water-dripThe following comment posted by BU commenter Are-we-there-yet in response to another commenter Crusoe.

Crusoe;

Yuh certain dat there is now a prohibition on FILLING tanks in excess of 400 litres (roughly 100 gallons) from the mains?

How are they going to enforce that?

Ensure that every household with a larger capacity tank install some type of system that would shut off when the water level reaches a height equivalent to a volume of 400 litres?

Are such systems available for existing larger capacity tanks or will they rely on the householders to shut off the water manually when it reaches the prescribed level?

If so how will they ensure that householders are obeying the drought restriction regulations? Use the Police? Use the SSA officers? Use Min of Health personnel? Use BWA personnel?

Do they know all of the houses that have tanks with greater capacity than 400 litres?

Will they ask householders with existing larger tanks (most people, as 450 gallon tanks seem to be the most popular ones) to replace them with 100 gallon tanks?

Will the prohibition be all over the Island? Or will those areas in St Thomas, St Andrew, etc. which only get intermittent supply of water from the mains be allowed to pump more than the 400 litres of water while the rest of the island will be subject to the prohibition?

In such areas a more relevant measure might be limiting the amount of water to be supplied by tanker to households with tanks but without water to 400 litres at any one time to ensure that such water is provided to everyone in an even handed manner.

The rationing of water is a good thing and all Barbadians should play their part and one can understand the need to limit the water being held in tanks. But what appears to be being mandated here needs a lot of refinement to be workable and enforceable in the short term but could be developed to be part of a workable long term strategy where all households would be allowed to fill potable water tanks to a limit of x litres per household member. Thus a 2 member household might have a limit of x litres and a 4 member household one of 2x litres.

I wonder if the current strategy has taken into consideration the relatively high water use by washing machines and water toilets as well as showers and if the given 400 litre figure takes these into account?

Something seems awry in what has been reported so far. Perhaps tomorrow’s paper might give some better indication of what is in store for us.

127 responses to “Water Rationing from March 1, 2016”

1. the next move is to send people to river road to get water,or to run mains from the river .the head of bwa want removing,he lack ideas..

2. Violet C Beckles Avatar

25 million to build a building for water and then turn off water, Smart
    25 million to collect water may have been smarter ,
    Your government are to smart to work in any other country so we all stuck with them in BIM , Vote better next time,

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It took several burst mains, changes in rainfall patterns and water wastage practices by many householders to reach this stage. The only thing that vexes me in all of this shite is that our focus continues to be that of constructing multimillion dollar buildings while conveniently finding excuses for neglecting a proper health care management plan, finding ways and means of improving our water services and sanitation problems. Only at the crisis does the Barbados government come off their high horses and start to see the realities. Bare shite.

4. @are we there yet “If so how will they ensure that householders are obeying the drought restriction regulations? Use the Police? Use the SSA officers? Use Min of Health personnel? Use BWA personnel?”

None of the above. Good old Bajan commonsense and consideration for others will be used.

Look at the sky. Have you seen any rain for the past 10 days?

I live in a high rainfall area and I’ve seen none.

The Barbados Water Authority does not manufacture water.

They process water principally from rain water, and they buy desalinated water from a processing plant.

Can we get major desalination plants on stream in the 6 weeks or so before the rain begins?

No?

Do we want to pay for major desalination infrastructure and pay for its maintenance?

No,

I started my water saving measures months ago.

I bathe every 48 hours instead of every 24.

i wash my hands as frequently and my private parts as required.

In this my island home I no longer flush for number 1.

I do my laundry every 10 days instead of every 7.

I am already saving $15 per month on my water bill. Paying $28 instead of $43.

Nobody has complained (as yet).

Off to the supermarket. I’ve washed my hands and brushed my teeth. I am clean enough to get on a ZR and certainly clean enough for a supermarket run.

After all there is no need to e surgically clean. I am not a surgeon.

5. The country has been faced with water challenge for some months now, the BWA should have adopted a more aggressive approach to water conservation /usage months ago.

6. We always find some stupid, meaningless, unenforceable reaction to crises.

All that BWA needed was to do was to impose penalties on water usage above certain limits by each consumer.
    This could EASILY have been achieved by referring to last month’s bills (or the last year’s average use) and decreeing that all usage for March IN EXCESS OF 60% of February’s usage would attract a penalty of 500%.

In other words, to reduce consumption by 40%, they would require everyone to cut their regular usage by 40% – and anyone using more than 60% of their regular amount would pay for the extra at a rate of FIVE TIMES the regular rate…or even more…

This could have been EASILY enforced by any basic computer system, and any basic software manager.
    It would be manageable, practical and sensible….

But no…. instead, they are talking shiite bout ‘tank size’, ‘filling pools’, ‘washing cars’ etc…

Suppose washing Bushie’s car is MORE IMPORTANT than bathing ..because of the nature of the Bushman’s business?
    What if watering Bushie’s plants is what put’s bread on the Bush table?

If the BWA management are so simpleminded as to come up with this idiocy ..it is no wonder we are having all these damn problems….monkeys playing with water.

The problem is that their bosses are not only more brassy – but also crooked…

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Exactly! We should have started, not several months ago but several years ago, conservative practices. We are not now knowing that weather forecasters indicated rainfall pattern deviation from what was normally expected to be good rainy months. These changes gradually proved be right after a number of years. This entire situation just shows, once again, that it has to reach crisis proportions for it to get any real attention, and that if we continue to manage Barbados on a reactive basis only we will be always scratching our asses looking for solutions after the facts. Can someone tell these highly educated leaders that an ounce of prevention is better than a pound of cure?

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

What sensible, practical approach to controlling the problem with your suggestion. The only fault in this, not your suggestion, of course, is the matter of the meter reading. How are you going to make the comparison between last month’s bill and the one due for the month, when I am told that bills generated are base more on predictive average rather than a real time one.

9. @SSS and Bush Tea

Would it not be better to take the median of the last 3 or 6 months to apply the penalty threshold.

10. @ David
    Fair enough…
    Bushie suggested the last 12 month’s average as an option, but in fact that particular detail is not very critical. They just need to set some reasonable, achievable and FAIR limit that everyone can use to set THEIR OWN priorities for the water allocated. … or pay a high price if they exceed it.

Even if they COULD catch defaulters with their idiotic approach …all they will do is impose some shiite fine anyway …. after years of wrangling, costs, and foolishness in our shitty legal system.

11. @Bush Tea

Yours would be a bold move given how we do things around here.

12. 400lt for John Q public
    Unlimited water for the likes of Cahill to quench the thirst of a monster that will not work .
    Does the water needed to keep the black dust from the coke offloading station at the port authority get meetered or is that free to cahill too??
    And no you can’t use sea water for this purpose !!!!

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Get rid of the golf courses AKA…known playgrounds for meeting and creating corruption, they waste too much water.

Dee Word…that is how that acronym is used, in the right context.

Fix the burst mains within the hour, not months and years later.

Do your jobs and stop stealing your salaries and the water.

Stop telling the customers they have a leak, when they have none.

14. @David/BU
    Morning David , the rationing of water started by the BWA in St. Joseph, 800 gallon for 3-4 days, per district

15. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea’s proposal appears to be the best and most even handed way to tackle the problem of reducing the use of water from potable tanks. The BWA should adopt it asap.

The fact that BWA will be enforcing the new prohibitions with such little notice is an indication of the seriousness of the situation and I can’t see that any sensible Bajan would object to the implementation of such a solution along with doing all the other mandatory aspects in the new order to drastically reduce his/her water usage. The beauty of Bushtea’s approach is not only its simplicity but that it allows each householder to choose the measures he/she uses to reach the required personal water saving goal.

Getting the politicians to ok its implementation might however be the elephant in the room as it will provide hard stats for later use by Opposition politicians of another imposition by this Government. The Opposition will have to come out now and agree publicly that this measure is necessary to help persuade the Government to implement the Bushtea solution.

16. @watchman

It is unfair one part of the island has to suffer this problem. Both political parties have ignored the mains project having established that 40 to 50% leaking occurs in the distribution network. Credit must be given to this government for starting the process albeit not with the urgency required. No harm having a reread of PM Thompson’s speech in 2009 to explain the 60% hike.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/pm-thompson-address-to-bwa.pdf

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Watchman;

800 gallons for 3-4 days per district?

What does that really mean? What is a district in that context? Is Valley Land a district? Is Blackrock a district? Is Paradise heights a district? Is coverly a district? Is Josey Hill a district? Is Belleplaine a district?

18. Bush Tea February 27, 2016 at 7:31 AM #

Well said and logical. But then, you are smart and obviously well above the intellectual capacity of these jokers.

19. PS, by these jokers I do not mean BU folk, I mean those charged with managing the water resource.

20. Bushy,
    You said”…In other words, to reduce consumption by 40%, they would require everyone to cut their regular usage by 40% – and anyone using more than 60% of their regular amount would pay for the extra at a rate of FIVE TIMES the regular rate…or even more…”

Right now they don’t even want to pay the regular water bill. how are you going to get them to pay your suggested penalty. How much washing via washing machines are they using? Do the owners of washing machines have any idea how much water a washing machine uses during a regular washing cycle; especially if they have a full load? Check it out.

21. And to think that the developer of Coverley Villages gets water for free. Why does Coverley Villages get all the water it wants and for FREE???

22. @ Alvin
    Why do you want to make Bushie sin his soul this good Saturday morning nuh…?
    Steupsss…

The ONLY two things more precious than water are ‘AIR’ and ‘education’. …..and the VERY best way of destroying a good thing is to UNDERVALUE it….

We have destroyed the number ONE valued asset in this life (Education) by focusing on materialism and trying to be like Money Brain ….
    …and this jackass government is currently trying it’s best to destroy number TWO with their CAHILL shiite….

It is only natural that some idiot would be assigned the task of destroying asset number THREE….

23. @Nutron Bomb

What evidence is there to support your comment?

24. The conservation of energy and water is taken seriously in many countries especially with regard to new build properties and the renovation/refurbishment of old properties. I would be interested to know if there are any legal obligations for developers to produce eco-friendly sustainable developments which minimises the impact on the exploitation of our scarce water resources; and an obligation on those “developers” to increase the exploitation of your natural resources such as the sea, wind and sun.

I am intrigued that we allow for the creation of swimming pools in people’s garden. We live on a tiny island surrounded by warm salt water. Their is no need for domestic or hotel swimming pools. I propose that we should pass a law which would call for the removal of ALL domestic and commercial swimming pools. The only exception would be public swimming pools.

http://media.rightmove.co.uk/82k/81235/40052760/81235_SandyLaneCocodeMer_IMG_00_0000_max_620x414.jpg

25. @ David / Bu

A pipe at the back of me is leaking for over 6 months, if the BWA have the material to fix it, what stopping them,” prioritizing big to small leaks” yes the BLP&DLP Government IGNORED and FAILED not only at BWA, mainly in the Management aspect, they place partisan saboteurs in top positions thought out the civil service,

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

Your idea is excellent. Such a high penalty fee would act as a good deterrent. Alvi Pelvi would never see the relevance of what you are suggesting because he is always busy looking at the mundane.

27. I MEAN THROUGHOUT THE CIVIL SERVICE

28. @ are-we there -yet

I mean that the poor people were made to, still suffering, by the BWA rationing of water 800 gallons, for 3-4 days, per 12 households, sound better for you to understand ?

29. Has the government acted on the AG’s special report that addressed concerns about the Ionics Project?

http://www.bao.gov.bb/themes/marinelli/files/BWA%20Special%20Audit%20Report.pdf

30. How about business that must used water in their productivity .are we to supposed that such a draconian method of penalizing should be imposed on them.how about the financial fall out which would be passed on to the customer by businesss

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exclaimer….that might be hard to do, hotels advertise pools as part of their package, charging them more for water may be the way to go.

Stopping construction for 18 months to 2 years should help with replenishment, that cannot make the economy any worse than it is, they have already hit rock bottom…let the greedy developers also know that water is scarce and they have to conserve for a period. If they are desperate to build, let them import their own water, they love to boast how wealthy they are…..Dominica sells water.

What is Alvin saying about all these golf courses wasting water, they waste more water than a load of clothes in a washing machine. Charge the golf course owners double what they pay now.

32. Barbados is a funny place, not in the hahaha sense but it is funny in adopting many unenforceable regulations. How will they know who is contravening this directive? Will they be random checks of water meters to see if the householder is violating his/her daily/weekly allotment?

I live in an area where we have had water restrictions in periods of drought and residents are prohibited from carrying out some activities during these periods but this restriction is limited to PUBLIC use of water like washing cars or watering lawns etc. but not to people taking baths in the privacy of their homes. If they want to arrest the overuse of water for activities like baths etc. perhaps the Gov’t should encourage the importation of low flow showerheads or energy efficient toilets that use smaller amounts of water per flush but that takes years to take effect and requires long range planning and these Gov’ts are all about quick fixes.

33. I would like to meet de BWA idiots (got to be more than one to come up with this) who thinks a 100 gal tank will result in less usage that a 400 gal tank. Look, de people with the 100 gal tank going to fill it 4 times more if usage is not changed. SCHUPSEE……

34. Why not put restriction orifices on the pipes at least that way the BWA could slow down the flow to all major consumers
    It’s not a substitute for better water management but would reduce the water available to people without cutting it off completely

35. I believe both political parties (BLP and DLP) have been misleading their citizens over the years. I have been commenting on the water issue in Barbados in this newspapers for several months now. Tens of millions of dollars have already been spent by the government to hire foreign consultants to determine and develop technically and financially feasible alternatives to address water supply situations in times of crises. The best available technology is the development of the freshwater lens existing in the limestone aquifers under the Island. The technical reports are in the government’s archives. I know all of this because I was involved in the preparation of some of those reports. I have offered FREE technical guidance to the Barbados Water Authority on several occasions, but I guess the folks there are too proud to accept. I have been working in the water sector for over 35 years and I am the best in the world in my specialty. http://www.njgeology.org

36. I am not from St Joseph , so when they suffered severe water shortages under the BWA , I sat back and said very little.
    I am not from St Thomas ,so when they suffered severe water shortages under the BWA ,I sat back and said very little.
    Now the BWA has come for me ,a resident of the other parishes, and those St Joseph and St Thomas people, are not even unpicking their teeth to help us

37. Lemon Juice Fruit Avatar

If you wants to know bout free water at Coverley then you need to do a little investigating.

38. If you know enlighten us. This is Barbados.

On 27 February 2016 at 16:51, Barbados Underground wrote:

39. Restrict Bajans on water usage, but turn a blind eye to COW who has diverted some 6 or 7 streams into a dam at Farmers , in the water scarce St Thomas, to irrigate a golf course.
    As I’ve said recently, the Conservative Party is well in control.

40. I do hope that this water restriction also applies to those road construction firms, that tap into the BWA’s hydrants , legally or illegally, to fill tanker trucks used for wetting down dusty road construction sites.

41. But I thought that the Minister of Water resources assured the people of the Scotland District that , by now, water shortages would be a thing of the past, and went on to mention the new sources that he had found.

42. burn garbage to power desalination plant when you run out of garbage use politicians

43. Will Bajans learn from this water crisis ?

It is obvious that you need a few Desal plants.

Household water saving and conservation is critical but what if there is no rain water to store and droughts are prolonged ?

44. @Hants

Surely you are not that naive. If such, God forbid were to occur, we import water!

45. http://www.slate.com/blogs/moneybox/2014/11/07/detroit_exits_bankruptcy_city_s_pensions_saved_in_part_thanks_to_detroit.html

Shame, but this is why Barbados should not be peeping into other peoples windows: US, Russia, Canada, Jamaica, etc. The city of Detroit you may recall was ill, extremely ill and filed bankruptcy (07-18-2013) and Barbados Underground was talking (Blog – 06/29/2013). Detroit since then has recovered, doing well, retained its 4.6 billion dollar art collection housed at the Detroit Institute of Art. The Cobo Center renovation/expansion of $299 million is now complete and construction of a new Detroit Red Wings arena totaling $627 million is NOW in process. A new hotel, retail and residential complex will replace the Joe Louis Arena scheduled for demolition in 2017. Barbados yet hangs in the balance, cannot yet see a light at the end of its tunnel, should stay out of other people’s business: US, Canada, Russia, China, etc.

46. Why are the levels of incompetency and corruption amongst Caribbean leaders so endemic within your region?

The Caribbean is miniscule and should be easy to govern. I remain puzzled.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151210/letters/seek-foreign-help-to-deal-with-corruption

47. @Colonel Buggy February 27, 2016 at 12:31 PM

Well said