Submitted by Charles Knighton
The cover of the April 2013 National Geographic.

Sometimes the most impressive scientific progress throws a sharp light on our previous mistakes. At least that’s how I read the report from National Geographic that biologists are on the cusp of reconstituting long-dead species, many of which we ingenious humans drove into extinction in the first place. Scientists are reassembling the DNA needed to “de-extinct” such lost creatures as the passenger pigeon, which darkened the skies in flocks of millions until it became the cheap meat of choice for 19th-century America.

There’s hope of resurrecting the woolly mammoth from carcasses found frozen in the Siberian tundra, where a combination of climate change and human hunters did them in. And if that works, why not the Neanderthals? These European hominids, some of whose genetic legacy is present in many modern humans, died out at least 30,000 years ago, partly because of the rise of wily Homo sapiens, so why shouldn’t  our wily scientists, who have already worked out a first draft of our lost relatives’ genome, aim to bring them back?

While in general it would be difficult to refer to me as a sentimentalist, I can’t imagine a sadder fate than being a specimen of a lost species. Sure, a woolly mammoth or a saber-tooth tiger would be a zoological sensation. But is that reason enough to make one? And what moral quandaries are posed by a mix-and-pour Neanderthal? I hope we are beyond putting such a specimen on display, as Pygmy Ota Benga was just a century ago—in the Monkey House of the Bronx Zoo, no less.

But maybe we aren’t. Before we conjure up a hominid, or even a mammoth, we should take a sober look at our long record of biological folly.

16 responses to “Should We Resurrect Extinct Species?”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

More apt is How Can We Resurrect the Extinct Species of Bajan leaders and sensible Bajans?

2. GP I was thinking the same thing LOLL….BUT which ones???? EWB???? Clement Payne???

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Easy boy could outclass Fumble and Gear Box Estwick for starters

4. It’s far past time to eliminate the most vicious species on our beautiful planet: the mosquito. The diseases they carry have destroyed millions of human lives, and they will continue to do so until we move them into the defunct-species category.

5. I am personally scared to death of the mosquito, i can’t believe such a small species barely visible to the naked eye could be so vicious and deadly without being microscopic. There is an alert in England that the mosquitoes problem in Bim is causing British tourists to return to their country with dengue.

6. I think we need to further extinct some species of humankind. Politicians can be the first pick, followed by thiefing lying Lawyers and thirdly all religious Zealots.

7. Good. Especially the Zealots, but that won’t be easy, and it will take some time. Mosquito eradication will be easier and quicker. Let’s start with that while we’re developing the anti-zealot plan.

8. @checkit-out

Guess you must be following Comet ISON intently?

9. It wont be long like the Barbados raccoon the Barbados hotel industry will be extinct. Maybe like jurrasic park they can bring back some dinosaurs and kick start the hotel industry again. Wait there are already dinosaurs trotting around the island.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tom Rieke | June 8, 2013 at 2:49 PM |
    “It’s far past time to eliminate the most vicious species on our beautiful planet: the mosquito.”

Wrong, Tom, the most vicious and by far most dangerous species on Gaia is no other than Homo sapiens, not even erectus. This planet is inhabited primarily and for the most part by insects making it their world and humans are just squatters.

Can you imagine the environmental degradation and resources depletion that would have resulted if the millions taken out by the lowly mosquito had survived and produced survivable offspring?

And what could be of greater demographic interest to you is that the “culled” victims would not have been of the racial stocks that roam in climes where mosquitoes find it difficult to survive and flourish.

Until mankind learns to clone a version of itself that is more geared environmentally to play the role of caretaker rather than pillager of Mother Earth the lowly mosquito and its insect cousins- in tandem with life’s ultimate containment mechanism, microbes- will continue to play the role of the most efficient culler of the most dangerous species that Evolution has produced so far.

11. Being a good leader at a time when issues were black and white, when there were a hell of a lot of other leaders in the world with the same agendas and actually doing things that others could easily mimic if there were interested.

12. if people understand the role that these little critters play in preservation of the environment …they would not be so quick to eliminate, for all that it is worth mankind has been the main source for encouraging these little critters to thrive a lack of good sanitation and a wholesale disrespect for a clean and healthy environment have contributed to the behavior and the way these critters interact with humans.The various disease that these pesky insects carry can be attributed to man input…just look around and see how filthy we are and have unwittingly invited and given these unwanted guest a right to wine and dine at our own peril.

13. LOL @ Miller
    “And what could be of greater demographic interest to you is that the “culled” victims would not have been of the racial stocks that roam in climes where mosquitoes find it difficult to survive and flourish.”
    Nature has other ways to deal with those in such climes….

…so are you suggesting then that the natural tendency of Nature is to follow the path of survival of the fittest?…with our mosquito friends playing a vital role in keeping things on the straight and narrow path…?
    ….that those of compromised immune systems and without the technology to protect themselves are rightly targeted for culling in the interest of global stability?
    …or is Bushie taking this too far…?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | June 9, 2013 at 8:58 AM

Of course we like (as a matter of fact, ‘delight’) to see the Bushman take things too far when it comes to matters of high, even if cloudy, intellectual and philosophical qualities..

I don’t believe you accept the theory and principles of Natural Selection (at least you don’t come over to us as a Darwinian having cussed off Richard Dawkins).

You also see both crime and homosexuality as human choices- to be picked up during the hormonal warfare that rages in the body’s development informed to a lesser extent by factors in the cultural and social environment- instead of being within the “normal” range of acceptable defects from Nature’s production line in going about its selection process of genetic engineering to build a pool to ensure the fittest can swim and survive in the long run of the race of the species.

After all, you myopically prefer to lay the responsibility and hence blame on your BBE for mankind’s predicaments and ultimate destiny.

The 64 thousand question to you is this:
    Why did your BBE create such pesky life-threatening miniscule creatures like viruses to make a misery of man and curb his natural tendency to be fruitful and multiply?

What about plagues that have acted as population controlling agents in the past especially among animal flesh eating populations in Europe where meat in the primary or staple ingredient in their diets especially long winters?

And we thought all along that your alien engineer in the sky with his Son of Man was all for Life, Love, Peace & Happiness for all mankind as it was in the Garden East instead of Centre of Eden.
    Even the Sumerians would disagree Enki made it so!

15. Hell Miller…Bushie ask you a simple question and gets bombarded with deep and complex left hooks in response… along with a right jab below the belt… 🙂
    So wait…you does can’t answer a simple yes or no…?

Have you ever considered the possibility that the truth about life is just simply beyond your ability to comprehend…and that you would not recognize that truth even if Bushie used it on you like Islandgal used the 2X4 on her dad?

What curb what tendency to multiply what?!? You see mankind having any difficulty in multiplying? …or do you see a need for even more virus action to bring the rate of multiplication under control…?
    Seems that the design had been extremely accurate and precise…until of course GP and his friends came up with their array of antibiotics etc.
    The point however is that “nature” tends to favour the strong and the natural while eliminating the weak and abnormal. It is mankind that seeks to frustrate natural selection by ignoring this natural phenomenon to our peril…

….anyway, you are obviously a skilled draughts player…cause Bushie was just giving you that piece to ‘eat’ and then was coming with a BIG three-shot in yuh tail….but you huff the bushman first… 🙂

16. old onion bags Avatar

Miller is a Czar and a chess demon Bushie …what common man push king what…fa real ….Miller that was a clothes-line followed by a suplex….now all see why cawmere proselytes should fly as wing men …..safety in numbers with pedigree peerage..pity the town minions from that terrarium corralled by Tank Williams…..whaloss!