Dr. Maria Agard, expelled from the BLP in the Ch Ch West constituency

The following was extracted  from the Facebook page of Christ Church West (BLP), posted by Lynette Eastmond, one of the lawyers representing Maria Agard in the unprecedented matter of a sitting MP expelled [โ€ฆ]from a political party.

WHICH ONE OF YOU DOES NOT WISH TO BE TREATED FAIRLY?

Every individual sojourning in this fair land of ours has the right to be treated fairly. This is a right born out of our natural sense of what is right and wrong and has been set down through case law. Natural Justice is a part of the Common Law inherited from the British. When you become an employee of a company or if you become a member of an unincorporated association the cloak of Natural Justice remains your right. You continue to be clothed by it. There is no carve out for associations or their leadership even in circumstances where they consider themselves special or above the law.

There are a number of principles which would seem obvious to individuals whether they are lawyers or not. We have heard it said time and time again that you can not be a judge in your own cause and this is one of the basic tenets of natural justice. Let us take a hypothetical case. A membership organisation appoints an Executive Committee to lead the organisation. The Executive Committee decides that it might wish to discipline a member. It sends one of its members out to investigate and lay the charges. The Executive Committee endorses these charges and then invites the member to a meeting to be heard or to be disciplined. This would seem to me to be in breach of the rules of natural justice where you can sit as prosecutor, judge and jury. The disciplinary panel must appear to be biased. And yet another point. Individuals who have a pecuniary or non-pecuniary interest in the outcome should not sit on a disciplinary panel. For example if the person who chairs the disciplinary panel can determine the professional future of even one of those comprising the panel, then certainly there is a possibility that that panel will be biased. And that is all the law requires, a possibility of bias.

THE ONLY THING NECESSARY FOR THE TRIUMPH OF EVIL IS FOR GOOD MEN TO DO NOTHING.

413 responses to “Maria Agard Denied the Right to Natural Justice”

1. Simple Simon,

Perfectly stated!

2. De Ingrunt Word,

True about Maslow and Herzberg. And probably about Nico M. He was probably just being descriptive. I have only read extracts of his book. But in Machiavelli’s case people seem to think it to be some sort of manual for success that cannot be deviated from lest they fail. Or else they believe that that’s just the way it is and no-one should even try to change it. I beg to differ. Human beings have been known to do better at least for a while. Why shouldn’t we enjoy the occasional reprieve before evil takes over again and the cycle continues. Remember that things never stay the same. They either get better or worse. I believe we should keep trying for better before the worst takes over.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de Ingrunt Word November 27, 2015 at 10:25 AM #
    โ€œ@Sargeant, a few posts back @David asked a blogger to respect the intelligence of BU so I put the same admonish to you. How can you make these two statements with a straight face and disrespect those here like me of average level and many other bloggers of above average intelligence with the illogicalโ€

David BU “admonished” the miller for his ‘failed’ attempts to insult the intelligence of the BU ‘audience’ and fellow bloggers.
    Now that OSA has been exposed (again) for what he is (a two-timing lying vindictive politician) why can’t David generate a thread (just like the many on MAM and Denis Lowe) to put this political fraud under the spotlight for not only insulting the intelligence of the electorate but also for being a coward for running away from defending the political interests of his former BLP (which has lost its soul as a result) and the moral integrity of the nation in its hour of need in spite of the economic heavy blows it is enduring.

Go on David, be an equal opportunity blog master and put OSA in the crosshairs as you have done to MAM et al.

โ€œFor the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that [BU] can doโ€ – George Linnaeus Banks

4. Tell me Why November 27, 2015 at 10:25 AM #

โ€œRATINGS. Donโ€™t get bogged down with ratings. When you see a lot of dislikes, at least you know that people are reading your post. Remember โ€œThe truth hurts and people feel that disliking a post will influence the populace.โ€

There is an โ€œanomalyโ€ in your comment re โ€œThe truth hurts and people feel that disliking a post will influence the populace.โ€

The AC consortiumโ€™s contributions, for example, attracts a number of dislikes, not because they are writing what is truthful, but because they write biased rhetorical political diatribe and nuff, nuff shiite.

5. @Al Capone November 27, 2015 at 11:08 AM “OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHURโ€ฆ who you calling a despot doah?… you remember the St. Peter by-election YOU LOST and Tom Adams has to save your lil boy nobody ass? How dare u be so ungrateful. ”

Wuhloss!!! Al Capone. You come out wid all guns blazing. Like a real, real Western gansta den!!!

Lollll!!!

6. Grateful to whom, though? Isn’t Tom Adams dead? And what has that to do with calling Mia a despot? Unless he is saying that there was a time when Owen embraced despots because one of them saved his ass.

7. @Donna re Nico M, I would suggest that you bite the bullet and move on from just the extracts. If your studies of Maslow et al allows you to assert the confident ‘true’ then you do yourself a disservice in not reading the Prince in its entirety. In truth it’s an easy read and relatively short….and BTW I really don’t recall the term so famously associated with the book – “the ends justify the means” – within its pages.

Consider Donna, that book was written in 14## and still resonates seven frigging centuries later. Maslow’s et al theories are babies in comparison.

I would suggest you are being rather presumptuous to question a 700 year old treatise you say you have not read in its entirety…just saying.

Herzberg does exactly what Machiavelli did: he showed actual behaviour and described them with well defined commentary. In very real and practical terms just as Herzberg’s test of the motivational power of money can be parsed however one wants to but the basic facts remain incontrovertible., so too you can argue Nico M’s presentation as much as you want but the facts remain steadfast because it’s an exposee of actual human behaviour on the attributes of real leaders.

In the book itself he even presents the same attributes used by different leaders and ‘shows’ how actual outcomes differed.

It’s an excellent read for personal growth actually. Bite the bullet and then use your Bullet for a power nutritional drink. LOLLLL.

@Miller, you have a real fixation with OSA! Oh lawd.

8. @de Ingrunt Word November 27, 2015 at 12:43 PM #

Very well articulated.

I have a tendecy to be very spare with words,allowing individuals to not understand or misrepresent my statements.

9. @DIW
    If Mr Arthur astutely observed Ms. Mottley over the years and developed strong reasons to disavow her as a valid PM/leader of Barbados, how then can you call him โ€˜consistentโ€™ to allow her a path to leadership of the party and thus the country, by withdrawing from the party?
    ++++++++++
    Surely you have been around to observe couples who were married for many years, had children, took holidays together, renovated the house, attended the best parties and sung each otherโ€™s praises etc. Then without warning you heard that they were headed to Divorce court, then you heard about the abuse, lying, infidelity and all the recriminations that follow the dissolution of a union. You, observing them from the outside thought you knew them well and wonder how they kept that ruse going over the years.

I donโ€™t know Arthur personally but those who do tell me he is a complex man and not easily read, he shows flashes of anger one moment and can be magnanimous the next. Bloggers are clamouring for a reason for the animosity towards Mia but did he give a reason for firing Winston Cox the Gov of the Central Bank?

If one connects the dots one could see that he was disenchanted with Mia back to the time when Mascoll was encouraged to leave the DLP, however Mascoll had his troubles winning a seat (with no little assistance from Mia).. If Mascoll had been able to win a seat during the 2008 Election we would be having a different conversation as Arthur would have been happy to turn the reins of the Party over to him but perhaps Mia would be challenging him (The Party wants me a la Thompson) and Mascoll would be wondering if lightning could strike in the same place twice.

10. @Sargeant November 27, 2015 at 1:07 PM “I donโ€™t know Arthur personally but those who do tell me he is a complex man and not easily read.”

Complex my @@s

If Owen Arthur knew that Mia had done something illegal would he have selected her as our Attorney General?

If Owen Arthur knows that Mia has done something illegal why doesn’t he walk to the nearest police station and make a report. I believe that there is a police station at Holder’s Hill, less than 1/2 hour’s walk from his home.
    If Owen Arthur has a problem with Mia’s personal life somebody needs to remind him that WE ALL have a right to a personal life. And as long as we don’t break the law we good. If Owen Arthur KNOWS that Mia’s personal life has broken the law (see number 1 above)

Dear Sargeant: I [or somebody who knows you] could call your home now and tell your wife that I know something about you [without revealing what that something is] and perhaps cause confusing in your marriage, when the truth is we know NOTHING at all about you.

If Owen has something on Mia tell him to speak now [using his Parliamentary privilege] or forever hold his peace. Or as the young people would say in somewhat less elegant language STFU!!!!

11. And I like Owen real, real bad.

12. @Sargeant…I have too much time on my hands today LOLL… sooooo.

I accept your 1:07 PM post. But let’s be clear, you have described any type A personality with the overarching leadership gene : moody, complex, difficult to read, impetuous yet thoughtful etc. And also to be clear, Mottley and Arthur can both be described as that same personality type.

With that said let’s go to your marriage analogy. If as the couple battled, one claimed the other had sexually abused the children and demanded and received custody. And then a year after the divorce the former spouse with custody goes on a long holiday to Maui to refresh from the turbulent divorce and leaves the kids with the previously alleged abusing parent. Wouldn’t you look askance at the vacationing parent? I think you would.

And I think your obvious question would be …how could they lie like that? Because which parent leaves their kids to be sexually abused????

Not saying Mr Arthur is lying but definitely saying just as spouse one seemingly played bad and dangerous games with the claims to achieve their objective that Mr Arthur is playing some sort of similar game re Mottley’s suitability to lead the country. Otherwise he would not have acted as he did.

The Mascoll thing is neither here or there. If that was a serious attempt as you suggest then he would/should have tried to install another contender or use some other ploy.

Personally, I feel Mottley got caught with her hand in a cookie jar of commercial malfeasance or unethical legal malfeasance. That Arthur could not countenance the gravity of her actions or presume someone with her moral compass being PM. He cannot come right out (on the floor or otherwise) and say what she did because of the nature of the act or because she has him effectively neutered with incidental involvement or other misdeed.

Either dat or he is just a real vindictive fellow.

Take your pick!

13. The BLP will be a cohesive party in time for the next elections.

The DLP will be a cohesive party in time for the next elections.

And hopefully we will all be on BU writing a variation on the same theme.

14. And Arthur’s moral compass is pointing to and has always pointed to True North?

Stupseee!!!!!!

15. De Word,

I am sure Machiavelli was brilliant in his description of how things are. I am not questioning that. I am questioning those who slavishly quote him as some sort of Gospel that must be fulfilled. Seems like he was so brilliant that he has engraved his writings on people’s psyche. Did he mean to set the standard for politics, I wonder.

16. @de Ingrunt Word November 27, 2015 at 1:55 PM “Mr Arthur is playing some sort of similar game re Mottleyโ€™s suitability to lead the country.”

So far as I know this is still a one man/one vote kinda country. The people and Barbados thew out the BLP under Owen Arthur’s leadership. They said “we don’t want you.” What part of that does Owen Arthur not understand?

The members of the BLP will decide whether Mia remains leader or not. Arthur is not a member of the BLP (neither am I) so he does not get to decide whether she is party leader or not.

The people of Barbados, each of whom has one vote, just like Owen Arthur has ONE vote will decide whether we want the BLP, DLP, or some other party which might emerge (although that is unlikely)

Owen Arthur can’t decide for us who is suitable to lead the country, and has he considered that what he considers unsuitable, we might be very happy with?

And when we go to the polls on election day we will NOT be consulting Owen Arthur before we vote, we will NOT be consulting Mia Mottley either.

Nor Peter Wickham.

Lolll!!!!!!

17. Bit if they are wise they will consult us.

18. So you believe he is a vindictive fellow, ok! And you sucking teeth because???

Offer some reasonable scenario why a PM removes his AG for the ostensible reason that he wants to allow her to gain experiences across the governmental spectrum but then subsequently vilifies her as unsuitable to lead the country.

And please go beyond the simplistic lesbian refrain as I believe Ms Mottley was perceived or known as a lesbian long before she became the country’s AG and one of Arthur’s mentees.

Over to you Simple Simon…As I said today I have way too much time on hand and spending it here…

Take the emotion away and try to be practical on why one hard charging leader would pull the rug from under another hard charging leader in whom he had previously shown great faith.

19. By the way, De Ingrunt Word I too can suggest some bullets you need to bite for your personal growth and development.

20. @Donna at 2:31 PM, you are too smart to interpret the remarks as ” I am questioning those who slavishly quote him as some sort of Gospel that must be fulfilled”. You are missing the point.

It is not that he ” set the standard for politics” but rather he identified behaviour practiced by many politicians. He stripped down the behaviors and showed the schematics of how they worked or more importantly could work if properly harnessed.

Donna, it would be as if Dame Elsie wrote a book on the rudiments of being a successful principal by giving a chapter and verse of her operations, that of Mr Williams, Symmonds, Moore at Combermere, Smith at Lodge and Barker at Foundation. And then also Holder from BCC and a few from T&T and Jamaica.

Chapter and verse. What was done, why and the motivations behind those actions.

You could decide to ‘slavishly’ follow what she wrote or you could not. But at the end of the day she has given you a framework of what successful principals did- successes and failures.

Do you perceive that even 30+ years later that you can be a successful principal and NOT be following deeply (not slavishly, LOLL) the advice laid out in that Elsie Payne book?

If you made it to principal and then read the book you would go: ah ha, ok, that makes sense. If you had read the book before becoming principal you would be charging forward based on solid awareness.

That Donna is the context of ‘The Prince’. It’s nothing to fight. It is not whether one will or will not follow.

Do you spend anytime today debating the invention of the wheel or do you try to make the wheel run faster?

Let your son read the book and discuss it with you. As I said it’s a wonderful read on personal awareness and growth….

21. @Donna, at 2:55 PM, oh lawd. My comment was a general remark. I like the book and would recommend it strongly to all and sundry who seek continued growth and education. I thought you fell into that category. I beg your pardon..

No bullets my direction, please do.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant November 27, 2015 at 1:07 PM
    โ€œSurely you have been around to observe couples who were married for many years, had children, took holidays together, renovated the house, attended the best parties and sung each otherโ€™s praises etc. Then without warning you heard that they were headed to Divorce court, then you heard about the abuse, lying, infidelity and all the recriminations that follow the dissolution of a union. You, observing them from the outside thought you knew them well and wonder how they kept that ruse going over the years.โ€

The problem with your analogy, Sarge, is that the wife has her side of the story which is always in contradiction to the husband’s. This is not case with the OSA one-sided affair of malcontent and vindictiveness.

Now tell us when and where Mia has ‘cussed’ out OSA in public and made a litany of disparaging remarks about him.

On every occasion Mia speaks of OSA it is always in a respectful and magnanimous way.
    Isn’t this a trait to admire even if not in politics Machiavellian style?

Normally it is the woman decrying the man while seeking public sympathy in matters of separation.
    ‘Hell has not fury like a once powerful man now disregarded and ignored’.

23. The fact being Mia F up on this issue and all others issues rather be it an economic proposal for barbados or now this hybrid despot game plan to oust Agard.
    Osa can cuss Mia all he likes but in the long ran the onwness was on her to stop the dividing line of dissent from entering the public domain to kick around like a sunday afternoon ball game

24. @de Ingrunt Word November 27, 2015 at 3:16 PM #

Chuckle……..excellent response……..in the future I will leave you to expand on my brief very brief statements.

I wonder if David is pondering your request for a space to discuss homophobia in its entirety.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 27, 2015 at 3:55 PM
    โ€œThe fact being Mia F up on this issue and all others issues rather be it an economic proposal for barbados or now this hybrid despot game plan to oust Agard.โ€

I guess then she is no worse than OSA who, according to you, “F up” the Barbados economy and society for 14 long years of mismanagement and misrule causing the national debt to rise to over $10 billion and is held to be is totally responsible for all the economic problems facing the DLP administration, right ac?

Remember that famous โ€˜Mea Culpaโ€™ speech when OSA asked to be blamed (Not Mia) for all the wrongs that took place during his regime?

26. @ Vincent, don’t pull ma leg do. Different in personality and verbal vibe as you are to your wrestling mate Bush Tea, you are nonetheless quite pellucid and forceful in your brevity as he is.

I have this long winded affliction from which I do need to wean myself!

27. Oh BTW I don’t recall asking @David for a space to discuss homophobia but if I indirectly did as much then so be it. It would be an interesting debate if for no other reason that we can already layout the expected debate with clarity.

Long spiels from Zoe; a Bush Tea/Pieces damnation; assorted others with fire and brimstone.

People like yourself, Miller, Donna, WW&C, Simple S and others wondering how folks could still be so discriminatory and bigoted. I added to that list.

A lot of snarky name calling and petty vitriol invoking Peter Wickham, Mia Mottley et al…

Wait on second thoughts. Let’s shelve that idea.

28. @Simple Simon

Obviously Mia added value to the BLP sheen given her popular appeal, Arthur is a politician is he not?

On 27 November 2015 at 14:37, Barbados Underground wrote:

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

โ€œNatural Justice is a part of the Common Law inherited from the British.โ€

So also is the maxim “Justice delayed is justice denied”.

Not only does it underpin Common Law but also the Constitution of Barbados.
    Has it never occurred to you that keeping people locked up for years without a trial is a blatant breach of their Constitutional rights to which there is no outpouring of disgust or concern for the many who find themselves in such a position?

So Lynette, instead of you and Hal wasting time on FB and other sections of the Media arguing Mariaโ€™s case in public and apparently creating a more biased environment why not, toute suite, take your clientโ€™s case to the Courts to seek her entitlement to Natural Justice.

Why not do it pro bono as a test case in the interest of the public and to reinforce its confidence in the Rule of Law in Barbados given what has been taking place over the recent past and the not too flattering comments from the CCJ about the state of Justice in Barbados.

30. Miller you nit wit take a hike.

31. @litto waiting aka waiting aka passing thru.

DLP yardfowls extraordinaire.

32. @de Ingrunt Word November 27, 2015 at 4:59 PM #

Do not agree,it should be aired and allow all the bile to come to the fore and the ones to make the most anti noise are the ones still in closet…..trust me on that one….been in Bim long enough to know…….note everybody silent …..chuckle.

33. Miller why are you being a JA?

What is Dr. Agard going to court with you joker? The press release? Why did Dr. Agard take up her seat in Parliament you joker? Stop supporting shite. Shite they wanted to get the rid of this woman so bad up to yesterday her sign was till up. This is the joker that is the Mottley crew. Half ass.

Have these jokers officially sent anything to Dr. Agard saying she his been expelled from the party? Have the jokers officially notified the speaker of the house? This is the stupidity of the Mottley crew. These are the same pack of jokers who want to run this country.

FJS is the worst PM this country has ever had, can that be topped? I say to you YES!!!

34. It’ll be interesting to see how long it will take for this matter to be brought before the local courts, and if it will end up before the CCJ to which we have become more than a laughing stock! “Justice delayed is justice denied” ? What justice ? In Barbados ? What a cruel joke !

35. De Ingrunt Word,

They are rubber bullets. You annoy me but not enough for the real explosives. By the way you are yet to understand what I said, but it’s all good.

Vincent,

True, your sparing use of words did allow for misunderstanding. That’s why three intelligent people misunderstood. I get the feeling that you unlike De Word see what we meant.

36. This

“Gabriel November 27, 2015 at 9:02 AM #

One of the most feared persons in Barbados today is Owen Arthur.Fear of the unknown is mankindโ€™s greatest enemy.The stage is set for a revolution of ideas and action.The long knives are unsheaved.Arthur call she a despot.Gollop say she not factual as to what went down last Sunday.”

So what. Am I to believe that Mr Arthur and Mr Gollop are beyond reproach that their words are gospel.

37. @ Donna re ” You annoy me but not enough for the real explosives.” Wha lawd. Just from across the pages of a few long winded posts, I annoy you so. Cheese-on-bread!

What pray tell cud a stupid blogger like me have said to incur the sting and harm of your rubber bullets? How much annoyance is your limit before de explosives start, den?

And where is your milk of christian warmth? If I am ‘yet to understand’ why do you not enlighten? Even though itโ€™s all good I am always seeking the clarity that knowledge brings.

Blogging is supposed to be a fun thing.

I know that speech can fuel explosive reactions but I didn’t think mine was annoying enough for any sort of projectile response, to be honest. And from the Sunday School teaching, loving parent no less.

The blogger Atrue Freeman loves to remind us of the prayer the Desiderata so ….

“As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with all persons.
    Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.
    Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit.
    If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself. ”

Thank You for the tussle. Enlightening as always here on BU.

38. Mia leadership has brought the BLP to embarrassed in her use slight of hand to deceive the public by her actions of ousting Agard also has brought out the demons in OSA .
    Who would have thought that after six years of prophesying Doom and gloom that the reality of such a happening would be kicking Mia and the BLP in the arse…
    pay back is a SOB
    Thank God for small favours

39. Toll for a Troll Avatar

Balance
    As OSA gets older and becomes more irrelevent have you noticed that HE NEEDS TO BE INCREASING PROVOCATIVE to remain in the news for a day or two. OSA knows that he is fading into total irrelevance, except maybe for CS, who at this stage is willing to hang on a 2 ton steel ball in his attempt to stay afloat in the Ministry of Finance.

40. “but the antipathy was clear at the Press conference prior to the last Election when he assumed the leadership of the Party. Arthur had the opportunity to observe Mia over the years so either he is unhappy with her leadership and administrative skills which disqualify her for the role of PM or he has information that the laws of libel preclude him from disclosing.”

Come Come, Mr Sarge. You ought to be a wee bit more balanced because you do not seem to have an axe to grind. Mr Arthur had ample opportunity during the impasse between him and Ms Mottley to tell the public what he knew of Ms Mottley and her despotism and why she was unsuited for leadership of Barbados other than his passing insinuation which one could perceive to refer to her much talked about sexual behaviour. He could even have sought to have her expelled from the party if he strongly felt that she was a threat to the good governance of Barbados. I am sure her supporters would have called for natural justice as well. In addition, after his tirade, he promoted Ms Mottley to the public as one who had a lot to offer Barbados. Sorry, Sarge but the truthful Mr Arthur as an elder statesman and former Prime Minister must be prepared to explain the truthfulness of his statements to the public; the previous one or current.

41. @millertheanunnaki November 27, 2015 at 11:40 AM #

Go on David, be an equal opportunity blog master and put OSA in the crosshairs as you have done to MAM et al.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Yes,I too would love to find out what he did to bring the country forward in times of plenty.

I wonder if the DLP cohort remembers how it showed the populace in 2008 that opportunities were squandered during the time of plenty by this same person and we the sheeple bought their argument as evidenced by the results at the polls.

42. De Ingrunt Word,

Sorry for overestimating your sense of humour. Bushie would have understood my play on words and sent me back some pithy retort or a smiley face. You. you reply with a lecture/sermon and the Desiderata.

Hopeless!

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Owen Arthur has broken his silence and informed in detail why he left his beloved party. I told you people that Mia Mottley is a nasty conniving bitch of the highest order. The bitch only cares about one thing and that is expanding the Mottley name. This stinking woman is like Putin, kill the enemy and then pretend that you are sorry they have gone.

44. @Sunshine Sunny Shine November 29, 2015 at 4:16 AM #

I still await the detail from OSA.

45. Owen Arthur recalls facing expulsion //and this is where all the bitterness lies

MEMBER of Parliament for St. Peter Owen Arthur says he, like Dr. Maria Agard was brought before the National Council of the Barbados Labour Party to answer charges levelled for speaking publicly.
    He was speaking to the media yesterday morning at the Barbados Parliament where he lamented that the Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has in the past made unilateral decisions even though the parliamentary group decided on a particular course of action or even without their knowledge.
    Arthur said he also came under attack from ยกยฐcertain sectionsยกยฑ in the Labour Party when he refused to be used as a ยกยฐgimmickยกยฑ, by putting forward his name to sit on an eminent persons group, which had not been requested by the government of the day.
    He said his actions were also called into question during the Government debate of the Barbados Revenue Authority, an entity which was conceived under his leadership as Prime Minister.
    He also referred to an incident relating to the Estimates debate at which time it was unanimously agreed not to vote against the Bill.
    Arthur said he took the matter to the public because it became a public issue, to explain why he did not participate on the vote against the Estimates.
    ยกยฐAnd I knew at that moment that I was going to leave the BLP because if in an institution that should be looking to support and uphold the freedom of expression, you cannot express an opinion about yourself on a matter concerning yourself, then as I said the party has lost its way and has lost its soul,ยกยฑ he exhorted.

Barbados Advocate

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine November 29, 2015 at 4:16 AM #

SSS your initials nearly match the SS of Nazi fame your foul mouth alongside a horrible attitude is in synch with the wicked gestapo. One may disagree with Motley’s style we can see the insecurity in her leadership. Motley is under immense pressure the sharks in her party smell blood. Its anyone’s guess what the next twist will be in the BLP tragedy. Given the confusion your cesspool language is inappropriate. The analogy to Putin is misplaced at least he is taking action to rid Syria of terrorists who if left unchecked will eventually find their way to beautiful Bdos. We read of scores of nearby Trinidadians fighting alongside the blood thirsty terrorists in the middle east. You behave as if you know it all with license to abuse whoever you may. Small wonder the deluded SS initials are close to yours.

47. all along OSA had gauged the probability of MIA to use her leadership in a destructive manner the above expose where oSA pours his heart out is enough to give pause and to know why he was conflicted in having to turns over the reigns of the BLP leadership to Mia.

48. “ac November 29, 2015 at 1:12 PM #

Owen Arthur recalls facing expulsion //and this is where all the bitterness lies

MEMBER of Parliament for St. Peter Owen Arthur says he, like Dr. Maria Agard was brought before the National Council of the Barbados Labour Party to answer charges levelled for speaking publicly.
    He was speaking to the media yesterday morning at the Barbados Parliament where he lamented that the Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has in the past made unilateral decisions even though the parliamentary group decided on a particular course of action or even without their knowledge.
    Arthur said he also came under attack from ยกยฐcertain sectionsยกยฑ in the Labour Party when he refused to be used as a ยกยฐgimmickยกยฑ, by putting forward his name to sit on an eminent persons group, which had not been requested by the government of the day.
    He said his actions were also called into question during the Government debate of the Barbados Revenue Authority, an entity which was conceived under his leadership as Prime Minister.
    He also referred to an incident relating to the Estimates debate at which time it was unanimously agreed not to vote against the Bill.
    Arthur said he took the matter to the public because it became a public issue, to explain why he did not participate on the vote against the Estimates.
    ยกยฐAnd I knew at that moment that I was going to leave the BLP because if in an institution that should be looking to support and uphold the freedom of expression, you cannot express an opinion about yourself on a matter concerning yourself, then as I said the party has lost its way and has lost its soul,ยกยฑ he exhorted.”

Tell me Ac; would a real committed member of an organization leave a party he led and supposedly loved because of differences of opinion or opposition to his/her ideas? Hiding behind the guise of “speaking publicly” is merely a red herring.

Mr Stuart would have been more justified in leaving his party after it was discovered that 11 of his members were plotting to remove him.

Did Mr Barrow leave his beloved party when there were challenges to his leadership or as Mr Thompson said in an interview that it was the feeling of some that he should go.

49. @ balance
    Tell me Ac; would a real committed member of an organization leave a party he led and supposedly loved because of differences of opinion or opposition to his/her ideas?
    …so tell us again why you are suggesting that Maria should leave the BLP…?