Vernon Smith QC

The unfortunate death of Marcelle Smith who was the wife of retired headmaster of the Lodge School Aurelius Smith and who is the brother of Vernon Smith and Frederick ‘Sleepy Smith’ of the venerable Law Firm Smith and Smith has generate a distasteful public story.ย  Based on the documents attached we have a family feud which is fuelling serious allegations. In the interest of being balanced and transparent BU will post the attached documents to inform public discussion and leave the speculation to others.

309 responses to “The Vernon Smith Vs Marcelle Smith & Family Affair, with Court Documents”

1. But on the other hand his defense would argue that it would be rather stupid (asinine, even) for him to be involved with a former client to whom he can be so easily linked
    Boss, you think this is New York where you can just check the yellow pages to find a goon? Who the hell else would he get…? a lawyer friend? … those fellows (not Jeff) does run from centipedes and lizards…

2. @Sargeant. On whether I know the answer to that or not, I am, in true Yank style, taking the 5th. On the question of judgesโ€™ rulings, there are rules and, as judges have the files before them in advance of the cases, one would have thought that when a case is apparently unopposed, the judge would check and verify that all the rules had been followed. And if not, in the absence of opposing counsel who would immediately pick it up and bring it to the judgeโ€™s attention, demand that the rules be followed and observed, before even allowing any submissions. That, my friend, is what the taxpayers pay judges to do and give them official cars and police drivers and all sorts of perks at our expense to ease their jobs and assure their security to do those jobs. When there is a screw up as basic as this, we certainly have a right to enquire and complain.

@Well well. No, I was not threatening you. I happen to like you. I was concerned and actually have been for some time, that you have a tendency to make comments that, without the veil of anonymity, could land you in court defending actions for defamation. I would not like to see that happen and so, in the interests of your well-being, I decided to just sound a friendly word of caution and make it clear, as I had said, that it was not a threat. I think you misread me. You are right. I am not corrupt. Never have been and never will be and I have seen corruption up close and personal far too often for me ever to even think of going that route. There are many attorneys in Barbados who would never allow themselves to indulge in corruption or take short cuts for any reason and, in my very large experience and working with many of them over many years, two of leaders of these incorruptibles are those being pilloried by some of the comments in this particular report. You donโ€™t always like what they tell you or when they smack the sh*** out of you in court, but that is their job and they are extremely good at it. I remember being in court one day when Vernon Smith took on opposing counsel, a young attorney, and administered a masterful beating up. When they got out of court, Vernon walked up to the attorney, put an almost paternal arm around him and spent a long time going through how to deal with what had just happened in the court โ€“ a gentle master class from a senior to a junior who he hoped would do better the next time. So, it burns my ass when I see honest and honourable attorneys being exposed to this sort of nonsense simply for doing their job.

@David. I really do not know what the next step will be. I can only speculate as to what I would do if it were me, which it is not. I would gather all the documents and transactions together, except those of a personal and/or confidential nature, and I would issue a document-backed rebuttal. I would also commence civil proceedings, but with family involved, I would have to think that one through. Actually, no I donโ€™t. I would sue their asses off, but Vernon is far more moderate than I am and so is Hal. I might also file a criminal complaint and am satisfied that there are more than adequate grounds for this, but, once again, with family I might not โ€“ hell no, I would. If the children think they have grounds for their accusations, which I am satisfied that they could not, but if they are convinced otherwise, then they are entitled to file a complaint with the Disciplinary Committee of the BA that, in its turn, if upheld, would be referred to the Court of Appeal. So, I guess it is now wait and see time.

@sbvP2G2. I donโ€™t recall any mention of a power of attorney. Sorry, I canโ€™t help you there. Are you saying there is one? And a power of attorney, unless revoked by the person granting it, most certainly can survive incapacity and will only cease upon the death of the person granting it. But I am not aware of any power of attorney. What I am hearing of is a document that acts as a living will. In any case, for a power of attorney to have any validity, it must be registered and recorded at the Registry, so you might like to check with the Registry if there is such a registration and recording, because if not, then there is no power of attorney.

3. AMUSED said the wife lived in the U.S? Divert attention away from the facts. She lived n BIM, had housekeeper to take care of husband, belong to the Barbados Bridge Society….what about the alleged talk of Smith stealing money from Sleepy Smith when they were partners and his brother who stayed with Smith from the U..K when he was ill? Auri was next on the list.

4. Mrs. Smith lived in Barbados, she belonged to the Barbados Bridge Club. Represented Barbados with the Club. Why are you allowing Amused to mess with your minds?

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Amused…..you admire and defend and believe you are being honorable and loyal…nothing wrong with all of that…but….do not allow yourself to be used.

Dont worry…am a bad old gal and can do battle with the best….remember, I am the Bushman’s witch….lol

6. @CA

BU will allow all sides of the issue to be posted read an equal opportunity blog. Our readership is intelligent and discerning enough to filter the truth. Barbados is a small place therefore to ascertain the nature of the relationship will not be difficult.

7. I am a member of clubs in Barbados, the UK and the USA, so that doesn’t mean anything. However, the USA has an unmatched computer record of all who go in and out and ought to be able to answer a request if backed by a court order to determine how much time Mrs Smith spent there. BTW, how many passports did she have? You know that you are allowed to hold one for each country of which you are a citizen. Mrs Smith was Trinidadian by birth. Was she also Barbadian? Had she naturalised in any other countries? Which passport, if she had more than one, did she use on entering and leaving the USA? Did she have a green card? If she did, what address was it registered at. All the evidence is easily discoverable, you know. Then, there are credit cards – and there you have another trail. And there are bank accounts as well.

8. but wait @ Amused,

a woman was murdered. you sure it ent you dat do it?

talk about speaking ill of the dead. what’s your point? you seem to know a lot – supposedly – bout marcelle smith and she family. you clearly have some kind of hidden agenda with this ongoing character assassination (as well as actual assassination) and trying to look like you have inside knowledge to sound credible.

like halvern said – you not looking good here and sound fishy to me.

9. @de pedantic Dribbler, there is this thing called the google, I suggest you learn how to use it. A power of attorney has certain restrictions. When the person who granted the power of Attorney dies, the power of attorney agreement is no longer valid. They are not the automatic executor of the will. The person who was granted the power of attorney can not legally sell the estate assets or claim them as their own.

Similarly, if the person who granted a power of attorney doesn’t die, but does the next thing, and becomes incapacitated, (as deemed by the appropriate medical professionals), then whatever Power of Attorney arrangement that might have been in place, is also no longer valid. Does not matter what arrangement was set up before, it’s invalid in this scenario. Some criminals will try as it looks to be this particular case.

10. @Jonsey. I thought David said that we could reach our own conclusions. Each and every one of us. Well, I have merely asked a few questions and reported the answers and my take on them. I am not going to tell you that I am sorry if you don’t like it, because frankly i couldn’t care less. Why is it that some people expect no dissent at all and get so upset when there is? So childish. As one commenter said, there are three sides to every story. Why would you wish to restrict it to just one?

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh dear, @sbvP2G2 April 3, 2016 at 5:53 PM. Earlier there was no question of the guarantor of the PoA dying raised and I do appreciate that an Executor and PoA are different…that was an intro of sorts.

Additionally, I certainly understood it to be possible to effect a legally binding PoA prior to any mental incapacity so that it continues in force in the event of any such eventuality.

Isn’t that the whole point in some cases: to ensure that the affairs are in order where there is clear sense of the diminution of mental facilities you establish the ‘agent’ who can act of your behalf!

And of course Google is there but when learned folks are here pontificating on real factual matters this offers the ideal opportunity to explore

12. Have been trying to join the conversation, but the use of Latin phrases and legal terms has kept me on the sidelines. I think I got lost at my first Latin lesson and as I wondered how on earth the ancient Romans knew about ammo (abbreviation for ammunition).

I have been following the discussion and find the opinions of Amused to be interesting. Some of the shenanigans of VS may be good lawyering in the eyes of his clients. I hope I never need a lawyer for anything serious, but if I do I hope I get a bare knuckled brawler. A man who can use the system to my advantage.

But at the same time, it is difficult to ignore the wisdom of the Bushies, WW&Cs and many other contributors.

The truth may be somewhere in the middle.

13. Let me chime in here the better half and I both have Power of Attorneys and they expressly state that if any one of us become incapacitated physically or mentally the other is authorized to make decisions on each otherโ€™s behalf.

Unless we know what is in the written document it is foolish to make general comments.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s sad that this lady losing her life got lost in the mix, had she been my relative, I would still be on a rampage. A life is more precious than any material property, it cancels out material greed…..that dude that’s remanded would have to talk, one way or the next, he knows something, besides being accused of killing her.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

You wrote:

@sbvP2G2. I donรขย€ย™t recall any mention of a power of attorney. Sorry, I canรขย€ย™t help you there. Are you saying there is one? And a power of attorney, unless revoked by the person granting it, most certainly can survive incapacity and will only cease upon the death of the person granting it. But I am not aware of any power of attorney. What I am hearing of is a document that acts as a living will. In any case, for a power of attorney to have any validity, it must be registered and recorded at the Registry, so you might like to check with the Registry if there is such a registration and recording, because if not, then there is no power of attorney.

Thanks for that lesson. All along I thought that a power of attorney is no longer valid if the person granting the power becomes of unsound mind, unless there is a specific power that caters to that eventuality. Also, I thought that a power of attorney only had to be registered if the grantee had the power to deal in land.

Thanks for the education.

16. Was Hal Gollop a teacher at Govt Industrial School Dodds when he met Ince the juvie?

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A lot of nasty things that are always being hidden and succesfully silencing the people on the island, so it’s kept secret…but now they got to deal with the people who are off island…now what.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dribbler

On the issue of the power of Attorney there is another scenario which I will ask you to consider seriously.

The party is declared mentally incompetent by 2 GPs/doctors and one psychiatrist by a family member.

A brother to the party with dementia takes party to lawyer after the declaration and gets will signed

@ Amused

With regard to your un-anonymous scenario, try this to ascertain these facts of the WordPress platform.

Scenario 1. Where it says your name, put in the name of another fictitious name so instead of Amused put in Not amused.

Scenario 2. In your last submission you said and I quote “I thought David said that we could reach our own conclusions. Each and every one of us. ….” Blogs are not DNA so even if i were to graft/copy/paste your style/content/email whatever UNLESS the government of the USA or other has deployed a retroactive discernment of submission endpoint intervention technology which, in addition to decrypting the “floater” authentication described in Scenario 1, retroactively discerns the WP tier II authentication what you are suggesting is not workable nor prosecutable in a court of law.

The tragic “comedy” about this matter is that we have a murder at its core.

That such a heinous deed is complexioned by (a) a brother in law’s overzealousness, his use of police in the home of the murder victim, his receipt of funds and lack of accounting post non delivery of such funds to the murdered woman, is, even though as some have commented, there is another perspective that she only returned at this point and that she was guilty of being “an absentee wife who returned from Merica” does not negate how she died.

Why I call it a “tragic comedy” is that Barbados finest, while they torment the citizens of the developments etc., Haynesville and de Pine, Crabhill etc., seem unwilling to lift a finger under the circumstances where it would offend the people of privilege in BIM.

I dont know but I just wondered if you know if the goodly gentleman was questioned during these proceedings.

At least make people feel, erroneously, like if the law is being administered across the board, whu you think?

Even if a question like “where were you such and such a time” was asked and the answer proffered was “By having both ankles, both breasts and both knees made bare, and both heels slipshod” being so prepared I could not be there as well, so that he could be released, without blemish.

Are you a travelling man?

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Stop for a while, everyone just stop for a while.

How many of you have even seen death?

Very few so let the ole man try to convey to you what it can be like through a little proxy mechanism.

Take a Jordans plastic bag and put it over your head and hold the base of the bag so that no air comes in and breathe. Breather until the oxygen cant be inhaled any more and your lungs starve for fresh air.

Then look at Marcelle Smith next to two grans? and 3 children, and remembrances of life hours before coming to wherever she was right then at the hour of death!

Juxtapose all this madness about $80,000, and PC 13 hundred and whatever, and threats to leave the room, and all the rest, against this blogosphere recall and imputation and attempt to throw blame on the goodly Olson Alleyne and the woman now deceased for procedural improprieties.

Then, for those of us who have sisters or, failing that, those of us who have women, wives, other men’s wives, and failing all that, mothers, and failing that biological female-gendered progenitor from whose womb we passaged into this world, just pause and think

Then, barring the murderer(s), answer me this, is this woman, and the others whose remains are annually scattered summarily across Barbados, or any woman, any other place on the face of this earth, deserving of such an end?

Do we not owe it to this “sister”, mother, grandmother woman, wife, denizen to search diligently to discover what, if any foul deed occurred?

This shyte needs to stop and it is each of our responsibilities, those who are on the side of right to stand up and say, thus far and no further.

Am I my brother’s keeper?

20. @ Amused
    Why are you creating excuses for Vernon and Hal entering the deceased property and interrogating a man with dementia? It was a house not a court or a law office or a police station. They had no right being there to conduct legal matters uninvited. This was most unconventional; to bring the police to add credibility to their impending dirty deed. Since they wanted to hold court they should have told her in advance and have a meeting with her attorney present since she has responsibility for her husband. Mrs. Smith must have been a very gentle soul. I am amazed that the police could barge into someoneโ€™s house with a stranger as Mr. Gollop was unknown to Mrs. Smith. Since you know so much, who is the owner of the two properties mentioned?

@David has there been a date set for Inceโ€™s trial / Mrs. Smithโ€™s murder case?

21. @Heather

Are you serious? Do you know that this guy was out on bail for murder before he committed thรจ act against Smith? He will be on remand for

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

There are many connecting dots. Already the main dots are linking the three of these men to this murder, As such, it makes sense to question Ince, who has nothing to lose at this stage regardless of how much money he was paid, promised or will get, in a few years time when he is out of prison. I would say that the dots are quite overwhelming to point to enough evidence to affect a charge against Gollop and Smith to proceed with a court hearing. I would also ensure as well that all connections to the Masonic Lodge be ascertained as a lot of criminal activity on the island is linked to the Lodge who protects their members no matter what, right down to come what may.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine at 12:58 AM….”There are many connecting dots. ..I would say that the dots are quite overwhelming to point to enough evidence to affect a charge.. as well that all connections to the Masonic Lodge …who protects their members no matter what”———-

As the blogmaster said above “are you serious”. There is a facility to sit and expound as succinctly as you did and then there is reality.

If powerful men are – and have been – protected by connections to Lodges how do you perceive that those links will be broken so easily to achieve the objectives you have noted?

@ pieceuhderockyeahright April 3, 2016 at 8:17 PM…”…The party is declared mentally incompetent…A brother to the party with dementia takes party to lawyer after the declaration and gets will signed”————

Well, that’s what the other lawyers are expected to nullify….so if matters are based on that scenario then the will can be voided.

The fact is that a senior lawyer can so blatantly breache the rules of law he is sworn to uphold because regardless of exposure he sees himself as invincible and unimpeachable by either his Bar Association or other legal authorities.

So we come back to your main thrust: there is a death here. I completely understand your sense of abject horror re the apparent careless disregard for a human life by these seemingly disengaged game players – all like some chess moves.

But you know better than I that our history is littered with similar disengaged chess masters playing their games of death (Stokes, Pele, Barbarees Hill shoot-out).

Today the chess remains the same but although the game setting and the awareness of onlookers are markedly different…will that bring about different outcomes or will the chess masters still only be checkmated by their own end game of death!

Sadly I don’t see that changing here.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

de Dribbler

And what is the reality, as succinct as you have expounded and articulated the reason why it will remain? How many utterances of, ”ARE YOU SERIOUS,” has been the reason for corruption to continue in Barbados unscathed? The fact that it is being discussed here in the court of public opinion means that greater awareness is in the minds of a percentage, rather large or small, who once were muzzled and are not allowing themselves to muzzled anymore. David told me many times during my frustrated state and I said, ”the blogs are talking but nothing is changing.” He said that change will take time and the fact that there is a voice for the people to vent means those who have kept it corrupt knows that they are being watched, so it is just a matter of time before we all see the changes we desire to see. I decided to change my view on that when the awareness created by BU and others in the Cahill scam proved that certain persons were liars and now the whole world knows who those liars are. As a result, these persons were forced to change their stances and take a new approach at trying to see which other back doors they can push through their scam. The entire island is not the masonic brother and sisterhood. Enough protest created online could be a deciding factor to pressure the authorities to dig where they do not want to dig. It is already common knowledge that certain people in Barbados are deliberately placed above the law with evidence to prove that it is so. What comes next is a decision that the people, like you and me and all others, must make in order to bring persons like Vernon Smith and his sidekicks to justice. Because, at the end of the day, we must believe in the cause that must not lack the assistance, if the wrong is to have the required resistance, and the future that is in the distance will not be marred by any continuance and all the good that [BU] tried to do.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@SSS, I am at one with you re the need for change and accept too what changes the glare from the BU type spotlight has brought about and will continue to do. I think we both understand however that it will not be easy.

The Vernon Smiths of this world have a deep network and it takes serious concerted efforts from the Davids, Assanges the Snowdens and even the DavidWeekes of our world to bring them down….and even then some fall a few steps, regroup and live to fight on.

So after things like this and the even more pronounced Panama Papers scandal now brewing we are left without justice.

Several years back I saw up close and personal the ravages of a gangrenous would …this reminds me of that. Remove that scab to clean the area and the maggots that come pouring out are almost too repulsive to stomach. But to start the healing process one must deal with those maggots

Strange thing is that maggots are also a good thing. They feed on the bacteria. So the maggots that infest this episode will likely do some of the dirty work themselves and clear out some of the detritus prior to the proper cleanse being completed.

26. lawyers and politicians on edge….rodent baiting started in the city

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

De Dribbler

Here is a case that must be given full police attention. It has all the trappings of a Holywood conspire to do an evil movie only in this case the evil has been committed. We have, as the main characters, two prominent but controversial lawyers, a suspect charged with murder who has connections with the two controversial lawyers, we have the murder of the female who was in the best position to shed all the light on these two controversial lawyers silence forever for obvious reasons, we have the office of the DPP who is also a controversial figure never ever delving too deep into issues involving high profile figures and persons of a certain pedigree of riches, we have the judicial system that throughout its illustrious existence has been highly criticized for towing the line and for perverting the course of justice with its deliberate delays and convoluted law jargon that baffles the laymen into believing that they are always right. We have a system, established under the Barbados constitution, that makes it impossible for the ‘free’ press to go any further than the system will allow before those same laws do not kick in to protect the highfoluted lawbreakers. We have lawyers who have committed acts of fraud, embezzled, manipulate justice to suit their whims and fancies subject to disciplinary action by a BAR association that has been accused, too, of hardly doing anything having the nice decent status quo privilege of bypassing the main court of law. Dribbler, the evidence stands before us, but we have been conditioned, programmed even, over the years to simply ignore to the point we do not see it for what it is anymore. We are seeing it now and the protest has started and all that is required now is for all the facts presented on BU to be condensed and placed on a protest flyers for the world to take note off. There is more than one way to skin a cat. We know there are trying to skin ours by having BU shut down and identities revealed so the intimidation will drive persons into reticence when they press for the convictions under there nice little law system. So there is a fight and right now they might look like they are in control, but the people are becoming less afraid.

28. pieter pieper Avatar

“He will be on remand for…” (ever) ?

The AG and Transparency International would have Bajans believe that corruption is not a problem in Barbados. Truth be told, we are moving inexorably toward a time and a place where and when people , feeling seriously aggrieved, will take the law into their own hands, because of the blatantly obvious failure of our political and judicial systems ! But as dpD has stated, we must ” Remove that scab to clean the area and the maggots will come pouring out…. to start the healing process, we must deal with those maggots “.We are becoming the laughingstock of, not just the Caribbean, but rest of the world !
    Thank God for social media ! Good and bad may be exposed without fear or favour !

29. @Amused yours @5.23 Apr.3

Seems to me that you are revealing the strategy which was to be employed to remove the late Mrs. Smith from any control or access to her husbands โ€œassetsโ€. (I write โ€œto herโ€ but that should probably be โ€œto theirโ€). Question her residency, question her citizenship, question her movement in and out of the country, question how many passports etc.

Now that the lady is dead and the shady circumstances which preceded her death are coming to light someone is trying to disparage her memory in BUโ€™s Moot Court. All of us are resigned to the fact that no matter what suspicions are raised that nothing will come of this, the learned Atty. General has opined that the costs of policing corruption is too high so there is no need to introduce any legislation to fight it, woe unto us.

Someone once wrote an article sub titled โ€œBarbados an island paradise no moreโ€, words to live by.

30. @ SSS
    …again you hit the nail on its head…
    It is people EXACTLY like dribbly who facilitate the nasty status quo in Barbados..

For EVERY ill that is exposed on BU, dribbly is able to explain it away ..and to dismiss any hope of change… It is this mentality that facilitates corruption…

Yuh can’t do nuttun bout it’ ….
    it was like that fuh donkey years….
    you can’t touch de Lodge…
    it is like that in Canada too…
    better men than you failed to change that..
    steupsss..

Bushie is quite frankly sick of it…. He never heard bout David(BU) and Goliath?

Perhaps he is of the opinion that we should all emigrate to Toronto and drink the shiite water up there…

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

He will either be on remand forever, or brought out in a box…..Ince knows too much.

Couple years back someone on the island was telling me that the going price for a human life on the island was $30,000 and was being used to get rid of those who they thought bothered their existence for any reason, the monied class of course….I would imagine the cost of taking a life has risen with the cost of living.

Being a NY gal, I found the evil practices….very practical…., but still evil.

Amused….that crowd who believe themselves invincible and untouchable…..i will jump them.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

I honestly thought that nothing was being achieved by the blogs. But, I stand to be corrected. The blogs are a direct threat to the system because it provides cover for those too freely pass on what they know without the vengefulness of those who have benefited from it, one way or the other. I do not know who the dribbler is, but he sounds like me when I believe nothing could change. So I won’t lump him with ” those who facilitate the nasty status quo.” Soon very soon, all that they have hidden, tried to conceal and have well sealed, some disgruntle so tired and vexed with it will spill the beans.

33. @ SSS
    “Therefore whatsoever ye have spoken in darkness shall be heard in the light; and that which ye have spoken in the ear in closets shall be proclaimed upon the housetops”

There are few weapons more powerful than a blog.

The lotta underhandedness, deceitfulness, thievery and bribery that thrived in the past ALL depended on the IGNORANCE of the people. Wicked, nasty, murderous men were therefore able to walk around robed in white and with false smiles of innocence on their faces…..

NO MORE….

We are now at the stage where the people are still shell shocked at the level of shiite that has been going on under their very noses….

Shortly the dam will burst…. locally ..either with a BU or a Naked revelation ….. and you will see the power of the blogs

That Panama leak must have plenty people pissing pants in preparation for their own exposure …coming soon.
    LOL …it will be like an international Naked Departure from the evil of the past…

Unfortunately it will also force the crooks to come out into the open …with new, openly drastic and uncouth behaviours….. ๐Ÿ™

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Bush Tea, my brother wha I do you….did I fail one of your math classes, interfere wid one a ya daughters or you just like confusion….

How can one blogger read and write related to my general remarks that :”…[some] will take the law into their own hands, because of the blatantly obvious failure of our political and judicial systems” . Surely understanding that we all share a sense of frustration on this issue and yet you come with the same tired, inane retort re my ‘acceptance’ of the Bajan status quo…

…which is not only a impractical distortion of what I have said but simply suggests that you so love to play with your ‘whacker’… So much so that you often whip it out at quite inappropriate times… tut, tut!

…oh lawd…leff my dribbling.

You are the BU sage so go give a bush bath to Amused and GP, and those other learned fellas!

Get over your wild, clearly ill-thought bush whacking, fah real! After awhile it does become quite tiresome …even on a blog where anything goes!

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

To understand Dribbler you must understand the principle of “sounding” – the action or process of measuring the depth of the sea or other body of water.

In old time days a man stood on the bow of the ship with a rope to which a piece of lead (or a heavy weight) was attached and as “long” (no pun intended) as the rope was greater in length that the depth of the hull, and its engines, then the boat could proceed in the direction without running aground.

Dribbler has over the years utilized “sounding” in such a constant style and fashion that after a while, to the casual observer, it seems pedantic, but, as you get to know the man, you start to realise that, as jaded as he, and many of us, has cause to be, he too has a fading hope that man will rise above the evils that we seem prone to waddle in.

Dribbler is like Bush Tea insofar as the former can not only recite the Bible well but he lives it

So do not mind his pedantic protestations he knows and understands well “Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me…” so very few things will cause him to believe that we are good men, for “none is good save One…”

Each and every one of us is latently evil and it is solely due to certain societal constraints that we essay to do what is good.

I say this this morning on the BBC so I am teifing it just to make a point as it so eloquently describes something that the ole man could never put in words even if i lived for one million years.

There are many different definitions of the โ€˜nature of evilโ€™ but we will define it as acts that cause intentional suffering, destruction or damage to B for the benefit of A.

To explore further, we can break down those intentional actions into four basic categories: the Dark Tetrad.

A group of psychologists including Del Paulhus at the University of British Columbia and his student, Kevin Williams, first came up with these categories about 15 years ago.

Initially they defined a Dark Triad, which included

Machiavellianism (manipulative, self-interested, deceptive – the horde of parliamentarians in our House of Assembly),
    Psychopathy (antisocial, remorseless, callous – the man or men who murdered Marcelle Smith, untimely ripped from life’s cauldron, Dahmler, Manson ) and
    Narcissism (grandiose, proud, lacking empathy – Mia Mottley? oops i mentioned her in the venn diagram above didn’t I?).

Paulhus later extended the Triad to a Tetrad, to include

Everyday Sadism (the enjoyment of cruelty).

He asks the question “Why do these behaviours exist in humans?”

To which the ole man responds “”Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me…”

Who knows the evils that live in men’s hearts?

36. Wuh boss …. you very ‘touchous’ bozie…. You have NEVER done Bushie a single thing…
    Why would you think that….?
    Bushie just tells it like it is… and you seem man enough to take it..

You wax hot and cold …. lukewarm, and make yourself liable to be spit out…
    You say A ….and then you say B… where A is not equal to B…
    You agree with Tom, Dick AND Harry …. depending on which of them spoke last…

You need to take positions ON PRINCIPLE, …and defend THOSE position with your excellent articulation and your store of reference data… Wax EITHER hot or cold…..

Everyone who reads your postings can find pieces that support their thinking -or lack thereof.. That alone should tell you that you need to review your style..

Wild whacking is Bushie’s favourite style..and no shiite weeds can stop this whacker (FOUR STROKE BOSS…) …besides… it is serviced and fuelled by BBE…

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Bush Tea, not in the least โ€˜touchousโ€™ the skin is quite tough. You craft English well…often supremely so, yet you often make a non-sense in drawing inferences from those well scripted words…

…thus for example, any person who puts together more than 50 words into readable and understandable prose can at times be accused that “Everyone who reads your postings can find pieces that support their thinking -or lack thereof”. That can apply to ANY rational presentation.

I wax on reason, commonsense and logic…That means a person can be supported today and critiqued tomorrow on a different matter. Very simple…principle and logical reasoning.

…. it’s never about hot or cold. That would be considered being lacking in principle…wouldn’t you say.

…by the way I suspect you reached my arbitrary standard of 50 words above…so how easily you just became ‘anyone’ as I was able to draw a contrary inference from your views on principle.

Voila!

38. Here is one for Due Diligence.
    Marcelle Smith was a Bridge player. She played on the morning of Monday 12th October 2015 which is the day she was last seen.
    If you want an indication of whether she was resident in Barbados or the USA you can track her bridge match attendance at:
    http://www.bridgewebs.com/cgi-bin/bwoj/bw.cgi?club=barbadosleague&pid=display_past

39. @Cracker

How is this even possible?

40. Click on the hotlinks for the match dates, Sweetie. All will be revealed.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

Cause teams 1 & 6 had 6 players, the other 4 teams had only 4 players, hence any 2 could have been missing from either 1 & 6 and they still had a quorum.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Oh well, somebody has been lying on a dead woman, hope they sleep well every night….after those lies, how can people live with themselves and be so damn evil….I have seen karma take care of more evil than that….karma

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Cracker and Northern Observer;

Could you explain to a dotish non-bridge player like me what the tables mean?

Does Michelle Smith’s listing on the games lists indicate that she was actually there on the dates listed and that therefore she was there practically every month between May 2015 and the date of her disappearance in October?

NorthernObserver; are you suggesting that the lists are schedules only and not a record of the actual players who were present?

Amused; Your point on Mrs Smith being only an occasional visitor to Barbados seems to have been scuttled by Cracker’s information. Perhaps you should wheel and come again with better information. So far it looks as if WW&C’s comment above is on the ball.

I wonder if any of the several upstanding citizens who are listed reads or comments on BU and if so, if one of them would be willing to indicate if Michelle Smith was or was not a member of the Club with a very regular attendance record.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

The results say she was there on all the pairs days.
    The contentious one becomes the Oct 25. However, given she was listed as part of 6 person group, it is possible she was not there. The other players can confirm/deny that. And since her partner on other days was listed, that person can confirm her attendance.
    http://www.bridgewebs.com/cgi-bin/bwoj/bw.cgi?pid=display_rank&event=20151025_5&wd=1&full=1&club=barbadosleague

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Well Well & Consequences April 4, 2016 at 10:37 PM #
    Oh well, somebody has been lying on a dead woman, hope they sleep well every nightโ€ฆ.after those lies, how can people live with themselves and be so damn evilโ€ฆ.I have seen karma take care of more evil than thatโ€ฆ.karma

Girl you need to be careful but if you want to know how they sleep without a worry or prayer it is because this would not be the first time. The first time you are haunted and scared, the second and third time, it becomes as normal as drinking water. So you know that the main suspects, in this case, are not first timers.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Some nights the pain does not let one sleep so I go to the IPad and try to distract myself incapable of sleep as if one was a man who took life so callously, irrespective of the instructors.

My pain is twofold since reading this brings me additional pain but i would ask the family who may read this to forgive me if i ramble just a little during this your hard time.

I wanted to present an “iota of aid” to address/reduce abduction of a party in their car

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
    #include <string.h>
    #include <TinyGPS.h>
    SoftwareSerial Sim900Serial(2,3);
    byte buffer[128]; // buffer array for data receive over serial port

I often comment about the seeming inutility of the People on the Hill and how they waste their time doing little that is useful.

Those lines above are part of code which the Physics Department at the University of the West Indies could, in conjunction with the Peoples Republic of China, develop a cost conscious GPS project that would (i) put a tracking unit into every woman’s car who wants to get it installed for safety reasons (ii) permit the owner AND OUR Royal Barbados Police Force, Barbados’ Finest, the ability to track the (stolen) vehicle from any computer and (iii) acquire such security for a one time charge of US $50.

The simple “breadboarding project” could be set up at one of the empty offices down by BIDC and corporate Barbados, instead of dishing out footballs, could underwrite the project and provide additional finance to shore up the electronics/resources of the PRC.

At the end of the initiative Barbados would have (i) a mechanism to track stolen vehicles should their owners so wish (ii) a possible deterrent against the abduction of our daughters, sisters, mothers, wives etc., while in their vehicles and our country (iii) would have created an exportable industry which would be of use in places like Trinidad and other regional jurisdictions.

That is, if one so desired – to create employment for the unemployed youth and electronically inclined.

Again, my mind was pondering how to make sure that it did not happen again.

Let me again express my sincerest condolences to the family of Mrs Marcelle Smith.

In making this submission, I intended no disrespect to the seriousness of the substantive matter but even as I pondered your grief, fully aware that this suggestion was of no use to you now, I was also thinking that we must be proactive in what we do, going forward.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS. They need to be careful. I know where each and everyone one of them live, each and every one, they cannot hide in the sea, when I am on one of my rampages, they will never be able to hide from me..

If only you knew what these evil bitches get up to, for greed, love of material….and just because they are plain fking evil.

Barbados is so small, that is the very first thing I did, got their addresses, know their hidey holes at night because many of them cannot sleep in one place, if they sleep at all, we may think they sleep well, but the way some of them been looking lately, I bet it can be attributed to exposure.

They can try crap in North America, but that is where I want them.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I mean no disrespect to the family of Mrs. Smith…but right now, since the police on the island are so impotent…exposure of a little murder, big to the family….to those involved, iI will be nothing compared to the two day old Panama Leaks.

Myself and those who hate what happened to that lady are the least of the worries of those who may be involved, because with the mounting of a massive worldwide investigation and following manhunt for the culprits…their LAWYERS, who facilitate tax havens and money laundering, I do believe who may be involved currently have a very full plate, that people like myself, will NOT want to eat from, at all, at all…lol

49. WW&C
    The original press report of the missing Mrs Smith did indicate her membership of the Barbados Bridge League or by whatever name it’s known.
    Reading Nicholls’s book More Binding and the apparent shenanigans and sleight of hand manoeuvres of Smith in protecting 2 barefaced liars and crooks and the pulverization of his character and intent in the matter of the Suttle family land dispute by the highest court of judicature in Barbados,I do not put anything beyond this scoundrel.Hal Gollop might be entitled to his view that like the medical doctors’ Hippocratic oath he has an undefined duty to represent an accused,to continue his blinkered march to ignominy accompanied by a slobbering,dithering old duffer of a fool who at 85 or 86 years of age has so ordered his life’s finances that he cannot afford to ride off into the sunset,Gollop must know he is now tainted fruit by his choice of clientele but if stories going the rounds are true,he too can ride off into the sunset in the comfort of taxpayers dollars whether extracted by Caesar or converted stolen funds of unwary policy holders in Barbados.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

With these two lawyers featured so prominently, in this case, you would think that there should be some tarnishing, some fall out from their law practices, a heighten degree of scepticism to give any of them a case would not be on the lips of every right thinking not on the take bajan. I would think that now Barbados have the inside scoop on them, they would stay as far is france and take their business elsewhere. I can tell you upfront that none of my family there will support them. We have two nice young lawyers who took mere weeks to rectify our legal situations. Whereas we waited on the registrar for 14 months to get the darn legal documents back to us. And, it only cost us 10 grand 6 sir grantleys, to get that business sorted out.