HOMO SAPIENS, more Questions than Answers
Sorry, I don’t accept Evolution as a science as it cannot be proven. Rather, it is a belief based on a theory competing with other similar beliefs. It has no place in the discipline of science – (Guyana Online)
[…]
The Evolution debate cum the ingenuity of Homo sapiens will rage until the end times. The subject is intriguing for the reason we know so little about how the creature Homo sapiens was originally formed. Whether one subscribes to faith base beliefs or the Big Bang theory (another belief), the intrigue fuelled by the unknown is the same.
Here is the link to an interesting paper titled HOMO SAPIENS posted to Guyana Online newspaper by Leslie Chin and submitted to BU by Errol Harry.
Homo sapiens is undoubtedly the most intelligent creature that ever existed, together with a favourable anatomy he has come to dominate the world. However Homo sapiens is a flawed species with many shortcoming which may eventually lead to his demise. Homo sapiens is essentially a cave man who lives by the tenet “survival of the fittest” which is a legacy of our time as hunter gathers. In an increasingly crowded and complex world we have to suppress our warlike tendency if we want to live in peace. With nuclear and chemical weapons we have the potential to annihilate ourselves many times over. Until we evolve into a more benign, more empathic species (by Darwinian evolution?) we will continue to behave as we do – competitive, selfish, greedy, vindictive and homicidal, hell bent on destroying each other.
Read full Article – Homo Sapiens
Read Errol Harry’s reply to the quote above.
Dr Sawak
I’m surprised about your stance on evolution cos if you reject it you should not consult Dr’s. Go to you tube n look at What Darwin never knew…..a BBC documentary then see if evolution is an un proven belief as you believe human gnome mapping and all Modern medical science has ratified Darwin from the dna discovery in 1954 to Chimps being 99% human genetically.
A genetic eye problem in Germany was traced to the fruit fly the identical gene too AND WHY would the Great Designer in the sky contrive to make the humble rice grain more complex than we humans genetically? 4600 vs 2800 genes. In Guyana we used to disparage ragamuffin dogs as Rice – eaters. …
The growing Immunity to antibiotics is evolution right there..Fin ally..after exercising take off your tee shirt n ID where the biggest wet mark is yeah on your back …why ? When we were on all fours Bro you are entitled to your beliefs but not to yr own facts as the Guardian comments section says..
all the major Christian faiths have now secretly prepared doctrinal shape-shifting to deal with the discovery of alien life…which is expected.
While On you tube .type in Big Youth and play Natty cultural dread Pope Paul God made the world n all within it.. must be slightly amended from world to universe to encompass galaxies n the aliens. Some even believe they are already among us
have a closer look at the messianic countenances of Tony Blair or George Bush or Trump..in full verbal flight…
This is sheer political prejudice of course Because my scant knowledge of human origins allied to the age of our planet 4 billion years and our first appearance in Africa 2.5 million years ago I think but millions not billions should have led me to expect the aliens to start cloning we Africans first. So have a closer Look at Robert Mugabe Idi Amin or Zuma on the continent or closer to home where all the hatred is . just.look at Dr Ben gifted hands Carson in the USA
Now besides all of his embarrassing (to the race) utterances why would this ex rucciatingly brilliant human suddenly feel the urge to deal with Pyramids?
or cleave to the ADVENTISTS of all the 30000 Christian denominations available to him?
Must be the X factor indeed but Isn’t that a strange religious choice Dr Sawak?
and what about our dear brother Prof Cornel West…see also on you tube the film Brother from another planet ..it’s great.
Me? Oh I’m a Catholic jus stickin to the Devil I know…
Amen to that.
One love
Errol

Zoe
No disrespect to the Jewish religion, but I often wonder why none of the Pagan philosophers wrote of their account of Jesus who lived under Roman rule?
LikeLike
Something to lighten the mood.
LikeLike
Zoe
Question: “Who created God? Who made God? Where did God come from?”
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Answer Man
that is the reason the question remains a puzzle , Man concept of God originates out a need God becomes the ultimate problem solver
LikeLike
http://www.closertotruth.com/series/whats-real-about-time
LikeLike
. Jerusalem: Incredible archaeological find brings Bible to life
by Ari Soffer
Archaeologists digging just south of Jerusalem’s Temple Mount have made a historic discovery, unearthing the first-ever seal impression of an Israelite or Judean king ever exposed in situ in a scientific archaeological excavation.
The discovery, made during Ophel excavations at the foot of the southern wall of the Temple Mount, is an impression of the royal seal of the Biblical King Hezekiah, who reigned between 727–698 BCE.
Measuring 9.7 X 8.6 mm, the oval impression was imprinted on a 3 mm thick soft bulla (piece of inscribed clay) measuring 13 X 12 mm. Around the impression is the depression left by the frame of the ring in which the seal was set.
The impression bears an inscription in ancient Hebrew script reading: “לחזקיהו [בן] אחז מלך יהדה”//”Belonging to Hezekiah [son of] Ahaz king of Judah.”
Experts identified several other subtle details about the artifact, surmising that it was originally used to seal a document written on a papyrus scroll which was then rolled and tied with thin cords, leaving their mark on the reverse of the bulla.
The bulla was discovered in a refuse dump dated to the time of King Hezekiah or shortly after, and originated in the Royal Building that stood next to it and appears to have been used to store foodstuffs. The building, one of a series of structures that also included a gatehouse and towers, was constructed in the second half of the 10th century BCE (the time of King Solomon) as part of the fortifications of the Ophel – the new governmental quarter that was built in the area that connects the City of David with the Temple Mount.
The bulla was found together with 33 additional bullae imprinted from other seals, some bearing Hebrew names, their reverse also showing marks of coarse fabric and thick cords that probably sealed sacks containing foodstuffs. http://www.mail.google.com
LikeLike
@ Dompey
The following pages will include a number of Roman and pagan historical manuscript records from the early centuries of this era about the life and influence of Jesus Christ; these documents have survived for almost two thousand years.
Cornelius Tacitus – Governor of Asia
Cornelius Tacitus was a Roman historian and governor of Asia [Turkey] in A.D. 112. He was a personal friend of the historian Pliny the Younger. In his Annals, written after AD 64, he referred to Emperor Nero’s persecution of the Christians. This attack was caused by Nero’s false accusation that the Christians had burned the city of Rome. This monstrous lie was intended to cover the truth that the evil emperor himself had ordered the capital set on fire. Tacitus wrote:
To suppress therefore the common rumour, Nero procured others to be accused, and inflicted exquisite punishments upon those people, who were in abhorrence for their crimes, and were commonly known as Christians. They had their denomination from Christus [Christ], who in the reign of Tiberius was put to death as a criminal by the procurator Pontius Pilate. (Annals of Imperial Rome, XV 44).
Tacitus, as a Roman government official and historian with access to the government archives of Rome, confirmed many of the historical details in the Gospels, as well as the books of Acts and Romans. He confirmed that Jesus was executed as a criminal under the authority of Pontius Pilate (who ruled Judea under the reign of Emperor Tiberius). He also declared that the Christians, who began in Judea and were now spreading throughout the empire, derived their worship and religion from the person known as Christ. He verified the explosive growth of this new religion within 32 years of Jesus’ crucifixion despite the fact that its founder suffered the death penalty as a criminal. Additionally, Tacitus confirms that the Christians were despised, hated, and falsely accused of crimes, yet they rapidly grew to become a “vast multitude” in Rome itself (Annals XV 44). The reason Tacitus and many other Romans hated the Christians is because of the Christians refusal to worship the pagan gods, and Emperor Nero himself.
Suetonius – Roman Historian
Caius Suetonius was the official historian of Rome during the reign of both Emperor Trajan and Adrian. He was also a friend of Pliny the Younger, and was referred to in several of Pliny’s letters. Suetonius wrote a book on the Lives of the First Twelve Caesars. In the section on the Emperor Claudius (who ruled from AD 41 to 54) Suetonius referred to the Christians causing disturbances in Rome which led to their being banished from the city. Suetonius wrote about Claudius: “He banished the Jews from Rome, who were continually making disturbances, Chrestus being their leader.” He identified the sect of Jewish Christians as being derived from “the instigation of Chrestus” which was his curious spelling of the name Christ (Life of Claudius 25.4, written in A.D. 125). This statement provides powerful evidence that there were a significant number of Christians living in Rome before A.D. 54, only two decades after Jesus. This passage confirms the statement of Luke (in the Book of Acts) about the exiling of the Jews from Rome during the reign of Claudius. The Apostle Paul found, “a certain Jew named Aquila, born in Pontus, lately come from Italy, with his wife Priscilla; (because that Claudius had commanded all Jews to depart from Rome:) and came unto them” (Acts 18:2).
Pliny the Younger
Caius Plinius Secundus, known as Pliny the Younger, was born near Milan, Italy in A.D. 62. The historian Pliny, a close friend of Tacitus, served as a consul during the reign of emperor Trajan and was later appointed governor of the Roman provinces of Pontus and Bithynia [Turkey] in the period A.D. 101 to 110. He wrote to the emperor to request specific instructions about the interrogation of the Christians whom he was persecuting. In his Epistles X 96, he states that these Christian believers would not worship Emperor Trajan and would not curse their leader, Jesus Christ, even under extreme torture.
Pliny described the Christians as people who loved the truth at any cost. It is difficult to believe that these people would willingly die for Jesus Christ if they knew and believed it was a lie. The martyrdom of thousands of these Christians was based on the fact that they knew the truth of the statements in the Gospels about Jesus and were willing to die as martyrs rather than deny their faith in Jesus as the Son of God.
Lucian of Samosata
Lucian lived in Samosata in Syria during the reign of Emperor Adrian in the century following Christ. In the later years of his life he served as a government official in Alexandria, Egypt. In Lucian’s book, The Passing Peregrinus, he wrote the history of a well known Greek traveller named Proteus who was forced to flee his country after several crimes; he traveled the world under the name Peregrinus. He met some followers of Jesus in the early Church. Lucian wrote,
At which time he learned the wonderful doctrine of the Christians, by conversing with their priests and scribes near Palestine… they spoke of him as a god, and took him for a lawgiver, and honored him with the title of master… They still worship that great man who was crucified in Palestine, because he introduced into the world this new religion… Moreover their first lawgiver has taught them, that they are all brethren, when once they turned, and renounced the gods of the Greeks, and worship that master of theirs who was crucified, and engage to live according to his laws.
Lucian has provided an independent confirmation of numerous historical facts that are mentioned in the Gospels including: the crucifixion; that Jesus was considered a lawgiver; that Christ was worshipped as God; and that His followers committed to follow Christ’s laws. http://www.grantjeffrey.com
LikeLike
Zoe December 5, 2015 at 8:42 PM #
What has been copied and pasted by the above individual lies at the crux of the matter.
The gullibility of indivuals…..what we have is the greatest PR exercise ever done by Saul/Paul/Peter……..none so blind as those who will not see.
LikeLike
I’m back
LikeLike
Vincent Haynes December 5, 2015 at 8:50 PM #
Zoe December 5, 2015 at 8:42 PM #
What has been copied and pasted by the above individual lies at the crux of the matter.
The gullibility of indivuals…..what we have is the greatest PR exercise ever done by Saul/Paul/Peter……..none so blind as those who will not see.
Haynes, there are none so IGNORANT, as those like you, who are incapable of the ability to REASON, which is necessary for FACTUAL revelation, as posted, to be understood in its coherence!
LikeLike
Zoe don’t you listen to Vincent, being crazy in Barbados is like being poor in Barbados its like punishment for a crime you didn’t commit.
LikeLike
Truth is the ultimate certitude; regardless of whoever denies this reality; Truth does NOT need anyone’s approval or acceptance, to be Truth. Reality is synonymous with Truth; and Truth is unyielding, one can choose to ignore it, scorn it, or even curse it, but all to no avail; in the end TRUTH impassively stands its ground, in the face of the most overpowering emotional, verbal and intellectually dishonest onslaughts
This is because Truth has a way of frustrating theory, and much like the mongoose circling a snake, ultimately wearing it down, and devouring it.
“Jesus said to him, ‘I AM the way, the TRUTH, and the LIFE. No one come to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6) Emphasis added.
The Truth Shall Make You Free
“Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him. ‘If you abide in My Word, you are My disciples indeed.”
“And you shall KNOW the TRUTH, and the TRUTH shall make you FREE.” (John 8: 31,32) Emphasis added
LikeLike
Paul like some modern day charlatan was the fabricator of Gods laws seeking to build a Church founded on teachings and doctrines against some of the Laws of God .
Paul pick and choose what he believed was acceptable even invoking principles that suggest that the Laws of the old Testament handed down by God were no longer accepted
Now where in the Bible does God the author of peace and order ever revokes or suspends hid original laws handed down to the Jews
Paul the master salesman has been able to dissect Gods laws at will with an offering of grace to suffice principled and propagetd on grace (a false teaching ) for nowhere in the Bible does God offer Grace as a redemption to supersede His laws
What does Paul mean when he tells the gentiles Don/t let anyone pass judgement (on them)
How preposterous ! Has Paul decided that his laws pr doctrines now overrides the teachings of God
For as much as he did to reform the early church some of Paul/s teachings are also now reason to believe why the church has become controversial and divided in its
As the bible clearly states God Ways are not man/s way a guide that Paul should have invoke before going about reformation in building the early church
LikeLike
@Zoe December 5, 2015 at 11:16 PM #
Chuckle………a FACTUAL revelation……what pray tell is that?
We will never be able to reason based on your gullibility of everything written by ancient scribes that have an ever so slight reference to the possibility of this jesus character of yours,which in turn subscribes to your irrational belief in a particular god of 6000 years old responsible for earths existence and its inhabitants.
I have said before keep your beliefs,however once you evangelise them on this blog,I and others will counter them.
LikeLike
@ Ping Pong
“…Since from observation, the universe is cooling, this would suggest that the Universe is a closed system…”
We do not know enough about the Universe to do anything but speculate. It may even be an open system …for example if the idea that our universe was ‘created’ out of nothing in much the same way that we can create a modern Company by a double entry accounting process using credits and debits.
So let us say that there is a parallel ‘negative universe’ somewhere representing the ‘liability’ for our ‘Asset’, such that the absolute net will be zero. It may even be possible for energy and entropy transfers between the two …. who knows? 🙂
Have you EVER seen a Company start by itself….?
There are always Directors and a CEO Skippa…and in this case, some Big Boss Engineers…
How does cooling suggest a closed system? Surely cooling can also occur in open systems. But in any case, cooling is not directly related to entropy …except in the case of systems approaching absolute zero…is it?
The other obvious indicator that there HAD to be a time T=0 is the fact that the universe is expanding at phenomenal velocity. While this can theoretically continue for ever, it could not have been going on ‘for ever’… and if we could reverse the process, then at some point (T=0) all the pieces would meet back at some start point….presumably the same time when entropy was zero.
However you cut it, our world is a TEMPORARY, fleeting, concoction that is FAR to complex, interdependent, and interconnected to have avoided intelligent design….and by ‘intelligent’, Bushie means FAR, FAR more intelligent than anything our best brains can even conceive….even yours Ping…
Any suggestion that this is all just an ‘accidental’ outcome ..over millions of years of chance, is even more idiotic than Bajan brass bowlery…. and is only possible by those who are ignorant of the complexities of science…or who are deliberately seeking to deceive…
LikeLike
Bush Tea
You are wanted over by the devil images blog to do some wacking.
LikeLike
Lets say that there could have been multiple universe over time and the formation of this universe was a collapsing of those universe which when split apart formed the nucleus of all that there is
This present Universe therefore would not have need a creator as nature and the evolving forces had mandated and brought to life through time all that there is
LikeLike
Yes we could say that but why don’t say something that actually makes sense…..no-one has a clue
LikeLike
Vincent Haynes December 6, 2015 at 7:59 AM #
@Zoe December 5, 2015 at 11:16 PM #
Chuckle………a FACTUAL revelation……what pray tell is that?
Man, you real IG-GRUNT in true!!! If you had any more brains, you’d be a complete IDIOT!!! ….caus-in what you don’t have in sense, you make fuh in IG-GRUNCE!!!
LikeLike
Bush Tea December 6, 2015 at 8:07 AM #… We do not know enough about the Universe to do anything but speculate… However you cut it, our world is a TEMPORARY, fleeting, concoction that is FAR to complex, interdependent, and interconnected to have avoided intelligent design….and by ‘intelligent’, Bushie means FAR, FAR more intelligent than anything our best brains can even conceive….even yours Ping… // Any suggestion that this is all just an ‘accidental’ outcome ..over millions of years of chance, is even more idiotic than Bajan brass bowlery…. and is only possible by those who are ignorant of the complexities of science…or who are deliberately seeking to deceive…
You seem to contradict your accurate opening line by your later statements. You are standing at the end of the actual outcome of a series of events that had an infinite number of possible outcomes and concluding that it was the intended outcome. If the actual outcome were different, someone with your mindset would probably come to a similar conclusion.
LikeLike
So did Paul turn the teachings of Christ on their head with misinterpretations half truth and confabulated ideologies
Here is one of Paul/.s quotable quotes and regard as fact through christain teachings
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////This was a favorite passage of the Christian reformer Martin Luther. He believed, as Paul clearly lays out later in Romans and Galatians, this faith that the “just” are supposed to live by, is as opposed to living by the Law. Paul eventually turns it into an either-or… mutually exclusive incompatibility of faith and Law. Notice again that Paul feels compelled to prove his doctrine by quoting Scripture. This observation alone should make it go without saying that the Scripture he quotes had better paint the same picture, or his premise is groundless. Here again Paul misquotes Scripture albeit slightly.
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
In this passage’s context, and more accurately translated, it is obvious that what God is saying here is that the just person (someone who is righteous) shall live (as opposed to dying) “by” (literally “because of”) “his” (personal, as opposed to general) faithfulness: (literally, “steadfastness”, ) to righteous living. Let me shorten this up for better understanding. It is this: The righteous person will live if he is steadfast in his righteousness! Nowhere in this picture is the idea: If an unrighteous person wants to become righteous, he must operate in faith.
Also Jesus never gave any one the authority to prescribed or make necessary changes to the Law , not even to his own disciples
Today there are many recommendations to which the Christain church holds steadfastly which are dictated by Pauls interpretation and views of Law and which were not authorized by Jesus during his time on this earth and which can be classified as falsified doctrine
Question was it Paul’s ego that drove him to use language devoid of Law to build and reform the Church Or did Paul in earnest do so out of an yearning to seek forgiveness for the earlier wrongs he had committed against the early Church
In any event which ever road Paul took on his way to the “new Damascus ” he has left doubt and confusion within the body of Christ along the way as his teachings are masterpieces of plagarism which the church would have to confront with in time
LikeLike
@Zoe December 6, 2015 at 9:44 AM #
Chuckle……thanks oh bright one(yuh mussee tek duh same degree as Bush Tea)….you have said it all,it is pellucidly clear to all of us now.Pax Vobiscum.
LikeLike
@ Atrue Freeman
Good response bro… LOL and here Bushie was thinking that you were only focused on those big profits you are looking at with BHl… 🙂
The ‘seeming contradiction’ is a consequence of Bushie taking a great leap forward…(which would have been impossible if bloggers like ‘Not Saved’ and ‘MME’ were still around….and now apparently you…)
Your point is one used by evolutionary theorists ..basically saying “You Bushie could talk all the shiite you like about statistics and probabilities, but the FACT that we are here, means that the slight chance (however unlikely) HAD to have happened….”
A good debating tactic and it may even get past the ACs of this world, however you then have to delve into the question of INTERDEPENDENCIES and interrelationships.
There are just too many species which CANNOT exists without each other, but which would have had to take independent evolutionary paths (assuming that the evolutionary thing even made sense) to existence.
…animals that eat only specialised prey -like the duck billed platypus…
…species that CANNOT live independent of other TOTALLY different species – and would therefore had to have arrived exactly together…
…and of course there is always the chicken and the egg dilemma… which one preceded the other in ‘evolution’…?
So while we do not know enough about the Universe to do anything but speculate, we know MORE than enough about the details of nature to conclude that it was no accident….
LikeLike
“Do not give what is holy to dogs, and do not throw pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.” (Matthew 7:6).
Allegorical of course, so whether what is offered comes from the altar , the castle or the garbage, it is of no consequence to the dog. Likewise , the swine has no appreciation for beauty or value for anything of quality.
Does a bacteria know that it is a bacteria? Definitely not. He merely dwells in the environment in which he finds himself, and on which his very existence depends. Likewise a fool.
Where does God come from? Who created God? As finite beings here on this planet, we cannot , not even the greatest scientific minds, grasp the concept of the infinite. Eternal means just that ..
Two plus three has always been five, will always be five. That was so before the world came into existence. It wasn’t Pythagoras, Euclid, Thales and Eratosthenes , Einstein or any other mere mortal that made it so, and not a single one who can mathematically disprove it, not then , not now , not ever. Likewise, no man will ever be able to disprove the existence of God Almighty.
In answer to our Google certified atheists- geneticists-evolutionists , I will say this. All point mutations that have been studied at molecular level , turn out to decrease NOT increase genetic information , therefore cannot drive evolution . No new information has been added. Some deleterious mutations might convey some survival value under certain conditions, nothing more.
Fact , we have about three new mutations per cell per day , and it has been calculated by some population geneticists, that in terms of loss of fitness, the human race is degenerating at 1-5% per generation. If we project that forward, in a RELATIVELY short period of time, we will see significant impairment in functionality. If we project that backwards , it confirms that the human race is a heck of a lot younger than the false prophets would have you believe. Since the blog experts are talking entropy, personal genetic entropy is an uncontestable fact which no one can refute, that is why we die. Why is this ? There is a simple answer, sin in the beginning as a cause, and salvation in the end if we are to be saved, and experience what eternal life means. It comes through accepting Jesus Christ as our personal saviour. God gave us his son as a sacred act of consecration, an act that bestows upon him an inviolate and unique identity .
Plato and Einstein : ”A wise man speaks BECAUSE he has something to say , a fool because ha has to say something .”
LikeLiked by 1 person
‘In answer to our Google certified atheists- geneticists-evolutionists’
“You have been warned, keep your head below the parapet”
‘A good debating tactic and it may even get past the ACs of this world’
“if you had any more brains, you’d be a complete IDIOT’
The comments… one of the reasons I come to BU
LikeLike
We believe that we know what we think that we know, but we do not know all that we do not know. And, given that we know very little of what is apparent, I suspect that we know much less of what is not apparent. We include Plato and Einstein, mere products of chance, if you did not know.
LikeLike
@ Gazer
What is it about my brief post that qualifies me as an idiot? Can you provide a scientific refutation of any of the facts?
Ad hominem attacks won’t faze me. You have proven even before starting that you are an empty vessel resorting to the only thing you know. A pregnant rattle snake strikes with all the venom she has in response to any threat real or perceived.That is her nature. A gutter snipe responds the only way he knows how. Get an yourself an education.
LikeLike
Ditto
LikeLike
Stop it.
I did not say anyone was an idiot or attacked anyone.
I said I like the comments and quoted a few…
Gee. How you reached that far, I do not know….
Cease and desist.
LikeLike
@TheGazer December 6, 2015 at 1:07 PM #
Hahahahahaha……….I realised you were quoting but with his high intelligence he thought you were attacking him………lol……who the cap fits let them wear it…….wuhloss.
You stumbled across an inadvertent truth,it does happen.
LikeLike
TheGazer December 6, 2015 at 12:32 PM #
Ph.D December 6, 2015 at 12:57 PM #
Atrue Freeman December 6, 2015 at 1:01 PM #… And, given that we know very little of what is apparent, I suspect that we know much less of what is not apparent…
TheGazer December 6, 2015 at 1:07 PM #
That was between 12:32PM and 12:57PM, only 25 minutes, compared to since the inception of time…
LikeLike
@ Atrue Freeman
Well said about our overall level of ignorance…
How do we even know that this whole life experience is not just a dream – from which we will (or maybe won’t) awake…?
We just have to make the most of what little we are given…and not throw our hands up in dispair… or bury what little insight we are given.
Wuh looka how David (BU) has been trying his very best for years …to extricate AC from the bowels of “yardfowlism” …only to have to admit that hignorance has no bounds…
@ TheGazer
Skippa, that was a compliment from Bushie to the Freeman….
You understand that this is the RUMSHOP right…?
…if you was looking for the Sunday School check with Donna – she does teach there (when she ain’t bout here cussing with the fellas that is ..) 🙂
LikeLike
The BU household continues to be amazed how many commenters who are obviously supremely educated allow themselves to become emotional when challenged. There is nothing wrong if you admit ignorance. Human beings do not know everything. Having some of you sitting around a table to engage in conflict resolution would make for an interesting engagement.
LikeLike
@David December 6, 2015 at 2:17 PM #
Having some of you sitting around a table to engage in conflict resolution would make for an interesting engagement.
……………………………………………………………………………………
We would have to decide on a language….bajan/english or cussing in gobledegook…..,agreeing on the point to be resolved………then ensureing comprehension….the mind boggles at that scenario.
LikeLike
@Bushie
I delight in reading your numerous contributions.
You can be serious or irreverent.
You can take complicated ideas and distill them down to little nuggets of commonsense.
I like the folks here, even the ac’s.
LikeLike
@TheGazer
Any reason you felt compelled to use the word ‘even’ in your last comment?
LikeLike
i am not a scholar in biblical teachings or interpretations however i do understand that human beings are physical as well as spiritual i therfore exempt myself of that higher learning of theology and prefer to lay low within the simple truths of Love ! compassion, ! Patience and understanding
Whether or not a God exist is not the catalyst that defines the person that i am and who our what was the creator
However given the where with all to access knoweldge i therefore pursue vigorously other avenues on this adventure call life for truthfulness
Some great philosopher once said ” A mind is a terrible thing to waste” ..some times “it is better to cast the pearls than keep them stored in the treasure box where moths and rust destroyed and thieves break in ans steal for the laws of nature indicates it would be for nothing
LikeLike
Jesus Supposed Divinity, Preexistence, and Virgin Birth.
The above argument precipitates even more objections in the mind of many Jews because the picture of a virgin conception by itself appears to substantiate certain Christian Trinitarian doctrines. The most repulsive of these doctrines to Jews is the teaching that Jesus is equal to… if not GOD , God the Father Himself. On this point I agree with the Jews. There is no three-in-one God, or trinity as Christianity demands. It is purely a man-made doctrine. Jesus is not God , nor is he equal to Him.Jesus said many things that clearly indicate he is not God the Father.
LikeLike
The twisted nonsense that ac submitted re Paul, the Law, and Christ, is a complete misinterpretation of the truth.
No one apart from Jesus, understood the Law of Moses as Paul did, he boasted as to keeping the Law, almost perfectly! Jesus called and USED Paul tremendously. His Epistle to the Church at Rome, is the most profound theological discourse
ever written.
Anyone, that could write the diatribe that ac posted, does NOT have a clue, what Paul’s ministry, that Jesus appointed and anointed him for was all about.
*** PAUL WAS A CHOSEN VESSEL ***
The apostle Paul was a chosen vessel of the Lord Jesus Christ. He wrought and laboured abundantly. Paul was raised up to bear the name of Jesus before the Gentiles, and kings, and the children of Israel. In a vision, the Lord Jesus told Ananias that Saul (also called Paul)
Is a chosen vessel unto me, to bear my name before the Gentiles, and kings, and the children of Israel: For I will shew him how great things he must suffer for my name’s sake. (see Acts 9:15-16)
The Lord Jesus Christ personally appeared to Paul to make him a minister and witness sent to the people and the Gentiles to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in him (see Acts 26:16-18).
Paul is our apostle–a good man and an holy, a preacher of righteousness. Paul was chosen, kept under his body, was sanctified and consecrated before God. Paul was a man filled with the Holy Ghost and he bore witness to the truth that the Lord shewed him.
To put a difference between the epistles of Paul and the words of the Lord Jesus does not make sense as they both comprise the word of God. People who do this do not make sense, something terribly wrong has happened to them, their minds are ill-affected.
Paul holds a prominent place in the book of Acts–his conversion, his missionary journeys, his appearance before kings and rulers.
Paul was there after the resurrection, labouring and making the name of Jesus known, far and wide. He was a trailblazer and pioneer for God. In 2 Corinthians 10:16 he was looking to preach the gospel in the regions beyond the Corinthians, and not to boast in another man’s line of things made ready to their hand.
Paul was a powerful man of God and a mighty, sanctified and meet for the Master’s use, an eminent example to us. Paul was a man in position, his praise was in the gospel and he made it clear that he came not to glorify himself but rather, he that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord. For not he that commendeth himself is approved, but whom the Lord commendeth (see 2 Corinthians 10:17-18).
The Lord called Paul and sent him forth as a minister and witness. The Lord specifically used Paul to write fourteen of the twenty seven New Testament books. http://www.jesus-is-lord.com
LikeLike
The Lord did not call Paul any where !when God choose people in biblical times there were messengers or prophets to foretell .Paul was an arrogant mischeivous bombastic trouble maker and liar in his quest for Holiness almost rob Peter of his spiritual ordinance directed to him by Jesus as the one who should carry the burden of building the church
Paul the truth about Paul would not be told in Christain theolgy as Paul is recognized as the one person who reform the jewish religion to accept Christianity
LikeLike
@ac, Your IGNORANCE, is only exceeded by your DUMB ARROGANCE, you deceived FOOL!!!
LikeLike
One common way of dealing with an opponent is to opt for the character assassination tactic. Most of us who hold to a position that has its enemies have been victim of this kind of treatment. It is the practice of focusing on destroying the source of the offending doctrine… the person, rather than deal with the issues involved. All issues involved in the debate, including character issues, need to be considered. Character is important. A person’s character tells much about their reliability, and it is a significant factor when searching for the truth. But ignoring the issues by refusing honorable debate, and opting only for the attack on a person’s character with lies and distortions is itself a cowardly act.
LikeLike
When it comes to Paul Paul lied to the Galatians, the Sanhedrin, and King Agrippa. The fact that he lied was born out to show that it was indeed Paul who Jesus referred to as a false apostle and liar in Revelation 2:2, and to call into serious question the idea that Paul’s words are the infallible Word of God. The fact that Paul outright lied to the Galatians, the Sanhedrin, and King Agrippa is a blemish on his character record. Now consider the other character issues concerning Paul.In spite of the fact that Paul started out with some courage, suffering significant persecution at the beginning of his missionary work, near the end, when it finally came to hard choices, Paul went back on his confession of courage and took the cowardly way out. it is the kind of thing that no one would ever expect from Jesus or any true man of God.
LikeLike
Of the 22 times in the Bible where Paul is referred to as an “apostle”, only twice is he referred to as an apostle by someone other than himself! These two instances came from the same person. Not from Jesus , or any of the original apostles, but from Paul’s close traveling companion and personal press secretary Luke. Both accounts are found in Luke’s record of the Acts of the Apostles, (chapter 14:4,14). Here Paul is referred to as an apostle along with Barnabas. By this time in the story, Luke would have been very accustomed to Paul calling himself an apostle, and he would no doubt have been in agreement with Paul’s assessment of himself. By these statistics alone, it is evident that Paul is by far his own biggest fan… and his side kick Luke was his number two fan. This leaves no one else anywhere in the Bible going on record recognizing his apostleship!
LikeLike
ac December 6, 2015 at 3:29 PM #
“i am NOT a scholar in biblical teachings or interpretations however i do understand that human beings are physical as well as spiritual i therefore exempt myself of that higher learning of theology and prefer to lay low within the simple truths of Love ! compassion, ! Patience and understanding.”
You would have been wise, to stick with,
“I am not a scholar in biblical teachings or interpretation…I therefore exempt myself of that higher learning of theology..”
Instead, of taking heed to you own words, you go ahead, and NOW plagiarize some unlearned APOSTATE, omitting the link from which you gleaned this totally UNCHRISTIAN garbage about Paul!
LikeLike
What you say did i use my name to any of those comments plagiarize what The fact is that you are too embarrassed that known facts about Paul and his damascus moments many of which has been told is now Revealed for all to read
LikeLike
Paul took some of the prophesy of the old testamentb and embellished them in his writings,Now where in the Bible was Paul called by God to reform the Church God is a God of order he would not say one thing to one group and something different to another
Now be specific since you are grounded in the word and show where God specifically told Paul to reform the Church by way of Changing the laws
LikeLike
Paul took liberty with Gods Law and revelation 2 vs 2 commends the people of Ephesus for their good works and rejection of Pauls apostleship
“I know your works, your labor, and your patience, and that you cannot bear those who are evil. And you have tested those who say they are apostles and are not, and have found them liars.” Rev. 2:2
LikeLike
Paul’s CALLING, was given to him by Jesus, personally, this is absolutely confirmed by God’s Word, as divinely Inspired, and RECORDED in the Bible, FROM the very beginning of the Apostolic Church.
THE SOURCE OF THE MINISTRY (vv. 23b, 25a)
As Paul looks at his ministry, the first thing he wants to talk about is its source. This is seen both in verse 23 where Paul says, “…of which I, Paul, am made a minister,” and in verse 25 where he again says, “Of which I am made a minister….” The word “minister” is not a highfalutin, elevated term. It’s the Greek word diakinos, which means “servant.” Now, how was Paul made a minister or servant?
A. The Calling of God
1. Acts 26:13-17
In relating his personal testimony to King Agrippa, Paul says, “At midday, O king, I saw in the way a light from heaven, above the brightness of the sun, shining round about me and them who journeyed with me. And when we were all fallen to the earth, I heard a voice speaking unto me, and saying in the Hebrew tongue, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou Me? It is hard for thee to kick against the goads.” In order to keep an ox from kicking while he was being steered in the right direction, pointed goads (or thorns) were put right up against the heels of the ox. So if the ox kicked, the goads caused great pain. Eventually, the ox learned not to kick. The Lord, then, was saying to Paul,
“It’s hard for you to fight against Me, to resist Me, to kick against Me.”
Continuing on in verse 15, Paul says, “And I said, Who art Thou, Lord? And He said, I am Jesus, whom thou persecutest.
But rise, and stand upon thy feet; FOR I HAVE APPEARED UNTO THEE, for this purpose, to MAKE THEE A MINISTER and a WITNESS both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things IN WHICH I WILL APPEAR UNTO THEE, delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, UNTO WHOM I NOW SEND THEE.” Now, that’s a strong statement, isn’t it? The LORD says, “Paul, I have CHOSEN you to go to the Gentiles. You are now hereby made a minister.”
The Lord makes ministers. His ministers are those who are called. He did it throughout the Old Testament. Read the stories of the prophets. There weren’t any self-styled, self- appointed prophets. They were all called of God.
2. Romans 15:15-16a
Throughout Paul’s writings, he makes it clear that he was put into the ministry by God. In Romans 15 he says,
“Nevertheless, brethren, I have written the more boldly unto you in some sort, as putting you in mind, because of the grace that is GIVEN TO ME OF GOD, that I should be the minister of Jesus Christ to the Gentiles….” In other words, “The reason I’m so bold in writing to you Gentiles is that the Lord has made me a servant to you. I’m only carrying out my ministry and doing that which God has called me to do.”
3. 2 Corinthians 3:4-6a http://www.gty.org
LikeLike
None of the other Apostles of Jesus, traveled as FAR and as WIDE, as Paul did, in not only PROCLAIMING the Gospel of Christ, but in establishing Church’s every where he went.
Paul WAS RECOGNIZED as a man called and SENT by Christ, by ALL of the other Apostles.
After Jesus’ ascension, with the coming of The Holy Spirit on the day of Pentecost, the Holy Spirit, USED Paul to pen 14 of the 27 books of God’s Word, in New Testament Scripture, as a man of God, SENT by Christ to the Gentiles.
Acts 9:15
“But the Lord said to Ananias, “Go! This man (Paul) IS MY CHOSEN instrument to PROCLAIM My Name to the Gentiles and their kings and to the people of Israel.”
Acts 9:20
“At once he began to preach in the synagogues that Jesus is the Son of God.”
Romans 1:5
“Through him we received grace and apostleship to call all the Gentiles to the obedience that comes from faith for his name’s sake.”
Galatians 1:12
“I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it; rather, I received it by revelation from Jesus Christ.”
Galatians 2:7
“On the contrary, they recognized that I had been entrusted with the task of preaching the gospel to the uncircumcised, just as Peter had been to the circumcised.”
Galatians 2:9
“James, Cephas (Peter) and John, those esteemed as pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the circumcised.”
Treasury of Scripture
To reveal his Son in me, that I might preach him among the heathen; immediately I conferred not with flesh and blood:
LikeLike
@ Zoe
Proverbs 26:4
..a word to the wise is sufficient.
LikeLike
Paul’s teaching on law and grace
Paul couldn’t have been plainer about seeing himself as echoing the teachings and practices of Christ. “Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ,” he told the Corinthians (1 Corinthians 11:1).
This statement allows no conclusion other than that Paul saw himself as perpetuating, not contradicting, Christ’s doctrines.
In even stronger language, Paul wrote to the Church in Galatia,
“I marvel that you are turning away so soon from Him who called you in the grace of Christ, to a different gospel, which is not another; but there are some who trouble you and want to pervert the gospel of Christ. But even if we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel to you than what we have preached to you, let him be accursed. As we have said before, so now I say again, if anyone preaches any other gospel to you than what you have received, let him be accursed” (Galatians 1:6-9).
In verses 8-9 Paul pronounces a curse on anyone who dared teach a message other than what Christ taught! In repeating this curse for emphasis, Paul sternly warned against changes to Christ’s teaching.
Since Paul used such strong language, we would expect his teaching on law and grace to be the same as Christ’s, and this is what the Bible reflects. Paul deeply appreciated God’s grace and He respected God’s law.
A good example of Paul’s teaching is found in his letter to the Romans where He writes:
“What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? Certainly not! How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it?” (Romans 6:1-2). A few verses later Paul emphasizes this teaching once more, saying, “For sin shall not have dominion over you, for you are not under law but under grace. What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? Certainly not!” (verses 14-15).
Paul’s teaching on law and grace was clearly the same as Christ’s. Paul appreciated God’s grace and respected His law. http://www.lifehopeandtruth.com
LikeLike
Bush Tea December 8, 2015 at 8:25 AM #
@ Zoe
Proverbs 26:4
..a word to the wise is sufficient.
Yes, but I am not dealing with the wise!!!
LikeLike
“For by GRACE (unmerited FAVOR) you have been SAVED through FAITH (Not Law, or good works) and that NOT of yourselves, It IS the Gift of God, least anyone should BOAST,” ( Eph. 2: 8,9) Emphasis added.
God has always been full of grace (Psalm 116:5; Joel 2:13), and people have always been saved by faith in God (Genesis 15:6).
God did not change between the Old and New Testaments (Numbers 23:19; Psalm 55:19). The same God who gave the Law also gave Jesus (John 3:16). His grace was demonstrated through the Law by providing the sacrificial system to cover sin.
Jesus was born “under the law” (Galatians 4:4) and became the final sacrifice to bring the Law to fulfillment and establish the New Covenant (Luke 22:20).
Now, everyone who comes to God through Christ is declared righteous (2 Corinthians 5:21; 1 Peter 3:18; Hebrews 9:15).
The conflict between Jesus and the self-righteous arose immediately. Many who had lived for so long under the Pharisees’ oppressive system eagerly embraced the mercy of Christ and the freedom He offered (Mark 2:15).
Some, however, saw this new demonstration of grace as dangerous: what would keep a person from casting off all moral restraint?
Paul dealt with this issue in Romans 6: “What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? By no means! We are those who have died to sin; how can we live in it any longer?” (verses 1—2).
Paul clarified what Jesus had taught: the Law shows us what God wants (holiness), and grace gives us the desire and power to be holy. Rather than trust in the Law to save us, we trust in Christ. We are freed from the Law’s bondage by His once-for-all sacrifice (Romans 7:6; 1 Peter 3:18).
There is no conflict between grace and the Law, properly understood.
Christ fulfilled the Law on our behalf and offers the power of the Holy Spirit, who motivates a regenerated heart to live in obedience to Him (Matthew 3:8; Acts 1:8; 1 Thessalonians 1:5; 2 Timothy 1:14). James 2:26 says,
“As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.” A grace that has the power to save also has the power to motivate a sinful heart toward godliness.
Where there is no impulse to be godly, there is no saving faith. http://www.gotquestions.org
LikeLike
Look Zoe the religious teachings and doctrines are not solely divide from christain teachings.Unfortunately all of the negatjve tranformations happenings in the church can be pointed back to the source that of Paul
Biblical religions originatedwith one source and one foundation.
The principles and foundations which.had remain in tact until Paul used his own ideas and teachings with an ease to emblished and reform theChurch
Hence at present the church remains divided and scattered
The bible states that God never changes so it would be unprincipled or God would be a liar to set rules and guidlines and decides to change them after giving his commandements t and written wird to Moses.
I ask u where in the bible did Jesus say he would use Paul to build a church
The church was already built and established by God until paul used his arrogance to influence the disciples. which is applied to present day churches
LikeLike
ac December 7, 2015 at 8:00 PM #
“Paul took liberty with Gods Law and revelation 2 vs 2 commends the people of Ephesus for their good works and rejection of Pauls apostleship”
Rev. 2:2, Has absolutely NOTHING to do with rejecting Paul’s Apostleship. Whoever came up with this us-scriptural nonsense, is guilty of Eisegetical Pretzelizing.
Revelation 2:1 Revelation 2:3
I know
Perfect tense, οἶδα [oida] , “I have known.” His knowledge of their past works results in the commendations and exhortations which presently follow.1 Christ is omniscient. See commentary on Revelation 1:14.
labor and patience
The Ephesian church had worked hard and born a consistent load of service.
The Christian life, though full of joy, is also attended by much labor and hardship (2Cor. 2Cor. 11:27). Continual labor requires continual patience.
Believers are to persevere and not grow weary (Isa. Isa. 40:31; Gal. Gal. 6:9; 2Th. 2Th. 3:13; Heb. Heb. 12:3). Those who die in the Tribulation are said to obtain rest from their labors and their works follow them (Rev. Rev. 14:13+).
cannot bear
The Ephesian church did not bear those who were evil. This must refer to the Scriptural application of church discipline to protect the gathering from those who were not truly of them (Mtt. Mat. 18:17; 1Cor. 1Cor. 5:5; 1Ti. 1Ti. 6:3-5):
The sphere in which the Angel of Ephesus had the chief opportunity of manifesting this holy intolerance of evil-doers was, no doubt, that of Church-discipline, separating off from fellowship with the faithful those who named the name of Christ, yet would not depart from iniquity (2Ti. 2Ti. 2:19).2 http://www.biblestudytools.com
LikeLike
@ ac The following verses from Acts 26: 16,17, emphatically show the Words of Jesus spoken to Paul, confirming his CALLING, by Jesus, and to whom JESUS sent him, this IS the Word of God, recorded in Acts, AT the embryonic EARLY stage of the Apostolic Church.
“But rise, and stand upon thy feet; FOR I HAVE APPEARED UNTO THEE, for this purpose, to MAKE THEE A MINISTER and a WITNESS both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things IN WHICH I WILL APPEAR UNTO THEE, delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, UNTO WHOM I NOW SEND THEE.” (Acts 26:16,17) Now, that’s a strong statement, isn’t it? The LORD says, “Paul, I have CHOSEN you to go to the Gentiles. You are now hereby made a minister.”
And NOW you come with this ignorant, unlearned, question, and foolishly saying, “…The church was ALREADY BUILT and established by God..blah, blah blah…”
The Church was NOT already built, it WAS in its infancy, the very BEGINNING..It was NOW in the process of being BUILT, and Paul was CHOSEN by Jesus, as one of the Ministers (Apostles) and USED greatly by God in the process of BUILDING His Church.
“FOR I (JESUS) have appeared UNTO THEE, (Paul) for this PURPOSE, to MAKE THEE a MINISTER, and a WITNESS…” (Acts. 26: 16, 17)
The entire FIRST century, as recorded in Acts, the Epistles and the Letters, shows, by Inspiration of The Holy Spirit, the BUILDING OF, the Church, (process) NOT built, as you stupidly say, it was a PROCESS; and Paul WAS a chosen man of God, SENT by Jesus along with the other Apostles IN BUILDING the Church!
LikeLike
Zoe i take note of all your bible quotes and references but one simple question where in the bible did God give Paul the authority to reform the law or changes any biblical law. If u can specifically show me chapter and verse either by Jesus words or by prophesy i would concede
LikeLike
Now zoe get real how can u say that tge church was not already built when Jesus was a Jew and died a Jew .nothing in the bible or relugious teachings ssy differenly
says differently
Further more Jesus stated that he never came to change law
Now am i to belive that after his ressurection he had a spiritual awakening and deemed everthing written in law which he practised and took part should be change and only revealed to Paul
LikeLike
@ac, Paul NEVER said the Law (The Ten Commandments) were abolished. In fact, Paul wrote MORE about God’s Law than anyone else in the New Testament, he explained it in DETAIL, though hard to follow and understand for some. Paul upheld God’s Law, BUT, he thoroughly made it very clear, that the Law, could NOT ‘Justify’ Save anyone, because ‘Righteousness’ comes ONLY through FAITH, NOT Law.
Paul NEVER taught anything contrary to Jesus about the Law. Anyone who believes this, is terribly mistaken, and simply does not understand how Paul was inspired by The Holy Spirit, to teach and write the TRUTH about Grace and the Law.
Paul never said the Law was abolished. Read for yourself.
The following is a collection of clear scriptures showing that Paul never taught that we are free to disobey the Law (Hebrew: Torah).
First off, it’s obvious that Paul himself believed in keeping the Law:
Acts 24:14 (NKJV) – “But this I confess to you, that according to the Way which they call a sect, so I worship the Elohim of my fathers, believing all things which are written in the Law and in the Prophets.
Acts 25:8 – while he answered for himself, “Neither against the Law of the Jews, nor against the temple, nor against Caesar have I offended in anything at all.”
Acts 18:21 – but took leave of them, saying, “I must by all means keep this coming feast in Jerusalem; but I will return again to you, Yahweh willing.” And he sailed from Ephesus.
Romans 7:25 – I thank Yahweh–through Yahushua the Messiah our Master! So then, with the mind I myself serve the Law of Yahweh, but with the flesh the Law of sin.
Paul taught the disciples not to let anyone judge them for observing the Law (See Colossians study):
Colo 2:16-17 – So let no one judge you in food or in drink, or regarding a festival or a new moon or sabbaths, which are a shadow of things to come, but the body of the Messiah.
Paul says that the doers of the Law will be justified and those who break it will be judged.
Romans 2:12 – For as many as have sinned without Law will also perish without Law, and as many as have sinned in the Law will be judged by the Law 13 (for not the hearers of the Law [are] just in the sight of Yahweh, but the doers of the Law will be justified;
The word that is translated “without Law” here is word #460 which means “not amenable to the Jewish/Mosaic Law”. (See Thayers and Strong’s lexicon). Paul says that we know His will and approve the things that are excellent when instructed out of the Law.
Romans 2:17 – Indeed you are called a Jew, and rest on the Law, and make your boast in Yahweh, 18 and know [His] will, and approve the things that are excellent, being instructed out of the Law, 19 and are confident that you yourself are a guide to the blind, a light to those who are in darkness, 20 an instructor of the foolish, a teacher of babes, having the form of knowledge and truth in the Law.
Here he says that when we break the Law, we dishonor Yahweh and blaspheme His name.
Romans 2:21 You, therefore, who teach another, do you not teach yourself? You who preach that a man should not steal, do you steal? 22 You who say, “Do not commit adultery,” do you commit adultery? You who abhor idols, do you rob temples? 23 You who make your boast in the Law, do you dishonor Yahweh through breaking the Law? 24 For “the name of Yahweh is blasphemed among the Gentiles because of you,” as it is written.
Here Paul twice states that we learn what sin is from the Law. This backs up the statement in 1John 3:4 that Sin is transgression of the Law.
Romans 3:20 – Therefore by the deeds of the Law no flesh will be justified in His sight, for by the Law [is] the knowledge of sin.
Romans 7:7 – What shall we say then? [Is] the Law sin? Certainly not! On the contrary, I would not have known sin except through the Law. For I would not have known covetousness unless the Law had said, “You shall not covet.”
Here is a key scripture proving that Paul believed that thru faith we do not make the Law void, but rather we establish the Law (To cause or make to stand, #2476).
Romans 3:31 – Do we then make void the Law through faith? Certainly not! On the contrary, we establish the Law.
Here is another key scripture like the one above proving that Paul did not believe that once we are under grace, that we can continue to sin (break the Law):
Romans 6:15 – What then? Shall we sin because we are not under Law but under grace? Certainly not! 16 Do you not know that to whom you present yourselves slaves to obey, you are that one’s slaves whom you obey, whether of sin [leading] to death, or of obedience [leading] to righteousness?
Here Paul is equating “the Law” with “the commandment” and stating his opinion of them:
Romans 7:12 – Therefore the Law [is] holy, and the commandment holy and just and good.
Here is an unpopular statement of Paul’s. Many like to believe that the Law is of the flesh. Not true! It’s spiritual:
Romans 7:14 – For we know that the Law is spiritual, but I am carnal, sold under sin.
Paul delights in the Law of Yahweh
Romans 7:22 – For I delight in the Law of Yahweh according to the inward man.
In these verses he shows that righteousness is the opposite of Lawlessness (#458 in violation of the Law). Therefore if one is keeping the Law, they must walking in righteousness. (Though this is confirmed already by many verses I have already shown.) Please also remember this for later in the study.
Romans 6:19 – I speak in human [terms] because of the weakness of your flesh. For just as you presented your members [as] slaves of uncleanness, and of Lawlessness [leading] to [more] Lawlessness, so now present your members [as] slaves [of] righteousness for holiness
Here obedience is equated with righteousness (as defined by the Law)
Romans 10:5 – For Moses writes about the righteousness which is of the Law, “The man who does those things shall live by them.”
Now in conclusion I must say that there would have to be very little doubt that according to these verses in which Paul spoke, he certainly upheld the Law as the very definition of righteousness and holiness. And he taught that breaking these commandments were Unrighteousness, Lawlessness, wickedness, and most importantly, SIN.
Therefore we can conclude that whenever Paul speaks of Sin…he most certainly is talking about disobeying the commandments in the Law. How many more scriptures could be added where Paul speaks against sin? This study would certainly be many pages l
One final quote:
Romans 8:6-7 For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace. Because the carnal mind is enmity against Yahweh; for it is not subject to the Law of Yahweh, nor indeed can be. http://www.eliyah.com
LikeLike
@ ac, Having shown you clearly from God’s Word, the Bible, that Paul did NOT teach the abolition of the Law; the question that remains now, did Jesus teach any summation of the Law in the New Testament, let us hear Him on this matter:
Let us see how Jesus answered the probing Pharisaical Lawyer in Matthew 22: 34-40.
“But when the Pharisees had hear that He had put the Sadducees to silence, they were gathered together.”
“Then one of them, which is a lawyer, asked Him a question, tempting Him, saying,
“Master, which is the GREAT COMMANDMENT in the Law?”
Take careful note of Jesus’ response to this most serious and profound, and relevant question; let’s read on
“Jesus said unto him, ‘Thou shalt love The Lord God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the FIRST and GREAT Commandment.”
“And the second is LIKE UNTO THE FIRST, thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.”
The Lord Jesus Christ was the first person to combine these two text from Deuteronomy 6:5, and Leviticus 19:18
Having identified the TWO GREAT COMMANDMENTS, Jesus now concludes by summarizing “All the Law” and it requirements, by saying:
“On these TWO COMMANDMENTS hang (How much of the Law,? 99%, NO!) ALL THE LAW and the Prophets.”
What did Paul, himself a strict ‘Law Abiding’ law keeping Pharisee prior to his conversion on the road to Damascus, have to say on this matter in Romans 13: 8-10,
How do we know that just like Jesus, Paul is referring to ‘The Ten Commandments’ when he refers to ‘The Law.” Let us read on and see:
“For this, Thous shalt not commit adultery, Thou shalt not kill, Thous shalt not steal, Thou shalt not bear false witness, Thou shalt not covet: (v.9a)
“And if there be any OTHER COMMANDMENT, (the other five) it is briefly comprehended (summarized) in this saying, Thou shalt LOVE thy neighbour as thryself.” (v.9b)
Paul then concludes, just like Jesus in Matthew 22: 40, by saying:
Love worketh no ill to his neighbour: Therefor LOVE IS THE FULFILLING of THE LAW.” (v.10).
Again we read in God’s Word, in (Gal. 5:14)
“For ALL THE LAW is FULFILLED in ONE WORD, even this: ‘Thous shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.”
The word rendered FULFILLED is from the Greek word ‘pleroo’, which means ‘To make full’ and when used as a task or a course of action, ‘To fully perform’ here in Galatians.
The verb is in the perfect tense, and the translation could read: ‘The whole Law stands fully obeyed.’
As Dr. Walter Martin, one of the most gifted Apologist/Polemicists of the twentieth century, now with the Lord in conscious eternal bliss, once wrote, with which I wholeheartedly concur:
“The Christian stand under ‘the perfect law of liberty’ which enables him ‘to fulfill the righteousness of the Law, by the imperative of LOVE.”
LikeLike
There you go trying to praphrase what Jesus meant. The queston being what does it mean to Love the lord the God with all thy heart
For Paul it meant to re-establish laws to exlude some of jedeau teachings founded on the laws God given to israelites which the Christain church now prefers to call traditions but if one read the book of levititicus there are laws which were given specifically by God which were to be observed by the isrealites Paul himself stated in his reformation of the early church that some of those laws were not necessary.
So then tell who was Paul obeying himself or the laws of God
LikeLike
An interesting work…..chuckle
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=21&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjm4-3kk83JAhVG7iYKHYr0BdA4ChAWCEIwCg&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.marxists.org%2Freference%2Fsubject%2Fphilosophy%2Fworks%2Fge%2Ffichte.htm&usg=AFQjCNFremYYB46OVQt39jN53nc2cSLHQQ&sig2=_pEIgvTZCBLN-Kqx2DBE1Q
LikeLike
@ac, I knew you would not understand what Jesus said, as usual, you remain very confused and unenlightened, all mixed up re God’s Word.
Paul literally emphasized what Jesus said, meaning the same thing about the Law, as it is now applied in the New Testament.
In order to “Owe no man anything, but to LOVE one another: For he that loveth another hath FULFILLED ALL THE LAW.” (Rom. 13:10).
“For ALL the Law is FULFILLED in one word, even this: Thou shalt LOVE thy neighbour as thyself.” (Gal. 5:14).
These two text, encompass exactly what Jesus said: “Thou shalt the Lord God with all thy heart, with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.” (Deut. 6:5)
“And the second is like unto it, thou shalt LOVE thy neighbour as thyself.” (Lev. 19:18).
ac, you need to get saved, by Grace through FAITH, (Eph. 2:8,9). The Law cannot save anyone, it was there to SHOW all of us, that we NEED a Saviour, Jesus Christ.
LikeLike
Zoe Grace or Faith cannot saved me those two buzz words are in controversial to what Jesus said to Nicodemus when Nicodemus asked him how can he be born again
Paul was a master wordsmith in his influence and in his need to convince
…Nicodemus said to Him, “How can a man be born when he is old? He cannot enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born, can he?” 5Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. 6″That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.…
LikeLike
Jesus had already stated the path for righteousness and salvation but once again Paul uses his only assertions to convince the Church past and Present that grace and faith
is the sufficient method of acceptance to the Kingdom of God
In his arrogance Jphn took liberty to the Word even at times overriding the principles and teachings of Jesus exemplified to coerce in his quest to defeat Peter and become leader of the Church
LikeLike
Faith and salvation ::::Jesus was the embodiment of Faith and salvation demonstrated in his miracles and his teachings while on earth ..In the sermon on the mount Faith and salvation is the intricate building blocks when Jesus spoke to thousands of his followers telling the multitude the path for salvation and heavenly reward
Matthew 5-7
Paul must not have heard of those teachings by way of Holy Ghost knoweldge as he used his influence and self knoweldge to captalise on his interpretations on the Purpose and Will of Jesus.
Faith and salvation already demonstrated, magnified in word deed and action and expounded (upon) by Jesus
LikeLike
Interesting article about human evolution:
http://www.theguardian.com/science/2015/dec/13/wall-skulls-story-mankind-evolution-fossils
LikeLike