But I is jes an ole man who ent so scholarly like wunna fellows having left school at 11+

Silence, a thing which de ole man ent mastered yet, may have been wiser, but imagine that de ole man advising you about silence but then I am more knowledgeable than you about 1/2 *** in 3/4 *** with 1000 *** and such meks it mo’ of a challenge to ***. Plussing Lupus still alive and haganah is a strange ting …..

6. @ Amused
    You do NOT do very well when clutching at straws…. and right now you are not even getting close to THAT futile attempt at self preservation….

Why the hell would ANYONE in their right mind bother to serve legal papers on someone who is the subject of being declared mentally incompetent? …to prove what exactly?
    Shiite man, that would be like providing Pieceurderock with a catalogue of all the fancy cars that he can no longer drive …since they tek way he license…

As to the lady ‘living’ in the USA…. is that not where her children live …and grand children?
    Besides you, who else is surprised that she spent time with them…?
    What surprise Bushie is that she came back…. Unlike Vernon’s…. wonder why…?

Was the woman not a REGULAR church member at her church…?

You are not helping your friend’s case one bit….

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sometimes I wonder ef amused ent a Gollop?

8. Eeeewww!!!!

9. People talk about family in law.

I much prefer the term family outlaw.

If ya ain’t my blood ya a’int no family to me.

10. @David April 2, 2016 at 7:42 PM “While the late Marcelle Smith was living outside of Barbados who took care of Aurelius Smith?”

The $250 a week maid. That’s who (does all the care giving and all the shit and piss cleaning in Barbados)

11. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Well Well & Consequences April 2, 2016 at 7:05 PM #

Piedโ€ฆalot of the information is already out there, the land thieves, lawyers, politicians, the former Thief Justice who are blood relations to many of the victims they stole from, rewrote wills replacing beneficiaries, or just forge new wills, itโ€™s all well known.

Because of the huge amount of wills Nicholls had to archive for Cottle Catford, I dont know how he could not knowโ€ฆ.his distinct dislike of โ€œuncleโ€ Vernon, as outlined in his book, tells us that he is well aware of the nasty things the Smith attorneys have done to others.@@@

Well Well @ Oh my goodness ,Nothing you write is cant ever be wrong , if you can think it they have done it.

Write Wills with things they never owned to be probated, Give Wills that are copies to be probated and the High Court Clerks took it , People who sold or lost ownership put back in their names,People who was revoke still acting as POA, Some wanted me to Back Date Papers , I said NO , Cottle Catford made up names of people to fool UDC to gain Taxpayers money from the 15% VAT, Land surveyed with people who never owned land, Land sold to people who never paid for land , Stamp Duties and taxes paid only and not the cost of the land, Deed made up behind the rightful land owners using their names and they dont even know they land was sold,These deeds never recorded , Land tax numbers transfer but no land conveyed . no 70 year Clear titled deed from the Plantation deed, which most changed hands like wild fire as lawyers took turns as ownership and getting the rents , even the Ministers in this , the Government and developers did the same , Lease land with out the land owner knowing. Lawyers, to QC, QC to Judge , Judge to Attorney General High Court then to Chief Justice , Minister who are lawyers,Play games on the other Ministers who are not lawyers like Dr.Maria Agard, Even the lawyers in the government lock out the Minister who are not lawyers as 2nd class, Look at Ralph Crooks as Thorne on his way to run with the BLP , Mason numbers all over the place,Land Registry book forged , pages removed from search and counter search , Archives head man Williams running, BOMB threats being called to clear government building during my investigations over the years flying back and forth to Barbados,Never tell anyone in Barbados when you coming or leaving and never a lawyer, Just run up on the Bitches,As soon as you hire a lawyer he/she act as your POA, When you are dead they come with a Bill, and now you have to pay him rent for your own home,for a bill you never heard of,

If I never went away to other countries to live and work , you may never see this madness as it is in Barbados slavery by another name, People here are like Rip Van Winkle , they fell the hell asleep .

12. @David. I suppose that if you wanted someone who was NOT suffering from what would constitute mental incapacity in the eyes of the law, NOT to know that you intended to take over their lives and assets, it would certainly be desirable if they did NOT have any knowledge about it so they could get their backsides into court and prove you a liar. Of course, their reaction to your action in brining the case in the first place might be somewhat severe and you might find yourself fund-less.

Who was looking after Aurelius? No one it seems. Which is why he was in hospital suffering from malnutrition and was accordingly temporarily disoriented when this doctorโ€™s letter was obtained. Had it been a psychiatrist as is required by law (see Wharton vs BNS in a previous report here on BU of just a few days ago) that psychiatrist would have recorded whether or not the condition was permanent and the cause of the condition. Such a letter would then have triggered any directions that Aurelius may have made for the care of himself and his assets during his incapacity, which directions may not have named Mrs Smith, but someone else.

@Piece. Let me assist. The late Mrs Smith was not a lawyer, but retained counsel from Yearwood and Boyce. Usually, service would be arranged by counsel, not Mrs Smith, but that is only usual practice and โ€“ I would be interested to hear what counsel from Yearwood and Boyce has to say on the matter as I sincerely doubt that counsel failed in her ethical duty to advise Mrs Smith. Yes, service is a necessary part of the process. It is the job of the learned judge to check these things like the pre-flight check a pilot must make on an airplane before risking the lives (in this case human rights) of passengers and the general public. Clearly the judge failed to do so. That is incompetence โ€“ or what in the aviation world would be called โ€œpilot errorโ€ after the damned plane crashed into the middle of Bridgetown at rush hour killing passengers, crew and civilians on the ground.

As for the oddities of Mrs Smithโ€™s demise, has anyone asked how the accused would have got access to Mrs Smith? Had she perhaps (and this is a matter for the Police to answer โ€“ and prosecuting counsel to ask at his trial) hired him as maybe a gardener and handyman to look after and maintain the value of the house and in so doing failed to check with the Police if he had any outstanding charges against him since, while she was going to be in California most of the time, the person most at risk would have been her very elderly husband?

@ Simple Simon April 2, 2016 at 11:16 PM. You, like myself, obviously have sought answers before rushing to judgement. As I fully expected you would, my not-so-simple friend.

BTW, I am not a Gollop nor am I a Smith โ€“ I have not got that great honour or distinction (or brain power) but I thank anyone who, flattering to me, thinks that I have.

@Casewell. Not persuasive. You cannot be faulted for sending to BU documents that happened to land on your desk, given the accusations made in another blog that shall not be named. Although you might question, which you have not done here anyway, as to how and why these documents just happened to come your way immediately following a report in BT, or it might be inferred that you ASKED that the documents be sent to you. However, given your frequent legal comments on the blogs and other media and your claims to legal training, the nature of that legal training and your understanding of it both need to be seriously questioned. Charitably, it can be said that you have claimed that you should have known and chose to ignore. Or, uncharitably, that you did know and chose to mislead. Which is it? Ignorance or malice?

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Amused…are legal documents served on people on the island who no longer have their mental faculties intact..that is odd, if it’s happenong, it should not be…..when asked what the legal documents said, what time he was served, who served the docs, what do you think Mr. Smith would say.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gollop and Smith do not have brain power, not to do good anyway, they are both limited in terms of overall intelligence and scope, no one needs a lot of brain power to stea, there are numerous examples serving hundred year sentences..

While the judge Alleyne does not have a reputation of being speedy or the best judge., Amused you still have not convinced me……If Mr. Smith was being neglected, you said wife and children lived overseas, his brother Vernon and sidekick Gollop live in Barbados full time , why were they, while hounding down the man’s properties, not looking after his physical well being as well, they kept hounding him, they should also been taking care of him.

You still have not said if Mrs. Smith had health issues that required her to be near her children, she too was elderly, here is where your motives are very suspect making you unable to walk back your comments, unless you are a family member or a very close insider.

I believe you are being used to divert the story Amused, but it will not work, because these crimes of property theft and land theft did not only happen to the Smiths over the years, it happened to many others over the decades and by the sames 2 nasty culprits, Smith and Gollop, along with too many other lawyers…most, but not enough, who are alresdy long deceased and turned to dust.

No one needs a law degree to be a common thief….the legal knowledge however, helps you to circumnavigate the court system and avoid being brought to justice for theft and other crimes, ask the former Thief Justice Simmons.

All of a sudden you are alluding the accused killer may have been a gardener, but you said the female Smith lived in the US, so who hired the killer, was it Gollop or Smith, who suggested this individual who has ties to Gollop, was it to better to monitor what’s happening at the house, of course the longer Smith lived, better for Vernon, giving him the time he needs to transfer titles, less complicated than if the brother died suddenly and suspiciously, not that the police in Bim are competent enough to arrest under those circumstances, but the wife meddling in her own affairs would certainly be a problem for 2 thieves….but that is me, poking some big holes in this nonsense you are trying to feed grown ass people.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

I had the documents a few days before they were published in the Barbados Today. I thought long and hard before I made them available to BU for a number of reasons, but mostly because I have some affection for Vernon Smith who taught me Maths and Latin in my first year at Combermere. I did not ask anyone for the documents. As far as I know, they could have come from you and now you are trying to distance yourself. Have no fear, I have never revealed the source of any information that I receive confidentially, and I an not about to start with you.

By the way, when have I ever made a claim to be legally trained. Whenever I read anything, I tackle it from the point of view that it is written in English and I treat it as English comprehension. I might be wrong sometimes but I am never fearful because some branch of English comprehension is given a name like law or anything else for that matter.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I just want to know one thing. Is there is enough cause and reason to suspect that Vernon Smith may have orchestrated the death of Marcelle Smith?

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…..Smith’s sidekick Gollop has a long relationship to the remanded accused killer, people need to investigate who got bail for the accused while he was on bail for another killing of a female. Some say Smith himself is closely aligned to the dude.

There is a stench to this, permeating the whole legal system.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*who got bail for the accused, while he was on remand accused of killing another female….

Amused should be able to answer that question and please dont tell us Marcelle Smith returned from the US and hired the dude accused of killing her, to kill her.

19. @ Amused
    Who was looking after Aurelius? No one it seems….
    Make up your mind boss… how does the gentleman need to be looked after for such basic Maslow needs as eating and personal care …but remain fully capable of making complex legal decisions about the disposition of property….
    This is the same shiite that Gollop was saying….

…and when a man(or woman) is unfortunate enough to revert to their second childhood, who better to decide their fate than the partner that they CHOSE to share their lives with….?
    …as usual, Simple Simon is just talking her usual ZR shiite…about ‘blood…’

This is beginning to look a lot to Bushie like a complex case where the properties involved may not be at all ‘clean and proper’ (a la Violet /DEEDS for example)…. and where there became an URGENT need for someone who ‘understand the complexities of the arrangements’ (and not the uncooperative wife) to deal with the matters now that Aurelius is unable to do so….

There HAS to be much deeper reasons why two big able lawyers -already up to their necks in shit from the CCJ /ERT/Bar Association/ CJ and Lord-knows-who-else….would go to such lengths to pressure a RELATIVE …over a little shiite property….

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman…check this out.

Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles of plantation deeds + the Smith family of lawyers = BLOOD RELATIVES.

Beatrie Henry and Violet Beckles + Mia Mottley, the Mottley family of lawyers and fromer Thief Justice David Simmons = BLOOD RELATIVES.

You hear Plantation Deeds kept chanting before I ever came on here about clear titles for land and properties, clear title that none of them have for properties they “own”, stole and sold over many decades.

21. We have reviewed all the documents so far and to make a connection between Vernon Smith and the death of Marcelle Smith is speculative and highly so.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

We are dealing here with circumstances that are providing proof of the nefarious behaviour of the legal system and specific lawyers. We are also dealing with and seeing the protectionist setting of an establish system that refuses to delve into into the personal wrong doings of certain prominent figures in the Barbadians society. Where there is some digging the process that seeks to deal with it is superficial and accompanied by the practice of delay purposely used to acheive the desired outcome. Though who is a sidekick and who has long relationship to the accused provides reason to raise all suspicions in this matter, I still want to know, base on the coincidental nature and timing of the murder, is there enough anecdotal evidence to effect a full scale deeper investigation and, enough reason, to delve deeper into the revelations that are pointing fingers and exposing all that we have come to know about the dark hidden secrets of lawyers (namely those involve in this matter) and a legal system gone wrong.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now that theft of famiky properties by eell known lawyers to the families have been establised, because it was not made clear before or was not understood….just imagine what all those well known and and related to each other lawyers have done to the other victims on the island who are NOT their blood relatives, imagine the brutality, imagine the crimes against them…imagine how many of them were murdered.

I am glad Harris’ barbadostoday opened this particular drum of worms, he too has a motive and should tell why in his same online newspaper.

SSS…too many in the legal system involved for any investigation, the initiation is not unlike the gangs we know in NY, everyone knows something about the others involvement in something equally nasty, no one can squeal…dont hold your breath.

But karma, as we can see, has no such restraints.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

BTW….in Philip Nicholls’ book, he distinctly wrote that shortly before Marcelle Smith’s death, she reached out to him stating that she feared for her life….if you have gotten your copy yet….SSS, you will read it.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WINDIES WIN WORLD T20 CUP BY 8 WICKETS

27. Hooray For the Windies

28. @Bush Tea April 3, 2016 at 6:19 AM “who better to decide their fate than the partner that they CHOSE to share their lives withโ€ฆ.? โ€ฆas usual, Simple Simon is just talking her usual ZR shiiteโ€ฆabout โ€˜bloodโ€ฆโ€™”

I AGREE with you that the spouse is the best person to take care of the needs of elders. My comment about blood was related to the too often bad relations between outlaws (ie. spouse’s relatives) I agree that a spouse is NOT an outlaw. A spouse is the carefully chosen love of your live, and in our old age a healthy, competent, loving spouse should be the decider.

Man Bush Tea you know better. Driving on a ZR, or driving a ZR does NOT affect the brain cells.

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ David at 6:34am,

“We have reviewed all the documents so far and to make a connection between Vernon Smith and the death of Marcelle Smith is speculative and highly so.”

But, after all, you did invite speculation-

BU will post the attached documents to inform public discussion and leave the speculation to others.

30. @Amused April 3, 2016 at 3:49 AM “I suppose that if you wanted someone who was NOT suffering from what would constitute mental incapacity in the eyes of the law, NOT to know that you intended to take over their lives and assets, it would certainly be desirable if they did NOT have any knowledge about it so they could get their backsides into court and prove you a liar. Of course, their reaction to your action in bringing the case in the first place might be somewhat severe and you might find yourself fund-less. Who was looking after Aurelius? No one it seems. Which is why he was in hospital suffering from malnutrition and was accordingly temporarily disoriented when this doctorโ€™s letter was obtained. Had it been a psychiatrist as is required by law (see Wharton vs BNS in a previous report here on BU of just a few days ago) that psychiatrist would have recorded whether or not the condition was permanent and the cause of the condition. Such a letter would then have triggered any directions that Aurelius may have made for the care of himself and his assets during his incapacity, which directions may not have named Mrs Smith, but someone else.”

Dear Amused: If Aurie was in good mental and physical health why did he permit himself to become malnourished? Surely buying groceries and cooking food in well within the competence of a healthy elder. And even supposing that he was physically unable to shop and cook surely he was receiving enough pension and perhaps other income to permit him to hire someone to prepare meals 3 or 4 days a week. And a microwave over is very easy to use and surely he could have had reheated meals on other days. I’ve spent enough time care giving for elders to know that even 80 something elders who have had strokes are still competent enough to prepare simple breakfasts. It is not that hard to prepare a cup of tea, a piece of bread and a banana. Then the maid/housekeeper can prepare the more complex meals.

Unless of course the elder is deeply depressed (and a good many are depressed about lost of work, youth, absent children and grandchildren etc.) Depressing can make a person lose the will to prepare simple meals, and lose the desire to eat.

31. @ Simple Simon
    Man Bush Tea you know better. Driving on a ZR, or driving a ZR does NOT affect the brain cells
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Yuh got THAT right Simple…Bushie knows better ….. IT DOES!!!
    When those dub rhymes and that wicked reggae bass beat get beaten into your psyche ..you may feel no pain… (according to Bob), …but your brain cells go into serious spasms, your mind wonders; your eyes bulge; and all sorts of shiite starts to vibrate…..Why do you think the schoolgirls like the milkshake…?
    Keep out of the people ZRs …. Bushie could pick you up…. !!! ๐Ÿ™‚

What documents what??!!
    ….with lawyers?
    Those so-and-so’s CREATE documents for a living… do you think you will EVER find any documents to prove that any lawyer is anything but ‘holy’….?
    Ask Deeds – wuh he gotta house FULL of documents / deeds …and still gotta pay to go in Kensington just like Bushie…

Do you not watch detective movies…?
    You ever heard about ‘motive’…?

32. @pieceuhderockyeahright April 2, 2016 at 9:09 PM “This was like that Donald Trump โ€œpunish the women for their participation in abortionโ€

Doan mind that idiot. Punish women what. He going punish the men who phuckedup the women too?

idiot.

Dear David: Sorry to sound off om a completely different topic.

33. I am not disputing Caswell’s take on Aurie’s mental health, BUT I spoke to a good friend last night. Said friend had good competent lucid daily conversations with Aurie during the first quarter of 2010. That is during January to March 2010. According to friend it was obvious that Aurie was reading and understanding the daily newspapers with the competence and understanding of a man who had been a school principal.

34. @Jeff

It is the practice for BU to post documents (credible) received whether the BU household agree or not. We all accept the judicial system and ancillary services need a dusting off, however, we must be careful not to engage in a pin the tail on the donkey exercise as some are wont to do.

Yes we will leave the speculation to others, such an approach does not pre-empt dispassionate ventilation of concerns.

35. @Bush Tea April 3, 2016 at 8:31 AM “Keep out of the people ZRs โ€ฆ. Bushie could pick you upโ€ฆ. !!!:)”

I will be ready at 10 a.m.

I don’t know what you have in mind.

But since it is Sunday mornring…I am thinking…

Church.

36. @Georgie Porgie April 3, 2016 at 8:04 AM “WINDIES WIN WORLD T20 CUP BY 8 WICKETS.”

A real Windies die hard you are.

But I agree.

Rally ‘roun the Weat Indies.

Hip, hip, hooray!!!

So how did the Windies women do?

37. @Simple Simon

You cant read? WI women won. Isn’t that what GP blasted?

38. @Sargeant April 2, 2016 at 12:18 PM “My take away relates to Hal Gollop, the man has to have his fingers in every pie…

…and according to talk on the streets not only in pies…

Lol!!!

39. Literate. But still sleepy. Just woke up. Still catching myself.

I beg your pardon.

40. Vernon Smith is a dog with a bad name … it was given to him by the CCJ when it cited him for abuse of process.

In the papers he accused the CCJ of engaging in a diatribe!!

What sort of crap is that.

Same sh!t,, different people, this time his own family to make matters worse!!

I’ve seen him waste six months trying to get to CCJ before he was cited for abuse in a subsequent case.

He even tried to enter a 200 page affidavit from his client with new evidence just to stretch out matters!!!!!

I got to watch the five justices skin him out … but with all the decorum you would associate with a Civil Jurisdiction.

He just could not take a hint because does not belong in such a jurisdiction!!

Clearly the CCJ had twigged to his modus operandi by the time it cited him and his two co counsel for abuse,

Come to think of it Vernon Smith earned the bad name on his own, … gave it to himself!!

The CCJ just confirmed his title.

How he survived for so long as a lawyer I am left to guess.

41. Oh Lord John!!! You don’t like Vernie do you?

42. Look. You can believe me our not that originating legal documents in these cases need to be served. I don’t care if you believe me or not. It is a matter of court process and you can either accept it, or check and come back later and contradict me.

@Bushie. You really need to get out more and read. Ever heard of Professor Stephen Hawking? Look him up on Google and it just may just answer your questions.

@David. I agree. I am told that the two younger children named Vernon Smith to the Police as a person of interest and Vernon Smith immediately demanded that the Police investigate him. Presumably this would have entailed speaking to the accused. It is my information that the Police found no scintilla of a link or merit in the accusation. My take on this is simple. Greed on the parts of the two children in California and frustration that their father arranged his affairs in such a way that they cannot get their hands on his assets, whether he is competent or not – and they are as vexed as shite with the brother who accepted their father’s legal instructions and refuses to act other than on his professional and ethical obligations.

43. Steupsss @ Simple
    You should be in the shower. You ain’t going out at 10…?

Woman…
    You don’t have to ‘dislike’ someone in order to outline shiite that they do… at least real men don’t have to…
    The man seems to thrive on jerking people’s string…. wuh the only ones Bushie ever heard say good things about him were Amused and now Caswell – bout teaching him in lower school… he seems to piss off even more people than the Bushman….and he don’t even have a whacker…
    Poor Vernon must be wondering where he fell down with those two…Amused and Caswell…
    For every one else – mission accomplished.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John…”how he survived so long as a lawyer”….you mean in Barbados = collusion, many of the older lawyers still do the same dumb shit, graduated from the same class as Smith.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Amused…as another document person…where is the document showing Smith as guardian to the brother or executor of his estate, ya would think that document would be part of court records and if it existed, the judge would have had a hell of a time touching it or dismissing it….and since the wife is now deceased, those documents if they existed… would be up front on BU.

46. It is obvious from the find Marcelle Smith Facebook page the family suspected hanky panky.

https://www.facebook.com/findmarcellesmithBarbados/

47. @ Amused
    Hawking shiite!!
    How is he relevant to the case in point? He is just another albino freak of nature – with convoluted thoughts about things that he do not (perhaps CANNOT) understand.
    He said for example that…
    “We are just an advanced breed of monkeys on a minor planet of a very average star. But we can understand the Universe. That makes us something very special”

Steupsss
    Either we are ‘something very special’, OR we are ‘an advanced breed of monkeys’ – …or he is talking shiite… You choose….

Since you have touched on this, (and Bushie respects your legal prowess… ) Are you then saying that, IN SPITE OF THE SUCCESSION ACT, if Bushie gets pissed off with his wife and children – all the Bushman has to do in order to dispossess them of the estate is to find a lawyer and arrange for him to collect the rents and take control of the properties…?

…or is this only where the lawyer is a brother?

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Her death, the family feud between her and Vernon Smith prior to her death is enough reason to suspect him. She certainly did not orchestrate the brutality associated with her murder. And when you have enough cover to prove that the accusations will not deliver any evidence overwhelming enough to implicate you in the crime, no better way than to say you incident is by telling the police to investigate me. Is this not what the political class always tell you. Bring the evidence and prove that I am dabbling in the public purse for profit like if they would not have erase most traces of the foot and print?

49. @SSS

Have no problem with your last comment, based on what has transpired there is a legitimate case to suspect others as well.

50. So much here that defies common sense/wisdom.

In medicine there is an excellent very ancient tradition that doctors do not provide medical care to their own immediate relatives. Perhaps lawyers should start doing the same. Do you think that Simple is so simple as to permit a spouse to provide anesthesia during surgery? Especially if spouse had a young and very good looking outside party? No way.

Also we have this thing in Barbados that overseas is better. But I put it to all ‘o wunna that it is better to have a few adult children living close to the old people. Remember the Scriptures say “it is better to have a good neighbour than a son who is far away”. I don’t like this business that the best thing we can do as a family/as a country is to export our brightest and best young people.

he truth is that having adult children living in California was not in the best interest of Aurelius Smith and the late Mrs. Smith. Why wunna think that our Africa ancestors lived in the same yard.