solutions_barbadosGrenville Phillips II is the founder of Barbados’ newest political party Solutions Barbados. BU asked Grenville to give Barbadians an update on the building of the political party. The following is what he had to share:

Approximately once every 5 years, Barbadians select persons to manage their national affairs. At the time of our independence, we received a debt-free island with well-maintained pubic infrastructure. Fifty years later, our public services are generally poorly managed, and we are risking losing our country as a result of our unsustainable national debt. During periods in Barbados when money appeared to be plentiful, we mistakenly thought that our national economy was being properly managed. However, it takes no special competence to uneconomically spend borrowed money.

It normally takes approximately 10,000 hours of practice for persons to operate at an expert level. Therefore, it would seem that successfully managing a business, with about 10 employees for about 10 years, should adequately prepare an individual to manage our national affairs. To my knowledge, none of Barbados’ ministers of Government have ever come close to this minimum standard of preparation.

I do not blame any past or current member of Barbados’ parliament for the current state of our national affairs. Rather, they deserve our deep gratitude. When we had to elect persons to manage the national economy, they were the ones who stepped forward. At the end of each election cycle, they graciously demitted office and admirably accepted the will of the electorate.

If anyone is to blame for the abysmal state of Barbados’ national affairs, it is those who were adequately prepared for national service, but refused to step forward. Thus, they deprived Barbados of their skills and left the electorate to choose from among a group of unprepared, but willing candidates.

Barbados is fortunate to have had exemplary employers who have effectively trained and cared for their employees as they managed successful businesses. They willingly chose less corporate profits in order to maintain their employees during economically challenging times, and rewarded them for their productivity during times of plenty.

Those employers were adequately prepared to manage Barbados’ economy. However, rather than fulfilling their national duty, they generally ignored the call. They ought to be utterly ashamed of themselves, and are ultimately responsible for forcing Barbadians to select people who were simply not prepared to manage national affairs.

There is no shame if the electorate chooses others to lead. That is the governance system within which we operate, and the same voters, and their children, have to live with the consequences of their choices. However, to provide them with fair choices, it is the responsibility of the most demonstrably competent and caring employers to offer themselves as candidates in each general election. How else can a small independent country with few natural resources be properly managed?

Our politics has now degenerated into career politicians desperately trying to convince Barbadians that all is well while we are being drowned in debt, taxes and downgrades. It is long-past time to relieve our career politicians from this burden, but thank them for their efforts. I am publically calling all employers with the requisite preparation to review the solutions at SolutionsBarbados.com, and then contact us with the intention of being candidates in the next general elections.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Barbados’ newest political Party, Solutions Barbados, and can be contacted by: Web: SolutionsBarbados.com  E-mail: NextParty246@gmail.com.  Tel: 232-9783

107 responses to “Solutions Barbados – A Political Party in the Making”

1. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine January 27, 2016 at 1:05 PM,

Six months ago I had referenced this lady in BU. A lady of Bajan heritage. A lady who I am certain would have been capable of running our country far more effectively than the turgid current male incumbent.

“Before Hillary Clinton, there was Shirley Chisholm”

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-35057641

2. @Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. January 27, 2016 at 10:28 AM “SS, why would you think social services should suffer by efficient management?”

Not suffer by efficient management. I question whether the Barbados private sector is efficiently managed, and I question whether they think beyond this quarter’s profits. I question whether for example they see that immunizing a 6 week old will not generate any profits for 20 years or more. I question whether they are willing to invest in the future, because the last time Barbados was run by its business community the infant mortality rate was 220 per thousand live births. That’s why. The business community did not see that it was in their own best interest to have a healthy and well educated work force.

That’s why.

3. @ Simple Simon
    …..Just like Bushie.
    In fact I suspect he is Bushie.
    LOL …. so let a bushman EXcape?
    A PS too boot?
    Wuh…all like now you would be licking a new ML SUV….

You worse than Islandgal then….

4. But Shirley Chisholm is dead, dead, dead.

So what or rather whom now?

5. Went to a local organization on January 7th to have a document sent by Fedex. The clerk was on vacation. The big boss is busy with meetings. The document has not been sent yet even though I paid $150. cash to have it done.

Wunna see what I talking ’bout now?

6. Barbados is a public sector led economy. It is why government facilitation will be the catylst for an efficient private sector.

7. @ Simple Simon January 27, 2016 at 3:03 PM,

Yes, I know that she has long since passed. It is still a great story. This lady set the bar high and is a shining example to us all.

This country though vibrant has the smell and feel of decay about it. Everything is half-complete. This applies to the roads, the pavements, the houses, the landscape, et al. Barbados feels like a half-way house.

Barbados should be a paradise for all her citizens. This Architect chap is a mere distraction on the political horizon. If Julius Caesar were alive today he would be unable to rescue Barbados. Tinkering away at the margins will not change this country. We need an absolute revolution in the fullest sense.

Is there a Bush Tea in the house?

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Do not forget that Barbados is made into a high price destination and segregated society base on a deliberately designed and orchestrated system of continuous high cost of living.

9. Bushie,

Why don’t you leave Simple Simon alone? Professional competence alone will not make for good management. Many of our professionals lack the humane element which is necessary for positive outcomes to be achieved for all. One must not devalue that!

10. researching January 27, 2016 at 9:53 AM #

My advise to you is to find a way to communicate with our young people as they are ones who are presently disinterested in politics and politicians and yes some of them are waiting to be bought on the day of elections……you have to find a way of dealing with those twin issues….whoever motivates/inspires the youth will capture the next election and loose the next if they fail them.

You will find loads of useful contributions on this blog for you to mine…..the blogger Simple Simon makes a lot of sense in her responses today.

11. Don’t mind Bushie deliberately misunderstanding what Simple Simon said. He is tired of tormenting Ac and wants a bigger challenge.

12. Dear All:

Again, good concerns that deserve a response.

Business Persons’ Motive

The skepticism about the motives of business persons is justified, especially if you felt that you were undervalued and underpaid, and were laid-off when the company was trying to cut spending. Ditto if you worked for a retail establishment (buying and selling goods), where the prospects of advancement were limited.

You would probably feel less skeptical if you had an exemplary employer. I was fortunate to work in an industry where I entered as a labourer and advanced to become a Director. A hair dresser who successfully managed 10 people (other hairdressers and support staff) for a decade would be similarly prepared for national service.

In my opinion, businesses that were not selected by public tender for publically funded projects are part of the problem. Employers who compete fairly in the market place have an opportunity to earn the public’s trust.

Build a Party

I do not think that we have a decade to build a party. At the rate that we are going, we will probably lose our country within a decade. Government departments need to be properly managed ASAP. The public service needs to be de-politicised and persons promoted on merit alone ASAP. Our students need to be trained in marketable skills while also learning their academic requirements ASAP. Corruption needs to be exposed and effectively addressed ASAP. Etc (See SolutionsBarbados.com)

Regards.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman & Frustrated….you need lawmakers who are capable of multitasking, Barrow was capable of this, so too a few others, the others were not blessed with that particular skill set.

David…..given the rotten track records of most of the employers in Barbados, known for not wanting workers unionized, known for disrespecting Bajans, known for openly voicing they think people on the island are less than human…..why would you think any of them should manage the country, don’t you think things are bad enough as is, do you want to see them get worse.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exclaimer….one of the things I have learned is that corruption in Barbados only negatively affects the majority in Barbados, it benefits everyone else, until it affects certain other people negatively, do not expects to see the island on any list.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exclaimer…they are now reduced to clutching at straws, there really and truly is no one, who is willing to come forward anyway, that you can truthfully say is capable of being, truthful, honest, not money grabbing, selfless………they are stuck. The fact that this dude Grenville even mentions the business people becoming politicians, knowing what he knows about them, is frightening.

It would be interesting to knpw the names of those business people he has in mind.

16. @ Well Well & Consequences January 27, 2016 at 7:42 PM,

It was not always thus. Here is an interesting excerpt from Parker’s The Sugar Barons, p. 145:

………………“ Few planters wanted to employ the poor whites, seen as idle, drunken and useless – black slaves were cheaper and better workers. ‘ Since people have found out the convenience and cheapness of slave – labour they no longer keep white men, who used to do all the work on the plantations’ wrote Governor Atkins to London in the late 1670s. And increasingly blacks were being trained for skilled tasks that had previously had been reserved for whites.

17. We need persons who love Barbados enough to sacrifice self and family.

We need persons who will tell a briber kiss his rare.

We need persons who are solutions focused.

We need persons who are leaders and not bosses.

We need persons who are not afraid to break ranks on a matter of whats right over political loyalty.

We need smart and astute persons but not arrogance.

We need firm leaders but not bosses who are willing to lead by example.

We need persons who will not tamper with justice when family or friend runs afoul of the law.

We need person who will truly embrace servant leadership.

We need persons who will not ask whats in it for me.

We need persons who will not get operatives to inflate prices on capital projects in the name of graft for an under table cut.

We need leaders who will decriminalize marijuana and stop sending our young men to prison for a spliff while drunkards commit motor manslaughter. ( The youth is used as a stool to win elections with music and sports their brainwashing drug )

We need leaders who will enact breath analyzer testing.

We need persons who would not eat to get fat and drink to drunkenness then sign away our sovereignty.

Finally, we need persons whose heads don`t swell so big that they figure we are so damn stupid, no need to to talk to us.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There you go Exclaimer….is it not ironic that there has been such a drastic change from that time,so much so that in 2013, 2014 and 2016, these descendants of the poor whites indentured can now call their black workers, slaves, lazy, laggards etc, don’t want to pay them adequate wages or see them as union members…..lol

Researching might mean well, but he has to rethink his approach, the majority have been taken for fools for decades….the young people may not have that patience.

19. @ Well Well & Consequences,

Barbados is a very fortunate country. The British media always portrays Barbados in a positive light. In contrast to say a St Lucia or a Jamaica. Events such as a 9/11 would probably be underreported in the UK press if it were to occur in Barbados. I’m being serious!

Secondly I have noticed that international surveys/reports which focus on crime, or something negative will always exclude statistical data from Barbados. Why is that?

The whole of the Caribbean is in turmoil; yet in Barbados the sun never seems to set!

20. @Granville Phillips, I have said to you your heart is in the right place but your methodology is wrong. The blog master asked for an update on where the party is at and you responded with an intellectual discourse. How do you expect public acceptance when your voice is silent on issues of the day. Voter apathy is extremely high in Barbados against the BDLP. Persons would join King Dyall and Gearbox if they brought a new political dispensation.

True political representation is not a piecemeal or 9 to 4 job but a long unselfish journey. Mr Phillips, call a national meeting seeking a consensus on what is needed to heal Barbados which will most likely attract the best unselfish brains. You are not connecting with the masses. Live up to the name of your organisation.

True leaders lead from behind and embrace others!

21. ” wish you well though because I believe its time to vote alternative, vote independent , spoil the vote or stay to ass home.”

Who or what is the business sector in your opinion?

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Told ya Exclaimer….the only thing they get down on the island for his human trafficking because it is not only black females, as I am told, are trafficked, again, that is what am told.

As long as it’s the majority on the island that are negatively affected…who cares.

It’s not that they don’t know, I guarantee you that. The abuses are borderline, though negatively affects the islanders and are not taken far enough to draw the attention of international agencies.

Although, from what am told, some have overdone it so much over the last couple decades, that because local authorities refuse to do anything, recently, certain reports were made to a certain institution, that has the authority to investigate such abuses worldwide.

Give them enough rope and they will hang themselves.

23. ” I do not trust the business sector”
    To whom or what do you refer when you speak of the business sector Sunshine?

24. All these voices telling the blind man how to thread the needle but not one stepping forward to thread the needle themselves talk about a lot of braying jack asses wanting to hear their own noise wuhloss

25. Shirley Chisholm wisdom
    “If they don’t give you a seat at the table, bring a folding chair.”http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-35057641

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Poor AC…feeling threatened. If we can only get 15 well meaning, truthful, honest, not money grabbing, selfless individuals nothing like the present DBLP, you and the other yardfowls will become so yesterday’s news, since your masters will immediately be rendered useless, faceless and no longer relevant…lol

27. ac January 27, 2016 at 9:02 PM #

All these voices telling the blind man how to thread the needle but not one stepping forward to thread the needle themselves talk about a lot of braying jack asses wanting to hear their own noise wuhloss
    ……………………………………………………………

We agree with the above statement and it gives mileage to what the solutions are talking about.

28. Mcdoandowell is on the verge of calling out public workers on strike for the umpteenth time since he became President of NUPW last year. At his side is the treasurer a declared BLP yard fowl. Where there is smoke there’s Mcdoandowell. He’s probably a Mottley/Jerome puppet like his crony the treasurer. We’ve heard strike action is a last resort not so for the simpletons at NUPW. Yardfowl Mcdoandowell and henchmen aided by purty girl Roslyn Smith play by different rules. Strike first cause at least $22 million in revenues to be lost then sit down and negotiate.

Those unproductive clowns must thank their lucky stars its not the Tom Adams era. Tom’s reaction to Mcdoandowell and treasurer? Fire them immediately from the civil service. The General Orders be damned. Its not Tom they’re jerking around its Fruendel who broke bread with them at Ilaro Court. They’ve repaid Fruendel by kicking strike dust in his face.

29. Some old big guts PS and an MLSUV does NOT = to a handsome young ZR man.

Lol!!!

Good night sweet Bushie.

Goodnight.

30. Ha ha
    You think you is a young yam nuh….!!!

31. Musings aka waiting.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77186/clean-cops

Exclaimer…what did I tell ya…lol

33. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Well Well & Consequences January 28, 2016 at 6:26 AM #
    This COP looks like a dirty pig that seem to be on the inside of pushing drugs in the Caribbean , All things pass by Barbados on the way up , They may be paid off to let the drugs go by to set up other people,Never trust anyone that talk well when they visit Barbados before they look in to things, The same way they judge people in America is by their Credit report, Well the report for Barbados sucks and that is only the starting point , Most are being paid by drug money and all other things local dont matter but the tourist,

34. Lets call it an Independent Party firstly. Even some solutions won’r work, so skip that noise. On the surface it looks good, but by reading further it looks like your just creating another class of crooks. Want to get serious; name your candidates for party leader, minister of finance, etc. Give us your solutions for every problem that exists today within each ministry where the present government has failed. I also see no one wants to address term limits either. You know the DLP had a manifesto in ‘2013, but has delivered on practically none of its promises.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Violet Beckles…..and the beat goes on.

36. Grenville Phillips has certainly taken some lashes on this topic – not all of them fair – and he has handled them with good grace. Some have accused him of recommending that we replace “one set of crooks with another”. That’s hardly fair. If I am reading him correctly, what he is suggesting is that people with business skills stand for public office so that they may bring that knowledge to the running of “Barbados Inc.”. Phrased differently, we need private sector thinking and management disciplines within the public sector and within Parliament. How can this come about? I for one am at a loss as to where to start. At the parliamentary level, it is very hard to ensure widespread knowledge of how to run a business. That’s because anyone can stand for election: a teacher, a lawyer, an economist, a doctor or a farmer. There is not much corporate management expertise in these fields; certainly not much experience in how to lead and motivate employees, or in being accountable to other groups of stakeholders. And look at how ministers are appointed. There is often a complete mismatch between the individual’s background and skill-set and the type of “business” the ministry is in. There is no company I know of that would appoint a senior executive in such a haphazard fashion. Hiring takes place after candidates have been screened and interviewed. But even before that they have to produce a CV that shows they have the requisite skills and experience.
    However, we can only vote for (or reject) the candidates that the parties put forward, so the parties have to do some serious screening first. Then it’s up to us to pick the best man. This is not going to happen as long as we, the people, vote according to “tribe”. And it most certainly won’t happen if we exchange our vote for an I-pad. I believe the best place to start in transplanting business thinking and management skills in government is within the Civil Service. Empower permanent secretaries and heads of statutory corporations as CEOs and give them similar authority and contracts. If they can’t run things efficiently, can’t show achievement of major objectives, can’t select and put the right people under them, and can’t account for how money is spent, fire them and advertise the job. This is a very radical approach and will mean a complete re-vamping of our sense of entitlement to a permanent job in the public sector. But we need to understand that good CEOS do not tolerate over-employment and under-performance. Nor do they hire ministers’ “nieces” as communication specialists and PR go-fers. Almost all of the political pundits in Barbados have frequently said that no third party has a hope of success in Barbados. I pray they are wrong. It is heart-breaking to think that we are locked in a political system where we must constantly choose between the lesser of two evils.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fly….you are on point, however, these business skills should be acquired through university intellectual experience, hands on training and experience, training as a lawmaker and political training, making for a qualified politician.

Just placing someone with one skillset to learn and make it up as they go along, followed by yardfowls and a gullible electorate. is no longer working…just look at all the mess.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ flyonthewall January 28, 2016 at 3:31 PM
    “Phrased differently, we need private sector thinking and management disciplines within the public sector and within Parliament. How can this come about? I for one am at a loss as to where to start. At the parliamentary level, it is very hard to ensure widespread knowledge of how to run a business. That’s because anyone can stand for election: a teacher, a lawyer, an economist, a doctor or a farmer. There is not much corporate management expertise in these fields; certainly not much experience in how to lead and motivate employees, or in being accountable to other groups of stakeholders. And look at how ministers are appointed. There is often a complete mismatch between the individual’s background and skill-set and the type of “business” the ministry is in. There is no company I know of that would appoint a senior executive in such a haphazard fashion. Hiring takes place after candidates have been screened and interviewed. But even before that they have to produce a CV that shows they have the requisite skills and experience.”

According to your line of reasoning Freundel should never be P M or Stinkliar the MoF.

Don’t you see a similar mismatch on the many boards of directors of private sector organizations? Should you be reminded of CLICO?
    Listen FOTW, we operate in a so-called democracy even if more akin to an oligarchy; but not an autocracy, theocracy or plutocracy.

People elect those members of parliament because the people ‘like or are impressed by them, pure and simple. Nothing to do with skills-sets; but certainly with money. If it had anything to do with technical competence or managerial talent many sitting in that ‘honourable’ chamber would not have gotten past the security guard.
    Just see it as a political beauty pageant conducted every 5 or so years.

And you should not blame the electorate for their poor choices. Just look at those who sit in the Senate and tell us if Jepter Ince et al should be among those presiding over the policy direction of a country on the brink of survival.

39. @flyonthewall

The conundrum is that those the tuned business skill you are encouraging to make themselves available must be motivated to want to serve. Such a desire comes from upbringing and an appreciation for civics and how these people were socialized. We have to go back to basics read primary school.

40. flyonthewall January 28, 2016 at 3:31 PM #

You have hit the nail on the head…….It was always the civil service to manage the company with policy directives from the Board/politicians who are elected by the populli……it was so up until just after independence,when the board gradually set about to run the operation,to the extent that they now manage.

How do we turn it around,your guess is as good as mine.

41. In the abundance of water, the brass bowl goes thirsty….

42. @Miller
    I know that we live in a democracy and I haven’t suggested anywhere in my post that we should replace it with autocracy, theocracy, plutocracy or any other kind of “ocracy”. And I do understand that the electorate votes for people it likes. Thing is, this often leads to the triumph of popularity and personality over competence. But this isn’t unique to Barbados. This is politics the world over. There was a movie with Robert Redford back in the late 60s or early 70s called The Candidate. To cut to the chase, he was handsome, charming, charismatic, etc. and the Party pulled all the stops to get him elected a President. And he was. The movie ended with him asking, “What do I do now?” The point you made was that this scenario can happen in the private sector a la CLICO. True, but it finally collapsed. I don’t wish to tamper with democracy, but it seems to me that pretty well everyone on BU feels that our version isn’t working all that well. Apart from the corruption, which has been so well ventilated on BU that I won’t go there, whether you like it or not there remains the huge problem of matching skills or experience to portfolios at the ministerial level. If you think I am off base on this, in which ministries do you see a good match? Democracy and its electoral process means we may NEVER get good matches, which is why I believe that good business management skills and understanding of economics need to reside in the Civil Service. I would be satisfied with ministers who were smart enough to grasp the big picture, understand the fundamentals of their portfolios and leave the granular stuff to those better qualified in their ministries. But currently they have too much power to tamper with the Civil Service and that is a major problem. They use it to mop up unemployment, give jobs to friends and gain votes. But as you say, it’s a beauty pageant every five years. This means that if Rihanna comes home and decides to run she will be shoe in. Once elected her first question might well be, “What do I do now?”

43. Yours is a solid and indisputable position Fly…. and Miller knows it too…

But you (and Grenville) need to understand that we are dealing with sheep here…
    You ever tried reasoning with a sheep…?
    …or worse, a goat like AC….?

The solution is all around us – like an ocean… flowing with examples of successful marshalling of sheep ..and even goats into ongoing, profitable and productive business …. IN BARBADOS.

What you do is let the damn sheep bleat and baaa …and elect whichever brass bowl ewes and rams they feel inclined to vote for on election day. Those elected then get to meet on a regular basis, talk shiite, have some refreshments, and even to go on TV ever so often and read a speech or smile or whatever…and to conferences occasionally…
    BUT ….. the MANAGEMENT of the operation is handled by persons who are sourced, shortlisted and recruited based on their management skills and their ability to produce results.

Failure to achieve WILL result in non-renewal of contract.

Can this work in Barbados?
    It has – in Co-operatives (Credit Unions) for the past 40 years- with many unquestioned successes…..but perhaps such an approach is too sound, and ‘too good’ to be applied to our politics – which affects all critical aspects of our National lives….

44. flyonthewall January 28, 2016 at 7:30 PM #

Again nothing wrong with what you have said……inertia….how do we move forward???

I will attempt to give you an insight into to what most bajans do not want to touch….

Field niggas and
    House niggas….a number of individuals have ideas to carry this country forward but because you were from a privileged house nigga background you will be destroyed.

We know the answers long time.

45. @Fly on the wall
    Phrased differently, we need private sector thinking and management disciplines within the public sector and within Parliament. How can this come about?
    ++++++++++++++++
    Be careful what you wish for, a country is not a Corporation where you can jettison some people to impact the bottom line and move on. Have you been following the news out of Michigan? They elected a Tea Party darling (Rick Snyder) as Gov. He happened to the former Chairman of Gateway computers and a Venture Capitalist and promised run Michigan like a Corporation.

Result? A hundred thousand people drinking lead contaminated water in Flint and who knows what impact it will have over the next few generations?

46. @ Sargeant
    You are correct. But why do you keep bringing examples from a society whose very philosophical foundation is greed and selfishness? Are you suggesting that ‘the American way’ is the default standard by which politics should be judged?

Shiite man…. any society where Reagan, Bush and now Trump can be electable must OBVIOUSLY be fundamentally flawed…. as is one with a Froon….

Cooperative principles on the other hand, represent such sound philosophy, that EVEN IN THE GREED-BASED USA, the business model thrives.

47. @Sargeant January 28, 2016 at 10:54 PM “Be careful what you wish for, a country is not a Corporation where you can jettison some people to impact the bottom line and move on…”

Thanks Sargeant. Best comment on this thread so far.

48. Businessmen constantly advance and pursue a philosophy (an amalgam of things political, social and economic) which is self-seeking, self-serving and self-enriching. Their interests are just more sophisticated. In the final analysis, they are similar to pimps, prostitutes and parasites in that their own interests are always primary.They are just a tad more sophisticated !
    It is not unreasonable to believe that proponents of a “business model” will pursue and protect the interests of the business-class and not that of the masses, for to them, there is seldom a concomitant sense of social justice for the masses who are often seen as a kind of “untermenschen” or persons to be exploited ” for the nation’s good”.
    As presented, one gets the impression that Solutions Barbados, if it becomes viable and is elected, it will either maintain the status quo, or engage in a type of ” Trumpism” .
    “Hope springs eternal in the human breast” .Little wonder our people have grown such large breasts over the last few years !

49. Bush shite ac like being an ole goat..baaaaa.

50. @ Sargeant
    Point taken. Capitalism without a conscience is highly destructive. But the extreme opposite, socialism with no understanding of what it takes to pay one’s way in this world is equally destructive. We don’t have to run Barbados as a ruthless corporation, but we can’t run it as a charity either. Money has to come from somewhere to pay for all the things we expect. Barbados is a socialist democracy; a country that strives to balance and match the performance of an economy with the needs of people. Right now, the scales need to be tipped in favour of sound economic management. David Thompson came to power armed with the phrase that Barbados is not just an economy, it’s also a society. It played well with the most socialist among us who want a government that takes care of them from cradle to grave. How do you pay for it?