Many Barbadians have been following the shouting match between Anderson Cherry who is the managing director of Jose Y Jose Liquid and Solid Waste Management Inc  and Ralph ‘Bizzy’ Williams the head of Williams Industries and the other half of the Williams dynamic duo.

The upside to the public disagreement between the two is the public awareness it brings to the issue of waste management in Barbados. It is obvious the government of Barbados continues to struggle with building and executing a waste management strategy. The Cahill Scam provides confirmation for the doubting thomases. By the way, when will the government of Barbados show respect to the electorate of Barbados by sharing an update about Cahill?

Anderson Cherry will have to await the decision of Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock to see if the challenge by the Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins has merit.  Cherry has been accused of creating an illegal dump in an abandoned quarry as part of a business initiative to recycle waste. It is interesting to note that Cherry consulted with former Chief Town Planner Lennie St. Hill – now a town planning consultant – who has given the green light to the project. How a former Town Planner and the incumbent Town Planner are able to disagree on the interpretation of the applicable town planning law must be a worry to those who promote the high literacy of Barbadians.

BU will not become immersed in the legality of  whether Anderson Cherry’s Project Recycle Limited is a legal operation. Whatever the outcome of the legal matter brewing BU offers hearty congratulations to Cherry for attempting to implement an approach to waste management that  involves behavioural change at the ‘retail’ level. Obviously Cherry’s approach threatens Bizzy given his interest in Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre (SBRC). It appears the government entered a sweetheart arrangement with SBRC to sell waste to them at taxpayers expense. The imposition of the controversial tipping fee was meant to raise revenue to pay down arrears owed to SBRC by government. What is up with successive governments of Barbados entering agreements with private contractors and reluctant to be transparent about it? BU recalls the SSA contracting heavy equipment from Sir Cow, at great expense, to operate at the landfill while unable to repair government vehicles procured to do the job. Another transaction done in the dark.

It is also interesting to note the effort of another Black Barbadian who has been a pioneer in the recycle business in Barbados. Why is it Paul Bynoe and Anderson Cherry are being frustrated in the effort to implement projects that will help Barbados with its waste management problem and in the process generate foreign exchange? Why is it Bizzy Williams appear to be able to win projects from government with signed guarantees from government? The comments by the Auditor General about the Ionics project also comes to mind. Some thing smells rotten about the whole affair.

It is unfathomable Minister Denis Lowe has been allowed to preside over a ministry which has been afflicted with a level of ineptness hitherto unknown to Barbadians. It is unacceptable the issue of B’s Recycling predates this government. It is unbelievable Bizzy is on record admitting to pledging financial support to BOTH political parties – why does anyone think he does it? In our 50th year of Independence a Black government of Barbados cannot continue to give most of the ‘cake’ to a few. The high colour Bizzys, COWs, Maloneys, Bjerkhams always appear to win the deals from government while the darker Cherrys, Bynoes struggle with bank overdrafts. BU understands that Bynoe purchased a piece of equipment to enhance B’s Recycling operation and it has been unused for several years. If Barbados continues down the current path  there will come a time when Mugabe type decisions will be the only course of action i.e. the call for the redistribution of wealth.

A word to the ignorant and the greedy should be sufficient.

108 responses to “The Bizzy Cherry Mess – Fight Over Waste”

1. Enter the solar plant to be run by two unsavoury Canadian characters – cousins Dean and David Del Mastro. Both have had problems with Elections Canada for violations of its laws. Dean was sentenced to one month in prison for his part. He spent one night in jail before being released on bail. He then flew to Barbados and made a secret deal with the Barbados Government about building this plant here which will put Barbadian businesses in trouble. David is to appear before a court in April for the same infractions as his cousin. Can you imagine any government making a secret deal with the likes of Dean and David Del Mastro? They have also been granted concessions which the indigenous did not get. What’s the use of Barbadians going into business if Government is going to allow some foreign entity to come here and destroy what they have set up? This deal will also be handled with the same silence as the Cahill Energy deal – both covert ops!

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When are you going to get it? Bynoe and Cherry did not contribute to the DLP’s election campaign fund so they are paying the cost of that oversight.

Cherry’s case has been referred to the DPP but so far I have not heard that anything to do with the SBRC matter being similarly referred. A judge and jury would have to tell me that there was no criminality involved in that project.

The criminal elements are there for all to see; Bizzy publicly admitted that he puts funds in both political parties which he did not report to the Supervisor of Elections. SBRC is the payback, in the form of a no-bid contract and an illegal tipping fee.

3. The thing about Bizzy is that he actually seems to believe that these greedy, illegal and immoral practices of bribing politicians is standard business practice – once done by his kind. Money B also suggest that it is sound business strategy…
    The man actually goes in public and spills the beans about his bribery, illegal election funding (the same thing the Del Mastro albino was convicted of….) and other ‘arrangements’ with the political crooks – like the illegal shiite tax and the money paid to him for water NOT produced in his “Desal” plant…. (what ‘desal what??!’)

His argument seems to be that having ‘brought the rights’ to garbage, neither Bynoe NOR Cherry should be involved – unless they are working for him.

He then has the gall to complain that he is not allowed to control the solar power business ..because Emera seems to have the government by the balls too…

…then he cries on TV….and talks about us being a ‘Nation of Laws…’ Shades of the old Plantation days when women were charged for picking ‘pond grass’ off plantation lands because ‘of the laws’…. while the plantation managers pillaged and raped at will.

This is the ‘way’ of these people who we have adopted as role models and whose business models we seek to emulate. We so much want to be like them that we put them in charge of every shiite – hand them every national asset, and hope to benefit from the crumbs that fall.

…..is the term ‘brass bowls’ becoming any clearer?

4. And the rumour he is paying for the crazy Canadian woman to continue to live in her four seasons condo in Toronto until she can offload it to pay some of her debts?? Is that true???
    He wants that WTE plant more than ever now that the cahil woman is bankrupt .

5. The more things change the more they remain the same. Ask Don Blackman. Were it not for social media much of the information leaking out would have remained buried down Fontabelle, river road and up in the pine. Why is that? Just as the black politicians do the bidding on the behalf of their white masters, the piss poor excuses that pass for journalists in Barbados cow-tow to the political class, perhaps in the hope of securing personal favors, all to the detriment of John public. The more things change the more they remain the same.

6. The most frustrating thing is that there are still many black Bajans willing to give their lives for either the DLP or the BLP. Sad but true!

7. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

St, Hill is not the only ex-Chief Town Planner that Mark Cummins disagrees with regularly. Nowhere on this planet would a man who has lost 80% of the court cases brought against his department still be employed, not even the banana republics which actually grow bananas.

8. It shall get more interesting within the next 72 hours.

Inexpensive solutions abound that eliminates feeding from the trough.

9. Never inviting a hungry man to eat from your saucepan or a cat to guard cheese.

10. And Mia keeping quiet. Just waiting to get her snout in the trough.

11. Denis Lowe gine get some jail either in Barbados, America or Canada its only a matter of time. Shite not Barbados as his supporters are all corrupt and share in his spoils..

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

People, Mark Maloney was told by the Chief Town Planner (I think) and another agency responsible for road works (I think) that he must remove a construction on the highway that was infringing dangerously on motoring traffic (I think). Wait, it move yet? Did anybody sought to penalized or charge he for violating whatever laws there is that deal with road work infringements? Mark Maloney is a DLP supporter. Mark Maloney has not been touched. Mark Maloney is in the government pay roll. Sherry is a known supporter of the BLP and good friend of Mia Mottley, so it is obvious that he will not get any contracts for waste hauling from the DLP and it is even more obvious that since he and the government had their pooch wagging section that one wrong move by him is just what the doctor order to put his ass out to sea. So any clown with modicum of commonsense done know that the DLP machinery will throw the hook, sinker, hangmans noose and guilliotine at his head. Did Sherry not say that Dirty Lowelife Low said he would do everything in his power to destroy him? Bizzy is the DLP Leprechaun with the pot of gold. The piper paid the DLP in agreement for certain tunes, thus the DLP must sing according to the piper’s tune. SBRC has been officiated by the DLP government. All other waste haulers must be put out to sea.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“In our 50th year of Independence a Black government of Barbados cannot continue to give most of the ‘cake’ to a few. The high colour Bizzys, COWs, Maloneys, Bjerkhams always appear to win the deals from government while the darker Cherrys, Bynoes struggle with bank overdrafts.”

Yet the stupid blacks (aka brassbowls) are still proud to acclaim Barbados as the ‘Freest’ black country in the World.
    Not even in Nigeria would such brazen acts of corruption of public officials would go unnoticed and without wide decry.

Yes indeed the current DLP administration is really showing its true colours and living up to its mandate based on one of its four pillars for future success:

“Why environmentally sound? We all have to
    live, move and have our being in the protection
    of the environment. Daily, as we interact with
    one another we also interact with nature. The
    contest with nature which characterized man’s
    relationship in earlier times, has now become a
    contract with nature in our times. A degraded
    and unhealthy environment is a threat to man’s
    very existence on this planet; and this Manifesto
    recognizes that important fact.”

What a laugh indeed! A ton of fun provided by a cabinet of monkeys handling the guns of governance and behaving like black crabs in a barrel.

14. It`s not right to think or say Denis Lowe took bribes and Chris was in on the do without concrete evidence. Let us be fair.

15. I have never been more pessimistic about the future of Barbados. I don’t see any way out of this cycle of corruption. A political leader would have to double cross the big money men and his own men and pass integrity legislation, a F.O.I.A act and change the tendering rules to include BOLT projects.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hamilton……you are very kind in your description…..the yardfowls are not ‘black Bajan’…they are black idiots, carrion birds who are content to be sold to criminal frauds like Bizzy….the dude who is greedy even for garbage….no one else on the island except him and his ilk must do any business, particularly the black majority, they must exist only to work for him and his ilk and buy their garbage, be their personal consumers all their lives and those of their children.

Bajans are the ones have to learn that they do not have to keep spending their money with these parasites. Take the power away from the sell outs for politicians, unless they can be educated to that fact……things will remain the same.

Old Baje Prime Minister Stuart is on record as saying he never took a bribe but hesitates to say anything about stopping or exposing the corruption betweb0n the Bizzys, Cows, Bjerkham s, Temprosm the Maloney boys who belong to the aforementioned, Tempros etc….a whole nest of greedy viprrs enabled by DBLP black politicians who do not want to see their own people prosper….at any cost.

SSS….did a child not die because Maloney refused to comply with the law and remove the obstruction….he even had the nerve to lie and say it was not his fault, when he knew it was.

If both DBL9 would stop practicing nasty politics against the people, none of this could happen, both political parties are way too corrupt and their local mastrrs too greedy.

Let’s see if DBLP will give Bizzy’s greed precedent over Zika. Mia is also a disgrace, she says nothing because she is waiting her turn to do the same crap.

17. That little boy has demonstrated his ignorance again inrespect to labour law and industrial action

18. Southern comfort Avatar

Greedy albino creep Bizzy at it again. When does this bigot find time to do real work? Just asking..

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

The child that died was black. That is no big thing in the scheming of things. One less black to worry about. The point I am trying to make is that once you where could argue that the behaviours of politicians could be disputed on the basis of nasty without much evidence, the Democratic Labour Party has redefined the operational tactics of politicians to be covert. They are so open with it that they are banking on the fact that constant repetition in the hearing of a thing eventually becomes accepted and dismissed. This show of nastiness that provides all the reasons to accuse them and the stinking BLP party as nothing short of greedy lying dogs who are all about bones and burying bones is so common place in Barbados now that is accepted to happen without little or no consequence.
    So, if you can seek to prosecute Sherry for illegal dumping and tell others that your mollases dumping around the island, after all the mollasses was finally dumped, as wrong, you can see how wicked is shite these vagabonds and demons from the DLP party are. You waited to all the mollasses was nicely dumped and stinking up the place to tell the dumpers we will put the law in your ass for doing so – AFTER THE FACT!
    You are seeking to kick Sherry to curb but you do not mind letting piles of garbage accumulate till stink around the island; have no problem letting a mechanical contractor charge thousands upon thousands of dollars for a part that cost a fraction of the cost; allow that contractor to be in the money all the time while he half fix vehicles to ensure that in two or three months times, they ARE BACK IN HIS GARAGE for another set of thousands to be charged again while two crooked bitches drive about in gifts presented for contracts awarded because the accounts will approve any amount of money coming at them without question! You going after the little fat child who made a name for himself, while your campaign supporters whom you call friends gets all the work and contracts because you must repay your dept and tell the public a bunch of lies as to why it must be so. Sherry’s little so called illegal act is fails to make the comparison. The real charges should be laid at the rightful feets of all those we know to be guilty, but will never be charged under the judicial system of the DBLP.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS….it’s an embarrassment of massive proportions, but with their deceitful selves will continue to pretend it’s not happening, it does not exist..dangerous, evil, possessed people…weakminded and vicious to their own.

Molasses was left in the port by David Seale to rot and stink up the place for 2 decades, suddenly it started turning up in neighborhoods stinking up the island, they knew who was doing the dumping…….I have no respect for any of the leaders in Barbados, they are a disgrace to their very own ancestors and what they experienced so these idiots can now pretend they have titles and status….creeps, just like their scaly master Bizzy.

21. Some body need to pull that little boy aside and teach him the difference between protocol and jumping head first into the fire for naught

22. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

@well well, which color is the majority in this country again?

In all fairness to Mia/BLP, when they speak out on issues they are shut down by the very people that are complaining – Lets be fair!

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Retribution…I know you are trying to be fair…but Mia, a black woman, does the same damn thing when given a modicum of “power” by the people….if she was not part of the problem, she would open her mouth locally and internationally about all the bribes, all the corruption, all the stealing from taxpayers, all the foreign scam artists allowed to rape the island….that would effectively reduce the imbalance and unfair disadvantage being practiced against the taxpayers…..until she has the balls to do so, she will remain part of the problem, never the solution….that is the reality.

Someone has to step up and show that they are representing the people as a whole and not only representing the minority slime on the island….until that day, DBLP will remain one and the same.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

It is a pity I supported the DLP once. I thought these bitches stood for something. As a result, I have no dirt-facts on them that can expose their wicked asses. Asking my father for some but that DLP pooch picker, even though he uspet with what there are doing and how they are doing, would not give anything away for shite. All my facts and proofs is for the other wicked party pretending that they are now the mouth piece of the poor and champions of the underprivilege, but I am not at liberty yet to say. The mollasses dumping, according to my peep in the know, was already permitted and approve for dumping by the DLP operatives. Outcry forced their plan B into operation after the fact. The consultation took place in secret and was agreed in secret. Where was the public health inspectors and environmental engineering division at complaint one. Look, do not get me wrong in all of this, Sherry is not any favourite person of mind because he is a yardfowl that benefited from 14 years of BLP plunder receiving hundreds of contracted jobs, undoubtedly benefitted from plenty of blenzzers to fatten his bank account and orchestrated the sweetest piece of arsonry when he burn down he office complex. But cheez on bread, doan mek em so obvious that you after Sherry by allowing a few wrongs and seeking to go after this one wrong. These people wicked I tell ya..WICKED!

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They are SSS….none of them can be trusted, neither of them are willing to expose the other because there are still so many scams to implement, still so many bribes to take, still so many foreign scam artists to reel into the island to help them get their cut from taxpayer funded contracts, still so much corruption to practice….

With Mia there is Peter Harris waiting in the wings to do the same or even worse than the greedy Bizzy…they collectively destroyed any viability in the Transport Board funded by taxpayers….now Rommell Marshall, Harris’ very close business partner is going all out to position himself into BLP again, to wreak more havoc, again, funded by Harris, with Harris being Jerome Walcotts business partner, it will just be more of the same….they are all dirty, Mia has a heavy stench, since she is also right in the middle….and they all are thinking only of themselves and their business partners and bribers.

26. Regardless of party, there are no checks and balances system to catch any impropriety’s in government contracts. As far as I know there are no RFP’s (Request for Proposal) published by the government in local publications requesting bids for certain projects, requiring sign off by all government departments which are impacted. There are also no referendums for projects which require voter approval. So government writes it’s own rules.

27. KR Hunte-Nasser

Cow-Rayside

Bizzy- Cherry..Bynoe

28. I laugh my belly full when Bizzy went pon my TV….(nearly in tears)..hollering he now only seeing 33% of the 1,000 tons per day coming to ee plant……LOL. Anderson pick-a-cherry mon! LOL.

29. The silly fellow goes on a strike rampage call out the membership.Only to discover that he did not have a dog in this fight. The little boy version of ” new and improved industrial relation” sooner or later would have all sitting in duck guts.
    His school boy temper trantums warrants him be placed in remedial school out of concerns for others

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…I will never support DBLP governments in their present form, until they themselves expose what has been happening for decades, so that the island and it’s people can have a fresh start, then they will be taken seriously….as long as they continue in their business as usual mode of corruption, they will continue to go nowhere.

I just don’t get how grown men and women, who are supposed to know right from wrong can so drench themselves in corruption for so many decades and not see how it’s affecting every aspect of the society, negatively. All it takes is for one or two of the politicians to develop some integrity say…..enough…. and expose all, to cleanse their souls.

AC….shoo fly…carrion bird.

31. @ David should the second last paragraph read ” hitherto unknown?”

32. Straight to the heart of the matter:- Unless the folks in Barbados come together and confront the policy makers that they elected HEAD ON. NOTHING is going to change.. And the sad part is that regardless of having so called blacks in head positions in Government means NOTHING when they are CONTROLLED BY THE SO CALLED WHITES.

People of Barbados you are being PIMPED by your elected officials. That’s the bottom line..

Between FEAR and GREED.. FEAR:- The fear to loose the new found lifestyle that they became accustom to. GREED:- Wanting to have more than they truly deserve by any means necessary. Even at the expense of the people of Barbados.
    I’m only calling it like I see it. Or to be more correct. As I have read over the years about the action’s of THE POOR EXCUSE FOR A Government.

33. Thanks Heather.

34. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

“AC….shoo fly…carrion bird” – Lol!

35. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

AC….shoo fly…carrion bird”, boy that there one sweet for days. Imagine no matter what, these ACs ain’t letting go of them gravy train for a boy. Look, when these DLP wing vultures finish the only ones that will be damage are those counting the damages. So that crooked deceitful ” cah ya mudda skunt” that want he BLP ticket back into the money no elections near so he want some body to believe that he operating on patriotism when he has to secure a few more free millions for he off spring and them off spring, and make sure that he give a good few of the hungry mout begging brutes in he constituency a few cash dollars to keep them singing he praises and come on the block once in awhile to ensure that he be spoken of highly. Rommel Marshall out of money now so he willing to kiss any ass to get back in, even that of that stinking crooked rat of his name sake who do not want him back period. The money calling and the rats coming. Bajans too easy to buy.

36. Straight outta St. Joseph
    Dale Marshall says…..that there is no way he will accept that pimp Rommel Marshall back in the BLP fold!

More BLP drama! !!!

I guess Mia Mottley has her whatever full …….al la Donald Trump’s comment to Megan Kelly!

37. Here comes the deflectors.

38. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, your thesis is fundamentally sound as it relates to some class of businessmen (those not politically connected) being left on the outside.

You will always be fundamentally misdirected however when we start blaming in on our Caucasian brethren or skin colour alone. The racial divide is there and will always be but that’s basically separate and distinct from this matter, in my view.

As w know this nation has been under ‘Black’ political power since 1966. Thus since then many of those who have built the biggest houses and become bloated with nice bank accounts and power are dark-skinned. The power players deny those who do not ‘play the money game’ regardless of skin tone.

So there is no Mugabe style wealth redistribution possible or even remotely imminent…unless the grass-roots are taking over via coup! And let’s pray not.

And BTW why is it so…” unbelievable Bizzy is on record admitting to pledging financial support to BOTH political parties”.

That is and has been par for course by ANY sensible big time businessman. We all know this. Why does this remark find such interest here on BU???

Didn’t you answer your own rhetorical device query of “why does anyone think he does it?” To get contracts, of course as you alluded to.

Yes, yes that should not be…but then again it should also not be possible to charge $700K in legal fees for work on a loan agreement and other general legal advice…

Not so!!!!

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The money calling and the rats coming. Bajans too easy to buy.”

And even easier to sell out….SSS.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@IW
    bang on.
    You will note the big[ger?] publicly traded companies are not [yet?] required to list either their political or religious contributions. It is common practice for most to contribute to both parties, whether equally or not I do not know, ditto for the mainstream religions. The explanation is ‘contributing to the democratic process’ and supporting that which the majority of employees support.
    Plus none of them wish it known all the foreign governments they are contributing to either, because what happens in Bim is not an ‘only occurence’.

41. Bizzy and Ma-Money Maloney are good friends of relatively recent vintage. Ma-Money Maloney just tek over CLICO plane hanger at the GAIA for his new US$10,000,000.00 jet plane.
    2008 Ma-Money Maloney was on his ass and by 2016 Ma-Money Maloney buying a jet plane. He is following in the ‘good’ steps of his dear friend, Leroy Parris.

42. Is Bizzy a half-breed piece of red leg from saint john?

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Igrunt Word…in the real world…read Canada et al….those same….crooked and corrupt businessmen that you find……

“That is and has been par for course by ANY sensible big time businessman. We all know this. Why does this remark find such interest here on BU???…..

go to prison for bribery and corruption….as you well know.

That is why any sensible person on BU will find it of great interest……national interest.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Clobby….the Maloney boys have for years been working for Cow and Bizzy, they are their boys and are now Bjerkham’s boys, all drenched in bribery and corruption with the politicians…….but as it is with planes, what goes up, must come down….

45. How can sofisticated career scoundrels get taken in by a deluded amateur like Clare Cowan of Cahill ?????

46. Redfactor101

The truth is that Dennis Lowe, Chris Sinckler, Michael Lashley nor Denis Kellman knew that Clare Cowen was only a front for Bjerkhamn and Bizzy.

47. Not one of those four Minister knew that Darcy Boyce was playing behind their backs with Bjerkhamn and Bizzy. 2007 Darcy wife was make Bds$3,400.00 a month work at JADA for Bjerkhamn, in 2008 after Thompson was elected she was ‘promoted’ in the firm and was earning Bds$24,000.00 a month.

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Clubby-A-Clown

You draw a very interesting analogy, you claim that Maloney was on his ass in 2006 and could buy a US $10 million plane ten years later. You then compared that meteoric rise to Parris. There are so many phrases that you can use. Why did you choose “on his ass”? Are you trying to tell us something? I have difficulty reading between the lines so if you want me to understand, you must be more explicit.

49. Caswell
    What or who keeps Ma-Money Maloney in Trinidad 4-5 days a week, every week?

50. This Cahill fiasco is one of the wedges driven between bizzy and Bjorn.
    Once unwilling allies now arch enemies