Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

As the excesses of the Christmas Day just past recede in the national consciousness, we prepare this week to welcome in 2016. At the close of this year, there seems to be a popular consensus that the local economy is on the up, although this assertion remains unsupported on most occasions by any evidence, persuasive or at all.

I suppose a healthy optimism is in itself a Very Good Thing, although the more cautious among us would wish for more authoritative empirical proof of this most fortunate event.

In this, the final column for 2015, I propose to touch on some matters across the region, fully cognizant of the risk that I may be accused by some of the citizens of those states of interference in their national affairs. That is, of course, provided they disagree with my views, as the Ambassador of the European Union would have discovered recently when he dared to offer an opinion on corporal punishment that differed radically from the antediluvian views of some locals who will not be swayed one jot or tittle from their simplistic and fundamentalist literalism that the โ€œrodโ€ in Proverbs 13:34 sounds too much like the โ€œtambrinโ€ (tamarind) rod, a favoured instrument for the parental infliction of pain in my youth, to mean anything else.

Clearly, the Ambassadorโ€™s opinion would be considered interference only because it conflicts with theirs; readers will recall that there was no such allegation against former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan when he cryptically, but supposedly flatteringly, claimed that Barbados punched above its weight in international fora.

It might have ever been thus. Chafed at criticism of the policy of racial segregation operative in Alabama some years ago, the then Governor George Wallace is reported to have said, โ€œWe shall continue to maintain segregation in Alabama completely and absolutely without violence or ill-willโ€ฆWe ask for patience and tolerance and make an earnest request that we be allowed to handle state and local affairs without outside interferenceโ€ฆโ€ The patent distinction here, of course, is that the Governor was far more gracious in his disagreement than the locals.

In any event, the accusation of external interference leveled at Mr. seems particularly misplaced given the context in which His Excellency spoke. As I have been urging for some time, the issue of state sovereignty should scarcely arise in a circumstance where the critical issue is compliance with the provisions of a voluntarily ratified international treaty, unless the accusers are prepared to argue that we possess the geopolitical clout to be international floutlaws of sacred global pacts. I am almost certain that this is not what Mr. Annan meant by โ€œpunching above our weightโ€.

When is a year nine months only?

I was intrigued by a report in the Barbados Advocate on Tuesday last week that Justice Errol Thomas of the Dominica High Court had called on prison authorities to stop what he called โ€œthe unlawful practice of reducing prison sentences without the authority of the courtโ€. It may be widely known that the prison year is commonly thought of as a period of nine, instead of the calendar twelve, months.

In response to the assertion of the Superintendent of Prisons that โ€œon arrival at the prison, the convicted person is given a one-third reduction to the sentence that is re-imposed only for misbehaviour during his time thereโ€, the learned judge posited, โ€œThe only person authorized to reduce a sentence is the judge. No prison judge or officer has the right to reduce any sentence as soon as a prisoner enters the prisonโ€ฆitโ€™s unlawfulโ€ฆthat cannot be right…You are undermining the judgment of the courtโ€ฆโ€ The Superintendentโ€™s appeal to custom and practice โ€“โ€œitโ€™s been happening for 31 years โ€ฆif itโ€™s a bad practice, it [has been] bad long timeโ€ฆโ€ availed nothing. Thomas J reiterated his point about its unlawfulness.

I am not aware whether the matter has as yet been satisfactorily resolved in Dominica, but it is a nice point. I also do not know whether the identical position obtains there, but in Barbados the Prison Rules 1974, made under the Prisons Act, Cap 168, provides for the lawfulness of this procedure. According to rule 41, where relevant, โ€œโ€ฆarrangements shall be made by which a prisoner who is serving a sentence of imprisonment whether by one sentence or by consecutive sentences, for a period exceeding one monthโ€ฆ may by good conduct and industry become eligible for discharge when a portion of his sentence not exceeding one-fourth of the whole sentence has yet to runโ€ฆโ€

There would thus seem to be some lacunae in the popular thought. First, the sentence does not appear to be commuted, as the Dominican prison official claimed, โ€œupon arrival at the prisonsโ€, but rather it appears that a decision has to be made, at the time when at least three-quarters of the sentence has been served, as to whether the remaining period should be commuted or not. This is dependent upon โ€œgood conduct and industryโ€ having been exhibited by the prisoner during his sojourn there.

Further, contrary to the view of the learned judge that it undermines the judgment of the court, it seems rather to be a matter of constitutional jurisdiction. While the court sentences the convicted person to a period on imprisonment; the prison authorities are empowered to determine the precise extent of that period. The current arrangement would appear to contemplate an inbuilt remission of sentence, although this is conditional on the prisonerโ€™s good behaviour and industry.

Where a similar statute applies, and the sentencing court feels strongly enough about the issue, the necessary mathematical calculation will have to be effected by the judicial officer. Since one prison year may eventually be nine (9) months, then, in order to ensure a convicted person actually serves a total of five (5) years, the formally imposed sentence should be at least seven (7) years. Interesting!

Who is entitled to the Myrie benefits?

Recent reports about the substantial fiscal benefits realized by those regional jurisdictions that grant citizenship to foreign nationals (and their immediate families) who are prepared to invest handsome sums into their economies have caused me to wonder whether the decision to do so should not have been a collective CARICOM decision, given the legal implications for the other jurisdictions in that regional grouping that do not offer this entitlement on similar terms.

My musing is based on the fact that the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, at Article 32 (5), provides that โ€œa person shall be regarded as a national of a Member State if such person (i) is a citizen of that Stateโ€ฆโ€

And in its judgment in 2013 in the case brought by Shanique Myrie against Barbados, the Caribbean Court of Justice asserted that both the rights of establishment and of the provision of services โ€œpresume of necessity the right of movement of Community nationals without being obstructed by unreasonable restrictionsโ€ and that โ€œan essential element of the right of free movement is the entry and stay of a Community national in another Member State hassle free, that is to say, without harassment or the imposition of impedimentsโ€ฆโ€ (My emphasis)

Since the economic citizen and his family would become citizens under the Revised Treaty, they should logically be entitled to those rights aforementioned on entry into any other Member State.

I note that Article 32 also provides that โ€œthe competent Organ shall establish basic criteria for Member States in order to safeguard against manipulation or abuse of such rights so as to gain an unfair advantage against other Member Statesโ€ฆin the area of nationality criteriaโ€ฆโ€ However, I have serious doubts as to whether this adequately covers the point that I am making here.

It would appear that by permitting or suffering certain states to create citizens through other than the ordinarily accepted means, the other CARICOM members may have unwittingly enlarged their treaty responsibilities in terms of entry of persons into their countries. Intriguing!

To you dear reader, a blessed, thoughtful, healthful and prosperous 2016.

317 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Yuletide Musings”

1. Georgie Porgie December 31, 2015 at 10:51 PM #
    for a start ZOE, the jokers here need to hear and heed Coopersโ€™s law

David Cooper writes, โ€œWhen the plain sense of Scripture makes common sense, seek no other sense; therefore, take every word at its primary, ordinary, usual, literal meaning unless the facts of the immediate context, studied in the light of related passages and axiomatic and fundamental truths, indicate clearly otherwise.โ€ Cited in Pentecost, J. Dwight. Things to Come: a Study in Biblical Eschatology. Grand Rapids, MI: Academie, 1964. 42.j

“Get real! The literal interpretation of the WHOLE Bible makes one look really stupid.”

Question: Who EVER said that the WHOLE Bible should be interpreted literally?

โ€œWhen the plain sense of Scripture makes common sense, seek no other sense; therefore, take every word at its primary, ordinary, usual, literal meaning….. UNLESS THE FACTS OF THE IMMEDIATE CONTEXT, STUDIED in the LIGHT OF RELATED PASSAGES AND AXIOMATIC and FUNDAMENTAL TRUTHS, INDICATE OTHERWISE.โ€

God has spoken to us “In many SEPARATE revelations- each of which SET forth a PORTION of the TRUTH – and in DIFFERENT WAYS God SPOKE of old to (our) forefathers in and by the prophets” (Hebrews 1:1 Amplified New Testament)

“In MANY parts and in MANY ways… ” Hebrews 1:1 Berry interlinear

Ways God has Spoken

a. DREAM (Numbers 12:6; Joel 2:28; Matthew 1:20)
    b. VISION (Numbers 12:6; Joel 2:28; Acts 2:17; 9:10,12)
    c. ANGEL OF THE LORD (Genesis 18: Exodus 3; Judges 6 and 13)
    d. SIMILITUDE ( Deut 4:12, 15, 16, Daniel 10:16)

And the list goes on, with FIGURE, TYPE, SHADOW, EXAMPLE, PATTER, SIGN, ALLEGORY, MYSTERY, DARK SAYINGS, RIDDLE, PROVERB, PARABLE, VOICE OF WORDS, PROPHECY, WRITING.

Even a cursory glance at the above list will serve to UNDERSCORE the need for proper and correct principles of INTERPRETATION , that are necessary to rightly and soundly DIVIDE, that is, to interpret each one of these different genres of communication FROM God, to us.

But, “When the plain SENSE of Scripture makes COMMON SENSE, seek NO OTHER….UNLESS the facts of the immediate CONTEXT studied in the light of related passages and axiomatic and FUNDAMENTAL TRUTHS, indicate otherwise.

The real serious problem arises, WHEN the Literal sense of Scripture, is discarded for some other mystical, allegorical, or other unwarranted sense of interpretation, that THEN bring in FALSE doctrine, HERESY, and a maze of un-Scriptural folly and foolishness!

2. Too much religion, too little God!

Yes, go tell that to the Catholics, Anglicans…focusing on RESTORATION of DEAD buildings, pomp and STYLE, instead of Preaching the Gospel of Christ to Save lost sinners!

This why we are exhorted in His Word, to: “Till I come give attendance to READING, to exhortation, TO DOCTRINE” ( 1 Timothy 4:13) and most importantly:

“Study to SHOW thyself APPROVED unto God, a workman that needeth NOT to be ASHAMED, rightly DIVIDING ( correctly interpreting) the word of TRUTH.” (11 Tim. 2:13) Emphasis added,

Because there were, and still ARE, FALSE Interpreters, those who willfully and deliberately INTERPRET the Scriptures falsely, thus damning their own souls, and the souls of those who follow them.These are:

“ever learning and NEVER able to come to the knowledge of the TRUTH.” ( 11 Tim 3:7).

3. Christianity IN* its purest and most beautiful form, IS* a personal, LIVING, relationship with THE LORD JESUS CHRIST; NOT in dead ritualism, formalism, sacramentalism, and sacerdotalism, as is found in the Traditional denominations!

NO one RECITES the Apostles Creed, MORE than the Anglicans, and other sections of God’s Word; ALL of which ARE entirely SOUND Scripturally!

BUT, RECITING such things, APART from KNOWING HIM, the LIVING WORD, JESUS CHRIST, is a waste of time.

“EVERY WORD (the Scriptures) IS PURE. do NOT ADD to His Words ( the Scriptures) lest He rebuke YOU and YOU are found to BE A LIAR.” (Prov. 30: 5,6)

“FOR EVER O Lord, thy Word (the Scriptures) IS* settled in Heaven.” (Psa. 119:89)

4. Donna January 5, 2016 at 9:38 PM #

“Heard it all before but if God wanted to rid the world of these people did he have to be so gory with it? What an example for us to follow!”

You call yourself a Christian! And this is your disdain for HIM, in how He in His Holy, Righteous ways goes about dealing with NASTY,EVIL, SINNERS!

What about JESUS, the Second Person of the Eternal Godhead! Could you want any historic event, more GRUESOME, and to use your word ‘gory’ than the Crucifixion! Are YOU going to question HIM, too, on this ‘GORY’ manner in which the Eternal counsel of the Godhead decreed it to BE!

Who the hell, woman, do you think you are?

But, then again, maybe you do NOT take the Gospel account of what Jesus suffered for US, leading up to, and including His Crucifixion LITERALLY!

Who knows what you believe is Literal and what is NOT! What other Heresy did they teach you at Codrington!

And you conclude your arrogant IGNORANCE about Almighty God, with:

“What an example for us to follow!”

You ARE a gory mess of dead-pan RELIGIOUS folly!

5. @ Zoe

What is meant by IF* and IS*?

6. Silly Zoe,

My point was that I do NOT believe that God behaved in such a brutal manner. It is not consistent with His nature. You have a serious comprehension problem. I was not criticizing God, just the IMAGE of Him portrayed in the Old Testament. Who the hell do I think I am? LOL. A child of the Lord, that’s what.

And I when I speak about recitations I am not talking about a statement of beliefs made during worship. I am referring to how we arrive at these statements in the first place. But trust me these statements are being examined continuously by our scholars and they are subject to change when we come to a new understanding. WE KNOW WE DON”T KNOW IT ALL. WE KNOW WE HAVE BEEN WRONG AT TIMES. Unlike some who shall remain nameless. LOL.

Hey, I thought we all were sinners? Can I expect a gory death at any moment at His hands?

PS. I asked you some questions but instead of answering you go back to way earlier comments and ignore them. What happen,you can’t find a cut and paste special.

7. Donna January 5, 2016 at 9:38 PM #

โ€œHeard it all before but if God wanted to rid the world of these people did he have to be so gory with it? What an example for us to follow!โ€

Here, you structure the sentence in the form of a question, “…but if God wanted to rid the world of these people DID HE HAVE TO BE SO GORY WITH IT? And then with an exclamation type of remark… “What an example for us to follow!” (Emphasis added)

Clearly, when you wrote this, the obvious intention was scoffing AT how God chose to destroy these people, by using the word ‘GORY’ and then qualifying your INTENT of disagreement with Him by “…What an example for us to follow!”

Now, to try and wiggle yourself out of the grammar and structure of what you wrote, by compounding ARROGANCE with further IGNORANCE of the principles of sound interpretation!

“My point was that I do NOT believe that God behaved in such a brutal manner. It is not consistent with His nature.”

Really! You are so IGNORANT (lacking proper knowledge and understanding) regarding the Holy, Righteous character and NATURE of God, as revealed in His Word, the Bible. But this is so typical of Anglicans who have studied under those at Codrington, apostate twisters of God’s Word, the blind leading and teaching the blind!

“And I when I speak about recitations I am not talking about a statement of beliefs made during worship. I am referring to how we arrive at these statements in the first place. But trust me these statements are being examined continuously by our scholars and they are subject to change when we come to a new understanding. WE KNOW WE DONโ€T KNOW IT ALL. WE KNOW WE HAVE BEEN WRONG AT TIMES.”

“…WE KNOW WE HAVE BEEN WRONG AT TIMES”

If you START out WRONG, you will END UP WRONG! As Catholics, Methodists and Anglicans have DONE!

The first WRONG doctrine is the un-Scriptural so-called sacraments of “Baby Baptism” which is NOT right; followed by its necessary extension of ‘Confirmation’.

You CANNOT manufacturer Christians like HAM-BURGERS and FRENCH FRY’S!

Yes, there are some Anglicans. who as adults have repented and accepted and received Jesus as their personal Saviour and Lord; BUT, the majority ARE trusting their ‘Baby Baptism’ and subsequent Confirmation, for their Salvation; CANNOT work!

Baptism does NOT Save a lost soul, be it Baby or adult baptism!

This antecedent FIRST wrong doctrine has taken multitudes to HELL!

8. @Zoe January 6, 2016 at 9:28 PM #

You and GP,have been wrong your entire life……..sad to say for you,that you will never ever be able to grasp that understanding……Yet I will always defend your right to have a view.

Understand one thing ……I am commenting for posterity…….what you postulate is absolute and total rubbish,with a total lack of a logical base.

9. BTW, when I use Caps Lock, I am not shouting at anyone, I only use it for emphasis and augmentation.

10. Vincent Haynes January 6, 2016 at 9:43 PM #
    @Zoe January 6, 2016 at 9:28 PM #

You and GP,have been wrong your entire lifeโ€ฆโ€ฆ..sad to say for you,that you will never ever be able to grasp that understandingโ€ฆโ€ฆYet I will always defend your right to have a view.

Understand one thing โ€ฆโ€ฆI am commenting for posterityโ€ฆโ€ฆ.what you postulate is absolute and total rubbish,with a total lack of a logical base.

Vincent, its okay man.., Its also sad to say, you will never to able to grasp nor understand that there is no automatic progeniture in the eternal states of absolute bliss, vs absolute misery!

Therefore, If any man be ignorant, let him be ignorant!

So it be my friend!

11. โ€œMy point was that I do NOT believe that God behaved in such a brutal manner. It is not consistent with His nature.โ€

Language presupposes logical distinctions. God’s NATURE, as clearly revealed in His Word, the Bible, unmistakably show that His Righteous, Holy Character and Nature, cover BOTH, His Love, Mercy and Grace to those who are willing to receive it. And conversely, His Righteous, Holy Wrath and judgement on those who deserve it.

You CANNOT have one without the other. It is EITHER/OR, but NOT Both/And.

In other words, you EITHER chose to receive His Love, Mercy and Grace; OR, His Wrath and Judgement, But, you CANNOT have both!

Bible Verses About Wrath Of God.

Romans 1:18 – For the WRATH of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;

John 3:36 – He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the WRATH of God abideth on him.

Isaiah 26:21 – For, behold, the LORD cometh out of his place to PUNISH the inhabitants of the earth for their iniquity: the earth also shall disclose her blood, and shall no more cover her slain.

Revelation 20:15 – And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.

Revelation 19:11-21 – And I saw heaven opened, and behold a white horse; and he that sat upon him [was] called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he doth judge and make war. (Read More…)

Ezekiel 25:17 – And I will execute great vengeance upon them with furious rebukes; and they shall know that I [am] the LORD, when I shall lay my vengeance upon them.

Nahum 1:2-6 – God [is] jealous, and the LORD revengeth; the LORD revengeth, and [is] furious; the LORD will take vengeance on his adversaries, and he reserveth [wrath] for his enemies. (Read More…)

Romans 6:23 – For the wages of sin [is] death; but the gift of God [is] eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

2 Peter 2:9 – The Lord knoweth how to deliver the godly out of temptations, and to reserve the unjust unto the day of judgment to be punished:

Matthew 10:28 – And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.

Psalms 75:8 – For in the hand of the LORD [there is] a cup, and the wine is red; it is full of mixture; and he poureth out of the same: but the dregs thereof, all the wicked of the earth shall wring [them] out, [and] drink [them].

Matthew 7:13-14 – Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide [is] the gate, and broad [is] the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: (Read More…)

Psalms 7:11 – God judgeth the righteous, and God is angry [with the wicked] every day.

Hebrews 9:22 – And almost all things are by the law purged with blood; and without shedding of blood is no remission.

Luke 12:5 – But I will forewarn you whom ye shall fear: Fear him, which after he hath killed hath power to cast into hell; yea, I say unto you, Fear him.

John 15:6 – If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast [them] into the fire, and they are burned.

12. Zoe,

You are truly being stupid now! You think I get up out of my warm bed on Sunday Morning to go to Sunday School and scoff at God? Some days I am so tired I have to fight myself into going. I repeat, your comprehension skills are non- existent that is why you will be at nursery level reciting all your life. My problem is with YOUR LITERAL INTERPRETATION OF THE OLD TESTAMENT WHICH PORTRAYS GOD AS GLEEFULLY AND BRUTALLY DISPOSING OF SINNERS, AND MOST TROUBLESOME OF ALL, CHILDREN WHO HAVE NOT YET BEEN GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO SIN. MY PROBLEM IS NOT WITH GOD. WHATEVER HE DOES IS WELL DONE! THE QUESTION IS – WHAT HAS HE ACTUALLY DONE? THAT IS WHERE WE DIFFER!

PS. Then again maybe your continued ‘misunderstanding’ is meant to distract me from the questions I asked while you try to find a cut and paste special.

How many of each animal entered the Ark? Was it seven or two?

How many people were miraculously fed by Jesus? Were there four thousand men or five thousand men. And how many loaves and fishes were there?

And here’s a new one for you. Who was it that first accepted that Jesus had risen. Was it Mary Magdalene or Simon Peter?

Boy, that Holy Spirit has a bad memory! (Oh, let me explain that for your comprehension deficient self. I mean that based on the ASSUMPTION that the Holy Spirit took over the minds of the Bible writers which I do NOT believe was the case.)

13. Poor Zoe, all in a huff, putting on his judge robes and condemning me to hell. You know what is telling here is that I haven’t judged or condemned YOU or anyone else to hell. (Which I do not believe is a place of eternal burning.) I am not the Righteous Judge and I have no designs on that position.

By the way, I am not your typical Anglican, not big on ritual or restoring old buildings and my son has not been baptized. What I love about us is the open-mindedness brought to our scholarship that saves us from the silliness you spout.

PS. When you find the cut and paste special I’ll be here.

14. I have a vision of Zoe gleefully rubbing his hands together at the thought of all of us Anglicans burning.

“See, I was right!”

Poor Zoe, you are commissioned to save our poor souls and your methods are counterproductive. It is not about you being right. It is about you rescuing us from the fiery furnace.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe January 6, 2016 at 1:22 PM
    โ€œEVERY WORD (the Scriptures) IS PURE. do NOT ADD to His Words ( the Scriptures) lest He rebuke YOU and YOU are found to BE A LIAR.โ€ (Prov. 30: 5,6)โ€

So you really believe every word of your god Yahweh must be followed literally to a โ€œTโ€?

So why then do you NOT follow (to an โ€œLโ€) the instructions from your god regarding interactions with menstruating women? You must, on a daily basis, interact closely with women who are on their periods and at times could be intimately ‘associating with a โ€˜bleedingโ€™ female unless you are a rabid homosexual expressing the same raving misogynistic passion as you show towards anyone who refuses to display your religious bigotry and hate.

Do you in true Gestapo fashion go up to women and ask if they are โ€œon and from whenโ€ to determine if you will be dealing with them that day or seven days later? Why not go into the dove and pigeon breeding business in order to make sure modern women are in keeping with your sexist godโ€™s orders as laid down in his holy Scriptures according to the book of Leviticus chapter 15:

19 ” ‘When a woman has her regular flow of blood, the impurity of her monthly period will last seven days, and anyone who touches her will be unclean till evening.
    20 ” ‘Anything she lies on during her period will be unclean, and anything she sits on will be unclean.
    21 Whoever touches her bed must wash his clothes and bathe with water, and he will be unclean till evening.
    22 Whoever touches anything she sits on must wash his clothes and bathe with water, and he will be unclean till evening.
    23 Whether it is the bed or anything she was sitting on, when anyone touches it, he will be unclean till evening.
    24 ” ‘If a man lies with her and her monthly flow touches him, he will be unclean for seven days; any bed he lies on will be unclean.
    25 ” ‘When a woman has a discharge of blood for many days at a time other than her monthly period or has a discharge that continues beyond her period, she will be unclean as long as she has the discharge, just as in the days of her period.
    26 Any bed she lies on while her discharge continues will be unclean, as is her bed during her monthly period, and anything she sits on will be unclean, as during her period.
    27 Whoever touches them will be unclean; he must wash his clothes and bathe with water, and he will be unclean till evening.
    28 When she is cleansed from her discharge, she must count off seven days, and after that she will be ceremonially clean.
    29 On the eighth day she must take two doves or two young pigeons and bring them to the priest at the entrance to the Tent of Meeting.
    30 The priest is to sacrifice one for a sin offering and the other for a burnt offering. In this way he will make atonement for her before the LORD for the uncleanness of her discharge.
    31 ” ‘You must keep the Israelites separate from things that make them unclean, so they will not die in their uncleanness for defiling my dwelling place, which is among them.’ ”
    32 These are the regulations for a man with a discharge, for anyone made unclean by an emission of semen,
    33 for a woman in her monthly period, for a man or a woman with a discharge, and for a man who lies with a woman who is ceremonially unclean.

16. My questions to Zoe remain unanswered. Hmmmmmm…..

17. @ Donna
    Why don’t you stop tormenting Zoe nuh?

As a teacher, you probably have seen the type of student who never listens; always think that they ‘know’; can never answer a question coherently; and then usually have some lame excuse when they fail the final exam…..

Bushie gives you ….Zoe!

You would think that, after ADMITTING his inability to answer a FUNDAMENTAL question posed here some years ago by a blogger called ‘Technician’, Zoe would try to LISTEN more, to think more critically, and be a LOT more humble, in seeking to dissect even more complex issues…
    BUT NO…. he ploughs on with his mumbo -jumbo dogma, depending on internet extracts from an array of equally misguided and dogmatic biblical ignoramuses.

One does not discuss issues such as Gauss Seidel iterations with students who clearly do not know their ‘seven-times-table’…..

18. Simple enough, when one is honest enough, and understand how to ‘rightly divide’ Interpret God’s Word.

But, not so simple and easy for the unlearned skeptics, critics, and fools here on BU!

How Many Animals of Each Kind did Noah Take into the Ark?

Ask children who are even vaguely familiar with the biblical account of the Flood how many animals of each kind Noah took into the ark, and you likely will hear, โ€œTwo!โ€

Most Bible students are familiar with the instructions recorded in Genesis 6:19 that God gave to Noah:

โ€œAnd of every living thing of all flesh you shall bring two of every sort into the ark, to keep them alive with you; they shall be male and femaleโ€ (Genesis 6:19, emp. added; cf. 7:15).

It seems that fewer people, however, are aware that God also instructed Noah, saying,

โ€œYou shall take with you seven each of every clean animal, a male and his female; two each of animals that are unclean, a male and his female; also seven each of birds of the air, male and female, to keep the species alive on the face of all the earthโ€ (Genesis 7:2-3, emp. added). According to Bible critics, these verses are contradictory. โ€œAre clean beasts to enter by 2โ€™s or by 7โ€™s?โ€ asked skeptic Dennis McKinsey (1983, p. 1).

To answer McKinseyโ€™s question, the clean beasts and birds entered the ark โ€œby sevensโ€ (KJV), while the unclean animals went into the ark by twos.

There is no contradiction here. Genesis 6:19 indicates that Noah was to take โ€œtwo of every sort into the ark.โ€ Then, four verses later, God supplemented this original instruction, informing Noah in a more detailed manner to take more of the clean animals.

If a farmer told his son to take two of every kind of farm animal to the state fair, and then instructed his son to take several extra chickens and two extra pigs for a barbecue, would anyone accuse the farmer of contradicting himself? Certainly not.

It was necessary for Noah to take additional clean animals because, upon his departure from the ark after the Flood, he โ€œbuilt an altar to the Lord, and took of every clean animal and of every clean bird, and offered burnt offerings on the alterโ€ (Genesis 8:20).

If Noah had taken only two clean animals from which to choose when sacrificing to God after departing the ark, then he would have driven the various kinds of clean beasts and birds into extinction by sacrificing one of each pair.

Thus, after God told Noah to take two of every kind of animal into the ark, He then instructed him to take extras of the clean animals.

Similar to how Genesis chapter 2 supplements the first chapter of Genesis by giving a more detailed account of the Creation (see Lyons, 2002), the first portion of Genesis 7 merely supplements the end of the preceding chapter, โ€œcontaining several particulars of a minute description which were not embraced in the general directions first given to Noahโ€ (Jamieson, et al., 1997). http://www.apologeticspress.org

19. Again, easily explained for those who want to KNOW the TRUTH; not for inherent scoffers of the truth!

Feeding 4,000 And 5,000

Q. What is the significance between Jesus feeding the 4000 in one case and the 5000 in another?

A. While both events really happened, both also have highly symbolic meanings, and are aimed at different audiences.

The feeding of 5,000 was more Jewish in its nature. It happened near Passover time, thereโ€™s a veiled reference to the 23rd Psalm, and there were 12 baskets left over. The number 5000 implies the advent of the Age of Grace.

It symbolized that Jesus, the Bread of Life, was sufficient to satisfy the spiritual hunger of the 12 tribes of Israel, represented by the 12 baskets. The Feeding of the 5000 is the only pre-resurrection miracle to be included in all four gospels, and you have to read all four accounts to get the full impact.

The Feeding of the 4000 is contained only in Matt. and Mark and like the 5000 includes a mass healing. Itโ€™s more for the Gentiles, four being the number of the Earth and the 7 baskets left over, combined with the healing, shows His divine ability to completely meet the needs of all the Earth.

Hereโ€™s a link to the article I wrote comparing these two events for more detail:

Feeding the 5,000. http://www.gracethroughfaith.com

20. Bush Tea January 8, 2016 at 10:38 AM #

Bushie gives you โ€ฆ.Zoe!

You would think that, after ADMITTING his inability to answer a FUNDAMENTAL question posed here some years ago by a blogger called โ€˜Technicianโ€™, Zoe would try to LISTEN more, to think more critically, and be a LOT more humble, in seeking to dissect even more complex issuesโ€ฆ

You Bush Tea, are such a LIAR…I answered then to Technician and you, a sound Biblical explanation, entirely consistent and coherent from God’s Word, which in your all’s inept ‘spiritual’ darkness, unable to grasp and understand, was rejected… as is expected by deceived fools!

But, then again, Bush Tea, anyone as ARROGANT as you, who openly declared here on BU, that: “I WILL BE GOD…” could only be an inveterate LIAR just as your SPIRITUAL father WAS, and still IS*, SATAN the father of ALL LIES!

21. Matthew 28:9 – Who Saw Jesus First?

Q: To whom did Jesus first appear? Matthew 28:1-9 says that Jesus appeared first to the two Marys. Mark 16:9 and John 20:11-12 say that Jesus appeared first to Mary Magdalene. Luke 24:13-31 says that Jesus first appeared to Cleopas and another disciple. Meanwhile, in the list of appearances in First Corinthians 15:4-5, Cephas is listed first! Logically, even if one granted the idea that Jesus appeared to anybody, only one of these accounts can be correct.

A: Lets look at I Cor. 10:4-5 first. Nowhere does that passage say that Cephas was the first person to whom Jesus appeared after the resurrection. Paul simply relates that Jesus did appear to him.

This interlocks with the statement of the apostles in Luke 24:34 that The Lord is risen indeed, and has appeared unto Simon. Thus it seems that Jesus appeared to Simon before appearing to the gathered-together disciples, in both reports (Luke 24 and I Cor. 15). But neither one states that the appearance to Cephas was the very first appearance Jesus made to anyone after His resurrection.

Mary Magdalene holds the distinction of being the first human being to see Jesus after His resurrection.

After the angels delivered their message to the women at the tomb (Mary Magdalene, the other Mary, Joanna, Salome, and at least one other), Mary Magdalene lingered at the tomb, went in, and saw two angels. Then she encountered Jesus (in John 20:14-17). After that, she ran and caught up with the women who had left the tomb earlier. Then, as the whole group resumed the journey to the disciples, Jesus appeared to them (in Matthew 28:9-10). At some point after this, Jesus appeared to Simon Peter. And after that, He appeared — though in a form not readily identifiable — to Cleopas and Cleopas fellow-disciple (in Luke 24:13-31). http://www.sabdiscussion.yuku.com

22. Donna January 7, 2016 at 9:36 AM #
    Zoe,

” My problem is with YOUR LITERAL INTERPRETATION OF THE OLD TESTAMENT WHICH PORTRAYS GOD AS GLEEFULLY AND BRUTALLY DISPOSING OF SINNERS, AND MOST TROUBLESOME OF ALL, CHILDREN WHO HAVE NOT YET BEEN GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO SIN. MY PROBLEM IS NOT WITH GOD. WHATEVER HE DOES IS WELL DONE! THE QUESTION IS โ€“ WHAT HAS HE ACTUALLY DONE? THAT IS WHERE WE DIFFER!

Where does it say in the Bible, that God GLEEFULLY….disposing of sinners? you have a real problem in COMPREHENDING the Absolute Holiness, Righteousness, and Justice of God!

These people that He wiped out, WHERE the most wicked, EVIL, idolatrous civilizations in antiquity. He dealt with them according to His HOLY, RIGHTEOUS JUSTICE; as He CANNOT look upon SIN!

God does NOT gleefully destroy anyone; but His Absolute Holiness, DEMANDS that Justice be applied.

“For I have NO PLEASURE in the death of one who dies,” says the Lord God. ‘Therefore turn and live.” ( Ezekiel 18:32)

Regarding the death of the children who died along with their EVIL, wicked parents; who use to offer them UP on the altars of child SACRIFICE to the FALSE god’s, imagine living in such an EVIL civilization as children, the UTTER corruption of EVIL they were exposed to?

God in His Gracious Mercy, took their LIVES out of this EVIL, and because they were still children, He probably took all the children to Heaven; while their parents went to Hell.

“MY PROBLEM IS NOT WITH GOD. WHATEVER HE DOES IS WELL DONE! THE QUESTION IS โ€“ WHAT HAS HE ACTUALLY DONE? THAT IS WHERE WE DIFFER!”

The first part of this statement, IS the first sensible thing you have SAID, “MY PROBLEM IS NOT WITH GOD. WHAT HE DOES IS WELL DONE!”

Absolutely, ALL things He DOES, are WELL DONE! Your problem comes with NOT believing what His Word has recorded, divinely Inspired!

23. Baptism does NOT Save a lost soul, be it Baby or adult baptism!

This antecedent FIRST wrong doctrine has taken multitudes to HELL!

“Poor Zoe, all in a huff, putting on his judge robes and condemning me to hell. You know what is telling here is that I havenโ€™t judged or condemned YOU or anyone else to hell. (Which I do not believe is a place of eternal burning.) I am not the Righteous Judge and I have no designs on that position.”

NO, I SAID, “This antecedent FIRST wrong doctrine HAS (past tense) taken multitudes to Hell.”

The WORD of God, condemns to Hell, not me! This FIRST wrong doctrine, according to His Word, will damn a soul to Hell,

Repentance to God, and FAITH in Jesus Christ, Saves a lost sinner; NOT Baptism!

His WORD, the Scriptures will Judge us, “Your WORD (Scriptures) IS TRUTH” (John 17:17)

24. re God does NOT gleefully destroy anyone; but His Absolute Holiness, DEMANDS that Justice be applied.

โ€œFor I have NO PLEASURE in the death of one who dies,โ€ says the Lord God. โ€˜Therefore turn and live.โ€ ( Ezekiel 18:32)

2 Peter 3:9 reinforces the above
    The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

note the words …not willing that ANY should perish, but that ALL should come to repentance.

25. God Has Exalted His Word Above His Name

Psalm 138:2 (NKJV) “I will worship toward Your holy temple, and praise Your name for Your lovingkindness and Your truth; for you have magnified Your WORD above all Your name.”

Why has God magnified His Word above all His Name?

A name is only as good as the word of the person behind that name. A man’s name is esteemed when his word is good. A man’s name inherently communicates the integrity of that man.

This is why Proverbs 22:1 declares, “A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches…” and Ecclesiastes 7:1 says, “A good name is better than precious ointment…”

God’s Name is magnified because He is faithful to keep His WORD. The nature and character of God’s Name is revealed through His WORD.

The Bible, the Word of God, reveals the God behind His Name. God’s Name is to praised because His WORD is ever true!

God’s Name is holy. Therefore God will not sanction by His Name what He has not sanctioned by His WORD. Neither is He obligated to recognize our works done in His Name (Matthew 7:22-23).

Thus we should never accept on face value what is done by people “in the Name of the Lord” or “in Jesus’ Name” (Jeremiah 23:30-32). We must test what is said and done “in His Name” by the WORD of God (1 John 4:1).

Why? It is because what God sanctions with His Name will never be inconsistent or contradictory with what He has revealed about Himself in His WORD. God will confirm His WORD done in His Name (Mark 16:20). Because God’s Name is holy, He has chosen to sanctify it by magnifying His WORD above His Name. http://www.gracefellowshiprusr.com

“Sanctify them by Your TRUTH, Your WORD is TRUTH.” John 17: 17) Emphasis added.

“The Truth Shall Make You Free.

“Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed in Him. ‘If you ABIDE in My WORD, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall KNOW the TRUTH, and the TRUTH shall make you FREE.” (John 8: 31,32) Emphasis added.

26. Zoe,

There is really NO SIGNIFICANCE in any of the questions I asked you EXCEPT that they show that THE HOLY SPIRIT DID NOT TAKE OVER THE MINDS OF ANYONE IN ORDER FOR THE BIBLE TO BE WRITTEN. Why would there be any discrepancies, HOWEVER MINOR, if that was the case? The scriptures were inspired by God but not dictated. His message was filtered through regular human minds and that’s why the Bible is not to be taken literally but examined so as to separate God’s input from man’s culture, historical context, knowledge of science etc.

But you and your sidekick can continue to drink your PhD milk. I have been weaned on to solid foods.

Now that you have acknowledged the discrepancies you can rant on alone.

Gotta prepare for my Sunday School class!

27. Bushie,

Did not mean to torment Zoe. But this literal word for word interpretation of the Bible poses problems for many, including my best friend, who would love to believe. Nobody who reads the Bible with an open mind and intelligent brain would be able to believe that a God of love could behave in the manner portrayed by a literal interpretation of the Old Testament.

Another question I have is : Is God going to reprogramme our brains for the afterlife? I can’t imagine blissfully living it up in heaven or in paradise on earth while my “unsaved” mother, father, brother or child is tormented by the fiery furnace because they “trusted their infant baptism and confirmation.” So do our feelings for these “misguided souls” disappear in the afterlife? If not, what a wonderful time it will be! LOL Oh, what a wonderful God Zoe worships!

28. millertheanunnaki January 7, 2016 at 5:32 PM #
    @ Zoe January 6, 2016 at 1:22 PM

โ€œEVERY WORD (the Scriptures) IS PURE. do NOT ADD to His Words ( the Scriptures) lest He rebuke YOU and YOU are found to BE A LIAR.โ€ (Prov. 30: 5,6)โ€

“So you really believe every word of your god Yahweh must be followed literally to a โ€œTโ€?”

“So why then do you NOT follow (to an โ€œLโ€) the instructions from your god regarding interactions with menstruating women? You must, on a daily basis, interact closely with women who are on their periods and at times could be intimately โ€˜associating with a โ€˜bleedingโ€™ female unless you are a rabid homosexual expressing the same raving misogynistic passion as you show towards anyone who refuses to display your religious bigotry and hate.”

Miller, I answered this question on Leviticus 15 before; but, as usual you can’t remember, or just plain suffering from early dementia.

Anyway, you will NOT understand the significance of why God instituted these exact procedures in that era of the OT, and the symbolic aspects of what God used in them, pointing us to Jesus in these shadows and types of the Old Testament.

The following is a relatively brief extract, from a truly wonderful exposition on Leviticus 15, given in a down-to-earth style of writing, and its symbolic reference to us today, Christians, which you will again scoff at.

Read the Scripture: Leviticus 15

We are dealing in the book of Levitius with the great symbolic pictures of what God has provided for us in Jesus Christ and of how to live life and to face trials and problems and dangers and difficulties, and solve them — all taught to us in these wonderful shadows and types of the Old Testament. Today we come to the fifteenth chapter, and perhaps some of you have been afraid of what we run into here.

The other day I greeted one of the leading men in our church and said, “Hello, how are you?” He said, “I’m fine, but a little fearful.” I said, “Fearful of what?” And he said, “I am a little afraid of what you are going to do when you come to the fifteenth chapter of Leviticus.”

In this chapter we have reference to certain bodily functions, especially discharges from the body, which many feel are so personal and intimate that it is not proper to read this in public nor to refer to it openly. But my answer to that is: “If this chapter should not be read then it should never have been written.”

We are assured in the book of Proverbs that “every word of God is pure” (Proverbs 30:5 KJV), is clean, and there is nothing immoral or wrong about any portion of Scripture.

If the Holy Spirit can be charged with poor taste, then what in the world is the measure of good taste? Our problem is that our attitudes need to be corrected. The Word of God ought to judge and correct us, and not we it. It is our outlook of prudishness and oversensitivity that is wrong. The Bible looks at the human body with a wonderful frankness. It is never vulgar, never obscene, never descends to toilet-talk, but neither is it squeamish or priggish. It simply treats these subjects as they ought to be treated.

These bodily functions are absolutely essential to our lives, and there is nothing wrong with them. Like many of you, I was raised under the Victorian ethic which assumed that the human body ended at the waist and that nothing below that was ever to be mentioned.

Now, of course, we have swung so far in the opposite direction that it might appear that there is nothing above the waist! But I genuinely feel that the swing to an extreme of permissiveness in sexual matters, which we see so much abroad today, is a direct result of the extreme which already prevailed of Victorian prudery toward the body and especially toward sex.

God made sex. He designed it and so there is nothing wrong with it nor is there anything wrong in discussing it. But oftentimes the way we have been raised makes us overly sensitive in this area. So it is necessary that we correct this attitude and see ourselves as needing to be changed. When this chapter speaks as it does of menstruation, of seminal emissions, of the normal discharges of elimination, there is no need for us to blush, to squirm, or to feel embarrassed. http://www.raystedman.org/old-testament/leviticus/the-trouble-with-nature

29. Donna January 8, 2016 at 3:06 PM #

Another question I have is : Is God going to reprogramme our brains for the afterlife? I canโ€™t imagine blissfully living it up in heaven or in paradise on earth while my โ€œunsavedโ€ mother, father, brother or child is tormented by the fiery furnace because they โ€œtrusted their infant baptism and confirmation.โ€ So do our feelings for these โ€œmisguided soulsโ€ disappear in the afterlife? If not, what a wonderful time it will be! LOL Oh, what a wonderful God Zoe worships!

Clearly, God will look after that in our afterlife; as we obviously do NOT enter Heaven in the Glorious, Holy, presence of His Kingdom, with the same brains, as we had on earth.

Our New Glorified bodies, that will be given us on the day of Resurrection, to be reunited with our Souls/Spirits, if we are already with Jesus in Heaven, Or, those who are still alive on earth, when the Rapture takes place, will also receive their New Glorified bodies, NEVER to dies again, will FOREVER be with the Lord. In Glory and in Peace, with HIM, forever and ever! Amen and Amen!

Eternal Fire, in the Lake of Fire, for those that REJECTED God’s offer of forgiveness and Eternal Life with him, through Our Lord Jesus Christ.

Do you believe in ETERNAL LIFE, for those who are Saved?

Jesus spoke MORE about Hell, and everlasting Damnation for the LOST souls than anyone else in the New Testament.

That’s precisely WHY He came to earth, and DIED on the Cross, to REDEEM us, FROM, out of Sin and the consequences of SIN, ETERNAL PUNISHMENT!

The same adjective ETERNAL qualifies BOTH nouns, LIFE, with Him in Heaven, and PUNISHMENT, apart FROM Him, in the Lake of Fire.

You CANNOT have ONE, Eternal Life, without the other Eternal Punishment!

If you can take ETERNAL LIFE, Literally, as it is written, in His Word, then you must also take the SAME Greek word, rendered ETERNAL, Literally as it speaks of Hell and the Lake of Fire for the Lost Souls, who willfully REJECTED God and Jesus Christ!

You have to stop using your HUMANISTIC finite brain, to understand how and WHY God does things His Way:

“For My THOUGHTS are NOT your thoughts, Nor are your ways My WAYS, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My WAYS higher than your your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55: 8, 9) Emphasis added.

30. @ Donna
    But this literal word for word interpretation of the Bible poses problems for many,
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Girl…. apart from the OBVIOUS confusion that arises, the Bible ITSELF suggests to us that we do not take it literally…..and that to do so is dangerous.

However this poses problems for those with their ‘big-up’ degrees and extensive knowledge of ancient Greek and Hebrew…. what the hell will they do with their exegeses and intimate knowledge of the meaning of phrases and laws….

…besides you think BBE is a micro mock engineer?
    …wuh if the bible was just like any other book to understand ..what chance would AC, Dompey and their ilk have….?
    This is ADVANCED design ..where the ability to understand is UNRELATED to traditional brain-power….
    Obviously it HAD to be engineered this way to ensure that EVERYONE had an equal chance to ‘get it’…. and not just the Ping Pongs and Artaxerxes of this world….
    LOL ….even a ‘seed-picking’ bushman (who claims that he WILL be adopted into BBE’s growing family…..) can get it ๐Ÿ™‚

31. @ Miller, come on NAKI, instead of asking silly questions about Leviticus 15, I CHALLENGE you AGAIN, to deal with my post as of Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:28 AM.

REFUTE these points as listed below, historically, by sound science methodology, NOT with OUT any substantive facts as YOU always do; and rhetorical NONSENSE!

Waiting to hear from you NAKI!

Zoe January 4, 2016 at 7:28 AM #
    @ Miller, Evolution, is a Philosophy, NOT a Science, it is pseudo-science.

Miller, this post @ 7:28 AM# dealt with โ€œThe finding of pliable blood vessels, blood cells and proteins in dinosaur bone is consistent with an age of thousands of years for the fossils, not the 65+ million years claimed by the paleontologists.โ€

Once again, Miller, you CANNOT answer to the TRUE science of these FACTS, which clearly reveal that Dinosaurs lived THOUSANDS of years ago, consistent with Creation, and NOT 65+ million years as claimed by bogus paleontologists!

Zoe January 4, 2016 at 7:52 AM #
    Dinosaurs โ€“ a Powerful Testimony for Creation.

Sensational dinosaur blood report!

โ€œIt is of course much less of a surprise to those who believe Genesis, in which case dinosaur remains are at most only a few thousand years old.โ€

What are you, Miller, going to do with these TRUE science FACTS? Keep dogging the TRUTH!

Zoe January 4, 2016 at 9:15 AM #
    What growth rate is needed to get six billion people since the Flood?

โ€œIt is relatively easy to calculate the growth rate needed to get todayโ€™s population from Noahโ€™s three sons and their wives, after the Flood. With the Flood at about 4,500 years ago, it needs less than 0.5% per year growth.6 Thatโ€™s not very much.โ€

Miller, REFUTE this? Go ahead, I CHALLENGE YOU to REFUTE the calculations which bring us down to get todayโ€™s population from Noahโ€™s three sons and their wives, AFTER the Flood! Entirely consistent with Godโ€™s Word, the Bible!

Zoe January 4, 2016 at 9:25 AM #
    Mitochondrial Eve and biblical Eve are looking good: criticism of young age is premature
    by Carl Wieland

โ€œCreationists have enthusiastically welcomed the โ€˜mitochondrial Eveโ€™ hypothesis (i.e. that all modern humans can be traced back to one woman) because it clearly supports biblical history and contradicts evolutionary scenarios.โ€

So, Miller, because you honestly CANNOT deal with above posts, which rest ON True science methodologies, substantiating the Bible, you then in YOUR typical red-herring distractives, now come AGAIN, with the SAME foolishness, referring to Numbers 31: 7, 17-18, and Deuteronomy 20:16, ALL of which I have ALREADY answered in its proper Old Testament context of the ancient PAGAN nations, with whom God HAD to deal with accordingly, in His Righteousness and Holiness, NOT vindictiveness, which you will NEVER understand!

Come on Miller, get real, be intellectually HONEST, if thatโ€™s possible at ALL; and deal with the EVIDENCE of TRUE science, OR, REFUTE, which you CANNOT!

32. Bush Tea January 8, 2016 at 5:56 PM #
    But this literal word for word interpretation of the Bible poses problems for many,
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Girlโ€ฆ. apart from the OBVIOUS confusion that arises, the Bible ITSELF suggests to us that we do not take it literallyโ€ฆ..and that to do so is dangerous.

Bush Tea, please tell us where in the Bible, “…the Bible ITSELF suggest to us that we do not take it literally….and that to so is dangerous.”

33. lol murdah!

AS DAVID WOULD SAY KEEP TALKING ZOE SO THAT OTHERS CAN PICK SENSE FROM NONSENSE
    BY THIER FRUITS YOU SHALL KNOW THEM

34. In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth and darkness was upon the earth and God said light there be light and there was light
    Question can darkness be formed without the presence of light

35. Looking forward to Jeff’s next post. Hope it is not hijacked by Zoe or I will then be asking David to ban Jeff.

36. bajan Bible brimblers on BU are more enlightened than internationally accredited Bible scholars

listen only to Bible brimblers on BU and BU scoffers and you will be well taught and you will be able to pick sense from nonsense…………..murdah

37. can the bajan Bible brimblers on BU enlighten me as to what Jesus meant when in John 10 he says “I am the door:”

Is he to be taken litterally or is this only obviously a metaphor?

38. matter of fact Jesus teachings were inspirational and his philosophies were well grounded in moral teaching Love thy neighbor.Nothing hard to understand theoretically but practically had to put in action……. hence when my neighbor jump the fence and steal the prized bull the reaction is anything but love towards the scoundrel get my drift , Jesus was a master word smith Taught goodness of peace and love which in reality are hard to put in action when those circumstances of irrationality and unreasonableness make way for retribution with great haste ,

39. Question can darkness be formed without the presence of light?Lies

Darkness IS NOT something! Darkness IS the absence of LIGHT.

Cold is NOT something. Cold is the absence of HEAT.

Evil is the absence of LOVE.

LIES, FALSITY, is the perversion of TRUTH!

40. Question then how is it possible for light to come out of darkness. Therfore light must be an invisible component of darkness which generates energy at specific time or periods resulting into what is known as darkness.
    Most noticeably is when darkness recedes light emerges

41. Barbados Scholar,

God does not GLEEFULLY destroy anyone. This is so true and consistent with a God of love. He wants to save us all but alas some of us are foolishly rebellious. Those who persist in rebellion and making life miserable for themselves and others will eventually be put out of their misery. And those that remain shall enjoy life without them. That makes sense according to the outlook on life that GOD has blessed me with. It would be folly to allow the wicked to continue forever. But pray tell what is the purpose of the ETERNAL fire?

Now let us apply some logic here, God was of a mind to destroy Sodom and because of the outcry about the grave wickedness of the people there. He is described as having to “go down” to see if that was actually the case. Abraham bargained saying, “Far be it from you to do such a thing, to slay the righteous with the wicked….Shall not the judge of the earth do what is just?” And Abraham gradually brought the number of persons for whom the city should be saved from fifty to ten. God eventually decided that if ten righteous person could be found there He would not destroy the city. Why would Abraham need to bargain with God on this. If He is not willing that one should be lost? Why did Abraham have to plead for ten?

Why? Though there MAY have been a city called Sodom that was destroyed GOD was NOT the destroyer. This story is not to be taken literally.

God gave us a brain to think with. It is the only one we have. We can only understand with a human mind. If God wants us to behave in a particular way He would have first to set the example. We cannot explain away unfairness by saying, He is God and can do as He pleases because our minds are limited and cannot understand.

I might be a Bible brimmer but those who have cleared up my discomfiture with the Old Testament ARE NOT. They have as many Phds as Zoe. And theirs did not come from the PINE HILL DAIRY.

Drink up!

42. Right now, my fruit is here being according to his teachers “a CARING AND HELPFUL CHILD.” He is loving and forgiving and respectful but no pushover. He is well on is way to becoming all that he is meant to be. He has already chosen the narrow road and has a faith so strong that he automatically prays about situations and trusts in the Lord to help him. Thanks be to the Holy Spirit whose guidance I prayed for in raising my child!

43. The Gazer,

The thread was dead before it was hijacked.

44. Of course jesus did not mean in a literal sense that he is a door but the door was symbolic of a opening or a passage way by which one can enter
    His choice of word can be easily explained in accordance to the those he was speaking to

45. IF YOU INTERPRET THE TEXT IN ITS CONTEXT YOU WILL FIND THAT HE IS SAYING HE WAS THE DOOR OF THE SHEEPFOLD

HIS HEARERS KNEW THAT SHEPHERDS WHEN THEY TOOK THEIR FLOCKS INTO THE HILLS MADE A TEMPORARY BARRIER CALLED THE SHEEPFOLD . THE SHEPHERD WAS THE DOOR IN THAT HE SLEPT IN THE DOORWAY

OF COURSE THE BU BRIMBLERS WILL EMIT YOUR BS NOW
    BUT THIS INFO WAS GLEANED FROM JEWISH SHEPHERDS
    AND I JUST WASTED FIVE MINUTES

46. of course if you read with understanding the last sentence of my comment
    i did state Jesis,s choice of the word door was spoken in accordance to the audience he was addressing
    But of course you are always quick to raise your arms and fling them around in an unprincipled and disorderly fashion.. actions that are not in accordance with the teachings of the one Jesus who you can easily quote but have a hard time applying with practically his philosophies and ideologies towards those whose grasp of bible teachings does not line up with your interpretation
    Question GP what do you think Jesus would say to you if or when you meet him on his second arrival

47. he will say son you realLy ENDURDED MUCH unnecessarILY by the BU BIBLE BRIMBLERS

48. Arguing Against Hell from the Love of God

We hear it said often that God is too tender, kind, and forgiving to allow men to suffer in Hell. Pleading the love and pity of God, men insist that He would not allow His creatures to perish.

There are many beautiful and sentimental sayings about the love of God that are quoted to support the view that He would not allow one soul to suffer torment in eternity.

But we dare never lose sight of the fact that oneโ€™s escape from Hell is not dependent upon the love of God but upon the repentance and faith of each individual person. God is love, to be certain, but man also has a free will.

Men are not doomed and damned to Hell by God, but they go there because they have willfully rejected Godโ€™s only way of escape from sinโ€™s penalty, saving faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. God was love in the Old Testament times, and yet the children of Israel were punished for their sins.

It would be an insult to the justice and honor of God were He to allow the unrighteous and unholy rejectors of Jesus Christ to share eternally the abode and โ€œthe things which God hath prepared for them that love Himโ€ (1 Corinthians 2:9).

Sin condemns just as sure as fire burns, and God is justified in putting into effect the immortal law that โ€œwhatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reapโ€ (Galatians 6:8).

Hell–A Literal Place of Future Punishment

Some people engage themselves in much wishful thinking about Hell. It has been said that the fires of Hell mean the torments of conscience. Others say that Hell is simply the grave. We do not question that the torments of conscience will be included in the eternal punishment of the lost, though Hell will not be the torments of conscience only.

But we cannot agree at all with those who teach that Hell is simply the grave. One must be either a deceiver or an illiterate to say that Hell is the grave. When the unsaved rich man died he went to Hell, and cried: โ€œI am tormented in this flameโ€ (Luke 16:24).

The body of the rich man was dead, but that man knew that his soul was in a literal place and not merely in a spiritual state.

Notice the use of the word โ€œfire,โ€ which denotes that the fire of Hell is as literal as the place itself. Repeatedly our Lord and the apostles spoke of the fire of Hell.

But I say unto you, That whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council; but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire (Matthew 5:22).

Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire (Matthew 7:19).

The Son of man shall send forth his angels, and they shall gather out of his kingdom all things that offend, and them which do iniquity; And shall cast them into a furnace of fire: there shall be wailing and gnashing of teeth (Matthew 13:41, 42).

Wherefore if thy hand or thy foot offend thee, cut them off, and cast them from thee: it is better for thee to enter into life halt or maimed, rather than having two hands or two feet to be cast into everlasting fire. And if thine eye offend thee, pluck it out, and cast it from thee: it is better for thee to enter into life with one eye, rather than having two eyes to be cast into hell fire (Matthew 18:8, 9).

Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels (Matthew 25:41).

Where their worm dieth not, and the fire is not quenched (Mark 9:44).

And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame (Luke 16:24).

In flaming fire taking vengeance on them that know not God, and that obey not the gospel of Our Lord Jesus Christ (2 Thessalonians 1:8).

And the angels which kept not their first estate, but left their own habitation, he hath reserved in everlasting chains under darkness unto the judgment of the great day. Even as Sodom and Gomorrah, and the cities about them in like manner, giving themselves over to fornication, and going after strange flesh, are set forth for an example, suffering the vengeance of eternal fire (Jude 6, 7).

The same shall drink of the wine of the wrath of God, which is poured out without mixture into the cup of his indignation; and he shall be tormented with fire and brimstone in the presence of the holy angels, and in the presence of the Lamb (Revelation 14:10).

Therefore shall her plagues come in one day, death, and mourning, and famine; and she shall be utterly burned with fire: for strong is the Lord God who judgeth her (Revelation 18:8).

And the beast was taken, and with him the false prophet that wrought miracles before him, with which he deceived them that had received the mark of the beast, and them that worshipped his image. These both were cast alive into a lake of fire burning with brimstone (Revelation 19:20).

And the devil that deceived them was cast into the lake of fire and brimstone, where the beast and the false prophet are, and shall be tormented day and night for ever and ever (Revelation 20:10).

And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death. And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire (Revelation 20:14, 15).

But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death (Revelation 21:8).

You may study these statements and believe them, or else you may pass them by. You may believe that the Bible is for today, or else you may laugh at it as a bit of obsolete dogma.

But today you are face to face with eternal statements in the Word of God which will survive the heavens and the earth. Your unbelief cannot disprove nor alter them.

When the resurrected physical bodies of the unbelievers of every age leave the Judgment of the Great White Throne, they will go into a literal Hell of fire.

And be sure that the body will share with the soul in its suffering. Jesus said:

โ€œMarvel not at this: for the hour is coming, in which all that are in the graves shall hear his voice, And shall come forth; they that have done good, unto the resurrection of life; and they that have done evil, unto the resurrection of damnationโ€ (John 5:28, 29).

May we ask what part of man is in the grave? We all agree that it is his body. Therefore we can depend on Christโ€™s statement that that part of man that is buried in the grave will come forth to be damned eternally.

Will Future Punishment be Endless?

At death the eternal state of each person is immutably fixed. The words โ€œeternal,โ€ โ€œeverlasting,โ€ โ€œfor everโ€ and โ€œfor ever and everโ€ express endless duration.

The New Testament use of these expressions denotes eternity.5 It is unreasonable to assume that there is an eternal Heaven but not an eternal Hell.

Eternal punishment is as much a truth of Godโ€™s Word as is the eternal rewards for the righteous. Jesus said:

โ€œAnd these shall go away into everlasting punishment, but the righteous into life eternalโ€ (Matthew 25:46). The life of the righteous is everlasting, but so is the punishment of the wicked everlasting.

The Bible says that salvation is eternal (Hebrews 5:9), life is eternal (John 6:54), redemption is eternal (Hebrews 9:12), and the inheritance of the saints is eternal (Hebrews 9:15).

But it says also that the fire of Hell is eternal and everlasting (Matthew 18:8; Jude 7); the chains of Hell are everlasting (Jude 6); the blackness of darkness is for ever (Jude 13), and the torment is for ever and ever (Revelation 20:10).

The punishment of the wicked and the life of the righteous are for equal duration, โ€œfor ever and ever.โ€ http://www.bible.org