water-dripThe following comment posted by BU commenter Are-we-there-yet in response to another commenter Crusoe.

Crusoe;

Yuh certain dat there is now a prohibition on FILLING tanks in excess of 400 litres (roughly 100 gallons) from the mains?

How are they going to enforce that?

Ensure that every household with a larger capacity tank install some type of system that would shut off when the water level reaches a height equivalent to a volume of 400 litres?

Are such systems available for existing larger capacity tanks or will they rely on the householders to shut off the water manually when it reaches the prescribed level?

If so how will they ensure that householders are obeying the drought restriction regulations? Use the Police? Use the SSA officers? Use Min of Health personnel? Use BWA personnel?

Do they know all of the houses that have tanks with greater capacity than 400 litres?

Will they ask householders with existing larger tanks (most people, as 450 gallon tanks seem to be the most popular ones) to replace them with 100 gallon tanks?

Will the prohibition be all over the Island? Or will those areas in St Thomas, St Andrew, etc. which only get intermittent supply of water from the mains be allowed to pump more than the 400 litres of water while the rest of the island will be subject to the prohibition?

In such areas a more relevant measure might be limiting the amount of water to be supplied by tanker to households with tanks but without water to 400 litres at any one time to ensure that such water is provided to everyone in an even handed manner.

The rationing of water is a good thing and all Barbadians should play their part and one can understand the need to limit the water being held in tanks. But what appears to be being mandated here needs a lot of refinement to be workable and enforceable in the short term but could be developed to be part of a workable long term strategy where all households would be allowed to fill potable water tanks to a limit of x litres per household member. Thus a 2 member household might have a limit of x litres and a 4 member household one of 2x litres.

I wonder if the current strategy has taken into consideration the relatively high water use by washing machines and water toilets as well as showers and if the given 400 litre figure takes these into account?

Something seems awry in what has been reported so far. Perhaps tomorrow’s paper might give some better indication of what is in store for us.

127 responses to “Water Rationing from March 1, 2016”

1. Concur with the Exclaimer 02/27/16 posting @ 4:10pm

2. https://youtu.be/CmkFt2HSkao

Barbados, heave help you all.

3. https://youtu.be/sQC7OzU_d18

Morse Code from people in Barbados . . . . “get me the f*ck out of here.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No puzzle Exclaimer, the nasty relationships between business people and politicians are the ties and glue that bind them to their corrupt practices, generation after generation.

I may be surprised one day but I cant see any government in Barbados asking outside agencies for help to fight corruption……they have not even acknowledged yet, that corruption is at the heart of their many problems..first they have to acknowledge.

5. St Joseph is awash with water from many streams throughout the parish. Here is a sizeable natural dam being fed from a spring in the Mount Wilton /Sugar Hill area.
    http://i.imgur.com/0Vs4eKG.jpg?1

6. @ LOOK
    What could POSSIBLY be worse than what is happening in Flint, USA?
    You could REALLY hush.
    You should be ashamed….

Bajans are indeed brass bowls, but wunna Americans are downright WICKED and EVIL.

7. “The community of Walkerton, population less than 5,000 at the time, saw 2,300 people fall ill, and seven die, after breakdowns in the local water system. The region’s public health officer later said the catastrophe was probably preventable.”

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/inside-walkerton-canada-s-worst-ever-e-coli-contamination-1.887200

8. And that was only cow sh!t that got into the water at Walkerton. Human sh!t is much, much, much worse.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea February 27, 2016 at 7:31 AM
    “All that BWA needed was to do was to impose penalties on water usage above certain limits by each consumer.
    This could EASILY have been achieved by referring to last month’s bills (or the last year’s average use) and decreeing that all usage for March IN EXCESS OF 60% of February’s usage would attract a penalty of 500%.
    In other words, to reduce consumption by 40%, they would require everyone to cut their regular usage by 40% – and anyone using more than 60% of their regular amount would pay for the extra at a rate of FIVE TIMES the regular rate…or even more…
    This could have been EASILY enforced by any basic computer system, and any basic software manager.
    It would be manageable, practical and sensible….”

Your suggestion is indeed appealing but certainly in need of a few ‘important’ tweaks.
    But please Bushie, please don’t make it sound like some ‘Novel’ idea from the natural environment of traditional ‘Bushland’.

The ideal opportunity was available with the introduction of the Solid Waste Management Tax two years ago. It should have been imposed on those who use precious potable water indiscriminately and without regard to its true costs and benefits to human existence and survival.

Instead of taxing property (land, the only valuable asset many black Bajans possess to pass on to future black generations) why not tax wastage and lack of concern about the vital role potable water plays in maintaining personal good health and public sanitation.

But as usual, you being the politically myopic cynic, ‘poo-poo’ the proposal about the solid waste tax being attached to the water bills which would have a dual effect of not only collecting the tax in a more ‘efficient’ manner to satisfy the pressing revenue needs but also to discourage water wastage which should provide the same result you are now prepared to promote in true copycat ‘brass-bowlery’ fashion.

But Bushie, you should not allow ideas which do not originate from your neck of the bush to be put up on the dart board of criticism to invite arrows of derision without a thorough examination of both their merits and viability.

Touché!!

10. @ Bush Tea

Watch you mouth! The Flint water problem is in the process of being corrected; it will be corrected. The Barbados water problem though won’t be corrected, that or all those other Barbados problems. Most you know were passed on by the BLP in 2008. The Detroit bankruptcy has come and gone, Barbados is still “stuck in the mud”. The Flint water problem will eventually be resolved. Barbados will still be “stuck in the mud”. Oh! Bush Tea you know I know about David Thompson and CLICO, Violet Beckles/massive land theft, Al Barrack and the Jamacian woman rape so hush.

11. @ LOOK
    …and Bushie knows about what is happening to the inner cities of your ‘great’ country too… how materialism has killed the human spirit…. how greed is the new test of nationality… how wunna have no qualms about using drones to murder by remote control….. about murdering and bombing to get other people’s oil and assets…
    This is not simple brass bowlery like Barbados – it is downright EVIL..
    YOU better hush….

12. https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2009/06/17/barbados-water-authority-a-failed-state-enterprise/

@ Bush Tea, made a mistake, put your foot in your moth ranting about Flint water didn’t you?

13. @ Miller
    Where did Bushie make the suggestion ‘seem like a novel idea…’?
    That was just an OBVIOUS solution on the spur of the ‘blogging moment’…
    If you don’t have anything more sensible than Alvin to say…why not just stay under your rock?

Stinkliar was looking around for some money to pass on to his boss Bizzy – and came up with the shiite tax…
    Currently, there is a REGIONAL DROUGHT combined with years of BWA idiocy – that has resulted in large sections of the country being without water now for months…

Do these sound like the same problem to you…?
    Taxing water to pay Bizzy would have been even worse than the shiite tax – THAT would have been a pissy tax…. 🙂

14. http://www.stabroeknews.com/2012/archives/04/06/un-calls-on-barbados-to-free-stateless%E2%80%99-cuban/

@ Bush Tea

Remember, do you remember Raul Garcia. Man was sentenced 20 years. Barbados though forced him to serve three years beyond his sentencing. This was down right evil and the UN had something to say about it.

15. By the way Bush Tea, isn’t Usain Bolt (Sprinter/Jamaica) a better role model than that nasty filthy Rihanna?

16. @Bush Tea

BU is asking you to avoid engaging with these these jackasses about a serious topic whose motive is far from pure. It must be slow on ND today.

17. Got to be a jackass living in Barbados!!!

18. David I think there is a saying that may cover this , in an undeveloped country don’t drink the water in a developed country don’t breathe the air. When I see Look lashing out I can only repeat what his fellow American Rodney King said…..its puff puff pass.

19. http://www.wnyc.org/story/federal-judge-okays-subpoena-christie-bridgegate-texts-emails/

Jessie Jackson Sr. is credited for freeing Americans held hostage in Iran (1988). That though didn’t save his son from “going to jail”. The United States government went after Jessie Jackson Jr. and wife Sandy; both were persecuted. The United States government went after ex-Detroit mayor Kwayme Kilpatrick and persecuted him and now after New Jersey Governor, Chris Christie. Things like this don’t happen in Barbados. Corrupt lawyers, judges and government can do as they damn please. The country has in place NO TRANSPARENCY AND INTEGRITY. Oh! and drunk driving is legal.

20. What ????????? Jessie Jackson?????? not Reagan;s politics …ask lybia

21. BWA………….Did you ever correct by meter installation, fine, or imprisonment the owners as reported by the Nations News in August ‘2014 ib this article: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/54889/bwa-bills ?

BWA…………Have you corrected all the broken service lines in the country, and if no, how many are remaining and a pct of their waste.

BWA…………In your rationing plan did you ever consider alternating service by business vs residential on given days, or by hours, or by address.

22. Saw on FB aspiring DLP MP for St. Andrew negotiating with churches in the constituency for the placement of community water tanks. Buckle up folks.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea February 28, 2016 at 7:25 AM
    That was just an OBVIOUS solution on the spur of the ‘blogging moment’…
    If you don’t have anything more sensible than Alvin to say…why not just stay under your rock?”
    Stinkliar was looking around for some money to pass on to his boss Bizzy – and came up with the shiite tax…

So why weren’t you ‘creatively imaginative’ enough to support the alternative solution to Stinkliar’s “Shiite tax’ of imposing a tax on ‘excessive’ water wastage instead of property ownership which is already provided for by way of the traditional land tax regime?

So what would you now label your so-called tax on those who care little or nothing for that precious commodity which is slowly disappearing on a small tropical island at the forefront of the oncoming tsunami of the man-made climate change?

Would you continue to call it the “Bizzy Solid Waste Fart” tax or would be more proactively imaginative and call it the Bushman’s “Prevention of Wastage of Life’s Liquid Resource Tax”?

Surely that would be thinking outside the ‘Pipe” of confined stupidity that both you and Alvin sometimes find as the consummate meeting place where commonsense in not on the menu as the ‘special of the day’ or even à la carte.

24. @LOOK February 28, 2016 at 11:14 AM “The United States government went after Jessie Jackson Jr. and wife Sandy; both were persecuted. The United States government went after ex-Detroit mayor Kwayme Kilpatrick and persecuted him and now after New Jersey Governor, Chris Christie.

Why oh why does the United States government persecute its own people?

25. @LOOK February 28, 2016 at 7:38 AM “nasty filthy Rihanna?”

Try and wash out ya nasty stinkin’ mout’ do. With blue soap

26. Barbados is punching above its weight.,after just 50 years of Independence.
    Look at the mighty India after almost 70 years of independence.
    http://i.imgur.com/DbBKS8U.jpg?1

27. that’s a petrol truck,…. just before the launch of india’s first astronauts

28. @ Simple Simon

You’re not stupid, far beyond that. The United States does what Barbados does not do “persecute dishonest lawyers, judges, politicians, etc”. These people, lawyers, judges and politicians in Barbados do what they want.

29. Housing developments… small individual houses with small lawns but often surrounded by concrete or asphalt-paved surfaces (e.g) Coverley… have the cumulative effect of greater water and energy consumption and wastage. Is it not past time for us to consider hi-rise/multi-storey apartment buildings with the emphasis upon conservation and recycling ? Would hi-rise/multi-storey apartment building developments not also free up much more land, for increased food production, thereby conserving much needed foreign exchange needed for infrastructural development (e.g proper roads, hospitals, schools, etc.)? While our population has not increased significantly, and there have not been droughts of extraordinary lengths and periods, there has been an increase in tourism resulting in increased water and energy usage. It is past time for us to take water and renewable sources…sun, wind, water… of energy seriously! Perhaps,instead of encouraging an over-abundance of persons in the legal profession, we should focus upon producing highly qualified persons and researchers in the aforementioned relevant areas ! Let us not forget the late Oliver Headley of UWI (Cave Hill), an outstanding researcher in solar,wind,water and bagasse generated energy !

30. https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/05/05/breaking-news-us-politicians-indicted-for-takingarranging-bribes-in-veco-scandal-involves-new-barbados-prison/

The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) is investigating the Flint, Michigan water crisis, will get to the bottom of it. The FBI also investigated The VECO Company, before, during and after building the Barbados prison in St. Philip. Numerous US Alaska representatives were persecuted.

31. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

So the ‘little’ poor man should see his ‘little’ hedge and surroundings ruin, while the rich behind their big gates and gated communities get away with watering their big trees? Bare shite!

32. was there not a time when the roofs in Barbados were flat caught the rain water and piped into a cistern below ground for uses other than drinking, I can remember we had a rain barrel fed from our ease trough that we used to water our garden with

33. Any thoughts on the AG’s cry that the BLP is to blame for the water woes the country is experiencing? He pointed to the inability of the BLP to resolve the issue with the BWU concerning its workers demanding to lay mains although BWA did not have the equipment.

34. I agree with the AG’s remarks. The BPL must be held responsible for the current water woes because it’s occurring on their on their watch. Furthermore, John Mwansa and Minister David Estwick must be held directly responsible for the present water situation.

35. lawson February 29, 2016 at 12:53 AM #
    How ironic that House Hill or Hill House, Blackmans Plantation great house, aka West St Joseph SM school, now Grantley Adams school, had a massive tank built into the basement, catching rain water from the roof. Last year the same Grantley Adams school sent home children every week due to a lack of water.
    Are we marking time, or retreating?

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The U.S. Embassy to Barbados, the Eastern Caribbean, and the OECS informs U.S. citizens that the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a travel notice for St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Martin regarding the Zika virus. There is evidence that Zika is linked to birth defects in the fetuses of infected pregnant women and Guillain-Barré syndrome in infected individuals of any age or gender. Zika is typically a mosquito-borne illness, but there are reports that the virus has been transmitted through sexual contact and blood transfusion. For general information about Zika, please visit the CDC website. For information about CDC travel notices, call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636) from within the United States, or 1-404-639-3534 from overseas or visit the CDC website.”

Update….they claim there is now evidence re link between Zika, Microcephaly affected babies, Guillain-Barre and a new transmission method.

37. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I’ve just seen the BWA Prohibition notice.

Control of water usage in this period is absolutely necessary and might even have been late in coming. However, I think one of the BU Legal posters should explain the following for the benefit of concerned householders who want to ensure that they are operating within the law:-

Are backyard farmers exempted? Indeed, are any vegetable or ground provision farmers exempted?

Can households with UNDERGROUND tanks connected to the BWA mains, fill those tanks above the mandated limit of 800 litres during the period of prohibition?

How will the BWA monitor if householders with ELEVATED tanks( or DOMESTIC BATHS) are complying or not complying with the prohibitions? Indeed, how could the householders themselves ensure that they are operating within the law since elevated tanks are refilled automatically whenever water is used?

It would appear that the situation warrants the imposition of prohibitions that ensure a drastic reduction in the use of water by every Bajan but there is a need for clarity in some of them, which BWA must address, but in the interim perhaps a knowledgeable BWA poster could assist us in understanding what the prohibitions are calling for.

38. Trinidad have introduced water rationing since February 29th!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160229/news/water-rationing-begins-today

39. Luv the BWA logo at the top of the Notice

Suggest they adopt the (old) tap at the top of this blog as their new logo

40. Colonel Buggy Avatar

are-we-there-yet March 1, 2016 at 1:35 PM #
    Interesting question . By Underground, I would also interpret that to include a basement.

41. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Also my home is situated next to a high rock bluff with a few large caves. Would it be ok for me to fit a 2000 litre tank in one of those caves,as it cannot then be classified as an ‘above ground tank”.

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Colonel Buggy;

It is even more intriguing than that.

As I read it, the tanks that are excluded from the prohibition of being filled or supplied are the ones that are ELEVATED and less than 800 litres ( c.200 gals ) in capacity and connected to a BWA supply. That might mean that elevated tanks of more than 800 litres capacity as well as tanks at ground level are prohibited from being filled or supplied with BWA water as well as underground cisterns.

This might mean that it would be illegal to fill your underground 2000 litre tank (roughly 500 gals) with water from the BWA mains. However, the second paragraph of the order seems to suggest that filling your tank with rain water would NOT run afoul of the law.

It is not clear to me however, if rain water could be legally used for the purposes outlined in sections (a) and (c) of the first paragraph as the first paragraph could be interpreted as prohibiting the use of water and does not define water nor mention rain water.

I wonder if a lawyer vetted the prohibition order. In any case that prohibition needs to be carefully explained.

43. When was Dr Mwansa appointed General Manager of the BWA,according to the Prohibition Notice ?
    Does the BWA’S not control the usage of water pump from privately from owned wells ? Why not from streams diverted into dams,as well?

44. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Colonel Buggy;

re your 10:10 pm last night.

Good point. I think that BWA does indeed control the usage of water pumped from privately owned wells but I might be wrong. If it does, that would explain the all inclusiveness of the first paragraph of the prohibition and suggest that ALL water use, including rainwater, is under the prohibition order subject to the exceptions given in the 2nd and 3rd paragraphs.

This would make it even more important for BWA to urgently clarify exactly what the prohibition order means for each user, large and not-so-large business users; farmers and backyard farmers; householders and john citizen.

Something like the Trinidad Drought amelioration order that was posted earlier on this blog might be very useful in our case.

45. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I see in today’s Nation that the Chairman of the BWA will be OUTLINING the details on the water restrictions today. Restrictions that went into effect over days ago.

But, I suppose, better slightly late than never.

46. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65071/audit-reveals-dubious-dealings

@ Bush Tea

Don’t think you and or the Barbados Underground should be peeping in the United States windows and NOT comment about the Flint water problem.

47. @Crusoe,
    Your queries re monitoring of overhead tanks. A simple ball valve; similar to the one that operates in your toilet tank will solve the automatic shut off problemm The amount of water in the tank can be solved by placing marks on the outside of the tank corresponding to the volume of water in the tank and having the float attached to a cord and even a rock, or some other marker, that moves up and down with the movement of the water, so that you can see at a glance exactly how much water is in the tank.
    I would also humbly propose that government build a series of reservoirs for non potable water, into which NON-POTABLE water from the sewage plants can be (COLOUR CODED)placed, and from which it can redrawn and trucked to assist in irrigation of fields, watering of cricket and recreational fields (cricket and polo etc.) trees, plants, block making (we do use water in making concrete blocks), etc. even the WTE plant. and sundry other uses. Here is an opportunity for another entrepreneur and enterprising person.
    Drinking water (also suitably colour coded; Gas mains, electrical cables, and water pipes are also colour coded) would thus be separated and reserved for this purpose only. It would contribute significantly to the water conservation. But if I remember correctly the BWA already suggested the colour coding of water pipes to take this into consideration; rain water as against water from BWA pipes.
    Com eon people we (individually) have the ability to solve these problems ourselves instead of depending on the government to do everything for us.