The 2016 Estimates Debate will be remembered by the BU household not for the high standard of contributions between members of parliament but for the decision by Speaker of the House Michael Carrington of Assembly to refer a matter to the Committee of Privileges (CoP).    A Nation newspaper report offended Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite to the extent he felt compelled to ‘complain’ to the Speaker of the House – the reason: an advertisement placed by the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) that read, “BLP public meeting. The truth must be told. Come and hear who misled the House of Assembly…” .

This issue resonates with BU on many fronts. Underlying the decision by the Speaker to refer the matter to the CoP is the belief – mistakenly many are of the view – that honourable members of parliament are always honest in their postulations. At this point BU highly recommends the book The Gunslinger.

There is the adage action speaks louder than words.  A few years ago it was reported that David Estwick M.P. brandished a firearm in the presence of Dale Marshall M.P. in the precinct of parliament and that matter was also referred to the CoP. BOTH sides conspired to frustrate the workings of the CoP – just like the PAC – and the matter died an expected death when the House was dissolved when the election date was declared.

Is this the same Attorney General who promised the House of Assembly that he would report on the status of Mia Mottley to practice law in Barbados? Why has he never been called to deliver on his promise by BOTH sides of the House? Can we the PEOPLE’s Court not deem the Honourable Adreil Brathwaite to have misled the CITIZENRY as well? Who are the three lawyers (including Mia Mottley) who received a waiver of the LEC all those years ago? Why the big secret?

Finally, is this the same ‘teefing’ Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON who exercised good judgement by referring the matter raised by Brathwaite to the CoP? Seriously?

95 responses to “Aye Aye Mr. Speaker Sir 30 Honourable Members Indeed”

1. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

I can’t for the life of me understand, if the people believe that this Guvment is worse than hitler, why can’t we pelt them out like we did Sandi. Stupse!!

All talk no go!

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David….given the seriousness of all these issues, we do need comic relief and AC fits the bill perfectly…lol

3. In any case Mara as a mother has the right to protect her children against the poison arrows and thr despicable and disrespectful mouthings of those who rather do her children harm

@WW&C. You can google my reply Fool

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@AC

I have an admission to make.

I have a begrudging respect for you and your abject, albeit misguided loyalty to the DLP, even in the face of their obvious lack of skills and it taking them 10 years to learn how to attempt to run government

My problem with you does not lie in your English, or command thereof, speech impediments or grammatical correctness do not impair or diminish the concept delivered when the village idiot yells “fyah” and there is a fire going on.

You made a mistake, one of several that you make here, and I realize that you, rather one of you, is not a man of letters and were it not for the grans and me chilrun, I too would be similarly challenged.

You exposed your wicket and I dragged it out of the pitch but there are some things patriotic that you accept blindly which I cannot and will not.

There are some bloggers here who truly weep in the face of obvious incapacity to manage by BOTH OF OUR PARTIES, moreso yours.

Some of us make it very obvious that we love our country and when ingrunce happens, like tekking a whole school day and mekking de school chilrun are is reading well go to the Gymnasium to watch Edwin Yearwood, is ingrunce squared!!

We are old watchdogs who are disturbed whether it is B or D destroying the moral fabric of our society but we love our country and even though we have a hope of what our country should be, and a fond remembrance of what it was, we also realize that dependence on history is meaningless if we want to hitch 20 horses to a buggy in 2016, fondness of anachronism is detrimental to growth.

Holding fast to the Errol Barrow vision of free School Meals in 2016 is counterproductive if the nutritional content of the 1970’s menu incurs diabetes in 2016.

My point is that while what was done in Barrows day was visionary then, armed with what we know now, abject loyalty to that vision is idiocy at best and treason to our people at worst.

Take off your blinkers and support what is right for the people

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exactly Piece…Barrows vision was created and implented for the 60s and 70s, by the 80-90s that same method had no place in the society, his time had passed, the island never produced another politician with his acumen, they kept using the same worn out template from either Barrow or Grantley Adams, none of which has no place in neither can they work in 2016, over 40 years after Barrow and Adams….

No other politicians ever came forward with new innovative ideas that would have prevented what we are now witnessing…the decay and degradation….which could have been avoided.

This lack of vision by DBLP politicians who insist on continuing to ape 50 year old traditions is destructive and continues to victimize the taxpayers.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*none of which has any place in the present society neither can they work in 2016, over 40 years after Barrow and Adams….

7. @ ac March 20, 2016 at 9:19 AM #

Sir from my vantage point which only gives me limited insight i believe that the courts have undertaken the task of directing and resolving the Clico matter and Mara has no input in the resolution of the matter
    ……………………………………………………

Yeah right……………and she did not know of the 3.3 million dollar cheque that was laundered through her husband’s firm while she was office manager………….even though she signed the cheques to move around the money!

Give me a break…………she knew every shiiiite her husband was doing as office manager and during the long time he was sick. He would have had to let her know everything before he kicked the bucket.

The woman is not a politician and she is a poor liar!

By the way, this government has decided to take up the taxpayers’ money to settle the irresponsible destruction of a company raped by Leroy Paris and by the hugh legal fees paid to David Thompson.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…did I mention to you that Chris Sinckler has been outted as a liar, a liar…there is written proof, that means no yardfowl isvcredible…none, not a one.

Have a looksee….AC..written proof, proof.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/20/mia-wants-apology-from-sinckler/

9. wunna like to mek nuff noise about any thing could not care less what you or anybody believes or think of what is my allegiance. In the meanwhile what i say or does n/t say and how it is said should not upset all of you yardfowls perched high on the blp fence, But it does ! the reason being that you are biases in your leaning for the BLP and just can/t help yourself to critique and respond to anything i say . But yuh know what ac does not give a rat a.sss.. move over or better yet keep moving on when i occupied this limited space on BU cause ac is not going anywhere any time soon and while you are trying to figure out what i said get used to my grammatical errors,
    In this global world the barbadian mentality of portraying one of superior intellect has done nothing for the island ..Yet with all this superiority or so called intelligence ..society as a whole has offered little of nothing for the overall development of the island and mostly relying on outside influence to build the nation
    While others prefer to leave the country armed with free education and give freelyof their education to other countries
    So bro try not fly your intellectual kite too high cause their is always a high wind approaching to blow it out of the sky
    better yet stick to what little yuh know and leave the critiquing for those who can actually perform

10. Maria Agard did an excellent job in her presentation although being critical of govt her words were well grounded in fact
    Another stellar example of disagreeing does not necessarily have to portray misguided and exaggerated untruths
    personally after her presentation one of politeness filled with positive servitude to country i hope she would stick around even as an independent voice for the island

11. Boo hoo…………who gives a rat’s tail what Maria Agard says now? Her fifteen minutes has passed.

She is now a lady without a party and will not be entitled to a pension!

12. Has Agard’s case been heard yet?

13. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

@ ac, “move over or better yet keep moving on when i occupied this limited space on BU cause ac is not going anywhere”

Since you are going no where, PLEASE use the little bit of intelligence that you have when blogging.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 20, 2016 at 6:29 PM
    “Maria Agard did an excellent job in her presentation although being critical of govt her words were well grounded in fact”

Why don’t you and your DLP scallywags stop using that poor woman? OSA used her and now you lot are doing even worse by even abusing her.

If you see her as so great a contributor to national development why not stop treating her as a victim of Mia’s tyrannical acts and embrace her into the DLP’s inbreeding fold in need of much intellectually sound blood and moral sanguinity? She has already gotten the blessing and stated protection of the PM.

Why not advise Mr. Froon the fumbling fool to use the opportunity arising out of his much long promised and disgracefully overdue cabinet reshuffle to bring Ave Maria on board and out of the BLP cold by making her Minister of Health?
    Now that would be a real slap in Mia’s face leading to lockjaw and the inability to neither speak nor bite.

The overly garrulous Johnny the Boyce can be sent to be Minister of Finance to implement the programme of privatization and currency adjustment while Stinkliar is sent to Agriculture where he will be so buried in bush he would not have the opportunity to cuss women or foreign people from the international world of finance and economics.
    the neutered Bulldog can resign from the obese cabinet after April citing mental health problems.

15. now blp operatives on a scale of one to ten Maria gets a nine for delivery and presentation and a ten for effect and facts
    On a scale of one to ten Mia gets a ten for attending the debate ..a ten for a powerful performance of demonstrating effortlessly yardfowl propaganda and a ten for having no Solutions
    MrS Thomas she is a clone of Mia and her rating broke the scale with her comical performance in the art of trying to be a diplomatic

16. @ Retribution-things that make me go hum!

and to you i say use your free education to make some kind of contribution to the issues ,,other than that get out of my way before your dead a,ss gets run over ja.s

17. @ WW&C who outed Sinckler Fool you are just as ignorant as Mia

18. Do you see what BU household means? 5,000 comments of nothingness in 2015. Coming from a self confess BU hater. Of course this could not be fatherless from the truth.

19. Good analysis lMiller but your pittance of advice is not needed on this side of the bench save all and sundry for Mia after the next election her head would once again placed firmly on the chopping block and handed to OSA for safe keep

20. See what i mean now i turn up the heat hear comes David fire hose in hand, Early today he was licking his chops feeling comfortable that ac was beaten battered and bruise and down for the count after those blistering language attacks coming from the blp steel donkeys, LOL not so easy bro ac has recovered and kicking back in full stride ,

21. You are a JA, just want noticing. If BU is a place of irrelevance for you explain your 5000 comments in 2015. You are a fraud and yard fowl par JA. Have not forgotten that time you lied about being in St.Lucia,

Liar liar feet on fire!

22. David ac must be really frustrating u and i am liking it boyyyyyyyyy ,

23. You may have the last word.

#acneedstoloossenherweaveandchangeFBpic

24. ac warned all the blp operatives that the issue of Mia LEC would be spoken of in time . the issue was given a glancing blow during the debate
    MIa needs to come clean on this issue

25. Yes, AC, “Mia needs to come clean on this issue” about her LEC.

“According to the parliamentary recording, re-played on a jumbo screen for the rally audience, Sinckler objected at this point to Mottley’s claim and said, “I can categorically deny that I have any knowledge of, or information pertaining to any such matter between the Minister of Labour and the National Insurance”.” [Barbados Today, March 20, 2016]

But don’t you believe that Sinckler has to COME CLEAN when he allegedly lied about not having any knowledge relative to an increase in the stipends paid to members of the National Insurance Board, thereby misleading the House?

The information presented in today’s editions of the Sunday Sun and Barbados Today is compelling evidence to support Mottley’s claims. And I’m sure you will agree that this matter, whereby a member of parliament intentionally misleads the House is much more SERIOUS than a LEC?

But knowing the consortium of yard-fowls you will do your utmost best trying to convince BU that the document is fraudulent.

26. ac March 20, 2016 at 1:32 PM #

“Sir much of my time is spent ADMINISTRATING and MANAGING a LARGE COMPANY and at intervals would comment within a working environment that can be a cause for me to be distracted…”

Hahahahaha… wuh loss….. murduh….. uh gine ded.

Wuh is de name uh dah “large company,”……. DLP Propaganda Co. Ltd.? Yuh mean dat de company word-processing program en gots nuh “spell check?”

Wunnah lie……

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 20, 2016 at 9:31 PM #
    “ac warned all the blp operatives that the issue of Mia LEC would be spoken of in time . the issue was given a glancing blow during the debate
    MIa needs to come clean on this issue”

Why a glancing blow? Why not a full frontal attack on Mia’s honesty and integrity?

The same way people are stripped of their knighthoods why not strip Mia of her Queen’s Counsel designation.

Allan Stanford lost his knighthood why not the Queen of the Dishonest Bees Mia.

Go ahead and advise Lord Fumble the unmarried closet queer (odd) fella to do just that!
    We dare you to open that Pandora’s box of truth and reconciliation.

28. Art,

If a JA like ac runs a large company, we have to feel sorry for whoever hire she or he.

29. Ac,

Tell the BU family of the 55 million dollars you nitwits paid for the British American building. That building is not only ugly but it does not fit in where it is.

It is a burning shame how indiscriminately you morons have spent the taxpayers monies.

30. @David March 19, 2016 at 5:04 PM “Here is the full vid of her presentation, she obviously intended to take a bite out of Mia.”

Dear David: You are a naughty, naughty boy.

Aieeee!!! Aieee!!! Aieee!!! stop it hear.

31. Somebody needs to tell the Honourable member for St. John that once the daughters are older than 16 anybody can look.

And if they are older than 16 anybody can touch (with their permission of course)

And ma can’t do a thing about it.

32. @Prodigal Son March 19, 2016 at 5:37 PM” He was the one who shouted hurled an insult across the floor to Duguid…”wait, Donville, you ain’t tell me that his wife’s children are not his!”

About 5% of children in the world are not the children of the man whose name appears on the birth certificate (that is millions and millions of people, after all horns are a commonplace) and that might well include your daddy Prodigal.

I don’t know why you fellas worry about such things.

A child is a child is a child.

And often enough the child who is not your child is your very best child.

33. @Well Well & Consequences March 20, 2016 at 1:23 PM “AC….Why dont you help out the depopulation by increasing the population with 6 more children..

Cuh dear Well Well. I an’t believe that you are advising ac to have more children, and 6 more too,

Are you mad?

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

You do realize that since it became known to the Democratic Labour Party that the Barbados Labour Party and others heheheheheh were downloading copies of their videos for posterity that they have disabled ALL OF THE VIDEOS ON http://www.barbadosparliament.com/video/view/345.

Imagine that you could be sooooo dishonest that the very videos that chronicle how fantastic your estimates were/are that you now tek down from public viewing cause dem is national security matters!!!

The DLP is the single worse government this cuntry has ever seen, in fact, the are the worst the region has ever seen!!!

35. so tell me how is it possible for Mottley to find all documentation whether legitimate or fraudulent to present to the eyes of the glaring public with instant haste supporting her allegations but cannot show proof oh her LEC
    Now that is the million dollar question to be asked of Mia

36. @PUDRYR

The videos are online.

37. The LEC is just another “DLP red herring.”

The million dollar question is “why do members of this DLP administration continue to “tell nuff lies?”

Even the yard-fowls join the fray by writing their “time is spent administrating and managing a large company.”

Yuh hear lie, that is lie.

Mottley may the worst Opposition Leader, so far, in the history of Barbados. But she must be given kudos for waking up “Pit Bull Estwick” who remained silent or asleep through the many months people were complaining about water outages. It seems as though the plight of those Barbadians became apparent to Estwick only AFTER Mottley delivered a letter on their behalf to the BWA.

He responded by holding a “political spot meeting” under the guise of a press conference. Rather than empathize with the residents, he engaged in political posturing and the “political blame game.”

Estwick has now resorted to “propaganda tactics” by having CBC TV8 dedicate a segment of the “CBC Evening News” to the BWA.

38. AS far as the BLP is concerned everybody is a Liar a long overdone set of unfounded allegations being told by the BLP which the public have gotten used to hearing and has lostmost of the public interest (with few exceptions mostly yardfowls ) and the intent for which these stories should purpose
    Mottley of all people should be the last to be calling anyone that( is anyone) a liar afterall she served as a high ranking member of a cabinet for 14 years that not only lied but committed all kinds of nefarious under hand dealings openly without fear of reprisal
    As for Mottley in her exuberant an excessive political diatribe she should not forget HER past and the many allegations some of recent where the past leader of the BLP OSA accused her of Theft and being a person of questionable character yes she should not forget that her history of being a politician is not squeaky clean and there are many pot holes laying in her pathway that can lead to her down fall.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You are right Simple…what was I thinking, 6 more ACs in Barbados. Sorry, that was a moment of madness.

AC…you should be glad DLP will be thrown out on it’s ear from the people’s parliament shortly….. just imagine what the bloggers will do with Mi, when she thinks becoming a PM in today’s enlightened environment will be a cakewalk, there is no 3rd party remember, and her financial backers, the same corrupt backers of DLP will still be corrupt, will still want more million dollar contracts to rob the people, will still want a pass for not being arrested for their criminal activities…are you and them not tired being beaten to a pulp on social media…gluttons for punishment…ok.

40. Again, kudos must be given to Mottley for not only exposing the lies and corruption of the DLP, but for providing DOCUMENTATION to SUBSTANTIATE her ALLEGATIONS.

Rather than hide behind the safe walls of parliament and using sly innuendos to accuse the BLP of “committing all kinds of nefarious under hand dealings openly without fear of reprisal,” the DLP is yet to present one shred of evidence as proof of any financial impropriety perpetrated by the BLP.

As I mentioned in a previous post, the DLP NEEDS to give any EVIDENCE they have of BLP corruption to the police and DPP in an effort to have those former ministers who were responsible for committing such acts charged and brought before the law courts.

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artax

Oh no you don’t! You ain’t gonna make out the BLP to be any heroes in the latest unveiling of DLP nasty deeds. We appreciate Mottley’s efforts but we know she has no halo circulating her head. Ah ah, we ain’t forgetting hardwood housing, 3S scam, the Dodds mystery millions, the unaccountable money in the Greenland fiasco, Noel Instantly Rich buy a plantation Lynch, Gline Clarke land reclassification and more and more and more and more. Ah ah, hall and pull again sweetie.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Houston, we have a problem.

One both sides of the divide we have so called different parties but the same melee as my gf SSS says.

The challenge that we face in 2018 is going to be one of keeping it real and having choices of principled men and women which, frankly, does not seem to be on our ballot cards.

“A Few Good Men” is a hollywood movie that de ole man watch some time ago but there is a scene worth watching that deals with “truth” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FnO3igOkOk and Jack Nicholson gives a sterling monologue in that.

The fact is that as a country we have a serious problem that the fumbling Stuarts and the megalomaniac Mottleys seem, based on their cloying histories, unable or unwilling to fix.

So we the people find ourselves tossed between these two forces of nature where, every five years we are placed in the eye of a storm that paused for the requisite ballot taking/counting then starts again, its gale force winds, in the opposite direction, and we are in the midst of that malevolence agains the people of Barbados.

This shyte got to stop and this 50 year landmark should be a wakeup call for our people but unfortunately like Bush Tea and WW&C always remind us it does not seem like it will, because we “like um so”

43. @ SSS

My comment was intended specifically for the AC consortium of yard-fowls.

44. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

AB has been made aware of specific instances of public servant corruption and has done nothing.

Complicit.

com·plic·it
    kəmˈplisit/Submit
    adjective
    involved with others in an illegal activity or wrongdoing.
    “all of these people are complicit in some criminal conspiracy”

He is at sea in a lifeboat full of cannibals and can do nothing about them, nor can he risk to fall asleep.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright March 21, 2016 at 12:36 PM #
    Houston, we have a problem.

This shyte got to stop and this 50 year landmark should be a wakeup call for our people but unfortunately like Bush Tea and WW&C always remind us it does not seem like it will, because we “like um so”’
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’
    The only time that things will ever change in this country is when Bajans start to behave like the third monkey on Noah’s ark gangplank. Meanwhile we will grin and bear it.